Dock money if players put IPL over England, Geoffrey Boycott tells ECB

LONDON: The English cricket board must stop treating its players in a "namby-pamby way" and dock money if they put the lucrative Indian Premier League (IPL) above national duty, former Test batsman Geoffrey Boycott said.

Head coach Chris Silverwood has said England players would be allowed to miss the start of the Test series against New Zealand in June if their IPL teams make the final of the Twenty20 competition.

England will also stick to their rotation policy aimed at helping their multi-format players cope better with life in bio-secure bubbles, Silverwood said after the team's 1-3 Test series loss in India.

"England messed up with a rotation policy in India and must stop treating players in a namby-pamby way," Boycott wrote in the Daily Telegraph.

"Players seem to forget the IPL would not come calling for them if they had not performed for England first. So they owe a debt of gratitude and loyalty to put England first."

"I would never stop them from earning that but not by missing games for England to do it."

The former opener said nobody should begrudge a player leaving England's bio-secure bubble over mental health issues.

"But I bet you will not see any of our players leaving the IPL because they miss their wife, girlfriend or kids."

The 80-year-old said the England and Wales Cricket Board had been "too soft" and recommended penalties for any "fit healthy player" being unavailable for national duty.

"If players want to go home for a break from England duty, dock their money. Better still don't select them unless they can agree to be available for a whole series."

Boycott described Silverwood, ECB chief executive Tom Harrison, director of cricket Ashley Giles and
chairman of selectors Ed Smith as the "our unwise men".

"It is a barmy way to run English cricket, they should all be ashamed and embarrassed," he added.

https://timesofindia.indiatimes.com...nd-boycott-tells-ecb/articleshow/81406585.cms

Agreed. This IPL virus is making cricket a lesser sport. Bunch of tamasha and nothing else. It’s Indian premier league, so let the Indians play it and rest of the countries’ players should put national duty first.

These pyjama cricket leagues need to be banned if they cut into international cricket.

I say if the international players can get into the wallets of Indian consumer who is willing to pay a higher price to watch them play then let it be.
Dollars earned from India and remitted to other countries may not be bad when you look at the ROI.

Geoffrey’s criticisms of the rotation policy are fair, if a bit inappropriately worded (no surprise there) — but his comments on the IPL and player’s families are simply out of touch with where the game is now.

Mr Boycott is becoming increasingly cranky in his old age, there’s a reason why he is struggling to find media work.

As usual sour grapes. Hamaari league nahi chali to doosre bhi doob jaen.
Boycott is a selfish cricketer from dinosaurs era. No one listens to what he has to say.
Silverwood has already confirmed that if needed English players will stay back for IPL.

Justin Langer (in SEN Radio) said "IPL form will play a key role in selecting the T20 World Cup team - there is no better experience for our players ahead of World Cup, will be in same conditions and we will watch closely how performance goes in the league".

I say if the international players can get into the wallets of Indian consumer who is willing to pay a higher price to watch them play then let it be.
Dollars earned from India and remitted to other countries may not be bad when you look at the ROI.

The dollars we give them comes back in the form of investments from Brands from those countries. E.g. Australian wine makers and traders and banks willing to put money back here and opening offices and creating jobs.
British brands advertising, banks like Barclays opening call centre’s to back office jobs to software development.
Don’t worry about our dollars we know how to get value out of it.

Sam Curran (in British media) said "I definitely felt I become a much better player after the last IPL - I was given various roles and challenged me in different ways - it's the best T20 tournament in the world".

Agreed. This IPL virus is making cricket a lesser sport. Bunch of tamasha and nothing else. It’s Indian premier league, so let the Indians play it and rest of the countries’ players should put national duty first.

These pyjama cricket leagues need to be banned if they cut into international cricket.

How would you do that? More importantly, why would you do that? Why do you want to use force?

Why not let the market forces and free will of the players and fans make the decision?

Freedom of choice over force. Always.

