Even Carlos Brathwaite is a better cricketer than Shahid Afridi

Warrior

Guys you know it's true.

Had Afridi been from any other nation I don't think he would have made their teams.

Afridi couldnt have dreamed of winning this in the last over. This hitting wasnt a fluke

Afridi isn't a cricketer to begin with :facepalm: - trust me if it really comes down to it, I would probably back myself to outperform this cheer leading hack on most days.....

Afridi could never ever chase 19 runs in last over of Stokes.

Facts.

4 sixes in final over of World Cup is a huge achievement.

Why compare him to afridi only? I doubt any pak current player could have done what he did today..

Afridi was man of the tournament in 2007 t20 WC, should have been in 2009 WC as well. I am not a fan of Afridi but he has contributed quite a bit for Pakistan in T20 format.

Wow another pointless afridi bashing thread

He deserves it. His brand of batting has inspired many batsmen to slog and be happy with it. Any other nation and he wouldn't have more than 20 games in his entire career. A black mark on pakistan cricket history

He can win a few games on very sporadic basis but his influence on cricketers and batting style is a major cause of why batters of class aren't coming up. Fans see him and like him but forget people with proper techniques which pakistan had plenty of

:91: what's up with this comedy of comparing every single player to Afridi? Most international batsmen are better than Pakistan's entire batting line up. There's nothing new here.

Afridi was man of the tournament in 2007 t20 WC, should have been in 2009 WC as well. I am not a fan of Afridi but he has contributed quite a bit for Pakistan in T20 format.

Care to list his performances in the 2007 tournament?

Playing premeditated slogs for six with your eyes closed is one thing and lets give credit to Afridi as he is probably the best ever close your eyes and swing the bat type six-slogger the game has seen --- but what this World Cup and T20 cricket in recent years has shown is the game has moved on to a more smart breed of big hitters like Braithwaite, Andre Russel, Gayle, AB De Villiers, Maxwell, Guptill etc who can hit sixes by playing different six hitting shots all around the wicket depending on the type of delivery from bowler - these blokes dont just eyes and swing wildly hoping it hits middle.

So he was man of the tournament without any reason?

Just list them and the reason should be there for everyone to see.

It's not a scientific method to calculate these awards. But if your confident then we can easily clear up the confusion.

that was nine years ago!

Playing premeditated slogs for six with your eyes closed is one thing and lets give credit to Afridi as he is probably the best ever close your eyes and swing the bat type six-slogger the game has seen --- but what this World Cup and T20 cricket in recent years has shown is the game has moved on to a more smart breed of big hitters like Braithwaite, Andre Russel, Gayle, AB De Villiers, Maxwell, Guptill etc who can hit sixes by playing different six hitting shots all around the wicket depending on the type of delivery from bowler - these blokes dont just eyes and swing wildly hoping it hits middle.

I have waited a long time for my fellow Pakistanis to utter such words.

Afridi has never in his history won us a match like this.

Carlos >> Afridi

Guys you know it's true.

Had Afridi been from any other nation I don't think he would have made their teams.

I think you guys are being extremely unfair on Afridi. He's like Chris Gayle and it worth being in the team albeit it's risky. Just look at the current batsmen. Nobody is worthy of replacing him.

That's serious kneejerk reaction. As bad as Afridi is as of now, he has definitely been a great match winner for Pakistan in the past.

I think you guys are being extremely unfair on Afridi. He's like Chris Gayle and it worth being in the team albeit it's risky. Just look at the current batsmen. Nobody is worthy of replacing him.

I don't even know whether to laugh at this or cry for the mere fact that such fans do exist...........

I think it's better to just ..........:69: :69: :69:

I don't think anyone could have done it apart from West Indian players. Craig has a bright future.

Saw through Afridi's facade a long time back.

It's not about Afridi.

It's about realising what is slogging and what is striking.

Like Majid said, Afridi is probably the best blind slogger in the history of the game. But the probability of such a player replicating to effective shots in a row is very low and certainly shouldn't be picked on this basis.

Yet we not only played him as a specialist bat but made him a superstar.

I think ben Stokes bowled simple full deliveries could've tried a wide yorker after 6 off the first ball but Carlos did well enjoyed it

Hope is the little whisper you hear "maybe" when the whole world is shouting "NO!!"
Inshallah our cricket will be revived
#HopeNotOut

How many test triple centuries does Afridi have?

What a premature thread. Shahid Afridi is the better T20I cricketer, so far.
Really ?
I know who I would rather have in my side.
Breathtaking hitting with bottle, winning the game when your teams needs it most - something Afridi hasn't done in long time

Didn't Afridi win you guys the 2009 edition? Show some respect yaar..

Wow another pointless afridi bashing thread

I can bash Afridi for another 3000 years and it still won't be enough!! He is everything that is wrong with Pakistan cricket!!

What's this obsession with Afridi bashing here?? He has had his moments too if your board is stupid enough to keep selecting him in team make him captain budge under pressure from his lobby etc blame them for being spineless

I don't even know whether to laugh at this or cry for the mere fact that such fans do exist...........

