First ODI between England and Pakistan abandoned due to persistent rain

Babar why you do this?:(

Here i go for iftar and come back to Babar dismissed cheaply and had such high hopes too.

Was it a genuinely good ball??

So another batsman striking more than Imam.... but but but the pitch is so hard to bat on :sree

Keep in mind this is a 47 over match now look at Imam's strike rate

Pakistan cannot go ahead if one opener still has strike rate in 50s after playing more than 15 overs

Can't let part timers like Root bowl economical overs. Batsmen here need to show more intent especially Imam!

Babar why you do this?:(

Here i go for iftar and come back to Babar dismissed cheaply and had such high hopes too.

Was it a genuinely good ball??

It was a dismissal similar to ones in nz series in early 2018. Playing away from the body and too early to a moving ball outside off stump

Imam is consuming so much of the strike and scoring very little. Almost 90 percent of the balls have been faced by imam and scored less than 50 percent runs.

So another batsman striking more than Imam.... but but but the pitch is so hard to bat on :sree

Players like Imam and Asif Ali will keep getting selected unless you get rid of Mickey and Inzamam.

But.. but... Imam averages 50 and Asif Ali is our power hitter.

Imam is consuming so much of the strike and scoring very little. Almost 90 percent of the balls have been faced by imam and scored less than 50 percent runs.

but but, he is necessary for this line up [MENTION=131701]Mamoon[/MENTION]

Imam simply does not have the strokes to play modern day white ball cricket

Waqar telling English commentators that Plunkett is a good bowler for middle overs, just after watching him today for the first time.

These days our batsmen look good only against Club sides

Actually batted well against Aussies in UAE, but the whole unit isn't functioning together for some reason - the day top order fires, middle order flops and even in one game Top/Middle fired ... tail bolted hopelessly. I read a strory from some old article that in 1920s County season Yorkshire (?) was suffering something similar (& they had a star studded line up)... eventually, their Captain reshuffled the entire lineup by 1-2 positions, only keeping Hobbs at his customary opener's spot and it worked magic. May be, in next 4 games Arthur should try something - squad is selected, therefore no point dreaming of some new talunt to fall from Jannat and change things over night.

It was a dismissal similar to ones in nz series in early 2018. Playing away from the body and too early to a moving ball outside off stump

That's the problem with Babar.He looks so good and then all of a sudden will do something really stupid and get out to a delivery we would expect him to negotiate given the way he plays.

Everyone complaining about economy, someone like imam in your line up allows you to have a less consistent attacking opener like Fakhar, would you rather be 3 down for another 10-20 runs? Because thats the best you'd get with any imam replacement at this point. This actually is allowing us to get back in the game.

Imam-ul-Haq 28 for 54... He rebuilding the innings where wheels seem to be coming off... Have patience

Mate their is no intention to rebuild. The other two who got out wanted to play shots to make a competative score and just fell prey. Imam has been surviving from ball one.

Finally gets a boundary does nephew..... should do press conference and victory lap

Watching Imam play I want to pull my hair out, hoping he gets out before 50 otherwise he won't be dropped for world cup. Our selectors will use the runs he scored to justify his position rather than how he scored them or how comfortable he looked playing.

jo acha khel raha ho woh out ho jaata hai, jo chipka hota hai pitch say us ki tuk tuk nai khatm hoti.

This is like that "good people die early" or "good shows get cancelled prematurely" kinda thing.

Now Imam who finally looked to loosen a little will go into his shell again.

Fakhar is a bigger concern than Imam, who is not as bad as people make him to be. He is not great, but we are a rubbish team and incapable of producing elite openers.

He is the best we have at the moment. He can occupy the crease and score runs, but he does need to work on his SR.

On the other hand, Fakhar is a sitting duck unless he gets 2-3 lives. Imam has outperformed Fakhar since the latter’s minnow bashing in Zimbabwe last year.

Right. ;)

So pray tell, why Azhar Ali was such a bad batsman, who used to play faster than Imam?

Imam right now is worse than Azhar Ali, or at best, same impact as Azhar.

The problem is that Pak Management are always looking for batsmen who can play long innings at the expense of lots of dot balls. Pakistan should try out batsmen who aren’t afraid of taking risks and playing aggressive cricket.

Rain, rain, go away
Come again another day
Daddy (Imam) wants to play
Rain, rain go away

Waqar telling English commentators that Plunkett is a good bowler for middle overs, just after watching him today for the first time.

Waqar is certainly the worst commentator in the world right now.

It’s not good to encourage defensive cricket these days. It may give you a mediocre score but it won’t win you matches, especially if you play against England.

England batsmen will decimate us.
They have the highest SR and RPO rate of all batting lineups.

Been away from this thread.

