England v India | Match 38, World Cup | Edgbaston | 30th June, 2019 | Match Thread

Kohli has to prove his worth today for why he is seen as one who will go down as the greatest ever batsmen in ODIs.

Brilliant bowling from Woakes, 1 wicket for 3 runs off 4 overs. Incredible!

Pak will need to depend on NZ to defeat England now. India can't win this one, no chance!

That's what i meant... Today's loss to england may hurt pak chances but if they lose today it will also impact inia's momentum and they can lose against SL n BD

Today's defeat will kick you guys out.

Its only a defeat for us.

No one can compete with Pakistani fans when it comes to being delusional.

Those who think that India are not giving their best today because they want to eliminate Pakistan need to understand that India’s chancing of winning the World Cup increases tremendously if our pathetic team or Bangladesh qualify for the semifinals.

India would much rather play Pakistan or Bangladesh in the final/semifinal than England. India a need a Champions Trophy Final level meltdown to lose to Pakistan or Bangladesh, because the gulf in qualities between the sides is massive.

Kohli only l class player in the Indian team . He wlll need 150 at least .

Overrated bowling & batting

Lol at your ignorance
It won't kick us out.
If nz beat eng we will go through

Pakistani fans are capable of finding a silver-lining even on doomsday. We will still think we can make the semifinals even when we are officially eliminated. Our campaign is done and dusted and we only have ourselves to blame.

Kl Rahul is turning out to be most over hyped Indian batsman

Those who think that India are not giving their best today because they want to eliminate Pakistan need to understand that India’s chancing of winning the World Cup increases tremendously if our pathetic team or Bangladesh qualify for the semifinals.

India would much rather play Pakistan or Bangladesh in the final/semifinal than England. India a need a Champions Trophy Final level meltdown to lose to Pakistan or Bangladesh, because the gulf in qualities between the sides is massive.

They may play Nz.Its all tactical.You dont want to face a team with momentum like Pak.Also its not always about preferences.This Indian team has not been afraid to polticize sports by wearing army caps and balidan gloves.Considering that their fans will be happy if they elimnate us by losing I dont see this a far off possibility.

How can you claim to be Pakistani when you consistently disrespect our team even when they are doing well. You're a pretty pathetic person to pose as someone you're not.

Pakistan will not make the semifinals not because of what has happened over the last month but because of what has happened over the last two years.

Pakistani fans are capable of finding a silver-lining even on doomsday. We will still think we can make the semifinals even when we are officially eliminated. Our campaign is done and dusted and we only have ourselves to blame.

And you see no hope in anything and jump on any chance to bash Pakistan. Why not just openly admit it?

Its not. This is the beauty of cricket. Hope is and should be on till its not official

Only a weak team would be thinking of an easier route to the final . Champions don’t care who they play. You’re putting down your team India without even realising lol

This is the harsh reality which our fans need to accept. But won't.

IND will not deliberately lose, but they're also not worried much and not taking this as a must win game. Seem pretty relaxed.

Their future doesn't depend on this game.

Not difficult. It actually again depends upon others.

The point is, our future is in our hands.

Your future is in others hand.

No... Pak just needs to make sure they beat BD... If other results don't turn in our favor its ok... We will still leave world cup with head held high.... 5 wins not bad showing for a team that is ranked quite low in ODI

How can you claim to be Pakistani when you consistently disrespect our team even when they are doing well. You're a pretty pathetic person to pose as someone you're not.

You can call me what you want, but Pakistani fans owe our rubbish team nothing. We have been mediocre for far too long and we owe them nothing. I have had enough of mediocrity.

I feel sorry for the patients of Dr Mamoon with this much pessimism he would be making their situation even worse instead of giving them any hope or saying a few words of optimism.

England have bowled well. At least give them credit. PP has forgotten that bowlers can bowl well.

No... Pak just needs to make sure they beat BD... If other results don't turn in our favor its ok... We will still leave world cup with head held high.... 5 wins not bad showing for a team that is ranked quite low in ODI

Head held high? You will be out because of pathetic performance against WI. this team should be disbanded rather than giving praise.

I said it exactly a year ago. Most of the fans here were jumping on me at that time. I also said that these same fans will soon abuse and ask for his removal from our team. :inti

You were correct. I also havent seen something as special in him unlike many other posters, yes he is really good timer of the ball and stroke maker but only on true surfaces and he doesnt have much temperament to play on any sort of surface which doesnt suit his game especially in ODIs. Technically he is decent so can still do okish in tests.

Only a weak team would be thinking of an easier route to the final . Champions don’t care who they play. You’re putting down your team India without even realising lol

I think India doesn’t care who they face. They are too professional a side to influence and manipulate who makes the team and who doesn’t. However, let’s assume that they want to pick and choose between opponents, their chances of beating Pakistan/Bangladesh are much higher than their chances of beating England.

Disappointing to see Pakistani fans here support India. I will never do that. Hopefully England beat India here and then NZ beat England and we beat Bangladesh. Screw india

Man! You would have rather India lose than Pakistan improve its chances of getting to the semis.

