ECB in a difficult position as India asks for change in series schedule to accommodate IPL

Last Monetarist

The ECB are in a very difficult position with the BCCI's request to change the schedule of the test series to accommodate the IPL in September.

If they acquiesce to the BCCI, they will have to advance the test series by a week which will then force a clash with the launch of the Hundred during the last 10 days of July.

There are huge organizational hassles as well given that tickets for the series have already been substantially sold and it's not as easy to muck about cricket fans in the UK as it is in India.

It was the BCCI's own fault that the bubble for the IPL was a shambles and not professionally managed, if the ECB want to retain any respect and integrity they will need to reject the BCCI's request. Otherwise, it only emboldens the scoundrels and leeches at the BCCI to continue to act like bullies and cause havoc with the international schedule.

==

The Board of Control for Cricket in India, it has been learnt, has proposed to England and Wales Cricket Board to advance the start of the 5-match Test series from August to end of July in a bid to accommodate a window for the remainder of the Indian Premier League in September. IPL 2021 was indefinitely postponed on May 4 due to positive Covid-19 cases in bio-bubbles in India.

After the World Test Championship final, starting June 18 in Southampton, India are set to take on England in a 5-Test series in England. The much-anticipated series is scheduled to start from August 4 and run until September 14. India players will stay back in the UK in the month of July, preparing for the Test series after the WTC final.

As it runs out, the BCCI has proposed to advance each Test by a week. The England cricket board is yet to respond to the request.

Efforts are on from BCCI's end to find a window to complete the remainder of IPL 2021. 29 matches were played in India before the tournament was suspended. Notably, BCCI president Sourav Ganguly had said earlier this month that the board will lose close to Rs 2,500 crore if the remainder of the IPL season doesn't take place. However, he had maintained that it was too early to talk about another window for IPL 2021.

Notably, as many as 3 English counties had expressed interest in hosting the remainder of the IPL in England.

However, there are quite a few logistical and commercial difficulties for the ECB when it comes to rescheduling the Test series. While it will be difficult for the host board to reschedule travel, losing arrangements and ticket sales. Notably, the tickets sales for the Test series is already underway. Broadcasters schedule and arrangements will also be hit if the Test series is rejigged.

Notably, England play 3 ODIs and as many T20Is against Pakistan at home between July 8 and 20. The inaugural edition of The Hundred, which was postponed last year due to Covid-19, is scheduled to get underway from July 21 and go on till August 21.

The ECB had said that star England players will be allowed to play the first 10 days of the Hundred in order to give the tournament an early boost. It was also announced that the England players can play the knockout matches as there is more than a week's gap between the 2nd and 3rd Test between India and England.

Notably, the Pakistan Cricket Board on Thursday confirmed that the remainder of the Pakistan Super League 2021 season, which was suspended in March due to Covid-19, will be held in the UAE from June 1. The PCB and the franchises got the necessary clearances from the UAE on Thursday.

The UAE can also emerge as an alternative option to host the remainder of IPL 2021 season, considering the Covid-19 crisis in India.

India tour of England 2021 schedule

World Test Championship final - June 18 in Southampton

1st Test vs England - From August 4 in Nottingham

2nd Test - From August 12 in London

3rd Test - From August 25 in Leeds

4th Test - From September 2 in London

5th Test - From September 10 in Manchester

https://www.indiatoday.in/sports/cr...-ecb-england-tests-advance-1805005-2021-05-20

Dismissing reports of having received a request from the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) to tweak the schedule of the upcoming five-match Test series between India and England, the England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) has clarified that it has officially received no such request from the Indian board.

With the series scheduled to be played between August-September, it was widely reported that the BCCI had asked ECB to prepone the 5th Test from September to July, in order to make way for the remaining matches of the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2021 in September.

"We talk to the BCCI on a regular basis about a wide range of issues especially as we address the challenges of Covid-19, but have had no official request to change dates and are continuing to plan for the five Test series as is scheduled," a spokesman for the England board was quoted as saying by TOI.

Meanwhile, a BCCI official told ANI that it was surprising to see BCCI come up with a request at the last moment when the series was set to start from August 4.