I suspect some of England's players won't mind being cut off from England now they've achieved what they can with the national team - the likes of Morgan, Hales etc. They'll gladly walk toward the IPL and its millions.

How about if this were applied to commentators though? Would Sky pay more than Star to the likes of David Lloyd all else being equal? Where would he run?

I suspect some of England's players won't mind being cut off from England now they've achieved what they can with the national team - the likes of Morgan, Hales etc. They'll gladly walk toward the IPL and its millions.

How about if this were applied to commentators though? Would Sky pay more than Star to the likes of David Lloyd all else being equal? Where would he run?

Very interesting and good question. I would like to find out the answer as well.

Why can’t a comprise be reached where the England players the tournament but if selected for the test squad against NZ they have to play in that series. I can remember this happening in the past and it wasn’t a big deal.

The IPL franchise have a lot of power unfortunately. I can remember Kumar Sangakara saying he expected Buttler,Archer, and Stokes to be available for the whole IPL even before England had made a decision.

Here is the full article by Boycott in the Telegraph:

Soft ECB must get priorities right and dock wages of England stars if they put IPL riches before country

When you read his own article (he writes for the Telegraph) you will realise he doesn't have a problem with England players playing in the IPL. He does however expect the same players to be available for national duties for England Test matches. If a player is not available due to playing in an IPL final, then that English player shouldn't be paid by the ECB for the missed Test matches.

100% agree with him,

Why can’t a comprise be reached where the England players the tournament but if selected for the test squad against NZ they have to play in that series. I can remember this happening in the past and it wasn’t a big deal.

The IPL franchise have a lot of power unfortunately. I can remember Kumar Sangakara saying he expected Buttler,Archer, and Stokes to be available for the whole IPL even before England had made a decision.

It's a battle between Sky and Star.

When the ECB removed cricket from free to air and picked up the Sky money, the terms stated that there would be 6-7 tests a year including in May.

Then in 2008 the IPL happened, England never had a T20 competition of note and non-English Englishmen like Pietersen and Morgan started prioritizing the IPL instead.

The ECB is caught between a rock and a hard place.

Don't see what is wrong with this. If they are skipping England to play in IPL - that is their choice but why should they receive full England payment?

Boycott is a selfish cricketer from dinosaurs era. No one listens to what he has to say.
Silverwood has already confirmed that if needed English players will stay back for IPL.

Really? Why doesn't BCCI allow Indian players to participate in other leagues? Before you jump on me and talk about tight schedule, rest etc I am talking about those players who aren't anywhere near this Indian team? Also I am not surprised that you are now treating Boycott like a trash just because he said the bitter truth. :inti

Boycott was one of the most selfish players ever.

Now coming to English players, it is ECB's prerogative and they can decide to not send players. Up to them, I have no issues.

See it will cut through the truth, BCCI wants IPL to be the best product and gold standard, so they will not send their premium players to another leagues. That also will not change. So say what you want, it will not change.

Silverwood has already given statement, so Boycott and do a boycott of IPL. Who cares.

Boycott was one of the most selfish players ever.

Now coming to English players, it is ECB's prerogative and they can decide to not send players. Up to them, I have no issues.

See it will cut through the truth, BCCI wants IPL to be the best product and gold standard, so they will not send their premium players to another leagues. That also will not change. So say what you want, it will not change.

Silverwood has already given statement, so Boycott and do a boycott of IPL. Who cares.

So basically it is like "bas hamari league hi chale dusro ki doob jaye" lol.

If Boycott is selfish then what you will call those players who are preferring Pyjama League over their national side. And look at your hypocrisy you are calling Boycott selfish and ready to defend these players. Wow. :inti

So basically it is like "bas hamari league hi chale dusro ki doob jaye" lol.

