Have Pakistan finally found the right bowling combination in Tests?

ahmedwaqas92

Amir (Left Arm Pacer)
Hassan (Right Arm Pacer)
Abbas (Right Arm Medium Pacer)
Yasir (Leg Spinner)

I guess after a long time we can say Pakistan have four bowlers out of which none of them seem to be the weak link and we can literally go for an all out attack on a batting lineup. It's a shame we are not playing any test matches for sometime now as this attack is extremely exciting to watch.

All these bowlers are well above anything any bowling lineup we have managed in the Misbah era.

Discuss

Gotta agree with you, this bowling lineup is really good and it's nice to see the development of our bowling attack.

Wahab Riaz Mohammed Amir
Zulfiqar Babar Yasir Shah
Rahat Ali Hasan Ali
Imran Khan Mohammed Abbas

West Indies mar mar ke out hway hain and right bowling combination ban gaya

No. The bowlers bowled againt a very and inexperienced Windies batting lineup

Abbas will be a liability all over the world and we will all see that. I'd rather have Junaid Khan over him. He is the definition of pathetic. A few lucky, here and there wickets aren't enough to impress me.

Against better teams you need a 5th option as well. Few overs from Azhar here and there not good enough.

We're missing a Roston Chase-esque batting all-rounder who can double up as a 5th bowling option.

If we had such a player we'd have a left arm pacer, two right arm seamers, a leg spinner and an off-spinner.

Abbas will be a liability all over the world and we will all see that. I'd rather have Junaid Khan over him. He is the definition of pathetic. A few lucky, here and there wickets aren't enough to impress me.

I have my concerns as to whether Abbas can be effective on flatter pitches with the Kookaburra instead of the Dukes but of all the people you'd want over him - Junaid is not the answer.

Why dont we use the Duke ball?
But yeah tbh also got my concerns about how he will do with the Kookaburra and whether Amir will be swinging it as he did with the Duke. It finally looked like everything was falling in place for him, but the Kookaburra might spoil the party.

Hard to say right now. Abbas had promising signs but even Imran Khan showed promise early on. Also, Aamir has yet to really do much and hasn't really reached levels like he was before. All I can say is things have improved slightly but not a huge improvement yet. We are still overly dependent on spin. Before it was Akmal now it's Yasir. Once our pacemen start winning us games I might change my opinion.

Honestly speaking, I'm not a Junaid fan either. I just mentioned him to show my displeasure with Abbas. Abbas is a copy of Imran Khan Jr, just has a little more skill. If we played cricket in India, Pakistan and Bangladesh - he would be my first pick but what we fail to understand is that we aren't going to play in these conditions. Another reason why I'm shocked at why PCB refused to play in BD.

Abbas would prove to be lethal in Sub Continental conditions but with absolutely no cricket being played there, he is a liability. As for UAE, it is a graveyard for any type of fast bowler. I legitimately feel bad for these young blokes like Hasan Ali and Amir running in and out on those terrible grounds with nothing in the pitches in the UAE heat, which is worse than anything I've ever seen.

Abbas moves the ball both ways of the seam and in the air and can bowl yorkers.
What is Junaid capable of besides chucking?

Like I said earlier, I'm not necessarily rooting for Junaid to be in the team, my mention of him shows my disgust for Abbas. Nothing personal against him but he doesn't fit our requirements at the moment.

Amir (Left Arm Pacer)
Hassan (Right Arm Pacer)
Yasir (Leg Spinner)

I guess after a long time we can say Pakistan have four bowlers out of which none of them seem to be the weak link and we can literally go for an all out attack on a batting lineup. It's a shame we are not playing any test matches for sometime now as this attack is extremely exciting to watch.

All these bowlers are well above anything any bowling lineup we have managed in the Misbah era.

Discuss

Lacking an out and out fast bowler in there, although Hasan and Amir are pretty close. But would much rather go with quality than wild pace Wahab style. A finger spinner option would have been good on a turning wicket as well.

Don't you think the Windies pitches were flat?!

Honestly speaking, I'm not a Junaid fan either. I just mentioned him to show my displeasure with Abbas. Abbas is a copy of Imran Khan Jr, just has a little more skill. If we played cricket in India, Pakistan and Bangladesh - he would be my first pick but what we fail to understand is that we aren't going to play in these conditions. Another reason why I'm shocked at why PCB refused to play in BD.

