Harbhajan Singh faces heat after comparing Jofra Archer to 'kaali taxi'

Bhaag Viru Bhaag

Senior Test Player

Indian spin legend Harbhajan Singh, who is no stranger to controversy, made the comment on-air during Sunday’s IPL 2025 match between Sunrisers Hyderabad and Rajasthan Royals in Hyderabad, in which English pacer Jofra Archer went wicketless for 76 runs.​

Indian spin legend Harbhajan Singh is no stranger to controversy. From being accused of raciallyabusing the late Andrew Symonds in the infamous ‘Monkeygate’ scandal in 2008 to getting banned for the remainder of the inaugural IPL season later that year after slapping S Sreesanth, ‘Bhajji’ has had his fair share of unsavoury incidents.

On Sunday, Harbhajan found himself facing a massive backlash on social media for his comment on Rajasthan Royals (RR) pacer Jofra Archer during their opening match of IPL 2025 against Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH). The 44-year-old was on Hindi commentary for the SRH-RR game at Hyderabad’s Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium when he compared Caribbean-born English pacer Archer to a “kaali taxi” (black taxi).

London me kaali taxi ka meter tez bhaagta hai, aur yaha pe Archer sahab ka meter bhi tez bhaaga hai (Like the meter of London’s black taxis, Archer’s meter has also been on the higher side),” Harbhajan was heard saying during SRH’s innings in the afternoon clash of the Sunday double-header.

Whether Harbhajan intended to racially target Archer or not isn’t clear with the ‘Turbantor’ yet to post a clarification for the same, either on social media or on air. Archer, who was born and brought up in Barbados and moved to England at the age of 20, went wicketless for 76 runs as SRH blasted their way to a mammoth score of 286/6. The former India off-spinner, therefore, might have had his economy of 19 in mind while making the comment.

Netizens call for ‘Bhajji’ to be sacked as IPL commentator

His poor choice of words, however, did not go unnoticed on social media, and led to a barrage of criticism with many calling for him to be taken off-air.

In one of the most controversial incidents in Indian cricket history, Harbhajan had been accused of calling Symonds a “monkey” during the second Test of the 2007-08 tour of Australia in Sydney. Harbhajan, however, categorically denied making such a comment, claiming he had responded to Symonds’ verbal aggression with “teri maa ki” (your mother’s…) which sounded similar to monkey.

Harbhajan narrowly escaped a ban after the Indian team threatened to abandon the tour with two Tests and a one-off T20I and an ODI triangular series still left.

Harbhajan's previous racist behaviour was covered up by :sachin who changed his story at the last minute to allow Harbhajan to walk free.

But his behavior was exposed in the end. Because no matter how many truths are bent,no matter how powerful the hand that shields you, if you evade justice, you will eventually have to face it.

I hope he is censured for this and now we will wait to see when justice catches up with the master of the original cover up :sachin

Kami ROFLing after hearing this news: :kakmal :inti

images

Bas bas, no need to come with the defences like you guys did during monkey gate.
Lol I don't care even he meant black.. and in monkey gates it's actually hilarious they don't have problem with calling mom name but have problem calling him monkey.. it's vice-versa to me.. and I don't like too much political correctness tbh.. not every word need to be censored..

You really need to educate yourself about racism and slavery topics than....

So he called him a black taxi because they’re expensive (like Archers bowling eco) to ride on.

The empty taxi comments are hilarious though lol.

It is funny when Indians like Harbhajan act racist with others.

I mean if someone wants to be racist toward Indians, there are so many subject matters available. Indians shouldn't poke others unnecessarily.

Not the first time for Bhajji. Classless comment.

:inti

In UK, everyone calls it as Black cab and its very expensive. So Bhajji was calling Archer who went for 76 runs in 4 overs as black cab. I dont think he necessarily meant to be racist.

Having said that, IPL must have a strong anti racism program. In India/Subcontinent, people gets more upset on religion,caste etc but somehow calling someone Kaala (black), Naata (midget) etc is considered funny and acceptable. However considering IPL is a global league and skin color is a big thing for foreigners, IPL must have a strong guideline. IIRC few years ago Darren Sammy complained the same when Ishant Sharma called him Kaale. Also, less the likes of uneducated Bhajji opens their mouth, the better it is.

In UK, everyone calls it as Black cab and its very expensive. So Bhajji was calling Archer who went for 76 runs in 4 overs as black cab. I dont think he necessarily meant to be racist.

Having said that, IPL must have a strong anti racism program. In India/Subcontinent, people gets more upset on religion,caste etc but somehow calling someone Kaala (black), Naata (midget) etc is considered funny and acceptable. However considering IPL is a global league and skin color is a big thing for foreigners, IPL must have a strong guideline. IIRC few years ago Darren Sammy complained the same when Ishant Sharma called him Kaale. Also, less the likes of uneducated Bhajji opens their mouth, the better it is.
Education is needed for sure. As @big_gamer007 also said casual racism is accepted in SC but you can't say these things in front of a global audience especially someone with Harbhajan reputation.

