Coronavirus in India

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Claim : Caravan magazine has claimed that PM <a href="https://twitter.com/narendramodi?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@narendramodi</a> did not consult the 21-member scientific <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/COVID?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#COVID</a> taskforce before extending the lockdown<br><br>Reality : All decisions were taken after consulting the taskforce. <br><br>Read: <a href="https://t.co/VymHJz1AEB">https://t.co/VymHJz1AEB</a> <a href="https://t.co/1BIwa3YcCr">pic.twitter.com/1BIwa3YcCr</a></p>— PIB Fact Check (@PIBFactCheck) <a href="https://twitter.com/PIBFactCheck/status/1250343512123400194?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">April 15, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

This is what everyone will end up doing anyway, one way or the other. The other option is to lock everything down three weeks, three weeks down the line, on and on and on, for a year or two?

It will happen if there is no vaccination, the lockdown and social distancing all over the world is based on the fact they may able to find vaccine.
So let see what happens first, 2nd option of herd immunity will cost lot of life

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">No community transmission in India so far, there have been some local outbreaks: Health Ministry</p>— Press Trust of India (@PTI_News) <a href="https://twitter.com/PTI_News/status/1250380981170626560?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">April 15, 2020</a></blockquote>

Shabash aisay hi.... jub F16 aur Abhinandan pe jhoot bol saktay hain tu corona pe kyun nahi

:salute

This is what everyone will end up doing anyway, one way or the other. The other option is to lock everything down three weeks, three weeks down the line, on and on and on, for a year or two?
True. There is no end to lockdowns, this menace isn’t going to go away so easily. Read somewhere that this virus has killed 300-odd in India so far, lockdown has already killed 200-odd.

Lol, Harsh Vardhan is one incompetent guy despite being a doctor (ENT) himself.

It will happen if there is no vaccination, the lockdown and social distancing all over the world is based on the fact they may able to find vaccine.
So let see what happens first, 2nd option of herd immunity will cost lot of life

A vaccine is something everyone badly wants at this point of time but Dr Fauci, director of the US National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Disease aptly mentioned the earliest the US could possibly get a vaccine against Covid-19 would be 12 or 18 months “at least”. Tbh he is being too optimistic while saying that because a vaccine to be approved for general use takes much much more time to develop.

Shabash aisay hi.... jub F16 aur Abhinandan pe jhoot bol saktay hain tu corona pe kyun nahi

To resolve a issue, you have to first acknowledge it. But our political leadership is beyond any redemption, always looking to indulge in theatrics instead of acknowledging the problem.

True. There is no end to lockdowns, this menace isn’t going to go away so easily. Read somewhere that this virus has killed 300-odd in India so far, lockdown has already killed 200-odd.

The truth is that now we have to deal with this virus for the rest of our lives. Lockdown just gives the health system some time to prepare by slowing down the virus. Not a solution for the actual problem.

There may be community transmission in some cities or city area but not in whole , India infected rate to tested is still 4.2 percent which is low put in context of UK where it is 30 percent or Pak have 8.2 .
Seeing India population you can say that there are so many cases but they are 4.2 percent of total tested (around 245000 samples)

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Coronavirus is not a health emergency: officials</p>— Press Trust of India (@PTI_News) <a href="https://twitter.com/PTI_News/status/1238435120677130240?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">March 13, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Bhai you can't even take 500 death, are you ready to take 13.8 million death, only one percent of India population, and I am pretty sure if disease get all over India it will surely kill more than 1 percent may be around 40 million.

India uses Saarc Covid Fund for HCQ tablets to neighbours. Afghanistan next

A top government official told Hindustan Times that the decision to send the tablets had been taken but New Delhi is yet to work out the logistics in view of relations with neighbouring Pakistan.

India has decided to send 5 lakh tablets of hydroxychloroquine to Afghanistan from the Saarc Covid-19 Emergency Fund set up at Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s suggestion last month. The fund was created with an initial corpus of $10 million from India; other Saarc members had also pitched in.

A top government official told Hindustan Times that the decision to send the tablets had been taken but New Delhi is yet to work out the logistics in view of relations with neighbouring Pakistan. “We are looking at various possibilities to reach the medicine to the people of Afghanistan at the earliest,” the official said.