Abbas would prove to be lethal in Sub Continental conditions but with absolutely no cricket being played there, he is a liability. As for UAE, it is a graveyard for any type of fast bowler. I legitimately feel bad for these young blokes like Hasan Ali and Amir running in and out on those terrible grounds with nothing in the pitches in the UAE heat, which is worse than anything I've ever seen.

I see the reasoning but not the evidence. Imran Khan did very well in the UAE, against all manner of opposition. I think you need to work on your irrational dislikes.

Amir (Left Arm Pacer)
Hassan (Right Arm Pacer)
Yasir (Leg Spinner)

Discuss

I like this bowling attack. InshaAllah it will be potent bowling attack in all conditions.

1. Amir Left Arm Fast Medium

2. Abass Right Arm Medium Fast

3. Hasan Right Arm Fast Medium

4. Yasir Legspinner.

Another important question is how Abass & Hasan got selected ?

Abass :

For two years he topped FC charts by a huge margin and forced Selectors to pick him. Crashed their doors to be honest. No Credit to eyes of Selectors.

Hasan :

Impressed in PSL, got two fivefers and one fourfers in Odi Cricket. Picked up his pace slightly and got selected on basis of his PSL T20 and Odi's performances. Not much role of selectors. No role of FC Cricket or FC record etc.

Shadab Khan got picked for Odi's & T20's due to PSL only. Performed very well in International Cricket. Got huge compliments and recommendations for Test Call up from Ian Bishop, Dean Jones, Wasim Akram & Rameez along with hundred thousand fans viewers, team management backing and got picked. No Kamaal of Selectors or their Eye. Sadly this decision backfired.

Hasan, Abass & Shadab were all forced selections. Thankfully two paid off quite well especially Abass.

It's good than Amir, Yasir & Hasan can bat abit.

West Indies mar mar ke out hway hain and right bowling combination ban gaya

Exactly my thought... pooray din mein 9 wicketien li nahi ja rahi theen aur right bowling combo LMAO

Abbas is good but nothing spectacular. Same with Hasan. They both will find it harder against better opposition. We have two main weapons only Shah and Amir.

Dude you can't have 4 'weapons' in one single bowling attack yar......If such was the case everyone would be churning out WIs level ATG bowling attacks. Even the invincible Aussie side had Warne and Mcgrath who were the main architects of the bowling attack while Lee / Kasprovich / Gillespie / Andy Bichle / Stuart Mcgill all played the supporting role.

In our lineup Shah is the main trump card we have and the other main bowlers can be defined roles as main or supporting based on whichever track we have to play on....

You guys need to put aside the Misbah hatred for a bit and look at these boys objectively. Or is it that you would want a bowling attack of:

WAHAB , RAHAT, IMRAN KHAN JR & JUNAID ??????????

I like this bowling attack. InshaAllah it will be potent bowling attack in all conditions.

1. Amir Left Arm Fast Medium

2. Abass Right Arm Medium Fast

3. Hasan Right Arm Fast Medium

4. Yasir Legspinner.

Another important question is how Abass & Hasan got selected ?

Abass :

For two years he topped FC charts by a huge margin and forced Selectors to pick him. Crashed their doors to be honest. No Credit to eyes of Selectors.

Hasan :

Impressed in PSL, got two fivefers and one fourfers in Odi Cricket. Picked up his pace slightly and got selected on basis of his PSL T20 and Odi's performances. Not much role of selectors. No role of FC Cricket or FC record etc.

Shadab Khan got picked for Odi's & T20's due to PSL only. Performed very well in International Cricket. Got huge compliments and recommendations for Test Call up from Ian Bishop, Dean Jones, Wasim Akram & Rameez along with hundred thousand fans viewers, team management backing and got picked. No Kamaal of Selectors or their Eye. Sadly this decision backfired.

Hasan, Abass & Shadab were all forced selections. Thankfully two paid off quite well especially Abass.

It's good than Amir, Yasir & Hasan can bat abit.

This is the kind of result we will get if we start selecting our players based on merits rather than nepotism and which coaching staff likes or dislikes any particular player (I hope you know what I am talking about)

Shadab was not at fault there, he just didn't have enough experience to react to test match cricket and it is completely understandable.

Abbas and Hassan are literally revelations and inshallah they will in future script many wins for Pakistan along with Amir and Yasir.

Lacking an out and out fast bowler in there, although Hasan and Amir are pretty close. But would much rather go with quality than wild pace Wahab style. A finger spinner option would have been good on a turning wicket as well.

