Kohli
Pujara
Rahane
Vijay
Dhavan
Rahul
Rohit

What do you think of them? What are strengths and weaknesses? This thread is to discuss anything and everything related to modern Indian batting

Rahane is their only world class batsmen and I have my doubts over Rohit, Rahul and Saha. IMO those 3 aren't Test class batsmen.

If I had one word to describe each of them (compound words included):

- Kohli: Over-hyped.
- Pujara: Good.
- Rahane: World-class.
- Vijay: World-class.
- Dhawan: Rubbish.
- Rahul: Who?
- Rohit: Mediocre.

The Kohli, Pujara, Rahane and Vijay quartet are all good batsmen but apart from Rahane, I don't see them ending up as great test batsmen. Kohli is massively over-hyped, Pujara has has been exposed overseas while Vijay lacks an extra-gear.

Pakistan, South Africa, England and arguably New Zealand and Australia, all have better batting-lineups.

The Kohli, Pujara, Rahane and Vijay quartet are all good batsmen but apart from Rahane, I don't see them ending up as great test batsmen. Kohli is massively over-hyped, Pujara has has been exposed overseas while Vijay lacks an extra-gear.

Pakistan, South Africa, England and arguably New Zealand and Australia, all have better batting-lineups.
Forgot Vijay :faceplam:

So that's 2 world class players.

Usually overseas tours are considered much more difficult than regular home series, and 3 of the Indian batsmen performed exceptionally in those series.

374112ab8c16cbb895326a6fa3470737.jpg
http://stats.espncricinfo.com/ci/en...al1=span;team=6;template=results;type=batting

This South Africa series was obviously played on difficult pitches so performances in these 3 matches can't be used to say that they are not good at home. In the next few home series I am sure that these three will start performing again.

Apart from these 3 Rahul looks very promising, although he seems extremely nervous.

Usually overseas tours are considered much more difficult than regular home series, and 3 of the Indian batsmen performed exceptionally in those series.

View attachment 62445
http://stats.espncricinfo.com/ci/en...al1=span;team=6;template=results;type=batting

This South Africa series was obviously played on difficult pitches so performances in these 3 matches can't be used to say that they are not good at home. In the next few home series I am sure that these three will start performing again.

Apart from these 3 Rahul looks very promising, although he seems extremely nervous.

Australia is a joke nowadays. It is no challenge to score runs there. You may not like it but the pitches that India got in South Africa were on the flatter side too.

Even New Zealand (a non-Asian team) couldn't score many runs in Australia. Playing Australia in their home is always a challenge and runs there can't be discounted. If I'm not wrong, most pitches there have been quite flat since a long time, but their bowlers still manage to do well (which is what makes it especially challenging).

If we go back in history and go through each match a player has played overseas and distinguish if it was flat or not, it will be an unfruitful exercise. The main difficulty is facing that team's bowlers in conditions that are familiar to them.

Even New Zealand (a non-Asian team) couldn't score many runs in Australia. Playing Australia in their home is always a challenge and runs there can't be discounted. If I'm not wrong, most pitches there have been quite flat since a long time, but their bowlers still manage to do well (which is what makes it especially challenging).

If we go back in history and go through each match a player has played overseas and distinguish if it was flat or not, it will be an unfruitful exercise. The main difficulty is facing that team's bowlers in conditions that are familiar to them.

The wickets SA, Ind, and NZ played on were all disgraceful. I don't value runs in Australia at the moment

No, Australia over the past year or year and a half has been way flatter than usual. New Zealand didn't score runs? Really? I remember hearing about Williamson scoring tons every day and Ross Taylor was dangerously close to making history by scoring a triple there. The only match that had low scores was the day/night match, where the pitch was a lot more bowler-friendly.

I'm not the only one saying it, everyone is.

All of them are severely inconsistent. It's impossible to accurately determine. Anyways:

Kohli: good against raw pace and bounce. Struggles against swing or spin. Honestly don't know what to make of him atm

Rahane: looks timid and uncomfortable at the crease. best player in away condition

Pujara: If I have to use my Cricket sense, this is the guy I place my hopes on. I feel his away performances are more to do with lack of form rather than getting found out. Beast against spin but there is a doubt against pace. Has right temperament to score big.

