How is Coronovirus pandemic affecting your day to day life?

Babu Bhaiya

I know there are lots of threads related to coronovirus- region specific, how it’s affecting sports etc.

But i thought that This deserves a separate thread where you can share how this pandemic is affecting your daily life. What is the situation out there where you’re living. What are the socio-economic changes happening?

I live Delhi-NCR(Gurgaon) region. And situation here is scary. People here have started stock-piling the daily need items including food grains, vegetables etc. I went to the nearby grocery store yesterday and couldn’t get the flour,sugar, salt etc. Everything is disappearing from the shelves.

As I’m typing this, Home delivery apps for groceries in India like Big Basket, Grofers etc. They are showing almost everything out of stock. And the items which are available, the waiting time is 3-4 days. Don’t know about other regions in India but in Gurgaon situation is becoming very critical. Not spreading rumours but this is what I’m witnessing myself. I myself have to get the ration for at least 2 months somehow even if i have to pay higher prices.

While returning from work i booked an Uber and the guy was worried as hell- how is he going to pay the EMI for the car, pay his rent and feed the family if situation continues like this or gets worse. He had only 3 bookings since morning.
Shopping malls, Cinemas(not that i care), Schools, Colleges are already closed. Restaurants have started closing down voluntarily till 31st march.
People who work in these malls etc, I don’t know if their employers are going to pay..

I am directly affected by this crisis. Everything happened really fast. The whole daily schedule has turned upside down. Just 4 days ago it was life as usual just keep the distance and wash hands. Now the situation has changed drastically. Only you are allowed to go of house for next 30 days is for grocery, pharmacy or a visit to doctor as per government's measures.

I am worried about the financial aspect and the possibility of losing my loved ones.

Can't share more personal details.

The virus is nowhere under control over here and the exponential curve is out of hands. Everybody reacted including the government reacted too late even though North Italy is just a 2hr drives away and a favorite holiday destination. The government did react but not fast and drastically enough. They wanted to keep the economic loss initially as low as possible but luckily they soon realized the gravity of the situation.

The general population however is still in denial and think virus can't touch them. People are still out there chilling. They seem to be so uninformed it's mind boggling. I guess decades of peace and tranquility has them believe nothing bad can happen here.

Next 7 days are crucial if curve keeps its trajectory than the health system will not be able to keep up with the rate and would have reached its limit.

Orders are way down for my business and the firm Mrs Robert works for.

We have made a plan in case we must self-isolate.

Scary days.

I work as a touring musician (cant reveal more details here) and all my upcoming shows/tours have been cancelled / postponed.

Have been directly affected by this, and it's possible that I won't be earning a penny for the next 2-3 months or more depending on how things pan out in India.

Wish everyone and their families on this board safety and good heath.

Tough times ahead... F-you China!

Meant to be starting a job next month but think it will be postponed

I work as a touring musician (cant reveal more details here) and all my upcoming shows/tours have been cancelled / postponed.

Have been directly affected by this, and it's possible that I won't be earning a penny for the next 2-3 months or more depending on how things pan out in India.

Wish everyone and their families on this board safety and good heath.

Tough times ahead... F-you China!

Sorry to hear that brother.

Yeah people are buying up essentials even in Chennai where there isn't that big a scare like other cities.

It's going to be some tough months ahead. :(

Too many people overeacting and stock buying. Difficult to get general household items / groceries.

We in Pakistan, authorities and public, are being criminally oblivious.

Afterwards, PTSD also a big concern.

I am directly affected by this crisis. Everything happened really fast. The whole daily schedule has turned upside down. Just 4 days ago it was life as usual just keep the distance and wash hands. Now the situation has changed drastically. Only you are allowed to go of house for next 30 days is for grocery, pharmacy or a visit to doctor as per government's measures.

I am worried about the financial aspect and the possibility of losing my loved ones.

Can't share more personal details.

The virus is nowhere under control over here and the exponential curve is out of hands. Everybody reacted including the government reacted too late even though North Italy is just a 2hr drives away and a favorite holiday destination. The government did react but not fast and drastically enough. They wanted to keep the economic loss initially as low as possible but luckily they soon realized the gravity of the situation.

