How will India's attitude to Pakistan change if (when) Imran Khan becomes Prime Minister?

Varun

Senior Test Player
From the sounds of it he has a genuine chance now. The incumbent Nawaz Sharif seems to be on his last legs, and Bilawal Bhutto sounds like the Rahul Gandhi of Pakistan - naive and inexperienced - that nobody will vote for.

If Imran Khan were to come to power without any hiccups in the next general elections (2018), will the typically hostile Indian media soften up towards Pakistan now that there will be a familiar face? Will they urge the government on to drop the cold shoulder and push for peace talks?

How do you think this will develop in the months to come?

From the sounds of it he has a genuine chance now. The incumbent Nawaz Sharif seems to be on his last legs, and Bilawal Bhutto sounds like the Rahul Gandhi of Pakistan - naive and inexperienced - that nobody will vote for.

If Imran Khan were to come to power without any hiccups in the next general elections (2018), will the typically hostile Indian media soften up towards Pakistan now that there will be a familiar face? Will they urge the government on to drop the cold shoulder and push for peace talks?

How do you think this will develop in the months to come?

Youtube his numerous interviews done in Indian media by Indian anchors and see his view.

Mostly he's said he would want peace with the Indians and a road-map to solve all issues including Kashmir. And while he would need conclusive proof; he would not stand by if anyone uses Pakistan as a launch-pad for attacks anywhere in the world.

On a whole, positive. Unlike BJP, there is not a single party in Pakistan who talks up war with India.

Nawaz Bhai is our friend,no idea about Imran he have negetive attitude towards India.

It will be a disaster for Indo-Pak relations with Imran Khan in power in Pakistan.

The relationship between the two countries can't be any better than what they are now with a Pro-India Nawaz in power.

It will be a disaster for Indo-Pak relations with Imran Khan in power in Pakistan.

The relationship between the two countries can't be any better than what they are now with a Pro-India Nawaz in power.

Indians and their lack of knowledge never ceases to amaze me. They gush over Nawaz, who's a protege of Zia in a metaphorical and literal sense, who shelters and protects and wins local elections by the help of the same banned organisations Indians bash in Pakistan.

No other party, including PTI, PPP, ANP has ever allied itself to any banned organisation in Pakistan, least of all any organisation that Indians blame for attacks. That distinction goes to PMLN.

Nawaz Bhai is our friend,no idea about Imran he have negetive attitude towards India.

If you read the post above you''ll have some ideas about his views on India.

But that would require comprehension on your behalf, so I am asking too much.

[MENTION=21699]Pakpak[/MENTION] have you heard the Ramzan Sugar Mill episode.
No wonder indians love Nawaz Sharif so much.

They're all winding people up on PP, nothing more, they all know what you said. Zia backed and introduced Taliban elements to Pakistan, all with Nawaz in cahoots and riding on his coat-tails.

Lol what crap India and Pakistan relationship are at their lowest it doesn't matter who is the PM of Pakistan, unless he enjoys a huge support from the Pakistani public he can't do anything much without the consent of Pakistani army/ISI..

Listen to any of the Imran Khan's past interview related to India according to him only peace and trade is going to reduce poverty in both country and that's the only way forward for both countries if they want to remove this third world label. He had a very soft approach for India and he was even labeled indian agent a few years back in Pakistan. This aggressive touch in his recent talks related to India only came after Modi's approach.

I am a bit disturbed by the way Prime Minister Modi has tried to isolate Pakistan rather than encouraging the relationship forward. All of us, I mean, everyone in Pakistan wants peace with India. Anyone who says otherwise is wrong."

"I think trade with all the neighbours should be Pakistan's priority. And trade with India and China would be the best way," he suggested.

Source: http://www.khaleejtimes.com/international/pakistan/imran-khan-bats-for-peace-with-india

They're all winding people up on PP, nothing more, they all know what you said. Zia backed and introduced Taliban elements to Pakistan, all with Nawaz in cahoots and riding on his coat-tails.

And Imran is what? A moderate, a secularist? Why is he popularly known as Taliban Khan? He was not even in favor of operation against the extremists in his own country, how can he bring peace to both countries when he is the biggest supporter of Good Taliban, Bad Taliban philosophy.

Listen to any of the Imran Khan's past interview related to India according to him only peace and trade is going to reduce poverty in both country and that's the only way forward for both countries if they want to remove this third world label. He had a very soft approach for India and he was even labeled indian agent a few years back in Pakistan. This aggressive touch in his recent talks related to India only came after Modi's approach.

