Finding a Job

King-Misbah

First Class Player
Salaam / Hi,

The title says it all. I have been sending my CV to different recruiters over the past two months and I got several interviews but unfortunately they haven't translated to a Job yet. I look forward hearing from one soon.

However, I wanted to know what's the best way to find a good entry level / first role in the UK?

Thanks all.

Links any mama chacha taya working in an organization father's friend grand dad's colleague company #Pakistan

Two degrees in diverse areas from a good UK university. I want to get into the construction industry in a purchasing role.

If you're getting interviews it's a great sign, the ones where you didn't do well you should get feedback from them and then improve on the things they did not like in preparation for future interviews

Yes, I do get interviews. However, recently, the rate of interviews is decreasing. My feedback always varies. Last time, apparently, I was a perfect candidate but so was the other chap and he had some experience in purchasing.

What my dad told me:

If you don't have a job, your full-time job is finding one. If you are spending less than 8 hours everyday on your job hunt, you are not working hard enough.

What my dad told me:

If you don't have a job, your full-time job is finding one. If you are spending less than 8 hours everyday on your job hunt, you are not working hard enough.

Your dad is right. Unfortunately, due to different reasons; my focus has not been great. Although, I do spend atleast 2 hours daily. For example, today I am not well.

What my dad told me:

You should post more on what your dad (salaam to him) says.

What my dad told me:

Excellent advice this

The majority of them won't reply back to you. Search and apply on sites like Indeed, Reed and Totaljobs.

Change your cv for each specific job you apply to.

Salaam / Hi,

The title says it all. I have been sending my CV to different recruiters over the past two months and I got several interviews but unfortunately they haven't translated to a Job yet. I look forward hearing from one soon.

However, I wanted to know what's the best way to find a good entry level / first role in the UK?

Thanks all.

So you landed interviews but didn't get offers? Were these phone screens or on-site interviews?

Face to face final stage interviews. Sometimes, the feedback is that I am too confident, not confident, too concise, too comprehensive etc. I have always been better with female interviewers and they have always appreciated me. However, unluckily, they have always not been the person who makes the final decision.

Faced another rejection today after interview. Apparently, everything was fine from my end but other candidates had more experience :/

When looking for jobs, I've found that you need to have connections within the company.

Otherwise, it's quite tough especially if you're young because experience kahan se lana hai?

Before going for interview:
-Research about the company...(company website, news, last two quarters performance, competitors etc.)
- exhibit your learning and understanding skills (they may overlook lack of experience if you convince them that you can learn fast)

Question for those with job experience:

Say you got offered a job offer but the commute is 50 mins, but you absolutely need this job. But then, another place offers you to call them to set an interview next week, a place which is about 10 mins away.

Let's say both have the same pay, same work hours.

How would you go about maintaining the first offer and stall them till you get an answer from the 2nd place?

I told the 50 mins commute job that I will tell them in a week's time about my decision. I didn't give a definitive yes but I still showed my excitement and gratitude in the email.

Would they get suspicious of me tryna stall them while I see if i can get an offer from the place closer to my apartment?

I feel like I'm being super paranoid. But given the fact that these 2 offers is what I have I want to make the best possible play.

Say you got offered a job offer but the commute is 50 mins, but you absolutely need this job. But then, another place offers you to call them to set an interview next week, a place which is about 10 mins away.

How would you go about maintaining the first offer and stall them till you get an answer from the 2nd place?

I told the 50 mins commute job that I will tell them in a week's time about my decision. I didn't give a definitive yes but I still showed my excitement and gratitude in the email.

Would they get suspicious of me tryna stall them while I see if i can get an offer from the place closer to my apartment?

I feel like I'm being super paranoid. But given the fact that these 2 offers is what I have I want to make the best possible play.

If you have a car/can drive then you should just go to the first one.

Practically no two jobs can be same.
Tell the second company that you got offer and they need to decide quick.

Practically no two jobs can be same.
Tell the second company that you got offer and they need to decide quick.

I get that, but they are both internship/student type jobs in the same industry so they are p much the same. I guess if they were proper entry level jobs then that would be true.

But yeah I guess in the 2nd one's interview I'll tell them that I have another offer as well so would appreciate a swift decision.

If you have a car/can drive then you should just go to the first one.

I can drive but my car is unreliable. Bought a 13 year old car and it has broken down few times in last 3 years. My fear is if I take it on the highway for an hour to and from at around 70+ mph if I am expecting too much from it.

If I had a decent car then it would be a non issue.

Before going for interview:
-Research about the company...(company website, news, last two quarters performance, competitors etc.)
- exhibit your learning and understanding skills (they may overlook lack of experience if you convince them that you can learn fast)

Yep, I highlight my ability to quickly process information etc.

I guess I just need to keep going :)

Salaam / Hi,

Thanks all.

Reference !

Yep, I highlight my ability to quickly process information etc.

I guess I just need to keep going :)

Your problem seems to be lack of experience. Perhaps you could go for a junior position first , gain experience and then look for your ideal position in 12 months time? Also it's easier in most places to get promoted within a company as people leave all the time.

