England v India | Match 38, World Cup | Edgbaston | 30th June, 2019 | Match Thread

Come on Kohli and Rohit start accelerating even Pakistan's clueless batsmen were taking these mediocre bowlers to cleaners and scoring 350 every other match in odi series and then in world cup

If your expectations are THAT low, then you can never be the leader. You have to aim higher and NOT settle for mediocrities.

Its reality and as a cricket fan.... Read that.. CRICKET fan... A good game is what a fan needs

What good is number 1 ranking if they play like they playing now... So yes as a Pakistani I am not concerned at all rather as an Indian you should worry.

Mark this post right here. India is not winning the world cup

Why don't you get one thing, great innings in a WC enhances player reputation

This is his record chasing in WC, not a single fifty in 11 innings. So yea he has a point to prove lol

http://stats.espncricinfo.com/ci/engine/player/253802.html?batting_fielding_first=2;class=2;filter=advanced;orderby=default;template=results;trophy=12;type=batting

He has nothing to prove.

He only failed against South Africa in this tournament. So he has played winning knocks in every game. He has nothing to prove .

Why were they sleeping in the league games? To get bowled out for 100 is criminal against Windies for which they should be penalized and do not deserve to be in the semi-finals...

Yeah they do not deserve to go to semis even though they beat both Eng and NZ who will make the semis if Pak doesn't

Baqwas karalo loggon se.... This is what happens when people step out of the boundaries of their auqaats

If your expectations are THAT low, then you can never be the leader. You have to aim higher and NOT settle for mediocrities.

You aim with what you have got. Taking two players past their so called prime, one bowler playing with a fractured finger, other recovering from chicken pox, one completely out of for and 2-3 teenagers along with a captain who isnt really fit and most of the players in the team are yet to play 50 ODIs.

Kohli the king of run chase

Aint that right ? [MENTION=134608]Hawkeye[/MENTION]

Looks like Indian batsmen want to play all the fast bowlers out and target Adil Rashid scoring 36 runs off an over of his 7-8 overs.

I actually hope and pray that the conspiracy theories are true. India should lose this deliberately and kick us out because that is what we deserve for leaving our fate in their hands.

We are a 6th ranked side who lost 13 matches on a trot leading into the World Cup, and our W/L ratio against the top sides in the last 2 years will put Nepal and Hong Kong to shame.

This Pakistan side qualifying for the semis would have been grossly unfair because we have no respect for the game and don’t work hard.

We had our fluke in the Champions Trophy. It cannot and should not happen over and over again.

You are the most self deprecating person I've seen on the internet!

Dhoni playing slow.
Tendu: Dhoni is senior he should show intent.
Rohit hits a boundary after eternity.
Tendu: mere khayal se Rohit ne risk lia hai.

Pakistan will not make the semifinals not because of what has happened over the last month but because of what has happened over the last two years.

Yeah because fans like you supported selection of Shoaib Malik.

BTW, according to you part of the reason we lose to India is due to Imran Khan losing to them in 1992. So like almost 27 years in the making...nice.

Why were they sleeping in the league games? To get bowled out for 100 is criminal against Windies for which they should be penalized and do not deserve to be in the semi-finals...

Beating SA, NZ, and ENG should not be penalized by the pessimism from so called Pakistan fans. As some would say, Pakistan had a bad day vs West indies! Or does this only apply to SA, NA, and ENG vs Pakistan?

Well 338 is chaseable ... I don't understand this approach in batting !

Are they looking at nrr? Esp Rohit innings is very unlike him

2 :4: of wood first over

Most of us haven’t even bothered to watch the match . Just tuned in . India win fine helps us . England crush India , great too .

Indian fans have stopped dancing to Bhangra & now doing Pooja in silence:))

Haha exactly brother.

Indian fans are confused.

So is a closet Indian on this thread :)

These players play 1000 IPL games per year but still do tuk tuk in the first 10 overs. Then there was someone like Sehwag who used to take India to 85/0 in first 10 overs before IPL came into existence. :inti

Anyway make your fixing claims. I don't have any interest in it. You must have a sad life and no respect for the game if you can't give any credit to good bowling and just think the world is against your team.

I hope this performance comes back to bite India and they lose by 200 runs and then lose each of their other matches to not qualify based on NRR

.... Hope keeps a man alive. Keep hoping through reality is hard.