Source: http://www.khaleejtimes.com/international/pakistan/imran-khan-bats-for-peace-with-india

Even Nawaz is termed as Indian agent whom to believe? Did Imran opposed Taliban when he contested elections?

This is all well and good giving logical speeches every sensible person would agree with the above posted words. However the big question is if he ever comes in power would he have the power and will to take action against rogue elements who target India? Would he bring action against LeT, Jaish Hafeez saed etc?

When BJP came into power Modi tried to make good relations with Pakistan by meeting Nawaz and inviting him.. But end of the day if India and Pakistan need to have good relations then the army/ISI need to back down and let civilian government take leadership..

So any opinion which you don't agree is winding? Some of PTI supporters here have eerie similarities between our own AAP fanatics.

With No Electronic voting in Urban Pakistan and with IK not liked by Establishment IK won't become PM of Pakistan even if whole Pakistan votes for him.

This is all well and good giving logical speeches every sensible person would agree with the above posted words. However the big question is if he ever comes in power would he have the power and will to take action against rogue elements who target India? Would he bring action against LeT, Jaish Hafeez saed etc?

When BJP came into power Modi tried to make good relations with Pakistan by meeting Nawaz and inviting him.. But end of the day if India and Pakistan need to have good relations then the army/ISI need to back down and let civilian government take leadership..

I guess Nawaz is ready to reciprocate Modi friendship but Army/ISI won't allow him free hand.

Until Pakistan ruled by only by political class any peace will not be possible.

And Imran is what? A moderate, a secularist? Why is he popularly known as Taliban Khan? He was not even in favor of operation against the extremists in his own country, how can he bring peace to both countries when he is the biggest supporter of Good Taliban, Bad Taliban philosophy.

Popularly known where? He is either known as a Jewish agent or someone who likes religious nutters. The fact both are completely poles apart should tell you about both those labels. Nawaz wasn't in favor of any operation either, only one in favor was the Army. Maybe Imran Khan should be like Nawaz and back all the banned terrorist organisations like PMLN does, including the ones that Indians say plan attacks against India.

Do you garbage posters even think about before your posts before you type?

So any opinion which you don't agree is winding? Some of PTI supporters here have eerie similarities between our own AAP fanatics.

Or Modi lovers who can't stand any criticism on their murderer PM, you mean?

I guess Nawaz is ready to reciprocate Modi friendship but Army/ISI won't allow him free hand.

Ironically the only time Pakistan and India almost reached a peace deal was under a military dictator, twice in the 2000's.

Exactly hence there is no point discussing who becomes the PM of Pakistan.. For relationship with India the PM of Pakistan has little to no-say..

Even Nawaz is termed as Indian agent whom to believe? Did Imran opposed Taliban when he contested elections?

Your hero Nawaz went further, not only did he not oppose any extreme group but won local elections by direct help from the right-wing groups. The same groups Indian says attack India. :facepalm:

IK's counterpart in India claims EVMs are rigged and wants paper ballots.

If you want fake democracy in India than go ahead with Paper Balloting. Still it would be less dubious and less righed than Pak. You don't know about the dirty meddlings here.

I don't want to go back but saying how opposition creating a huge issue here out of EVM voting.

We all know what happened after such deals.

Nothing happened, the one in 2006 was almost signed but got shelved as Musharraf was deposed soon along with Benazir's murder and then Mumbai.

Or Modi lovers who can't stand any criticism on their murderer PM, you mean?

You are no worse than people who consider all Muslims as terrorist.. If you get wind up in an online argument you talk crap about an elected leader who has been exonerated of all charges.. You can hate him all you want but if you levy false accusations and call him names then you should accept people who call all Muslims as terrorists..

IK's counterpart in India claims EVMs are rigged and wants paper ballots.

Who is the counterpart?

Imran Khan can only be compared with Modi. Both are mass leaders with big online following, often accused of being hardliners and terrorist sympathisers, but actually are nice in their hearts.

Who is the counterpart?

Imran Khan can only be compared with Modi. Both are mass leaders with big online following, often accused of being hardliners and terrorist sympathisers, but actually are nice in their hearts.

Saint Kejri.His supporters attack others like some PTI supporters do.Its thier way or high way for them.

Another top notch post by the aptly-chosen-named-one.

