Has Pakistan's standing in the world taken devastating hit due to PDM's crackdown?

Most Indians, Brits and Americans I have met in recent times seem to have a very dim view of what is happening in Pakistan.

Pakistan's fragile democracy which got a PR bump when Benazir came into power is now being looked at as a sham and built upon excessive violence against protesters.

==

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Senator David Shoebridge MP speaking up during the session of Foreign Affairs Defence and Trade Legislative Committee at the Parliament. Finally Australian Government started raising voice. Good job Overseas Pakistanis since no morality and rule of law left in Pakistan it’s our… <a href="https://t.co/93VyoAyzuV">pic.twitter.com/93VyoAyzuV</a></p>— Atif Khan (@akhan4pakistan) <a href="https://twitter.com/akhan4pakistan/status/1664657616960643075?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">June 2, 2023</a></blockquote>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">&#55358;&#56821;Today <a href="https://twitter.com/ImranKhanPTI?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@ImranKhanPTI</a> was set to join a call with senior Conservative Party colleagues when, without warning, Pakistan's telecoms authorities cut off internet connections to his compound. I’m grateful to <a href="https://twitter.com/sayedzbukhari?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@sayedzbukhari</a> for speaking to us. 1/2 <a href="https://t.co/85oDhKwNBO">pic.twitter.com/85oDhKwNBO</a></p>— Sara Britcliffe MP (@SarBritcliffeMP) <a href="https://twitter.com/SarBritcliffeMP/status/1661437553831018503?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">May 24, 2023</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Closely monitoring concerning developments in Pakistan. I support de-escalation efforts, & call for the immediate restoration of public access to internet services. These shutdowns dangerously suppress the Pakistani people's freedoms, including access to information. <a href="https://t.co/SG1T15cyi1">https://t.co/SG1T15cyi1</a></p>— Senate Foreign Relations Committee (@SFRCdems) <a href="https://twitter.com/SFRCdems/status/1656653362073354240?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">May 11, 2023</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

I am surprised to see these folks expressing concern because as far as the american media is concerned, there is no mention of it anywhere. then again that should not come as a surprise to anyone.

they love to talk about the atrocities on Ukrainians and the civil rights abuses in russia and china but nothing about pakistan.

So i dont know how much of this is being noticed outside and putting pakistan in bad light. Nearly not enough or as much as it should be, i reckon.

PDM's crackdown ? I think the starting point to resolving a problem is to identify it correct.

I am surprised to see these folks expressing concern because as far as the american media is concerned, there is no mention of it anywhere. then again that should not come as a surprise to anyone.

they love to talk about the atrocities on Ukrainians and the civil rights abuses in russia and china but nothing about pakistan.

So i dont know how much of this is being noticed outside and putting pakistan in bad light. Nearly not enough or as much as it should be, i reckon.

VOA does have stories on it and I can assure you majority American are angry by Ukraine support as well esp the conservatives.

In UK and Canada there is a huge Pakistani expat population that’s why it’s getting reported.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Congressman Greg Casar spoke about Imran Riaz Khan abduction and demanded his immediate release. Congressman further said <br>Imran Riaz or any journalist, regardless of their location, should be granted the essential freedom they deserve, as we recognize that freedom of the press… <a href="https://t.co/bd2qo0PVhm">pic.twitter.com/bd2qo0PVhm</a></p>— Atif Khan (@akhan4pakistan) <a href="https://twitter.com/akhan4pakistan/status/1665177132450947073?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">June 4, 2023</a></blockquote>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Today, as chair of the Canada-Pakistan Parliamentary Friendship Group, I sent a letter signed by 16 MPs to Prime Minister Trudeau regarding the situation in Pakistan. <a href="https://t.co/ne7lXGkIp7">pic.twitter.com/ne7lXGkIp7</a></p>— Salma Zahid (@SalmaZahid15) <a href="https://twitter.com/SalmaZahid15/status/1659670434462269441?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">May 19, 2023</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

How sad, when MPs from a foreign country show more concern about the dire situation in Pakistan than many Pakistanis themselves who are busy political scoring for their pathetic parties.

Is it PDM crackdown?

The entire world knows who wields the power and who is cracking down.

Unless there is courage to atleast name the ones behind this, how will Pakistanis even solve the issues.