If Boycott is selfish then what you will call those players who are preferring Pyjama League over their national side. And look at your hypocrisy you are calling Boycott selfish and ready to defend these players. Wow. :inti
They have full freedom of choice. You may choose to live in dinosaur era but times have changed. So when did i said hamari league chale..
Others are also organizing and playing right. There is CPL, BPL,PSL,BBL, Mzansi etc. Did anyone from BCCI has stopped those leagues.
BCCI is a corporate entity, like PCB/CA are. And like any corporate entity, they are well within their rights to protect their IP(intellectual property), which the the leagues brand value in this case.
So again, ECB/Boycott can boycott the league and you can as well. No.. One.. Cares...
Other countries can also stop sending their players in IPL. Let us see how that works out.

What a selfish person. No different from those selfish fans who want players to put one above the other, instead of letting the players to decide what they want.

T20 leagues have given financial freedom to the players. Shame on those who want to keep players chained.

They have full freedom of choice. You may choose to live in dinosaur era but times have changed. So when did i said hamari league chale..
Others are also organizing and playing right. There is CPL, BPL,PSL,BBL, Mzansi etc. Did anyone from BCCI has stopped those leagues.
BCCI is a corporate entity, like PCB/CA are. And like any corporate entity, they are well within their rights to protect their IP(intellectual property), which the the leagues brand value in this case.
So again, ECB/Boycott can boycott the league and you can as well. No.. One.. Cares...
Other countries can also stop sending their players in IPL. Let us see how that works out.

In reality I highly doubt the BCCI have a legal leg to stand on in restricting the trade of uncontracted players.

Only 3 English test players plays in IPL - Stokes, Butler and Archer. All 3 belongs to Rajasthan Royals who has no chance of qualifying in play offs. So England team wont miss any of its players for Test series :genius

This is wrong from bcci. How many players have they denied?

In reality I highly doubt the BCCI have a legal leg to stand on in restricting the trade of uncontracted players.

If you are uncontracted you are free to play anywhere. Pravin Tambe is one case. BCCI is not restricting them. Give me an example where that restriction was put. Even Munaf and Pathan played in SLPL.

You doubting doesn't change a thing. Even retired players in India get Bcci pension. All domestic players are under contract of their respective state associations.

Restricting trade.LMAO.

The players dont go because they receive money from the Bcci.

You doubting doesn't change a thing. Even retired players in India get Bcci pension. All domestic players are under contract of their respective state associations.

Restricting trade.LMAO.

This exactly. Matlab kuch bhi to put down the BCCI and IPL.
Lagta hai koi PCB ke legal department se comment kar reha hai.:ifti

Docking pay for IPL participation doesn't work as ECB gets payed by BCCI for each players’ IPL participation. ECB gets penalty from the players for IPL participation and ECB also gets payment from BCCI for the same players’ participation in IPL.
Sounds contradictory.

Nothing wrong in docking money, The problem is players wont mind that

People are missing the elephant in the room - 17 Tests in a year is absurd and ridiculous whether there's an IPL or not.

I understand COVID has played havoc with the scheduling but the greed of the ECB knows no bounds. Fans generally want to see teams field their strongest playing XI, but it's impossible if the scheduling is so cramped.

Restricting trade.LMAO.

Offering a pension scheme shouldn't be conditional on where someone decides to work after their employment with you ends. Those kind of conditions would also blatantly go against employment laws. As you've conceded the BCCI is restricting the trade of players that aren't under contract to them. The problem will be that it would take someone with nothing to lose to legally challenge it because of the repercussions the BCCI would put on them.

Geoffrey’s criticisms of the rotation policy are fair, if a bit inappropriately worded (no surprise there) — but his comments on the IPL and player’s families are simply out of touch with where the game is now.

Mr Boycott is becoming increasingly cranky in his old age, there’s a reason why he is struggling to find media work.

He makes a very good point, regardless of his age.

First off, the IPL would not have come calling if it were not for these players performing for England, so to them turn their backs on England when needed is wrong. However, the English players have an IPL bock these days so his comments do not stack up. Having said that, they have turned down opportunities to play for the entirety of England's tour of Asia.

