Did hosting the ICC Champions Trophy 2025 backfire on Pakistan?

Asad T

Did hosting the ICC Champions Trophy 2025 backfire on Pakistan?​

Was hosting the Champions Trophy 2025 worth it for Pakistan?
After a wait of over 28 years, Pakistan finally hosted an ICC event. It was a long road back, marked by the exile of international cricket from the country.

Cricket in Pakistan was disrupted in 2009 when the Sri Lankan team was attacked. It wasn't until 2015 that international cricket slowly returned, with Zimbabwe being the first team to tour. Since then, Pakistan has hosted almost every major international side—except India. However, ongoing security concerns meant we never got the chance to host a marquee tournament at home.

That changed in 2025 when Pakistan hosted the ICC Champions Trophy.

Every major team, except India, toured. The tournament went ahead smoothly, and most importantly, there were no security incidents. But was it worth it?

Why It Was Worth It:

- The world saw that Pakistan is fully capable of hosting major international events with airtight security.
- India was exposed as being the only team unwilling to tour, making them look like bullies.
- The tournament led to much-needed upgrades in our stadiums.
- There was no unnecessary drama—everything ran as planned.

Why It Wasn't Worth It:
- Pakistan’s dismal on-field performance may have turned an entire generation of fans away from cricket.
- It reinforced the idea that India can dictate terms, making us look weak.
- The low turnout at stadiums raised questions about our passion for the game.
- The event caused massive headaches for residents of Karachi, Lahore, and Rawalpindi due to traffic congestion and road closures.

So, was there more harm than good? Were you happy the way things turned out?

To me, it was worth it, mainly because it has led to the removal of Riz-Bar in T20 cricket :)

Yes worth it, all Pakistan needs a strong performance team and they are ready for anything

I think it was worth it but Mohsin Naqvi and team Pakistan spoiled the party. Ofcourse MN appeased BCCI and did a great disservice

You think if opposition party was in power with Imran Khan as PM and Ramiz Raja was chairman, PCB wouldnt have agreed to BCCIs demands?

The tournament resulted in death of cricket but it exposed Bharat as the villain in cricket in front of the world and resulting in all goodwill lost in matter of days. It was a diplomatic win for PCB.

And now, to top it off, the PCB looked extra weak, not having a delegation at the closing ceremony despite being 'hosts'

In the subcontinent cricket is a big part of national identity and pride so we can get too emotional and lump things together that don't need to be lumped together.

In the case of this tournament, hosting, not playing well, India winning and the final being in UAE are all being lumped together rather than viewed in isolation.

The reality is

India winning - not in our control. They played well, we were awful.
Final being played in UAE - We knew this was a possibility at the time and agreed to it. It was a necessary evil and PCB tried the best they could given the odds stacked against them.
Team being awful - well we have been awful now for multiple ICC tournaments
Hosting - We successfully hosted a multi team environment in Pakistan, having 7 teams playing across the country.

in isolation - the hosting is the ONLY part of the tournament that went well for us.

Did hosting the ICC Champions Trophy 2025 backfire on Pakistan?​

Was hosting the Champions Trophy 2025 worth it for Pakistan?
After a wait of over 28 years, Pakistan finally hosted an ICC event. It was a long road back, marked by the exile of international cricket from the country.

Cricket in Pakistan was disrupted in 2009 when the Sri Lankan team was attacked. It wasn't until 2015 that international cricket slowly returned, with Zimbabwe being the first team to tour. Since then, Pakistan has hosted almost every major international side—except India. However, ongoing security concerns meant we never got the chance to host a marquee tournament at home.

That changed in 2025 when Pakistan hosted the ICC Champions Trophy.

Every major team, except India, toured. The tournament went ahead smoothly, and most importantly, there were no security incidents. But was it worth it?

Why It Was Worth It:

- The world saw that Pakistan is fully capable of hosting major international events with airtight security.
- India was exposed as being the only team unwilling to tour, making them look like bullies.
- The tournament led to much-needed upgrades in our stadiums.
- There was no unnecessary drama—everything ran as planned.

Why It Wasn't Worth It:
- Pakistan’s dismal on-field performance may have turned an entire generation of fans away from cricket.
- It reinforced the idea that India can dictate terms, making us look weak.
- The low turnout at stadiums raised questions about our passion for the game.
- The event caused massive headaches for residents of Karachi, Lahore, and Rawalpindi due to traffic congestion and road closures.

So, was there more harm than good? Were you happy the way things turned out?

To me, it was worth it, mainly because it has led to the removal of Riz-Bar in T20 cricket :)
I think it was worth to host such a big event & hosted 6 international teams at a timeis a great achievement

The 2025 Champions Trophy in Pakistan was a mixed experience. On the one hand, it was a historic event that proved Pakistan's ability to host international tournaments , improved infrastructure, and a somewhat smooth organization. On the other hand, the team's poor performance, India's absence, low stadium attendance, and logistical issues highlighted that there is still work to be done in improving Pakistan's standing in world cricket.

PCT official FB page is sharing Khushdil Shah vs Zim 2020 game , Rofl.

Not sure what the hell happened, has someone hacked the page?

