How rampant is cheating in India?

srh

I was reading this news that Education authorities in eastern India say 600 high school students have been expelled after they were found to have cheated on pressure-packed 10th grade examinations.

600 Students Expelled for Cheating on School Exams in India

https://www.yahoo.com/parenting/600-students-expelled-for-cheating-on-school-exams-114126604867.html

6366734711cd7f3a812356a610897f6cd85aee62.jpg
Indian TV footage showed parents and friends scaling the walls to pass cheat sheets to students inside.

Reading the comments it looks like Indians have bad reputation for cheating. For example this is one comment:

I have news for you. These are the same Indianns who come to the U.S. and cheat! In one recent notorious case, Ajai Mariamdani Thomas, an Indian law student at Harvard Law falsified his academic transcript to secure a coveted internship with a Supreme Court judge. He was caught, despite his entire family concocting more and more lies to try to exonerate him, and summarily expelled from Harvard Law! Unchastened by his expulsion from Harvard, Ajai legally changed his name to Matthew Martoma and won admission to Stanford, conveniently omitting his entire stint with Harvard, and Stanford awarded him his MBA. Armed with his prestige MBA, he became a financial analyst winding up at SAC Capital, a hedge fund widely suspected of being a den of thieves engaged in insider trading among other illegal activities. You guessed it, Martoma was found guilty of one of the largest cases of insider fraud in history and is now serving one of the longest sentences in SEC history. Others? Raj Ratnaratham. Gupta, former Goldman Sachs Board member and managing partner of McKinsey.

Is it a common problem in India?

India should allow open book exams. What is called cheating is just kids using chits for formulae and other things you can't memorize.

wasn't there a demonstration in india where students were protesting how they were not being allowed to cheat saying that a birth right is being taken away from them

It is a normal thing in UP and Bihar. One of the election promises by the ex CM of UP was to make cheating in exams non punishable, and he passed the law within hours of becoming the CM. And he was the same CM who said boys are boys and mistakes happen, when talking about rapes.

well, at least they got caught and punished.
In Pakistan, every degree and every exam is for sale.

Corruption and cheating in India is perhaps as common as it is in Pakistan.

The fellow Indians at work I talk to, acknowledge this; however, they also tell me that competition in Education, academic and sports is so intense and severe in India that lallu panjus and cheaters are filtered out and simply cannot come up top.

Extremely common. I have friends in college who pretty much bought the question paper out one way or the other in their college years. Some of them even paid upto several lakhs for the big ones.

well, at least they got caught and punished.
In Pakistan, every degree and every exam is for sale.

Corruption and cheating in India is perhaps as common as it is in Pakistan.

The fellow Indians at work I talk to, acknowledge this; however, they also tell me that competition in Education, academic and sports is so intense and severe in India that lallu panjus and cheaters are filtered out and simply cannot come up top.

Even when they try to cheat their way into a desirable marriage a quick arithmetic quiz by a sharp witted fiance can catch them in their tracks.

Bihar!! Nuff Said.

Some students do cheat in the exams a little bit. I have never seen any student cheat in public exams. The Invigilators are extremely strict. No dirty tricks allowed. If caught, the student can kiss that year good bye and repeat the class again.

In small towns may be some students cheat. But this kind of mass cheating the OP has is extremely rare. Only in the sheetiest part of India this sort of stuff can happen.

Nothing surprises me if the News comes from Bihar. I wonder how sane people even live there. Incidentally some of the brightest students I have met are from Bihar. I guess all the intelligent ones runaway from their state at the first opportunity.

India should allow open book exams. What is called cheating is just kids using chits for formulae and other things you can't memorize.

Open book exams means the questions will not have answers in the Textbook. That means the teachers have to set the Question Paper very intelligently. That is too much to ask from all those unqualified teachers. Also when these teachers correct those answer papers, they will go crazy.