Vijay: Class bat. Only worry is he is aging hence only has 2-4 good years left. India will find it difficult to replace him

Rest of the players I don't really rate but had to be included being part of the current line up. Current lineup hasn't scored big in a while. Would like to see 400+ scores once in a blue moon for a change

All of them are severely inconsistent. It's impossible to accurately determine. Anyways:

Kohli: good against raw pace and bounce. Struggles against swing or spin. Honestly don't know what to make of him atm

Rahane: looks timid and uncomfortable at the crease. best player in away condition

Pujara: If I have to use my Cricket sense, this is the guy I place my hopes on. I feel his away performances are more to do with lack of form rather than getting found out. Beast against spin but there is a doubt against pace. Has right temperament to score big.

Vijay: Class bat. Only worry is he is aging hence only has 2-4 good years left. India will find it difficult to replace him

Rest of the players I don't really rate but had to be included being part of the current line up. Current lineup hasn't scored big in a while. Would like to see 400+ scores once in a blue moon for a change

I was thinking that too but then I checked out the number of 400+ scores teams have in the past year or so.

http://stats.espncricinfo.com/ci/en...score;template=results;type=team;view=innings

Australia has 8, the most number of 400+ scores in the time period that is on the first page. India has 6.

India's recent 400+ scores:
http://stats.espncricinfo.com/ci/en...eam=6;template=results;type=team;view=innings

So India does appear to have made large scores recently. The misconception might arise because India has hardly played test cricket this year (only 4 matches before this SA series).

Vijay,Rahane and Kholi are world class, means they can play anywhere.

Which is a lot, no other team has more than two.

Vijay has been the most consistent performer the last few years and easily the best batsman on the team.
Kohli was found wanting in England, maybe he will get better in time. But was good in Aus and I like his aggressive captaincy and 5 bolwer strategy.
Pujara appears to be an FTB, but has the technique to improve.
Rohit Sharma is the scourge of the Indian team. Plays 1 good innings and then 10 bad ones.
Dhawan is a hack.
Rahane is not vert consistent, but you can see he oozes class.
Saha is a good keeper, but can't really rely on him with the bat.

Vijay is a great batsmen and one of the best openers in the world. But despite that he is very overrated in comparison to other Indian batsmen. Kohli’s failures in England are always talked about but everyone seems to ignore that Vijay did nothing in South Africa and New Zealand.

I was thinking that too but then I checked out the number of 400+ scores teams have in the past year or so.

http://stats.espncricinfo.com/ci/en...score;template=results;type=team;view=innings

Australia has 8, the most number of 400+ scores in the time period that is on the first page. India has 6.

India's recent 400+ scores:
http://stats.espncricinfo.com/ci/en...eam=6;template=results;type=team;view=innings

So India does appear to have made large scores recently. The misconception might arise because India has hardly played test cricket this year (only 4 matches before this SA series).
Why set it at 400? If you look at real big scores of 500+

Aus 8 (7 at home and 1 away)
NZ 7 (3 at home and 4 away)
Pakistan 5 (3 in the UAE and 2 in Bangladesh)
England 3
SL 3
SA 2
Bangladesh 2
India 0

And mammoth scores of 600+
NZ 3 (1 away in Aus and another away in the UAE)
SL 1 (against Bangladesh)

http://stats.espncricinfo.com/ci/en...=span;template=results;type=team;view=innings

The first Test was played at the Gabba with little prep yet we still managed to score 300+.

The third Test we matched the Aussies in an experimental day night match on a wicket which had grass on it.

Of the 3 matches, we more or less matched the Aussies twice with the Third Test perhaps one call away from going the other way.

Why set it at 400? If you look at real big scores of 500+

Aus 8
NZ 7
Pakistan 5
England 3
SL 3
SA 2
Bangladesh 2
India 0

And mammoth scores of 600+
NZ 3 (1 away in Aus and another away in the UAE)
SL 1 (against Bangladesh)

http://stats.espncricinfo.com/ci/en...=span;template=results;type=team;view=innings

How many of those are away from home against non-minnows? I can only think of Australia at Lord's, New Zealand at Sharjah and Lord's and England at Abu Dhabi, This is not the Indian batting line up of the 2000s, so just like every other team right now, you can't expect them to pile up 500+ scores away from home.

