How did Pakistan's economy perform during Imran Khan's era?

Imran Khan is so desperate they are raising 1 Billion Dollars through Islamic Bond at record 7.95 % Interest rate. Previous regimes has rates of 5.95 and 6.75 respectively. Yet we are led to believe that record exports are happening and economy is booming.
A lie has no legs, no matter how many times you try to repeat it.

What does raising funds have to do with rising exports?

Why does it matter to a Hindutva keyboard warrior what Pakistan is doing?

Pakistan's exports are well on their way to be the highest ever in Pakistan's history.

#Modern Industry [MENTION=155472]LaLoco[/MENTION]

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">If anyone is considering PCB manufacturing in Pakistan contact Yousaf. <a href="https://t.co/cu19GZYLPi">https://t.co/cu19GZYLPi</a></p>— Economy of Pakistan (@Pakistanomy) <a href="https://twitter.com/Pakistanomy/status/1486690011248480258?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">January 27, 2022</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Lack of modern industries really hurting us

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Growth in apparel exports to US for the year 2021:<br><br>����: 69.14%<br>����: 33.10%<br>����: 28.04%<br><br>Growth in apparel exports to EU for the year 2021: <br><br>����: 27.89%<br>����: 22.23%<br>����: 13.30%<br><br>Source: EuroStat</p>— South Asia Index (@SouthAsiaIndex) <a href="https://twitter.com/SouthAsiaIndex/status/1486736010134401030?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">January 27, 2022</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

I'm glad we are past the foreign imposed governments of Nawaz and Zardari, and finally on the right track. It may take a decade for us to have some semblance of economic wellbeing. I think by 2030, we should target a GDP of around $750b, so close to twice what it is now, achievable with sustained growth of 5-7% in this decade. If we stop breeding like rabbits and our pop hits 250 million in 2030 then per capita could be $3000.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">I appreciate President & CEO of Ary Digital Network Salman Iqbal for responding to my call & raising salaries of employees. I am appealing to other companies who have made record profits during the past year to also raise salaries of their employees. <a href="https://t.co/ss9tGjFWxA">pic.twitter.com/ss9tGjFWxA</a></p>— Imran Khan (@ImranKhanPTI) <a href="https://twitter.com/ImranKhanPTI/status/1487063428845895684?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">January 28, 2022</a></blockquote>

#Modern Industry... Samsung S21 Made in Pakistan

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="tr" dir="ltr">Made in Pakistan <a href="https://t.co/zuIygLp0tN">pic.twitter.com/zuIygLp0tN</a></p>— Dr. Shahbaz GiLL (@SHABAZGIL) <a href="https://twitter.com/SHABAZGIL/status/1486997612611973122?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">January 28, 2022</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Lack of modern industries really hurting us

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Growth in apparel exports to US for the year 2021:<br><br>����: 69.14%<br>����: 33.10%<br>����: 28.04%<br><br>Growth in apparel exports to EU for the year 2021: <br><br>����: 27.89%<br>����: 22.23%<br>����: 13.30%<br><br>Source: EuroStat</p>— South Asia Index (@SouthAsiaIndex) <a href="https://twitter.com/SouthAsiaIndex/status/1486736010134401030?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">January 27, 2022</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

I'm glad we are past the foreign imposed governments of Nawaz and Zardari, and finally on the right track. It may take a decade for us to have some semblance of economic wellbeing. I think by 2030, we should target a GDP of around $750b, so close to twice what it is now, achievable with sustained growth of 5-7% in this decade. If we stop breeding like rabbits and our pop hits 250 million in 2030 then per capita could be $3000.

Slow gradual progress, it will happen because it is already happening.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-partner="tweetdeck"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">I appreciate Serene Air's AVM Safdar(R) for responding to my call & announcing pay rise of 44% for low paid employees & 15-25% for other employees. I urge the top 100 corporations in Pak, who made record profits of Rs.950 bn in the last yr, to also raise their employees salaries.</p>— Imran Khan (@ImranKhanPTI) <a href="https://twitter.com/ImranKhanPTI/status/1487367712024440834?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">January 29, 2022</a></blockquote>

If companies do well, which they are with close to 1 trillion in profit than workers need to be sharing the success. PK has weak Unions and Worker reps and they rely totally on the goodwill of employers for pay hikes. Well done IK for praising good employers- i am sure ARY done the same last week.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">I appreciate GO petroleum for responding to my call & agreeing to give a 50% salary increase to their employees. I am urging other companies to follow this example.</p>— Imran Khan (@ImranKhanPTI) <a href="https://twitter.com/ImranKhanPTI/status/1487704046093930497?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">January 30, 2022</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

I suggest that you do. The Hindutuva are there in numbers. I don't blame them, they hate PK, but Dawn is a disgrace.

As you wrote, visiting the Dawn website is making people "paraplectic".

Aren't you a school teacher? If I was a parent, I would be apoplectic at such school teachers.
[MENTION=131701]Mamoon[/MENTION]

As you wrote, visiting the Dawn website is making people "paraplectic".

Aren't you a school teacher? If I was a parent, I would be apoplectic at such school teachers.

[MENTION=131701]Mamoon[/MENTION]

I am a school teacher and good at that. And whenever I see any news on PK( on PK websites) I see every loser from the Hindutuva on there. Why is that? Do you guys not have any sites of your own?

Imran Khan is so desperate they are raising 1 Billion Dollars through Islamic Bond at record 7.95 % Interest rate. Previous regimes has rates of 5.95 and 6.75 respectively. Yet we are led to believe that record exports are happening and economy is booming.
A lie has no legs, no matter how many times you try to repeat it.

Generally posters without an understanding of modern economies get excited about growth in textile exports. After the PKR lost 35% of its value against the USD, Pakistani textile exporters were able to quote lower prices in USD to Western textile importers and not surprisingly some textile exports moved from India, Bangladesh etc. to Pakistan.

However, textiles are a low-tech slim-margin cut-throat industry, and their growth can only make a marginal difference to the economy of a country.

A $10 billion to $20 billion addition to textiles will not do much. And textiles are an industry that will never become $60 billion export industry for Pakistan from the current $30 billion.

Medium-tech medium-margin is what, for example Indonesia does. I had written earlier "You can see that exports from modern industries (Iron, steel: $10.8 billion (6.6%), Electrical machinery, equipment: $9.2 billion (5.7%), Vehicles: $6.6 billion (4%), and Machinery including computers: $5.2 billion (3.2%)) total $31.8 billion, while for Pakistan it is $0.38 B (Optical, technical, medical apparatus: $380.5 million (1.7%))."

Note that textiles don't appear in Indonesia's top exports.

China gave up on textiles long ago, heck textiles have even disappeared from India's top exports!

Screen Shot 2022-01-30 at 11.56.15 PM.jpg

The above list is merchandise exports only and doesn't include IT and IT enabled services of around $135 billion.

There is only one reliable measure of whether a country's economy is modernizing. It is not the number of cell phones or cars it is assembling from imported kits, it is FDI. Modern industries need Western investors who set up modern industries. If you don't have them, you will be condemned to exporting only textiles.