I was offered money multiple times to sit for an exam for someone else..the money was very good, and it was assured that even if I get caught, the police would let me off (through bribe). But I was a coward (although I would like to tell others than I am a man of principles) and couldn't take the risk.

u.p bihar have no competition in the crime,cheating,filthy ..sorry my indian fella dnt mind if any one belong to this states

In my Engg college, there were some people from Bihar/East UP who came with very high percentage but were struggling to solve simplest of maths problem. Many of them drops out after failing few years.

I was offered money multiple times to sit for an exam for someone else..the money was very good, and it was assured that even if I get caught, the police would let me off (through bribe). But I was a coward (although I would like to tell others than I am a man of principles) and couldn't take the risk.

I have had my own innovative way of cheating. It was a carefully crafted long term chain of events that lasted during the entire exam. The first paper used to be the toughest challenge - regardless of the subject. So I prepared hard for it.

20 minutes before the first paper time ended, I would walk up to the examiner and ask for an extra answer sheets to complete my answers. Those old days sheets would look like exactly the same as the original ones. All you needed was to fill out name and roll number.

I would the quietly slip those blank sheets into my pocket and brought them home. Then I would fill them out with all the important answers (that I had not prepared) for the next day paper in a very small font. I would take this sheet with me the next day, and get a fresh answer sheet at the start of paper.

Now the situation was, there were questions in the paper that had hit my home made answer sheet but my home made answer sheet also had answers that were not relevant to the question paper.

SO,

I would cross out all those irrelevant answers and sometimes spill a little ink on the answer too. This would gave me a perfectly legible excuse to tell the examiner (different guy in different papers and on different days) that my answer sheet looks messed up so I needed another sheet to write again neatly. He would gladly give it to me,

AND

I would put my home made answer sheet in front of me and simply copy down all the good stuff, supported by a couple of answers that were not there but I had them prepared or took a fluke chance with it. No wonder I ended up in corporate America. :))

And you'd expect them to tell you, even if they cheated like lallu panjus, that they came out on top and reached their current status with honesty, integrity, talent and sheer hard work alone?

Wow, what a picture! With ropes and all that height.

It is a normal thing in UP and Bihar. One of the election promises by the ex CM of UP was to make cheating in exams non punishable, and he passed the law within hours of becoming the CM. And he was the same CM who said boys are boys and mistakes happen, when talking about rapes.

He has his priorities right, scumbag.

An Indian guy does something great = "Proud to be an Indian"
An Indian guy embarrasses himself = "Typical Bengali" " All the Gujaratis are like this" "All the Malayalees are disgrace" BLAH BLAH BLAH.

That is an amazing scene. But it says more about the education system than the actual students themselves.

An Indian guy does something great = "Proud to be an Indian"
An Indian guy embarrasses himself = "Typical Bengali" " All the Gujaratis are like this" "All the Malayalees are disgrace" BLAH BLAH BLAH.

Indians are one of the biggest hypocrites. That is why despite being an Indian citizen, I am anti Indian.

I am glad that I live in a country with rigorous anti-corruption systems to expose and if necessary prosecute cheats in all forms.

Interesting question.

Saville and the MPs were white people preying on (mostly) white kids so there was no race angle for the press. I think the Police hesitance to pursue these paedophiles is due to the perpetrators having enough power and influence to end the investigating coppers' careers. The retired detective who spoke on Sky News was still scared after 25 years, and would not show his face to the camera.

Isnt this your post?

UP and Bihar. There lies the problem. Not so much in the rest of the country.

I thought these were wall climbing competions to choose members for a mountain climbing team planning to reach the peaks of some Himalayan mountains that have never been conquered. :20:

This is where India should hunt for Olympic talents

It looks like a scene from Prison Break.
Must say Indians are innovative looking at that picture. If Pakistanis had to do cheating in this case, they would have brought ladders with them, bring more people with them to hold the ladders while in use. But Indians dont even need ladders. Spiderman FTW.

No matter how fast the Asian tigers economies are booming, until they can learn the value of implementing such rigorous systems there can never be a real quality of lifestyle.

I was reading this news that Education authorities in eastern India say 600 high school students have been expelled after they were found to have cheated on pressure-packed 10th grade examinations.