Australia
Home - England, India (4x), NZ (2x)
Away - England (Lords)

NZ
Home - India (2x) and SL
Away - England (Lords), WI (Kingston), Australia (Perth) and Pakistan (Sharjah)

Kohli
Pujara
Rahane
Vijay
Dhavan
Rahul
Rohit

What do you think of them? What are strengths and weaknesses? This thread is to discuss anything and everything related to modern Indian batting

Kohli, Rahane and Vijay are class batsmen.
Sharma is talented but not mentally up to it.
Dhawan is technically flawed and won't make runs where the ball bounces.
Bit early to make a call on Rahul.
Pujara is a gun but has struggled away so not sure what to make of him right now.

Anyone writing off Kohli as a test batsman is being too cheeky. He just needs one big season to compensate for his stats altogether. Why so harsh on him? He is young and got thrown into some hostile conditions for batting home and away and wherver batting was fine he shined..Kojli was exceptionally good in RSA and Aus and regardless of how flat Aussie pitches are, at least for desi batsmen they still remain a challenge.

, Vijay lacks an extra-gear.

Don't agree on that. When needed, he can up the ante. He has done that a few times in the recent past.

Not that it matters much considering the kind of role hes essays in Tests.

Vijay, Kohli and Rahane are world class. Kohli appears to have temperamental issues making big hundreds though, he seems to throw it off as soon as he gets a 100.

Pujara - semi world class at the moment, he has regressed since 2013 - hopefully he will find his feet again.

Rohit and Dhawan are mediocre test batsmen - good enough for averaging in the mid 30s. Rohit is supposedly held talented because he can play breathtaking strokes. But their defensive games have some flaws with which they can get away in ODIs but not in tests.

Ashwin is a classy test bat for a #8. He was his state team's opener in the past and has a lot of talent with the bat, but at #8 he won't get enough opportunities to prove himself.

Vijay is a great batsmen and one of the best openers in the world. But despite that he is very overrated in comparison to other Indian batsmen. Kohli’s failures in England are always talked about but everyone seems to ignore that Vijay did nothing in South Africa and New Zealand.

Even though Vijay did not score lot in SA, but he handle the new ball of Styen and Vernon very well. That is half of the job, shielding middle order from new ball. If our openers can do just that, we will be more than happy.

Openers have to be evaluated with a different yardstick - since they tackle the new ball, and fresh and the best new ball bowlers. Very few openers, if ever any, have succeeded everywhere.

Kohli will come good, don't chuck him out, just having some bad form.

Pujara is an awesome batsmen, has very good potential.

Rahane is arguably the best batsmen in the team.

Vijay is a good player, is kind of getting overshadowed

Rahul is average at best, should be looking to replace him.

Rohit is a good batsmen, he's talented but he needs to be more patient or else he'll just be another U.Akmal in tests (I know, lets do a comparison thread for Rohit Sharma v Umar Akmal in tests, surely that will help! :P)

Dhawan is also pretty mediocre like Rahul.

Rahul is the worst out of all of them. If you don't count Saha anyway. :))

I like Pujara, Vijay and Rahane.
Won't say any thing about Kohli as he is passing through bad phase.
Dhawan, Sharma and Saha don't know what they are for tbh.

KL Rahul is one of those zero or hundred guys. Over-excitable, but he's young so hopefully he'll get over it.

Would have loved to see Dhawan against Mcgrath

Kohli, Rahane and Vijay are key in the line up. I think our best bets.

Pujara when he is out to bat I always have confidence he will stay and make a big score, but off late its been hit and miss. I'll still have him in the team.

Dhawan, No go outside India, but even in India i would love to have a replacement.

Rohit, not worth having in the team, scores a 50-70 run knock once in a blue moon and then goes hiding for a while. Never given me any sort of confidence in staying there and playing a big knock. Normally out with a classy single digit score.

Rahul, I like him, but needs to fix his nerves. Drops way too many simple catches and also its either duck or 100. He needs to ensure that he gets a start and not let nerves take over

Kohli,Vijay, Pujara and Rahane are sure-fire Indian greats. Whether any one of them can go ahead and become an ATG i cannot tell.

But 4 very good test batsmen.

That's pretty much standard that every where Virat scores the pitch is flat , the only thing counts is that he failed in one series in England .

I have my doubts on Pujara

Do not judge him based on a couple of failures in a dead rubber.

