How excited are Indian fans (or neutral fans) about the IPL?

Some people have made up their own theories in support of IPL 'if A doesn't like IPL it's because A is jealous " Ridiculous! If you like IPL good for you but stop forcing your likes and dislikes on others.

For me IPL is circus show on phattas where any slogger can hit big most of the bowlers are utter rubbish and rendered toothless on flat decks. It's one sided pomp and show with no substance.

Certainly not but also incoherent arguments like quality of cricket , infrastructure , fan following are baseless. If some Pakistani fans don't like IPL for the lack of Pak players thats totally understandable. But don't sugar coat your insecurity on the premise of logical arguments. No one is forcing anyone for anything - either you do not understand what forcing is or you are just being extra touchy.

If IPL is a circus show on phattas then I guess that's how you'd find all T20s because most T20s produce similar pitches and results.

Nobody cares about the IPL.

you would think that .... here in the US the official Cricket Channel - WillowTV will air IPL over Pak vs WI ... even the IPL awards ceremony gets prefered over a Intl match ... :))

Really ? In the US?

Yes ... saw that with my own eyes today. here you can check it on their schedule for today : http://cricket.willow.tv/

The IPL is here to stay ... the haters can keep pretending that it doesn't exist.

Oh I know Williow streams it , I just thought they will be giving priority to Pak vs WI - being an international game

yes thats what I meant ... its even officially reflected on their scheduling in that link http://cricket.willow.tv/. You can see that the 3rd ODI will also have lower preference to IPL. Only when the IPL is done (awards ceremony too lol) do they show Pak vs WI.

One thing that I have observed is that there are more IPL fans in India than those who watch international cricket. Surprisingly they said they even follow leagues from other countries. They would just laugh about when I asked them about the Test cricket.

This is hardly a surprise, it's obvious that Willow TV is geared towards Indian viewers. Most of their advertisements reflect that too. They even show Ranji Trophy IIRC so it's not a surprise that they'll show IPL rather than WI v Pak as IPL will probably get more viewers. There's a much larger Indian audience in the US than Pakistani.

On topic, I don't think I've ever watched a full match though I used to sometimes watch when the likes of Gayle and AB were in one of their moods. Haven't seen any this season though I do check the scorecards from time to time.

I understand that Indians are excited about it but I don't think most Pakistanis are very concerned, for a variety of reasons.

I think I am liking this season a tad more due to some of the bigger Indian stars missing at least. I am tired of seeing our superstars play all the time - I rather see younger kids and other players show their skills - to me thats exciting. Rana , Pant , Rashid Khan , Tahir, Bumrah , Negi , Pandya brothers - I'm more excited to see them play.
Also the teams except Gujrat and to an extent Delhi look very balanced and the top 4 would be a very close fight. It's hard to count any team out especially Pune , KKR , Bangalore and Sunrisers definitely look quite strong. Punjab and Mumbai Indians will keep them on their toes and Delhi is the wild card. No doubt Gujarat is gonna finish at the bottom

yes thats what I meant ... its even officially reflected on their scheduling in that link http://cricket.willow.tv/. You can see that the 3rd ODI will also have lower preference to IPL. Only when the IPL is done (awards ceremony too lol) do they show Pak vs WI.

Watched the Pak vs WI match today from ball one on Willow TV Extra.

Good attempt. Try again.

Watched the Pak vs WI match today from ball one on Willow TV Extra.

Good attempt. Try again.

Attempt for what ? You do realize Willow TV is broadcasting IPL - on their premier channel. There's more money in it - quite understandable.

Willow Extra is their extension.

http://cricket.willow.tv/

Willow extra is also exclusively covering Bangladesh vs Sri Lanka.

Attempt for what ? You do realize Willow TV is broadcasting IPL - on their premier channel. There's more money in it - quite understandable.

Willow Extra is their extension.

http://cricket.willow.tv/

Willow extra is also exclusively covering Bangladesh vs Sri Lanka.

Yes I realize that Extra is their additional channel, but your compatriot couldn't hold back his glee that a channel was broadcasting a domestic match over an international fixture and I just informed him that Willow infact is broadcasting it.

Honsla rakh yaar , He may just be talking solely about the primary channel

Exactly ... the main Willow TV subscription that comes bundled with Hindi package does not show the WillowExtra Channel.