I think it's better to just ..........:69: :69: :69:

Perhaps there are other batsmen worthy of replacing him but having Afridi in the team makes it more dangerous. If he has a cameo it puts us in a commanding position only after a couple of overs. Plus he's a useful bowler.

Everybody has bad patches. Other batsmen are not firing so they can certainly make way for better batsmen.

though i concur with the Afridi bashing ,
all 4 balls were easy hit-me balls that any mediocre IPL slogger would have hit for six.

why do people have a problem with Afridi having Fans. it my choice who I support.
and sports are played for fans not for the few he think they know it all and could solve all of Pakistan cricket over night.
5 million fans love afridi it is there right to love afridi. I wouldn't swap him for anyone. I am a fan I have a right to my opinion .

The bottom line is Afridi will always go for a premeditated shot - aur us ne phir har haalat mein wohee shot khelni hai - it does not matter if the ball is full or short, a quick one or a slower one, a leg cutter or an off cutter, an inswinger or an outswinger, or a left arm chinaman for that matter -- result is a six once every 5 attempts and probably out the other 4.

Khurram Manzoor should be mentioned there as well.

why do people have a problem with Afridi having Fans. it my choice who I support.
and sports are played for fans not for the few he think they know it all and could solve all of Pakistan cricket over night.
5 million fans love afridi it is there right to love afridi. I wouldn't swap him for anyone. I am a fan I have a right to my opinion .

You can love anyone you want. However, you don't have the right to sabotage my national team to satiate your man crush.

You can love Afridi. But the problem is when Afridi fans say that Afridi is a legend and he is the biggest match winner in history. The fact is that Afridi is an average player who would have at max played only 3 years if he was playing for any other team besides Pakistan. Afridi has fooled everyone for 2 decades and unfortunately majority of Pakistanis have fallen for his tricks because all they like is blind slogging. You can like him but don't say rubbish like Afridi being an ATG when stats say otherwise and don't argue that he should be in the team when he should have retired ages ago.

all 4 balls were easy hit-me balls that any mediocre IPL slogger would have hit for six.

That's BS...to do so in the pressure of the last over of a T20 final is simply mind boggling

You are a number 9 batsman... you are sweating like there is no tomorrow... it is a World cup final...the equation is 19 from 6, which mostly sees the bowling side winning if we look at the past stats and history, yet I suppose Cricket is so easy as you explain it in your comments.

Give credit where credit is due!!! Carlos did an unthinkable!!!

Yes Jasprit Bumrah and Hardik Pandya would have "sleep walked" it.

India is the real champions of this tournament, Windies should have just handed over the trophy to Ganguly

Afridi carried pak in 2007 and 2009. Show some respect. He is still top 10 allrounder and bowler in t20 cricket. How many pak players can claim that?

No way.

Afridi dragged his career for 3-5 years more than he should have & almost single-handedly destroyed the dressing room of Pakistan team (& perverted an entire generation of cricketers/cricket lovers). Besides, he forced his way to Captaincy & started to abuse his undue power in selection issues, which cost PAK team BIG time, but he WAS a very useful T20 player.

He 40+ now, struggling for fitness & lost his drift with ball, and never batted sensibly - but in his younger days, had better hand-eye coordination, therefore connected more frequently (even in this WC, he has 96 runs @24/188, which is not bad at all for a batting side like Pakistan). But till 2010, I believe he had a career average of around 18 with bat (@150+ SR) & 50+ wickets under 7 economy, which in any case is great. There are "soft" matches in his stats, but in T20, gap between top side & fringe sides are not that big like Test or even ODI.

It's a team game, therefore the way worshipper of Lalaland credits him for the 1st 2 T20 WC is nonsense, but better word probably is that, he was instrumental in PAK's 1st 2 WC success. In fact, had he not been Captain, PAK probably would have made 3 Finals in a row, could have won it as well in 2010.

Russell or this guy Brathwaite is never (at least not till now) a T20 player like Afridi at his early 30s, but Afridi's career lasted for 10 years (& still counting), these guys won't have lasted more than 3/4 matches with last 3/4 years of Afridisque performance (period starting when he is almost 38...).

In ODI, it's only in Pakistan that he played 400 ODI - starting career in 2014, someone with his performance would struggle to play half of that number for BD in entire career. In Test matches, he had the potential to play close to 100 Tests, but he was mentally child for that hard work required.

Of course. Sir Hardik Sobers and Sir Ravindra Bradman would have hit 8 sixes in those 4 balls!! :narine

Afridi carried pak in 2007 and 2009. Show some respect. He is still top 10 allrounder and bowler in t20 cricket. How many pak players can claim that?

Carried them?

Please elaborate.

He had all those dead weights in Ajmal, Gul and Razzaq to carry.

Well i haven't seen afridi getting out on a slower ball bowl him full or even a yorker at any length then mourn all day why u bowled there.
Afridi gets out only on short balls by fast bowler or high full toss just below waist line by a spinner.
I personally saw Afridi getting stumped for the first time take a bow zampa.

