Handshake Diplomacy: A smarter way for Pakistan to respond

Asad T

Pakistan’s current approach to countering India’s antics has been chaotic and clownish.

After “Handshake-gate”, instead of handling the situation smartly, we filed an official complaint with the ICC, flirted with the idea of boycotting the UAE game, still ended up with Richard Pycroft officiating, and were mauled on the field by India. We just look weak.

Meanwhile, during play, Haris Rauf simulated Indian planes crashing to “counter” the hostile Indian crowd, and Sahibzada Farhan marked his fifty with a machine-gun celebration — both of which only fuel tensions, drag more politics into the game, and ultimately make us look just as petty. In the end, all of this only plays into India’s hands.

If we really want to win the PR battle, our players should stick to class, wit, and subtlety:
  1. At the toss
    Salman should extend his hand regardless. If SKY refuses, it’s him who looks ridiculous. Those pictures would go viral worldwide, exposing India’s pettiness.
  2. At the end of the game
    Win or lose, our boys should make a point of walking over with hands extended or even attempting a hug. If the Indians pull away, again, they’re the ones who look small.
  3. Celebrations
    Instead of “war” gestures, why not parody the whole situation? Imagine a batsman reaching fifty and instead of swinging an imaginary gun, shaking hands with a teammate in an exaggerated, slapstick way. That flips the script and makes India look foolish without us saying a word.
Doing things like this would simply expose India’s pettiness. By resorting to war-themed celebrations and hostile gestures, we only drag ourselves down to their level. Pakistan should hold itself to a higher standard — one of dignity, wit, and sportsmanship. That way, even if we don’t win on the field, we can still win the PR battle off it.

rS0yvIW.png

Oyb1iuz.png

India beat us convincingly despite:
- Dropping 4 catches
- Bumrah going for his most expensive T20 PP bowling spell ever

We will not beat them for some time. But we can still be better in other aspects.
This stuff only looks good when you give reply in field

We were looking like fools on field

Beat them on field see how they and their media get triggered

Handshakes with who though?

Remember, they killed kids on 7th May?!

USA have bombed the crap out of Pak, did we not shake hands with their team?
England colonized us and subjugated us for centuries. do we not shake hands with them?

sports and politics should be seperated

Done strikes during Obama...
“Bombing the crap” out of Pakistan makes it seem like it was Afghanistan/Iraq level bombing

Anyways, the US and India are not comparable

Pakistan will NUKE India if it must. It will never get out of line and do the same to US.

We have nothing to gain from India.

They are blocking your water, attacked you just a few months ago and said it was ongoing.

They are a very hostile enemy nation. You need to face your reality.

Cricket should not be played with them and if it is then our players must bring the heat.

Stop watching IPL and bollywood, its made you soft.

England colonized us and subjugated us for centuries. do we not shake hands with them?
They colonised and subjugated India. Then they left and split it open into 2 pieces

They gave us our country, our freedom.

England have always been cordial and respectful towards Pakistan cricket.

They are blocking your water, attacked you just a few months ago and said it was ongoing.

They are a very hostile enemy nation. You need to face your reality.

Cricket should not be played with them and if it is then our players must bring the heat.

Stop watching IPL and bollywood, its made you soft.

I am saying that our current strategy is terrible:
1) We can't even get rid of Richard Pycroft nor did he really apologize.
2) What did we get from our current strategy? We delayed the UAE game by 1 hour.... what a victory. It just made us look weak

If Pakistan is not boycotting india, it should not stoop to down to their level

"Bhai, are you komedy me? Picture chal rahi thi kya? They politicised it — not us. If they wanna play politics, let’s push back: aeroplane gestures, war poses, full on nuisance. Can’t beat them with bat, at least we can make them feel the heat.
There players are uploading stories with captions directly to us. This shows even after winning convincingly they felt something. They thought it will be same wahi acha pyaraa pakistan players gifting them stuff or taking nicely they didn't ex

They didn't expect this reaction. Infact this should be normalised now going forward. This should feel like two countries who are always at war are playing.
Enough with this sports ko sports tak rakho.