The general population however is still in denial and think virus can't touch them. People are still out there chilling. They seem to be so uninformed it's mind boggling. I guess decades of peace and tranquility has them believe nothing bad can happen here.

Next 7 days are crucial if curve keeps its trajectory than the health system will not be able to keep up with the rate and would have reached its limit.

Are you in Swiss? Agree the people here are kind of oblivious. Why are you chilling when you should be socially distancing yourself -_-

At the moment its groceries, anti bacterials hand wash/gels, and toilet paper.
However, if it continues like this then what about petrol, water, gas and electricity?
That may seem a long way off but just look how quickly the situation has been changing....

Personally, I'm braced for my business to be hit and at the same time and following NHS updates as I do have an underlying condition.
Family want me to stay at home but I need to be in my office preparing.

Sick & tired of hearing about it. I want to carry on with my daily life as normal;

I am generally just trying to maintain a safe distance from people, still out and about when I need to be, but am probably going to cut down on it just to be on the safe side. We tend to be pretty well stocked up on essentials anyway, so up until now have not really been worried about provisions...but the wife went to the supermarket today and there was no milk which was an eye opener. Now I'm starting to wonder.

Other than that I am really missing the sport. Weekends don't seem complete without a set of football fixtures. I don't watch it religiously, but I do like to have it in the background.

I am currently in Dubai while my family is in Pakistan. I haven't stepped outside my apartment for two days and other than talking to my family on Skype, I have had zero human contact. Not necessarily because I am extra-cautious but because I don't have anywhere to go. Feeling a bit weird and will probably go for a walk tonight.

It has completely turned my life outside down. A lot of my schedules/plans had to be postponed.

It hasn't been great for me.

I live in Germany. Our soon to start semester has been postponed for the next 30 days. It frees up time for me to pick up books for keeping myself busy and probably to watch more educational videos on Youtube. Good thing is, supermarkets like Penny or Rewe are open so buying groceries is not a problem. So yeah it is a kind of self-isolation with books and the overall experience has not been that bad.

Talk about effecting day to day life

I am a physician in USA, taking care of the sickest patients in ICU and also non-ICU ones.

My life is upside down, but all of us , as a team are upbeat , will win the war against Covid-19

Physically I'm fine but taking care of some vey sick Covid-19 positives and many suspected cases, feel like its just a matter of time for me, but I'm taking 100% precautionary measures.

I'm most worried about the situation when I have to take care of my colleagues or they have to to take of me, hope not.

Faith is the biggest help in coping with this situation, I'm blessed with strong faith.

I have isolated myself from my family to an ennexe built at the other end of my large backyard.

2 years ago we bought this beautiful lake side cottage in NE Pennsylvania as our summer ( and winter ) hide out but had hardly used it much and was planning to sell it, but now, I will go there over the weekend to fix it, my wife and children will be moving there for sometime. My wife can work from home. Perfect way to follow " social distancing" recommendation.

Looks like I'm writing this " diary from the battlefield " to my PP family, so much to share, but hopefully with have time.

Please pray for each other, whatever faith you follow. I don;t want to get sick , won't be good for me and my family but also I won;t be able to do my professional duties at the most demanded time of my professional life.

One physician in my group has symptoms, he is home, other was exposed, self quarantined, can't afford to lose more.

Nurses are the true heroes in the this war against covid-19, more than us doctors. Ultimate respect for them , now more than ever.

I am a physician in USA, taking care of the sickest patients in ICU and also non-ICU ones.

My life is upside down, but all of us , as a team are upbeat , will win the war against Covid-19

Physically I'm fine but taking care of some vey sick Covid-19 positives and many suspected cases, feel like its just a matter of time for me, but I'm taking 100% precautionary measures.

I'm most worried about the situation when I have to take care of my colleagues or they have to to take of me, hope not.

Faith is the biggest help in coping with this situation, I'm blessed with strong faith.

I have isolated myself from my family to an ennexe built at the other end of my large backyard.

