Help With New GM Pads + Gloves

shirazi_r

I've been on the hunt for a new set of pads and gloves and I've finally settled on a set. The GM 909 D3o gloves and pads look like they offer what I want and are still affordable.

Just wondering if anyone had any opinions/experience with these pads and gloves. I'm quite thin so my current batting pads feel to wide at the knees, will this be a problem with these pads?

909_d3o_pad.jpg

909_d3o_gloves.jpg

Asalamalakium

First of all, I must applaud your selection :14: Indeed a very good choice and selection I must say.

I have GM Original Limited Edition Pads and Gloves, they are not like this but I can still shed light as they fitting is pretty much the same.

The work done on GM pads and gloves is impeccable. I have tried many brands softs and I have come to a conclusion that the fitting of the pads English pads offer is the best. They fit the best!

I haven't tried these pads nor gloves but have seen these pads and although they look bulky but they fit very well! Since the pads have knee bolster the fitting from the knee area would be very good.

Not sure if I had answered your question(s) but if you have anymore question(s) please don't hesitate to ask me.

Also do you mind if I ask where are you looking to buy them?

JazakAllah Khari

Wsalam Cover Drive. Really appreciate the prompt response.

Sounds like the pads might just work for me, only issue I have with my current pads (don't even ask what they are) is that when I run the knees seem to rub together which one can imagine is a major **** off.

As for where I'm buying the pads, www.cricmart.com seemed like a decent place to buy as I spoke to the owner and he seemed quite friendly and even offered me a discount (to which I happily obliged :) )

The pads are running me about $64 US dollars and the gloves $40.

I've got the similar Original Teknik Lites and have no real trouble running in them. Great pair of pads, been hit a few times by heavy deliveries from a Sidearm Pro and didn't feel a thing.

Methinks these pads are virtually the same in design as mine only with PVC facing instead of PU and obviously has the awesome d3o in the knee roll.

Wsalam Cover Drive. Really appreciate the prompt response.

Sounds like the pads might just work for me, only issue I have with my current pads (don't even ask what they are) is that when I run the knees seem to rub together which one can imagine is a major **** off.

As for where I'm buying the pads, www.cricmart.com seemed like a decent place to buy as I spoke to the owner and he seemed quite friendly and even offered me a discount (to which I happily obliged :) )

The pads are running me about $64 US dollars and the gloves $40.

No worries bro, my pleasure.

Do you mind if I ask which pads do you currently use?

I have Bubber Sher and CA 12000 Plus pads as well and the problem with them is same as the one you have, from knee area they collide each other. At the moment we are having indoors so you really aren't running, however, when I play front foot stroke the pads do collide with each other so it is quite frustrating.

I think my old clubmate have purchased stuff from cricmart and have been better off. More importantly, they are in US so shipping won't be very steep.

Not a bad price I would say, looks good to me.

Also are you in Toronto?

I've got the similar Original Teknik Lites and have no real trouble running in them. Great pair of pads, been hit a few times by heavy deliveries from a Sidearm Pro and didn't feel a thing.

Methinks these pads are virtually the same in design as mine only with PVC facing instead of PU and obviously has the awesome d3o in the knee roll.

Thank Sami! Do you think the PU facing is any better than the PVC though?

No worries bro, my pleasure.

Do you mind if I ask which pads do you currently use?

I have Bubber Sher and CA 12000 Plus pads as well and the problem with them is same as the one you have, from knee area they collide each other. At the moment we are having indoors so you really aren't running, however, when I play front foot stroke the pads do collide with each other so it is quite frustrating.

I think my old clubmate have purchased stuff from cricmart and have been better off. More importantly, they are in US so shipping won't be very steep.

Not a bad price I would say, looks good to me.

Also are you in Toronto?

Yes, I'm in Toronto.

Currently I'm using Ihsan Olympic pads which are probably not the best seeing as there are a couple of lads on my team who touch about 80mph.