"I am a little surprised to be honest. While it is okay to have talks on certain matters, but one needs to be respectful of the time and situation. You cannot send a request for a re-schedule at almost the 11th hour. While it is true that the IPL is an important part of Indian cricket and we will wish that the remaining games can be played out this season, we also have immense respect for the ECB and our international commitments," the official told ANI.

The five-match Test series will kick off from August 4 and will be played at Nottingham, Lord's, Leeds, Oval and Old Trafford.

UK government 'considering' visa request for Sania's sonUK government 'considering' visa request for Sania Mirza's son
It has also been reported that BCCI is keen on hosting the remaining 31 matches of IPL 2021 in UK - which has seen a huge dip in the number of coronavirus cases.

The Indian players bound for the UK and are currently in quarantine in Mumbai. They would fly to Southampton on June 02 before starting preparations for the much-awaited World Test Championship (WTC) final against Kane Williamson-led New Zealand.

https://www.timesnownews.com/sports...ak-dates-of-five-match-test-series-ecb/759759

So will the Big 3 "bhai chara" work this one out?

If the ECB accepts to cancel a test match to accommodate a foreign domestic T20 tournament, it will spell an enormous crisis for test cricket in England. I don't think any amount of compensation from the BCCI will be sufficient to cover the long-term damage to the sport in England. For that reason alone, it will be a horrendous decision by the ECB if they reduce the test series to 4 matches.

Perhaps advancing the series by a week can be mutually face-saving for both boards, however, that will leave a contingent impact on the launch of the Hundred given that many of England's main players will not be available. Lancashire (assuming that they are only looking to move the Old Trafford test) will need to be heavily compensated as well.

The Big 3 are mature and professional and can resolve such matters amicably behind the doors.

Expecting England to do the right thing.

They must honour their relationship with BCCI.

Keeping in mind, both are nuclear powers.

The Big 3 are mature and professional and can resolve such matters amicably behind the doors.

Guessing they wont use nukes to resolve the matter?

[MENTION=149166]Technics 1210[/MENTION] [MENTION=2016]Rana[/MENTION]

Remember your chest-thumping over the comments of Ashley Giles when he stated that the English players will not be available for IPL because of some T20I series vs Pakistan and Bangladesh?

And here we are, ECB is thinking about scrapping a home Test to accommodate IPL....in England. :)))

I said it before and I will say it again. The views of Giles hold no importance. If he was playing today, a nothing player like him would not even get picked in IPL for free.

The top England stars, who are also IPL stars, will play IPL irrespective of how Giles feels, even if it means ECB scrapping a home Test to accommodate IPL.

Remember your chest-thumping over the comments of Ashley Giles when he stated that the English players will not be available for IPL because of some T20I series vs Pakistan and Bangladesh?

And here we are, ECB is thinking about scrapping a home Test to accommodate IPL....in England. :)))

I said it before and I will say it again. The views of Giles hold no importance. If he was playing today, a nothing player like him would not even get picked in IPL for free.

The top England stars, who are also IPL stars, will play IPL irrespective of how Giles feels, even if it means ECB scrapping a home Test to accommodate IPL.

Right ok...

So the 2 Tests are officially cancelled?

It has also been reported that BCCI is keen on hosting the remaining 31 matches of IPL 2021 in UK - which has seen a huge dip in the number of coronavirus cases.

There's also something called the British weathervirus.

Good luck getting much cricket in the UK in late Sep/early Oct.

If this happens then it will prove once again that BCCI and IPL are killing international cricket for their own benefit. And then some fans ask why people dislike IPL. :inti

ECB need to be very careful here. Approximately 70% of a sold out Test crowd in England could care less about who’s winning or losing, rather they are happy to pay their £60-100 tickets (in groups of 4+) to enjoy a day out with booze all day.

Can you afford to lose your casual, yet loyal Test match fans who bring you £££ of batting revenue because you want to keep BCCI happy?

Right ok...

Maybe, maybe not. There will be negotiations.

The bottom-line is that the English players will play in IPL no matter what. Now it is up to ECB to decide how to navigate around it.

