Famous Indian singer Hans Raj reverts to Islam

i mean it must be difficult for a popular person to leave his religion in a conservative society like that in the sub continent.

People listen to his songs and not his religious sermons.
If the audience can appreciate Rahat Ali and other singers, Hans Raj Hans with his new faith wont be a problem either.

it is a very joyous occasion for Muslims; don't you think? does any Muslim resent conversion of idol worshippers,christians,jews etc?

He's a Sikh, or was formerly.

You should look for confirmation in more reputable news sources. I remember reading on PakPassion about an American astronaut of Indian descent, Sunita Williams, converting to Islam on her first space flight only for her to say afterwards that she had carried the Bhagavad Gita and a murti of Lord Ganesha with her as her sources of inspiration.

Another reason to celebrate for Muslims all around the world. Net count up by one. Tremendous achievement by the " ONLY TRUE RELIGION OF THIS WORLD "

it is a very joyous occasion for Muslims; don't you think? does any Muslim resent conversion of idol worshippers,christians,jews etc?

I don't think any muslim will ever resent converts/reverts [whatever is called].

"Love for your brother what you love for the self..."

Re: famous Indian singer hans raj hans reverts to Islam

News tribe again.Hardly a reliable source.Is anyone else reporting this?

Good for him, I have seen many reverts and they are better Muslims than many born Muslims.

A R rehman also converted from hinduism to Islam. We are a tolerant society.

Good for him.

But would you say he "converted" instead of "reverted"?

all hail to secularism of India, i doubt its possible anywhere else in subcontinent barring SL and nepal without problems.

Good for him.

all hail to secularism of India, i doubt its possible anywhere else in subcontinent barring SL and nepal without problems.

Even in india is difficult in lots of areas,depends from what area you are.
But no doubt about being more difficult in pakistan,but that 's quite 'normal',more a thing is majority more is difficult to be in the minority.

Oh another example of using words to strengthen your own faith.
If you really consider something converting to Islam as reverting, why aren't followers of other religions or no religion considered apostates?
Damn, just consider the % of people who have left Islam in that case. Record numbers!

Good for him.

How many Muslims convert to Hinduism or other religions in Secular India ?

I remember him, he was quite famous a few years back, did some big Bollywood numbers. BTW Indian friends, the bitterness doesn't come across well. It's a personal decision and he has to live life how he wants to.

Most likely sufi islam, he was already big fan of it. I don't know why PPers are happy, embarrassing.

Great decision made by him, if true. Hopefully he also gives up on his music down the line.

He's got a very good voice and has a history of singing devotional songs (from many faiths). Good luck to him.

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="//www.youtube.com/embed/pV4TtTf9LDE" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Read this news on a local punjabi newspaper today and it also said his son has rejected this news so don't know if he has converted or not. Anyways thats his personal choice and there is no rule to kill an apostate in india so he will be fine.

Great decision made by him, if true. Hopefully he also gives up on his music down the line.

As i said he converted to sufi Islam and not wahabi/deobandi islam ppers are fan of. Don't expect him to left anything.

If this is true may Allah SWT bless him. Should become a good sufi inshaAllah.

Shocked to see some garbage posts from some Indian posters here...what is all that about?? It is his personal decision to convert to Islam. What is wrong in that?

famous Indian singer hans raj hans reverts to Islam

I don't know who this guy is, but the name reminds me of Raj Hans the cricketer. He was a fixture in the Pakistan first-class scene in the late 90s.

I realized only much later that I had been incorrectly assuming the cricketer was of German/Dutch/Scandinavian origin. And that Hans was not pronounced Hans as in Hans Christian Andersen, but Hans as in asking someone to laugh.

The Raj part should've alerted me of the error of my ways. Another folly of my wasted youth.

If the news is true, Alhamdulillah! May Allah SWT keep him steadfast on the Deen!

famous Indian singer hans raj hans reverts to Islam

It also reminds me of another childish anecdote from years gone by.

