Harbhajan Singh faces heat after comparing Jofra Archer to 'kaali taxi'

He’ll come up with some “explanation” in the next few hours to “clear the air” and all will be fine again, world hunger issue solved.

What? They are not pronounced similarly at all. But if you have problems with uttering words correctly then I may agree with you.
One is pronounced with ك and one with خ, totally different sounds.

96% of people who listen to the those two words won't be able to differentiate.

'Kh' might have a more phlegmy throaty feel to it but it is just Tomato TomAto to me...

LOL, still remember how almost every Pakistani poster on PP was busy defending their captain Sarfaraz for what he said to a black player during a match against South Africa. The whole thing was caught by the stump mic, and it's on youtube for everyone to see. He was then banned for a few matches due to racial abuse.

Those same set of posters are leaving no stones unturned now due to something said by an Indian commentator.

@cricketjoshila @Rajdeep @JaDed @Romali_rotti

LOL, still remember how almost every Pakistani poster on PP was busy defending their captain Sarfaraz for what he said to a black player during a match against South Africa. The whole thing was caught by the stump mic, and it's on youtube for everyone to see. He was then banned for a few matches due to racial abuse.

Those same set of posters are leaving no stones unturned now due to something said by an Indian commentator.

Ok, can you please share the link. I just want to see every pakistani posters posts on defending Sarfraz. I will be the first one apologize if I defended him.

You didn't highlight the world 'almost'. You should have highlighted that word as well if you were being honest.

Indians clutching at straws with the Sarfraz line.

Harbhajan is a serial offender. These Indians just can't condemn someone for being racist.

You didn't highlight the world 'almost'. You should have highlighted that word as well if you were being honest.

Lol, sorry if I forgot to include 'almost', my bad.

Now coming back to your claim. I just read through quickly the posts on page 1. My english is poor, but I saw that the a clear majority of posters critisized Sarfraz there. So what is your point exactly?

Lol, sorry if I forgot to include 'almost', my bad.

Now coming back to your claim. I just read through quickly the posts on page 1. My english is poor, but I saw that the a clear majority of posters critisized Sarfraz there. So what is your point exactly?
:ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO: Try reading the whole thread. Pakistani posters were defending Sarfaraz as if he is a member of their own family.

London taxis are actually black in color

So he was probably referring to those taxis. Not bcoz of skin color of Jofra Archer

Read the below translation carefully in the OP and tell me how and where did he call him a black taxi..

Still not a single rebuttal or an attempt made to prove us wrong..

Indians clutching at straws with the Sarfraz line.

Harbhajan is a serial offender. These Indians just can't condemn someone for being racist.

Some of these Indians had a tough time with condemning call center scammers (see the call center scammer thread).

They are truly astonishing.

:qdkcheeky

Still not a single rebuttal or an attempt made to prove us wrong..

The thread was initiated by an Indian, and I believe the source is also an Indian media outlet. The internet is replete with articles on this topic. For instance, here is a headline from The Hindu: 'Harbhajan Singh in racism row after remark on Jofra Archer during IPL match.'

Clearly, where there's smoke, there's fire. While no one can be certain of his true intentions, common sense suggests he was referring to Archer. You can provide numerous examples of something being fast or expensive, but given his history on the topic and his use of the term 'black taxi' in relation to a black man, it leaves little to the imagination.

People can have differing opinions. If you disagree, express it properly without resorting to name-calling.

He is comparing the specifications of black taxi to Archer and saying both are fast. How is this a case of racism? No, it isn’t.

Same during Monkey gate scandal, he said a gaali in hindi language, ‘Teri Maa Ki’. That was confused with the word, monkey. Neither are a case of racism.

Harbhajan is a victim who often gets accused of being racist but taken incorrectly.

:ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO: Try reading the whole thread. Pakistani posters were defending Sarfaraz as if he is a member of their own family.
Does it make the stuff said by Harbhajan right???

Talk about Harbhajan here... sarfaraz chapter is past and that was already discussed in detail.

You know how to use google - should be easy to google why blacks were compared to monkey. Here is a head start: To justify slavery, black people had to be dehumanized - something like a pet / monkey.
Lol do you really think he called him monkey due to Symonds is not white?