They could agree to shorten the Test series with India or they could send their second string side for the series with Pakistan and Bangladesh.

Nevertheless, whenever and wherever the IPL is resumed, the likes of Buttler, Stokes, Bairstow, Curran, Roy etc. will feature no matter what.

Hence, the celebrations over Giles’ delusional statement were premature.

ECB need to be very careful here. Approximately 70% of a sold out Test crowd in England could care less about who’s winning or losing, rather they are happy to pay their £60-100 tickets (in groups of 4+) to enjoy a day out with booze all day.

Can you afford to lose your casual, yet loyal Test match fans who bring you £££ of batting revenue because you want to keep BCCI happy?

They are happy and many counties are happy to conduct IPL.
They will make good money.

You don't need to worry about IPL.

It was the BCCI's own incompetence in managing the bubble that has led to this situation and they don't deserve any favours from the ECB.

However, it's in the ECB's interest to maintain a good relationship with the BCCI. One concession that they can possibly extract in return for advancing the series is an agreement to allow Indian players to play in the Hundred for the next 5 years. I'd be surprised if the ECB let this occasion go to waste.

They are happy and many counties are happy to conduct IPL.
They will make good money.

You don't need to worry about IPL.

I’m not worrying about IPL

I’m worrying about ECB. That’s my right

So disappointing to see such a promising series of real cricket being threatened by tamasha cricket. Wish T20 cricket never came into existence

Curious to find out who/what brings in more money. The ticket sales or BCCI/Disney TV money?

So disappointing to see such a promising series of real cricket being threatened by tamasha cricket. Wish T20 cricket never came into existence

Why can't both go on and let the market forces determine things?

Curious to find out who/what brings in more money. The ticket sales or BCCI/Disney TV money?

If you think the Ticket sales are worthless, try suggesting the idea of Empty crowd matches to the ECB for the next decade or so. Go on, you have a great excuse with covid 19 as well

They are happy, counties will make good money during these tough times.

I don’t think the British public or the ECB fat cats are desperate for more money. We are not destitute like the Sri Lankan’s, Bangladeshis or any other country who the BCCI is apparently remunerating with its bullying tactics

You think.
But in reality counties are eager to host the IPL.

If you think the Ticket sales are worthless, try suggesting the idea of Empty crowd matches to the ECB for the next decade or so. Go on, you have a great excuse with covid 19 as well

So I guess TV money it is.

Scrapping a home test to make way for a foreign t20 league. Probably unthinkable just 2-3 years ago. What's in the store for the next decade?

Indians, why are you silent on this matter? Why are you allowing your board to seal nail after nail into the coffin of international cricket without any resistance from their home fans? It's not like the money or benefits come anywhere close to you. Surely you can see the long term consequences towards the health of the game?

You think.
But in reality counties are eager to host the IPL.

oh kay

but I dont have any proof to suggest those countries are willing to cancel scheduled Test matches for IPL. Maybe you have some proof that I dont? care to share it?

The bottom-line is that the English players will play in IPL no matter what. Now it is up to ECB to decide how to navigate around it.

They could agree to shorten the Test series with India or they could send their second string side for the series with Pakistan and Bangladesh.

Nevertheless, whenever and wherever the IPL is resumed, the likes of Buttler, Stokes, Bairstow, Curran, Roy etc. will feature no matter what.

So you are still not sure if this plan to cancel two tests to schedule IPL instead will go ahead? But you are chest thumping as if it has gone ahead?

fact of the matter is IPL circus is only bearable in short bursts, try filling the calendar with IPL for 6-8 months of the year and watch how the interest dwindles, amongst fans but players also. same with any t20.

The Indian cricket team is to resume international action soon, though, in the hindsight, various discussions pertaining to the second half of the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2021 campaign continue to take place. The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has fixated on UAE and the United Kingdom as the two venues for potentially the September window.

BCCI CEO Hemang Amin has urged the board to keep UAE as the preferred venue after reflecting on the pros and cons that organisers would face as they take the T20 league outside the country.