600 Students Expelled for Cheating on School Exams in India

https://www.yahoo.com/parenting/600-students-expelled-for-cheating-on-school-exams-114126604867.html

View attachment 55501
Indian TV footage showed parents and friends scaling the walls to pass cheat sheets to students inside.

Reading the comments it looks like Indians have bad reputation for cheating. For example this is one comment:

Is it a common problem in India?

123 kids expelled from this exam, entire exam was cancelled, 712 parents were arrested and charged. 13 lakh fine was imposed.

Good job media.

It is difficult for an outsider to imagine the sheer diversity and scope of India. Imagine all the countries of Europe and Africa with 10 times the diversity. Almost 1/6th of the world's population. So we have states as advanced as great European countries and states as bad as Somalia. Difficult to change entire 1/6th of the world overnight for better or for worse. Both our strength and weakness.

Most humbly, I ask which indian states are as advanced as the great European countries.

Yes. That said corruption is now being exposed demonstrates that the UK has rigorous anti-corruption systems in place. Thank you for proving my point.

Exposed after how many years?

If you didnt read,cheaters were also caught and expelled.

The bizarre photograph in which people hung precariously from window sills and perched on narrow ledges, flinging cheat sheets into the exam hall where their children or friends were grappling with question papers, may have caused a lot of jaws to drop elsewhere in India and abroad but no one in Bihar is particularly staggered at the idea of exams as a community enterprise. Bihar's students have been practising the Open Book Exam long before the West stumbled on the idea. In fact, in this school of exam giving everyone is invited to help — parents, family, neighbourhood, tutors and even teachers.

The practice of cheating at the intermediate and matriculation examinations started sometime in the late '60s when in the wake of student agitations, youth power found a new meaning in the state. Over the next decades, cheating was polished to a fine, flagrant art.

Exams, recalls S Kumar, who grew up in Munger, used to be carnival time around the town's four government schools. Thousands would descend during the exam mela. The modus operandi was for a "helper" to nip into the school, get the answer and question sheets out, sit in the shade of the verandahs of hospitable homes and write the exam along with helping hands chipping in with inspiration, hot chai and moral support.

"At least four people would accompany babua in his tryst to clear the paper — the father or any elderly male from the family, a sprightly kid who could scurry fast into the school and fetch the paper, one brainy guy can answer the questions and often, a concerned and caring neighbour
, he recalls. "As an English speaker I used to be in great demand.In return, you get plied with samosa and rasgulla."

The escort party with a student does whatever it takes to either ensure that the entire paper is answered outside while the student patiently sits at his desk or sends in correct answers for him to copy. Officially, the exams lasted three hours but as long as you dropped the answer sheets off at the school before 5pm, you were safe. "Sab utaar liye kya (have you copied everything)?" the anxious question went around as the sun dipped on the horizon.

The onus of a great performance thus depends on the support system. It isn't rare to hear a petulant kid tick off his heartbroken father outside: "I told you there would be questions from Chapter 10 but you wouldn't listen." The rot spread so deep that in the 1990s, the Patna high court was compelled to intervene in the matter and conduct the matriculation exam, recalls a retired government schoolteacher MK Rai. "After that, there were fewer reports of unfair means being practised by state board students," he claims. But the photograph that went viral last week clearly shows that organized cheating is still deeply entrenched in the state's education system.

Last year, about 1,200 students were expelled for using unfair means while this year, 766 students have already been expelled from March 17 to 19. "But things are not like that everywhere," counters an indignant invigilator at a school in West Champaran.

The matriculation exam is the first benchmark in the life of a Bihar student and a 'matric pass' commands much respect in the countryside. In fact, in the 1970s, the government of Karpoori Thakur announced that a student, no matter if he or she failed in English in matric examinations, would be deemed as 'matric pass'. Consequently 'Karpoori division' became a household word.

It is not that examinees elsewhere in the country are beyond using unfair means — or that there are no honest examiness in Bihar — but students who have been through the state board system say they would stick out like a sore thumb if they didn't cheat. "How is it cheating? It isn't that one-fourth or half the room is cheating. If everyone is cheating and you don't, well, you feel cheated, no?" It is hard to find fault with that comeback.

