Grand Slam of cricket: Secret plan hatched for new Saudi-backed T20 league

Oh looks who is talking about league cricket? Saarrrr i dont have any interest on league cricket but first one to talk about league cricket. " thook ke chatna ise ho bolte hai

You need to understand the difference between discussing Pyjama League cricket matches, and pointing out its flaws or criticizing it. Till now, not a single post in the IPL match threads by me. :rabada2

And I live in India too, and I see how many sattebaaz follow these leagues, kids like you creating fantasy teams in the hope of making money only to lose their entire capital. :inti

Who said he's not interested in league cricket?

He will watch all PSL games and distribute mithai as no matter who wins , Pakistan will win at the end of the day. :ROFLMAO:
Tu toh rehne hi de, chomu. I don't watch any league, whether it's the Indian Pyjama League or the Pakistani Pyjama League. But I am definitely interested in seeing a few spoilt brats get put in their place by their daddies. :kp :inti

You need to understand the difference between discussing Pyjama League cricket matches, and pointing out its flaws or criticizing it. Till now, not a single post in the IPL match threads by me. :rabada2

And I live in India too, and I see how many sattebaaz follow these leagues, kids like you creating fantasy teams in the hope of making money only to lose their entire capital. :inti
Because you are living in same environment Where kids are becomes sattebaaz .

Here people's are more interested in T20 cricket/ league that's why in rural areas every Village has started own premier league

This is fact which you like or not , it will not changed the reality

@Bhaag Viru Bhaag Also keep tissue papers and burnol with you for two month because the biggest carnival of cricket is going to start from 22nd March .You are going to need it very much

Who said he's not interested in league cricket?

He will watch all PSL games and distribute mithai as no matter who wins , Pakistan will win at the end of the day. :ROFLMAO:
Tu toh rehne hi de. I don't watch any league. But I am definitely interested in seeing a few spoilt brats get put in their place by bigger spoilt brats. :inti

giphy.gif

@Bhaag Viru Bhaag Also keep tissue papers and burnol with you for two month because the biggest carnival of cricket is going to start from 22nd March .You are going to need it very much

It seems you are new to this place. Have been successfully avoiding watching IPL since IPL season 1. Sabko kachra pasand nahi hota. :inti

This so called Saudi plan is not even in it's liquid form yet and already usual suspects are having wet fantasies of this imaginary league showing IPL it's place hahahahahhaa.

I mean..that just shows how desperate and bitter some here are about the success our our league. Sad lives!

"pUt iN tHeIr pLaCe" :murali

By doing what? Are you having wet dreams again?

Only one who has had multiple daddies is you lot in the last month or so.

Even this drama will end in tears for your ilk. :yk
Here we go again. Missu, is back to implying that I am not Indian such a tired and predictable trick when he has nothing left to argue. :yk2 :inti

images

You don't Care about IPL but cry about IPL 24*7 .

Are bhai jis raste pe chlna hi ni h uski bat kyu karna fir .us thread ko ignore kro but .

View attachment 152226

Likewise, many people don't like Pakistan but still spend their time on a Pakistani forum and discuss about Pakistan. Aaya samajh kuch? Ya aur samjhaau? :kp

Yahan kya tindey lene aaya hai tu? :inti

It could be a feather in Shah’s cap if the proposed league was approved and emerged as a solution to cricket’s most pressing problems and the 36-year-old could also be key to opening the door to Indian cricketers to take part. The BCCI would need to be convinced to relax a ban on Indian stars playing in T20 franchise leagues other than the IPL.

This would not happen.. Unless Bin Salman is ready to pay 1000 Billion Dollars to BCCI and Indian Cricketers in exchange.

we need to protect our investment. Don't worry about it fading away you are not the target audience. lol at richest who will watch Saudi league? Where will the audience be?

This so called Saudi plan is not even in it's liquid form yet and already usual suspects are having wet fantasies of this imaginary league showing IPL it's place hahahahahhaa.

I mean..that just shows how desperate and bitter some here are about the success our our league. Sad lives!
Let's see who started losing sleep and throwing their toys out of the pram in this thread. If it hasn't turned into liquid form yet, he shouldn't worry. The popcorn is ready, want some? :kp :inti

Indian cricketers are the most prominent icons in the sport.

India has the largest cricket audience in the world.

No league, even if funded by the US, China, Russia, the EU, and the Illuminati combined, can surpass the IPL without these two factors. However, it can certainly kill a few small-time leagues I don't want to name here.