I am a school teacher and good at that. And whenever I see any news on PK( on PK websites) I see every loser from the Hindutuva on there. Why is that? Do you guys not have any sites of your own?

Do you teach your students words you do not know the meaning of, like "paraplectic"?

Generally posters without an understanding of modern economies get excited about growth in textile exports. After the PKR lost 35% of its value against the USD, Pakistani textile exporters were able to quote lower prices in USD to Western textile importers and not surprisingly some textile exports moved from India, Bangladesh etc. to Pakistan.

However, textiles are a low-tech slim-margin cut-throat industry, and their growth can only make a marginal difference to the economy of a country.

A $10 billion to $20 billion addition to textiles will not do much. And textiles are an industry that will never become $60 billion export industry for Pakistan from the current $30 billion.

Medium-tech medium-margin is what, for example Indonesia does. I had written earlier "You can see that exports from modern industries (Iron, steel: $10.8 billion (6.6%), Electrical machinery, equipment: $9.2 billion (5.7%), Vehicles: $6.6 billion (4%), and Machinery including computers: $5.2 billion (3.2%)) total $31.8 billion, while for Pakistan it is $0.38 B (Optical, technical, medical apparatus: $380.5 million (1.7%))."

Note that textiles don't appear in Indonesia's top exports.

China gave up on textiles long ago, heck textiles have even disappeared from India's top exports!

View attachment 114502

The above list is merchandise exports only and doesn't include IT and IT enabled services of around $135 billion.

There is only one reliable measure of whether a country's economy is modernizing. It is not the number of cell phones or cars it is assembling from imported kits, it is FDI. Modern industries need Western investors who set up modern industries. If you don't have them, you will be condemned to exporting only textiles.

Well since Pakistan is playing catch up. It only makes sense to generate revenue from textile industry to develop other industries and eventually Pakistan too will not be fully dependent on its textile exports. Evolution my friend.

It is simple, either a country is developing modern industries or it is not.

Either a country is getting Western FDI or it is not.

There is no evolution, no step by step. FDI for modern industries doesn't need textiles to grow first, nor does a growing textiles sector imply that FDI for modern industries will follow.

There are many countries trying hard to get Western FDI for modern industries, countries like Vietnam, India, Indonesia, Thailand etc. No one is waiting to first develop textiles.

The reason Pakistan is succeeding with textiles is that textiles requires little FDI, so domestic manufacturers are able to produce the needed goods. However, this also means that textiles is towards the bottom of value added with multiple countries competing for a share of fixed pie. Even African countries have started competing as textiles exporters.

"The Growing African Textile Industry"

https://thetimesofafrica.com/the-growing-african-textile-industry/

A poster harping about Pakistan, well particularly PTI government, unable to get FDI, is probably the most hollow comment while ignoring the other aspect as to why it hasn't happened since PTI government came to power 3 years ago - IK's magic wand, lol

Every Pakistani knows Pakistan need FDI and Pakistan will get them, wondering what new excuse person would use to bash PTI, Army, and reason for every Pakistani to be grateful because the person kept mentioning FDI. lol

In FY23... Just textile exports to be more than TOTAL exports in FY18.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Bloomberg report on the booming textile industry, which is now outperforming other countries in the region after ages. This industry was collapsing under the pmln govt. with units being shutdown. Now massive expansions going on. This boom made possible by the PTI textile policy <a href="https://t.co/XZsWxsrc5n">pic.twitter.com/XZsWxsrc5n</a></p>— Asad Umar (@Asad_Umar) <a href="https://twitter.com/Asad_Umar/status/1488028429018710017?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">January 31, 2022</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Several infra projects approved today:

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="ur" dir="rtl">آج ECNEC میٹنگ میں پنجاب Ú©ÛŒ 130 ارب روپے Ú©ÛŒ لاگت سے بننے والی چار بڑی سڑکوں Ú©ÛŒ منظوری. ان میں کمالیÛ�ØŒ شورکوٹ، Ú†ÙˆÚ© اعظم، Ù„ÛŒÛ� سڑک شامل. دوسری Ø*اصلÙ� پور سے بھاولنگر. تیسری ÙˆÛ�اڑی ،پاکپتن، دیپالپور. اور چوتھی شورکوٹ سے جھنگ شامل</p>— Asad Umar (@Asad_Umar) <a href="https://twitter.com/Asad_Umar/status/1488036981166723074?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">January 31, 2022</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="ur" dir="rtl">جنوبی پنجاب Ú©ÛŒ 16 تØ*صیل Ú©Û’ دیÛ�ÛŒ علاقوں Ú©Û’ لئے 96 ارب روپے Ú©ÛŒ لاگت سے صاÙ� پانی اور صÙ�ائی کا منصوبÛ� آج ECNEC Ù†Û’ منظور کر دیا.</p>— Asad Umar (@Asad_Umar) <a href="https://twitter.com/Asad_Umar/status/1488041837977903106?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">January 31, 2022</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="ur" dir="rtl">دÛ�ائی سے زیادÛ� نامکمل پروجیکٹ k 4, کا نئی ڈیزائن پر مشتمل 126 ارب روپے کا منصوبÛ� ECNEC Ù†Û’ آج منظور کر دیا. انشاءاللÛ� 2023 اکتوبر تک 26 کروڑ گیلن پانی کراچی Ù¾Û�نچا دیا جائے گا. کراچی ٹراسÙ�ورمیشن پلان کا ÙˆÙ�اق کا ایک اور وعدÛ� پورا Û�Ùˆ گیا</p>— Asad Umar (@Asad_Umar) <a href="https://twitter.com/Asad_Umar/status/1488051808719228928?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">January 31, 2022</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="ur" dir="rtl">پبلک پرائیویٹ پارٹنر شپ Ú©Û’ تØ*ت بننے والے منصوبے کھاریاں راولپنڈی موٹر ÙˆÛ’ØŒ Ú©ÛŒ Ø*تمی منظوری آج ECNEC Ù†Û’ دے دی. 96 ارب Ú©ÛŒ لاگت سے بننے والا ÛŒÛ� منصوبÛ� 30 ماÛ� میں مکمل Û�Ùˆ گا</p>— Asad Umar (@Asad_Umar) <a href="https://twitter.com/Asad_Umar/status/1488056621385269253?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">January 31, 2022</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

A poster harping about Pakistan, well particularly PTI government, unable to get FDI, is probably the most hollow comment while ignoring the other aspect as to why it hasn't happened since PTI government came to power 3 years ago - IK's magic wand, lol

Every Pakistani knows Pakistan need FDI and Pakistan will get them, wondering what new excuse person would use to bash PTI, Army, and reason for every Pakistani to be grateful because the person kept mentioning FDI. lol

FDI is important but not as important as local investment which is rising sharply. FDI will also pick up when the pandemic ends.

