'Current period Golden for country'...'Greedy people hungry for power want to break India’: PM Modi in Gujarat

The Bald Eagle

Greedy people hungry for power want to break India’: PM Modi in Gujarat

Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Monday hit out at the opposition, saying that some people “full of negativity” are attacking the country's unity and integrity. “When trust in India increases, our exports increase and more investment comes into the country. When trust in India increases, foreign investors invest their money in India. They invest in factories. On one hand, every citizen of the country wants to become India's brand ambassador in the whole world and is engaged in taking his country forward,” ANI quoted Modi as saying at an event in Ahmedabad.

Congress most dishonest party in country’: PM Narendra Modi in Haryana“

On the other hand in the same country, some people full of negativity are doing the opposite. These people are attacking the unity of the country. These greedy people hungry for power want to break India into pieces. These people are saying together that they will bring back Article 370 in Jammu and Kashmir or that they want to implement the rule of two constitutions and two laws in Jammu and Kashmir again,” the prime minister said.

'People full of negativity do not leave any opportunity to defame India, that is why these people are continuously targeting Gujarat also. Therefore, Gujarat has to be cautious of them. It also has to keep an eye on them. India which is on the path of development will fight such forces strongly. India has no time to waste now, we have to increase the development of India and also give a life of dignity to every Indian. I know that Gujarat is leading in this too,” PM Modi said.

Golden period for country’: PM Modi

During his address, Prime Minister Modi said the present period is “golden for the country”.“ In the next 25 years, we need to make India developed. In this goal, Gujarat is going to play a crucial role. Gujarat, today, is becoming a huge hub of manufacturing. It's one of the most well-connected states in the country. The day isn't far when Gujarat will gift the first Made in India transport aircraft C295,” he added.

Source: Hindustan Times

1989-1992.. 1975-1980, Bankruptcy and Emergency are our two dark periods, those two seem to be the norm for Pakistan , hence you guys don’t feel them as dark.

This is the darkest period for India.

Chaiwala Modi has been a disaster for India.

Economically, this may not be the darkest period since 1947, but it is certainly not a golden era either, as India has yet to achieve its full economic potential. However, morally, this is indeed one of the darkest periods India has faced since gaining independence.

So Golden, that Indians are ready to dump their Indian citizenship for a better life by fleeing this Incredible India we keep hearing of.

More like comedy gold! 🤣
Indians rank third in the number of individuals crossing the U.S. border illegally.

Economically, this may not be the darkest period since 1947, but it is certainly not a golden era either, as India has yet to achieve its full economic potential. However, morally, this is indeed one of the darkest periods India has faced since gaining independence.
1975-77, 1947-48, 1989-1993, morally our darkest with violence.

Its not golden neither close to darkest.

Darkest? Because pakistanis dont like Modi.

womp womp.. Highest Foreign Reserves , better education sure this is darkest period Erdogan fan.

His country owes $800mn to Adani. That's their actual position.

Can't wait for the day when the public starts throwing out Bangladeshis from the country.

It is not a Golden period to be honest but way better than what we were 10 years back. Most people moved to middle-class. And middle-class aspires upward movement hence they migrate to countries with better standard of living and better economic opportunities.

1989-1992.. 1975-1980, Bankruptcy and Emergency are our two dark periods, those two seem to be the norm for Pakistan , hence you guys don’t feel them as dark.
How come one call this the golden age. Kashmir has no representative govt since 2019, Manipur violence on rise, Muslims in India being demonized, Political opponents being jailed, Sikh separatism movements in full swing abroad, farmers at home protesting intermittently and much more.

So do you still consider it a Golden age?

India has yet to achieve its full economic potential.
India will never achieve full economic potential as it has a huge population, unless they do an iron fist 1 child policy like China, India will never ever get to the top.

However that is OK, India does not need to be at the very top. India just need to do what they can in their control to keep getting better; build up forex reserves, improve infrastructure, focus on education, science & technology keep growing the economy and it will be fine.

Imagine being a Pakistan or Bangladesh to never see any light at the end of the tunnel being in a hopeless situation till the end of time, yikes that is a scary thought...

Absolutely. It must definitely be so if an India-hating Bangladeshi living in Canada says it.
Sweep shot bro been watching too much nangin dancing and zakir naik videos, I think we might have lost him. He is way way deep in the ummah.

I wouldn't take what he says with any value.