I think I am liking this season a tad more due to some of the bigger Indian stars missing at least. I am tired of seeing our superstars play all the time - I rather see younger kids and other players show their skills - to me thats exciting. Rana , Pant , Rashid Khan , Tahir, Bumrah , Negi , Pandya brothers - I'm more excited to see them play.
Also the teams except Gujrat and to an extent Delhi look very balanced and the top 4 would be a very close fight. It's hard to count any team out especially Pune , KKR , Bangalore and Sunrisers definitely look quite strong. Punjab and Mumbai Indians will keep them on their toes and Delhi is the wild card. No doubt Gujarat is gonna finish at the bottom

Hate to say that Kohli is not being missed. The product "IPL" at this stage is greater than the individuals. I am glad it is accelarating the demise of old mans cricket.

10 years from now hopefully all people will be watching is the IPL, PSL, BD league and so on.

The empire needs to get its house in order and promote T20 instead of finding clever ways of stealing money from India.

Hate to say that Kohli is not being missed. The product "IPL" at this stage is greater than the individuals. I am glad it is accelarating the demise of old mans cricket.

10 years from now hopefully all people will be watching is the IPL, PSL, BD league and so on.

The empire needs to get its house in order and promote T20 instead of finding clever ways of stealing money from India.

That's exactly what I had said ...

I am excited for it, because it's still cricket at the end of the day, only able to look at scorecards these days though

Ipl performances are are 100% irrelevant when judging a player. No one would care if player x averaged 100 for a season with SR of 200..

I agreed with everything you said. I am reinforcing what you said, not contradiciting it.

Oh I thought you were making a different point. For me IPL is primarily enojoying cricket which I normally don't see in International cricket. And considering leagues are popular in every sport except cricket until now , makes this format interesting

Ipl performances are are 100% irrelevant when judging a player. No one would care if player x averaged 100 for a season with SR of 200..

Another cheap shot at IPL. Nothing could be further from truth than your statement. Majority of the guys who do well in IPL will do well in International cricket. Only cream floats to the top. There would always be excptions but by and large it tells a true story.

Oh I thought you were making a different point. For me IPL is primarily enojoying cricket which I normally don't see in International cricket. And considering leagues are popular in every sport except cricket until now , makes this format interesting

Agreed that leagues are the way to go. Only entity that is keeping it from happening is the empire. Soon they will realize that they are irrelevant to the world game.

Another cheap shot at IPL. Nothing could be further from truth than your statement. Majority of the guys who do well in IPL will do well in International cricket. Only cream floats to the top. There would always be excptions but by and large it tells a true story.

Nah.. no one gives a flaying dosh. It's a money making scam! Not sure why anyone would try to defend it

It is great tournament and definitely not a scam. Nothing wrong with players making money. I have had enough of old mans cricket and am done with it. I do understand that haters are gonna hate.

At this point you're just trolling. More people support this than Tests.

I think he means what he says but is misguided. He is a flat earther who will turn around but take some time. The level of enthusiasm is unbelieveable but people chose to ignore it.

At this point you're just trolling. More people support this than Tests.

The meaning of my original post was that IPL or any t20 leagues performances will always be considered meaningless when judging the players' worth. ABDV can average 100 in IPL but he will be rated below Kallis by serious Cricket fans.

And of course, IPL/ ODI would be much more financially viable than tests. That doesn't make it better.

Despite Avatar being twice as successful as any single LOTR movie, the later would always be considered superior by majority of serious movie fans.

The meaning of my original post was that IPL or any t20 leagues performances will always be considered meaningless when judging the players' worth. ABDV can average 100 in IPL but he will be rated below Kallis by serious Cricket fans.

And of course, IPL/ ODI would be much more financially viable than tests. That doesn't make it better.

Despite Avatar being twice as successful as any single LOTR movie, the later would always be considered superior by majority of serious movie fans.

Dumb post. Why would T 20 be considered meaningless? It is more challenging that the slo mo cricket. Who decides who is a serious cricketer? I think those who say test is better are stupid.

I have seen bothmovies. People who like Sci Fi prefer Avatar. Poor comparison. All I can say about you is "Not all those who wander are lost". You will find your way and we will welcome you to T20.

Over a period of time my interest in IPL has dwindled. Initially I used to follow every match even the auctions but now in its 10th season I don't follow IPL. I do watch an occasional innings here and there.. IPL for many is like those TV series which keep dragging on the first few seasons are awesome, you are used to the characters and it's still better than whatever else is playing on TV but can't match the standards it set for itself in first few seasons..

For you tests might be better for others tests might be waste of time, boring and useless.. Everyone has their own opinions so your opinion doesn't make tests better..

10 seasons of success in IPL won't get you the same glory of a successful Test summer

IPL is domestic league test cricket are international matches how can you compare them?

If cricket has to compete at a global level with other sports Leagues like IPL are the way forward not tests..

