Fawad Alam - Support Thread

Cant believe that Fawad has been recalled. The last thing we need is a passenger in the team.

And Afridi? His spin is useless against SC teams..

Afridi may be useful on SC pitches. But for the long-term benefit of the team and keeping WC2015 in mind, he should be permanently replaced by a proper all-rounder before WC 2015.

For far too long we have kept this passenger.

Afridi is a top cricketer. One of the best in the world. Stop hating and be proud we have such a cricketer representing us.

I can name 10 players from the top of my head who are far more talented and deserving than this pile of mediocrity. Flawed alam has to mend his technique and mentality before even thinking of playing in national side. We can't afford another crude form of :misbah playing in side.

Fawad Alam support thread [Merged]

I can name 10 players from the top of my head who are far more talented and deserving than this pile of mediocrity. Flawed alam has to mend his technique and mentality before even thinking of playing in national side. We can't afford another crude form of :misbah playing in side.

Please do. You're acting as tho we are India with strong bench strength. Please name em.
Afridi is a top cricketer. One of the best in the world. Stop hating and be proud we have such a cricketer representing us.

Afridi is a beast dont get me wrong. But calling a deserving player useless and then supporting afridi(who has failed a lot of times) would obvs make one angry

Please do. You're acting as tho we are India with strong bench strength. Please name em.

Haris sohail, awais zia, naveed yasin, khurram manzoor, khalid latif, asif ali, shazaib hassan, yasir hameed, babar azam even zulqarnain haider (keeper) and many others who can actually WIN you matches unlike mr flawed alam.

I'm sorry but It is simply funny how deluded you are. Fawad has performed better domestically than all of these players, and better internationally than Latif, Zia etc.

stats dont prove him to be a world beater. He has better stats in domestic than most international greats but that doesnt mean he is better than them. he is a test player at best . I seriously doubt that he would do any good there as well but gotta say he has earned a chance in tests and he should get it. I would be the happiest person if he performs and proves me wrong. But i Cant believe he was picked up for asia cup ahead of haris and many others who even a blind person can see have more potential.

I'm sorry but It is simply funny how deluded you are. Fawad has performed better domestically than all of these players, and better internationally than Latif, Zia etc.

and it's not even funny how overzealous his blinded sheep fandom is, it's because of these bland and stale players like failwad alam that Pakistani cricket will be dragged deep into pit of obscurity.
Don't even get me started on zia and latif who only played t20's and were not provided with as many chances as this talent-less hack.
As I said before he was never a match-winning player but apparently it's hard to contemplate for his shallow minded fan-base who can look no further than his stats superficially.............. :facepalm:

i just hope he gets a fair chance and shut everyone up because I am tired of this useless debate.
The guys has been performing better than any other batsman over the last 4 years and he deserved a full go at international level not 1 game here and there.

And out of them all only haris is better...shahzaib awais and khalid are all huge hacks :))). Zulqarnain is mentally weak, yasir is out for personal reasons and babar is young. Asif is t20 specialist and naveed may only be the other comparable one... So you have only picked one..

I remember Fawad's contribution with the ball.

World T20 2009, conceded 15 runs in an over that let South Africa back into the game :inzi

He isn't a specialist bowler, just saying he can be used as a bowling option, by the way, hasn't Ajmal gone for a big over a few times, that doesn't make him any less greater. Stop bringing in unnecessary facts.

Fawad Alam has to be the most overrated cricketer in the world. I don't get the PakPassion obsession with this guy who clearly isn't suited to his ODI cricket.

He has no conviction in his shots at all.

So you're saying you would rather fill the team with classy lefties, who score a lovely 20, then get out (such as Umar Amin), over consistent run scorers who do the job, even if they don't have as much class (Fawad Alam). Some people need to realize that run scoring ability comes before classiness.

its amazing that this guy has been tearing up in domestic and cannot fit into our rubbish batting line up.