Hope is the little whisper you hear "maybe" when the whole world is shouting "NO!!"
#HopeNotOut

Well i haven't seen afridi getting out on a slower ball bowl him full or even a yorker at any length then mourn all day why u bowled there.
Afridi gets out only on short balls by fast bowler or high full toss just below waist line by a spinner.
I personally saw Afridi getting stumped for the first time take a bow zampa.

#HopeNotOut

You haven't watched many Afridi innings, have you? :facepalm:

Im watching cricket closely since cw15 and before that i knew nothing of cricket so nope i haven't

#HopeNotOut

Pretty much yes. Unless you can prove me wrong with a player who bats at number 6/7 who has hit a triple hundred in international cricket

So you're saying that the only thing that has stopped Afridi scoring a triple century is that he batted down the order?

Just so there is no confusion.

Depends if you're asking about ODI's, Tests or T20's

Oh now it depends on the format.

Considering that they've only been registered in tests I think we should stick to that.

I thought an astute fellow like you would have deduced this. Gayle may have a triple century.

Unless you're also suggesting Afridi would have registered triple centuries in ODIs and T20s.

Im watching cricket closely since cw15 and before that i knew nothing of cricket so nope i haven't

#HopeNotOut

Ok In that case I'll play nice.

Afridi has not only gotten out playing to "slower ball bowls" as you like to refer them as but also full and even yorkers at ALL lengths.

Afridi gets out on short balls doesn't matter if it's a slow or fast bowler bowling them.

High full toss just below waist line by a spinner are the easiest way to get Afridi out.

He's been stumped and bowled more times than one can count.

Point being, you haven't watched enough cricket and Afridi is one of the worst players in Pakistan history.

Have a good day. :)

Well... Afridi might not be the best player but if its about picking a favourite player i wont even hesitate a second to choose afridi
Have a good night

#HopeNotOut

Not many are capable of or will ever achieve what Carlos has today. He has set the bar incredibly high, early in his Int. career. As far as surpassing Afridi is concerned, CB should be aiming way higher than that (as should any other self-respecting/hard working Int. level cricketer).

Just list them and the reason should be there for everyone to see.

It's not a scientific method to calculate these awards. But if your confident then we can easily clear up the confusion.

In the most of the matches he bowled quite well. He was quite good with both bat and bowl in the must win match against Sri Lanka. He bowled quite well against NZ in the semis and had was economical against India in the final. In 2009 T20 WC he excelled both with bat and ball. And then he was the highest wicket taker in 2011 WC. Definitely overall a better cricket than Barathwhite.

to people asking why all the afridi bashing

you either die a hero or live long enough to become a villain

Your rights ended when your favorite became the enemy of the nation. Any Pakistan fan would hate Afridi!

In the most of the matches he bowled quite well. He was quite good with both bat and bowl in the must win match against Sri Lanka. He bowled quite well against NZ in the semis and had was economical against India in the final. In 2009 T20 WC he excelled both with bat and ball. And then he was the highest wicket taker in 2011 WC. Definitely overall a better cricket than Barathwhite.

Rather than giving your opinion why don't you just list his figures against the opposition for each match in 2007 and we can all judge?

He excelled in 2009 with bat and ball throughout?

Let's also list his figures in 2011 World Cup with respect to each opposition.

Well... Afridi might not be the best player but if its about picking a favourite player i wont even hesitate a second to choose afridi
Have a good night

#HopeNotOut

If you hesitate longer than a second Afridi's innings would be over in all probability.

Afridi is a few ordes of magnitude ahead of Brathwaite as a cricketer. I think Brathwaite will end up as a decent player though, especially in tests.

Oh now it depends on the format.

Considering that they've only been registered in tests I think we should stick to that.

I thought an astute fellow like you would have deduced this. Gayle may have a triple century.

Unless you're also suggesting Afridi would have registered triple centuries in ODIs and T20s.

Well your question was very general. To which I thought you were referring to ODI's. However, there was room for clarity so i simply asked.

If Gayle can register a triple century then Afridi is more than capable in my opinion, one his day.

what is the criteria to define legend. I chose my own legends on my terms. all people have different opinions no one opinion is better then other. I know what he is being a massive fan I presume I know him better then they people who don't support him. no need to tell me I have seen with my own eyes.

there is no point in say if and but because if he was born in aus maybe lost of things could have been different but lots of team would love to have a hard hitting leg spin all-rounder in there team and I don't see many others.

how has afridi fooled anyone he is what he is never tried to be any different did the same things all his life how is that falling for his tricks if I like blind slogging then I like blind slogging that's my choice.

why should he have retired no one is forced to pick him , make him captain. the only people who should want him to retire is his biggest fans because they want him to leave on a high give him one last cheer. they people that don't like him why does it bother you. when he is not good enough don't pick him.

I will say it again sport is played for fans what every makes the fans happy should be prioty number 1. without fans you would have no cricket
so even if you don't appreciate afridis cricket. at least think if it wasn't for all his fans around the world who would bother to watch your beloved team for the past 10 years. a team with fixers, no home cirkcet, drug abusers, no star players.

you might call him the cancer of the team but as far as I can see the team would be dead with out him.