I like south indian food, because it is really exotic/tasty for me

idli_sambar.jpg

thali2.jpg

800px-Dosai_Chutney_Hotel_Saravana_Bhavan.jpg

south-indian-food-on-leaf.jpg

^ this is just tamil. Kerala is famous for it's sea food

I wish there was a restaurant which served all foods from south asia and regional cuisines, that would be an awesome place

Nothing beats the simplicity of a masala/paper dosa while being quite satisfying at the same time.

I stay in Udupi (a district in Karnataka).... There are 100s of Udupi Restaurants serving South Indian Food all over the world... :)

Can someone write the names of famous South Indian dishes?

now some sea food

crab curry

crab+curry.jpg

some lobster dishes from Kerala

lobster_In_India.jpg

kumarakam-134.jpg

Dosa,Idly etc are invention of Brahmins of Tulunad belt also called as Sivalli Brahmins(Embrandiri in Malayalam). later, Iyengars(mysorean) spread it to Tamilnadu and now Tamil Restaurant chains excel in serving these items than original "Udupi hotels" also known in Kerala long back as "Poutty hotels".

In Kerala, the food were Puttu,Appam,Orotti etc until these items became popular 50 years back.

Beef and Pork is well made in Kerala apart from sea food. these are better. "Karimeen fry" i yummy. in Kerala, there is no Gau matha worship and ban on cow slaughter like in north India although RSS wants to enforce it. Cow meat is the favourite along with Mutton and Pork(in Syrian Christian areas).
Syrian Christian cuisines, Malabar cuisine(Mappila cuisine) are good Non-veg options.
Beef fry:
Beef-Ularthiyathu1.jpg

Kerala style paratha is called "Parotta" or "Porotta". pretty famous in Dubai and all and I believe it is called Malabari Paratha there:
kerala-parotta-recipe.jpg

Omg never thought of it like this. It looks so nice

South Indian food is popular in Karachi as well . I like it , different from typical Pakistani food . I like dhoklas as well .

I prefer Bengali/North Indian over South Indian.
Some South Indian dishes are good but I feel they over use coconut products, and what makes it worse is that the South Indian chef at our cafe adds coconut to every dish including Beef Bhuna, Muttom Kadhai (!), and once to Biryani as well. I have pointed out this sacrilege and yet he is content to continue using coconut in every Asian dish

I prefer Bengali/North Indian over South Indian.
Some South Indian dishes are good but I feel they over use coconut products, and what makes it worse is that the South Indian chef at our cafe adds coconut to every dish including Beef Bhuna, Muttom Kadhai (!), and once to Biryani as well. I have pointed out this sacrilege and yet he is content to continue using coconut in every Asian dish

Bengali food is too bland for me, I haven't tried everything though. South Indian is very spicy yet tasty. Also cocunut for me gives the exotic/tropical touch which we dont have in pakistani/north indian food

South Indian food is popular in Karachi as well . I like it , different from typical Pakistani food . I like dhoklas as well .

Really? who runs them? back when I was in Pakistan I only knew of one south indian place, which was run by Madrasi migrants to Karachi

Bengali food is too bland for me, I haven't tried everything though. South Indian is very spicy yet tasty. Also cocunut for me gives the exotic/tropical touch which we dont have in pakistani/north indian food

You probably had Bengali food from West Bengal , which often is less spicy and uses more sugar than their counterparts in Bangladesh.

Bangladeshi style based dishes can be rquite spicy such as Tehari, Haleem and Chotpoti (a mix made with chana)

One quintessential Bangladeshi dish is Tehari, beef and rice cooked with chilies
001.jpg

As for Coconut, it has its use in some dishes, not in Beef Bhuna or Mutton Kadai !

Pakistani south Indian bakwaas hota hai (I haven't tried ones in Karachi though) but there were a few in Punjab and they served chicken and meat with south Indian food.

I like South Indian food. Not with a passion but for a change it's good. Prawn curry and Kerala Fish is pretty good.

Dosas are tasty but I feel they are fattening.

You probably had Bengali food from West Bengal , which often is less spicy and uses more sugar than their counterparts in Bangladesh.

Bangladeshi style based dishes can be rquite spicy such as Tehari, Haleem and Chotpoti (a mix made with chana)

One quintessential Bangladeshi dish is Tehari, beef and rice cooked with chilies
001.jpg

As for Coconut, it has its use in some dishes, not in Beef Bhuna or Mutton Kadai !

Yes! Bangladeshi food is anything but bland.

Tehari.....damn I shouldnt have opened this thread. Tehari is AMAZING!

maybe we should open a new thread for Bangladeshi food and leave this one for South Indian cuisine :)

so much to post, chotpoti, kachchi biryani, haleem, mughlai paratha, mutton rezala...

Do south Indians eat meat other than fish??
Kerala is different as almost all of the population is non-veg eating fish and meat. fish is a must have while meat especially beef, chicken and mutton are common food. 95% of the people including Hindus are Non-Vegetarian or Fisheterian.