:😁

If we talk relatively, yes India is doing way better now.

Post 2008 recession cycle was when India should have capitalized on global economic growth with double digit growth. But we missed the bus while China continued to build on its growth cycle.

Current situation is that, global economic growth slowed down but India thankfully is doing better. Hope we continue on this path. This is the phase which can decide the next economic growth cycle.

Particularly, China+1 strategy by global MNCs is offering huge benefit to India, Vietnam, Indonesia, Mexico and other developing nations. Hope we continue our global IT dominance and expand a bit on manufacturing.

Once, semi-conductor Fabs are established, our electronics and Auto sector will give enough boost to almost double our manufacturing output.

How come one call this the golden age. Kashmir has no representative govt since 2019, Manipur violence on rise, Muslims in India being demonized, Political opponents being jailed, Sikh separatism movements in full swing abroad, farmers at home protesting intermittently and much more.

Kashmir has never been this peaceful since terrorism started in late 80s. Tourism at full scale.

Muslims are not any special group. They will have equal rights. Their days political patronage as a vote bank is gone.

Corrupt politicians get jailed all the time. We don't have amnesty schemes like NROs here.

Why should we concern ourselves with what citizens of other countries do?

Farm income has gone up. Only farmers of one particular place/community are protesting.

This is only the start of the golden age.

Absolutely. It must definitely be so if an India-hating Bangladeshi living in Canada says it.
I'm pretty sure India's Golden period will start immediately if and when his fellow Bangladeshi termite Badruddin Ajmal becomes the PM of India.

Any chance you can give a proper reply other than posting smilies?

Modi says India's golden age has started. For some reason our padosis are up in arms?

Bhai tumlogon ko kuch nahi bola.

Just look at the isolation of India in South Asia ie its own backyard. One among many reasons to ponder over CJ.

What isolation?

Nepal SL Bhutan have a India friendly government.

Even Maldivian government has come to its senses and wants the Maldivian government to visit India ASAP.

Don't care about relationship with pakistan. That door needs to be shut.

If BD wants to be another Pakistan. So be it. Its surrounded by India on 3 sides. India just needs to apply or increase duty on goods passing to BD. That will bring BD economy to its knees.

His country owes $800mn to Adani. That's their actual position.

Can't wait for the day when the public starts throwing out Bangladeshis from the country.

It is because of that Indian agent known as Sheikh Hasina.

She messed up BD's economy, looted from BD, and made BD dependent on India.

Now that she is gone, things will be fixed soon hopefully.

You worry about chaiwala Modi who is slowly making India isolated in the region.

No it’s not a golden age, I just corrected you on the darkest age.
Mate I’m a Punjabi the Sikh separatist movement from 1980-1990 was so much more brutal than you can think, Tamil terrorism literally blew up our PM, Hindu Muslim riots of 1992-1993, etc etc so many tough moments, this is the easiest we have had in decades.

*Afghanistan also comes in South Asia
*Bangladesh case you already mentioned. Free advice send Hasina back
*Pakistan no need to mention
* On Maldives they still favor China over India

*On Nepal even after oli's departure things are not hunky dory yet
*On Iran

What isolation?

Nepal SL Bhutan have a India friendly government.

Even Maldivian government has come to its senses and wants the Maldivian government to visit India ASAP.

Don't care about relationship with pakistan. That door needs to be shut.

If BD wants to be another Pakistan. So be it. Its surrounded by India on 3 sides. India just needs to apply or increase duty on goods passing to BD. That will bring BD economy to its knees.

*On Iran
Iran is not our region, we have an open border with Nepal.
Bhutan prefers us, so does Myanmar over east Pakistan.

Also on Iran and Afghans, they probably trust us more than Pakistan, which is visible on how trade and voting in UN goes, actions matter more than statements, Iran or Afghan Taliban will dare not attack Indian soil.

If anything except China(non guns) no one will dare attack India, actions matter not words, if words mattered Biden might seem pro Palestenian.

*On Iran

Right now India is back in Afghanistan with its humanitarian and development projects that Taliban has welcomed.

Give some free advice to Pakistan.

Maldives is trying to balance India and China as it faces a forex crisis. Muizzu has realised his preference of China over India isn't going to work in his country's favour.

Nepal claims lipulekh since 60 years. There has been no change in status. 40 per cent of Nepalis are Madhesi who live in the plains and have a very strong connection to UP and Bihar. The Nepali congress is a very pro India party.

