Donald Trump announces 10% tariff on all imports, with higher rates for some countries

Sure why not. Markets always have these kinds of moments and I bash Trump for over the top tariffs.
But you are a big time tool. Your hate is on a different level. Keep it down a bit and see what wonders it can do to your life.👍
The markets may be down now, but a rebound is likely given Trump's strong pro-market policies. :inti

Oh flip I just realised that I agree with @rpant_gabba on a topic. I had to sit down to let it sink in.
images

Now this is true Trump derangement syndrome

why not the first term?

Where you eligible to vote or did you think McCain was better?
Nope. I am a liberal first. I lean towards center left. When the left swings too far left, I cannot support them. There should be a balance. I supported Obama as I wanted to see America have its first black President. Also did not like GWB bush's war on terror nonsense. I have changed my political affiliation a few times. Not hung up on Left is right and right is wrong attitude.

Over 50 nations want to start trade talks with US after tariffs, Trump officials say

More than 50 nations have reached out to the White House to begin trade talks since U.S. President Donald Trump rolled out sweeping new tariffs, top officials said on Sunday as they defended levies that wiped out nearly $6 trillion in value from U.S. stocks last week and downplayed economic fallout.

On Sunday morning talk shows, Trump's top economic advisers sought to portray the tariffs as a savvy repositioning of the U.S. in the global trade order. They also tried to minimize the economic shocks from last week's tumultuous rollout, ahead of Monday's expected bumpy opening of Asian stock markets.

Treasury Secretary Scott Bessent said more than 50 nations had started negotiations with the U.S. since last Wednesday's announcement, putting Trump in a position of power.

Neither Bessent nor the other officials named the countries or offered details about the talks. But simultaneously negotiating with multiple countries could pose a logistical challenge for the Trump administration and prolong economic uncertainty.

At this point, we're pretty much guaranteed at least a mild global recession. Too many economic indicators point towards it.

Even if Trump does come to his senses and reverse the tariffs immediately (pretty unlikely with his ego), companies are going to be too unnerved by all the unpredictability to take any major expansion or investment decisions for at least a few months.

If this tariff regime lasts 6 months, I think we're heading towards a recession on the scale of the 2010 financial crisis. A lot of people will hurt but I guess the cyclical boom-bust nature of the global economic system makes something like this inevitable every 10 to 15 years to weed out the worst excesses.

Buffett's looking pretty smart (as usual). 300+ Billion in cash is going to buy a lot of long term value in these conditions.

Nope. I am a liberal first. I lean towards center left. When the left swings too far left, I cannot support them. There should be a balance. I supported Obama as I wanted to see America have its first black President. Also did not like GWB bush's war on terror nonsense. I have changed my political affiliation a few times. Not hung up on Left is right and right is wrong attitude.
You did not answer the question that was asked.

you said you voted Obama in 2012
Sure conservatives are idiots. They believe in Bible fairytales and creationism myths.

The biggest difference is I am willing to change my opinion if I find evidence of something. I voted for Obama in his 2nd term. The last 2 elections I changed my opinion and voted republicans. Because I can always change my mind. You sure will not. It’s called Trump Derangement Syndrome. Can’t see anything but wrong when it comes to Trump and republicans.
Now read slowly, carefully and understand the question (I know its difficult for Trump voters).

why not the first term?

Did you vote for Obama in 2008? If not, why not?

Where you not eligible to vote or did you think McCain was better?

Sensex falls to 10-month low, Rs 19 lakh crore wiped out amid Trump tariff shock​

Share market crash: With today's stock market plunge, the Sensex and Nifty have fallen to their lowest levels in approximately 10 months, and analysts suggest that they could fall further due to massive volatility in global markets.​

Benchmark stock market indices plunged sharply on Monday, imitating the global market as uncertainty over Donald Trump's tariffs fuelled the bloodbath. The S&P BSE Sensex crashed 2564.74 points to 72,799.95, while the NSE Nifty50 tanked 831.95 points to 22,072.50 as of 9:24 am.