Heads and shoulders better than Hafeez and Maqsood

He's garbage in ODIs and its a myth that he can rotate the strike. Such a limited batsman he is.

If he would have been persisted with in ODIs, he would have been a TTF by now and one of the most hated players on PP.

You can make a case for him in Tests, but in ODIs? LOL.

Pls continue your thoughts on him.

I know some Ppers will never change their mind like you cannot straighten a dogs tail what ever you do.

His performance has always spoken for him, he gets one chance he makes it count after 3 years, what a player.

And this is why I have been calling for his inclusion for all this time. Fawad take a :bow:

Sarcasm Bhai, I have been one of fawad's biggest supporters here

Sorry dude, above hate on him made me mad. He looks like a middle order batsman which we do need, he should bat 1down or 2down. Anything below doesnt suit his style of play, today he was the key man.

never knew he can bat like this in limited overs as well. Wanted him to be a part of test squad and thought it was a mistake to include him for ODIs but boy has he proved his worth. But but but he needs to do it over and over again.

Always rated him, don't care if they are 'ugly' runs as long as he keeps churning them out.

His approach of running ones and twos is simply fantastic and him and Shehzad did this superbly.

Cant believe that Fawad has been recalled. The last thing we need is a passenger in the team.

his name should be "flawed alam"

and it's not even funny how overzealous his blinded sheep fandom is, it's because of these bland and stale players like failwad alam that Pakistani cricket will be dragged deep into pit of obscurity.
Don't even get me started on zia and latif who only played t20's and were not provided with as many chances as this talent-less hack.
As I said before he was never a match-winning player but apparently it's hard to contemplate for his shallow minded fan-base who can look no further than his stats superficially.............. :facepalm:

Pie_01.jpg

Humble Pie for all Fawad Alam haters. Especially 'Sell-out Stallions', and 'Mad Player' who went as far as insulting him and calling him 'Flawed Alam'. Have you guys gone into hiding after his innings? Impressive knock by him today. There are even more gems on the earlier pages but this is enough for me.

Lol..we get some real geniuses on pp sometimes..and then they run away after being made to look stupid..at least have tge guts to hold your hands up..

Fawad is class..any player who can score 168 on debut in lanka as an opener is class..

Time for him to get into the test team as well. Shafiq is done !!

3 years we have been going on about him on here. 3 YEARS!

A thread on Fawad Alam would appear every single month.

And finally.

The "think tank" clock on. Ah PCB bureaucracy :facepalm:

Time for him to get into the test team as well. Shafiq is done !!

We need Shafiq in test team. I will open with Ahmed and Azhar in test matches. Fawad, Younis, Misbah and Shafiq should be our middle order. Sarfraz as wicket keeper at 7 and four bowlers after him.

What do you guys reckon his test performances will be outside of the SC?
He has impressed me and tbh, I thought he will be another TTF in odis and would follow a farhat, malik, kami route.
Done justice to his ridiculously good domestic records...And hit 2 clean and fresh sixes :afridi

Do we think Alam could have played a knock like that if it wasn't for the years in domestic cricket understanding his strengths and weakness and tailoring his game for it?

He knows he isn't going to smash boundaries, but he knows his limitations.

This is such a perfect example of my ethos- a team should be built to get the best out of players instead of trying to shoehorn players into a rigid system.

We need Shafiq in test team. I will open with Ahmed and Azhar in test matches. Fawad, Younis, Misbah and Shafiq should be our middle order. Sarfraz as wicket keeper at 7 and four bowlers after him.

No we don't get Umar in if you want to fly with that line up.

Shehzad
Azhar
Fawad
YK
Misbah
Umar

Back ups: Haris Sohail, Khurram Manzoor, Sohaib Maqsood

Do we think Alam could have played a knock like that if it wasn't for the years in domestic cricket understanding his strengths and weakness and tailoring his game for it?

He knows he isn't going to smash boundaries, but he knows his limitations.