Desis are one of the most racists people in the world, it’s just that we don’t know that we are racist.
You see that in all the comedy shows on these so-called news channels as well. Once there is a person who is not fair skinned, he is grilled so much for his colour and everyone enjoy and laugh. Something wrong with the whole society it seems?

Once a racist, always a racist.

A paendooo who never grew up to learn how to speak.

A repeat offender and i wonder if he’s again going to escape punishment and cancellation for his idiotic behaviour.

Shoaib Akhtar and Gautam Gambhir also get into troubles often but it’s never about racism or just generally being rude. Gautam had a phase when he was an aspiring politician and during that phase he made a few political comments but otherwise even while talking about Pakistan he’s bit smart.

Harbhajan is just an idiot. I am also tired of him repeatedly taking the bait from known trolls like Tanvir Ahmed and making non sense comments about Bharat-Pakistan matches which just make him look stupid and a brat.

Absolutely loved Bhajji as a competitor , he gave his everything on the field but he needs to learn to behave.

I genuinely hope he doesn’t get away with it and it would be disgraceful if any media persons come to his rescue this time which i highly doubt.

This manchild needs to be taught a lesson

Not from where Bhajji is. Calling someone monkey in India is not racism...it is not even considered an abuse. There are other choice words which I mutter sometime reading your posts but monley is not one of them.

:misbah

Aussies can go to hell with their hypocrisy though. They say all sort of nasty things to players, well to be honest they became well behaved after BCCI crushed them during monkeygate.

A repeat offender and i wonder if he’s again going to escape punishment and cancellation for his idiotic behaviour.

Shoaib Akhtar and Gautam Gambhir also get into troubles often but it’s never about racism or just generally being rude. Gautam had a phase when he was an aspiring politician and during that phase he made a few political comments but otherwise even while talking about Pakistan he’s bit smart.

Harbhajan is just an idiot. I am also tired of him repeatedly taking the bait from known trolls like Tanvir Ahmed and making non sense comments about Bharat-Pakistan matches which just make him look stupid and a brat.

Absolutely loved Bhajji as a competitor , he gave his everything on the field but he needs to learn to behave.

I genuinely hope he doesn’t get away with it and it would be disgraceful if any media persons come to his rescue this time which i highly doubt.

Agreed. Pakistanis will relish in their point scoring here but this is typical Bhajji behavior which doesn't belong in the commentary box.

Not from where Bhajji is. Calling someone monkey in India is not racism...it is not even considered an abuse. There are other choice words which I mutter sometime reading your posts but monley is not one of them.

:misbah

The fact that racists in Indian crowds had previously targeted Symonds with monkey chants and actions makes it pretty clear that the connotations were well known.

This is a desi phenomenon. As true for people here in Pakistan, as it is for people in India. Too many people in our countries have grown up on casual racism, where they think its funny and not a big deal. Few years ago, Sarfraz was also caught on the stump mic making an off-handed racist remark directed at Phehlukwayo, for which he later had to apologize for. White people are probably even more racist than desis but they are more careful when it comes to opening their mouth. Unless someone is a known racist who doesn't try to hide it, you won't see them saying something like this.

Someone like Harbhajan, who had a long international career and is one of the most notable spinners to come out of India, should know better. This isn't the 1980s anymore, where people just look the other way or laugh at this type of remark. What's just as bad is certain posters here arguing semantics and trying to act like what he said wasn't a very offensive thing to say.

You see that in all the comedy shows on these so-called news channels as well. Once there is a person who is not fair skinned, he is grilled so much for his colour and everyone enjoy and laugh. Something wrong with the whole society it seems?

Desi culture is different than abroad, in desi culture and upbringing skin colour racism is very common and has been bred from the start, irrespective of the education level of the family.
In foreign countries skin colour racism is looked at very seriously and is probably the highest form of racism.

Desi culture lacks civic sense, ethics, morals, integrity, respect, personal boundaries, consideration towards others etc etc. It’s just how it is, we have many other bigger problems to tackle first and once we tackle those problems then the priority will be to improve these problems as a society, so the most one can do is to educate their kids about these things, unfortunately you can’t change society as whole till they understand this is an actual problem which is 50-60 years from now.

North Indians Punjabis are extremely racist. They even promote it in Bollywood, which is north Indian dominated industry. I know of a song which has it the lyrics where it says something like, ‘fun fun, blackie, whitie come closer lets love. And in video theres mixed background dancers and the cam gets directed to black and white female dancers when he mentions them.

when referring to masculine - kaala
when feminine - kaali

both mean black. Vehicles are generally referred to as females.

Khaali - means empty.
There is no need for explanation
He is a trash human being regardless

He knew exactly what he said.

Both are pronounced the same. It's called a homonym.
No they are not pronounced the same.

Kaali is prounced with the k. Khaali is prounced with emphasis on the H.

Indians are now defending racism... typical

Yep 100%
It’s a travesty. So stupid as well such pitiful jokes. It’s not even funny lmao

It’s systemic. It will take several decades to transform the mentalities of desi communities regarding complexion.

Agreed. Pakistanis will relish in their point scoring here but this is typical Bhajji behavior which doesn't belong in the commentary box.
I think instead of worrying about Pakistan, maybe condemn your racists player.