In Math class in school, the teacher would solve some problem or the other on the board, invariably using the word "Hence" in the solution.

But we would mispronounce it as "Hans," and take it as an excuse to break into laughter, in congregation.

Good times, those.

Oh and then there was "thus," also used frequently in math solutions. So we would poke each other in the ribs and say "Dus naa." Because "dus" is Punjabi for "tell." It is also Urdu for ten, but there isn't a joke there.

Good times!

It also reminds me of another childish anecdote from years gone by.

In Math class in school, the teacher would solve some problem or the other on the board, invariably using the word "Hence" in the solution.

But we would mispronounce it as "Hans," and take it as an excuse to break into laughter, in congregation.

Good times, those.

Oh and then there was "thus," also used frequently in math solutions. So we would poke each other in the ribs and say "Dus naa." Because "dus" is Punjabi for "tell." It is also Urdu for ten, but there isn't a joke there.

Good times!

reminds me of when we in maths class last year use to make fun of the teacher when he would say two. We would say tou( buttocks in punjabi)

thurty tou:yk

i dont understand what some people here are getting mad about. The news was all over the internet especially social network so i posted it here. Whats wrong?

Whether he its true or not its his life, his choice also I don't agree with some Muslims like the OP gloating when a non Muslim coverts, its their own personal choice let it be no need to advertise it to the world. In any case our Indian friends need to relax here these are the threads that their hatred/true colours really come out

A lot of people convert for various reasons.

If Mr. Hansraj finds his peace in Islam, then so be it. Who are we to judge another person's decision.

The bitterness from Indian posters is awful whether true or not. I dread to think if he came across such a bunch crossing the street, stark reality.

I was going to post the exact same thing. So much hate from our Indian posters. It is painfully funny!

Good for him, I have seen many reverts and they are better Muslims than many born Muslims.

I think that's because they have experienced the hard life without Islam. Thier choice came by there own will and not by some parent telling them they have to follow this religion.

In a born muslim case, we tend to be greedy. Like we have the religion, but we never really realize the importance of it. Because we never truly have to suffer to find it, like none muslims do. Our parents tell us that this is the religion we are born with and this is the religion we will die with. So at first its not our own will but our parents will. So I feel if you truly want to find the meaning of what your religion is, You should go and find it, and not just go by your parents teachings. Because we as muslims should also know why we are muslims.

who are we to judje other peoples iman?only Allah knows what is in their mind.first correct ourselves and then advice others.:)

Whether he its true or not its his life, his choice also I don't agree with some Muslims like the OP gloating when a non Muslim coverts, its their own personal choice let it be no need to advertise it to the world.

whats with the baseless attacks on OP? Its just a news that has been posted.
He is/was famous and thats why its making news otherwise nobody is interested if any tom dick or harry changes his faith .

he is marassi by cast,, mostly marassis are muslims in indian Punjab and they are into singing. who knows his grandparents must b muslim.. his son is married to muslim.. sometimes its hard to tell by names..Christians have names like gurvinder masih etc and muslims have names like harjinder lateef. its not big deal here in indian Punjab. I don't think he would been converted to islam as its not in fashion here in indian punjab. this aint Pakistan.. that being said if he did converted good for him and he wont be discriminated here unlike some other countries.

his son married daler mehndi's daughter and as far as i know daler mehndi is a sikh.

I was going to post the exact same thing. So much hate from our Indian posters. It is painfully funny!

What is actually funny is the people who celebrating someone converting are usually the first to disown a Muslim the moment they do something which they don't accept as a 'Muslim Act'

Its a personal thing, not sure why is it a cause of celebration or frustration for some. Religion isn't a competition :))

pal said:
You should look for confirmation in more reputable news sources. I remember reading on PakPassion about an American astronaut of Indian descent, Sunita Williams, converting to Islam on her first space flight only for her to say afterwards that she had carried the Bhagavad Gita and a murti of Lord Ganesha with her as her sources of inspiration.