Steady progress across the board.. onwards and upwards inshallah. When the hakim-e-waqt are not busy in looting, plundering and building wealth abroad then it leaves enough money to spend on public welfare even in times of challenging economic situation.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Projects Approved by ECNEC today<br><br>1) 535 KM highways in Punjab<br> Cost = Rs 130B <br><br>2) Kharian - Rawalpindi Motorway<br> Cost = Rs 96B<br><br>3) K4 Karachi (drinking water)<br> Cost = Rs 126B<br><br>4) Clean Water & Sanitation Projects in 16 Tehsils of South Punjab<br> Cost = Rs96B</p>— Musa (@MusaNV18) <a href="https://twitter.com/MusaNV18/status/1488068007578550274?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">January 31, 2022</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="in" dir="ltr">535 KM Highways approved by ECNEC in Punjab<br><br>Cost = 130 Billion<br>Total 4 Corridors <br> <br>1) Chichawatni - Kamalia - Shorkot - Chowk Azam - Layyah ➡️ 207KM<br><br>2) Shorkot - Jhang ➡️ 103KM <br><br>3) Vehari - Pakpattan - Burewala - Depalpur ➡️ 150KM<br><br>4) Hasilpur - Chistian- Bahawalnagar ➡️ 75KM</p>— Musa (@MusaNV18) <a href="https://twitter.com/MusaNV18/status/1488063544205746187?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">January 31, 2022</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

No, Pakistan won’t “get them”. It won’t get FDI until its PM stops celebrating the Taliban victory or the ISI stops nurturing non-state actors or the military sends it retired officers who have no commercial experience to become the head of organizations like PIA.

There are many countries competing for FDI and western investors are not going to accept such antics.

You are like a politician who keeps claiming that the future will be better while things keep getting worse.

No replies unless I see something new.

No, Pakistan won’t “get them”. It won’t get FDI until its PM stops celebrating the Taliban victory or the ISI stops nurturing non-state actors or the military sends it retired officers who have no commercial experience to become the head of organizations like PIA.

There are many countries competing for FDI and western investors are not going to accept such antics.

You are like a politician who keeps claiming that the future will be better while things keep getting worse.

No replies unless I see something new.

Stop tagging me if you are going to end every post with no reply.

Taliban, ISI, State actors, retired military etc had been answered many times in many previous posts - so I won't waste my time or readers time.

Each and every comments of yours pertaining to Pakistan, is a 'hollow' comment, without under taking any consideration of the past politician and present times.

Pakistan's future will be fine, In Sha Allah.

Again, stop tagging me if you were going to repeat the same 'talking points that had been addressed and end with no replies".

I didn’t have to look anything up. I already knew the difference between apoplectic and paraplectic.

No, the Hindutuva freeze at any good news for PK and then vent their anger on out forums. Just look at you and your constant rubbish. Remember the LNG price humiliation for you. That was a classic.

After the turn of DG Khan, Sahiwal, Lahore and Rawalpindi divisions, tomorrow is the turn of Bahawalpur division to get Qaumi Sehat Card. PM IK will hold a public event while inaugurating it. Mashallah first time in 70 years we have a made in Pakistan government that is focusing on the betterment of Pakistanis. May IK rule for a couple more terms inshallah and may we never go back to corrupt foreign funded governments.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Sehat Card starting in Bahawalpur Division from 1st February inshaallah <a href="https://t.co/s84pVKvvIq">pic.twitter.com/s84pVKvvIq</a></p>— Focal Person to CM Punjab (@AzharMashwaniPk) <a href="https://twitter.com/AzharMashwaniPk/status/1487704714212950016?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">January 30, 2022</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

There is also some work being done on providing Karachiites with the Qaumi Sehat Card, even though it is a provincial government responsibility but PPP government is only hell bent on looting and plundering so why should Karachiites suffer who voted for PTI. I hope the plan is rolled out will help PTI in getting closer to 2/3 majority in 2023.

Total tax collection in first 7 months of fiscal year reaches Rs 3,400b which is roughly equal to what PML-N achieved in the entire fiscal year 2018.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="ur" dir="rtl">معاشی سرگرمیوں میں اضافہ کا ایک اور مثبت اعشاریہ <br>FBR نے رواں مالی سال کے پہلے 7 ماہ میں<br>30.4٪اضافے کے ساتھ ٹوٹل 3352 ارب کا ٹیکس وصول کیا۔3090ارب ہدف کے تھا جسمیں 262 ارب اضافی ٹیکس وصولیاں ہوئیں۔ گزشتہ مالی سال کی اسی مدت میں 2571 ارب کی ٹیکس وصولیاں ہوئیں تھیں</p>— Farrukh Habib (@FarrukhHabibISF) <a href="https://twitter.com/FarrukhHabibISF/status/1488199450321653763?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">January 31, 2022</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Modi hai tu mumkin hai

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">So 5.37% vs -6.6%. Any comments? <a href="https://t.co/Ds91A0Q2Gb">https://t.co/Ds91A0Q2Gb</a></p>— Muzzammil Aslam (@MuzzammilAslam3) <a href="https://twitter.com/MuzzammilAslam3/status/1488230280951386112?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">January 31, 2022</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Nadra working on a strategy to make your NIC a digital wallet.. I hope this pans out, we need to move away from cash to a cashless economy.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">“This innovation will revolutionise the national ID eco-system in Pakistan by ensuring public convenience, and is a leap forward putting an end to the conventional physical ID,” said Nadra's chairman while explaining the digital wallet's features. <a href="https://t.co/u5xQuvIzCB">https://t.co/u5xQuvIzCB</a></p>— Dawn.com (@dawn_com) <a href="https://twitter.com/dawn_com/status/1488025919411396609?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">January 31, 2022</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

No, the Hindutuva freeze at any good news for PK and then vent their anger on out forums. Just look at you and your constant rubbish. Remember the LNG price humiliation for you. That was a classic.

What is this nonsense you keep repeating about LNG pricing? If you had any integrity you would back it up with references to posts, but you don't have any integrity so you won't.

You got humiliated- you came in pretending to know everything( as you normally do) and then got owned. if your memory is playing tricks Look up the thread. I am sure we could do with laugh

Yes, please stop being evasive and look it up and provide references that I said anything incorrect about LNG pricing let alone being "humiliated".

Like I said, you don't have any integrity so you won't back up your nonsense with actual references to posts.

The IMF will now have a role in deciding the economic policies of Pakistan.

Mini budget has increased the tax rates for many items at a time when inflation in December touched 12.3 per cent, up from November's 11.5 per cent.

IK is dummy, he can't do anything.
Surrounded like an agreement.
And they are being enforced with all the burdens of this agreement. The unbearable cost of food and basic needs for survival is being paid by citizens without knowing why.

In fact, debt-ridden Sri Lanka, despite having a total debt burden for this year is $6.9 billion, rejected IMF assistance. IK will resume negotiations with IMF in February 2022 for a $6 billion package.

Sri Lanka's situation is different.

1) SL's problem is temporary, once the pandemic is over and tourism recovers they won't have a current account deficit.