He and Vijay were the only two consistent batsmen in Mohali and Nagpur, matches where even 20's and 30's were vital. Also his innings in SL in the decider under pressure.

His overseas record is a blemish and has a problem with his defence currently, but a player with such a temperament will come out of it sooner or later.

M Vijay - Classical test opener, for a change, for India! One who can see off the new ball and go on to pile up a huge score. 8/10

S Dhawan - Hit/miss player. General consensus is that he can't play on difficult surfaces. I feel he is capable of scoring anywhere, but his strength and weakness is his confidence. He can take on any bowler on any pitch when he's in the mood. However, going to be replaced by Rahul in a year or two. 6/10

K L Rahul - Compact player. Don't know why posters here underrate him. Sure he has a string of low scores recently, but he's going to be immense for us when we tour for our next batch of overseas tours. He is damn capable of providing the solidity at the top. Big match player. Discount him at your own peril. 7/10

C Pujara - Best player in the line up. The entire batting will revolve around him once Vijay regresses/hangs his boots. Solid. He is bound to do well in our next batch of overseas tours. 8/10

V Kohli - Player who will score runs in adversity. I know his England failures, but he's a guy who can rub it on the oppositions and quite capable of demolishing them. Somehow feel his captaincy will add that 'edge' to his persona. Solid. 8/10

A Rahane - Very good to watch. He needs to add some toughness to his batting and he will end up in the pantheon of Indian batting greats. Reminds me of a certain R Dravid. Enough said. 9/10

R G Sharma - My personal favorite. Unfortunately might not survive long in test circuit. No temperament! 5/10

M Vijay - Classical test opener, for a change, for India! One who can see off the new ball and go on to pile up a huge score. 8/10

S Dhawan - Hit/miss player. General consensus is that he can't play on difficult surfaces. I feel he is capable of scoring anywhere, but his strength and weakness is his confidence. He can take on any bowler on any pitch when he's in the mood. However, going to be replaced by Rahul in a year or two. 6/10

K L Rahul - Compact player. Don't know why posters here underrate him. Sure he has a string of low scores recently, but he's going to be immense for us when we tour for our next batch of overseas tours. He is damn capable of providing the solidity at the top. Big match player. Discount him at your own peril. 7/10

C Pujara - Best player in the line up. The entire batting will revolve around him once Vijay regresses/hangs his boots. Solid. He is bound to do well in our next batch of overseas tours. 8/10

V Kohli - Player who will score runs in adversity. I know his England failures, but he's a guy who can rub it on the oppositions and quite capable of demolishing them. Somehow feel his captaincy will add that 'edge' to his persona. Solid. 8/10

A Rahane - Very good to watch. He needs to add some toughness to his batting and he will end up in the pantheon of Indian batting greats. Reminds me of a certain R Dravid. Enough said. 9/10

R G Sharma - My personal favorite. Unfortunately might not survive long in test circuit. No temperament! 0.5/10

Fixed.

Rahane is India's best test batsmen.
Kohli needs to overcome his off-stump problem, if he does that he will be the best amongst all the other bats in the team.

vijay and rahane are world class. kohly and pujara are decent . rest are ordinary

Take a note fellas.

Fans like [MENTION=90229]Sandeep[/MENTION] are awesome fans.

They may love a player but they are willing to accept the shortcomings of a player in a format and are even willing to accept that they don't deserve a place in a particular format.

In a world of forums filled with people who defend their favourites to death whether it makes sense or not....this is one amazing quality to have.

No patronizing.

True respect.

Take a note fellas.

Fans like [MENTION=90229]Sandeep[/MENTION] are awesome fans.

They may love a player but they are willing to accept the shortcomings of a player in a format and are even willing to accept that they don't deserve a place in a particular format.

In a world of forums filled with people who defend their favourites to death whether it makes sense or not....this is one amazing quality to have.

No patronizing.

True respect.

That's a great compliment SIF bhai :P

Indian batting RIGHT NOW is like 2 opposite sides of the coin.

When they click, they can really do well and pile on the runs and when they flop, they can crumble like a bunch of tailenders.

They can be both class and crap.

They have a warrior as well as a phattu inside them.

They can be very smart and they can have crazy brainfades.

Its tough to describe Indian batting accurately.