10 seasons of success in IPL won't get you the same glory of a successful Test summer

Because you are a test fan, does not mean every cricket fan is like you.

Tens of millions of cricket fans in India follow IPL ONLY and don't care much about whats happening in tests or ODIs. Maybe a World Cup gets them excited. Don't begrudge them because they do not have the same 'likes' as you.

In whose eyes but?

ABD and Gayle are heroes in Bangalore. If they go anywhere they will be mobbed. They would never have to foot the bill for anything there. In Bangalore the Indian crowd gave him a bigger reception than the Indian team.

How is this not glory? He has won the hearts of millions of fans. Maybe you don't think those fans matter but that's your subjective assessment. At the end of the day, 30 years later, do you think people will remember a 200 in drawn matches in empty stadium or they will see a clip of the Bangalore crowd giving standing ovation to AB?

This is like somebody saying that Asad Shafiq will go down as a bigger cricketer than Shahid Afridi because Tests>other formats.

In reality however, entire crowds come to watch Afridi only, and even leave when he is out. It's very unrealistic to say Afridi has no glory but Asad Shafiq does.

This is like somebody saying that Asad Shafiq will go down as a bigger cricketer than Shahid Afridi because Tests>other formats.

In reality however, entire crowds come to watch Afridi only, and even leave when he is out. It's very unrealistic to say Afridi has no glory but Asad Shafiq does.

Wrong example.

Asad is a nobody at the moment in Test Cricket while Afridi is a superstar in any format even Tests though he didn't like them.

That is like comparing Wasim Akram to Aqib Javed and saying Wasim has more glory than Aqib. Of course he does. Because the former was simply the better overall cricketer.

IPL is **** low quality cricket seems like anyone can hit a six with ease. good for players to make some quick easy money though

IPL has lost its charm. its good timepass for some people I guess but no doubt its just a tamasha league.

Alright let me rephrase the question; do people genuinely enjoy and follow IPL with the same interest as international Cricket?
I've literally watched every RCB match since Ipl 2, and generally I watch about 90% of the matches every year. Being a cricket fan I really enjoy the cricket, Ipl and psl are the only worth watching leagues now, BBL used to be good but it's too boring now.

Wouldn't the reverse also be applicable? Test performances will not be considered/cared in the IPL. Which is why Mr. Pujara does not have an IPL job.

Yes, T20 performances are meaningless compared to tests and test performances are meaningless to T20 leagues. One is not "better" than the other.

The tests are better, tests are everything crowd still fails to realize/recognize/come to terms with the fact that tests have become a charity case that keep sucking money from boards (outside of Aus, Eng). It is crystal clear where the future is, where the fans are, where the advertisers are and most importantly where the money is.

Guess what, I am a test fan. But above it, I am a cricket fan who watches all forms (as much as time will allow). I am of the opinion that all forms matter. Let the fans/free market decide the lay of the cricket land.

IPL has lost its charm. its good timepass for some people I guess but no doubt its just a tamasha league.

The evidence is to the contarary. IPL (T20 leagues in general) seems to be growing every year. I am guessing that you are just giving your opinion vis-a-vis T20 leagues and not including everyone.

Very easily and even more, not for neutrals maybe, but general crowd on an average do enjoy IPL much more than International cricket
The foreign players are the making of this tournament. Take these away and it will never be successful.

I would say that they are just one of the many important components that make the IPL successfull. For that matter it is the case with pretty much all T20 leagues.

Take this component away and it will hit some head wind. But in the long run things will work out. The leagues will not sit idle. They will come up with something different.

Not excited about it and I did not even know it had started as I was travelling but I am sure I can develop some interest if I watch a few games. It is good entertainment.

In whose eyes but?

ABD and Gayle are heroes in Bangalore. If they go anywhere they will be mobbed. They would never have to foot the bill for anything there. In Bangalore the Indian crowd gave him a bigger reception than the Indian team.

How is this not glory? He has won the hearts of millions of fans. Maybe you don't think those fans matter but that's your subjective assessment. At the end of the day, 30 years later, do you think people will remember a 200 in drawn matches in empty stadium or they will see a clip of the Bangalore crowd giving standing ovation to AB?

Point is that AB will remember the match winning double hundred in India or Australia

30 years down the line he wont care much for the 70 off 30 balls he scored to win a match for RCB

It's good timepass for most indians but it doesn't have the same feel as an international yet. But that will change in the coming years just like how club football is supreme ?

My club success is more important to me than the tests. If you noticed we are #1 in tests but dont watch it either.