2) SL hasn't jumped into China's arms. So it has a good bargaining position with both China and India. To counter China's influence, India has extended lines of credit to SL.

3) SL's nominal per cap GDP is about 2.5X Pakistan's, so it has more margin before reaching a point of desperation.

Yes, please stop being evasive and look it up and provide references that I said anything incorrect about LNG pricing let alone being "humiliated".

Like I said, you don't have any integrity so you won't back up your nonsense with actual references to posts.

We have long memories. You came in acting all clever and by the end you were desperately looking for ways out. It was a total humiliation.

You claim to have a long memory but can't provide references to posts to back up your nonsense. You have no integrity at all.

Unless you provide references to posts I am done replying to your nonsense.

How much of $6 billion allotted loan by IMF Pakistan has acquired so far? :)

Mini budget has increased the tax rates for many items at a time when inflation in December touched 12.3 per cent, up from November's 11.5 per cent.

And they are being enforced with all the burdens of this agreement. The unbearable cost of food and basic needs for survival is being paid by citizens without knowing why.

Who else going to pay for the corruption of the past 30 years, artificially depreciating the $, someone had to pay and it is almost always the future generation or same generation if they elect someone who wants to run the economy on the merit. :)

Between most of the educated one knows why the food and basic needs cost has gone up.

How much of $6 billion allotted loan by IMF Pakistan has acquired so far? :)

Funny how we get these Indians coming on here and spreading their uninformed drivel regarding Pakistan and showing their fake 'concern' regarding the state of the economy and inflation etc.

They would be best served to worry about their own country that just posted a growth figure of -6.6% in FY21. In the same fiscal year Pakistan grew by 5.5%.

IMF makes better decisions than Desi politicians anyway

You claim to have a long memory but can't provide references to posts to back up your nonsense. You have no integrity at all.

Unless you provide references to posts I am done replying to your nonsense.

Load up the thread. What are you scared off.

Modi hai tu mumkin hai

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">India unveils higher spending but no direct measures for the poor<a href="https://t.co/gYVU3T7Lrf">https://t.co/gYVU3T7Lrf</a> <a href="https://t.co/pmr6bMk9fE">pic.twitter.com/pmr6bMk9fE</a></p>— Al Jazeera English (@AJEnglish) <a href="https://twitter.com/AJEnglish/status/1488547055752867843?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">February 1, 2022</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

IMF makes better decisions than Desi politicians anyway

Not sure how many countrie are doing better with IMF stringent conditionalities that touch upon macroeconomic and structural policies.

Protests against the IMF have erupted in countries like Argentina, Ecuador, Egypt, Greece, Jordan, Kenya, Nigeria, Tunisia and now in Pakistan.

Not sure how many countrie are doing better with IMF stringent conditionalities that touch upon macroeconomic and structural policies.

Protests against the IMF have erupted in countries like Argentina, Ecuador, Egypt, Greece, Jordan, Kenya, Nigeria, Tunisia and now in Pakistan.

That is their own fault, Argentina is the only country that has a history of making mistakes.

India had benefited immensely from IMF on two occasions, and it also helps that many Indians were part of IMF, IMF is a tough pill to swallow but it really paves way if countries follow and implement their approach.

I’m hoping Pakistan will do better this time due to Imran’s ability to take tougher decisions and devalue rupees etc.

Funny how we get these Indians coming on here and spreading their uninformed drivel regarding Pakistan and showing their fake 'concern' regarding the state of the economy and inflation etc.

They would be best served to worry about their own country that just posted a growth figure of -6.6% in FY21. In the same fiscal year Pakistan grew by 5.5%.

Stop being delusional, the Indian economy is far ahead of Pakistan's. Being delusional will not get you to the solutions needed for economic progress of Pakistan.

India's exports from modern industries total about $260 billion (about $135 billion IT and ITES and $125 billion Mineral fuels, Pharmaceuticals, Machinery including computers, Organic chemicals, Electrical machinery, equipment, Vehicles, Iron, steel etc.)

Screen Shot 2022-02-01 at 10.14.20 AM.jpg

https://www.worldstopexports.com/indias-top-10-exports/

Pakistan's exports from modern industries total about $2.4 billion ($2 billion IT and ITES and $0.38 billion Optical, technical, medical apparatus)

Screen Shot 2022-02-01 at 10.19.08 AM.jpg

https://www.worldstopexports.com/pakistans-top-10-exports/

India has been getting an FDI of about $80 billion annually, compared to $2 billion for Pakistan.

https://www.outlookindia.com/busine...54-1-bn-during-apr-nov-2021-survey-news-51466

https://profit.pakistantoday.com.pk/2021/12/17/fdi-rises-12pc-to-798m-in-five-months-sbp/

You called Pakistanis living in Pakistanis living in Pakistan "losers" because of the low amount of Pakistani exports. So you obviously understand the importance of modernizing the economy and growing export industries, however being delusional will not get you anywhere.

IT exports this year are expected to hit $3.5b which is still a drop in the ocean but a 3x increase from what PTI inherited in 2018. I hope we cross the $10b mark in the next 3 years.

#ModernIndustry [MENTION=155472]LaLoco[/MENTION] [MENTION=1269]Bewal Express[/MENTION]

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Pakistan's IT Exports Set to Surge to $3.5 Billion in FY22 <a href="https://t.co/zBgWQ06Ftb">https://t.co/zBgWQ06Ftb</a></p>— ProPakistani (@ProPakistaniPK) <a href="https://twitter.com/ProPakistaniPK/status/1488456747383767047?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">February 1, 2022</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

IT exports this year are expected to hit $3.5b which is still a drop in the ocean but a 3x increase from what PTI inherited in 2018. I hope we cross the $10b mark in the next 3 years.

#ModernIndustry [MENTION=155472]LaLoco[/MENTION] [MENTION=1269]Bewal Express[/MENTION]

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Pakistan's IT Exports Set to Surge to $3.5 Billion in FY22 <a href="https://t.co/zBgWQ06Ftb">https://t.co/zBgWQ06Ftb</a></p>— ProPakistani (@ProPakistaniPK) <a href="https://twitter.com/ProPakistaniPK/status/1488456747383767047?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">February 1, 2022</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Doesn't count because:

Ik did not make it happen on the first night after he got elected.
Compare to India, it is nothing.
Does Pak army has any role in it?
ISI
Taliban
India has 5ht largest FOREX
IK always bash Modi.