As per a report in the Times of India, Amin has created two schedules -- one for the UK and the other one for UAE -- for the BCCI. The same will be discussed at the upcoming Special General Meeting (SGM) on May 29. Having advocated the idea of organising IPL Season 14 in UAE even before the tournament had begun, Amin believes the second half of the tournament should be taken to the Middle East as it is a 'tried and tested' model.

Reasons favouring UAE model:

Favourable weather conditions in comparison to the UK which sees incessant rain in September-October.
UAE a much cheaper alternative in comparison to the UK where the expenditure will be in pounds.
One central bio-bubble required for all three venues just like the 2020 edition.

Reasons favouring the UK model:

Prospects of bringing 'newness' to the T20 league with the UK becoming the third overseas venue to be used in the tournament's history.
Fans can be brought into the stadiums, generating money through gate receipts.

https://www.timesnownews.com/sports...ed-and-tested-model-for-ipl-2021-phase/759801

The England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) may not entertain any possible request from the Indian cricket board to advance the five-match Test series between Indian and England to ensure that The Hundred does not lose any more sheen, it has been learnt.

The Hundred begins on July 21 while the Test series starts on August 4. The ECB, in its desperation to save the 100-ball tournament, wants all England stars to be available for the tournament which is already set to miss foreign stars from Australia, Pakistan and the West Indies as they will be busy with international commitments.

While ECB told IANS on Friday that it has not received a request from the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) to advance the Test series, there has been speculation that it may want the series to finish earlier than September 14 so as to get 20-22 days to finish the 2021 Indian Premier League (IPL). The tournament, which was postponed halfway through its group stage due to Covid-19 in May, could be held in UAE.

According to sources, the Board has made an unofficial enquiry, a claim backed by a report in The Times newspaper.

However, ECB has been caught in a catch-22 situation. While it doesn’t want to spoil its relationship with the BCCI, it wants home Test stars like Jos Buttler, Jonny Bairstow and Sam Curran among others to be available for The Hundred, a tournament that is being floated as a money-spinner.

“The request (by BCCI to advance series) puts ECB in a tricky position, stuck between the rock of wanting to maintain good relations with the most powerful cricket nation as well as being as flexible and helpful as possible given the postponement of the game’s most financially lucrative competition, and the hard place of not impacting on their own carefully planned domestic schedule. At this late stage, it is hard to see the ECB acceding to any potential change and it is expected to hold its ground,” former England captain Michael Atherton on Thursday wrote in The Times.

“Principally, any move would affect the small window in the international calendar the ECB has created for The Hundred, the new short-form competition staged mid-summer between the end of the one-day series against Pakistan and the start of the India Tests. It is hoped that England players will be available for the start of a competition long in gestation, which is expected to be further knocked by withdrawals from other overseas players in the coming weeks,” Atherton further wrote.

Another problem that has emerged is that tickets for the first three days of the fifth and final Test at Old Trafford, from September 10-14, have already been sold out. If the series is advanced, then it will create logistical headache.

“Moving the game at this late stage to earlier in the season would create logistical headaches for Lancashire, the ECB and the England team, not to say those spectators who have spent money and planned to attend,” added Atherton.

Australian stars Glenn Maxwell, David Warner, Aaron Finch, Marcus Stoinis, Adam Zampa and Jhye Richardson have all signed up for the maiden edition of The Hundred. However, all these players have been named in Australia’s preliminary squad that will tour the West Indies for five T20 Internationals and three ODIs between July 9 and 24.

Australia may then tour Bangladesh too for a limited overs series that could act as warm-up for the T20 World Cup, currently scheduled to be played this October-November in India.

Besides Aussie stars, some prominent West Indies players, like Kieron Pollard, Andre Russell and Nicholas Pooran, may also have to skip the tournament as they will be busy against visiting Australians at home.

West Indies also play Pakistan from July 27 to August 3 in five T20 Internationals and in two Test matches from August 12 to 24.

Three Pakistani players — Mohammed Amir, Shaheen Afridi and Shadab Khan — are in The Hundred. While Amir isn’t part of the Pakistan team anymore, both Afridi and Khan are integral part of Pakistan set-up. They might also skip The Hundred.