The 4 pillars are: Vijay, Pujara, Kohli and Rahane. They are good test batsmen but have a long way to go. They all have their strengths and weaknesses so it will be interesting to see how they go about in their careers.

The quality is there but the output is currently NOT there. All we can do is wait for these fellas to develop (in case Pujara to revert back to his old state where he was a better batsman than now..and then develop).

R G Sharma - My personal favorite. Unfortunately might not survive long in test circuit. No temperament! 5/10

Excellent post.Rahane is more or less in same category as other three.He bats down the order.So he makes lesser impact.Just hope he piles runs at home.

Rahane is a some what better stroke maker than Dravid, so I have a feeling he will do better in places like Australia and SA where Dravid's slow batting sometimes let him down against the best bowlers. Rahane is more like Laxman rather than Dravid, I would say. Pujara in zone has many qualities of Dravid, but current version of Pujara lags way behind Dravid. Kohli's game is similar to Sachin and he can simply demolish bowling attacks on his day.

Don't take these comparisons seriously please. :)) All these three have to play well for ten years before such comparisons make real sense.

Rahane is a some what better stroke maker than Dravid, so I have a feeling he will do better in places like Australia and SA where Dravid's slow batting sometimes let him down against the best bowlers. Rahane is more like Laxman rather than Dravid, I would say. Pujara in zone has many qualities of Dravid, but current version of Pujara lags way behind Dravid. Kohli's game is similar to Sachin and he can simply demolish bowling attacks on his day.

Don't take these comparisons seriously please. :)) All these three have to play well for ten years before such comparisons make real sense.

India can never replace Laxman and Sehwag. I dare say Sachin and Dravid can be replicated in comparison! I was just trying to emphasize the importance of Rahane in our current line up.. Like a wall

Overall I don't describe them as successful batting unit. Looks good on paper but collapses are far too often for my liking. Even in this series batting hasn't really been assuring but they got away with it due to very poor effort from the opposition

Thats bound to happen. This line up is still young. I remember some ex-player saying recently that you're only a settled player once you play 40+ tests. They're still not complete batsman.

We've been spoilt with likes of Dravid, Ganguly, Sachin, Sehwag who just came in and set the scene ablaze. Lets at least enjoy the fact that we have solid 3 bats in Che, Kohli and Rahane who if fire together can score runs away as well. And an opener in Vijay who is bankable everywhere.

Dhawan and Rohit need to be booted and replaced with Rahul and Iyer/Pandey/any domestic performer.

The problem is this team has no real seniors. When Dravid, Ganguly and Laxman came into the scene, they had stalwarts like Azhar and Sachin to guide them. This is a young team with Kohli at the helm, but Kohli is becoming a seasoned player only now. Inexperience is writ large on this team.

As an Indian fan I was hoping these batsmen would have found their feet in test cricket by now but these batsmen haven't progressed the way I would have hoped. As you said, there have been lot of batting collapses in the recent past but you have got to keep in mind the fact that they all are relatively inexperienced.

The most experienced one is Kohli who has played 42 tests.

I will reserve my judgment on these players till next year but judging by their performance and the batting talent in domestic matches, I think that our batting will be the envy of rest of the teams.

Well done lad.. My doubts are slowly fading away

That's pretty much standard that every where Virat scores the pitch is flat , the only thing counts is that he failed in one series in England .

Like I said, you might not like it but Kohli scored on the flattest of tracks known to man, while in Australia, and didn't get to play on typical South African pitches either.

there is really something in the way india develops its players. its a repeat of history. india is again slowly producing a top class batting line up, with 1-2 quality spinners, and a weak fast attack.

How many asian batsmen have done well on their first tours of Australia , England and New Zealand ? At least let him tour one more time before writing him off as exposed in overseas conditions.

When he was averaging in the 70s and 80s before going overseas, some India fans were calling him the best batsman in the world, a future ATG, etc. It is only fair that he gets enough criticism to balance out the praise, when he has failed.

Besides, I never said that he can't improve.

When he was averaging in the 70s and 80s before going overseas, some India fans were calling him the best batsman in the world, a future ATG, etc. It is only fair that he gets enough criticism to balance out the praise, when he has failed.

Besides, I never said that he can't improve.

Yes. But you did say that he was exposed. You can say he is exposed if he fails the second around , not now.