2 years ago we bought this beautiful lake side cottage in NE Pennsylvania as our summer ( and winter ) hide out but had hardly used it much and was planning to sell it, but now, I will go there over the weekend to fix it, my wife and children will be moving there for sometime. My wife can work from home. Perfect way to follow " social distancing" recommendation.

Looks like I'm writing this " diary from the battlefield " to my PP family, so much to share, but hopefully with have time.

Please pray for each other, whatever faith you follow. I don;t want to get sick , won't be good for me and my family but also I won;t be able to do my professional duties at the most demanded time of my professional life.

One physician in my group has symptoms, he is home, other was exposed, self quarantined, can't afford to lose more.

Nurses are the true heroes in the this war against covid-19, more than us doctors. Ultimate respect for them , now more than ever.

Kudos to you and truly appreciate the restless work hours all you guys are putting in.

From what I am hearing, healthcare providers and the elderly population with existing pulmonary and/or cardio conditions are the highest risk.

I got three MDs at my home including my better half, and all are in the same boat as you are.

Luckily, I've been already working from home since the last 6 years so my personal work life is not effected in a drastic way. However, some uncertainty and some anxiousness has started to kick-in since I saw some reports where people have now started to make long lines in front of ........ gun stores.
You know, stupid spreads like a wild fire.

But looking at the good side of it, many citizens are displaying care to others and people are generally nice. I guess depends on where you live?

Lets hope it's over soon. Ameen

You rock brother.

Take care and stay safe.

I heard (don't know if its true) that North Korea got a corona virus patient and their method of curing him was a bullet through the head. Quite a typical NK thing to do.

Stay safe [MENTION=141839]moghul[/MENTION] and thank you for your huge efforts in tough circumstances.

As a pharmacist I have been trying to calm down many panicked patients who are terrified at the effects this virus has has on daily life. Mothers worried about the lack of baby milk, the elderly are wondering whether they can even see their GP, and have sold countless paracetamol over the counter.

I'm truly appalled at the selfishness from folks who are fit and healthy, and have no reason to worry. The hoarding of paracetamol has gotten so bad that we have introduced rationing. These people have no regard for the elderly or the most vulnerable who desperately need these essentials themselves. Meanwhile the suppliers are either charging crazy prices or suffering shortages themselves. The whole supply chain is in a state of flux.

I am concerned that my job involves constant daily exposure to the public but trying to take all necessary precautions. We've received a supply of masks, aprons and gloves from NHS this week, and have a hand sanitiser which I'm using regularly in addition to hand washing.

Stay safe [MENTION=141839]moghul[/MENTION] and thank you for your huge efforts in tough circumstances.

As a pharmacist I have been trying to calm down many panicked patients who are terrified at the effects this virus has has on daily life. Mothers worried about the lack of baby milk, the elderly are wondering whether they can even see their GP, and have sold countless paracetamol over the counter.

I'm truly appalled at the selfishness from folks who are fit and healthy, and have no reason to worry. The hoarding of paracetamol has gotten so bad that we have introduced rationing. These people have no regard for the elderly or the most vulnerable who desperately need these essentials themselves. Meanwhile the suppliers are either charging crazy prices or suffering shortages themselves. The whole supply chain is in a state of flux.

I am concerned that my job involves constant daily exposure to the public but trying to take all necessary precautions. We've received a supply of masks, aprons and gloves from NHS this week, and have a hand sanitiser which I'm using regularly in addition to hand washing.

Stay safe bhai.

----

Do you think Boris is far more stupid and evil than Trump?

Stay safe bhai.

----

Do you think Boris is far more stupid and evil than Trump?

Thanks. I'm on the left but don't want to attack the Government too much because these would be extremely trying times for any administration.

What I am critical of is why we weren't more aggressive with social distancing measures like other European countries earlier on. It seems they were relying on faulty data.

Owners of wet markets in China aren't on my Christmas card list though.

Thanks. I'm on the left but don't want to attack the Government too much because these would be extremely trying times for any administration.

What I am critical of is why we weren't more aggressive with social distancing measures like other European countries earlier on. It seems they were relying on faulty data.