The unavailability of top foreign stars in The Hundred may force ECB to keep the English players in the tournament and thus not entertain any requests to advance the dates for the Test series against India.

https://www.news18.com/cricketnext/...against-india-due-to-the-hundred-3761723.html

And folks we are seeing death of international cricket due to greed of one board and its misplaced priorities

OHhh this will be interesting how it pans out, the problem is that they have the launch of the Hundred to come this year and that will get in the way, now that its been advertised on the TV and stars have given their interviews for it on how they are looking forward to it, if it werent for the hundred then the decision might have been easier.

You may have celebrated too soon here.

The BCCI might feel several aspects of a test series can politely do one when it comes to filling their coffers, but i sense the English think in less selfish terms on these matters.

I'm sure most people are hoping the ECB put the greedy Indian execs in their place on this one. I can't see how anyone outside India wouldn't. Even Indians should be raising their voice, imo.

For years india has held the rest ransom, ECB have bent over for them in recent times, but i sense a shift ,the english are not stupid, they have bided their time, they have a new competition coming up which will rival IPL, this will work in their favor having their premium stars skip the remainder of IPL and play the hundred and tests instead. As some have also mentioned ECB are not so desperate for money, in england the government will always bail them out if it ever got to that stage but they have enough reserves to keep them going. With the pandemic fallout stars will be more reluctant to travel even if it is just for the money so im not so convinced this is the death of test cricket just yet.

England have found themselves in a position of power unexpectedly , and deep down india know they need english and australians to keep the IPL brand going otherwise it becomes a glorified syed ali mushtaq trophy and hands up how many people on here watch that?

This is a win-win for England. They will prepone the fifth test. In return, they can ask the BCCI to release indian players for this year's Hundred. Meanwhile, the IPL in September will almost certainly be washed out.

You may have celebrated too soon here.

The BCCI might feel several aspects of a test series can politely do one when it comes to filling their coffers, but i sense the English think in less selfish terms on these matters.

I'm sure most people are hoping the ECB put the greedy Indian execs in their place on this one. I can't see how anyone outside India wouldn't. Even Indians should be raising their voice, imo.

There is nothing for me to celebrate because I would love to watch a full Test series between England and India and I would love to watch the IPL as well.

ECB needs to realize that the likes of Bairstow, Buttler, Stokes, Roy, Curran etc. will feature in the IPL whenever and wherever it is resumed.

The onus is on them to minimize their losses and work their way around it. They cannot dictate terms and focus the players to skip IPL for national duty.

This is a win-win for England. They will prepone the fifth test. In return, they can ask the BCCI to release indian players for this year's Hundred. Meanwhile, the IPL in September will almost certainly be washed out.

India's main squad will obviously be playing England and second string/limited overs players will be in Sri Lanka.

Not sure how this whole thing started. Looks like there has been no request of any kind from the BCCI.

BCCI tours are a huge cash cow for the ECB other than the Ashes. So the ECB will not let go of anything. This is where they have to make money. The whole series is going to happen.

Also, not sure how they will play the IPL in Eng. I would think the UAE will be the better option. Weather wise as well as timing wise (suitable for India prime time).

ECB will give in. They don't have guts to stand to the bullies.

I would say not. ECB is part of the "bullying" 3. So there will be an amicable agreement of some sort. Though there is nothing to begin with as BCCI have made no request of any kind to ECB.

oh kay

but I dont have any proof to suggest those countries are willing to cancel scheduled Test matches for IPL. Maybe you have some proof that I dont? care to share it?

Indian Premier League 2021: English counties offer to host postponed games

A group of counties have written to the England and Wales Cricket Board about the possibility of hosting the remainder of the Indian Premier League.

The Twenty20 tournament was suspended on Tuesday after several positive coronavirus tests among players.

There is no suggestion that the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) is looking for a new venue.

Warwickshire, Surrey and the Marylebone Cricket Club (Lord's) are the interested parties.

Wherever the remaining 31 games are played, any attempt to rearrange them will have to contend with a packed schedule of international cricket.