One of the options being explored is use of third-party planes, may be international cargo planes.

A second official said India had already made deliveries of hydroxychloroquine to other Saarc countries such as Maldives, Sri Lanka, Nepal, Bangladesh and Bhutan. There has been no proposal to send the medicine to Pakistan in the absence of a request from Islamabad.

“I think there have been public statements by leaders in Pakistan that they have sufficient supply of the medicine,” the official said.

Global demand for the anti-malarial drug hydroxychloroquine had boosted over the last few weeks after some studies showed that it helped to reduce the viral load in Covid-19 patients.

India initially had banned exports of the drug to ensure that there were sufficient supplies to cater to domestic requirements. These restrictions were later eased, mostly to enable pharmaceutical companies to honour their contractual obligations on a case-to-case basis.

Otherwise too, pharma companies have been permitted exports to friendly countries such as the United Arab Emirates and Saudi Arabia.

The decision taken to supply the medicine and other medical assistance under the Saarc Covid-19 Emergency Fund demonstrates the utility of the fund that was created last month.

PM Modi, speaking at the virtual conference of Saarc leaders, had underscored that the fund would be financed by voluntary contributions from all members.

Pakistan was the last member state to pledge its share of the contribution, $ 3 million, but had demanded that the fund should be placed at the disposal of the secretary general of the South Asian grouping.

The current secretary general of Saarc is veteran Sri Lankan diplomat Esala Ruwan Weerakoon, who recently succeeded Pakistan’s Amjad Hussain Sial.

Pakistan Prime Minister Imran Khan was the only Saarc head of government who opted out of the conference and instead, sent Pakistan’s de facto health minister for the meeting.

https://www.hindustantimes.com/indi...vid-19-fund/story-4SLfVrVI0QEsbWavZM6tqN.html

India's migrant workers protest against lockdown extension

India's poor say lockdown extension until May 3 leaves them without money, food and promised government aid.

Several protests have broken out in India over the lockdown to fight the coronavirus pandemic as migrant workers call for food and aid.

The government has promised to help 800 million poor Indians but they say they have been left to fend for themselves.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi has extended the nationwide lockdown to May 3.

Al Jazeera's Elizabeth Puranam reports from New Delhi.

https://www.aljazeera.com/news/2020...own-extension-curb-virus-200415063431190.html

India's migrant workers protest against lockdown extension

India's poor say lockdown extension until May 3 leaves them without money, food and promised government aid.

Several protests have broken out in India over the lockdown to fight the coronavirus pandemic as migrant workers call for food and aid.

The government has promised to help 800 million poor Indians but they say they have been left to fend for themselves.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi has extended the nationwide lockdown to May 3.

Al Jazeera's Elizabeth Puranam reports from New Delhi.

https://www.aljazeera.com/news/2020...own-extension-curb-virus-200415063431190.html

Shocking state of affairs.

The poor man overlooked and mistreated once again.

All major Indian cities named Covid-19 hotspots

Six major cities, including the capital Delhi and the financial capital Mumbai, have been designated "red zones" for the coronavirus.

In its guidelines issued late on Wednesday, the government divided the country into colour-coded zones depending on the level of infection.

Red zones indicate infection hotspots, orange is for zones with some infection, while green indicates an area with no infections.

In total, 170 districts of the country have been designated red zones.

Apart from Delhi and Mumbai, the cities of Chennai (formerly Madras), Bangalore, Kolkata and Hyderabad have all been marked red.

So far, officials haven't designated any green zone areas.

Mumbai, India - When a team of medical officers quarantined Sohrab Farooqui and his family on the morning of April 11, there were a total of nine members. Four days later, when they returned home on Wednesday evening, there were eight.

Farooqui, a 25-year-old hotel management student in Mumbai, is a resident of Dharavi, one of Asia's biggest slums. People live cheek by jowl in Dharavi, making the neighbourhood fertile ground for the virus to spread.

The slum has reported 60 coronavirus positive cases and eight deaths so far. One of those tested positive was a neighbour who lived opposite Farooqui. He had been hospitalised a few days back.