Thread here is about harbhajan....

do you think what he said is right????
It's funny you expect him to be politically correct. Here's a guy who slapped Sreesanth, although I love him for doing it.

My point was about the holier than though Pakistani fans. They'll defend anything an everything their players do. Still remember when Murali simply said that the guilty should be banned, when the sport fixing scandal happened. Murali was blown to pieces by Pakistanis fans on PP for saying that. I mean how dare says anything against those 3 match fixers, because the were Pakistani players.​

Those who have ever lived in London know that black taxi are London’s iconic black cabs known for its speed and efficiency in navigating traffic. It is a harmless comment where comparison is done for someone’s speed to a fast mode of transport. It’s not even a comparison citing something negative vs negative.

Now being a Pakistani means that it is their duty to perceive it in false sense and create backlash as apparent by most comments on this forum including the moderators. :kp :inti

It's funny you expect him to be politically correct. Here's a guy who slapped Sreesanth, although I love him for doing it.

My point was about the holier than though Pakistani fans. They'll defend anything an everything their players do. Still remember when Murali simply said that the guilty should be banned, when the sport fixing scandal happened. Murali was blown to pieces by Pakistanis fans on PP for saying that. I mean how dare says anything against those 3 match fixers, because the were Pakistani players.​
Question remains the same...

Harbhajan said a right thing or wrong???

Why is it so difficult for you to condemn such stuff???

Brother Harbhajan Singh is a misunderstood cricketer. He is like Radhe from the movie Tere Naam where Salman get misunderstood by everyone.

Bhajji said 'Mainu Ki' to Andrew Symonds in Punjabi. However, Aussies thought he is calling him a Monkey and launched protest. Good on GOAT to lend support towards him during ICC hearing.

Here, Bhajji said Archer is as expensive as Black Taxi. In London, everyone calls it as Black Cab which is very expensive fare wise. Considering Archer is from UK, Bhajji compared him as expensive as Black Cab. He necessarily didnt meant to be racist but again was misunderstood.

My heart goes out to noble souls like Harbhajan Singh who gets misunderstood by wider world and gets criticized often. We Bharatiyas must stand with him in thick and thin.

Are you patriots ready?

Question remains the same...

Harbhajan said a right thing or wrong???

Why is it so difficult for you to condemn such stuff???
I wouldn't have approved him saying something like that. Yet, it's laughable whom he is criticised by.

Normal people: What Bhajji said was racist and we condemn it without any if and but.

Certain Indian posters: What about Sarfaraz? What about Bangladesh? What about Timbuktu? What about Mughal Empire? What about British Empire? What about Ivanka Trump's distant relative?

:inti

The thread was initiated by an Indian, and I believe the source is also an Indian media outlet. The internet is replete with articles on this topic. For instance, here is a headline from The Hindu: 'Harbhajan Singh in racism row after remark on Jofra Archer during IPL match.'

Clearly, where there's smoke, there's fire. While no one can be certain of his true intentions, common sense suggests he was referring to Archer. You can provide numerous examples of something being fast or expensive, but given his history on the topic and his use of the term 'black taxi' in relation to a black man, it leaves little to the imagination.

People can have differing opinions. If you disagree, express it properly without resorting to name-calling.

So let me get this straight... Taking the word "black" in any context in the same sentence as a black person is racism somehow just because it leaves things to people's imagination? Who is the real racist here lol...

And no it's not about India or Pakistan or Bhutan..don't know why you brought up the topic of this being highlighted by an Indian OP and an Indian news article. What does that have to do with anything?

Here, Bhajji said Archer is as expensive as Black Taxi. In London, everyone calls it as Black Cab which is very expensive fare wise. Considering Archer is from UK, Bhajji compared him as expensive as Black Cab. He necessarily didnt meant to be racist but again was misunderstood.

No point explaining this to blind bitter haters who can't accept logic. :inti

Past few months have been humiliation after humiliation for them so all these crocodile tears for Archer is just an outlet to release the despair. It's pretty clear for all to see.

So let me get this straight, some Pakistani posters defended Sarfraz's racist comments years ago therefore now its my turn to defend Harbhajan's racist comments.

Did you think for a second how stupid what you're saying sounds?