I am applying for entry level roles but yet again funnily they require experience too :) I am staying focused because I will eventually succeed.

The job market is brutal and its only getting worse and worse for fresh graduates. You simply cannot just go on job boards and apply like crazy you need to think outside the box, do different things like build a portfolio of your work or a website that shows your work, interests and hobbies.

My field is hardly creative to have a portfolio :) I am trying to utilise different avenues though.

What my dad told me:

Thats a really simple yet cool advice btw

Kya line maari hai uncle ne :D

Apply for many jobs as possible. Also if you are unsuccessful in any interviews get feedback to as to why you was unsuccessful.

Well, I want to get into purchasing which falls under supply chains. However, I do not mind project management and marketing as they are interesting fields that I studied at university.

From what you tell us, you are coming really close to securing a job but missing out because you may have less experience than other candidates. Did you do any internships during your undergrad? Any other work experience that is relevant to your field?

Yes, I am failing interviews because other candidates have more experiance. Apart from this factor; I am told that I am perfect :s I have some experience too. Unfortunately, I did not do any internships but have attained experience after university.

I think you should big up that experience. Make it seem you were practically running the organization all on your own. As they say fake it till you make it. Meanwhile don't sit at home doing nothing, go out there and try and get experience that will help land you a job. Maybe contact an old prof and ask if they need assistance with any project and say you are willing to work unpaid. Doing something (even if unpaid) is better than doing nothing.

Also go into the interview thinking this job belongs to you. If you yourself don't believe how will a third person believe?

I am applying for entry level roles but yet again funnily they require experience too :) I am staying focused because I will eventually succeed.

That is the irony these days. Many companies are hiring on contract only , so that they can avoid benefits and other perks.

In the UK, references do not work as the HR is independent. My family are professionals and in top jobs but they are of no use to me :)

Maybe , But in Canada reference is very important thing , without it its very difficult.

I was in Uk for sometime , but I was not doing white collared jobs , so I do not know about those kinds of jobs. :P

Maybe , But in Canada reference is very important thing , without it its very difficult.

I was in Uk for sometime , but I was not doing white collared jobs , so I do not know about those kinds of jobs. :P

Canada seems very Desi :p

I think you should big up that experience. Make it seem you were practically running the organization all on your own. As they say fake it till you make it. Meanwhile don't sit at home doing nothing, go out there and try and get experience that will help land you a job. Maybe contact an old prof and ask if they need assistance with any project and say you are willing to work unpaid. Doing something (even if unpaid) is better than doing nothing.

Also go into the interview thinking this job belongs to you. If you yourself don't believe how will a third person believe?

I do not myself up to an extent. I am a very confident person naturally and tend to get on with everyone. My university professor (director) use to hate my guts so that ain't happening lol Companies tend not take on unpaid people as they have insurance issues.

I will try my best to succeed. Failure is not an option for me.

That is the irony these days. Many companies are hiring on contract only , so that they can avoid benefits and other perks.

This is so annoying! Like I drove 500 miles for one interview and got told that someone has more experience then me. Why couldn't you read my flipping CV beforehand and reject me instead of making me travel for so long on my own expense!

I get that, but they are both internship/student type jobs in the same industry so they are p much the same. I guess if they were proper entry level jobs then that would be true.

But yeah I guess in the 2nd one's interview I'll tell them that I have another offer as well so would appreciate a swift decision.

I can drive but my car is unreliable. Bought a 13 year old car and it has broken down few times in last 3 years. My fear is if I take it on the highway for an hour to and from at around 70+ mph if I am expecting too much from it.

If I had a decent car then it would be a non issue.

What kind of internship is it and in which country? Are you being paid?

Next time they tell you you're a perfect candidate but they're going with someone else ask them for another role within the company, even worse role, may not be a purchasing role but gets you in the door.

Get creative, stalk the possible interviewing pro on LinkedIn and talk about their interest before and after the interview.

You need to sharpen your interview skills. Let's be honest here, there's something missing in your face to face meetings.
Even though the interview is about you, it's not.
-Make the person interviewing you feel ultra important.
-Know as much about the role and the company.
-Sound confident but not arrogant.
-Never answer a question right away, even though you know the answer think about it for couple seconds and then start speaking. Shows answers aren't just memorized and you have the ability to think on the spot.
-Look at everyone in the room, even though the question was asked by one person, include everyone.
-Smile and relax.

They're both construction companies and this is in the US. Yes they are paid. Am only a 3rd year student btw.

I am also a third year student and starting internship next semester at an construction company. I am being paid as well. Little more then 2000 USD.

Need help in finding some job.

Hello guys I'm from Srinagar J&K and i am struggling to earn something. After Pandemic last year my father lost his job too so my family is suffering badly. Can anyone help me to find some job here. I'm ready to work online as well as offline. I will be thankful.

Can you give some details about it. What I hv to do to get job in this?

It is a freelance platform. People of many different skills can offer services and get paid.

You just sign up and start offering your services. That's it.

It used to be easier to make money there but it is now more competitive. More sellers now than before.