But I am sure the batsmen out on the crease are probably being ridiculed and the batsmen back in the pavilion are probably being praised for being warriors.

He is. We don’t have better options.

Make me the coach/captain and chief selector of Pakistan and I will give you a better option as my first directorial decision whilst sitting at home whatsapping the rest of the management. It’s not rocket science

Bairstow said in an Interview he Prefers World Cup win over Ashes, this shows to show the importance of WC. Posters here think know they know better by downplaying Worldcup in comparison to IPL or Ashes. I'm Pretty sure Kohli or Rohit sharma prefers WC compared to Tamasha league trophy.

But I am sure the batsmen out on the crease are probably being ridiculed and the batsmen back in the pavilion are probably being praised for being warriors.

Yup, it sometimes seems like people on Pakpassion haven't played cricket for even a day. These have been tricky conditions, I'll take the innings that imam is playing every day of the week!

Fakhar 3(11), Babar 16(20) not selfish but Imam 34*(58) is selfish - PP logic

34 from 58 not out is still better than 3 off 11 and out. Those 3 runs from Fakhar matter zilch but even a 70 at a SR of 80 gives some sort of score for the bowlers to defend. Not an ideal SR from Imam and should be doing better but hoping he'll get it above 85 by the end of his innings.

Make me the coach/captain and chief selector of Pakistan and I will give you a better option as my first directorial decision whilst sitting at home whatsapping the rest of the management. It’s not rocket science

Yes I am sure you will select the Rohits, Warners and Roys who are being ignored by the selectors and management.

Imam is the back bone of this mediocre team.
Let's see when Imam gets out
Sarfraz, Asif and Faheem will destroy the career of Archer, Plunket and Rashid.

34 from 58 not out is still better than 3 off 11 and out. Those 3 runs from Fakhar matter zilch but even a 70 at a SR of 80 gives some sort of score for the bowlers to defend. Not an ideal SR from Imam and should be doing better but hoping he'll get it above 85 by the end of his innings.

People just don’t get it. Imam’s 85 in 100 balls is invaluable for a weak team like ours. He has solid temperament and doesn’t throw his wicket away.

Some selectors are present here in pp
They will select Rohits, Warners and Roys from Chai ki dokan, Biryani ki dokan etc

Yes I am sure you will select the Rohits, Warners and Roys who are being ignored by the selectors and management.

No I dont have 6th sense vision that tells me Gill is already better than all batsmen from Asia before he played a single international match.

Still, I assure you that I will pick a better opener than Imam. He does not have to be an opener the way you would one dimensionally categorise an opener, but he or they will be more useful up top instead of a 70 ball 35 by Imam.

Rain is blessing for us in this series
Anything is better than 10-0 humiliation before WC
Hope weather during wc will be ok

Who cares if we lose?
It's sad that people are hoping for rain. Just hope we get to watch some cricket.

No I dont have 6th sense vision that tells me Gill is already better than all batsmen from Asia before he played a single international match.

Still, I assure you that I will pick a better opener than Imam. He does not have to be an opener the way you would one dimensionally categorise an opener, but he or they will be more useful up top instead of a 70 ball 35 by Imam.

So many better options than Imam - Sami Aslam (much superior List A stats than Imam, can find gaps better too so better use of the powerplay overall), Shan Masood, Hafeez, Azhar Ali, Kamran Akmal,

Beyond me why we keep selecting this guy, hes scored 4 centuries against Zimbabwe and 1/2 on flat South Africa pitches where he played selfishly similar to today at a low strike rate and then SA chased down the target,

41 overs a side now. Asif Ali fan boys will say it's perfect opportunity for him today.

And remind you he's having these perfect opportunities for months now

Rain is blessing for us in this series
Anything is better than 10-0 humiliation before WC
Hope weather during wc will be ok

In which world are you living? .as far i knows there are only 5 international matches for pakistan before worldcup.if you are talking about warm up than no nobody takes that seriously also they have no odi status

Waqar

"I watched every ball of the 1992 world cup because coloured clothing coming in, it was something new"

Hopefully the rain goes away and I get a match to watch till iftari

Ok match reduced to 41 overs.... even less time and even more detrimental is parchee's tuk tuk

So Pak's using a different kit for T20 and ODI's now?

They're back to the Australia series one for the ODI's.

Anyone else noticed?

How's the rest of the day looks like ??? more rain?? anything less overs now no fun, not an ODI anymore.

Indeed , very important. Same score of 85 (115) from Sachin was the difference in Mohali 2011

A top order batsman getting 80+ runs at 85+ SR will be very useful to any team and especially for a weak batting team like pak.

So Pak's using a different kit for T20 and ODI's now?

They're back to the Australia series one for the ODI's.

Anyone else noticed?

When the kit was shown for England T20s it was explicitly mentioned that this is only T20 kit