:))) So PTI used to cry about Amreeka intervention and its fans used to call amreeka bad. Now Amreeka is no.1 if it mentions about PTI.

Ahhh typical story of PTI. They will run after anyone who praises tehm

Is it PDM crackdown?

The entire world knows who wields the power and who is cracking down.

Unless there is courage to atleast name the ones behind this, how will Pakistanis even solve the issues.

Pakistani Awam has been fear conditioned into silence and submission. They don't dare even mention the real villains.

Pakistan has zero standing and credibility in the world. It was a tool for America to use in Afghanistan and that's it.
The Bin Laden Raid lifted the facade in a duplicitous hybrid regime and current events just further enhance that reputation.
A banana republic to the core since it's inception.
A lot of lost human potential though as Pakistanis living overseas have shown that they are talented bunch who can thrive if conditions are right.

All it's done is confirmed what was already most people's perception anyway. The army is the real powerbroker in Pakistan, and as such it's not difficult to buy influence there as a foreign agent. Politicians are there to give the image of a functioning democracy.

IK was always going to be a pain for the Generals as he's not by nature a Yes Man. The Sharifs can be bought relatively easily, and baby Bhutto will just do what daddy tells him.

Pakistani Awam has been fear conditioned into silence and submission. They don't dare even mention the real villains.

Its sad. The pakistani people deserve much better leaders. I wish that May the Gods smile upon them.

You need to look at the bigger picture in the world politics

If you are not aware there is proxy war going between countries

You have USA and its allies ie UK France etc..

You have Russia and its allies ie Turkey China Iran etc..

The mess we have at the moment is because imran khan wanted to go Pro Russia & Anti America

The army and PDM wants to stay neutral and not get involved with the USA - Russia conflict

The reason why you hear the terms "doller army", "kya hum ghulam hai", "absolutely Not"etc..

Now you tell me why would the western world want to rescue imran khan from the mess he has created

Also why isn't imran khan taking a stance now why is he contacting western media etc..

The mess we have at the moment is because imran khan wanted to go Pro Russia & Anti America

The army and PDM wants to stay neutral and not get involved with the USA - Russia conflict

The reason why you hear the terms "doller army", "kya hum ghulam hai", "absolutely Not"etc..

Now you tell me why would the western world want to rescue imran khan from the mess he has created

Also why isn't imran khan taking a stance now why is he contacting western media etc..

I don't think you understand how politics works. The point of a democracy is to represent the people's wishes, not what is right or wrong according to the top brass in the army. Fore example, Brexit was not something David Cameron actually believed in as leader of the Conservative party, but once it was voted through, then the party had to deliver it, right or wrong.

PDM not only destroyed their politics but an ex military leader being heckled all around Europe is a testament to public reaction and wrath

That was my point as well. THe western media only talks about human rights abuses and violations when it serves their purpose.. or if its brought to their attention by expat concerned voters.

Everything else in your post is whataboutism.

Its sad. The pakistani people deserve much better leaders. I wish that May the Gods smile upon them.

Gods will shine upon Pakistan in future and their time in sun will come again.

They will have to fight for that though. Can't build a nation on handouts.

Regarding the topic of this thread, i don't think Pakistan standing in the world is something to be proud of. I don't think anyone looks at current situation and says it's something unique in their history. A country with 70+ years of history has had one single peaceful transfer of power. Not a single PM has ever completed their term. Association with terrorism, Bin Laden Saga, Afghan wars, Bangladeshi war for freedom and associated and alleged war crimes, inability to care for their own economy and repeated bailouts from superpowers and financial organizations, etc, etc has tainted their image and standing in the world. Multiple military interventions, crackdown on civil society, imprisonment and murdering intellectuals and political leaders have been part of their history for a long time. Most people response is

well anyway.jpg

Until their citizens are able to fight back nothing is going to change.

this I wholeheartedly agree. any ill will I have towards Pakistan stems from their leaders and army. Hopefully they will find a leader who will take them out of this mess.

Gods will shine upon Pakistan in future and their time in sun will come again.

They will have to fight for that though. Can't build a nation on handouts.

It took Indians 3 years of fight, countless jailed and tortured, 100s disappeared, to overthrow Indira Gandhi.

Here the leaders are quitting after staying 2 days in jail.