Eng bowling well. India just needs two good overs to be on their way, Rohit and Kohli both know they are the key to the chase as the upcoming batsmen cant chase it even if they bat twice.

People who think this is just good bowling dont get it.There is no intent from India.Come on people If this was semis you think India would be chasing like this?

There is less intent because these two don't want to get out as they are the mainstays of this batting line up.

No matter what people think India would much rather face Pakistan in the semis than England. England is a much better team than Pakistan and India have a 7-0 record against us. Winning here drastically increases their chance of reaching the final

Those who are dissing Kohli need to realize that his competition is only and only with himself. Even if he retires today, he will go down as one of the greatest ever and a top 2-3 ODI batsman in history.

His legacy is cemented and he has already done more than 90% of the batsmen who have played the game even if he never manages to chase a 330+ total in a tournament.

I actually hope and pray that the conspiracy theories are true. India should lose this deliberately and kick us out because that is what we deserve for leaving our fate in their hands.

We are a 6th ranked side who lost 13 matches on a trot leading into the World Cup, and our W/L ratio against the top sides in the last 2 years will put Nepal and Hong Kong to shame.

This Pakistan side qualifying for the semis would have been grossly unfair because we have no respect for the game and don’t work hard.

We had our fluke in the Champions Trophy. It cannot and should not happen over and over again.

Pakistan has the second best W/L ratio in WCs batting first.

Something that happens over and over again is not a fluke.

He has nothing to prove.

He only failed against South Africa in this tournament. So he has played winning knocks in every game. He has nothing to prove .

Lets agree to disagree

I don't want to argue with you.

People who think this is just good bowling dont get it.There is no intent from India.Come on people If this was semis you think India would be chasing like this?

There is less intent because these two don't want to get out as they are the mainstays of this batting line up.

No matter what people think India would much rather face Pakistan in the semis than England. England is a much better team than Pakistan and India have a 7-0 record against us. Winning here drastically increases their chance of reaching the final

No intent frm india whatso ever

Seems like setting hogayi hai India aur England ki

28/1. This is surely India's lowest PP1 score in this WC?

Nobody is saying the match is fixed. We are just saying India are playing like they don't really give a **** about winning. That isn't the same as fixing.

Never thought I would see a match where Pakistani posters were more nervous about India losing than Indian posters :)

Not surprising really, as India has already practically qualified for the semis and this game is critical for Pakistan's chances.

Win projector says there is still a 22% chance of India winning.

You aim with what you have got. Taking two players past their so called prime, one bowler playing with a fractured finger, other recovering from chicken pox, one completely out of for and 2-3 teenagers along with a captain who isnt really fit and most of the players in the team are yet to play 50 ODIs.

We are playing with two Batsman. Its not that India is having legends at their disposal.

The rest are just passengers to make the team.

Is it just me or anyone else also noticed Mamoon is only active in commentary threads when Pakistan is playing bad or when his fav team is playing great? else he goes missing from commentary threads

Rohits wicket at this stage will seal the deal for England.

Rohit is the only person that can win the game from this situation, as he can bat long and bring his strike rate up.

Kohli on the other hand is the best ODI bat in the world, but he would need help from hitters at the end.

So Rohit is the more important wicket for England atm.

Beating SA, NZ, and ENG should not be penalized by the pessimism from so called Pakistan fans. As some would say, Pakistan had a bad day vs West indies! Or does this only apply to SA, NA, and ENG vs Pakistan?

The problem is we have been having these bad days so often that they have become the norm.

Those who are dissing Kohli need to realize that his competition is only and only with himself. Even if he retires today, he will go down as one of the greatest ever and a top 2-3 ODI batsman in history.

His legacy is cemented and he has already done more than 90% of the batsmen who have played the game even if he never manages to chase a 330+ total in a tournament.

Most of us Pak fans will not rate him if he doesnt make India win this crucial game

Nobody is saying the match is fixed. We are just saying India are playing like they don't really give a crap about winning. That isn't the same as fixing.

That's how India plays. Taking the game deep.

England are a phenomenal team that was just not able to gather themselves. Injuries, poor form etc. dented their confidence, but this performance today should give them all the confidence they need to win the next 3 games and bring the World Cup home.

Poor running lol

I am 100% sure that Indian intensity is down today because they have qualified anyway. You just have to watch them play.