As for Cricmart, you're right. The shipping is only about $20 which beats the heck out of the $45 shipping I paid for a single bat coming in from the UK.

Yes, I'm in Toronto.

Currently I'm using Ihsan Olympic pads which are probably not the best seeing as there are a couple of lads on my team who touch about 80mph.

As for Cricmart, you're right. The shipping is only about $20 which beats the heck out of the $45 shipping I paid for a single bat coming in from the UK.

909 will basically protect upto 80 mph of the impact if there is anything above that lets say 90 mph then they might not be protective and for that you might need to opt out for Original ones which offer test protection. But I believe that at the level we play these club type pads are sufficient plus these have D30 which gets stronger as the ball hits the pads.

Yup, lets hope they don't do anything in the customs.

Sorry for asking too many questions but what pads have you got?

Cover Drive, I've got Ihsan Olympic pads at the moment as well as Ihsan Hi-Lux gloves. My father bought them a couple of years ago from Pakistan but I haven't used them for more than 15-20 games. The protection seems decent as it doesn't hurt much to get hit on the pads but everything else about them seems a bit lackluster.

As for the gloves, they seem to be a cheaply coated as they're wearing away without taking much abuse. Coupled with the lack of separation in the fingers, they're quite annoying.

Another question if I may. Will the facing on GM pads, either PVC or PU scratch and wear away like these ones? (Apologies for all the dumb questions, this is my first foray into quality cricket equipment)

Here's a photo I just snapped:

kit.jpg

Cover Drive, I've got Ihsan Olympic pads at the moment as well as Ihsan Hi-Lux gloves. My father bought them a couple of years ago from Pakistan but I haven't used them for more than 15-20 games. The protection seems decent as it doesn't hurt much to get hit on the pads but everything else about them seems a bit lackluster.

As for the gloves, they seem to be a cheaply coated as they're wearing away without taking much abuse. Coupled with the lack of separation in the fingers, they're quite annoying.

Another question if I may. Will the facing on GM pads, either PVC or PU scratch and wear away like these ones? (Apologies for all the dumb questions, this is my first foray into quality cricket equipment)

Here's a photo I just snapped:

kit.jpg

Ah okay, thanks for the explanation.

Arre bhai, don't worry ask whatever you wish to ask no worries mate :)!

To be honest, I really don't know the different between PVC or PU, however, I can assure you that the facing on those GM pads is different than the Ihsan ones. Those GM pads have a very good leather at the facing and it is quite easy to clean the ball marks on them.

Please let me know if I didn't answer your question appropriately and if you have anymore questions.

Sounds good! Seems like I scored a pretty good deal on a pretty good pair of pads. To be honest, my heart was set on the Kookaburra Beast or Puma Iridium pads but the d30 909's seem to be the best in terms of bang for the buck.

Thanks a lot for the help CD and Sami!

Nahh Kookaburra Beast or Puma Iridium pads don't even come close to 909 D30 :)

No worries bhai, it would be great if you post pictures or write a review of them once you order them. I'm sure your pictures/review can benefit others :)

Bro, I have tried on GM d30 909 pads and gloves. The pads are good light, soft, comfortable and wrap around the leg well. The gloves are very poor quality, 2 bulky & chunky,feel very stiff and hard when u wear them.
I would advise you 2 get different gloves like GM original or 808 or even 606 are better then GM d30 909.

Bro, I have tried on GM d30 909 pads and gloves. The pads are good light, soft, comfortable and wrap around the leg well. The gloves are very poor quality, 2 bulky & chunky,feel very stiff and hard when u wear them.
I would advise you 2 get different gloves like GM original or 808 or even 606 are better then GM d30 909.

Would that I could Majid but the deal has been sealed. I'm sure I won't complain too much seeing as I'm not quite stepping down from Original LEs. Conversely, if they're that bad I'll exchange them for another pair.