"Gautam Gambhir behaves like he's a cross between Don Bradman & James Bond" : Shahid Afridi

Afridi and his book...

SSL-GAMBHIR

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Shahid Afridi "Some rivalries were personal, some professional. First the curious case of Gambhir. Oh poor Gautam. He & his attitude problem.He who has no personality. He who is barely a character in the great scheme of cricket. He who has no great records just a lot of attitude"</p>— Saj Sadiq (@Saj_PakPassion) <a href="https://twitter.com/Saj_PakPassion/status/1124042825341992960?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">May 2, 2019</a></blockquote>
<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Shahid Afridi "Gambhir behaves like he's a cross between Don Bradman & James Bond. In Karachi we call guys like him saryal (burnt up). Its simple, I like happy, positive people. Doesn't matter if they are aggressive or competitive, but you have to be positive & Gambhir wasn't"</p>— Saj Sadiq (@Saj_PakPassion) <a href="https://twitter.com/Saj_PakPassion/status/1124044337879425026?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">May 2, 2019</a></blockquote>
<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Shahid Afridi "I remember the run-in with Gambhir during the 2007 Asia Cup, when he completed his single while running straight into me. The umpires had to finish it off or I would have. Clearly we had a frank bilateral discussion about each other's female relatives" <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/GameChanger?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#GameChanger</a></p>— Saj Sadiq (@Saj_PakPassion) <a href="https://twitter.com/Saj_PakPassion/status/1124044752997974019?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">May 2, 2019</a></blockquote>

It happened in a bilateral series in India in 2007. The Asia Cup was in 2008.

Too many errors in Afridi’s book. Looks like no one has bothered to proofread it.

Wrong math (called himself 19 in 1996 after stating that he was born in 1975), and now confusing Pakistan’s tour of India in 2007 with the Asia Cup.

His book appears to be a true reflection of his career - lazy and unprofessional.

Too many errors in Afridi’s book. Looks like no one has bothered to proofread it.

Wrong math (called himself 19 in 1996 after stating that he was born in 1975), and now confusing Pakistan’s tour of India in 2007 with the Asia Cup.

His book appears to be a true reflection of his career - lazy and unprofessional.

True reflection, he's outdone himself lol. What more can you ask for from BoomBoom:)))

LOL.kya Baat hai.What a shot by boom boom and it's out of park.That little man really looks an awful human being.

Gambhir the verbal terrorist deserves this humiliation.

Would be interesting to see a reply from chowkidar sahib.

a0468176-52e4-42f2-a260-3573e061f51e.jpg

That bit about Gambhir being saryal - Didn't his mental coach (Upton guy?) say the exact same thing a couple of days ago?

Afridi isn't far from truth. The guy is as sulky as they come.

The exact thing that came to my mind.

Boom. This is the first time lala has responded to Gambhir. Gambo must be happy right now, he has finally got Lala's attention after begging for it for so long!

Too bad, he got rekt. :afridi :sendoff

Shahid Afridi said:
Clearly we had a frank bilateral discussion about each other's female relatives

:))) Oh Afridi is firing on all cylinders

That bit about Gambhir being saryal - Didn't his mental coach (Upton guy?) say the exact same thing a couple of days ago?

Afridi isn't far from truth. The guy is as sulky as they come.

Gambhir accepted the designation of 'most negative' person given by Upton.

I would love to hear Gambhir ranting about this in return.

Which inevitably he will.

Gambir is a proper sook. No doubt about it.

Genuinely very good and underrated player though

Yes, U got it right Sir. He can't remember the particular series even. He will lose a lot of fan and make a lot of enemies after this.

Gautam Gambhir is way above Afridi in terms of cricketing achievement. He has played two match winning knocks in the finals of two ICC events i.e. WC 2011, WT20 2007. He played those innings when it was needed the most. A true impact player.

Would be interesting to see a reply from chowkidar sahib.

View attachment 90957

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">How about accepting this challenge <a href="https://twitter.com/ArvindKejriwal?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@ArvindKejriwal</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/GambhirforEastDelhi?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#GambhirforEastDelhi</a> <a href="https://t.co/p2x3MAhWDr">pic.twitter.com/p2x3MAhWDr</a></p>— Chowkidar Gautam Gambhir (@GautamGambhir) <a href="https://twitter.com/GautamGambhir/status/1123686191683993600?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">May 1, 2019</a></blockquote>

Appears to be a little occupied right now.

"Darr to mujhe Pakistan say nahi laga, to debate say kya lagay ga"

:ronaldo

Such a poor orator which is surprising considering that only thing BJP guys know is to speak.

Looks like he wrote it himself when Windows introduced their first version in 1995 that had no MS office, And Notepad doesn't have the proof-reading capabilities you see!

We have a few India admirers here so I will ignore their comments on this - from what I have seen, this is a gripping read and a fascinating insight to the inner workings of Pakistan cricket side.

Gambhir tries too hard to look tough. He seems insecure about himself.

Gautam Gambhir is way above Afridi in terms of cricketing achievement. He has played two match winning knocks in the finals of two ICC events i.e. WC 2011, WT20 2007. He played those innings when it was needed the most. A true impact player.