I am saying that our current strategy is terrible:
1) We can't even get rid of Richard Pycroft nor did he really apologize.
2) What did we get from our current strategy? We delayed the UAE game by 1 hour.... what a victory. It just made us look weak

If Pakistan is not boycotting india, it should not stoop to down to their level
It’s not exactly even playing fields is it?

The tournament is indirectly being run by BCCI

We all know this. They can do whatever the F they want because it’s their money. They inject the cash. They dictate the narrative.

Even if you try to do things in a better way as you deem, you will still come across as stupid.

Accept it.

I don't think the US analogy works here. Most Americans don't even know they have a cricket team. Also, if Salman sticks his hand out and he is left hanging, that would be even more embarrassing.

Best thing to do is just move on from this pointless nonsense, and focus on trying to beat them on the field. Who cares if they don't want to shake hands?

It’s not exactly even playing fields is it?

The tournament is indirectly being run by BCCI

We all know this. They can do whatever the F they want because it’s their money. They inject the cash. They dictate the narrative.

Even if you try to do things in a better way as you deem, you will still come across as stupid.

Accept it.

Not just this tournament, the entire ICC is run by BCCI

We look even more stupid and weak with the current strategy imo. Where is it getting us? Time to change it up and not stoop to their level.

Lol no and a hard no.
I m glad Pakistan took a stand.
It was good haris gave it back with that gesture.
Indian rss agent clown gambhir started it and that dumb Suryakumar yadav carried it for rss India.
They started it and Pakistan didn't hold back either.
This is how it should. This is how these muslim haters should be responded to.

"Bhai, are you komedy me? Picture chal rahi thi kya? They politicised it — not us. If they wanna play politics, let’s push back: aeroplane gestures, war poses, full on nuisance. Can’t beat them with bat, at least we can make them feel the heat.
There players are uploading stories with captions directly to us. This shows even after winning convincingly they felt something. They thought it will be same wahi acha pyaraa pakistan players gifting them stuff or taking nicely they didn't ex

It's not a smart way to do it. It wont get the Pak team anywhere. Give it some time, and people like Rauf will probably be handed match suspensions by the BCCI run ICC for war poses.

Either PCB should take a proper stand to boycott Indian games or have a better PR strategy.

It's not a smart way to do it. It wont get the Pak team anywhere. Give it some time, and people like Rauf will probably be handed match suspensions by the BCCI run ICC for war poses.

Either PCB should take a proper stand to boycott Indian games or have a better PR strategy.

6-0 hand gesture is a war pose? waving your hand like a crashing Indian rafale is a war pose?

This isn't a PR strategy, this is sledging which needs to be done to unsettle them.

Win the match and deliver the same kind of post match speech and conference. Anything else will make us look more like an attention seeker.

Pakistan is winless against India since 2022 Asia cup on and off field. Not counting self claimed Fake victory. :klopp :kp

That's what I'm saying win the match else nothing matters.

So we have a last chance now, win the next 2 matches and meet India again in final and deliver it when it matters the most.

That's what I'm saying win the match else nothing matters.

So we have a last chance now, win the next 2 matches and meet India again in final and deliver it when it matters the most.
Good challenge . But @Rana is scared of team india although his favourite players are playing . He already declared Pakistan victory prior to the Asia Cup .

:klopp :kp

Lol Pakistan should instead focus on beating them and giving a autograph then...but SL and BAN looks too strong than Afghans.
.the tragedy

Former India captain Mohammad Azharuddin rejects India’s stance on Pakistan Handshake issue:

"I really cannot understand. But I don’t feel there was anything wrong with shaking hands. When you’re playing in protest, you might as well not play. There’s no point playing under protest,"

Would had looked bad and embarrassing on our part.
Issue is, no one comes prepared for these things

Indians seem pretty confused right now. After spending years and a whole lot of money trying to become top tier citizens in the US, they’re now watching the current President treat them like they don’t really matter anymore.

For the longest time, they’ve been on repeat,claiming they’re better than any other South Asian country. But now, it’s like the rug’s been pulled from under them.

Some are so mixed up, they can’t even tell the difference between a contest and a rivalry. There might not be a close contest between India and Pakistan these days, but the rivalry? That’s always been there, for obvious reasons.

To keep up the illusion of superiority, now it’s all about silly gestures like refusing handshakes on the cricket field. That’s apparently all that’s left.