More signs of rising economy #ModernIndustry

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-conversation="none"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Govt's policy to shift to export-based economy has started paying off. Exports posted double-digit growth - grew by 18% YoY in FY21 & 28% during 1HFY21.<br><br>2/7</p>— Humayun Akhtar Khan (@HumayunAkhtarK) <a href="https://twitter.com/HumayunAkhtarK/status/1488444104824479745?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">February 1, 2022</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-conversation="none"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Overall, Large Scale Manufacturing increased by 14.86% in FY 21. Automobile production increased by about 35% in FY 21. Car production and sales increased by 72.8%, Trucks & Buses production increased by 65.6%, and tractor sales grew by 21.2%.<br><br>5/7</p>— Humayun Akhtar Khan (@HumayunAkhtarK) <a href="https://twitter.com/HumayunAkhtarK/status/1488444111250239492?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">February 1, 2022</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-conversation="none"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Investors' confidence in the economy has also surged, evident from the growing credit financing. In 1HFY22 private credit grew by Rs. 1,013.9 bn against Rs. 344.2 bn for the same period last year. It also demonstrates growth in economic activity.<br>7/7</p>— Humayun Akhtar Khan (@HumayunAkhtarK) <a href="https://twitter.com/HumayunAkhtarK/status/1488444115859779587?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">February 1, 2022</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

The inflation rate steeply rose to 13% in January – the highest level in two years – due to a surge in prices of food, housing and transport, as the country also starts to embrace the worst impact of the inflationary mini-budget.

The Pakistan Bureau of Statistics (PBS) on Tuesday reported that the Consumer Price Index (CPI)-based inflation rate jumped to 13% in January over the same month a year ago. It was also the fifth consecutive month that the inflation rate constantly increased, largely due to administrative decisions of the government.

The 13% annual inflation rate is the highest since January 2020 when it had been recorded at 14.6%.
The government’s administrative decisions coupled with steep currency depreciation are making food, electricity and transport unaffordable for the common man.

After failing to rein in the price movements, the federal government has now entrusted the State Bank of Pakistan to ensure domestic price stability under a condition of the International Monetary Fund.

For the current fiscal year, the government had set the inflation target at 9%, which it has failed to meet since October last year when the reading shot to 9.2%. The central bank has also revised upwards its inflation projection to 11% but it was the consecutive third month that the inflation rate remained above that level too.

The Wholesale Price Index jumped to 24% in January, indicating that prices would remain very high in the coming months. The Sensitive Price Index, comprising goods largely used by the poor and lower middle income groups, also remained at 20.9%, according to the PBS.

The latest inflation reading suggests that prices have gone out of the control of the government, which has not yet fulfilled its promise to reduce ghee prices by Rs45 to Rs290 per kilo by slashing duties and taxes.

The CPI-based inflation accelerated to 13% in urban areas – the highest level in over two years. The inflation rate increased to 12.9% in villages and towns, according to the PBS.

The yearly inflation rate soared due to increase in the prices of food items, which are now taxed by the government. Although the prime minister and finance minister say that the people do not pay taxes, the government has slapped 17% general sales tax on almost every consumable item and 15% income tax on any call made in the country by anybody irrespective of income level.

The pace of food inflation accelerated to 13.3% in cities and to 11.8% in villages and towns last month. Prices of non-perishable food goods jumped significantly as people still awaited the government’s decision to reduce prices of cooking oil, sugar and wheat flour.

Non-food inflation rate slightly decelerated to 12.8% in urban areas and almost remained unchanged at 13.9% in rural areas in January, according to the national data collecting agency. It was the highest level since at least the last 12 years when non-food inflation had been recorded around this reading.

The surge in prices came amid a sharp fall in the rupee’s value over the past three months to around Rs177 a dollar. On May 3, the rupee had traded at Rs153.36 a dollar, which lost Rs24, or over 15% of its value.

The reduction in the rupee’s value is pushing up the cost of every imported commodity, including wheat, sugar, cooking oil, crude oil and raw material for industries. Core inflation – calculated by excluding food and energy items – increased to 8.2% in urban areas and 9% in rural areas last month, reported the national data collecting agency.

The core inflation-adjusted central bank’s real interest rate is still positive by nearly 1%, which does not warrant any further increase. The food group saw 12.8% increase in prices in January compared to the same month a year ago. Prices of non-perishable food items soared 13.8%.

The PBS stated that prices of various types of ghee and cooking oil were higher by 54% last month compared to a year ago. The inflation rate for pluses was over 41%, fruits 28%, meat 23% and vegetables 11.6%. Inflation rate for the housing, water, electricity, gas and fuel group – having one-fourth weight in the basket – increased 15.5% last month – a double-digit increase due to the government’s decision to increase prices of electricity by 56.2%.

Household equipment group’s prices increased 13% and transport group’s rates rose 23%, clothing and footwear group’s jumped over 11%, according to the PBS. Similarly, the dining cost at restaurants increased over 13%. The government has increased the GST rate on restaurants to 17% from 7.5% through the mini-budget.

The motor fuel was almost 36% expensive last month compared to a year ago. There is also 17% sales tax on match box and its prices were 18% higher in January than a year ago. The average inflation during the first seven months (July-January) period remained at double digits and stood at 10.3% -- far higher than the government’s target of 9% and initial projection made by the SBP.

https://tribune.com.pk/story/2341517/inflation-skyrockets-to-two-year-high-level

Modi hai tu mumkin hai

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">India unveils higher spending but no direct measures for the poor<a href="https://t.co/gYVU3T7Lrf">https://t.co/gYVU3T7Lrf</a> <a href="https://t.co/pmr6bMk9fE">pic.twitter.com/pmr6bMk9fE</a></p>— Al Jazeera English (@AJEnglish) <a href="https://twitter.com/AJEnglish/status/1488547055752867843?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">February 1, 2022</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

India under Modi spends, in USD terms, 2-3 times per capita on public education, public health, public infra compared to your beloved kuptaan's gormint.

Nor is India under Modi extracting tax from the vulnerable and poor through a double digit inflation like we have seen in Pakistan for well over 2 years now.

But thank god there's a silly Al-jeera or whatever headline/tweet to help you cope.

India under Modi spends, in USD terms, 2-3 times per capita on public education, public health, public infra compared to your beloved kuptaan's gormint.

Nor is India under Modi extracting tax from the vulnerable and poor through a double digit inflation like we have seen in Pakistan for well over 2 years now.

But thank god there's a silly Al-jeera or whatever headline/tweet to help you cope.

India under Modi had a recession of 6.6% in FY21 in the same fiscal year Pakistan grew by 5.5%

:shh

Peshawar BRT to be awarded for sustainability

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Peshawar will be one of the three cities in the world being recognised at 2022 Sustainable Transport Award ceremony in Washington DC, USA on 9 Feb., for city's new state of the art gender and environment friendly bus rapid transport system. <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/ZuPeshawar?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#ZuPeshawar</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/BRTPeshawar?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#BRTPeshawar</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Peshawar?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Peshawar</a> <a href="https://t.co/UHN4Y5xSnf">https://t.co/UHN4Y5xSnf</a></p>— ADBPakistan (@PakistanADB) <a href="https://twitter.com/PakistanADB/status/1488745336155906049?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">February 2, 2022</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Highest ever textile exports for the month of January. In 7 months of the fiscal year textile exports have risen 25%.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Country posted highest ever textile exports for the month of January<br><br>Jan’22: $ 1.55bn, +17% YoY, -5% MoM<br>7MFY22: $ 10.93bn, +25% YoY<a href="https://twitter.com/PTIofficial?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@PTIofficial</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/APTMAofficial?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@APTMAofficial</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/StateBank_Pak?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@StateBank_Pak</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/razak_dawood?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@razak_dawood</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/aliya_hamza?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@aliya_hamza</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/Hammad_Azhar?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@Hammad_Azhar</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/MuzzammilAslam3?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@MuzzammilAslam3</a><a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/PBS?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#PBS</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Exports?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Exports</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Trade?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Trade</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Economy?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Economy</a> <a href="https://t.co/2cLx7DBQpS">pic.twitter.com/2cLx7DBQpS</a></p>— Arif Habib Limited (@ArifHabibLtd) <a href="https://twitter.com/ArifHabibLtd/status/1488567679996907526?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">February 1, 2022</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Yes Modi has a fascist wand that means he spends more and doesn't tax.