If I am not too mistaken I believe we are genuinely lacking an out and out quick even at the domestic level, so to think that somebody is being held behind who bowls quicker than these lot would be an incorrect chain of thought. The fastest in Pakistan undoubtedly is Wahab however, he completely lacks a bowling brain and is someone who needs to be give a plan from A-Z otherwise his bowling will literally fall apart mid game.
[MENTION=138980]TalentSpotterPk[/MENTION] might know a few lads who could be coming through the ranks that might rival Wahab in speed but as far as I know off right now there seems to be nobody. :(

Dude you can't have 4 'weapons' in one single bowling attack yar......If such was the case everyone would be churning out WIs level ATG bowling attacks. Even the invincible Aussie side had Warne and Mcgrath who were the main architects of the bowling attack while Lee / Kasprovich / Gillespie / Andy Bichle / Stuart Mcgill all played the supporting role.

In our lineup Shah is the main trump card we have and the other main bowlers can be defined roles as main or supporting based on whichever track we have to play on....

You guys need to put aside the Misbah hatred for a bit and look at these boys objectively. Or is it that you would want a bowling attack of:

WAHAB , RAHAT, IMRAN KHAN JR & JUNAID ??????????

I think Hasan is really talented and has a good skillset which most importantly he seems to be improving upon.

However with Abbas I get the sense that one day he will get taken to the cleaners once he faces a strong batting lineup. If he was in Aus tour I shudder to think Warner and Smith would have manhandled him.

Amir for his hype doesnt deliver the goods. He needs to take the strike role but does the job of a supporting cast

Yasir is only one who comes up trumps. Yes people will point to his share of phaintys but thats with every leg spinner due to the nature of their bowling.

So overall its not a great attack

I guess you can argue that from the other heroes such s Rahat, IK jr, Wahab who inhabit our bowling stocks, this current one has the most potential to develop as a unit.

I think Hasan is really talented and has a good skillset which most importantly he seems to be improving upon.

However with Abbas I get the sense that one day he will get taken to the cleaners once he faces a strong batting lineup. If he was in Aus tour I shudder to think Warner and Smith would have manhandled him.

Amir for his hype doesnt deliver the goods. He needs to take the strike role but does the job of a supporting cast

Yasir is only one who comes up trumps. Yes people will point to his share of phaintys but thats with every leg spinner due to the nature of their bowling.

So overall its not a great attack

I guess you can argue that from the other heroes such s Rahat, IK jr, Wahab who inhabit our bowling stocks, this current one has the most potential to develop as a unit.

This type of thinking will never really let us develop a good bowling unit if we bash people on hypothetical scenarios. I swear if Shahid Nazir was playing in this era the dude would probably been dropped after his first ever test match.

We can't criticize Abbas for not making it look like he was an ATG, and the lad still managed a five-fer in his first test tour. If this is not promising then I don't really know what is tbh.

Standards have gone really low, if we are satisfied with bowling combination with not even one fast bowler...If we go by, this is the best we have, maybe OK, but far from satisfying...Yasir Shah is the only bowler ATM in test team who wins you matches...Amir has gone from fast to medium pacer, he is just a container, not wicket taker, that is role of tier 2/3 bowlers not main bowler...I don't think he is fit enough to play test cricket, he can only bowl one spell, we have to seriously look into this, should we have fully fit Amir for LOIs Or half fit in all formats?? - Test Cricket demand exception level of fitness and body strength for fast bowler, he does not have that yet. He has become medium pacer in test cricket, after first test(in every series), every thing goes down, his speed, intensity, length, he does not run hard. Fast bowling is 50% about running hard and bowling with intensity. He will be lost as bowler, if continue this path...

Abbas is no HW to get excited about, but he is definitely better than Imran, Rahat types. We will see what he does with Kokabora ball on flat wickets, Duke is seamer friendly ball...His control was much better than Rahat/Imran/Sohail last year. He could do well in CT with new ball, as conditions will be seamer friendly in early summer, we have made a mistake of not taking new ball bowler like him with us...

Hasan is developing well, he tries to bowls and runs hard even in test, which is good to see after long time, bowler is actually making an effort...His height will end up capping his growth, if he was tall, he had potential to be likes of Cumins/Rabada/Strac(Those guys are the bench mark of fast bowling ATM), but at 5'9" its very hard to reach that level. But he has right attitude and works on his game...