The website OP linked to has now posted a retraction.

I have not accepted Islam: Hans Raj Hans

LAHORE: Indian Punjabi singer Hans Raj Hans has denied all reports of his acceptance of Islam saying that such reports have no authenticity.

http://www.thenewstribe.com/2014/02/20/i-have-not-accepted-islam-hans-raj-hans/

What is actually funny is the people who celebrating someone converting are usually the first to disown a Muslim the moment they do something which they don't accept as a 'Muslim Act'

It's hardly disowning when we criticize the fellow Muslims. Aren't Hindus criticized by Hindus on several acts over religion? Shall we call it disowning them?

Here's another news source quoting Hans Raj himself confirming his Sikh faith and denying these claims.

"Responding to a media query in Pakistan, I expressed my desire to visit Medina. Guru Nanak Dev had also visited Medina. Every Sikh wants to visit the places that were visited by Guru Nanak,” he told The Tribune this evening.

http://www.tribuneindia.com/2014/20140221/punjab.htm#16

What's the point of concocting rumours such as these? Is it meant as propaganda against Sikhs and Hindus, or does it merely reflect a consuming desire to glorify one's own religion, even at the expense of truth?

Here's another news source quoting Hans Raj himself confirming his Sikh faith and denying these claims.

What's the point of concocting rumours such as these? Is it meant as propaganda against Sikhs and Hindus, or does it merely reflect a consuming desire to glorify one's own religion, even at the expense of truth?

It's just insanity. What kind of propaganda it would be against Sikh and Hindus?

It's hardly disowning when we criticize the fellow Muslims. Aren't Hindus criticized by Hindus on several acts over religion? Shall we call it disowning them?

Its not just criticism when people make statements like "He's not a true xyz"

It's strange because the link on the OP actually has quotes from the singer about becoming a Muslim. But then reading the comments from the usual Indo-Pak cyber warriors below the article it might be a clue that it was just a wind up.

Its not just criticism when people make statements like "He's not a true xyz"

That's said in every capacity of life. Not just religion. He's not a true PPer... This is just an example. It's criticism and it's not confined with Islam only. So your point was totally irrelevant and inappropriate.

'He is not a true Hindu' is not common.

- He competed for a Lok Sabha seat on a Shiromani Akali Dal (Sikh Party) ticket.

- He is very liberal, it's very hard to guess his religion. He can be mistaken for a Hindu, Sufi, Sikh. He is brand ambassador for anti gender bias campaigns.

- Hans means swan. Kawa Chala Hans ki Chaal, Aur apni chaal bhi bhool gaya proverb is so famous, you guys never heard?

At the end of day, he is a Marassi caste, hardly anyone cares what religion he adheres to, Indian society is such.

If I'm not wrong Bhai Mardana, the very first "disciple" of Guru Nanak, was also a Marassi (and convert from Islam.)

These difference don't exit inside Gurudwara's. Head Priest can be a Marassi, people from different castes and religions sit and eat together in langar. Outside four walls of holy place, caste plays huge role.

Is he the same one who was with the Guru when Baba Wali Qandahari rolled the boulder down the mountain?

Being from Wah, I've seen both Wali Qandahari's shrine (very taxing climb up the mountain for a smoker!) and the Gurdwara Panja Sahab in Hasan Abdal.

I hope he finds peace and fulfillment on his new course.

I wonder how his music will change.

The BJP’s only Muslim MP?

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Well known singer and BJP candidate Hans Raj Hans leading by 58613 votes from North West Delhi constituency.<a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Electionresult2019?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Electionresult2019</a> | <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/ResultsWithAIR?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#ResultsWithAIR</a> <a href="https://t.co/vdlr4dVxVm">pic.twitter.com/vdlr4dVxVm</a></p>— All India Radio News (@airnewsalerts) <a href="https://twitter.com/airnewsalerts/status/1131429515245150208?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">May 23, 2019</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>