Gosh, I love the wisdom of certain geniuses arguing semantics here. All you are doing is showing yourself for the racism apologists that you are. I wish you spent more time condemning racist comments rather than defending someone just because he happens to be Indian. I also wonder if you would be doing these mental gymnastics if it wasn't an Indian who had made these comments.

So let me get this straight... Taking the word "black" in any context in the same sentence as a black person is racism somehow just because it leaves things to people's imagination? Who is the real racist here lol...

And no it's not about India or Pakistan or Bhutan..don't know why you brought up the topic of this being highlighted by an Indian OP and an Indian news article. What does that have to do with anything?
Well I suppose we can't really speak for black people. Why don't you go to a city with black people call them black taxis etc and black XYZ and report back your results.

That will help us understand what is or isn't racist.

before calling anyone racist you should look at yourself in the mirror, I know many of my own Pakistani brothers and sisters who are racists, and they either don't know or doesn't matter as its just normal to them in Pakistan.

Lol do you really think he called him monkey due to Symonds is not white?
YES-What exactly are you trying to defend here? Also, you may think it's tongue and cheek talks but we all know how desi people treats black folks ... Let's not beat around the bush. Multiple skin whitening cream exists all over asia for a reason.

The topic was about the 2 faced nature of Pakistani fans.
Go to that thread, people called sarfraz out.

Pakistanis when they see wrong they call their players out. While you guys defend even yohr racists players

Well I suppose we can't really speak for black people. Why don't you go to a city with black people call them black taxis etc and black XYZ and report back your results.

That will help us understand what is or isn't racist.
This.

It seems like many of these Indians have never travelled outside of India, or the ones that did they never interacted with African Americans or British and just lived in their desi ghettos.

People like them tend to accidentally use the N word once thinking it means just the color and their is no harm, they get their **** kicked and than understand where they are wrong.

You have put it very nicely. Go up to a black person, say kaali taxi on their face and than report back.

I know the response though.. sir.. sir.. sir.. sir..

Indians are such people that they would even defend rape if it was being committed by an Indian.

And in Australia this is the group that cries about racism the most.

Why don't you go to a city with black people call them black taxis etc and black XYZ and report back your results.

Surely if I call them "You're as expensive as a black cab in London" , they'll have the required functioning brain cells to realise that there's not an ounce of racism in that statement..

And if they do get offended, that just tells us they're dumb ...

Surely if I call them "You're as expensive as a black cab in London" , they'll have the required functioning brain cells to realise that there's not an ounce of racism in that statement..

And if they do get offended, that just tells us they're dumb ...like the posters here who are crying crocodile tears.

I am willing to fund a PP Youtube series where Indians go up and use the word black towards black people.

The way this whole lot is behaving, reminds me of the scene from Anchorman 2, when Ron Burgundy goes and visits his new gfs parents house.

You lot should start defending rape aswell.

Despicable people
Look at the audacity of a terrorist sympathizer, and yet you have the nerve to talk about others.
Man, no one here supported a rapist. But you openly and proudly display the picture of a terrorist.

Look at the audacity of a terrorist sympathizer, and yet you have the nerve to talk about others.
Man, no one here supported a rapist. But you openly and proudly display the picture of a terrorist.
There have been instances where the likes of you even defended rapists.

So we know how low you guys can go.

I dont think Harbajan said anything racist or wrong. Taxis in London are called black cabs (hackney carriages), they are also seen across many UK cities. He just called a black cab’s taxi meter running quick, same as jofra’s meter running quick (leaking runs?)

He has shot his mouth previously but here its a non issue.

This phrase isn’t racist. His black taxi comment is weird but yes black taxis (or commonly called black cabs) are more expensive in London. They are a luxury form of taxi. Obviously most people would have not used this term in case of being mistaken as racist. But saying it doesn’t make someone racist.

The comment could easy be said to a non-black person and still make sense.

This is different from outright making fun of someone’s skin colour or culture.

Wow!

Despicable.

I hope I didn't. I would be embarrassed if I did. From memory not many did but I could be wrong and they would be also wrong

so you never travelled abroad right?

Stop running away and answer how referring to a black person aa someone who is as expensive as a black cab is racism towards black people.