The flipside is that not everyone in the England set up is equal. Players on central contracts earn far more money than those not contracted, and some of the players sitting out in the rotation policy are those not centrally contracted so maybe there should be no complaints on them looking to make more bucks elsewhere. It is quite a nuanced issue.

Docking pay for IPL participation doesn't work as ECB gets payed by BCCI for each players’ IPL participation. ECB gets penalty from the players for IPL participation and ECB also gets payment from BCCI for the same players’ participation in IPL.
Sounds contradictory.

Nothing wrong in docking money, The problem is players wont mind that

So if a player choses England over IPL, the ECB lose out on IPL money and the savings from docking pay.

If the player choses IPL over England, the ECB gets the IPL money and savings from docked pay.

Now, which one would the ECB want?

IPL is being prioritised by the board themselves due to WorldT20

ECB and other boards have learned from the West Indies lesson. It's very easy for players to become mercenaries for big bucks if you threaten their spoils. IPL is only going to get bigger. It's impact on financial security and gaining valuable experience, skill is there for everyone to see. They are adding 2 more teams soon and will probably increase the window too in the future. Rest of the world schedule will have to adjust.

Only 3 English test players plays in IPL - Stokes, Butler and Archer. All 3 belongs to Rajasthan Royals who has no chance of qualifying in play offs. So England team wont miss any of its players for Test series :genius

Sam Curran, Moeen play for Chennai. Bairstow plays for Sunrisers. The rest including Root aren't just good enough to win a bid in IPL.

This topic is mostly irrelevant to Pakistani fans as none of the Pakistani cricketers will be risking his fitness or PCB contract because of IPL. Other boards will handle IPL issue in their own way. BCCI will take whoever is deserving and available and make try to IPL worthwhile for them.

Fortunately, the corrupting influence of BCCI does not reach Pakistani players at all these days. So no need to worry.

IPL is being prioritised by the board themselves due to WorldT20

We're going to see these scenes happen regardless of it being a world t20 year. The ECB benefit financially from good relations with India and directly from IPL. They will dance to whatever tune the BCCI want them to for as long as the money is coming in.

If you are uncontracted you are free to play anywhere. Pravin Tambe is one case. BCCI is not restricting them. Give me an example where that restriction was put. Even Munaf and Pathan played in SLPL.

Who on earth is this guy? And then you cite players like Munaf and Pathan who are long expired. Not the best examples you've put forward for how free and fair it is for Indian cricketers to choose where they play.

England already plays so many tests its insane, is Boycott expecting everyone to play all the tests?

It was a response to your post. Read it again. :inti

People are missing the elephant in the room - 17 Tests in a year is absurd and ridiculous whether there's an IPL or not.

This is the problem in a nutshell. The ECB added 2 extra tests against New Zealand to the schedule in addition to a spate of useless white ball matches that could have been rescheduled to a later date. Bear in mind that this schedule is despite the fact they had a test reduced in the recent series against India as well.

https://www.hindustantimes.com/cricket/bet-none-of-our-players-will-leave-ipl-because-they-miss-their-wife-or-kids-geoffrey-boycott-slams-cricketers-for-prioritising-ipl-over-england-duty-101615289691957.html

Former captain Geoffrey Boycott is not impressed with England cricketers' decision to prioritize the Indian Premier League over national duty. Recently, England head coach Chris Silverwood confirmed that a majority of English cricketers may miss out playing the Test series against New Zealand starting June 2 due to their commitments in the IPL, which ends on May 30. Boycott feels this attitude should not be tolerated and has suggested that the ECB should dock money should players give precedence to IPL than playing for England.

England messed up with a rotation policy in India and must stop treating players in a namby-pamby way," Boycott wrote in the Daily Telegraph. "Players seem to forget the IPL would not come calling for them if they had not performed for England first. So, they owe a debt of gratitude and loyalty to put England first. I would never stop them from earning that but not by missing games for England to do it."