Duck is common in some districts and Duck Mappas is a good curry. recently, Emu farming is common from few years and Emu meat, Turkey and sometime Ostrich meat are available.
Python is cooked and eaten in Hill regions. I will dare touch this! :X

while in Karnatka or Tamilnadu or Andhra pradesh(Southern states), their non-veg food intake may be higher than north Indian states but no where near Keralans. I have lived in TN and KA for few years and general population are vegetarians some may be taking Chicken or mutton(rarely) once in a few months or so.

to given an idea of what is the average cost of meat products:
Price of Beef in US $ in Cochin : 3.2$ per KG Beef- Cow as well as Water buffalo meat
Mutton: 8$ per KG
Chicken: 1.4$ per KG

there are a large number(30Lakhs plus) migrant workers from northern/eastern states in Kerala mostly from W.Bengal,Bangladesh,Assam,Bihar,UP,Orissa,Chattisgarh,Jharkhand and MP etc most are from W.Bengal though. these labours are increasingly following our food customs taking red meat and fish which is quiet uncommon from where they come from.

More than 80% of kerala population are beef eaters(includes brahmins too).mutton,chicken,beef are the main ingrediants of our malabar muslim cusine.we can't live without it.:))

Yes! Bangladeshi food is anything but bland.

Tehari.....damn I shouldnt have opened this thread. Tehari is AMAZING!

Anyone unforunate to have had an experience of an 'Indian' takeaway in the UK (all run by Bangaldeshi migrants), will attest otherwise.

Bland as fish and chips, and half the dish is oil.

Why do you inflict such torture on people like me hoping for a good meal.

Around Brick Lane (Banglatown), the only decent desi food places are Tayyabs and Lahore Kebab House (both Pakistani).

On topic....

South Indian food is too diverse to be grouped as such.

You have Hyderabadi food - more Mughal/ North Indian influence. Biryani and Haleem come from here.

Keralite cuisine - lots of beef kebabs, fresh fish, and using lots of fresh spices.

Tamil - lots of vegeterian variety, as well as meat. Dosas, Utappas, Idli etc.

And lots of stuff which I probably have never heard of. There are lots of Tamils in the UK (Sri Lankan), so a few Tamil / South Indian restuarants hav epopped up here and there. But there are no big communities of South Indians from Andra, Kerala, etc - so will have to go to India I guess to sample proper South Indian cuisine.

Speaking of South Indian, people in the UK should try Chennai Dosa. I once had some at their Manor Park branch, and was pretty impressed. They have couple of branches at Surrey, Birmingham, manchester etc.

Savarna Bhavan > Chennai Dosa (just about)

Both are very very cheap.

Both pure veg though. :nehra

Really? who runs them? back when I was in Pakistan I only knew of one south indian place, which was run by Madrasi migrants to Karachi

I thought muslims from south indian states opted to stay back in India. Are there muslims in Pakistan who migrated from Madras/TamilNadu. I am interested to know how they are doing now?

Yes lots of Hydrabadi indians and Tamils from Madras migrated, though I think most of them speak urdu now, rather then Tamil. You would even find people from Kerala in Pakistan, not to mention people from Maharashtra and other central indian states

I like South Indian food. Not with a passion but for a change it's good.

Same here. I have only had it at a friend's place though, his wife likes to show off her cooking skills. I really need to try a proper restaurant, but then I always end up going to a Pakistan or Afghan joint instead.

Most of my pakistani friends who are trying south indian food for the first time really enjoy it. Yeah try it in a restaurant. You will love the thali meals

One of my favs is - Andhra Avakaya (Mango pickle)

I am not a big fan of spicy food, but this is just awesome.

HPIM1165.JPG

Also, try Guthi Vankaya Curry (Stuffed Egg Plant) - One of the most amazing dishes I have ever eaten.
Just mouth watering stuff.
IMG_8887.JPG

Most of my pakistani friends who are trying south indian food for the first time really enjoy it. Yeah try it in a restaurant. You will love the thali meals

I had some at a buffet bar last year and it was pretty good but I will hit a restaurant soon. I think the food from that region has it's own style and fits a gap in the market for us guys. I bet it would be popular in other parts of Pakistan as well as Karachi if it was introduced.

Even Haleem and Hyderabadi Biryani are South Indian. :p

If you love spicy khana, you have to taste Andhra food. It will satisfy your "inner desires".

Tamil food is also cool, Udipi tiffins (idly, dosa, upma....) from Karnataka are famous all over the world!

I didn't really get to taste much of Malayali food, wish to try it sometime soon!

There is a general misconception about South Indians or rather Indians as a whole that they don't eat meat. People, let me tell you, people here are hardcore meat eaters!

Is here any Uttapam liker its my fav. breakfast food.
I like Tomato Uttapam rather than Onion.Still i eat only one Onion Uttapam in Kolhapur.Here people generally prefer Tomato flavour over Onion flavour
Adai Uttapam 2.jpg

Pakistani south Indian bakwaas hota hai (I haven't tried ones in Karachi though) but there were a few in Punjab and they served chicken and meat with south Indian food.