Iran isn't in our region. Still if you google you will see khamanei gives such statements every few years. While nothing changes in the actual relationship.

India will never achieve full economic potential as it has a huge population, unless they do an iron fist 1 child policy like China, India will never ever get to the top.

However that is OK, India does not need to be at the very top. India just need to do what they can in their control to keep getting better; build up forex reserves, improve infrastructure, focus on education, science & technology keep growing the economy and it will be fine.

Imagine being a Pakistan or Bangladesh to never see any light at the end of the tunnel being in a hopeless situation till the end of time, yikes that is a scary thought...
This may not be to the liking of a few Ind posters but its the truth. India will never ever achieve full economic potential. That just the way it is. Its just the Ind SC mentality. And Ind will never catch up with China either. China is in an altogether different league. Not downgrading Ind or anything but thats just the way it is and I am totally honest about it. No sugarcoating here.

And your 2nd line is so accurate. Thats where Ind needs to be and can be. Middle of the pack with growing economy, infra, tech , vibrant secular democratic republic.

Right now India is back in Afghanistan with its humanitarian and development projects that Taliban has welcomed.

Maldives is trying to balance India and China as it faces a forex crisis. Muizzu has realised his preference of China over India isn't going to work in his country's favour.

Nepal claims lipulekh since 60 years. There has been no change in status. 40 per cent of Nepalis are Madhesi who live in the plains and have a very strong connection to UP and Bihar. The Nepali congress is a very pro India party.

Iran isn't in our region. Still if you google you will see khamanei gives such statements every few years. While nothing changes in the actual relationship.

India is only allowed to do humanitarian relief work in Afghanistan. There is more chance of building hindu temples in Pakistan than Afghanistan so that puts into perspective the welcome afforded to Modi's India.

You worry about chaiwala Modi who is slowly making India isolated in the region.
I am not sure about the impact of having bad relations with neighbors unless a war breaks out.

India’ trade with its neighbors cob tributes about 7% of its exports and we are a net exporter. So, our dependency on either Pakistan or Bangladesh or other border nations is very less.

You are just bitter about India and hopeful that we tread the same path like Ban/Pak and ruin our economic growth. Not happening!

I sincerely hope that Ban/Pak could revert to the growth path and peaceful relations can offer some opportunities for India too.

India is only allowed to do humanitarian relief work in Afghanistan. There is more chance of building hindu temples in Pakistan than Afghanistan so that puts into perspective the welcome afforded to Modi's India.

Why will India build temples in Afghanistan?

Right now India seems to be getting along in Afghanistan while Taliban sits in Peshawar and refuses to even respect the pakistani anthem.

First return the money that you owe and then open your mouth.

What shameless people are you, use electricity worth 800mn USD from India and then bad mouth india. Most thankless community.

Your country exists because of India.

Why will India build temples in Afghanistan?

Right now India seems to be getting along in Afghanistan while Taliban sits in Peshawar and refuses to even respect the pakistani anthem.

If India is getting along with the Taliban Islamic govt in Afghanistan, can you provide some examples of co-operation between the two countries on matters other than sport or humanitarian relief? Are there any defence or trade agreements for example? Are Afghans and Indian citizens free to travel to each other's countries for tourism?

We have always been reluctant in dealing with Taliban only because of our high regard for the Afghan people. If Taliban reform themselves and treat their own people with kindness and provide safe travels and business within Afghanistan then we could be persuaded to deal with them.

Taliban is not Afghanistan. They maybe in power today but they not been accepted by Afghans in general.

We have always been reluctant in dealing with Taliban only because of our high regard for the Afghan people. If Taliban reform themselves and treat their own people with kindness and provide safe travels and business within Afghanistan then we could be persuaded to deal with them.

Taliban is not Afghanistan. They maybe in power today but they not been accepted by Afghans in general.

They seem to have been accepted ahead of all other alternatives which included those Afghan officials which had the might of the world's best military backing.

Seems like this is the way to go. We cannot ignore the reality. Taliban has firm control over Afghanistan. But they must treat the Afghans with utmost love and care. If anyone dares hurt Afghans, it doesn’t matter if it is Taliban or anyone, we will not leave them.