Controversy erupted after the second Test between India and England in Chennai when all-rounder Moeen Ali returned home, the development of which was informed by captain Joe Root. Furthermore, the rotation policy adapted by the ECB has not gone down well with several former England cricketers, specifically Nasser Hussain, who feels it should have been skipped for a series as high-profile as one against India.

Several England cricketers, including Ali, Ben Stokes, Jos Buttler, Jason Roy, Sam Curran and others are scheduled to play the 2021 edition for the IPL for their respective franchises, and Boycott reckons those who give the T20 tournament a nod ahead of playing for their country should be 'ashamed'.

"But I bet you will not see any of our players leaving the IPL because they miss their wife, girlfriend or kids. If players want to go home for a break from England duty, dock their money. Better still don't select them unless they can agree to be available for a whole series. It is a barmy way to run English cricket, they should all be ashamed and embarrassed," Boycott added.

Sam Curran, Moeen play for Chennai. Bairstow plays for Sunrisers. The rest including Root aren't just good enough to win a bid in IPL.

Well Moeen and Curran are not regulars and Bairstow hopefully played his last test match. Even if these 3 players skip tests for IPL, it wont be a loss for England.

I think Boycott makes a fair point. The compensation paid by England should be adjusted lower if players are unavailable for national duty for a required match/tour because of IPL/other leagues. I don't think there is much to disagree there. But the problem is that it is not going to achieve much. The disparity in pay is too huge for this to be a dilemma for players.

ECB can't push too hard else some of their star players may just prefer an early retirement. But at the same time they have to preserve the sanctity of the national team.

I think at this point you can still get by with a few compromises. The problem is that this problem will only compound in coming years. IPL is going to grow and in 5 years time it will be a bigger/longer tournament. I also think PSL and maybe some others like Big Bash etc. are also going to become much more lucrative in the coming years (T2O just has a broader appeal and is entertainment as much as sport) and will be a magnet for international talent. What do boards do then? It is going to be a much bigger challenge to preserve a vibrant test schedule in a compressing international calendar encroached by leagues.

I don't even know if there is a solution to this. Maybe there are too few of us cricket nerds around to justify the long term existence of test cricket. But if there is one (And i hope there is) it is going to come with calm thinking rather than emotional responses. The continued rise of T20s is being driven by market demand and the solution to prop up international test cricket needs to be market driven one as well. Else you will just break everything even quicker.

Offering a pension scheme shouldn't be conditional on where someone decides to work after their employment with you ends. Those kind of conditions would also blatantly go against employment laws. As you've conceded the BCCI is restricting the trade of players that aren't under contract to them. The problem will be that it would take someone with nothing to lose to legally challenge it because of the repercussions the BCCI would put on them.

Can you name another board that offers life long pension to its players? Players of other boards are found driving taxis, buses or other jobs after cricket.

BCCI takes care of its players.

Pension offered by Bcci isnt a compulsion on Bcci, yet they offer it, bit ofcourse there are conditions attached to it.

Pension is granted subject to the player fulfilling certain conditions. Player is free to not take pension and play elsewhere. They cant take monetary benefits from BCCI and then another board as well.

BCCI pension is a privilege not a right. So no one is suing anyone.

Boycott needs to realize the world has changed. Foreign players are well within their right to squeeze every rupee from the BCCI as long as the IPL continues to be profitable.

It would be far better if all the various T20 leagues were played in a two-month window so international cricket could precedence during the other ten months but then Cricket would be a thriving sport, instead of being on life-support.

England just plays way too much cricket across formats. Until a decade ago, they never used to play a whole lot of white ball cricket . I still remember the days when Azhar , while active, had played more ODI cricket than the number of ODIs England had played up to the night. The ECB has to cut down on tests - 17 is far too many .

I don't think it's just IPL though.