On the night of April 10, a team of medical officers paid Farooqui's neighbour a visit. "Before they left, they told us we would also be taken for a test to see if we are infected as well," Farooqui told Al Jazeera.

Next day, early in the morning, Farooqui, his parents, his elder brother and his wife, their two kids, and his two nephews were taken to a sports complex-turned-quarantine facility about a kilometre (0.6 mile) from his home.

"The quarantine ward was basically one big hall where 31 of us were locked up," he said. "There were only two toilets - one for men and one for women. And they were unhygienic."

Farooqui asked an official how long they would have to stay for.

"But he had no clue," he said. "We were told that our tests would be conducted when the medical team is available. I was worried about my parents."

Farooqui's mother, Afsari Bano, 55, suffered from diabetes, thyroid and blood pressure. He said his father Ansar Ahmed, 64, was also vulnerable to the infection given his age.

"Because we did not know how long we would be staying in the quarantine ward, I had not carried enough medicines for my mother," he said.

"But I had her file. After they provided us breakfast on the morning of April 11, I told them the name of the medicine that I needed."

But he did not get the medicine. "They said it was not available in the store," Farooqui told Al Jazeera.

"The next day was a Sunday. We were told the store is closed. On Monday [April 13], a doctor came to inspect us, who assured me we would get the medicine the following day."

However, Afsari's blood pressure had shot up by then. She had been feeling unwell and found it difficult even to walk.

"I requested for a wheelchair," said Farooqui. "They gave me one for two minutes and asked me to speak into the camera stating that I had received the wheelchair but medicines are yet to be delivered.

I was told that the video would be forwarded to higher authorities. They took the wheelchair back after we shot the video and said I will get a new one in half an hour. That did not happen."

Meanwhile, Afsari had to go to the washroom. She walked there slowly but collapsed as she was getting out.

"She began sweating and a white liquid started coming out of her nose," said Farooqui. "I shouted for an ambulance but the doctors at the ward could not arrange for it. We eventually got her into a cab to go to the hospital."

The hospital was about three kilometres (1.8 miles) from the quarantine centre and just a five-minute drive away as the streets were deserted due to India's lockdown.

But they were too late.

Afsari was pronounced dead on arrival. "I lost my mother, not to COVID-19, but to the negligence of police and medical officers," he wrote in a Twitter post.

Virendra Mohite, the health officer in charge of the area told Al Jazeera they were looking into the matter. "It is a serious issue and we are finding out the lacuna," he said.

After the hospital released Afsari's body, Farooqui, accompanied by his family and friends, buried her in a local graveyard.

"We had sought permission for the funeral," he said. "After we had concluded the funeral, the police did not let us inside their car.

One of our relatives had a motorbike. He took us back to the quarantine ward one by one. We were treated as if we were patients of coronavirus even though our results had not come out."

The family was eventually tested for the coronavirus on Wednesday after Farooqui took to social media to publicise the circumstances surrounding his mother's death.

The family returned home on Wednesday evening. They are now awaiting their results.

https://www.aljazeera.com/news/2020/04/mother-coronavirus-negligence-officers-200416024401389.html

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Hundreds of migrant workers and daily wage earners have taken shelter under a bridge on the banks of the Yamuna. For over a week they are living on one meal a day provided by a Gurudwara nearby. <br><br>Pictures: <a href="https://twitter.com/arvindgunasekar?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@arvindgunasekar</a> <a href="https://t.co/mdTnAAInm8">pic.twitter.com/mdTnAAInm8</a></p>— NDTV (@ndtv) <a href="https://twitter.com/ndtv/status/1250342438599659520?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">April 15, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

the active cases to testing ratio has started decreasing, very encouraging and positive outlook. It’s standing at 3.97% now
Again this week is crucial to efforts that have been put by the brave medical fraternity until now

Today’s ratio stands at 3.83% , 0.14% decrease

Big effort led by medical warriors inspite of challenges bravo

Mumbai, India - When a team of medical officers quarantined Sohrab Farooqui and his family on the morning of April 11, there were a total of nine members. Four days later, when they returned home on Wednesday evening, there were eight.

Farooqui, a 25-year-old hotel management student in Mumbai, is a resident of Dharavi, one of Asia's biggest slums. People live cheek by jowl in Dharavi, making the neighbourhood fertile ground for the virus to spread.