Selling 'nafrat ka saaman': PM Modi targets Rahul Gandhi at Jammu rally​

Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Thursday slammed Rahul Gandhi for the remarks he made during his recent US visit and said that the Congress can put faith and culture at stake for a few votes anytime.

"Congress can put our faith and culture at stake for a few votes anytime. The Congress heir went abroad and said that our 'devi-devta' are not gods... It is an insult to our faith," PM Modi said while addressing a public rally in poll-bound Jammu.

"Congress should be punished for this... They don't say all this just for the sake of it, or as a mistake. It is a planned conspiracy. It is a naxal mindset which has been imported from other religions and other countries... This naxal mindset of Congress insulted the Dogra culture of Jammu," he added.

Addressing an event in US's Texas last week, Rahul Gandhi had said, "Devta in India actually means a person whose internal feelings are exactly the same as his external expression, meaning he is a completely transparent being. It does not mean God".

"If a person tells me everything he believes or thinks and expresses it openly, that’s the definition of a Devta... What’s interesting about our politics is how do you suppress your own ideas, how you suppress your own fears, greed, or ambitions and observe other people's fears and ambitions," he added.

The Prime Minister also alleged that every vote given to Congress will implement the manifesto of People's Democratic Party (PDP) and the National Conference (NC). He also claimed that Congress, PDP and the NC want to bring back Article 370 in Jammu and Kashmir.

"Every vote given to Congress will implement the manifesto of PDP and NC. They want to bring back Article 370. This means they want bloodshed in the valley again. Congress-NC alliance is being applauded in Pakistan," PM Modi said.

"Pakistan is very happy with the Congress-NC manifesto and has openly extended its support. Pakistan's Defence Minister has openly come out in support of the Congress-NC alliance. He says their agenda is the same as that of Pakistan. Congress and NC want to implement Pakistan's agenda in Jammu and Kashmir," he added.

The Prime Minister, however, asserted that power in the world can bring back Article 370.

"We will not let Pakistan's agenda be imposed in J&K. No power in the world can bring back Article 370 in Jammu and Kashmir," he said.

Modi screaming non-stop about Pakistan again. This is your nation's politics Modi ji, why do you constantly need to reference your neighbour?

Modi barking non-stop about Pakistan again. This is your nation's politics Modi ji, why do you constantly need to reference your neighbour?

Pakistan officially cried and whined about article 370 removal. Isn't it?

You guys could choose to ignore the ground realities. No problem at all

The only guys ignoring ground realisties are pakistanis.

Your country is bankrupt.

You live in a military dictatorship.

In last few years you have had border skirmishes with India Iran and Afghanistan.

But you give Gyaan to others. Use some for the betterment of your own country.

In last few years you have had border skirmishes with India Iran and Afghanistan.

Yep and India is the largest democracy on Earth better than Sweden and Norway in essence, most religiously tolerant country with a PM who hasn't even kill even a fly ever.

Bhai don’t listen to Gyaan then.

Because Modi's popularity and politics heavily relies on Pakistan

He mentions Pakistan FIVE times just in that small excerpt of the article. I think Pakistan must indeed be a very important factor for his politics. Perhaps there isn't much else to offer the vote base of India.

His speech writer has a very easy job.

Pakistan, a country in bankcrupcy and political mess, a country riddled with terrorism, a country living in handouts but their biggest worry is what Modi ji is doing in neighbouring state. Then they ask why Indians are obsessed with Imran Khan. If ever ulta chor kotwal ko daate has a face. Pakistani posters are literally obsessed with Indian PM..hahaha.

Modi is 2 times chief minister of Gujarat and 3 times PM of India. He had made Gujarat and now India one of the most prosperous places to live in its entire history. Indians love Modi ji and will vote for him as long as he runs election. Rather than opening thousands of threads about him in frustration, focus on your country guys. It is Sab Changa Si as far as Modi is concerned.

Pakistan, a country in bankcrupcy and political mess, a country riddled with terrorism, a country living in handouts but their biggest worry is what Modi ji is doing in neighbouring state. Then they ask why Indians are obsessed with Imran Khan. If ever ulta chor kotwal ko daate has a face. Pakistani posters are obsessed with Indian PM.

Modi is 2 times chief minister of Gujarat and 3 times PM of India. He had made Gujarat and now India one of the most prosperous places to live in its entire history. Indians love Modi ji and will vote for him as long as he runs election. Rather than opening thousands of threads about him in frustration, focus on your country guys. It is Sab Changa Si as far as Modi is concerned.
No trolling but what level of prosperity would be enough to tempt you back brother?