Some players will use the national stage to build a reputation and then quite happily turn their back on the national team to make money from T20 leagues.

There are players like this from most countries.

Can you name another board that offers life long pension to its players? Players of other boards are found driving taxis, buses or other jobs after cricket.

BCCI takes care of its players.

Pension offered by Bcci isnt a compulsion on Bcci, yet they offer it, bit ofcourse there are conditions attached to it.

Pension is granted subject to the player fulfilling certain conditions. Player is free to not take pension and play elsewhere. They cant take monetary benefits from BCCI and then another board as well.

BCCI pension is a privilege not a right. So no one is suing anyone.

Pensions that employers fund/help fund are a basic expected employment right for everyone in many countries let alone international sportsmen. In the UK anyone employing someone over the age of 22 earning over £10k is legally retired to enroll them in and contribute to a pension scheme for them. I assume there's similar expectations in Aus/NZ. A quick Google indicates SA, Pakistan and Bangladesh players all have some kind of pension scheme too.

It may be a privilege, but if it's an agreement that requires restraint of trade of the player that's not a legal condition.

Sir Geoff is quite right. You shouldn’t be payed by ECB if you’re not a available for some matches. It’s not fair on the players who are always available for England.

The huge financial windfall that comes with an Indian Premier League contract can't be ignored, admitted Jos Buttler as the England cricketer on Tuesday asserted that the ECB never gave him the option of skipping the popular T20 League to be available for the Test series against New Zealand.

Buttler has been in the eye of storm for going home after the first Test against India. He is now back in the country for three months to compete in the white-ball series and will stay till the end of Rajasthan Royals' IPL campaign.

The British media grilled Buttler on players in all likelihood skipping the Test series against New Zealand starting June 2 if their franchises get to the play-offs starting in last week of May.

"No nothing of that sort (was discussed with me) and I don't know about other players. I think an agreement about participation in IPL was in place well before the New Zealand Test series was announced," Buttler said during a media conference.

However, like Sam Curran, even Buttler agreed that some players could skip New Zealand Tests if their teams go the distance in IPL.

"It could potentially (mean)," Buttler admitted on missing on the first home series in summer.

".....but NZ tests have been added later on and there will always be a few who would be missing out on England games. You don't know how far the players are going to go far in the tournament and miss games (for England)."

The white-ball dasher didn't hide that money is a big issue when it comes to taking a decision between club and country.

"We all know the benefits of IPL. It's a huge tournament and monetary rewards are obvious and also the experience you gain and it has its pluses too. And it's obvious in the upturn of white ball game in England, and number of players participating in it and how beneficial it is to all of us," he said.

"Of course the schedule is tough and there is no perfect balance to it and ECB and players are working closely trying to manage that." "Is there a perfect answer? No in the times that we are operating at the moment," he added.

There are 12 England players, some with million dollar contracts, playing in the IPL. The players include Buttler himself, Ben Stokes and Jofra Archer for Rajasthan Royals, Moeen Ali and Sam Curran for CSK, Tom Curran for DC and Dawid Malan for Punjab Kings.

"IPL is advantageous to a lot of people with the money that's involved. It's the biggest tournament in cricket in terms of money and careers can be short but we know that playing for England can be a huge draw and we are very well remunerated playing for England," he said.

He understands that English cricket establishment is a divided house when it comes to IPL with people forming their "own opinions one way or the other".

"It also a big feather in the cap for England side that 12 players were in demand in world's biggest tournament," he said in his defence.

He also spoke how this year's IPL will help England players when they come back in October for the T20 World Cup.

"Obvious benefits of the player improvement, skills that you get to learn, especially this year playing IPL in India, where world T20 will be played."

https://sportstar.thehindu.com/cric...-england-t20-cricket-news/article34030413.ece

I don't think it's just IPL though.

Some players will use the national stage to build a reputation and then quite happily turn their back on the national team to make money from T20 leagues.