IPL is **** low quality cricket seems like anyone can hit a six with ease. good for players to make some quick easy money though

IPL requires far more skill that tests. There is no time to settle down for six overs to judge the bounce, swing etc on the pitch. You have to get your timings right from the first ball. T20 requires a different skill set. Athleticism is very important in T20.

Point is that AB will remember the match winning double hundred in India or Australia

30 years down the line he wont care much for the 70 off 30 balls he scored to win a match for RCB

You can say that about AB because....?

[MENTION=135134]CricketAnalyst[/MENTION] [MENTION=134809]sensible-indian-fan[/MENTION] [MENTION=76058]cricketjoshila[/MENTION]

Curious to know about TV figures and general vibe around the IPL this year in India? Attendances better than before, TV figures up or down??

I'm not too interested in following myself but I am curious to know if the lack of firepower, BCCI controversy this year compared to previous years has impacted on the IPL's success or if it#s continued to grow.

It is matter of time PSL will be a resounding success and you will come around saying what were we thinking.

Some of you like tests and that is fine. Dont go acting out like you are elite or something. Show it with your wallets that you love test cricket. If not you are just trolling.

It's good timepass for most indians but it doesn't have the same feel as an international yet. But that will change in the coming years just like how club football is supreme ?

You can't compare club cricket with club football. The main thing in football are clubs and then international mostly comes second for players. Internationals only really matter come competitions such as Euro's and World Cups. Club football is on every week whilst international football comes after a couple of months and only takes place for a week or two. Cricket is vice versa as we see international cricket over club and club cricket only comes to our minds at the start of IPL or PSL.

Am I right in saying that the IPL will never have the same feel to Indians or anyone as the internationals. You may say for another couple of years but this is now the 10th IPL season!

You can't compare club cricket with club football. The main thing in football are clubs and then international mostly comes second for players. Internationals only really matter come competitions such as Euro's and World Cups. Club football is on every week whilst international football comes after a couple of months and only takes place for a week or two. Cricket is vice versa as we see international cricket over club and club cricket only comes to our minds at the start of IPL or PSL.

Am I right in saying that the IPL will never have the same feel to Indians or anyone as the internationals. You may say for another couple of years but this is now the 10th IPL season!

I think these T20 leagues have to be looked at through the young fans. The 7-10 year olds. That is usually when they take to and understand sports.

Let take the example of the IPL. A kid who was 10 years old when the IPL first started is now 20 years old having grown up with a diet of IPL. In about 4-5 years he/she will be earning their own money. Where they spend their sports $$ will determine their feelings and the future of Indian cricket.

I would venture a guess that these people are already not watching tests. That leaves only the ODI's and IPL. Between these two choices, I would say the IPL will win. That is the reality of the situation and future. Ditto for PSL as well.

It's a cheap entertainment.. nothing more; nothing less.

And I haven't even looked at PPL promo but assuming it's all the same. And it's not just tests, any international t20 league > this money grabbing, match-fixing glamorized circus

Question here isn't whether T20 is better or Test cricket - comparing them is like apples and Oranges.
The question here is whether Fans are excited about IPL - which is a domestic league cricket and people who follow IPL or like T20 are excited.
T20 leagues all aren't there to induct players into hall of fame or make legends - It is based for entertainment and giving the sport a different dimension from what ODI and Test cricket can provide. Quite Simple.
Now to evaluate IPL as a league - It has the best infracstructure and the amount of investment and stakeholders involved in its 10 edition , it has been doing quite well .
The quality of cricket , blah blah all are just rubbish excuses given by some petty people - All T20 leagues are very similar in terms of cricket on the field

[MENTION=135134]CricketAnalyst[/MENTION] [MENTION=134809]sensible-indian-fan[/MENTION] [MENTION=76058]cricketjoshila[/MENTION]

Curious to know about TV figures and general vibe around the IPL this year in India? Attendances better than before, TV figures up or down??

I'm not too interested in following myself but I am curious to know if the lack of firepower, BCCI controversy this year compared to previous years has impacted on the IPL's success or if it#s continued to grow.

Look at the number of posts in IPL match threads. IPL fans can post hundreds of posts to defend their beloved league but can't even post 5% of that in the match thread. That is because they themselves know there is nothing to discuss. Its the same kind of rubbish being repeated every year for 10 years. Whole world has their own league but IPL fans act as if its an exclusive tournament.

I am enjoying the series between west indies and pakistan and looking forward to champions trophy. Hopefully all our players will remain fit for it. :inti

Look at the number of posts in IPL match threads. IPL fans can post hundreds of posts to defend their beloved league but can't even post 5% of that in the match thread. That is because they themselves know there is nothing to discuss. Its the same kind of rubbish being repeated every year for 10 years. Whole world has their own league but IPL fans act as if its an exclusive tournament.