All i have seen from you here is Pakistan and the defence for Harbanjans racists comments to Symonds.

No they are not pronounced the same.

Kaali is prounced with the k. Khaali is prounced with emphasis on the H.

Indians are now defending racism... typical

How do you empasise an H ? It is mostly a silent letter when put it next to a consonant.

Desis are one of the most racists people in the world, it’s just that we don’t know that we are racist.
Not desis, people from South Asia who are not informed about historical events such as apartheid, racial segregation, Jim Crow laws, the forced internment, child removal, trail of tears.

At the end of the day the evils were perpetrated by whites.

I think instead of worrying about Pakistan, maybe condemn your racists player.

All i have seen from you here is Pakistan and the defence for Harbanjans racists comments to Symonds.
ab aapko padhna nahi aata toh that's not might fault.
Jaao socks investigation chalo karo! :runaway:

Then our songs are racist
Like Kalaa sha kaala mera kaala hai sarkar goreya nu daffa karo

Hum kaale hai to kya hua dilwale hai

Nigga maarda aayi ve mera long gvacha

Kudiye ni tere brown rang tay munde pat day ni saare mere town de

It’s racism only when you are targeting someone.

Kaala is just reference to colour. You can always refer to persons as black, brown, white it’s not considered racist anywhere unless you’re
This is a desi phenomenon. As true for people here in Pakistan, as it is for people in India. Too many people in our countries have grown up on casual racism, where they think its funny and not a big deal. Few years ago, Sarfraz was also caught on the stump mic making an off-handed racist remark directed at Phehlukwayo, for which he later had to apologize for. White people are probably even more racist than desis but they are more careful when it comes to opening their mouth. Unless someone is a known racist who doesn't try to hide it, you won't see them saying something like this.

Someone like Harbhajan, who had a long international career and is one of the most notable spinners to come out of India, should know better. This isn't the 1980s anymore, where people just look the other way or laugh at this type of remark. What's just as bad is certain posters here arguing semantics and trying to act like what he said wasn't a very offensive thing to say.

It’s not just racism with him.

He slapped Sreesanth in IPL 1 which is a big deal and he got away with it.

Every time he appears on a debate on Pakistani sports channels, he ends up proving himself to be an idiot and a brat using BCCI’s name to show off. A board that itself works in shadows and never utters an unnecessary word.

Being a public figure he must show some respect and humility. Should learn from other ex cricketers who all behave very wisely. It’s really just a handful of these idiots.

Education is needed for sure. As @big_gamer007 also said casual racism is accepted in SC but you can't say these things in front of a global audience especially someone with Harbhajan reputation.
I agree with all you said except the last portion "especially someone with Harbhajan reputation." What reputation ? Post retirement ,guy has had zero reputation , he has been absolute cringe. And he's not even a good commentator. The sooner he;s thrown out of the com box, the better for everyone.

Sorry what I meant was his reputation regarding racism. He is Someone who whether you believe him or not has been accused of a serious case of racism. I would imagine that even if he wasn't guilty of monkey gate he would have enough braincells to understand how these words can have a big impact and to steer clear.

Can you imagine Bhajji referring to Brett lee/Dale Steyn/Patrick Cummins as "Chitti taxi"? he will never say that. Its embedded colonial mindset that bubbles out in these subtle digs about color.

He's clearly referring to the black cabs that are popular in England. He's not calling Archer black. Read again.

Knowing that Archer is black. Then calling him a " Black Taxi" should be deemed as controversial. Why not just refer to him being a " Taxi" rather than a " Black Taxi"

Read the below translation carefully in the OP and tell me how and where did he call him a black taxi..

(Like the meter of London’s black taxis, Archer’s meter has also been on the higher side),”

Harbhajan is always getting all the wrong ideas at the wrong time and he speaks them out without any filter. Even Wasim Akram was saying Pakistani team is eating bananas like monkeys but that would sound awful if it were West Indies team eating those bananas

Oh dear.

Harbhajan has not learned his lesson from monkey gate.

Needs to take a look in the mirror before ridiculing the appearance of others.

It is not just Indians, it is a south asian trait. We just don't care and feel that since we are coloured we can pass racist remarks on others. I have seen this with most of the desis in USA and also here in Australia. It is sometimes embarrassing being with them in conversations when they openly make such remarks thinking it is funny. I once called out one of the Indian managers and he did not even realise he was being racist and this was in the US. Poor by Bajji. A strict action needs to be taken.

All these asian players (and people in general) says wtv comes in their mind - bunch of racist bunch. But turn the table, will cry a bunch of rivers and tell you how unfairly they are being treated because of their culture/color/blabla. Indians are not the only one who does this, i've seen many asian players act in such way.

Calling him monkey (?) nothing to do with racism or slavery.. it's just normal name calling in bhaji's backyard..
You know how to use google - should be easy to google why blacks were compared to monkey. Here is a head start: To justify slavery, black people had to be dehumanized - something like a pet / monkey.

From Phelukwaiyo to Archer, being insulted from Asian players , shameful there has to be some guidelines from commentators also