The slum has reported 60 coronavirus positive cases and eight deaths so far. One of those tested positive was a neighbour who lived opposite Farooqui. He had been hospitalised a few days back.

On the night of April 10, a team of medical officers paid Farooqui's neighbour a visit. "Before they left, they told us we would also be taken for a test to see if we are infected as well," Farooqui told Al Jazeera.

Next day, early in the morning, Farooqui, his parents, his elder brother and his wife, their two kids, and his two nephews were taken to a sports complex-turned-quarantine facility about a kilometre (0.6 mile) from his home.

"The quarantine ward was basically one big hall where 31 of us were locked up," he said. "There were only two toilets - one for men and one for women. And they were unhygienic."

Farooqui asked an official how long they would have to stay for.

"But he had no clue," he said. "We were told that our tests would be conducted when the medical team is available. I was worried about my parents."

Farooqui's mother, Afsari Bano, 55, suffered from diabetes, thyroid and blood pressure. He said his father Ansar Ahmed, 64, was also vulnerable to the infection given his age.

"Because we did not know how long we would be staying in the quarantine ward, I had not carried enough medicines for my mother," he said.

"But I had her file. After they provided us breakfast on the morning of April 11, I told them the name of the medicine that I needed."

But he did not get the medicine. "They said it was not available in the store," Farooqui told Al Jazeera.

"The next day was a Sunday. We were told the store is closed. On Monday [April 13], a doctor came to inspect us, who assured me we would get the medicine the following day."

However, Afsari's blood pressure had shot up by then. She had been feeling unwell and found it difficult even to walk.

"I requested for a wheelchair," said Farooqui. "They gave me one for two minutes and asked me to speak into the camera stating that I had received the wheelchair but medicines are yet to be delivered.

I was told that the video would be forwarded to higher authorities. They took the wheelchair back after we shot the video and said I will get a new one in half an hour. That did not happen."

Meanwhile, Afsari had to go to the washroom. She walked there slowly but collapsed as she was getting out.

"She began sweating and a white liquid started coming out of her nose," said Farooqui. "I shouted for an ambulance but the doctors at the ward could not arrange for it. We eventually got her into a cab to go to the hospital."

The hospital was about three kilometres (1.8 miles) from the quarantine centre and just a five-minute drive away as the streets were deserted due to India's lockdown.

But they were too late.

Afsari was pronounced dead on arrival. "I lost my mother, not to COVID-19, but to the negligence of police and medical officers," he wrote in a Twitter post.

Virendra Mohite, the health officer in charge of the area told Al Jazeera they were looking into the matter. "It is a serious issue and we are finding out the lacuna," he said.

After the hospital released Afsari's body, Farooqui, accompanied by his family and friends, buried her in a local graveyard.

"We had sought permission for the funeral," he said. "After we had concluded the funeral, the police did not let us inside their car.

One of our relatives had a motorbike. He took us back to the quarantine ward one by one. We were treated as if we were patients of coronavirus even though our results had not come out."

The family was eventually tested for the coronavirus on Wednesday after Farooqui took to social media to publicise the circumstances surrounding his mother's death.

The family returned home on Wednesday evening. They are now awaiting their results.

https://www.aljazeera.com/news/2020/04/mother-coronavirus-negligence-officers-200416024401389.html

this is schockingly callous from Mumbai police. Feel for the poor family.

UAE with 99 lakh population has done 7.67 lakh tests.

India with 138 crore population has done 2.45 lakh tests.

You badly need a lesson in statistics and risks of random mass testing. Blithering hysterically online isn't helpful.

On April 15, ICMR reported 28,900 tests out of which 900 tested positive. A three times increase in tests from a week ago but the test-to-positive ratio has stayed the same.

You badly need a lesson in statistics and risks of random mass testing. Blithering hysterically online isn't helpful.

To be fair we need to test more, around 35 to 40000 per day, I know we have limited kits so there is a problem but what happened to pune lab home made kits? How much they are producing?