But give it time. The moment their old flame, the US, starts complimenting them again, they’ll be back shaking hands with everyone like nothing happened.

Pakistan should go about their business as usual, let Indians be Indian.

Pakistan needs to stop obsessing with shaking hands with the Indians. Makes no sense. If anything, it saves them the hustle of washing their hands afterwards.

Just play the way a professional athlete is supposed to and stop making a mockery of yourself and country. Success is the only suitable response. Beat India and win the cup. That will shut everyone up.

Salman Ali Agha during conference ahead of India-Pakistan clash:

Q: After the September 14 match, there were handshake controversies and reports of disrespect. How did things change within the team since then?

A: “Honestly, I’ve never seen two teams finish a game without a handshake in all my years of cricket. Even my father, who’s been following the game for decades, never mentioned such a thing. It shouldn’t have happened. But for us, the focus remains on playing good cricket. Aggression is welcome on the field, from either side, but respect must remain.”

Pakistan’s current approach to countering India’s antics has been chaotic and clownish.

After “Handshake-gate”, instead of handling the situation smartly, we filed an official complaint with the ICC, flirted with the idea of boycotting the UAE game, still ended up with Richard Pycroft officiating, and were mauled on the field by India. We just look weak.

Meanwhile, during play, Haris Rauf simulated Indian planes crashing to “counter” the hostile Indian crowd, and Sahibzada Farhan marked his fifty with a machine-gun celebration — both of which only fuel tensions, drag more politics into the game, and ultimately make us look just as petty. In the end, all of this only plays into India’s hands.

If we really want to win the PR battle, our players should stick to class, wit, and subtlety:
  1. At the toss
    Salman should extend his hand regardless. If SKY refuses, it’s him who looks ridiculous. Those pictures would go viral worldwide, exposing India’s pettiness.
  2. At the end of the game
    Win or lose, our boys should make a point of walking over with hands extended or even attempting a hug. If the Indians pull away, again, they’re the ones who look small.
  3. Celebrations
    Instead of “war” gestures, why not parody the whole situation? Imagine a batsman reaching fifty and instead of swinging an imaginary gun, shaking hands with a teammate in an exaggerated, slapstick way. That flips the script and makes India look foolish without us saying a word.
Doing things like this would simply expose India’s pettiness. By resorting to war-themed celebrations and hostile gestures, we only drag ourselves down to their level. Pakistan should hold itself to a higher standard — one of dignity, wit, and sportsmanship. That way, even if we don’t win on the field, we can still win the PR battle off it.

rS0yvIW.png

Oyb1iuz.png
A very sensible and mature post. And I completely agree.

Currently have great relationship with almost every country except India and Israel.
And that is Pakistani business as usual? Funny and cute how that was skirted.. and even more amusing the post was removed..guess Pakistanis can be hypocrites whilst trying to potray themselves holier than thou

The world has moved on from sportsmanship - Pakistanis stuck in the past. This kind of sportsmanship will be considered a weakness by a newer generation and then Pakistanis will be digging a bigger hole. WIN and brag to touch the nerves.

And that is Pakistani business as usual? Funny and cute how that was skirted.. and even more amusing the post was removed..guess Pakistanis can be hypocrites whilst trying to potray themselves holier than thou

I think your concerns are better directed toward New Delhi.

Whatever India is currently facing has nothing to do with Pakistan.

Pakistan has only ever acted in self defense against India’s illegal aggression.

I think your concerns are better directed toward New Delhi.

Whatever India is currently facing has nothing to do with Pakistan.

Pakistan has only ever acted in self defense against India’s illegal aggression.
Why, when whole of Pakistani concerns are directed towards New Delhi other than Islamabad, then vice versa holds true as well

I don't think there is any need now... India has set a new standard that there will be no handshake, so let's keep that going until they themselves ditch it..

They colonised and subjugated India. Then they left and split it open into 2 pieces

They gave us our country, our freedom.

England have always been cordial and respectful towards Pakistan cricket.
Pakistan was under British rule as pary pf British India

English media was anything but respectful to pakistan cricket in 90s

I think they should had shake hands here. It was a close match, well fought match, they should had just ended their zid here man. Reflects bad on them.

It was a very good match truth be told.