Nice thought to cope. But maybe he's just not clueless like kuptaan?

And yes, he does tax people of India a lot less than the unfortunate toiling masses in Pakistan. I mean, adjusted for currency, Indians earning under 12 lakhs PA in your currency stand to pay 0 income tax.

That's not all. Indian companies pay 7 to 15 percent less tax on their profits than those in Pakistan.

And yet, India's tax collection as percentage of GDP is two times as much as Pakistan.

Maybe Modi has wand? :))

Sharp decline in month on month trade deficit, however risen from same month last year mainly due to record high oil and edible oil prices.

Significant improvement in exports year-on-year.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Balance of Trade Jan’22<br><br>Exports: $ 2.55bn, +19% YoY | -8% MoM<br>Imports: $ 5.91bn, +23% YoY | -22% MoM<br>Trade Deficit: $ 3.36bn, +26% YoY | -30% MoM<a href="https://twitter.com/StateBank_Pak?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@StateBank_Pak</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/razak_dawood?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@razak_dawood</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/aliya_hamza?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@aliya_hamza</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/Hammad_Azhar?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@Hammad_Azhar</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/MuzzammilAslam3?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@MuzzammilAslam3</a><a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/PBS?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#PBS</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Exports?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Exports</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Imports?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Imports</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/TradeBalance?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#TradeBalance</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Economy?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Economy</a> <a href="https://t.co/tCp9e8U5M2">pic.twitter.com/tCp9e8U5M2</a></p>— Arif Habib Limited (@ArifHabibLtd) <a href="https://twitter.com/ArifHabibLtd/status/1488885937815920643?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">February 2, 2022</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Nice thought to cope. But maybe he's just not clueless like kuptaan?

And yes, he does tax people of India a lot less than the unfortunate toiling masses in Pakistan. I mean, adjusted for currency, Indians earning under 12 lakhs PA in your currency stand to pay 0 income tax.

That's not all. Indian companies pay 7 to 15 percent less tax on their profits than those in Pakistan.

And yet, India's tax collection as percentage of GDP is two times as much as Pakistan.

Maybe Modi has wand? :))

You mean the thug has a brain. Maybe he should try using it. Is this the same clueless clown

I can understand the positivity of some when it comes to the economy of their own country and are free to believe whatever numbers they can get from the corners of the internet. Good for them and all the best but one must be delusional to compare Pakistan’s economy or economic power with India.

I can’t think for any other lesser offensive words to try and be respectful.

I can understand the positivity of some when it comes to the economy of their own country and are free to believe whatever numbers they can get from the corners of the internet. Good for them and all the best but one must be delusional to compare Pakistan’s economy or economic power with India.

I can’t think for any other lesser offensive words to try and be respectful.

Irony of obsession.

Plan approved to modern the Karachi Circular Railway to a modern electric powered metro rail system. This along with the recently started Greenline BRT and the under construction Orange, Red and Yellow BRTs will revolutionize Karachi's transport system.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Location plan of modern Karachi Circular Railway (KCR).<br>30 level crossings to b eliminated.<br>Locations of proposed elevated track, underpasses and modem stations.<br>The most awaited project promised by PM Imran Khan becoming reality<a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/PTIrestoringKarachi?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#PTIrestoringKarachi</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/PtiOwnsKarachi?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#PtiOwnsKarachi</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/pti?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#pti</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/karachi?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#karachi</a> <a href="https://t.co/tg8gnOYgJx">pic.twitter.com/tg8gnOYgJx</a></p>— Arsalan Taj (@ArsalanGhumman) <a href="https://twitter.com/ArsalanGhumman/status/1487400719795863558?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">January 29, 2022</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Irony of obsession.
It's funny how the irony of their statements is flying over their heads. They are signing up on a Pakistani website, logging in everyday and on top of that participating in a discussion that purely deals with Pakistan's internal matters and it's economy, has nothing to do with India. Yet we are the ones who are supposed to be obsessed.

Probably he should take lectures from Kuptaan who personally verifies facts like visiting Germany Japan border before talking about it?

Or holds forth on India's population? :)))

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7xViheFLa58

A mistake by Kaptaan compared to this shows your level. This fascist is just a front, you could call him thr manchuria candidate. It has to be the most pathetic speech ever. Couldn't he utter a few words, even a few clichés.

What is this obsession in equating everything with India?

Does it matter? Putin,XI, Biden,Trump and pretty much everyone who matters in world politics has met and had a conversation with Modi who according to you can’t string 2 sentences together.

Most of these guys don’t seem to have a minute to spare to have an engaging conversation with the charismatic and articulate Imran.

Make whatever of that.

Does it matter? Putin,XI, Biden,Trump and pretty much everyone who matters in world politics has met and had a conversation with Modi who according to you can’t string 2 sentences together.

Most of these guys don’t seem to have a minute to spare to have an engaging conversation with the charismatic and articulate Imran.

Make whatever of that.

Man you can't praise India without putting down Pakistan.

Can't talk about Hinduism without putting down Islam.

Can't praise Modi without putting down Ik.

LOL - the irony of obsession.

More export growth in this year than in the 10 years of PPP and PML-N.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">With the years 1st half trade data available, we are on course for a bigger increase in exports of goods & services in one year than in the 10 years off PPP/PMLN govts from 2008 to 2018! Let that sink in... More export growth in 1 year than 10 years!!! <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/WePromisedWeAreDelivering?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#WePromisedWeAreDelivering</a></p>— Asad Umar (@Asad_Umar) <a href="https://twitter.com/Asad_Umar/status/1489126642949795843?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">February 3, 2022</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">🇵🇰's Exports of Goods & Services <br><br>FY2008 = $24B <br>FY2018 = $30.6B <br><br>$6.6B⬆️ in 10 years. <br> <br>FY2021 = $31.5B<br>FY2022(e) = $40B <br><br>$8.5B⬆️ estimated in full year<br>(with $4B or 27% growth in first 6 months)<br> <br>More export growth in this year of PTI govt than 10 years of PMLN/PPP.</p>— Musa (@MusaNV18) <a href="https://twitter.com/MusaNV18/status/1489196607723782147?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">February 3, 2022</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Make whatever of that.