Waa the movie Black panther racist to black people just because it had the word black in it?

Is BLM racist towards blacks?

Black history month?

Please stop embarassing yourselves for once.

I dont think Harbajan said anything racist or wrong. Taxis in London are called black cabs (hackney carriages), they are also seen across many UK cities. He just called a black cab’s taxi meter running quick, same as jofra’s meter running quick (leaking runs?)

He has shot his mouth previously but here its a non issue.
@Major :ROFLMAO:

Stop running away and answer how referring to a black person aa someone who is as expensive as a black cab is racism towards black people.

Waa the movie Black panther racist to black people just because it had the word black in it?

Is BLM racist towards blacks?

Black history month?

Please stop embarassing yourselves for once.
Have you ever been abroad? Have you ever travelled outside of india?

Would you have the guts to call a black guy a black uk taxi?

Indian spin legend Harbhajan Singh, who is no stranger to controversy, made the comment on-air during Sunday’s IPL 2025 match between Sunrisers Hyderabad and Rajasthan Royals in Hyderabad, in which English pacer Jofra Archer went wicketless for 76 runs.​

Indian spin legend Harbhajan Singh is no stranger to controversy. From being accused of raciallyabusing the late Andrew Symonds in the infamous ‘Monkeygate’ scandal in 2008 to getting banned for the remainder of the inaugural IPL season later that year after slapping S Sreesanth, ‘Bhajji’ has had his fair share of unsavoury incidents.

On Sunday, Harbhajan found himself facing a massive backlash on social media for his comment on Rajasthan Royals (RR) pacer Jofra Archer during their opening match of IPL 2025 against Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH). The 44-year-old was on Hindi commentary for the SRH-RR game at Hyderabad’s Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium when he compared Caribbean-born English pacer Archer to a “kaali taxi” (black taxi).

London me kaali taxi ka meter tez bhaagta hai, aur yaha pe Archer sahab ka meter bhi tez bhaaga hai (Like the meter of London’s black taxis, Archer’s meter has also been on the higher side),” Harbhajan was heard saying during SRH’s innings in the afternoon clash of the Sunday double-header.

Whether Harbhajan intended to racially target Archer or not isn’t clear with the ‘Turbantor’ yet to post a clarification for the same, either on social media or on air. Archer, who was born and brought up in Barbados and moved to England at the age of 20, went wicketless for 76 runs as SRH blasted their way to a mammoth score of 286/6. The former India off-spinner, therefore, might have had his economy of 19 in mind while making the comment.

Netizens call for ‘Bhajji’ to be sacked as IPL commentator

His poor choice of words, however, did not go unnoticed on social media, and led to a barrage of criticism with many calling for him to be taken off-air.

In one of the most controversial incidents in Indian cricket history, Harbhajan had been accused of calling Symonds a “monkey” during the second Test of the 2007-08 tour of Australia in Sydney. Harbhajan, however, categorically denied making such a comment, claiming he had responded to Symonds’ verbal aggression with “teri maa ki” (your mother’s…) which sounded similar to monkey.

Harbhajan narrowly escaped a ban after the Indian team threatened to abandon the tour with two Tests and a one-off T20I and an ODI triangular series still left.

1. Stupid & False: The "meters" in Hackney carriage are well regulated and don't run fast and all of them operate at the same rate!
  2. Colorist: Archer is "black" so he is clearly being colorist by bringing an analogy of "black cab"
  3. Indian Context: India as a huge issue with dark skin to the point where "Fair & Lovely" was renamed to "Glow & Lovely" so every Indian instantly understands the comment and its context
But majority of Indians will start side discussions about pronunciation etc to take attention away from it. If this was a "White" or "Western" commentator who spoke disparagingly against Indians they will uproar on Social Media.

I find it funny that Harbhajan wants to diss the appearance of others when chances are he doesn’t even 🪒 downstairs.

Go to that thread, people called sarfraz out.

Pakistanis when they see wrong they call their players out. While you guys defend even yohr racists players
I'm speaking of the multiple posters who were defending him. Go, check that thread for yourself.

So let me get this straight, some Pakistani posters defended Sarfraz's racist comments years ago therefore now its my turn to defend Harbhajan's racist comments.