As I said Cumins/Rabada/Strac are bench mark of fast bowling, until we find bowlers(atleast one) of that quality, fitness(guys who can keep up the pace in multiple spells and matches), we are going nowhere in International Cricket. Unfortunately our domestic Cricket nor the home conditions(UAE) are not designed to produce fast bowlers, this is the biggest misstep we have taken in last decade or so, if we continue this path, Cricket will be history like Hockey. You got to focus on sole of the sport, first and far most...Sole of Cricket is bowling fast and scoring fast(both are produced along side each other), all these medium pacers, spin basher batsmen and million of spinners are side show, real meat is missing big time :acp:

This type of thinking will never really let us develop a good bowling unit if we bash people on hypothetical scenarios. I swear if Shahid Nazir was playing in this era the dude would probably been dropped after his first ever test match.

We can't criticize Abbas for not making it look like he was an ATG, and the lad still managed a five-fer in his first test tour. If this is not promising then I don't really know what is tbh.

obv not asking for him to be dropped

who knows he may develop even more and look the part

but i am checking my expectations from him

Markhor;9244389[B said:
]We're missing a Roston Chase-esque batting all-rounder who can double up as a 5th bowling option[/B].

If we had such a player we'd have a left arm pacer, two right arm seamers, a leg spinner and an off-spinner.

ha! we always have the Professor to fall back on

The real Test will come against Top teams.

Even Ishant Sharma bullies WI whenever he plays against them.

When Pace bowlers start performing on Aus/Eng/SA pitches especially after Day-1, you know you have a good bowling attack.

In the past 5 years which ever team toured Aus got massacred because the touring team bowlers from Subcontinent could not get any response from Aus pitches while Aus bowlers could play tricks on the same pitches.

Amir is overrated - he is simply decent, neither poor nor outstanding. He will be economical most of the times but not penetrative enough to take enough wickets. Good batsmen can see him off, and he doesn't have the pace and more importantly, the skill to force the issue.

Even in the last series he started off with a 6-fer, but he was back to his innocuous self once the WI batsmen adjusted him against him. Simply a step below the best pacers in the world i.e. Starc, Rabada, Anderson, Boult, Broad, Hazlewood etc. He is more than a year into his comeback and we have seen both his best and his worst. It is time for people to accept the reality that he is not the bowler they thought he was, and it is time to stop making excuses. That will automatically happen if we lower our expectations, and I have personally reached that stage now.

Abbas is another bowler who is neither exceptional nor poor. He will give you a 6/10 type performance day in day out, without making much of an impact. However, he is certainly better than Rahat and Imran. As far as Wahab is concerned, he is also a 6/10 type performer but unlike Abbas, he will be 8/10 one day and 4/10 the next, so the net effect/impact is pretty much the same. Unlike Wahab, Abbas won't bowl match defining spells but he won't bowl Pakistan out of the game every now and then either.

Hasan Ali certainly has the most potential out of all our pace bowlers, but he is a rookie at Test level for now. He bowled an outstanding spell with the old ball the other day, but it won't yield him many wickets if he doesn't increase his pace. I don't agree that he is too short for Test cricket, because with a little tweaking, he is capable of leading this attack.

As far as Yasir is concerned, he is by far our best bowler and the only match-winner in the team right now. However, he is also a bit of a match-loser. If the conditions suit him, he will bowl you to a victory 9/10 times provided that he has runs to play with. However, if the conditions don't suit him, he is almost equally likely to get hammered like there is no tomorrow. Since his debut, Pakistan have only drawn two matches match in which Yasir has played, the first Test in Bangladesh and the second Test vs New Zealand in the UAE, which is a fair reflection of the performance of our stock bowler.

In almost all the matches that we have won, he has been pretty much our best player, and in all the matches that we have lost, he has mostly been one of our worst -if not the worst - player(s).

In summary, it is a middling attack which will do well in favorable conditions because of Yasir, and it will get thrashed in unfavorable conditions again because of Yasir and the others. Hence, it is not an 'ideal' attack and we are setting ourselves up for disappointment as usual with such lofty statements.

We are now back at that familiar stage where everything about Pakistan cricket is a bed of roses, because all it takes is a win/draw against a quality opposition and a win against a weak opposition for everything to fall in place.