Its not me, look at your friends posts for an answer. I couldnt care less about the fascist state led by clown that cant string a sentence together

More export growth in this year than in the 10 years of PPP and PML-N.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">With the years 1st half trade data available, we are on course for a bigger increase in exports of goods & services in one year than in the 10 years off PPP/PMLN govts from 2008 to 2018! Let that sink in... More export growth in 1 year than 10 years!!! <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/WePromisedWeAreDelivering?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#WePromisedWeAreDelivering</a></p>— Asad Umar (@Asad_Umar) <a href="https://twitter.com/Asad_Umar/status/1489126642949795843?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">February 3, 2022</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">🇵🇰's Exports of Goods & Services <br><br>FY2008 = $24B <br>FY2018 = $30.6B <br><br>$6.6B⬆ï¸� in 10 years. <br> <br>FY2021 = $31.5B<br>FY2022(e) = $40B <br><br>$8.5B⬆ï¸� estimated in full year<br>(with $4B or 27% growth in first 6 months)<br> <br>More export growth in this year of PTI govt than 10 years of PMLN/PPP.</p>— Musa (@MusaNV18) <a href="https://twitter.com/MusaNV18/status/1489196607723782147?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">February 3, 2022</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

This is brilliant. IA if start to go into the mid early 40s, we will hit 6.5% growth. In the long term we need to look at the 100bn to pay our way in the World

IMF predicts consistent 5% growth for Pakistan till 2026, remember IMF always underestimates our GDP growth. For FY21 they predicted 3% and it ended up being 5.5%. Even for FY22 they are predicting 4% when half year figures all point towards another year of 5.5% growth. In any case even IMF is recognizing that Pakistan on course for long term sustainable growth. Thank you IK.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Mashallah IMF first time projected sustainable GDP growth of 5% till 2026, CPI will drop to 6.5%, Deficit to 3.5%, debt to 70.4%, CAD 2.7% & External debt to 35.2% <a href="https://t.co/vSvhTpGDOo">pic.twitter.com/vSvhTpGDOo</a></p>— Muzzammil Aslam (@MuzzammilAslam3) <a href="https://twitter.com/MuzzammilAslam3/status/1489680048634437642?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">February 4, 2022</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

PM Imran Khan meeting China's President Xi Jinping to shape a new agenda between Pakistan & China. Dr. Moeed Pirzada, Editor GVS, sat down with Minister on CPEC, Khalid Mansoor to understand progress of CPEC, its challenges and what lies ahead between China & Pakistan.

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/DrCahdILXeM" title="YouTube video player" frameborder="0" allow="accelerometer; autoplay; clipboard-write; encrypted-media; gyroscope; picture-in-picture" allowfullscreen></iframe>

The International Monetary Fund has revealed that Pakistan owes $18.4 billion or one-fifth of its external public debt to China, which is not only $4 billion higher than the officially reported figures but is also the highest lending by any single country or financial institution.

In its new report on Pakistan, the IMF has also significantly revised upwards its projections of Pakistan’s external public debt, total external debt and the gross foreign financing needs. These adjustments have been made to meet the yawning requirements of the current account deficit, the IMF report showed.

The IMF report stated that Pakistan took $18.4 billion loan from China - a figure that is $4 billion higher than what the Ministry of Finance reported in the statistical supplemental of the Economic Survey of Pakistan 2020-21, released last month.

The IMF has made the $4 billion loan given by China to stabilise the foreign exchange reserves part of the external public debt as of June 2021.

The amount of $18.4 billion is equal to 20% of the external public debt reported by the IMF in its report. It is also the highest amount given by any country or an institution. The World Bank’s outstanding debt towards Pakistan was $18.4 billion by end of the last fiscal year.

The western countries and the international financial institutions have been closely watching Pakistan’s financial relations with China, particularly after the China-Pakistan Economic Corridor.

The IMF has released the report at a time when Prime Minister Imran Khan is in China and is expected to seek a bigger bailout package, including $4 billion debt rollover and augmentation of the existing foreign currency swap arrangement to $10 billion.

The report further showed that the foreign public debt would jump to $103 billion by end of next fiscal year - showing an addition of nearly $31 billion during the tenure of the incumbent government.
In 2017-18, the external public debt was $72.5 billion that has been growing with every passing year due to faster growth in imports as compared to exports.

Just 10 months ago, the IMF had projected the external public debt at $92.3 billion, which it has now adjusted upwards along with showing larger current account deficit and the external financing needs.

The current account deficit that the IMF had showed at $5.4 billion at the conclusion of the 5th review in March last year for the current fiscal year is now projected at $13 billion.

However, the new deficit figure too seems unrealistic, even lower than the State Bank of Pakistan’s projections.

The money that now Pakistan needs to pay for foreign loans and the cost of imports is also shown at the higher end of $30.4 billion. The gross financing needs are also revised upwards by $6.8 billion by the IMF within 10 months.

Pakistan largely bridges this gap by taking foreign loans, as the share of foreign direct investment is estimated at only $2.3 billion for the current fiscal year.

The IMF said that the forward-looking path for gross financing needs has been revised upwards due to larger-than-expected reliance on short-term domestic issuance since late March 2021. But it said that the public debt and gross financing needs to the gross domestic product are projected to firmly decline over the medium-term.

The IMF stated that Pakistan was engaged with external creditors to secure financing to meet the programme’s debt sustainability objectives.

It added that China has maintained its exposure by renewing and augmenting the $4.6 billion swap as well as by renewing maturing commercial loans, though some at shorter maturity.

China also provided an additional $1 billion loan in July 2020 through the State Administration of Foreign Exchange, raising its deposits to $4 billion.

Recently, Pakistan has also secured a $3 billion deposit at the central bank and a deferred oil financing facility from Saudi Arabia.

The global lender said that macro-fiscal shocks continue to pose a risk in the medium-term to Pakistan’s debt sustainability, despite an improvement in the debt profile.

The most extreme shock to medium-term debt dynamics would emanate from a large and sustained real interest rate shock, it added.
The contingent liabilities from loss-making SOEs— to the extent not covered by government guarantees—continue to represent additional risks to debt sustainability, it added.

https://tribune.com.pk/story/2342247/foreign-public-debt-to-jump-to-103b-by-end-of-next-fiscal

Why virtual meeting when you are in China with Chinese friends ?
Travel all the way to China from Pakistan and then have virtual meetings with Chinese.

While Imran Khan is holding virtual meeting with Xi's assistant Mr. He Lifeng, Chinese President Xi Jinping meets Russian President Putin in Beijing.