How much more does Modi have to to get things to the level Rajdeep desires?

No trolling but what level of prosperity would be enough to tempt you back brother?

Back where? Back to India? All the Brit Pakistanis here who supported Imran Khan, did they all went back to Pakistan during his stint as PM? People who live in a certain country have their properties, jobs, investments etc. It is not halwa to sell all of those and move back. In India's case they don't even give dual citizenship, so that adds another legality issue. So I would request not bring this silly arguement in future.

It is never about personalities but we are talking as a whole. In general, India has made great progress under Modi. Atleast it is better than present day Pakistan, that much you would agree. So as a Pakistanis, you guys should be focussing on your country rather than opening hundreds of threads about Modi. This obsession is amusing but need to stop. Then when we see ironical threads like why Indians are obsessed with Imran Khan, it is full blown comedy

:yk

Back where? Back to India? All the Brit Pakistanis here who supported Imran Khan, did they all went back to Pakistan during his stint as PM? People who live in a certain country have their properties, jobs, investments etc. It is not halwa to sell all of those and move back. In India's case they don't even give dual citizenship, so that adds another legality issue. So I would request not bring this silly arguement in future.

It is never about personalities but we are talking as a whole. In general, India has made great progress under Modi. Atleast it is better than present day Pakistan, that much you would agree. So as a Pakistanis, you guys should be focussing on your country rather than opening hundreds of threads about Modi. This obsession is amusing but need to stop. Then when we see ironical threads like why Indians are obsessed with Imran Khan, it is full blown comedy

:yk
Oh ok so not yet?

I agree with most of the responses - pollution, civic sense, female freedom, less interference and gossip. Money obviously the biggest motivator. It was heartening to see a bunch of people showing interest in returning though.

Modi meets top US tech leaders amid semiconductor push​

Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi has urged top tech companies in the US to explore India as a destination for manufacturing and innovation.

He met CEOs of tech majors in New York a day after attending the annual meeting of Quad countries, which also includes the US, Australia and Japan.

India has been positioning itself as an alternative to China to attract global firms looking at diversifying their supply chains.

The country has been particularly focusing on manufacturing of semiconductors in the past few years but it still lags far behind major suppliers like China and Taiwan.

Modi’s meeting with the tech leaders on Monday was attended by 15 top CEOs, including Google’s Sundar Pichai, Adobe’s Shantanu Narayen, IBM’s Arvind Krishna and NVIDIA’s Jensen Huang.

Addressing the gathering, Modi said, “they can co-develop, co-design, and co-produce in India for the world".

India’s foreign ministry said in a statement that the roundtable meeting touched upon technology’s use in innovations, “which have the potential to revolutionise the global economy and human development”.

Modi also addressed a rally of Indian-Americans whom he called “brand ambassadors” of the country and told the crowd of 15,000 in New York that India was key to “global development, global peace, global climate action, global innovations, global supply chains”.

Earlier on Saturday, Modi met US President Joe Biden on the sidelines of the Quad summit and the two countries signed several agreements.

The India-US semiconductor pact – which they have termed as a “watershed arrangement” – aims to establish a fabrication plant which will produce chips for national security, next-generation telecommunications and green energy applications, said a joint release.

This is India’s first such project with the US in which the country will provide chips to the US armed forces, allied militaries and Indian military.

Previous attempts at building homegrown semiconductor manufacturing industry in India have not seen desired results. But as the US aims to build resilience against China’s semiconductor industry – vital for modern technology – the deal gives a renewed fillip to India.

The Indian Express newspaper reported that the plant will focus on “three essential pillars for modern war fighting: advanced sensing, advanced communications and high voltage power electronics”.

This was Modi's first US visit since he won his third term in June and it came weeks before the presidential elections, where the Democrats are vying for re-election against former President Donald Trump of the Republican party.

Last week, Trump had announced that Modi was “a fantastic man” and he was going to meet him. But Indian diplomats were quiet about this meeting and it hasn’t happened so far.

On Saturday, the Quad leaders issued a joint communique which focused largely on maritime security in the Indo-Pacific region.

“We strongly oppose any destabilising or unilateral actions that seek to change the status quo by force or coercion…We seek a region where no country dominates and no country is dominated - one where all countries are free from coercion, and can exercise their agency to determine their futures,” the statement read.