Once the photograph went viral, the state response was defensive. State education minister PK Shahi said the government was helpless in dealing with the situation. The board chairman reportedly pinned the responsibility for the fair conduct of exams on district magistrates.

Objecting to this, Patna high court and Bihar Human Rights Commission on Friday directed the state government to ensure free and fair conduct of matriculation exams. Unless every one of the 14 lakh students appearing for the matric exam this year was cheating, why couldn't the state government control the situation, asked the panel.

CM Nitish Kumar maintains that the photographs "do not present a complete picture...Bihari students have a lot of talent and have carved a space for themselves in the country and abroad". Outraged at the response to the scam, teachers in Patna point out that a large number of Bihar students clear competitive exams every year without gaming any system. Ironically enough, that is true as well.

On Your Marks....

A failsafe four-step formula has traditionally ensured success in exams in Bihar. According to insiders, this is how it works:

1. Find and break the man who is setting the paper: This is not very easy but that doesn't deter most aspirants.You first use all the resources at your disposal to find the man and then drop in with a dabba of mithai and other inducements. You could befriend, cajole, flatter or even threaten the guy into coughing up critical information.

2. Find the printing press: If Step 1 failed, you sniff out the press -easy enough in a small city. Thereafter you follow the formula given above.

3. Fix a friendly exam centre: Land a centre in a town or village where your uncle is a biggie or where your clan has clout, and life becomes even easier. Children are known to travel miles for a smooth setting for Steps 1-4.

4. Charm the evaluator: Find out who is checking the paper. This is a win-all step that ensures smooth sailing even if you muffed all other steps. The answer to the question -"paper kahan gaya" -is usually the worst-guarded secret in a school. Thereafter, you take a bus or train and do whatever it takes armed, again, with mithai and money.

http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/...r-school-of-cheating/articleshow/46649627.cms

Sad to see people targeting and generalizing a whole state based on the actions of a few idiots(okay more than few but still).And its hilarious reading comments of posters from other states as if its only a Bihar thing.Cheating is rampant in the whole country,admit it.Biharis just took it to a next level.And its not easy btw to cheat in the exams ,takes some balls to do it.

Lol same here and I even did it.Won't tell the name of exam though ;)

Barring some years in primary school, I never studied in India. But my understanding is that your advancement depends largely or entirely on end year exams. Not only does this encourage poor learning habits, it places enormous stress on students and surely contributes to the high cheating rates. In the US your marks depend on multiple exams and assignments dispersed throughout the year, placing less emphasis on each exam and removing the need to cram towards the end. Of course this will require greater resources and better teachers, which may be the problem in India anyways.

REET 2021: Candidate uses ‘bluetooth slippers’ to cheat in exam, viral photo sparks jokes on social media

While many marvelled at the ingenious idea, others responded with sarcasm and humour.

Using an advanced, high-tech jugaad, an aspirant appearing for the Rajasthan Eligibility Examination for Teachers (REET) attempted to cheat using a Bluetooth device fitted inside his slippers! Although his mission failed, the ingenious idea has got everyone talking online.

The government had gone all out with regard to security measures to prevent malpractices in the examination and had even suspended internet services across the state. Besides, cops were deployed at various centres. According to ANI, the candidate who had arrived at a centre in Kishangarh, Ajmer to write the exam on Sunday was detained after the invigilators spotted a wireless device in his ear.

Identifying the offender as Ganesh Ram Dhaka (28), police said he confessed to having purchased the footwear from one Tuljaram Jat in Bikaner for a whopping Rs 2.5 lakh, the report added.

When it comes to cheating during examinations, desi students have all kinds of tricks up their sleeve. While many marvelled at the ingenuity of the cheaters, others lambasted the students for resorting to unfair means to pass the exam and still others responded with sarcasm and jokes.

https://indianexpress.com/article/trending/trending-in-india/reet-exam-bluetooth-device-slippers-used-for-cheating-held-7537545/