There are players like this from most countries.

This is a massive exaggeration. The only players who do this are the ones who have hardly any chance of playing for their national team or some West Indies players.

I am struggling to think of a major player who turned his back on his country in his prime to play T20 leagues.

This is a massive exaggeration. The only players who do this are the ones who have hardly any chance of playing for their national team or some West Indies players.

I am struggling to think of a major player who turned his back on his country in his prime to play T20 leagues.

AB, Roussow etc left national colors too early and also when they were regulars. Amir maybe??

AB had played for South Africa for a long time, I think he left due to other issues not for T20 leagues. Roussow wasn’t a regular and even though he is quality he is not a major international player. Also all these SA players probably didn’t like the quota rule so took advantage of Kolpak deals.

Amir has said he doesn’t want to play under the current management, once Misbah is sacked he will be available for Pakistan. So that is nothing to do with T20 leagues.

Pensions that employers fund/help fund are a basic expected employment right for everyone in many countries let alone international sportsmen. In the UK anyone employing someone over the age of 22 earning over £10k is legally retired to enroll them in and contribute to a pension scheme for them. I assume there's similar expectations in Aus/NZ. A quick Google indicates SA, Pakistan and Bangladesh players all have some kind of pension scheme too.

It may be a privilege, but if it's an agreement that requires restraint of trade of the player that's not a legal condition.

It is all in your imagination. Companies all the time trade additional benefits they offer for certain restrictions they can apply on their employees.

What is up with boards going ahead and scheduling new series and then expecting players to be available whenever they want to. IPL is contracting the players based on availability and FTP of the player's board. How can the board later go ahead change the schedule and expect the IPL team to release the player after it paid big bucks based on the knowledge that the player would be available.

It is all in your imagination. Companies all the time trade additional benefits they offer for certain restrictions they can apply on their employees.

Again, restricting the trade of employees when they're no longer contracted is not legal.

Please source me to the link that says SA Pakistan BD players get lifelong pension.

So ECB pays its players pension?

Again, restricting the trade of employees when they're no longer contracted is not legal.

Which player is no longer contracted and not allowed to play?

Under which legal jurisdiction are you making these claims?

I never said prime, you did.

You only have to look at West Indies cricket to come up with names.

Please source me to the link that says SA Pakistan BD players get lifelong pension.

SA: https://saca.org.za/saca-retirement-fund/

Pak: https://www.espncricinfo.com/story/pakistan-news-pcb-expands-pension-scheme-493925

Ban: https://sportsmaza.com/cricket/bangladesh-national-team-cricketers-salary/ (uncertain on this/the reliability of this source)

So ECB pays its players pension?

Yes, assuming the player doesn't opt out of the scheme.

Which player is no longer contracted and not allowed to play?

Everyone, haven't we established these are the BCCIs rules?

Under which legal jurisdiction are you making these claims?

India or the UK, make your choice, restricting the trade of former employees is going to be illegal in most countries with a proper legal system.

SA: https://saca.org.za/saca-retirement-fund/

Pak: https://www.espncricinfo.com/story/pakistan-news-pcb-expands-pension-scheme-493925

Ban: https://sportsmaza.com/cricket/bangladesh-national-team-cricketers-salary/ (uncertain on this/the reliability of this source)

Yes, assuming the player doesn't opt out of the scheme.

Everyone, haven't we established these are the BCCIs rules?

India or the UK, make your choice, restricting the trade of former employees is going to be illegal in most countries with a proper legal system.

Please read the sources. South African fund is a retirement fund run by south African cricket association not CSA. Its a provident fund.

PCB only provides pension to Test players.

Bcci provides pension to FC players as well.

Any source saying ECB provides pension?

Everyone? All active players are under contract with Bcci or its associations. So who is out of contract?

Indian contract Act allows for conditions to be imposed for payment of fees.

Please read the sources. South African fund is a retirement fund run by south African cricket association not CSA. Its a provident fund.