Nobody says increased testing isn't needed but people need to be mindful of constraints and plan accordingly, which is what the government has done. They started with a conservative protocol because there wasn't enough reagent available. And now they have loosened the testing protocol in a graded manner. Yesterday alone we had close to 30k tests conducted and it is certain to be close to 100k a day in the next two weeks.

28 Deaths, 826 New Coronavirus Cases In Last 24 Hours In India

The COVID-19 pandemic has killed 420 in India, with 28 deaths reported in the last 24 hours, the health ministry said on Thursday. The number of people infected by the novel coronavirus in India rose to 12,759 with 826 new cases.

Since 5 to 6 days the trend is southern states (except TN) r reporting less new cases per day than northern states in India. Don't know the exact reason on this. Kerala hardly has 10 cases per day , telugu states r having below 50 cases per day.

States like MH, RJ, GJ, Delhi, UP etc, are reporting more new cases and they deserve more & more aggressive testing IMO and southern states need cluster testing than aggressive testing

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Reports indicate that 50,000 of 1.7 lakh PPE kits from China have failed DRDO quality checks. India will be REJECTING PPE kits which are failing quality checks. Official word from Indian Govt is still awaited.</p>— Aditya Raj Kaul (@AdityaRajKaul) <a href="https://twitter.com/AdityaRajKaul/status/1250787164637376512?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">April 16, 2020</a></blockquote>

India coronavirus: Tablighi Jamaat leader on manslaughter charge over Covid-19

Tablighi Jamaat leader Muhammad Saad Khandalvi has been charged with manslaughter after a meeting the organisation held in Delhi spawned Covid-19 clusters across India.

Police say the gathering, which began on 3 March, was not ended even when India announced a lockdown on 24 March.

The event has been linked to 1,023 cases across 17 states - believed to be spread by infected foreign attendees.

Mr Saad and the Tablighi Jamaat have denied any wrongdoing.

The Delhi police said that Mr Saad had been charged with culpable homicide not amounting to murder, which means he will not be able to apply for bail.

The charges were brought against him while he was in self-isolation.

Police say he ignored two notices to end the event at a mosque in Delhi's Nizamuddin area.

However, the organisation says they had suspended the event and asked everyone to leave as soon as Prime Minister Narendra Modi announced that there would be a day-long national curfew on 22 March.

While many were able to leave, they say, others were stranded because states began to seal their borders the following day, and two days later, India went into lockdown, suspending buses and trains.

The mosque's premises include dormitories that can house hundreds of people.

The organisers say they informed the local police about all of this and continued to co-operate with medical officers who came to inspect the premises.

https://www.bbc.com/news/world-asia-india-52306879

Lol are you saying that there is some scientific or statistical reason behind India’s low test numbers? :))

https://timesofindia.indiatimes.com..._medium=referral&utm_source=native_share_tray

Some comparative data in this article. The one that intrigued me was the number of tests conducted by India and a few other affected countries when they passed benchmark cases.

India conducted 114000 tests by the time they crossed 5000 cases. For the same landmark, US tested 104k, Uk tested 78k, Italy 50K and Canada 241k.

When India crossed 10k cases a couple of days ago, it had tested 217k people. For the same landmark of cases, the US tested 140k, the UK 114K, Italy 73K and Canada almost 300K.

Since 5 to 6 days the trend is southern states (except TN) r reporting less new cases per day than northern states in India. Don't know the exact reason on this. Kerala hardly has 10 cases per day , telugu states r having below 50 cases per day.

States like MH, RJ, GJ, Delhi, UP etc, are reporting more new cases and they deserve more & more aggressive testing IMO and southern states need cluster testing than aggressive testing

Tamil Nadu today 25 cases only. Even with increased testing the number is only this then it’s good. 11 Doctors , 1 Health worker and 1 Sanitary worker have tested positive so far there. :(

https://timesofindia.indiatimes.com..._medium=referral&utm_source=native_share_tray

Some comparative data in this article. The one that intrigued me was the number of tests conducted by India and a few other affected countries when they passed benchmark cases.

India conducted 114000 tests by the time they crossed 5000 cases. For the same landmark, US tested 104k, Uk tested 78k, Italy 50K and Canada 241k.

When India crossed 10k cases a couple of days ago, it had tested 217k people. For the same landmark of cases, the US tested 140k, the UK 114K, Italy 73K and Canada almost 300K.