Haha...

The Chinese govt should (and hopefully, will be) taken to task.

My life has been really adversely impacted. Most of my family is in Pakistan and this includes my parents who are 60. Ofcourse, I am worried about them. I was meant to go Pakistan soon but I guess that wont happen now.

The streets are quiet, roads empty, hardly anyone around.

This is eerie, it's actually very strange and worrying.

Stay safe everyone.

Do you think there should be sanctions on China for allowing wet markets to operate in their country?

I took a week off work because of this virus. My work place is still open, but I hope and pray that by the start of next week, London is in lockdown, because I don't wanna have to use public transport to go to work in these circumstances. I'm really scared to be honest.

People in peshwar are so dumb. Roaming and enjoying everything. They still think it is just a rumor.

You too stay safe, your work put you at high risk too. Thanks for what you do.

Still going to the hospital every day for placement as university still expects us to keep attending, using hand sanitiser more than ever before, kinda feel like sitting ducks though really. :mv
Birthday coming up, will be different to spend it completely at home

I work for an accounting firm in Canada. Thank goodness the govt had the sense to extend the tax filing deadline from April 30 to June 1 and now our firm has given us permission to start working from home for the next week but unfortunately our firm is a bit backwards where they view scanning client documents as a waste of time and insist client bring in paper documents and therefore we may have to travel to the office on and off to collect client documents

It's everybody for himself. Other than the top 10%, everybody will struggle. And I already seen fights and frauds in business. It's gonna get messy...

Noticeable that those who make a big deal over everything in their life are making the most of this situation.

Jobs, survival of the fittest, insecurity, uncertainty.
Unable to figure out whether I should be positive and think of the blessings till affected or cry over uncertainty .

It’s unfortunate how everyone has been hoarding, lack of compassion was low already.

Hope it changes all of us for the better.

All this news coverage about rush for toilet paper is annoying. It's about time the western world migrate to the more civilized version of restroom hygiene - learning to use the bidet shower aka bum gun.

Come on, white people, it's time to evolve.

All this news coverage about rush for toilet paper is annoying. It's about time the western world migrate to the more civilized version of restroom hygiene - learning to use the bidet shower aka bum gun.

Come on, white people, it's time to evolve.

Agreed.

I actually made a thread about it once. I think we should move away from toilet papers. Spray seems like a better and more hygienic option.

Most shelves at the supermarket now stripped bare. This panic buying is getting really annoying now.

One thing is for sure, I could have predicted which people I know who would milk this situation and be the first to be ill and have the virus.

And I wasn't wrong.

Well, this hit home today. I work in vacation industry in Florida and they shut down the beaches here. Was in a conference call with our CEO and we had had to lay off bunch of people. I have to take a pay cut, I'll be fine with what I make, but I am gutted for people who lost their jobs today. Also for lot of temp workers who depend on us from March-October.
March - April and June-October is our season, so if this thing don't get better by may, we will have a horrible year. I just want 2020 to be over with.

One thing is for sure, I could have predicted which people I know who would milk this situation and be the first to be ill and have the virus.

And I wasn't wrong.

Hmm. Care to elaborate please?

The real heroes here are the nurses, doctors and rest of the healthcare personell, well done, [MENTION=141839]moghul[/MENTION].

I really hope this get’s over quickly and that our elders are safe.

On a personal note, I am used to home office, but the biggest challenge now is that the schools and kindergardens are closed. So my wife and I are also teachers for our 3 kids these days. Very tough to combine this with a fulltime job, but as long as we have our health in tact, I will not complain.

Gym is closed which is a big issue for me, dont have my home gym set up any longer. Gave away my equipment inc my tread mill!

Going to supermarkets is becoming annyoning with lack of stock and idiotic people around.

We're starting to see what we feared most. Doctors and nurses are started to get infected and exposed to covid-19 patients , thanks to lack of PPEs . We're running short of doctors in our group to take care of hospitalized patients. Many of us had to close our office for 2 weeks to reassess the situation and take care of patients in hospital. Its just matter of time that many of us will catch the virus and hoping not before the others who're exposed and suspected to have the virus ( test is taking too long to come back ) will be back.