This is such a perfect example of my ethos- a team should be built to get the best out of players instead of trying to shoehorn players into a rigid system.

True enough

But mo hafeez didn't get any credit for scoring centuries against sl
Why should alam get it for doing it against bd

Pie_01.jpg

Humble Pie for all Fawad Alam haters. Especially 'Sell-out Stallions', and 'Mad Player' who went as far as insulting him and calling him 'Flawed Alam'. Have you guys gone into hiding after his innings? Impressive knock by him today. There are even more gems on the earlier pages but this is enough for me.

name calling was a big mistake from me and i regret it and feel sorry for it genuinely. But see post 249 i never wanted him to fail and said i would be the happiest person if he proves me wrong, i just didnt have confidence in him as a one day player and wanted him to be tried in tests. He has proved me wrong in one innings. But can he be consistent against better sides? I hope and pray he does.

I just wonder how many games we have lost in the last three years could have been a different result with Fawad. Should have never really been dropped.

True enough

Professor sahab was/is undroppable at this point. Fans are happy for Fawad because he scored crucial runs at the pressure situation to justify his selection coming into the team after 4 years. Big difference

What tremendous innings he played last night :14:

As a little tribute I made this GIF of Fawad's hilarious running from the last match. :)))

2uggwns.gif

Let's hope he gets a good long run in the team now.

Should take over Misbah's number 5 spot in all formats once he retires.

an absolutely fantastic knock, played the perfect #5 innings.

never rated him but he certainly shut me up yesterday.

True enough

Hafeez has been pretty much one of the first names down in the one day side for years now, plus he did get credit, I doubt Pakistan would have been able to make those innings vs SL if it wasn't for the tempo that Hafeez set, criticism labelled against him isn't that he can't score runs, it's that he often gets starts, times the ball well but doesn't continue it.

Look around the media, it's been mostly Afridi and to an extent rightly so, but from a cricketing POV, the innings of Alam, Hafeez and Shehzad were vital.

Sir really did it. Brilliant knock. Hope many to come.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk

I think dropping him from the team has done wonders. He is more determined now and knows he cannot take his spot for granted. He has to produce results. Also he looks like is developing a power game as well bulking up to hit boundaries which was missing before,

Mamoon got banned lol..

Anyway fawad needs to plat test cricket and id play him at 3 or 6..drop one opener..

1. A Ali 2. A shehzad 3. F Alam 4. Y Khan 5M ul Haq 6. H Sohail.... Brutal line up if you ask me

Glad you mentioned that. Remember years ago me, PCF etc all being on one side and you and the others on the other, in support of Alam.

It's great to see Fawad Alam back after so many years. Sad thing is, 3 years have already been wasted but lets hope he establishes himself in the side after being unfairly dropped. Should use him more in the longer format of the game, ideally suits his game.

Glad you mentioned that. Remember years ago me, PCF etc all being on one side and you and the others on the other, in support of Alam.

It's great to see Fawad Alam back after so many years. Sad thing is, 3 years have already been wasted but lets hope he establishes himself in the side after being unfairly dropped. Should use him more in the longer format of the game, ideally suits his game.

Good to see AZ coming around.

Speaking of PCF, is she still on Pakpassion? I've been away from the boards mainly the last couple of years, but these last two games have got me a bit excited again. :lee

3 years have been wasted where he could have won PAK so many more games. Would have at least had another 7 tons to his name

1. A Ali 2. A shehzad 3. F Alam 4. Y Khan 5M ul Haq 6. H Sohail.... Brutal line up if you ask me

Not brutal at all. Younis is a tried tested failure in ODI cricket and he is too old. We need to groom young blood or the Asia cup.

Swap Haris' position for Younus. And take out Younus for Maqsood. Maqsood needs time to develop. Look how long we persisted with Shehzad before he started playing consistently Masha Allah. Same with Sharjeel. We must give him time before dropping the Axe. Imagine having Azhar openin with Shehzad. Both start very very slowly. So Sharkeels sticking play is a good foil for Shehzads initial defensiveness. In form Jamshed would be better than both Azhar, and Sharjeel. It's good that you aren't a selector pal.