Analysts say the statement didn’t name China but a large part of the message was aimed at the country. They also noticed that the language appeared to be much stronger.

“The language in the joint statement on provocations in the South China Sea, while not directly referring to China, is stronger than it's ever been before. And that’s because all four Quad states are increasingly concerned about the escalation in Chinese activities there,” said Michael Kugelman, director of the South Asia Institute at the Wilson Centre think-tank in Washington.

The Quad partners also announced the expansion of maritime surveillance, a pilot logistics network for natural disasters and a project to combat cervical cancer.

"Congress Can Never Erase Taint Of Emergency": PM On Constitution Debate

Prime Minister Narendra Modi today launched an attack on the Congress for imposing Emergency when the party was about to lose politically. Replying to the debate on the Constitution in parliament, PM Modi said the Congress "will never be able to erase the taint of Emergency."

"I expected a good debate on the Constitution, but some decided to grieve their losses," PM Modi said in a swipe at the Opposition.

"We are completing 75 years of the Constitution. If we look back, when India's Constitution completed 25 years, it was snatched using Emergency and India was turned into a prison and the rights of citizens were snatched. The Congress can't wipe off this sin. Whenever a discussion on the Constitution takes place, we will always talk about the Emergency," PM Modi said.

PM Modi said former prime minister and Congress leader Indira Gandhi did not believe in the Constitution.

"Even Indira Gandhi's election was declared null and void. Then she invoked Emergency in rage to save her chair. She misused the Constitution," he said.

"It was a time of injustice. Hundreds of people were thrown into jails. The insensitive government did not listen to people," PM Modi said.

He said her son Rajiv Gandhi destroyed the Supreme Court victory of Shah Bano for the sake of vote bank.

"Instead of helping a woman who was fighting for justice, he supported bad people. Nehru ji started it, Indira ji took it forward, then Rajiv Gandhi also got a taste. The next generation will be the same," PM Modi said.

He also attacked the National Advisory Council (NAC) of the then UPA government, which PM Modi said comprised unelected members advising the Prime Minister.

'UPI Is Marvel For Entire World; India Showed How Fintech Is Democratised': PM Modi In Nikhil Kamath's Podcast

The Unified Payment Interface (UPI) is a marvel for the whole world. When guests from around the world come, they ask how UPI works, said Prime Minister Narendra Modi during a posted hosted by Zerodha co-founder Nikhil Kamath. PM Modi also said India has presented an example to the world as to how technology is democratised in the world of fintech.

In the ‘People with The Prime Minister Shri Narendra Modi x Nikhil Kamath, By ***’, which was aired on Friday, the prime minister said he created a separate fund for innovation. The youth should take risks. They should feel that even if he fails, there is someone to take care of him.

On digital payments, PM Modi said, “Today, in just thirty seconds, I can directly transfer money into the accounts of 100 million farmers. Today, I can send subsidy to 130 million cylinder consumers with just one click in 30 seconds. Why did Jan Dhan account come into existence? Because billions that were being siphoned out due to corruption are now saved. And, technology has been used efficiently. Now, look at UPI. It is a marvel for the whole world. When guests from around the world come, they ask how UPI works. I tell them to visit any vendor."

He also said how technology is democratised in the world of fintech, India has presented this example to the world. Today, the youth is able to do wonders by possessing a mobile phone. And, the youth will remember, that there was once a government that made the whole world fit into my pocket, in my mobile phone.

“This is a technology-dominant century," the prime minister said.

He also said the country has made a commission for separate innovation. “I have created a separate fund for innovation. The youth should take risks.

They should feel that even if he fails, they will not die hungry. Someone will take care of him."

Tax relief for Indian middle class - but will it boost economy?​

Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi's coalition government has unveiled its first full-year budget after his party lost an outright majority in parliament last year.

Finance minister Nirmala Sitharaman announced measures to counter slowing growth, rising prices and flagging consumption among the middle class in Asia's third-largest economy.

After a period of world-beating growth of more than 8%, India is set for its slowest economic expansion in four years as stagnant wages and high food prices hit consumer spending and corporate profits.

Here are five key takeaways from India's union budget:

Tax cuts for the middle class

In a major relief to millions of taxpayers, the government has raised income tax exemption limits, making earnings of up to 1.2m rupees ($13,841; £11,165) - excluding special rate income like capital gains - entirely tax free.