England end a five-Test series against India on 14 September and are due to travel to Bangladesh and Pakistan before the T20 World Cup in India begins in October.

However, finishing the IPL in the UK at the end of September would at least see the England and India squads in the same place, while some other international players may still be in country following the conclusion of The Hundred.

https://www.bbc.com/sport/cricket/56971322

oh kay

England counties keen to host remaining IPL 2021 matches in September, proposal to be sent to BCCI
A group of English counties has offered to host the remaining matches of Indian Premier League (IPL) 2021 after the tournament was suspended on May 03. BCCI had to suspend the league indefinitely after a string of COVID-19 cases rocked the bio-bubbles of as many as four teams. The English counties are keen on hosting the remaining matches of the league in September this year ahead of the T20 World Cup 2021.

As per ESPNCricinfo, four English counties - MCC, Surrey, Warwickshire, and Lancashire have written to the England Cricket Board (ECB) to extend their proposal to the BCCI. Their proposal is likely to be discussed by the BCCI in the virtual ICC meeting of the national chief executives on Thursday (May 06). If their proposal is accepted, the remaining games of the tournament will be completed in two weeks in England.

While MCC are based at Lord's, Surrey, Warwickshire and Lancashire are based at Kia Oval (London), Edgbaston (Birmingham) and Old Trafford (Manchester) respectively. These stadiums will be hosting the remainder of the IPL matches, if BCCI gives the nod.

https://www.timesnownews.com/sports/cricket/ipl/article/england-counties-keen-to-host-remaining-ipl-2021-matches-in-september-proposal-to-be-sent-to-bcci/753774#:~:text=The%20English%20counties%20are%20keen,the%20T20%20World%20Cup%202021.&text=As%20per%20ESPNCricinfo%2C%20four%20English,their%20proposal%20to%20the%20BCCI.

England counties keen to host remaining IPL 2021 matches in September, proposal to be sent to BCCI
A group of English counties has offered to host the remaining matches of Indian Premier League (IPL) 2021 after the tournament was suspended on May 03. BCCI had to suspend the league indefinitely after a string of COVID-19 cases rocked the bio-bubbles of as many as four teams. The English counties are keen on hosting the remaining matches of the league in September this year ahead of the T20 World Cup 2021.

As per ESPNCricinfo, four English counties - MCC, Surrey, Warwickshire, and Lancashire have written to the England Cricket Board (ECB) to extend their proposal to the BCCI. Their proposal is likely to be discussed by the BCCI in the virtual ICC meeting of the national chief executives on Thursday (May 06). If their proposal is accepted, the remaining games of the tournament will be completed in two weeks in England.

While MCC are based at Lord's, Surrey, Warwickshire and Lancashire are based at Kia Oval (London), Edgbaston (Birmingham) and Old Trafford (Manchester) respectively. These stadiums will be hosting the remainder of the IPL matches, if BCCI gives the nod.

https://www.timesnownews.com/sports/cricket/ipl/article/england-counties-keen-to-host-remaining-ipl-2021-matches-in-september-proposal-to-be-sent-to-bcci/753774#:~:text=The%20English%20counties%20are%20keen,the%20T20%20World%20Cup%202021.&text=As%20per%20ESPNCricinfo%2C%20four%20English,their%20proposal%20to%20the%20BCCI.

So this answers my question if I read it?

English counties (Surrey, Hampshire, Middlesex etc.) are keen to drop their hosting rights to English Test cricket in the summer to accommodate IPL?

Do you know how much members pay to most of these counties, members that are very old rich white folk type, do you really think they will allow IPL to cancel out test matches in their grounds. They barely allowed flags and instruments into Lords.

They may host it as an after thought in September but definitely wont be cancelling test matches to accommodate.

So this answers my question if I read it?

English counties (Surrey, Hampshire, Middlesex etc.) are keen to drop their hosting rights to English Test cricket in the summer to accommodate IPL?

Read above BBC article.
Warwickshire, Surrey and the Marylebone Cricket Club (Lord's) are the interested parties.

How many you want?

Read above BBC article.

How many you want?