It’s still important for monetary perspective. You need the money to fund cricket at all levels in your country.
I wonder how much money Pakistan made from it.
In the past when hosting tournaments, due to high levels of security, my understanding is there wasn't much juice left.

The tournament resulted in death of cricket but it exposed Bharat as the villain in cricket in front of the world and resulting in all goodwill lost in matter of days. It was a diplomatic win for PCB.
But world agreed to this before the tournament then there is no point of raise issue now

At the end of the day it’s about having a winning team.

Imagine Bharat lost 7/9 matches in CWC 2023 and got knocked out of the tournament in like 7-10 days while Pakistan qualified for the finals with 8/10 wins. Would you then have said the same about Bharat hosting the tournament?

Fact is when you have a winning team, it earns pride for your nation wherever they play and when you don’t have a winning team and there’s so much passion involved you feel some bezti as in case of Pakistan this time around.

Pride and bezti are two sides of the same coin.

In 2017, Pakistan earned pride and Bharat got beizzati.

Worth it for sure, we had to break the ice in terms of hosting an ICC event in Pakistan after 30 years and seeing where we actually stand cricketing infrastructure and fan engagement wise.

Sadly we are deficient on both fronts. Pakistani fans dissapointted for the most part for non-neutral games. Absolutely zero excuse for the attendance for the England South Africa, South Africa New Zealand Semi Final to be poorly attended. PCB desperately needs to upgrade other stadiums in the country and take the game there.

At the end of the day it’s about having a winning team.

Imagine Bharat lost 7/9 matches in CWC 2023 and got knocked out of the tournament in like 7-10 days while Pakistan qualified for the finals with 8/10 wins. Would you then have said the same about Bharat hosting the tournament?

Fact is when you have a winning team, it earns pride for your nation wherever they play and when you don’t have a winning team and there’s so much passion involved you feel some bezti as in case of Pakistan this time around.

Pride and bezti are two sides of the same coin.

In 2017, Pakistan earned pride and Bharat got beizzati.

Tbh the craze for Cricket in India is immense. Indians will still turn out in big numbers for their teams, star players, Indians are very proud of their team, players and then there is the IPL connection as well.

I have had this discussion with Dearlt bhai in the past. Our nationalism is a different level beast. Pakistani nationalism has died down a bit in the last few decades. Your military dictatorship has beaten down the very soul of your nation over the years

Lol how can a nation have any nationalism when its population is desperate to migrate outside the country? According to official stats, around 1 million Pakistani's left the country in 2023 & 2024.

Indians are also desperate to migrate out of the country. Many even do so illegally. :inti

As per Pew Research, there are over 700,000 illegal Indians in USA alone --> https://www.pewresearch.org/short-r...out-unauthorized-immigrants-living-in-the-us/.

I don't think nationalism is the main issue. Australians aren't very nationalists and yet they have won 10 ICC trophies.

Main issue is a lack of good system.

People are leaving from our country too and a lot of the overseas fans are the biggest cricket supporters in our countries.

Indians are also desperate to migrate out of the country. Many even do so illegally. :inti

As per Pew Research, there are over 700,000 illegal Indians in USA alone --> https://www.pewresearch.org/short-r...out-unauthorized-immigrants-living-in-the-us/.

I don't think nationalism is the main issue. Australians aren't very nationalists and yet they have won 10 ICC trophies.

Main issue is a lack of good system.
Australians are extremely nationalistic, infact they are one of the most nationalistic countries after world war.

Backfire is a modest term to describe the drubbing and humiliation it received. First of all, its not complete hosting as half the matches, semi and final held in Dubai. The Host nation just got to play only one match in Pakistan..4 washed out matches. No PCB representatives in the final trophy presentation.. Players belongings have got stolen multiple times.. Poor planning of the Semifinal, where Group B teams Aus and SA has to travel to and fro between Dubai, You may blame BCCI/ICC, but PCB is also involved in Planning and approval, you cant deny it. Poor turnaround for all matches except the one India played..and Most of all, India won the Trophy!!!..what else could go wrong..please forget hosting any ICC trophy..aap ki bas ki baat nahi hai..

Established being a key word, by which stretch of imagination and by which kpi are East Pakistan an established cricketing nation?

I wonder how much money Pakistan made from it.
In the past when hosting tournaments, due to high levels of security, my understanding is there wasn't much juice left.
PCB would have earned money from sponsorships, gate receipts, ICC host fee, ICC contribution toward renovations etc., but more importantly Pakistan showed that it can host a world event without any security issues even at scale and that it continues to remain safe for teams.

Backfire is a modest term to describe the drubbing and humiliation it received. First of all, its not complete hosting as half the matches, semi and final held in Dubai. The Host nation just got to play only one match in Pakistan..4 washed out matches. No PCB representatives in the final trophy presentation.. Players belongings have got stolen multiple times.. Poor planning of the Semifinal, where Group B teams Aus and SA has to travel to and fro between Dubai, You may blame BCCI/ICC, but PCB is also involved in Planning and approval, you cant deny it. Poor turnaround for all matches except the one India played..and Most of all, India won the Trophy!!!..what else could go wrong..please forget hosting any ICC trophy..aap ki bas ki baat nahi hai..

Whose?