As much as I dislike Afridi, so did he. He played a massive part in the 2009 WT20. Gambhir was batting in a gun lineup as well.

Gambhir has played 2 very important innings which got India 2 out of 3 major ICC cups India has won in last 12 years.
2007 T20 final and a very cruical 90 in 2011 oDI worldcup final.
Very few players except maybe Gilchrist and Ponting have that kind record in finals.

And as a politician he behaves like he is a cross between Rockstar Shri Narendra Modi Ji and Creator of 'Naya Pakistan' Janab Imran Khan Ji. :inti

What's so funny about abusing female relatives?

I am not condoning it. In fact I think the fact that they stooped that low is not good, albeit the context is a sports match between two countries with historic rivalries.

My amusement is how brazen Afridi is about the whole situation. Not afraid to say exactly what is on his mind. Not caring about offending Gambhir or anyone else for that matter. The statement is clearly written in a tone intended to amuse.

Small man ghambir admi the mouth breather is about to tweet, I'm pretty he will spew some hate since he's running for election.

Anyways what are the achievements of afridi, now every mediocre player will write books for fun. Can we ask Faisal Iqbal, fawad Alam and Asim Kamal to write books as well.

Harsh. Afridi has achieved much more then the players you have listed.

Saryal is not really an insult. Some people are just Saryal. What he said about Aamir Sohail & Waqar Younis is very revealing.

What did he say about Aamir Sohail?

Here.

I have another sad tale, also from the field, about an episode surrounding another great innings. I was opening for Pakistan against India in the Sahara Cup at Toronto. Saeed Anwar, my fellow opener, didn't last long, and I was joined in the middle by the captain, Aamer Sohail.

I started with a six on the first ball and followed it up with two or three fours. The crowd went crazy. As the Indian bowler went to his captain to get some advice, Aamer came up to me. I approached him halfway on the track, for it looked like he wanted to discuss something. As soon as Aamer was near enough, he cussed at me, calling me a terrible name, and said: 'I know you've fixed this match with Wasim Akram. I know what you're up to, Afridi.'

My heart sank. This was in '97 or '98. I was young and just getting started in the game. I burst into tears in the middle of that pitch, with the game underway. But I recovered quickly — I went back to the crease, composed myself and tried to focus. Eventually, I succeeded; I scored a century.

Later, when I returned to the dressing room, Aamer, who had got out earlier than me, came up to the players' gallery and said, 'Stay on my side. Join me. I will connect you with the right people. I can help you run Pakistan cricket.' I just glared at him and walked away.

Later, I told Wasim bhai and Inzi bhai about the incident. They told me to keep the episode to myself and handle the situation gracefully and silently. Aamer Sohail was the captain, after all. I'm not sure where his insecurity came from, although I have a rough idea: itss about fame, or the lack of it, particularly in his case.

Lala looking for another fight picking on Gambhir:amir3 Let's get it started!

What a great entertainer.

Guarantee he will still pull more Indian in India than a little chookidaar.

Gambhir has played 2 very important innings which got India 2 out of 3 major ICC cups India has won in last 12 years.
2007 T20 final and a very cruical 90 in 2011 oDI worldcup final.
Very few players except maybe Gilchrist and Ponting have that kind record in finals.

Thats what one wants as a cricketer, to contribute to his team's cause in winning a global tournament and get rememberd for it. Now we all remember Gambhir for these two particular knocks cause it won India two major ICC trophies. To be called in the same league like PONTING AND GILLY is itself an achievement. Nobody cares what Afridi says as his views are not taken seriously even in Pakistan let alone India and rest of the world.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr"><a href="https://twitter.com/SAfridiOfficial?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@SAfridiOfficial</a> you are a hilarious man!!! Anyway, we are still granting visas to Pakistanis for medical tourism. I will personally take you to a psychiatrist.</p>— Chowkidar Gautam Gambhir (@GautamGambhir) <a href="https://twitter.com/GautamGambhir/status/1124504874215968768?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">May 4, 2019</a></blockquote>

Oh dear! :facepalm:

Now what reply can Lala give? Gambhir has hit it right where it's impossible to come back. :inti

Making fun of mental health is not cool.

I didn't know it was possible but my regard for Afridi (miniscule as it was) plummeted even further after reading that account.

Aamir Sohail had the right idea but he had the man-management skills of a rabid wolf, that proved his undoing eventually.

Lol whattta reply, Gambhir may not be the sharpest tool in the shed but here he is up against probably the dumbest cricketer of all time so not an even contest. I mean that guy literally tried to eat a ball for Pete sake, one can't go more dimwitted than that.

I didn't know it was possible but my regard for Afridi (miniscule as it was) plummeted even further after reading that account.

Aamir Sohail had the right idea but he had the man-management skills of a rabid wolf, that proved his undoing eventually.

Unless my memory is playing tricks* there are quite a few holes in that story, as is par for the course with this wretched book. The match he appears to be referring to took place in September 1998, however, Wasim Akram wasn't in Toronto because he was nursing a long-term injury that kept him out for more than 6 months.