You can get exposed but then fix your mistakes and do well. Pujara has been exposed overseas and if he can fix his mistakes, he'll do better.

i partly agree with this. i would persist with dhawan. boot rohit for iyer,, rahul, nair, or pandey or even vihari.

Dhawan is mentally shot. He needs a boost. Let Dhawan have a season of Ranji and gain his confidence back, meanwhile be part of the ODI side.

Playing him through this form will do him no good but also affect his ODI game imo. He's our key player there.

You can get exposed but then fix your mistakes and do well. Pujara has been exposed overseas and if he can fix his mistakes, he'll do better.

So you'd say Amla has been exposed now and that he's not good anymore until he improves his record until he tours SC again? :13:

Dhawan is mentally shot. He needs a boost. Let Dhawan have a season of Ranji and gain his confidence back, meanwhile be part of the ODI side.

Playing him through this form will do him no good but also affect his ODI game imo. He's our key player there.
yeah its one way to go about it. he has been poor since the world cup. he was even dreadful in the ipl.i don't really understand how he has so many lulls for a player of such class. maybe he does need a drop to re focus.

So you'd say Amla has been exposed now and that he's not good anymore until he improves his record until he tours SC again? :13:

I'd say that you need to go and watch his previous tours of India and his recent series in the UAE and Sri Lanka. Desperate attempt is desperate.

dhawan is FTB.. In fact his skills on flat track are even debatable. Can't move his feet to save his own life. Can't play swing/seam/ bounce. India is persisting with him cause they don't have anyone better for now.

Dhawan is not the worst opener in the world. He can be very useful on flat tracks, when in form. A very poor man's Sehwag.

dhawan is FTB.. In fact his skills on flat track are even debatable. Can't move his feet to save his own life. Can't play swing/seam/ bounce. India is persisting with him cause they don't have anyone better for now.

i don't know. i think he has a pretty good technique and tremendous balance. he can line up a ball as good as anyone-that makes up for the shoddy feet movement.
he's a confidence player. when he's in form he's great to watch. the highs are so good with him, i feel he can bring his game to the next level and put it all together. i think its a mental thing and this is why i would persist with him.

as for there not being any better options- i agree, but then that is why most players are persisted with anyway.

i don't know. i think he has a pretty good technique and tremendous balance. he can line up a ball as good as anyone-that makes up for the shoddy feet movement.
he's a confidence player. when he's in form he's great to watch. the highs are so good with him, i feel he can bring his game to the next level and put it all together. i think its a mental thing and this is why i would persist with him.

as for there not being any better options- i agree, but then that is why most players are persisted with anyway.

I don't agree, he positions his weight and swing which works when there is minimal bounce. He will always struggle outside of dead wickets IMO. Not mental it's technical.

Dhawan is not the worst opener in the world. He can be very useful on flat tracks, when in form. A very poor man's Sehwag.
He is a better clutch player in ODIs than Sehwag. Sehwag routinely went missing in semis and finals. Gambhir was arguably India's most clutch opener in last decade or so.

Like I said, you might not like it but Kohli scored on the flattest of tracks known to man, while in Australia, and didn't get to play on typical South African pitches either.

But he wasn't facing club level bowlers. If they were so easy to bat on, why other Indian batsmen didn't make the same amount of runs? Why the Aussie batsmen with the exception of Smith did not score more on home wickets against trundler Indian bowlers?

Aussie wickets have more bounce on them even at the worst - more bounce than any "bouncy" SC wicket. Kohli made mountains of runs in Australia because he is extremely good against bounce. He is better handling bounce than most players in the world today. He has to improve his game against lateral movement, but this problems is not unique to Kohli - many top batsmen these days have problems against the moving ball, as well as quality spin.

A good batting lineup and Rahane is probably the best of the lot.. There is no one as good as dravid or tendulkar or laxman but still a very competitive batting lineup.

Rahul - Gun. comfortably best indian opener and best batsman in recent series
Vijay - Too inconsistent and not good enough
Pujara - best Indian batsman in Asian conditions. Needs to do better in away tours
Kohli - Not consistent but I firmly believe he has the highest ceiling of any Indian player.
Rahane - not good enough in Asia. Brilliant fielder and a useful leader
Nair - Not impressive and less than a mediocre fielder.
Rohit - shown lot of promise in NZ tour. Can be horses for the courses guy in Asia like Khawaja.