I am asking questions..as they came out in my mind. Shows my genuine interest in something which will kill PSL
Just replace IPL with PSL in @Mesozoic's post and see who is crying here. Literally the second post of this thread shows who was having wet fantasies. Infact, out of top 6 posts 4 was from this guy alone. Can you see that, Missu Ben? :misbah :inti

No league, even if funded by the US, China, Russia, the EU, and the Illuminati combined, can surpass the IPL without these two factors. However, it can certainly kill a few small-time leagues I don't want to name here.

ILT20 and SA20 have already relegated that certain league to phateechar level and third grade by all metrics.

And that is.. considering if it wasn't already at that level. :inti

BBL and Hundred were already superior products.

Just replace IPL with PSL in @Mesozoic's post and see who is crying here. Literally the second post of this thread shows who was having wet fantasies. Infact, out of top 6 posts 4 was from this guy alone. Can you see that, Missu Ben? :misbah :inti

Your posts stopped making sense long time ago. Now it's just random emojis and verbal diarrhoea in futile attempts at hiding your tears out of all the recent humiliations.

Maybe it's best to just post those images with random dialogues at this age rather make these senile posts that make no sense.

Saudis will find that its hard to compete against UAE money here. UAE is a better and inviting hub for sub-continent people.
Saudis need to get over the embedded racism to promote cricket in their land.
How many more human rights violations would need to happen in Saudi for them to develop the game? No thanks. Backwards country. Pathetic laws. They don’t deserve anything

Lol you Indians will man...people want entertainment...big names attract attention
Lmao no. Hardly Indians watch any non Indian games barring maybe local games if they live overseas. Like I sometimes watch ashes as I live in Aus.

Just watch pak vs Aus briefly to see some fast bowling. They were all trundling so turned it off.

Nothing else.

ILT20 and SA20 have already relegated that certain league to phateechar level and third grade by all metrics.

With bbl facing the music of economic woes , i don't think it's worth anymore.

I would say SA 20 is better than bbl and 100

Quality of bowling is way better

MARIZANNE KAPP IN TEARS after her WPL team lost the final 3rd time

She gave her best in the Final with 2/11 and 40 (26), but 3rd consecutive loss for her in the WPL.

This is eye opener for delusional people who thinks players Only came for vacations

1000065536.jpg

She gave her best in the Final with 2/11 and 40 (26), but 3rd consecutive loss for her in the WPL.

This is eye opener for delusional people who thinks players Only came for vacations

View attachment 152264
HOW is this related to league saudia is working on???

View attachment 152264

He said player's only thinking about IPL as vacations . They didn't take IPL seriously.

Players will also take this new Saudi League as a paid vacation too. If you think they can be loyal to 5 different teams in 5 different leagues then you are delusional. It is not football where you play for only 1 league at a time. You have a lot to learn about how the real league system works. :inti

Really good run-down of the Saudi 'grand slam' idea and what may come out of it. A Test franchise concept would be fun, and I think it could the longest format of the game.

I can't see Indian players being allowed to play in it though. So I'm not sure if it will work out so well. I'm guessing one way or another, though, Indian owers will still have influence in this league, and that would cast doubt as to whether pak players will be able to play in it.

It could be a feather in Shah’s cap if the proposed league was approved and emerged as a solution to cricket’s most pressing problems and the 36-year-old could also be key to opening the door to Indian cricketers to take part. The BCCI would need to be convinced to relax a ban on Indian stars playing in T20 franchise leagues other than the IPL.

This would not happen.. Unless Bin Salman is ready to pay 1000 Billion Dollars to BCCI and Indian Cricketers in exchange.

It’s not about Shah or Indian cricketers, Saudi and Indian ties are pretty good, if this is a priority for Saudi rulers they will reach out to GOI and get the ball rolling from there instead of negotiating with BCCI.

Doubt it will happen but will see.

It’s not about Shah or Indian cricketers, Saudi and Indian ties are pretty good, if this is a priority for Saudi rulers they will reach out to GOI and get the ball rolling from there instead of negotiating with BCCI.

Doubt it will happen but will see.

If Saudi Arabia govt indeed reaches out to GoI, the GoI may allow indian players. But they may ask that BCCI runs the show and not AUSSIES.

Really good run-down of the Saudi 'grand slam' idea and what may come out of it. A Test franchise concept would be fun, and I think it could the longest format of the game.

I can't see Indian players being allowed to play in it though. So I'm not sure if it will work out so well. I'm guessing one way or another, though, Indian owers will still have influence in this league, and that would cast doubt as to whether pak players will be able to play in it.
Okay this is a terrible idea and will not work out.