Suddenly, the bowling attack has become ideal, and the aggressive captaincy of Sarfraz as well as the flamboyant batting of the fresh replacements of Younis and Misbah will take this team to new heights. Now, all it is going to take is one thrashing for us to come down to earth. We were at the same stage last Oct/Nov before we toured Australia and New Zealand, but unfortunately this time, our delusions will linger a little longer because we are not facing any quality team outside our comfort zone any time soon.

Its an attack which is still very raw and green interms of experience overall but give if a while to blossom and it could form a very good unit and the longer we keep rubbish like rahat, zulfi etc.. away from the sqaud and final 11 the better.

We are now back at that familiar stage where everything about Pakistan cricket is a bed of roses, because all it takes is a win/draw against a quality opposition and a win against a weak opposition for everything to fall in place.

Suddenly, the bowling attack has become ideal, and the aggressive captaincy of Sarfraz as well as the flamboyant batting of the fresh replacements of Younis and Misbah will take this team to new heights. Now, all it is going to take is one thrashing for us to come down to earth. We were at the same stage last Oct/Nov before we toured Australia and New Zealand, but unfortunately this time, our delusions will linger a little longer because we are not facing any quality team outside our comfort zone any time soon.

Seriously Mamoon this is the kind of rubbish that takes away any credibility from whatever decent argument you came up with in your previous posts. I mean what is the point of supporting a team if all that we are expected to do is to soak ourselves in ridicule and loath day in day out in self pity ????

Yes this bowling attack isn't a world beater or even close to it, but clearly this lineup has potential to be extremely balanced for an extended period of time. Also I am not too sure where did you get the idea or who are you quoting when you reiterate the word 'ideal' as neither in the OP nor in the thread title is it anywhere mentioned.

You guys seriously need to look at the bowlers we've had over the last 7 years (minus Yasir) and then compare to where we are standing right now, with Abbas and Hasan. It is a massive difference in terms of quality and potential and this attack has all the necessary tools which can be used to develop a competitive bowling unit.

still lack a world class pacer overall and that all rounder to give us balance. Yasir is bowled into the ground at times bowling 70-80 overs a Test which eventually will catch up with him. Lets be honest WI are a bang average side. We should see how the likes of Abbas and Hasan Ali go against better players of pace. Abbas is a solid bowler but whether he cam trouble the better teams im not sure. Hasan id say has more talent but needs more pace. While Amir is decent but thats it. Attack is still way too reliant on Yasir. When he has a bad day or the conditions dont suit him then this attack will still struggle.

Amir is overrated - he is simply decent, neither poor nor outstanding. He will be economical most of the times but not penetrative enough to take enough wickets. Good batsmen can see him off, and he doesn't have the pace and more importantly, the skill to force the issue.

Even in the last series he started off with a 6-fer, but he was back to his innocuous self once the WI batsmen adjusted him against him. Simply a step below the best pacers in the world i.e. Starc, Rabada, Anderson, Boult, Broad, Hazlewood etc. He is more than a year into his comeback and we have seen both his best and his worst. It is time for people to accept the reality that he is not the bowler they thought he was, and it is time to stop making excuses. That will automatically happen if we lower our expectations, and I have personally reached that stage now.

Abbas is another bowler who is neither exceptional nor poor. He will give you a 6/10 type performance day in day out, without making much of an impact. However, he is certainly better than Rahat and Imran. As far as Wahab is concerned, he is also a 6/10 type performer but unlike Abbas, he will be 8/10 one day and 4/10 the next, so the net effect/impact is pretty much the same. Unlike Wahab, Abbas won't bowl match defining spells but he won't bowl Pakistan out of the game every now and then either.

Hasan Ali certainly has the most potential out of all our pace bowlers, but he is a rookie at Test level for now. He bowled an outstanding spell with the old ball the other day, but it won't yield him many wickets if he doesn't increase his pace. I don't agree that he is too short for Test cricket, because with a little tweaking, he is capable of leading this attack.

As far as Yasir is concerned, he is by far our best bowler and the only match-winner in the team right now. However, he is also a bit of a match-loser. If the conditions suit him, he will bowl you to a victory 9/10 times provided that he has runs to play with. However, if the conditions don't suit him, he is almost equally likely to get hammered like there is no tomorrow. Since his debut, Pakistan have only drawn two matches match in which Yasir has played, the first Test in Bangladesh and the second Test vs New Zealand in the UAE, which is a fair reflection of the performance of our stock bowler.

In almost all the matches that we have won, he has been pretty much our best player, and in all the matches that we have lost, he has mostly been one of our worst -if not the worst - player(s).