While we are in better shape than those countries....we can't compare directly.

If you look at timeline of massive outbreak, we got a headstart which those countries didn't get.

China
Europe
USA
Then us.

Can someone compile all the stats we need to keep an eye on to get a clear picture?

1. Daily new cases (super obvious)

2. Death to total cases ratio (higher the number, more likely are hidden cases)

3. Infected to tested ratio (both overall & state specific)

4. Infected to tested ratio of SARI patients (including how many of them don't have travel history & can't be contact traced)

Any other metric I missed out?

Too bad that news media (across the world) have churning tons of random articles yet don't have consolidated pages with these stats & reports based on that for objective evaluation. lol.

Can someone compile all the stats we need to keep an eye on to get a clear picture?

4. Infected to tested ratio of SARI patients (including how many of them don't have travel history & can't be contact traced)

Too bad that news media (across the world) have churning tons of random articles yet don't have consolidated pages with these stats & reports based on that for objective evaluation. lol.

Heh? You are living under rocks or what?

https://www.covid19india.org/

If you need details about the patients, go to the patients database.

You think i dont know about that website? Lol.

I was asking about what are the different metrics we need to look into? As in did I miss out on any imp metric needed?

what do these words mean?

Fourth point data totally depend upon Government, you will not get this data on other site.

I think more or less you covered all the points

what do these words mean?

It means news sites may have overall numbers and daily cases but they don't prominently mention about other metrics which make for objective evaluation.

And this goes for news sites across the world.

Anyone can calculate the infected to death ratio and say its high for Madhya Pradesh and Gujarat and Punjab.....to conclude that things aren't great there.

But imp metrics (KPIs) all listed together and reports written about it would give clearer picture.

Instead we have to wade through tons of articles to get info.

According to ICMR the latest updates are

A total of 3,02,956 samples from 2,86,714 individuals have been tested as on 16 April 2020, 9 PM IST. 12,581 individuals have been confirmed positive among suspected cases and contacts of known positive cases in India.
Today, on 16 April 2020, till 9 PM IST, 27,256 samples have been reported. Of these, 1206 were positive for SARS-CoV-2.

It means news sites may have overall numbers and daily cases but they don't prominently mention about other metrics which make for objective evaluation.

And this goes for news sites across the world.

Anyone can calculate the infected to death ratio and say its high for Madhya Pradesh and Gujarat and Punjab.....to conclude that things aren't great there.

But imp metrics (KPIs) all listed together and reports written about it would give clearer picture.

Instead we have to wade through tons of articles to get info.

Evaluation is based upon frame of reference. When even now, there isn't a standard frame of reference to evaulate, how can one evaluate?

I have been listening about plasma treatment, how much reliable or successful can the treatment be?
Anybody who know plz do tell me

Evaluation is based upon frame of reference. When even now, there isn't a standard frame of reference to evaulate, how can one evaluate?

Evaluation doesn't hav to necessarily mean comparison, which requires a standardized frame of reference.

Evaluation can be focused on where we stand and how far is our end goal...aka flattening the curve.

Number breakdown may not be the holy grail but it can give us a decent picture.

India hospital segregates Muslim and Hindu coronavirus patients

In what many are calling a case of "apartheid" during a global pandemic, a government-run hospital in Ahmedabad, the main city in the western Indian state of Gujarat, has segregated coronavirus patients based on their religion, claiming the order came from the government.

"Generally, there are separate wards for male and female patients. But here, we have made separate wards for Hindu and Muslim patients. It is a decision of the government and you can ask them," Dr Gunvant H Rathod, the medical superintendent of Ahmedabad Civil Hospital, told The Indian Express newspaper in its report on Wednesday.

The Gujarat state is governed by the Hindu nationalist Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), which also governs the country. Narendra Modi was the state's chief minister for nearly 13 straight years from 2001 before he became India's prime minister in 2014.

When Al Jazeera called Jayanti Ravi, the principal secretary of health in the Gujarat government, about the segregation of patients on religious lines, her personal assistant took the call and suggested we speak to Dr Sanjay Solanki, the resident medical officer at the hospital.

"I have no idea," said the personal assistant, without revealing his name.