The poster was asking for evidance to show where test matches would be canceleld to accomodate IPL.

Host in september is key, September is a very rainy month.

Right ok...

If it happens, Cricket Boards ( after scrapping 1-2 Tests to accommodate T20) shouldn't lecture players for retiring from Test Cricket. If ex-players are okay with it, they also lose the right to criticize for the same.

T20 Cricket can survive without Test Cricket. Sadly, we can't say this for Test Cricket.

Read above BBC article.

How many you want?

This article is from several weeks back. The article says the tournament would be completed in 2 weeks, i.e the last 2 weeks of the season after the final test.

It was the BCCI's own incompetence in managing the bubble that has led to this situation and they don't deserve any favours from the ECB.

However, it's in the ECB's interest to maintain a good relationship with the BCCI. One concession that they can possibly extract in return for advancing the series is an agreement to allow Indian players to play in the Hundred for the next 5 years. I'd be surprised if the ECB let this occasion go to waste.

What has BCCI's perceived incompetence got to do with negotiating with ECB about IPL? Is the ECB a blemish-free organization in your mind that only the pure ''deserve'' a favor from? Are they the fountain of all that's just and fair in cricketing world for you? That's hilarious dude.

Chalo, at least you give the ECB some wiggle room saying they *have* to keep a working relationship with BCCI.

The poster was asking for evidance to show where test matches would be canceleld to accomodate IPL.

He’s purposely acting dumb just like Modi Government on the Kashmir issue

"but I dont have any proof to suggest those countries are willing to cancel scheduled Test matches for IPL. "

When is the WT20 scheduled from? If it has a mid October start, then there's a tight enough window available between the ENG tour and start of the world event. Logistically, it becomes feasible if both the IPL and the WT20 are to be held in UAE.

With 31 matches remaining, IPL would need 24-25 days to finish with 3 double headers a week. Start on September 18 and finish by October 12. Don't think the BCCI would like it to be organized post WT20.

"but I dont have any proof to suggest those countries are willing to cancel scheduled Test matches for IPL. "

what you shared is not proof though, it just states counties are willing to host the IPL after their home season is done? Basically ECB want to milk india for what its worth, hold them for test series then follow up with IPL astute work from ECB i must add.

He’s purposely acting dumb just like Modi Government on the Kashmir issue

Yeah..dumb

"I don’t think the British public or the ECB fat cats are desperate for more money. We are not destitute like the Sri Lankan’s, Bangladeshis or any other country who the BCCI is apparently remunerating with its bullying tactics"

You first said ECB not desperate money, I replied with proof that many counties are wiling to host for money.

Then you switched goal post and asking proof to suggest those countries are willing to cancel scheduled Test matches for IPL.

Yeah..dumb

"I don’t think the British public or the ECB fat cats are desperate for more money. We are not destitute like the Sri Lankan’s, Bangladeshis or any other country who the BCCI is apparently remunerating with its bullying tactics"

You first said ECB not desperate money, I replied with proof that many counties are wiling to host for money.

Then you switched goal post and asking proof to suggest those countries are willing to cancel scheduled Test matches for IPL.
The line of argument you presented was: ECB needs money so they will drop Tests for IPL

My response was: no they are not so desperate

I am talking about cancelling Tests for IPL, not hosting IPL as an extra in September. Clearly you cannot seem to grasp the actual point of debate

What has BCCI's perceived incompetence got to do with negotiating with ECB about IPL? Is the ECB a blemish-free organization in your mind that only the pure ''deserve'' a favor from? Are they the fountain of all that's just and fair in cricketing world for you? That's hilarious dude.

Chalo, at least you give the ECB some wiggle room saying they *have* to keep a working relationship with BCCI.

Stop being deliberately obtuse. If the BCCI had appointed a professional company to oversee the bubble rather than rely on insiders, the IPL won't have been postponed. It was also hilariously arrogant and pigheaded to continue to hold matches in Delhi which was the epicentre of the virus. The fact that the BCCI are now going to potentially suffer a loss is utterly down to their own incompetence.

You guys really need to stop taking criticism of the BCCI personally.