I like South Indian food. Not with a passion but for a change it's good. Prawn curry and Kerala Fish is pretty good.

Dosas are tasty but I feel they are fattening.

Yeah , Karachi is a coastal area plus a lot of people originating from South India live in Karachi . Ponderosa used to be popular before , not sure how it is now . Mirchi is a good restaurant , they have got all your desi snacks . It surprises me though seafood is not as popular as one would think given how many Bangalis , South Indians , Sindhis and Gujaratis live here .

Despite eating out being the only Shariat friendly thing you can do , there arent as many South Indian options available . Good idea for South Indian PPers who can cook to move and start a business . You`ll be a millionaire in no time .

Even Haleem and Hyderabadi Biryani are South Indian. :p

If you love spicy khana, you have to taste Andhra food. It will satisfy your "inner desires".

Tamil food is also cool, Udipi tiffins (idly, dosa, upma....) from Karnataka are famous all over the world!

I didn't really get to taste much of Malayali food, wish to try it sometime soon!

Malayalis specialise in Non veg,Like kerala Fish curry,Beef roast,Chicken dishes etc are delicious..As for Veg,i would say,Tamil,Andhra recipes hands down,so many varieties...

I have been fortunate to taste Bengali/Bangladeshi food at my friends house and it is quite tasty. I have been informed by them that the restaraunts in the UK cater for the white palate so they are less spicy.

I love dosas, especially the thin ones. There is also the home made thick ones which are also nice. Their paratas are quite nice as well. I also once had fried bananas which were ok.

I dont like idllis and sambar.

I have been fortunate to taste Bengali/Bangladeshi food at my friends house and it is quite tasty. I have been informed by them that the restaraunts in the UK cater for the white palate so they are less spicy.

Most Sylheti/Bengali run Indian restaurants do not have Bengali dishes as their main items

does anyone know a place in Brampton, Toronto or anywhere in GTA that serves chinese dosa?

Most places ive been to its just masala dosa or plain..

Once got to taste Sambar etc in Delhi. Needless to say I hated it to the extremes. North Indian food is pretty delicious though.

does anyone know a place in Brampton, Toronto or anywhere in GTA that serves chinese dosa?

Most places ive been to its just masala dosa or plain..

The restaurant I posted above does, they have 70 types of dosa's. it;s in Mississauga, not far from brampton

Once got to taste Sambar etc in Delhi. Needless to say I hated it to the extremes. North Indian food is pretty delicious though.

Just sambar? its better to have that with other things like idli or dosa. First time you may not like it, but eventually the taste grows

Just sambar? its better to have that with other things like idli. First time you may not like it, but eventually the taste grows

I did have idli with it. Fair to say the place where I took it was an ordinary stall in pragati maidan , and my friends, who do like south Indian food, didn't like that either. But after that I just hated its smell so didn't dare to try it ever again.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk

I tried masala dosa from Delhi once.it was so atrotious that i never attempted South Indian food during my stay there.after that incident,our food was mainly naan,roti,parathas,chicken,paneer etc.

Somebody found me a South India wife. Their food is too good mmm.....

Some of it is good but I can't eat South Indian food every day. It's just not full filing

Was introduced to chaap last time I went to Delhi. Loved it so much that ate it 3-4 times a week. Malai chaap and pudina chaap are my favorites.
Wrong thread though.

How many of you have eaten this?

Soya Malai Chaap

DSC04563_thumb%25255B20%25255D.jpg

Soya Afghan Chaap

2.jpeg

I have eaten them. Numerous restaurants in Delhi serve Soya Chaap

Soya Chaap is basically chicken dishes with the "Soya Chaap" replacing chicken as the main ingredient to make the dishes 100% veg

And I love South Indian food, both veg & non-veg. I was in Kerala in January and ate lots of South Indian seafood, eating Fish biryani everyday :D

Today I had a dish called Kerala Mango Curry, with Kerala rice, that was spicy and amazing

Ripe_Mango_Curry.jpg

Also had very spicy shrimp curry

Prawn-Curry-With-Coconut-Milk-2-575x262.jpg

Seems like there are plently of posters from delhi. Just wanted to ask if anyone here has been to andhra bhavan in Delhi. heard that the food is very good?

Never been there. I will visit it soon and tell

I ate some local indian dishes at one of indian restaurants in Kaula Lumpur.
I had loose motion right away.

Today I had a dish called Kerala Mango Curry, with Kerala rice, that was spicy and amazing

Ripe_Mango_Curry.jpg

Also had very spicy shrimp curry.

Prawn-Curry-With-Coconut-Milk-2-575x262.jpg

Are you now in Kerala??? How did you come across all these dishes?:13:

no, There is this one great Restaurant here in Canada, owned by Malyalees which serves many of those dishes, of course it will be no match to what I will get in Kerala, hopefully one day will go there

It is okay nowadays. Used to be great back in the days when there were not many competitors. But still worth one try if you haven't been there.

no, There is this one great Restaurant here in Canada, owned by Malyalees which serves many of those dishes, of course it will be no match to what I will get in Kerala, hopefully one day will go there

Which restaurant is it?