Loves a fanciful story that paints him as a tragic hero does Afridi.

Lol whattta reply, Gambhir may not be the sharpest tool in the shed but here he is up against probably the dumbest cricketer of all time so not an even contest. I mean that guy literally tried to eat a ball for Pete sake, one can't go more dimwitted than that.

What Afridi said about GG's character seems to be shining through in his reply.

He has brought in Pakistan and spoken about mental health issues etc

Obviously done to please The Head Chowkidar but par for the course as far as this man is concerned.

Gambhir's on field behaviour was childish ,anyone who saw him play knows that.Lala is right here but gambhir was a fine cricketer and anyone who says otherwise should'nt be taken seriously.

Gambir won't last more then a minute in the ring. I can assure you that.

replace gambhir with any indian cricketer and your statement will still be correct.How many cricketers can fight a man who bowls spin at 130 kph?

you like it or not he's a well known cricketer..

Gambhir tries too hard to look tough. He seems insecure about himself.

He is did you read the last article from Paddy Upton ? He says Gambhir is the most negative and insecure person he ever met.

Speaking of psychiatrists, has he ever consulted one for little man syndrome he himself suffer from?

And what’s up with being chookidar? I’m sure he will be the first one running away from the gate when he heard the knock on the gate from real Pathan.

Gambhir wouldn't pick a fight with a Punjabi or a Pathan, he knows well enough to not square up to Afridi.

Afridi and his book...

SSL-GAMBHIR

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Shahid Afridi "Some rivalries were personal, some professional. First the curious case of Gambhir. Oh poor Gautam. He & his attitude problem.He who has no personality. He who is barely a character in the great scheme of cricket. He who has no great records just a lot of attitude"</p>— Saj Sadiq (@Saj_PakPassion) <a href="https://twitter.com/Saj_PakPassion/status/1124042825341992960?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">May 2, 2019</a></blockquote>
<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Shahid Afridi "Gambhir behaves like he's a cross between Don Bradman & James Bond. In Karachi we call guys like him saryal (burnt up). Its simple, I like happy, positive people. Doesn't matter if they are aggressive or competitive, but you have to be positive & Gambhir wasn't"</p>— Saj Sadiq (@Saj_PakPassion) <a href="https://twitter.com/Saj_PakPassion/status/1124044337879425026?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">May 2, 2019</a></blockquote>
<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Shahid Afridi "I remember the run-in with Gambhir during the 2007 Asia Cup, when he completed his single while running straight into me. The umpires had to finish it off or I would have. Clearly we had a frank bilateral discussion about each other's female relatives" <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/GameChanger?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#GameChanger</a></p>— Saj Sadiq (@Saj_PakPassion) <a href="https://twitter.com/Saj_PakPassion/status/1124044752997974019?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">May 2, 2019</a></blockquote>

Lol at pic, afridi could have chew him with his helmet on.

Speaking of psychiatrists, has he ever consulted one for little man syndrome he himself suffer from?

And what’s up with being chookidar? I’m sure he will be the first one running away from the gate when he heard the knock on the gate from real Pathan.

gautam-gambhir-wears-a-dupatta-amp-a-bindi-at-a-trans-event2-1536847269.jpggautam-gambhir-wears-a-dupatta-amp-a-bindi-at-a-trans-event1-1536847251.jpg

Have a look at chowkidar. These are not the photoshoped pics.

It was a dead reply. Dunno what you're smoking.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Shahid Afridi "I think Gautam Gambhir may have some problems. I am working with hospitals and I can get him very good treatment here"</p>— Saj Sadiq (@Saj_PakPassion) <a href="https://twitter.com/Saj_PakPassion/status/1124714595665489921?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">May 4, 2019</a></blockquote>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Shahid Afridi "The Indian Government doesn't normally give visas to our people, but I will welcome everyone from India to Pakistan. Our people and our Government have always welcomed Indians and as for Gautam, I will get a visa arranged so that his treatment can be done here"</p>— Saj Sadiq (@Saj_PakPassion) <a href="https://twitter.com/Saj_PakPassion/status/1124715146167902211?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">May 4, 2019</a></blockquote>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Shahid Afridi "I think Gautam Gambhir may have some problems. I am working with hospitals and I can get him very good treatment here"</p>— Saj Sadiq (@Saj_PakPassion) <a href="https://twitter.com/Saj_PakPassion/status/1124714595665489921?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">May 4, 2019</a></blockquote>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Shahid Afridi "The Indian Government doesn't normally give visas to our people, but I will welcome everyone from India to Pakistan. Our people and our Government have always welcomed Indians and as for Gautam, I will get a visa arranged so that his treatment can be done here"</p>— Saj Sadiq (@Saj_PakPassion) <a href="https://twitter.com/Saj_PakPassion/status/1124715146167902211?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">May 4, 2019</a></blockquote>

Is this in response to Gambhir's respoonse? Because if so, that is the most Grade 3-ish response I've seen since I was in Grade 3. No comeback whatsoever