Life must be hard for your with your attitude. I wonder how you will survive India winning the WC, if not this year then in 2023.

[MENTION=134809]sensible-indian-fan[/MENTION] what do you think their strategy is?

I know IND likes to keep wickets in hand in the PP. But don't think I've seen them play this slow, that too chasing 340 almost.

Do they have a I don't care, relaxed attitude today?

I feel sorry for the patients of Dr Mamoon with this much pessimism he would be making their situation even worse instead of giving them any hope or saying a few words of optimism.

There is a professional protocol - you have to be honest with your patients without completely denting their hopes and optimism, plus it also depends on patients to patients. I had it tough when I worked in emergency, because you cannot lie to their families and at the same time, you cannot tell them that a miracle cannot happen.

I think India doesn’t care who they face. They are too professional a side to influence and manipulate who makes the team and who doesn’t. However, let’s assume that they want to pick and choose between opponents, their chances of beating Pakistan/Bangladesh are much higher than their chances of beating England.

It’s one or the other . Either they care or don’t :)))

You’re embarrassing India . Keep this up you won’t get a hug of Modi

Head held high? You will be out because of pathetic performance against WI. this team should be disbanded rather than giving praise.

This is the difference... You may not comprehend but let me try.

In reality we are ranked 6/7 in ODI and so if we end up anything above 6th position it is an achievement.

As much as we want to win the world cup... I will be happy with the team if they beat BD in last game.

You were correct. I also havent seen something as special in him unlike many other posters, yes he is really good timer of the ball and stroke maker but only on true surfaces and he doesnt have much temperament to play on any sort of surface which doesnt suit his game especially in ODIs. Technically he is decent so can still do okish in tests.

Technique ka kya achaar daalna hai jab banda dimaag se hi kamzor hai. :inti

Feel sorry for the British Indian fans . Their team is playing rubbish & they are very quiet :))
I am feeling more sympathy towards Brit Pak's who came to watch and watching england demolishing India which should have put a smile but today, they can't even enjoy that.

They may play Nz.Its all tactical.You dont want to face a team with momentum like Pak.Also its not always about preferences.This Indian team has not been afraid to polticize sports by wearing army caps and balidan gloves.Considering that their fans will be happy if they elimnate us by losing I dont see this a far off possibility.

Yes we saw how dangerous Pakistan were with momentum against Afghanistan. All this momentum etc. means nothing. We are a poor side and we cannot defeat India unless they have a stinker.

Now Pakistan's can only pray for England's collapse against New Zealand. Boult to run through poms

Scoring 30 of powerplay is just criminal.
Kohli and Rohit should atleast show some intention.
Losersss.

Man! You would have rather India lose than Pakistan improve its chances of getting to the semis.

Life must be hard for your with your attitude. I wonder how you will survive India winning the WC, if not this year then in 2023.

He is exactly doing what Mamoon always do he loves to see Pakistan lose so that he can jump and have his oh i told you so moment

People who think this is just good bowling dont get it.There is no intent from India.Come on people If this was semis you think India would be chasing like this?

2016 wc was in India too. Didnt win that. I hope you win today somehow

This is the difference... You may not comprehend but let me try.

In reality we are ranked 6/7 in ODI and so if we end up anything above 6th position it is an achievement.

As much as we want to win the world cup... I will be happy with the team if they beat BD in last game.

If your expectations are THAT low, then you can never be the leader. You have to aim higher and NOT settle for mediocrities.

Why were they sleeping in the league games? To get bowled out for 100 is criminal against Windies for which they should be penalized and do not deserve to be in the semi-finals...

I hope this performance comes back to bite India and they lose by 200 runs and then lose each of their other matches to not qualify based on NRR

I actually hope and pray that the conspiracy theories are true. India should lose this deliberately and kick us out because that is what we deserve for leaving our fate in their hands.

We are a 6th ranked side who lost 13 matches on a trot leading into the World Cup, and our W/L ratio against the top sides in the last 2 years will put Nepal and Hong Kong to shame.

This Pakistan side qualifying for the semis would have been grossly unfair because we have no respect for the game and don’t work hard.

We had our fluke in the Champions Trophy. It cannot and should not happen over and over again.

[MENTION=134809]sensible-indian-fan[/MENTION] what do you think their strategy is?

I know IND likes to keep wickets in hand in the PP. But don't think I've seen them play this slow, that too chasing 340 almost.

Do they have a I don't care, relaxed attitude today?

They are steadying the ship and will attack later I believe.

They are playing way too slow atm.

Relaxed attitude dunno. But desperation and single focus drive may not be there.

I am feeling more sympathy towards Brit Pak's who came to watch and watching england demolishing India which should have put a smile but today, they can't even enjoy that.

Most of us haven’t even bothered to watch the match . Just tuned in . India win fine helps us . England crush India , great too .

Indian fans have stopped dancing to Bhangra & now doing Pooja in silence:))