ACA is a left leaning pro women sports organisation. They are asking for ban of Afghan men's team. How the hell will ENA country players go to Saudi Arabia if women cannot play any sport in that country???
This is a terrible idea and Neil Maxwell is a snake oil salesmen trying to make some consulting money.

I can't see Indian players being allowed to play in it though.

I don't know how other boards are okay with this.

BCCI doesn't let their players to play in other leagues but accept foreign players in IPL. This gives an unfair advantage to BCCI/Indian cricket.

:inti

I can't see Indian players being allowed to play in it though. So I'm not sure if it will work out so well. I'm guessing one way or another, though, Indian owers will still have influence in this league, and that would cast doubt as to whether pak players will be able to play in it
If Saudis drop Kolhi 20 million ofcourse he would come. If they offered Bumrah 30 million ofcourse he would.

Its how they've been getting sports. Have been browsing around and lot of Indians agree BCCI would give in. Otherwise rumors CA is lobbying the Saudis hard so power can be taken away from BCCI.

Investing Money and sustainable success are two different aspects.

UAE has organic model for this, Saudi has disruptive.

Saudi can disrupt models that are ready for it- Golf, Soccer(due to locals), MMA-Wrestling but baseball, ice hockey, Nfl, Cricket will be hard to disrupt and sustain

Otherwise rumors CA is lobbying the Saudis hard so power can be taken away from BCCI.

If rumors are true, my respect for Cricket Australia goes up even more.

Cricket needs to be saved from BCCI. This sport has been ruined completely due to BCCI's childish antics.

If Saudi Arabia govt indeed reaches out to GoI, the GoI may allow indian players. But they may ask that BCCI runs the show and not AUSSIES.
Yes .. but good to see people dreaming.
I realised this when I was you young when people would be like why doesn’t country A help stop country C/P.. like I would be like why can’t we do it?
Some rofl stuff

It can if the local country is into the sport and has money and large market it will work, example: China, US, Japan, EU but all of them aren’t.

Only country that could had pulled off something big was Pakistan if their economy was very good.

Zero chance India allows their players in.

The biggest question is who the owners will be. I personally hope KSA uses their influence to force Nawaz and Shabaz to buy franchises. They have plenty of money, it's time they started investing it back.
BCCI will have to decide how involved they want to be. I'm sure some Pakistani business people if they have any sense will push to try and get access to the Saudi market by buying a franchise or two. While I'm sure there will be some Indian owners I do not think they will control it like they do in Dubai or South Africa.
Moreover, why would they? This league is basically competition for the Dubai league.
I fully expect the Glazers to get involved. They've been doing more in sports business since Malcom Glazer passed away and the sons started running things.

BD?? Their economy's booming innit.... :shakib
They couldn't pay full salaries to many players in the BPL. Even Afridi didn't get his payment.

Bas chaddi, baniyan sil ne ka business chalta hai BD me, they hardly have anything else going. All their growth stories are actually hogwash and fudged numbers which is even acknowledged by their current interim Government.

Investing Money and sustainable success are two different aspects.

UAE has organic model for this, Saudi has disruptive.

Saudi can disrupt models that are ready for it- Golf, Soccer(due to locals), MMA-Wrestling but baseball, ice hockey, Nfl, Cricket will be hard to disrupt and sustain
What organic model has UAE for sports? Disruption is the only way.

Although I agree those sports you mention will be hard to disrupt especially cricket, unless they pinch Indian players.

What organic model has UAE for sports? Disruption is the only way.

Although I agree those sports you mention will be hard to disrupt especially cricket, unless they pinch Indian players.
The locals of UAE so many of them Desi, Sharjah history, IPL held successfully multiples times there .. Easier access for Ind, Pak, BD audience and also EU Desi audience.

UAE has everything going for it in terms of cricket.

I realised this when I was you young when people would be like why doesn’t country A help stop country C/P.. like I would be like why can’t we do it?
Some rofl stuff

Another thing people don't realise is how difficult it will be for any indian player to manage the public sentiment if he leaves BCCI and goes to any league just for money. The public backlash will be huge. The negative publicity big.

Exactly. Many people in India have a narrow-minded perspective. Given the chance, they would move to countries like the US or UK themselves, yet they can't stand the idea of an Indian player going abroad to earn money. Such hypocrisy, lol. :inti

The locals of UAE so many of them Desi, Sharjah history, IPL held successfully multiples times there .. Easier access for Ind, Pak, BD audience and also EU Desi audience.

UAE has everything going for it in terms of cricket.