Every day we come to know that some of the patients we saw came back positive ( some unexpectedly ) and so many nurses and doctors were exposed. If everyone of the exposed nurse, doctor and other health care worker is sent home and isolated, there won't be many left to take care of the patients. We have to bite the bullet, many like me who are asymptomatic but had the exposure will keep on working and will not be tested , unless have symptoms. At least supply of the PPEs is improving and everyone is wearing surgical mask in hospital , which until yesterday were discouraged to due the shortage.

Situation is deteriorating fast , worst is yet to come, but we're in this together, will get over it.

Spring is in the air, weather is nice and warm today, in 70s will go for a run, has to keep our spirit high. Keep praying for each other.

Reminds me of the line...

Aik dum halaat badal diye, jazbaat badal diye

We're starting to see what we feared most. Doctors and nurses are started to get infected and exposed to covid-19 patients , thanks to lack of PPEs . We're running short of doctors in our group to take care of hospitalized patients. Many of us had to close our office for 2 weeks to reassess the situation and take care of patients in hospital. Its just matter of time that many of us will catch the virus and hoping not before the others who're exposed and suspected to have the virus ( test is taking too long to come back ) will be back.

Every day we come to know that some of the patients we saw came back positive ( some unexpectedly ) and so many nurses and doctors were exposed. If everyone of the exposed nurse, doctor and other health care worker is sent home and isolated, there won't be many left to take care of the patients. We have to bite the bullet, many like me who are asymptomatic but had the exposure will keep on working and will not be tested , unless have symptoms. At least supply of the PPEs is improving and everyone is wearing surgical mask in hospital , which until yesterday were discouraged to due the shortage.

Situation is deteriorating fast , worst is yet to come, but we're in this together, will get over it.

Spring is in the air, weather is nice and warm today, in 70s will go for a run, has to keep our spirit high. Keep praying for each other.

Thanks you 🙏 , stay safe!

Apparently I still am starting work next month as a railway signaller. Let's hope so, but I am under no illusions about what a grave and unpredictable situation this is

Not just the flu bro, this is a genuinely lethal outbreak. From all I know I would not be the slightest bit surprised if I ended up in intensive care

Hmm. Care to elaborate please?

Those who sneeze once and declare they are seriously ill and have to self-isolate. The sort who you know will make the most of the situation sespite there being nothing wrong with them.

Today I had to go out.

I never thought I would see the day where people are fighting over flour, people are hugging each other because they've managed to buy toilet-roll & there are loud cheers in a supermarket when paracetamol is brought out by staff and grown men and women are in tears over this issue.

Things are getting bad.

My wife and kids left for our lake side cottage, 3 hours away , obviously I will missed them but I'm relieved I will not be transmitting virus to them. All of us doctors, and nurses are assuming as we have the virus, taking no chances. I know couple of nurses , they are sleeping in their garages.

Thank you for your services guys wherever you are. Putting your own safety in danger while helping others.

I've been working from home for the past 1.5 weeks, and I work in a team that's fairly recession-proof, so I'm not too worried about $$$. Although this is already starting to feel like a drag. It has also changed my mind on "I wouldn't mind a 100% remote job" idea I used to have previously.

I don't live with my parents, but have been talking consistently to them everyday to drill the seriousness of this in their minds and get them to isolate themselves from the world.

Also, staying at home and social distancing made me come out of retirement and start another innings of my PP career :afridi

What annoys me are those people who think only they matter, only their kids matter and they are the only ones inconvenienced by this, as if nobody else matters.

Spoilt brats.

Working from home starting today. I'm a site engineer, meaning my job mostly revolves around work happening on site. Now I'm stuck with a pile of boring paperwork.

Also been told that if the government does not announce a support package for large businesses, I probably won't be getting paid after next Friday.

I work in public finance and we are inundated with credit and liquidity issues for our clients. Airport authorities are in bad shape, local governments are in bad shape, state governments are in bad shape. The economic meltdown the last couple of weeks has caused will have horrible consequences. With the extension for tax filings literally every government agency is facing a shortfall. Unemployment agency is flooded by people claiming unemployment. I’ve been working 11 to 12hrs a day off a laptop on my dining table. Bad news is that it’ll get worse.