A retirement fund that CSA pay into for all their players, there's effectively no difference.

Any source saying ECB provides pension?

Like I've said, enrolling employees in and contributing to a pension scheme is a legal requirement for UK employers, hence you won't find anyone making a big deal over the fact the ECB are actually complying with the law. If you're that desperate to verify they are you'll find a reference to pension scheme contributions in their annual financial statements.

Everyone? All active players are under contract with Bcci or its associations. So who is out of contract?

Being under contract to a state cricket board is not the same as being under contract to the BCCI. State players are not employees of the BCCI.

Indian contract Act allows for conditions to be imposed for payment of fees.

And specifically forbids any agreement which puts restraints on someone's trade.

I never said prime, you did.

You only have to look at West Indies cricket to come up with names.

So it's only 1 country and most of them players are only good for T20s which they play for West Indies.

I'm sure there are more, we all know that.

A few of the South African Kolpak guys spring to mind too Although they completely turned their back on their country and now with Brexit spoiling their plans, they may have to have a re-think.

Mohammed Amir? :inti

And specifically forbids any agreement which puts restraints on someone's trade.

Not so straightforward. Depends on how Indian courts interpret terms like trade and reasonable restrictions on it. The court will take note of how foreign courts have interpreted it but no guarantee they'll be obliged to follow it.

Being under contract to a state cricket board is not the same as being under contract to the BCCI. State players are not employees of the BCCI.

If such a lawsuit is brought before an Indian court, then all the state associations would be made parties alongside BCCI. That is to say, all the state associations would oppose it standing together with BCCI. So, there would be no difference at all whether they are contracted by BCCI or the states. In fact, the fact that BCCI shares its profits with state associations might persuade the court to have BCCI represent all the state associations as well.

Fair and square....and in future IPL only get bigger more teams more games.....more time....and obviously more injury although some players like Warner Buttler may like it.....

If number of teams goes up to 10 and purse size is increased to 20 million per team, then we are looking at 200 million USD to be spent on players each year, starting 2023. International cricketers have never had it this good.

Not so straightforward. Depends on how Indian courts interpret terms like trade and reasonable restrictions on it. The court will take note of how foreign courts have interpreted it but no guarantee they'll be obliged to follow it.

Why would foreign courts have interpreted this clause? It's the India Contract Act, it has nothing to do with foreign courts. Indian courts are obliged to follow the precedent set by applying this act in the past.

There is no way in which forbidding someone from carrying out their trade/profession cannot be considered restricting someone's trade/profession.

If such a lawsuit is brought before an Indian court, then all the state associations would be made parties alongside BCCI. That is to say, all the state associations would oppose it standing together with BCCI. So, there would be no difference at all whether they are contracted by BCCI or the states. In fact, the fact that BCCI shares its profits with state associations might persuade the court to have BCCI represent all the state associations as well.

And no matter who the BCCI brought along, the players would still not be employees of the BCCI and therefore the BCCI would not have the legal right to impose restraint of trade conditions on them. I've already conceded that this is unlikely to ever go to court given the fear of repurcussions so yes, the exploitation will likely continue.

A retirement fund that CSA pay into for all their players, there's effectively no difference.

Like I've said, enrolling employees in and contributing to a pension scheme is a legal requirement for UK employers, hence you won't find anyone making a big deal over the fact the ECB are actually complying with the law. If you're that desperate to verify they are you'll find a reference to pension scheme contributions in their annual financial statements.

1. A provident fund is not a pension.

2. There are no sources confirming that ECB pays a monthly life long pension to the test and FC players.

3. Yes its the same. All state associations are under Bcci and get funds from Bcci. The players are directly bpaid by the Bcci on per match basis.On top of that 10.6 Percent of Bcci's revenue is distributed to the domestic players.

4. That's upto the individual to decide if he agrees to the contract or not.

Read up before making useless claims.