Pakistanis basically want anyone to come and take away BCCI and its power. Hence the dream.

This belief among the pakistanis here that X Indian cricketer will leave Indian cricket if Y amount is given is laughable.

When the news leaked in 1970s that Gavaskar and Bedi were joining WSC. The public anger was immense. Gavaskar had to come out and clarify that he will not leave Indian cricket.

Then there's the political side of it. Indian government will never support any move that takes away BCCIs power in Cricket.

This league may or may not happen, but Indian participation, without BCCI controlling the league is near impossible.

Some rofl stuff

Couple of years back news was that Saudis offered BCCI $5bn to buy a stake in the IPL at a valuation of $30bn.

BCCI and GoI didn't agree.

ACA is a left leaning pro women sports organisation. They are asking for ban of Afghan men's team. How the hell will ENA country players go to Saudi Arabia if women cannot play any sport in that country???
Yup good point. India, England and Australia players should not be going to play there right? Or will CA and ECB change tunes?

If this does come to fruition, bet on the IPL Franchises to buy the Franchises and to use their influence to ensure that Pakistani players are boycotted. BCCI and India has more influence in Saudi Arabia than Pakistan and PCB. Saudi Arabia have already sponsored the IPL whereas the PSL is not even in consideration.

Yep that's what will happen if the condition go boycott Pakistan players is met along with a big chunk of money.

Will flop without local market or Indian players playing. Doesn't matter how much the Saudis invest

Just like the Dubai rubbish, it has no future. The only way it could work is if Ind and PK players played and that's not going to happen

Without Indian viewership any new league is destined for failure.

This is the hard truth^^

Pakistanis will cling on to any hope but it's the hope that always kills. This league is not taking off Saudis already sponsor IPL with Aramco. Wondering why Psl is not sponsored?
BCCI knows this. That's why they refused to sell a stake in the IPL to Saudis for $5bn
is

Without Indian viewership any new league is destined for failure.

This is the hard truth^^
Just like the Dubai rubbish, it has no future. The only way it could work is if Ind and PK players played and that's not going to happen
If the Saudis drop $20 million for Kohli he will come. Same for Cummins. Indians are deluded if they think otherwise. Saudis don't work like normal sports, they ran WWE at massive losses. They have prised all the top boxers away from US venues despite horrible crowds in Riyadh, to the point there are rumors of boxers dropping their title belts just to ensure they box in Riyadh. I have been watching boxing since 94, and absolute boxing nut so its been an achievement for them to do this.

With a bank worth trillions; millions even billions is pocket change. BCCI can bully poverty and corrupt boards in cricket but the Saudis are in a different world with money not even the US can match in sports.

As for Indian viewership, you bring the top English or Aussie players then some viewership will follow. Despite PSL being mediocre for a while it has a sizeable Indian viewership. I was also reading how Cricket Australia is heading this initiative for a way to dilute and/or break BCCI's overwhelming power.

There is no way BCCI will sit back and be sidelined by rejecting the Saudis and see the rest of the cricketing world enjoying wealth in magnitudes the IPL can only dream off.

Kohli makes in excess of $30mn a year and is a hero of millions. Cricket is a country sports not WWE or Boxing or club football.

There's nationalistic sentiments involved here.

PSL isn't even telecast on any channel. Only streaming is available on a app, that too not the big ones like Jio or Sony or prime or anything. Its on Fancode

Foreigners who have no idea should be circumspect before passing opinion.

Some pakistanis speak as if Saudis have bought out La Liga or EPL or NBA or NFL or MLB. Because buying out Indian cricket will require a even bigger effort.

What fans backlash can do was evident when European Super League had clubs withdrawing one after another.

Explained: The proposed Saudi Arabia-funded T20 league, and why ECB are opposing it​

What is the Saudi T20 league?​

According to early reports, the proposed league will feature eight franchise teams, following a model inspired by tennis Grand Slams. Matches will be staged at four different venues globally throughout the year. Both men’s and women’s competitions are included in the plan, with discussions ongoing about hosting the final in Saudi Arabia.

Saudi Arabia’s SRJ Sports Investments, a subsidiary of the nation’s $1 trillion sovereign wealth fund (Public Investment Fund), will likely be the primary investor in the project, and the organisation is reported to be willing to invest up to $500 million.

The concept is the brainchild of Neil Maxwell, a former first-class cricketer who represented New South Wales and Victoria and is the current manager of Australian skipper Pat Cummins. Maxwell has also held key positions on the boards of the Australian Cricketers’ Association and Cricket New South Wales.