In summary, it is a middling attack which will do well in favorable conditions because of Yasir, and it will get thrashed in unfavorable conditions again because of Yasir and the others. Hence, it is not an 'ideal' attack and we are setting ourselves up for disappointment as usual with such lofty statements.

I think few of us are as satisfied with this attack as you make you. I largely agree on your assessment of Amir. But what you write about Abbas bears literally no relation to what we saw on TV a few days ago. Rather reminiscent of your early slating of Yasir. Abbas bowled intelligent, skillful and match defining spells in the last Test, turning a dull-fest into a match that could be won. He took a 5 fer. He averaged 19 for the 3 series, in which he also took a 4 fer, and 15 wickets overall. And nothing he suggests he could not do far better on slightly more helpful pitches. Regardless of where he has bowled, Wahab never had a series that good and never will. 8/10 one day and 4/10 the other is flattering him. He's had only two Tests in his entire career when he deserved an 8/10.

You are being your own strawman here. Who else has claimed this?

No, they haven't. We need a tall seamer and Yamin/Talat at 6.

What are the options for tall seamer?

I believe we are at a very good position in terms of pacers, though we do need a good allrounder and an able partner to Yasir for spinning conditions.

But the combination of Amir-Abbas-Hasan is not a bad one at all

I believe we are at a very good position in terms of pacers, though we do need a good allrounder and an able partner to Yasir for spinning conditions.

when talking about tall pacers only Ehsan Adil and Zia ul Haq come to mind. Any other bloke coming through the ranks that's as tall as these two ?? [MENTION=138980]TalentSpotterPk[/MENTION] bro how tall is Irfranullah ?? can he be considered tall enough ??

Yes tall enough. Between 6'4 to 6'6 but physically very very weak until now unfortunately.

Sameen Gul is 6'3. Bilal Shah is 6'1. Majid Ali is 6'3. Waqar Ahmed is 6'4. Irfan jnr is 6'5.

Sadaf is a beanpole. 1.96 to Ehsan's 1.93

Amir, Hasan, Irfan is my test attack.

And my bowling pool is Amir, Hasan, Irfan, Ehtisham, Ghulam, Bashir, Zahid, Bilal Shah. They're the best prospects in the country and should be in the international(any format) and A teams.

In UAE and in Asian conditions? No, I don't think so. Yasir and another spinner (Asghar maybe) is better suited than a 3 pacer attack IMO.

Amir, Hasan, Irfan is my test attack.

And my bowling pool is Amir, Hasan, Irfan, Ehtisham, Ghulam, Bashir, Zahid, Bilal Shah. They're the best prospects in the country and should be in the international(any format) and A teams.

Irfan doesn't seem like test standard yet. Ghulam has also been very ordinary. Too expensive.

With Amir skill is less of an issue. In last two series, he was good in first innings of first test (Against AUS he was penetrative in GABBA, here against WI too).

Real issue is his pace and fitness. Strac was not so effective when he was bowling at 138/140 Avg pace in all formats. But in 2/3 years he jacked up his pace to 146/148 Avg, little less was changed in his skill set. His yorkers become lot more effective, he was able to reverse ball more than anybody else, he become world class...

Amir does not even look fit most of the time, not running hard. He has become more of a medium pacer, specially in last test of both AUS and WI series. Without cranking up his pace to 145 Avg, he will go nowhere in any format... Just bowling more overs is not going to get him to that pace, he is forcing himself in test team, load of 3 formats is not working at all for him... Pakistani team would continue to play him, since even pedestrian Amir is better than most of the trundler lot we got, but this is not helping him. Fast bowlers are not suppose to be Mazdoor types, which he has become now. When he can crank avg pace of 145+ in ODIs, start reversing regularly, then he can or should think about returning to test...

Irfan doesn't seem like test standard yet. Ghulam has also been very ordinary. Too expensive.

Based on what?

Who was the best pacer in Pakistan Cup?

I listed a pool of players. It does not mean they're all ready yet hence why I listed the A team because that's where they will develop. Bashir, Irfan, Sultan are the closest.

Too much inexperience in line up. When they will face relatively better batting line up on better batting paradise pitches they will be exposed. Time will tell how much speedy learner they were.

We defeated West Indies (the won one test :facepalm:) and we found the right combination already.. :14:

It is not as good as Australia's or NZ's but definitely on par with SA and better than England and India.