Did you think for a second how stupid what you're saying sounds?
Can you highlight one post of mine where I have defended Harbhajan? I was merely highlighting the nature of Pakistani fans.

Simple question for certain geniuses.

Why couldn't Harbhajan have said 'London main bhi taxian..', instead of 'kaali taxian'? The London qualifier was enough for the joke to work because everyone knows that Archer is an English player.

The fact that he added the word 'kaali' indicates the racist intent of his remark.

If you can't see that, then you don’t understand how racism—or language—works.

Funny.

When Sarfraz did the “abay kaalay” thing lots of people were defending him. It was a terrible thing that he said and much worse.

Would love to know if those people are now attacking Harbhajan or still defending this stupid behavior.

I'm speaking of the multiple posters who were defending him. Go, check that thread for yourself.
You dont get the point. Majority bashed him. Its obvious that out of 10 , 2 would be support him. Majority bashed him.

Pakistanis never defend their player on the basis of nationalism.

While you lot, majority of you defend any wrong ur country men does

Funny.

When Sarfraz did the “abay kaalay” thing lots of people were defending him. It was a terrible thing that he said and much worse.

Would love to know if those people are now attacking Harbhajan or still defending this stupid behavior.
There is a difference between both acts. I'm not saying this out of a nationalist perspective but Harbhajans past transgressions means there was no excuse for this behavior.

IPL is an international league. He is making comments on public on a multi national platform. You cannot compare it to someone muttering behind the stumps to himself.

You dont get the point. Majority bashed him. Its obvious that out of 10 , 2 would be support him. Majority bashed him.

Pakistanis never defend their player on the basis of nationalism.

While you lot, majority of you defend any wrong ur country men does
Majority Pakistani posters bashed him? Whom are you kidding? The thread is there for everyone to read.

Sarfraz's case isn't analogous, so I'm not sure why Indians are bringing this up.

Harbhajan has history when it comes to racism. I must say I do find it ironic that he feels the need to comment on other people's appearance, when chances are he doesn't 🪒 downstairs.

Sarfraz's case isn't analogous, so I'm not sure why Indians are bringing this up.

Harbhajan has history when it comes to racism. I must say I do find it ironic that he feels the need to comment on other people's appearance, when chances are he doesn't 🪒 downstairs.
What history? History is when you are convicted, not accused. Even the Sri Lankans accused Glenn McGrath of calling Sanath Jayasuriya a black monkey in 2001, except that he wasn't convicted.​

Do you take Harbhajan for some nice guy? He was known for being unpleasant with the way he carried himself. The shoe fits.

Just because he has had confrontations on the field doesn't mean he has a history of racism. There have been much more annoying and dislikable cricketers, and you can't accuse them of being racists just because you want to.

Glenn McGrath, despite his greatness, remains one of the biggest bullies and unlikeable cricketers I have seen. Yet you can't call him a racist just because the Sri Lankans accused him of racially abusing Sanath Jayasuriya because those were mere accusations. He wasn't convicted.​

Just because he has had confrontations on the field doesn't mean he has a history of racism. There have been much more annoying and dislikable cricketers, and you can't accuse them of being racists just because you want to.

Glenn McGrath, despite his greatness, remains one of the biggest bullies and unlikeable cricketers I have seen. Yet you can't call him a racist just because the Sri Lankans accused him of racially abusing Sanath Jayasuriya because those were mere accusations. He wasn't convicted.​

I could give him the benefit of the doubt if this was the first time that he was being accused of being racist. But now the evidence is there for everyone to see.

You know deep down, the shoe fits.

If Harbhajan was a Pakistani, my stance on this matter would not change.

Just pathetic. Unfortunately, both Indian and Pakistani players have engaged in racist and unacceptable behavior and tarnished their reputations. There’s absolutely no room for racism in cricket or anywhere else.

Use of words is pretty crucial here... If harbhajan was only trying to troll Jofra bowling then he could have simply said taxis in London or something like that, The use of the word black is nothing but racism.

People who are defending it should be ashamed of it. They are equally involved with Harbhajan.

Most desis are racists, bringing another country’s sportsman racist rant to point score against some posters instead of flat out condemning Harbhajan and leaving this topic, shows how little priorities racism has for desis compared to west.