The primary aim of the project will be to create alternative revenue streams that could support the sustainability of Test cricket, particularly for countries outside the traditional powerhouses of India, Australia, and England. All franchises will be new teams and will be based in established cricketing nations, whilst also targeting emerging markets.

What will be the league’s biggest challenges?​

The schedule​

The league has reportedly been in development for over a year and will be scheduled during vacant periods in the international calendar to avoid direct clashes with international series and the various T20 tournaments. However, with most players and teams already having a jam-packed schedule, slotting the tournament in will be the biggest challenge.

BCCI approval crucial​

With the BCCI not allowing current Indian players to take part in overseas T20 events, the success of this venture will hinge on their participation. ICC chair Jay Shah, who also served as secretary of the BCCI, could prove central to these negotiations.

ECB already withdraws support​

Richard Gould, the chief executive officer of the ECB has already stated that the English cricket board would not back the league, stating insufficient free time on the schedule as the reason.

“With the busy international calendar, a host of established franchise leagues around the world, and existing concerns about player workloads, there is no scope or demand for such an idea,” he told the Sydney Morning Herald on Tuesday (March 18). “It's not something that we would support."

Reportedly, the ECB is keen to protect the Hundred, which recently sold franchise stakes to private investors. The BCCI and the CA would likely be eager to safeguard their respective T20 leagues as well.

If the Saudis drop $20 million for Kohli he will come. Same for Cummins. Indians are deluded if they think otherwise. Saudis don't work like normal sports, they ran WWE at massive losses. They have prised all the top boxers away from US venues despite horrible crowds in Riyadh, to the point there are rumors of boxers dropping their title belts just to ensure they box in Riyadh. I have been watching boxing since 94, and absolute boxing nut so its been an achievement for them to do this.

With a bank worth trillions; millions even billions is pocket change. BCCI can bully poverty and corrupt boards in cricket but the Saudis are in a different world with money not even the US can match in sports.

As for Indian viewership, you bring the top English or Aussie players then some viewership will follow. Despite PSL being mediocre for a while it has a sizeable Indian viewership. I was also reading how Cricket Australia is heading this initiative for a way to dilute and/or break BCCI's overwhelming power.

There is no way BCCI will sit back and be sidelined by rejecting the Saudis and see the rest of the cricketing world enjoying wealth in magnitudes the IPL can only dream off.
Lol Kohli makes much more than that by being associated with brands and marketing aside from money from cricket. Why would he lose that for a random league ?

Kohli makes in excess of $30mn a year and is a hero of millions. Cricket is a country sports not WWE or Boxing or club football.

There's nationalistic sentiments involved here.

PSL isn't even telecast on any channel. Only streaming is available on a app, that too not the big ones like Jio or Sony or prime or anything. Its on Fancode

Foreigners who have no idea should be circumspect before passing opinion.
It's not an opinion it is more of a wish.. hazaron khawashien par Zeb khaali..

Lol Kohli makes much more than that by being associated with brands and marketing aside from money from cricket. Why would he lose that for a random league ?

That's his wish. There was another like him here. Who wished Emiratis will finish IPL.

Pakistanis cannot do anything about the IPL so they wish someone should.

This is why i tell @Hitman why over the years i have changed my opinion on the revival of India Pakistan cricket ties.

May be he will too.

@Bhaag Viru Bhaag whats the latest update? When will be they announced the opening ceremony of This league :kp

Atleast previously the excuse was that due to IPL, Indian national team is not able to win any ICC events. Wonder what now?

The Saudi league will be similar to ILT20. It won’t come close to the daddy league because simply throwing money around doesn’t create passion.

There’s a reason the Saudi Pro League in football is seen as a retirement home, while top players in their prime prefer to play in European leagues. No matter how much money they invest, the Saudi football league will never reach the level of the Premier League or La Liga—just like how WWE Crown Jewel can never match WrestleMania.

Similarly, their cricket tournament will never be able to rival the IPL.

If any league were to challenge the IPL, I would want it to be PSL. Saudis are all money, attempting to rip off a product that already exists, trying to leverage an audience BCCI and PCB built over decades.

This is our domain and I expect Pakistanis to reject such attempts to hijack our beautiful sport. <3

The difference is the way cricket is, Saudi spends money on sports their population is interested in, Boxing Wrestling, Soccer.. they don’t spend on Badminton, Cricket, hockey, Rugby because their population doesn’t care about it.

Also if they could attract the best they would had done that for soccer, but they aren’t able to to make Saudi league comparable to La Liga or EPL and this is after huge craze among local for soccer.