No we don't get Umar in if you want to fly with that line up.

Shehzad
Azhar
Fawad
YK
Misbah
Umar

Back ups: Haris Sohail, Khurram Manzoor, Sohaib Maqsood

Asad has scored runs against the world's best team so we need him in the team. Misbah and Younis will retire from cricket in 1 or 2 years and Umar will get his chance in the test team.

Not brutal at all. Younis is a tried tested failure in ODI cricket and he is too old. We need to groom young blood or the Asia cup.

Swap Haris' position for Younus. And take out Younus for Maqsood. Maqsood needs time to develop. Look how long we persisted with Shehzad before he started playing consistently Masha Allah. Same with Sharjeel. We must give him time before dropping the Axe. Imagine having Azhar openin with Shehzad. Both start very very slowly. So Sharkeels sticking play is a good foil for Shehzads initial defensiveness. In form Jamshed would be better than both Azhar, and Sharjeel. It's good that you aren't a selector pal.
Mate, you do realise this a test line up? You seem to be a perfect example of a PCB director 'pal' :najam

My ODI line up would be:
1.S Khan 2.A Shehzad 3.F Alam 4.S Maqsood 5.M Ul Haq 6.U akmal 7.M Hafeez.
and by the way, add Sarfraz Ahmed as my #7 in tests.

That team is for Test Matches.

Fawad is known to deliver these gritty knocks. He is a fighter, not a crowd pleaser, not a coward but a 100% pure fighter.

This is the steel we have been lacking in our middle order.

Shafiq and Amin are boys who are not capable of playing at this level in ODI cricket with the pressure. Wasted 2 years persisting with this garbage.

Lol at some of the posts.

I hope no one has to get injured for him to be recalled in the team and prove his critics wrong.

If he can score 2 hundreds against SL then what is the reason for not selecting him in tests?

Has Hell frozen over or have pigs started to fly. MRSN, that is quite a 180 turn for you.:narine

it takes a lot of courage to appreciate a player whom you didnt rated before. There are alot of garbage posters here who still continue to find faults in all 3 innings after comeback. :srt

Has Hell frozen over or have pigs started to fly. MRSN, that is quite a 180 turn for you.:narine

it takes a lot of courage to appreciate a player whom you didnt rated before. There are alot of garbage posters here who still continue to find faults in all 3 innings after comeback. :srt

wonderful 50. Fawad for captaincy!!

refreshing to see someone happy for a player that they didnt like before. All PPers know of a certain poster (wont say his name) that has a vendetta against certain players no matter what.

Maqsood seems a better option for captaincy to me, but Fawad is effectively killing Misbah's career. The captain doesn't fit in anymore.

lol yep I was very wrong when I said he doesn't belong to the ODI side. He is in fact better ODI batsman than YK or Misbah... Already played more match winning knocks on his comeback than Misbah has in his whole career. Should be included in the tests as well.

However, he is one dynamic batsman (like Maqsood) away from becoming surplus to requirements and losing his spot in the team. Batsmen who can rotate the strike but also have other tricks up his sleeve - in short, proper and genuine batsmen.

Fawad is a one trick pony who is only good for nudging the ball around.

However, he is one dynamic batsman (like Maqsood) away from becoming surplus to requirements and losing his spot in the team. Batsmen who can rotate the strike but also have other tricks up his sleeve - in short, proper and genuine batsmen.

Fawad is a one trick pony who is only good for nudging the ball around.

hmmm mamoon this overrated cricketer who isn't suited for Odis has played 3 great knocks in a row
ur a negative fan

Yes, he is what he is.... A player who averages 40+ in both ODIs and Tests for Pakistan. And a player who averages 55+ in First class.

Feel free to believe your delusions about him not being a "proper and genuine batsman" and a "one trick pony" with those stats.