FKv5RGgXEAIfBMl.jpg

PM Imran concludes 4-day Beijing visit after meeting Chinese president

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Chinese President Xi Jinping met Prime Minister <a href="https://twitter.com/ImranKhanPTI?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@ImranKhanPTI</a> at the Great Hall of the People in Beijing this morning.<a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/PMIKinChina?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#PMIKinChina</a> <a href="https://t.co/fGaki271sQ">pic.twitter.com/fGaki271sQ</a></p>— Tehreek-e-Insaf (@InsafPK) <a href="https://twitter.com/InsafPK/status/1490294187283173378?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">February 6, 2022</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

https://www.dawn.com/news/1673646/p...beijing-visit-after-meeting-chinese-president

PM Imran concludes 4-day Beijing visit after meeting Chinese president

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Chinese President Xi Jinping met Prime Minister <a href="https://twitter.com/ImranKhanPTI?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@ImranKhanPTI</a> at the Great Hall of the People in Beijing this morning.<a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/PMIKinChina?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#PMIKinChina</a> <a href="https://t.co/fGaki271sQ">pic.twitter.com/fGaki271sQ</a></p>— Tehreek-e-Insaf (@InsafPK) <a href="https://twitter.com/InsafPK/status/1490294187283173378?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">February 6, 2022</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

https://www.dawn.com/news/1673646/p...beijing-visit-after-meeting-chinese-president

Lol at that Indian claiming it was a 'virtual meeting'.

PM to visit Russia later in the month as well, first time for a Pakistani head of state in 2 decades.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Had a great meeting with Chinese President Xi Jinping today. We agreed to further enhance our strategic and economic relations; and to fast track the second phase of CPEC. <a href="https://t.co/wbUbvGnXTN">pic.twitter.com/wbUbvGnXTN</a></p>— Imran Khan (@ImranKhanPTI) <a href="https://twitter.com/ImranKhanPTI/status/1490349682148655109?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">February 6, 2022</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Why virtual meeting when you are in China with Chinese friends ?
Travel all the way to China from Pakistan and then have virtual meetings with Chinese.

While Imran Khan is holding virtual meeting with Xi's assistant Mr. He Lifeng, Chinese President Xi Jinping meets Russian President Putin in Beijing.

View attachment 114646

Are your eyes OK? Maybe a smaller dosage of Hindutuva propaganda might get your eyes working better

PM IK will launch universal health coverage for Faisalabad tomorrow. After which only a couple of division will be left. Majority of Punjab already has universal health coverage. This is after all of KPK was given the coverage last year. Baluchistan and GB governments also announced to give the coverage soon.

Only Sindh left behind because Bhutto abhi zinda hai.

Fissures between the centre and provinces over a uniform sales tax system and property valuation rates across the country have delayed the approval of two foreign loans worth at least $700 million amid the federating units’ reluctance to accept the centre’s position.

The World Bank has indicated that it will give a minimum $350 million loan subject to the implementation of two prior conditions.

The conditions are that provinces will adopt the Federal Board of Revenue’s (FBR) property valuation rates and there will be uniform sales tax on goods and services across the country.

The Asian Infrastructure Investment Bank (AIIB) has also indicated that it will match the World Bank’s lending, which brings the total financing to $700 million.

But both of these conditions remain unimplemented as the provinces are not willing to comply with the directive of Ministry of Finance, sources told The Express Tribune.

“The federal government is committed to implementing these conditions and is going to take up the issue with the provincial finance ministers in a meeting of the National Tax Council today (Wednesday),” said a senior official of the finance ministry.

Even Punjab, where the Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) is at the helm, has refused to accept these conditions on the federal government’s terms, the sources said.

It is not legally possible for the government of Punjab to adopt the FBR valuation tables. If the FBR’s tables are adopted by Punjab, it will result in a decrease in provincial receipts, according to a letter written by the Punjab tax secretary to the finance ministry.

Finance Minister Shaukat Tarin on Tuesday met with Najy Benhassine, Country Director of the World Bank, to review progress on the Resilient Institutions Strengthening Programme (RISE-II) and discussed some prior actions to be taken for timely completion of the programme, according to a press statement of the Ministry of Finance.

Tarin said that Pakistan valued the financial and technical support provided by the World Bank for institutional reforms and economic development in the country.

Sources said that the meeting discussed the non-cooperative attitude of the provincial governments in meeting these conditions.

Pakistan remains a desperate borrower and has been signing many conditions for the sake of new foreign loans, sometimes without taking all stakeholders into confidence.

Minister for Economic Affairs Omar Ayub Khan has already requested the World Bank to increase the loan size to $500 million, which may result in matching of the loan by the AIIB.

The government of Punjab told the finance ministry that it had the most robust system of determining the property valuation rates in all 36 districts of the province, both in rural and urban areas, unlike the FBR that had limited capacity to determine the valuation rates only for a few urban locations in 24 districts.

The FBR recently notified new property valuation rates but it had to suspend them after serious anomalies were pointed out by the real estate sector players.

The authorities on Tuesday also discussed the delay in integrating the provincial and federal sales tax laws and a tax portal, which was another very crucial condition, set by the World Bank for the loan and also mentioned by the International Monetary Fund (IMF) in its latest report on Pakistan.

The condition cannot be implemented until the provinces amend their general sales tax (GST)-related laws.

The federal and provincial finance departments are required to issue and implement new regulations following the approval of common GST laws passed by the federal and provincial assemblies to generate a harmonised GST for goods and services across the country.

Sources said that Sindh and Punjab had serious reservations about that condition and wanted it to be implemented in a phased but gradual manner.

To a question, the World Bank’s Islamabad-based spokeswoman said that Pakistani authorities did not request the World Bank to exclude any province from the ongoing GST harmonisation.

“GST harmonisation requires common definitions of goods and services, common principles of taxation and common place of supply rules across all federating units,” she said.

“The World Bank appreciates the efforts of the National Tax Council to harmonise the GST across the federal government and all provinces.”

In December, the FBR had also planned to launch the single sales tax return filing portal without first developing a legally compliant and well-integrated system. The online portal is one of the World Bank conditions to approve the loan.

At present, six tax authorities are operating in the country and receiving sales tax returns separately. These are FBR, Punjab Revenue Authority (PRA), Sindh Revenue Board (SRB), Khyber-Pakhtunkhwa Revenue Authority (KPRA), Balochistan Revenue Authority (BRA) and Council Board of Revenue AJK.

There are different GST rates in the country as Sindh charges 13% GST on services, Punjab (15%) and the FBR charges 17% GST.

Published in The Express Tribune, February 9th, 2022.

https://tribune.com.pk/story/2342618/lack-of-consensus-between-centre-provinces-delays-700m-loan

Why do we have neighbours of a third world country polluting this thread with their usual garbage? &#55358;&#56614;*♂️ This thread is not about India.

You can clearly see how they lose their sleep the moment even a little positive news is shared about Pakistan and Imran Khan. He's a much better leader than the one you have as your PM who you have brought on only based on his fascist policies and hate against Pakistan in his election campaign. One can see his caliber, intellect and educational background the moment he opens his mouth. You can barely feed half of your population twice a day and half don't even have access to proper toilet and yet they will never give up the chest thumping and go marry go round with GDP, Mars and what not lol. When you have dire standards of living for many in your population with severe social and wealth imbalance, not sure why you would bother even comparing with others.