With today's stock market crash, the Sensex and Nifty have plunged to their lowest levels in approximately 10 months, and analysts suggest that they could fall further due to massive volatility in global markets. The crash was so severe that it wiped out Rs 19 lah crore from the combined market capitalisation of BSE-listed firms.

Dr. V K Vijayakumar, Chief Investment Strategist, Geojit Financial Services, said that globally markets are going through heightened volatility caused by extreme uncertainty. "No one has a clue about how this turbulence caused by Trump tariffs will evolve. Wait and watch would be the best strategy in this turbulent phase of the market," he added.

All 13 major sectoral indices were trading in the red. Broader market indices also suffered steep losses. The small-cap index dropped 10%, and mid-caps declined by 7.3%.

I am hoping for Trump to roll back the tariffs over the weekend or at least does a modified tariff rates. Like 20% flat or so. Otherwise, the market will bleed for weeks.

For long term investors in stock market, this is Ok. Its a buying opportunity for them. For traders and short term gamblers, they are screwed. Small businesses that rely on raw material from China, Canada etc will suffer. They can go bankrupt. Many businesses operate or narrow margins. They cannot handle these tariffs.
How is that coming along? we might headed back to the great depression. are you prepared? :inti

Sensex falls to 10-month low, Rs 19 lakh crore wiped out amid Trump tariff shock​

Share market crash: With today's stock market plunge, the Sensex and Nifty have fallen to their lowest levels in approximately 10 months, and analysts suggest that they could fall further due to massive volatility in global markets.​

Benchmark stock market indices plunged sharply on Monday, imitating the global market as uncertainty over Donald Trump's tariffs fuelled the bloodbath. The S&P BSE Sensex crashed 2564.74 points to 72,799.95, while the NSE Nifty50 tanked 831.95 points to 22,072.50 as of 9:24 am.

With today's stock market crash, the Sensex and Nifty have plunged to their lowest levels in approximately 10 months, and analysts suggest that they could fall further due to massive volatility in global markets. The crash was so severe that it wiped out Rs 19 lah crore from the combined market capitalisation of BSE-listed firms.

Dr. V K Vijayakumar, Chief Investment Strategist, Geojit Financial Services, said that globally markets are going through heightened volatility caused by extreme uncertainty. "No one has a clue about how this turbulence caused by Trump tariffs will evolve. Wait and watch would be the best strategy in this turbulent phase of the market," he added.

All 13 major sectoral indices were trading in the red. Broader market indices also suffered steep losses. The small-cap index dropped 10%, and mid-caps declined by 7.3%.

This is not just limited to india but all over World including china, japan etc

You did not answer the question that was asked.

you said you voted Obama in 2012

Now read slowly, carefully and understand the question (I know its difficult for Trump voters).

why not the first term?

Did you vote for Obama in 2008? If not, why not?

Where you not eligible to vote or did you think McCain was better?
Because I could not vote as I was on green card at that time.

Your jibes at me as though I am a some kind of gun touting MAGa person is not working.

Prior to that I did not pay much attention to Politics. I was not in favor of Bush’s war mongering policies. I am a liberal first.

The day trump solely Focus on China , china dream will be destroyed in few days.

No one can compete with america. There is reason why they are solo superpower of World.

It's funny how markets work. A few weeks ago we were at all time highs because of Trump, a few weeks later we are at record lows because of Trump.

I think our desi mentality is best, hide money under the mattress at home and when you have enough then buy a brick and mortar property. I lost too much money trying to be a stylish gora investor. I'm going back to properties, commitees etc

It's funny how markets work. A few weeks ago we were at all time highs because of Trump, a few weeks later we are at record lows because of Trump.

I think our desi mentality is best, hide money under the mattress at home and when you have enough then buy a brick and mortar property. I lost too much money trying to be a stylish gora investor. I'm going back to properties, commitees etc

Bhai nothing like a fixed deposit

Due to Trump tariff Many Americans ( talking about Only USA perspective ) will suffer in the coming weeks and months. But that pain is necessary if America is to remain a superpower. Trump has chosen short term pain to score long term gains. He has put his political capital on the line for the sake of his country. I respect that. His priority are very simple.