The finance minister has also announced tweaks to other income tax slabs which is likely to leave more money in the hands of the middle class.

The income tax concessions to the middle class "seems aimed at addressing the slump in urban consumption", said Nomura's India Economist Aurodeep Nandi.

The impact, however, could be limited since a tiny fraction of Indians pay direct taxes. In 2023, 1.6% of Indians (22.4 million people) actually paid income taxes, according to data presented in parliament.

The market cheered the announcements with stocks of automobiles, consumer goods and online grocery companies rallying.

State-led infrastructure spending remains on track
State-funded capital expenditure on major road, port and railway projects has been a key driver of India's growth engine since 2020.

Despite an unexpected contraction in actual spending in the first nine months of this year, the government has modestly increased its infrastructure expenditure target for this year from 11.1 trillion to 11.2 trillion rupees ($129.18bn; £104.21bn).

The government has also proposed offering interest-free loans to states to enable them to spend more on infrastructure development.

Boost for nuclear energy, insurance

The budget has set a goal to generate 100GW of nuclear energy by 2047. As part of this plan, a Nuclear Energy Mission has been launched with a budget of 200bn rupees ($2.3bn, £1.86bn). The plan is to deploy five indigenous reactors by 2033 and amend laws, like the Civil Liability for Nuclear Damage Act, to realise goals and get more private sector participation in the sector.

Meanwhile, foreign direct investment limits for the insurance sector have been increased from 74% to 100%.

"This will aid foreign insurers' interest in investing in the growing Indian insurance market, where we expect strong premium growth to boost profitability," said Mohammed Ali Londe, Senior analyst at Moody's Ratings.

Small-scale industries and regulatory reform in focus

In order to ease the climate for doing business, which has been a major concern among investors, a high-level committee has been announced to undertake regulatory reforms in the non-financial sectors and reduce the compliance burden on corporations. The panel will make recommendations within a year.

Small and micro industries, that account for 35% of India's manufacturing and create millions of jobs, also got a boost through fiscal support of 1.5 trillion rupees ($17.31bn; £13.96bn) over the next five years.

The government has also raised production-linked subsidies and slashed import duties for local manufacturing units across sectors like textiles, mobile telephones and electronics. This could promote private investments, which have not picked up post the Covid-19 pandemic.

Balancing the fiscal math

Even with slightly higher budget outlays for infrastructure creation, India has had to continue a delicate balancing act between pushing economic growth and keeping its spending in check.

The budget has reiterated a commitment to reducing the government's deficit, which is the gap between what it earns and spends, to 4.4% by 2026 from 4.8% this year.

Global rating agencies closely watch these numbers, with lower debt figures leading to potentially better investment ratings in the future and a reduction in borrowing costs for the country.

India's recent slowdown has made the growth versus fiscal prudence trade-off increasingly challenging.

A recent economic survey by the finance ministry expects GDP growth to slow to between 6.3-6.8% in the financial year ending March 2026, in line with the Reserve Bank of India's forecasts.

With the budget out of the picture, the focus will now shift to the central bank's monetary policy meeting later this month.

The RBI has maintained policy rates at 6.5% since February 2023, but is likely to begin easing the cost of borrowing as both growth and inflation have begun to come down.

Last week, the central bank announced plans to inject $18bn into the domestic banking system to ease a cash shortage, a move seen by many as a precursor to rate cuts.

If current period is "golden", how come many Indians leave India (that too illegally)?

As of 2022, more than 700,000 undocumented Indians were living in the United States, the center estimates, making them the third-largest group, behind Mexicans and Salvadorans. Some of the faithful give offerings for the safety of relatives who have left India. Some Indians arrive legally and overstay their visas.

India increases defense budget by 9.5% amid military obsession

Modi-led BJP govt increases budget despite over 80 million people in India living below poverty line

India has raised its defense budget by 9.5%, allocating $78 billion for the year 2025. The Modi government’s latest budget reveals that defense spending now constitutes 8% of the country’s GDP, making India the fourth-largest defense spender globally, following the United States, Russia, and China.

According to international media reports, the budget includes $5.6 billion for the acquisition of new fighter jets and $2.8 billion to enhance the naval fleet.

Despite over 80 million people in India living below the poverty line, the country continues to prioritize military expansion, further fueling regional tensions with its aggressive defense policies.