The line of argument you presented was: ECB needs money so they will drop Tests for IPL

I am talking about cancelling Tests for IPL, not hosting IPL as an extra in September. Clearly you cannot seem to grasp the actual point of debate

These guys are also being gullible.

It's not as simple as cancelling a test to earn more money for the ECB. They have contractual obligations to sky, bbc and more crucially Sony India on delivering five tests against India this summer, if that test is cancelled, the broadcasters will be entitled to a rebate.

Nope.
I never said that.
I said they are happy to host remaining IPL season, counties can make good money.
I didn't talk about drop a Test and I am against to that.

The weather in the UK is too unpredictable to host the IPL. Should host in the UAE if India is still not safe.

I would actually love to see a test match cancelled to accommodate the IPL. I would also then love to see the IPL being washed out due to rain. Win win!!! Or shall i say loss loss for money hungry Big 3!

BCCI needs minimum of 17-18 days to conduct the remaining of IPL 2021. The UAE is the most preferred venue during mid September.

The right thing meaning “do what BCCI wants”?

They probably will as the Counties are desperate for test match ticket revenue.

They are happy, counties will make good money during these tough times.

Heard Surrey CCC’s CEO on BBC Radio today. The pandemic has hurt them, both in lost ticket sales and in corporate conferencing. They have used their reserves but are ok as long as the crowds can come back.

I think their members would be glad to host some IPL matches if it means that the Club survives.

Also expensive.

I hope it doesn't happen in the UK. To be honest if BCCI can't host in India or UAE they should null and void the season. The schedule is too packed and can't see which country is viable to host due to covid.

I suppose the only thing ECB can ask in favor of the BCCI is that they pay some money in order to cancel the last two games.

That way, England can also fix its domestic structure from the grueling financial situation there.

BCCI won't care, their pockets are quite deep and they'd happily pay the ECB to scrap the two tests whilst still maintaining a good relationship with the ECB.

Nope.
I never said that.
I said they are happy to host remaining IPL season, counties can make good money.
I didn't talk about drop a Test and I am against to that.

The way I see it, ECB will either offer to host the IPL in exchange for removing two tests from the series.

Or if BCCI don't agree to that, the ECB will ask the BCCI to pay them to remove the last two tests so that some revenue can at least be divided amongst the counties.

The way I see it, ECB will either offer to host the IPL in exchange for removing two tests from the series.

Or if BCCI don't agree to that, the ECB will ask the BCCI to pay them to remove the last two tests so that some revenue can at least be divided amongst the counties.

You are over complicating this.

In my opinion, knowing how the ECB tends to operate...they will kindly refuse to scrap the last two Tests. They will however provide BCCI with dates and venues to host the IPL. And people are incorrect about September UK weather, it is maybe one of the safest months when it comes to staying dry as the summer is very much coming to an end by early October.

ECB depends on Ashes and India tours to earn their profit. They are in no position to extract the kind of agreement you want them to. No Indian player will play in any other league.

BCCI will have to find a separate window for the remaining IPL matches. Thats only fair.

I hope it doesn't happen in the UK. To be honest if BCCI can't host in India or UAE they should null and void the season. The schedule is too packed and can't see which country is viable to host due to covid.

$350mn is hanging on the IPL. The IPL will likely be played in the UAE. BCCI may cut short the English tour or advance the tests to accommodate it.

Only if the ECB allow it. They can't cut short a pre-agreed 5 test tour.

Well, if BCCI really wants to cut it short, they will and ECB will agree. BCCI will ofcourse compensate them by touring again in near future.

Lets assume ECB refuses.THEY will get 5 tests this summer. But they may not see a India tour again for a long time or may only see a short tour in future.

So its all up for negotiation.

Only if the ECB allow it. They can't cut short a pre-agreed 5 test tour.

Not that it is going to happen. But Test series are cut short all the time these days. The PCB, SLC, WI et all cut tests to play T20. In fact didn't the PCB and WI just recently cut a test from their schedule? I remember PCB "postponing" an entire test series with Aus a few years ago.

So nothing out of the ordinary if a test is cut out.