I am enjoying the series between west indies and pakistan and looking forward to champions trophy. Hopefully all our players will remain fit for it. :inti

The numbers of replies on a Pakistani forum where IPL has been called "Cancer" to whatnot untill PSL came up by not only Pakistani members but also Indians is no criteria for judging the interest for the league.
Also not to forget a team with a huge fan following CSK is not playing this year,which has support from atleast 5-6 Indian posters here.

The amount of negativity w.r.t IPL on this forum has always been high,there can be no discussion on threads with that negativity,also one keeps forgetting the fun of IPL is watching it in college and offices which have people from different cities backing different teams.

In-match attendance is lower than last year at the moment. Need to wait for the conclusion for TV statistics.

So number of posts on an internet forum is the yardstick you are using. Why did I not think of such a brilliant idea? Look at the stands and the gate receipts. Look at the revenue. Look at the enthusiasm and all that tells a story you are chosing to ignore.

It is people like you who keep India backwards. Your kind complains when tractors started coming that it will take jobs away from the farmers. Now this. You need tomove on with times.

You dont like IPL, fine. Do not put people down who watch it.

It's a cheap entertainment.. nothing more; nothing less.

And I haven't even looked at PPL promo but assuming it's all the same. And it's not just tests, any international t20 league > this money grabbing, match-fixing glamorized circus

Why dont you repeat this million times so that it will become a fact.

Wouldn't the reverse also be applicable? Test performances will not be considered/cared in the IPL. Which is why Mr. Pujara does not have an IPL job.

Exactly, I refuse to live in a world where someone like Chris Gayle would be revered while someone like Pujara wouldn't even have a chance of making a living.

Utter disgrace.

Exactly, I refuse to live in a world where someone like Chris Gayle would be revered while someone like Pujara wouldn't even have a chance of making a living.

Utter disgrace.

I hate it when someone takes 10 overs to settle down. I like people who can get their eyes on the ball right away just like the great athletes of baseball.

It is a new era, embrace it.

The real figures only come in after the 3rd week or so. 1st couple of week figures are generally low.Has been a case in mos IPLs.

That's your opinion, not his or his fans. And he himself only cares about winning a limited overs trophy for SA. Not Tests.

It's a different feel, but that 'international feel' is there only in World Cups.

Meanwhile I live in the section of society where people claim to like Tests to sound sophisticated and yet I have a 30 person fantasy league of friends. You won't see more than 2 or 3 comments on facebook or whatsapp in the entire duration of a Test match by contrast.

Utter disgrace.

You don't even know about Test Cricket, which you claim to like Chris Gayle has a very good record in Tests and is a triple centurion. If you had any idea about any format of cricket you wouldn't be saying such ridiculous things.

I do remember a report saying all the ad spots were instantly sold out at even hiked up rates this year. That's obviously not viewership, but people clearly anticipate great viewership.

Isn't it funny that for the 2007 T20 World Cup, India's legends like Tendulkar treated the format with contempt and refused to take part. And then Misbah inadvertently creates a T20 Boom in India with everyone jumping on the IPL bandwagon.:27:

Tendulkar never gave it much thought

4 World T20s were held during his career iirc

So number of posts on an internet forum is the yardstick you are using. Why did I not think of such a brilliant idea? Look at the stands and the gate receipts. Look at the revenue. Look at the enthusiasm and all that tells a story you are chosing to ignore.

It is people like you who keep India backwards. Your kind complains when tractors started coming that it will take jobs away from the farmers. Now this. You need tomove on with times.

You dont like IPL, fine. Do not put people down who watch it.

Not sure from where did tractors come into this discussion. The thread is created on PakPassion website and OP is asking from both the IPL fans and neutrals here. Once again not sure from where did gate receipts come into this discussion? OP is asking from the members of this forum not the ones who are jumping up and down in front of the stadiums.

I was correct some of you only show enthusiasm in defending IPL but do not have anything to discuss when it comes to Pyjama League matches. You like IPL that is fine. Do not think its your personal property that no one can criticise it.

Viewership aside , as I've said before , many test stars have rejected internationals for the IPL. That is a sad trend and it has considerably weakened their national teams.

Yes, the cricket landscape is changing. If I remember correctly, NZ and SL players have an agreement with their boards that no internationals will be played during the IPL (or something to that effect). The Aus. do not schedule anything during the IPL, the WI players do not care about internationals. Recently I think the ECB gave special permission to the english players in the IPL to skip a few of thier county commitments.