Solanki, in turn, asked Al Jazeera to speak to Rathod. "He is the right person to talk to," he said.

Rathod did not answer the phone calls made by Al Jazeera.

'Knowing Gujarat, I am not surprised'
Meanwhile, Gujarat's Health Minister and Deputy Chief Minister Nitin Patel told Al Jazeera that nothing of that sort had happened.

"Whatever is needed to give people the best possible treatment is being done," he said and hung up.

The state's health department also put out an official statement, calling reports of separate wards for Muslims and Hindus "baseless".

"Patients are kept in different wards based on their medical condition, severity of the symptoms and age, purely based on the advice of the treating doctors. Therefore, reports appearing in certain media are totally baseless and misleading," it said.

However, in The Indian Express report, a patient was quoted as saying, "On Sunday night, the names of 28 men admitted in the first ward (A-4) were called out. We were then shifted to another ward (C-4)."

"While we were not told why we were being shifted, all the names that were called out belonged to one community. We spoke to one staff member in our ward and he said this had been done for 'the comfort of both communities'."

According to a doctor quoted in another report by The Hindu newspaper, "Certain patients from the majority community were not comfortable being in the same ward with patients of the minority community."

"After some patients complained, it was decided to segregate them on temporary basis," the doctor told the newspaper on condition of anonymity.

When Ahmedabad-based sociologist Ghanashyam Shah was asked by Al Jazeera if the hospital segregating patients according to their religion amounted to apartheid, he replied, "Absolutely."

"Knowing Gujarat, I am not surprised it has happened," he said.

"It is a very obvious kind of thing. The fake news propaganda around Muslims spreading the virus is probably rampant across India. But I can see it is visible in Gujarat."

Shah was alluding to a widespread Islamophobia fuelled by the coronavirus pandemic, especially after Tablighi Jamaat, a Muslim missionary group, organised a congregation in New Delhi in March.

The congregation was later linked to hundreds of COVID-19 positive cases across the country, triggering a nationwide hunt to trace the attendees.

On Wednesday, Tablighi Jamaat chief Maulana Saad Kandhalvi was charged with "culpable homicide".

Earlier this month, the World Health Organization had warned against any religious profiling of coronavirus patients by the governments across the world.

"Having COVID-19 is not anybody's fault. Every case is a victim. It is very important that we do not profile the cases on the basis of racial, religious and ethnic lines," WHO's emergency programme director Mike Ryan had said.

According to media reports, more than half of the nearly 500 cases of coronavirus in Ahmedabad have come from Muslim-majority neighbourhoods.

The city has long been a hotbed of communal divide, with separate localities marked for Hindus and Muslims.

In 2002, Ahmedabad was one of the main sites of state-wide religious violence, in which nearly 2,000 Muslims were killed, dozens of women raped, and thousands others displaced.

The violence followed the outbreak of fire on a passenger train, in which 60 Hindu pilgrims were killed.
https://www.aljazeera.com/news/2020...ndu-coronavirus-patients-200416080547650.html

15 km from my Place there are 36 coronavirus case in a single town ( bayana Kasai pada) ,All from Muslim community related to tabligi jamat incident . People's living here are in fear ,all near village sealed by us( Local people's)

India among handful of countries with a projection of 1.9% GDP growth in 2020. Best among G20 nations

For 2021-22 GDP expected to rise sharply @ 7%

PMI for march is lowest in last 4 months.
Services PMI declined.
Supply chain is disrupted.

Forex reserves are still good at 476.5 billion $

Measures ::

TLTRO 2.0 -> 50,000 cr to begin with for easing liquidity in markets. Starting today.

All India financial institutions will get 50k cr to nabard (25k), sidbi(15k), nhb(10k)

Some 900,000 female community health workers are on the frontline as part of India’s battle against Covid-19. But they are poorly paid, ill-prepared and vulnerable to attacks and social stigma.

“The value of our life is just 30 rupees [less than $1], according to the government,” says Alka Nalawade, a community health worker in the western state of Maharashtra.

“The government is paying us 1,000 rupees ($13; £10) a month for corona-related work,” she adds. “That is 30 rupees daily for putting our life in danger.”