Bread is gone from Delhi market. Pulses are about to be gone. Every opened shop (grocery and chemist) has decent line as they are only attending 1 customer at a time. The empty streets reminds of the time when curfew was imposed during 1980's riots.

My family is stuck 10 km away and due to lockdown i won't be able to have them back for atleast 3 weeks.
My income has dropped a bit as there are no open electronic shop anymore.

The only minor benefit i can see is that the air pollution is dropping. And i can spot slightly more stars in night sky.

Bread is gone from Delhi market. Pulses are about to be gone. Every opened shop (grocery and chemist) has decent line as they are only attending 1 customer at a time. The empty streets reminds of the time when curfew was imposed during 1980's riots.

My family is stuck 10 km away and due to lockdown i won't be able to have them back for atleast 3 weeks.
My income has dropped a bit as there are no open electronic shop anymore.

The only minor benefit i can see is that the air pollution is dropping. And i can spot slightly more stars in night sky.
Same is happening with food everywhere I think it has to do with grocery stores rationing everything and also the increased demand

An uncle of mine suddenly passed away today, just as India's 21 day lockdown began. His 4 children are in the US/UK and have no way of getting back into India given the ban on international flights. It's all confusion now. So the funeral will either go ahead without them or the body will be in the morgue for 20+ days, until they arrive there somehow.

It's a sorry state of affairs.

I am a Assistant commisioner of a sub district and it's taking huge toll on me...almost 24/7 work from past few days and after lock down has been announced ,it has been too hectic

More cooking , sweeping and mopping in past 2 weeks than I have done in my entire life .
Positives , I have realized I cook pretty well .

Still seeing people behaving normally and ignoring medical advice.

Saw construction workers getting out of their van today, all crammed in and all putting themselves and others at risk.

Got temporarily laid off by my accounting firm. They called me up and told me that business/work has really dried up because of the virus and they won't be that busy between now and the month of April but they will most likely call me back in the month of May onwards. I am grateful for a break because I had been working back breaking hours in the last 2 months.

But who would have thought that a virus would effect everyone in such a fast way. According to the Canadian Prime Minister 4 million Canadians have applied for Unemployment insurance in the last week. That should tell you everything.

It's everybody for himself. Other than the top 10%, everybody will struggle. And I already seen fights and frauds in business. It's gonna get messy...

True, Yet so many naïve people are cheering saying the virus has made people more equal by destroying the stock market. They think that a economic depression affects only rich people....

There are short term sacrifices we have to make to reduce chances of a surge in patients requiring ICU

What scares me are those people who are saying this is the way we need to live permanently (no one going out, no air travel) as apparently this is good for the environment.

There are people I know who even before the pandemic, had no issues staying home for days at end, just watching Netflix and commenting on FB. These are the type of people who would want lockdowns to exist forever

True, Yet so many naïve people are cheering saying the virus has made people more equal by destroying the stock market. They think that a economic depression affects only rich people....

It probably effects the middle class the most . The government will always take care of the elite rich and the extreme poor.

Today probably was one of the most stressful day of my professional life. I have been working in ICU in my primary hospital and and even though we have been very busy but , it has been manageable. This weekend I was off but a friends intensivist ( ICU doctor ) working in a hospital in the epicenter of Corona virus infection asked for help due the desperate situation there due to shortage of doctors and I agreed. I knew it would be busy there but what I saw it was unthinkable. A large portion of the hospital has been turned into ICU with patient on ventilation all over. So many patients with corona virus , young and old . Not sure how all those doctors and nurses, including me will be able to get away without catching this virus, sooner or later, but that was not the main concern . Main stress was to see so many people dying and no cure insight any time soon . Now I'm home for a break, will be there early morning for an other 12 Hours. Dire situation in New Jersey and New York and worst is yet to come.

True champion. Stay safe and stay strong Sir. May ALLAH protect us all.