Viv, Ponting turned up at world cups . Kohli bottles it in big games . World Cup avg of 40 odd means you can’t be goat 🐐.

Has a chance today to show if he can do something special in a word cup . Let’s see

Most of us Pak fans will not rate him if he doesnt make India win this crucial game

Yes I am sure he will be extremely bothered to see Pakistani fans not rate him. Tendulkar is still undergoing therapy because he cannot cope with the fact that Pakistani fans don’t consider him a match-winner.

Dhoni playing slow.
Tendu: Dhoni is senior he should show intent.
Rohit hits a boundary after eternity.
Tendu: mere khayal se Rohit ne risk lia hai.

Selfish Tendu is agenda based. He knows Dhoni has surpassed him as an ODI cricketer and captain so he attacks Dhoni while gives his Bombay boy Rohit a pass for tuk tuk

Chasing 330+ against England in a worldcup game is no mean feat. Anyone who thinks India is not trying is kidding themselves. England have had a perfect day and this is excatly why no team would want them in knockouts.

India have also had a taste of underestimating Pakistan in tournament finals. The WT20 09 went to the last over, and the CT17 final was a game India would rather forget.

It is a myth to suggest India would rather play Pakistan in KO/Final stage than England who have choked not just against India in Finals, but have choked in more finals than any other team.

Poor running, underwhelming and weak shots. Indian players performing like this deliberately?

England are a phenomenal team that was just not able to gather themselves. Injuries, poor form etc. dented their confidence, but this performance today should give them all the confidence they need to win the next 3 games and bring the World Cup home.

No they are not phenomenal, unless they get roads. And I don't see them beating Australia or India.

No.

They got their cement phatta after whining and now they can perform. Plus India aren't doing a bad job getting poms back on track

Yes I am sure he will be extremely bothered to see Pakistani fans not rate him. Tendulkar is still undergoing therapy because he cannot cope with the fact that Pakistani fans don’t consider him a match-winner.

Guys please stop saying india will loss deliberately. First respect the game. We have no proof to prove that. Second i wouldn't believe kholi would do that. The guy is pure professional and knows his game. He never plays for loss.

Viv, Ponting turned up at world cups . Kohli bottles it in big games . World Cup avg of 40 odd means you can’t be goat 🐐.

Has a chance today to show if he can do something special in a word cup . Let’s see

Your opinion matters absolutely next to nothing as far as how Kohli is going to be rated thankfully. You know what they say about opinions

Rr is still around 4, need to get it over 5.5 first. With wickets in hand probably acceleration can be done later.

:4: by Kohli

England are a one trick pony.

Hint of spin or seam movement and they arent able to replicate a fraction of their batting prowess.

On flat decks like this, they will win 7 out of 10 matches.

On pitches with anything in it for the bowlers, they will lose 7 out of 10 matches against an Aussie or Indian team.

Selfish Tendu is agenda based. He knows Dhoni has surpassed him as an ODI cricketer and captain so he attacks Dhoni while gives his Bombay boy Rohit a pass for tuk tuk

Rich coming from a person who has username misbah the great.

England are bowling everything on off , let's c how he adjusts to this and score.
Him n pant are more crucial in this chase than Rohit.

No they are not phenomenal, unless they get roads. And I don't see them beating Australia or India.

No.

They got their cement phatta after whining and now they can perform. Plus India aren't doing a bad job getting poms back on track

Nothing wrong with them getting flat decks from now on. India and Australia got favorable pitches in their home World Cups as well. There is no need for ICC to specifically screw England over.

Goal should be to reach 250 for 3 in 40 overs. 9 rpo in the last 10 overs is doable.

Looks like daactar sahab is not treating any patients today! In full flow, cheeky and cute as always in gathering some attention.

India will probably not chase this, time to pin our hopes on new zealand!

Sure, go ahead. He will be devastated now.

Not rating one of the greatest players ever just because he didn't click in one game....

Looks like the coward Moeen was also a bad luck charm for England. Can’t see the gutless hack getting another game in this World Cup, and he will probably be dropped after the World Cup anyway.

India have also had a taste of underestimating Pakistan in tournament finals. The WT20 09 went to the last over, and the CT17 final was a game India would rather forget.

It is a myth to suggest India would rather play Pakistan in KO/Final stage than England who have choked not just against India in Finals, but have choked in more finals than any other team.

1996 qf, 11 sf, 85 benson hedges etc etc