Ms Nalawade is among the state’s 70,000 Ashas, short for Accredited Social Health Activists.

Ashas are drawn from local and largely rural communities, and are a crucial element in India’s primary and community health programmes.

What's the latest from India?

With 500,000 new rapid antibody testing kits from China, India is set to ramp up its screening efforts. The number of samples tested on Thursday crossed 30,000 for the first time

Controlled trials of plasma therapy are to begin in Delhi - this involves using the antibody-rich blood of patients who have recovered from coronavirus. Some 1,600 Indians have recovered from the virus so far - doctors would need to test their antibodies and use their blood to treat critical patients

India has 170 hotspots, and these areas account for about 37% of the entire population. The southern state of Tamil Nadu has the highest number of "red zones" - areas with high infection rates - with 22 out of 37 districts

PM Narendra Modi held talks with the finance minister on Thursday, sparking speculation that the government may soon announce a stimulus package for the corporate sector

India has confirmed just under 13,000 cases so far with a death toll of 437

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Claim : Caravan magazine has claimed that PM <a href="https://twitter.com/narendramodi?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@narendramodi</a> did not consult the 21-member scientific <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/COVID?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#COVID</a> taskforce before extending the lockdown<br><br>Reality : All decisions were taken after consulting the taskforce. <br><br>Read: <a href="https://t.co/VymHJz1AEB">https://t.co/VymHJz1AEB</a> <a href="https://t.co/1BIwa3YcCr">pic.twitter.com/1BIwa3YcCr</a></p>— PIB Fact Check (@PIBFactCheck) <a href="https://twitter.com/PIBFactCheck/status/1250343512123400194?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">April 15, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Caravan has responded back

https://caravanmagazine.in/health/r...ions-claiming-report-task-force-was-fake-news

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">After the ICMR and PIB claimed that a report on the <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/COVID19?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#COVID19</a> task force was fake news, <a href="https://twitter.com/VidyaKrishnan?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@VidyaKrishnan</a> sent questions to them about the allegations raised by members of the task force that were left unaddressed. They did not respond to the emailed queries. <a href="https://t.co/9Ypz10rP8V">https://t.co/9Ypz10rP8V</a></p>— The Caravan (@thecaravanindia) <a href="https://twitter.com/thecaravanindia/status/1251021035484278785?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">April 17, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Not implying one side is automatically right and other is wrong but interesting to see how this will unfold.

15 km from my Place there are 36 coronavirus case in a single town ( bayana Kasai pada) ,All from Muslim community related to tabligi jamat incident . People's living here are in fear ,all near village sealed by us( Local people's)

Wow.....Stay safe.

With lockdowns in place, there shouldn't be any spread hopefully.

https://caravanmagazine.in/health/r...ions-claiming-report-task-force-was-fake-news

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">After the ICMR and PIB claimed that a report on the <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/COVID19?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#COVID19</a> task force was fake news, <a href="https://twitter.com/VidyaKrishnan?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@VidyaKrishnan</a> sent questions to them about the allegations raised by members of the task force that were left unaddressed. They did not respond to the emailed queries. <a href="https://t.co/9Ypz10rP8V">https://t.co/9Ypz10rP8V</a></p>— The Caravan (@thecaravanindia) <a href="https://twitter.com/thecaravanindia/status/1251021035484278785?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">April 17, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Not implying one side is automatically right and other is wrong but interesting to see how this will unfold.

Why should icmr respond to a known fake news peddler like vidya krishnan?

Wow.....Stay safe.

With lockdowns in place, there shouldn't be any spread hopefully.

This tabligi jamaat incident creat Rift between Hindu & Muslims ..bcz here no body( Non Muslim) even want to talk or purchase any thing from Muslim community .total fear from Muslim community even they don't have any coronavirus symptoms.

Is the curve flattening out, or am I imagining things?

dcfnAoA.png

No organization is obligated to answer to media. There are ways called "proper channel" through which the issue should be raised especially when it comes to govt organizations.

Or least you can do is file a RTI and see what answers you get and then reappeal.

None has been followed here as per the response or the article.

Btw this confirms that the original article was not written after talking to ICMR. Kind of proves she was peddling a narrative, but go ahead give her the long rope :))