Which supporter of a party would act kindly if their leader was called a terrorist lover? The UP minister was called the same and hordes of BJP supporters led by Joshila descended on PP to reclaim his honor.

That's the nature of following political parties.

That would be Modi Bhakts. And is that the only basis for comparing Imran Khan with Kejriwal? Please list their ideologies for a better comparison.

Another top notch post by the aptly-chosen-named-one.

Which supporter of a party would act kindly if their leader was called a terrorist lover? The UP minister was called the same and hordes of BJP supporters led by Joshila descended on PP to reclaim his honor.

That's the nature of following political parties.

What about justifying dear leaders unsubstantiated accusations against others? What about justifying dear leaders accusations against Election commission for his losses? What about dear leaders throwing out fellow party members out of party because they had valid arguments against him? What about dear leader spending 3.5 crore on lawyers to justify his wild accusation and then claiming Why should pay from his pocket?

Which unsubstantiated accusations?

Let's see you list each one, one by one.

IK will extend a hand of friendship, but will not be meek like NS when there is a need to be tough. If Modi issues some anti-Pakistan statements then you can bet your bottom dollar that IK will respond in kind.

It is not just IK, I expect any single Pakistani to respond in kind if he is patriotic with the country, something which the likes of NS and Zardari aren't.

IK will extend a hand of friendship, but will not be meek like NS when there is a need to be tough. If Modi issues some anti-Pakistan statements then you can bet your bottom dollar that IK will respond in kind.

It is not just IK, I expect any single Pakistani to respond in kind if he is patriotic with the country, something which the likes of NS and Zardari aren't.

The fact Nawaz is loved by Indians should be a damning indictment in itself to his supporters.

You replied to my post about Kejri and now asking me only?

Your post mentioned 'PTI supporters'. I am a PTI supporter, this thread I have been arguing about Imran Khan. How is it not common sense to you as to who I am talking about?

Unlike Indians, I am not bothered about your politics, hence why you see me never comment in Indian election threads. Its got nothing to do with me.

Your post mentioned 'PTI supporters'. I am a PTI supporter, this thread I have been arguing about Imran Khan. How is it not common sense to you as to who I am talking about?

Unlike Indians, I am not bothered about your politics, hence why you see me never comment in Indian election threads. Its got nothing to do with me.

I said "some" PTI supporters act like AAP supporters who always think thier leader is the only honestand all others are wrong

The fact Nawaz is loved by Indians should be a damning indictment in itself to his supporters.

NS is a security threat to Pakistan. He is India's inside man, that is why he is loved by Indians.

I can't remember a single time where NS has raised a voice about India's atrocities in Kashmir, or even said anything when the clown in Delhi announced that he will stop our water.

I said "some" PTI supporters act like AAP supporters who always think thier leader is the only honestand all others are wrong

And being a PTI supporter I responded to that absurd statement i.e. you mentioning my party. Every party's supporters defend their leaders. You see a more vehement defence of Imran Khan on PP because PP has ten times more supporters of PTI than PMLN. Go on any PLMN news/messageboard and it'll be the reverse.

Over the Web, Indians by and large support Nawaz Sharif and hate Imran Khan . That much is a fact.

Some Indians even support Altaf Hussein.

Won't matter as said yesterday by [MENTION=21699]Pakpak[/MENTION] and as seen throughout history only when the Army head wants good relations then it will happen from Zia-Moraji Desai, Mushraf-Atal ,its always them.

Pretty much. Civilian leaders can make noise but have little influence on foreign policy.

Absolutely nothing will change since Pakistan's policy vis a vis India will remain exactly the same. Foreign policy, especially our India policy, is exclusively the domain of the army and elected governments have zero say on the matter. Nawaz tried to cozy up to India and was told in no uncertain terms to back off with the army using his weak position to further strengthen their stranglehold on our foreign policy. Who the PM of Pakistan is will remain irrelevant to India-Pakistan engagements until foreign policy is brought under government control.

Words without action don't mean nothing, Pakistan over the years has said that they want lasting peace with India. For that they're willing to clamp down on terrorism, sorry I mean freedom fighters, but if anything they've done the exact opposite. The whole world knows your role in creating Taliban & Kashmir insurgency, you say something & do the exact opposite, the same reason why yanks have squeezed the tap on Pak aid.

China is no better, they're willing to look the other way so long as their trade with India is largely uninterrupted & Pak being a constant thorn in India's flesh is the eternal bonus. If China were truly a friend, of India & Pakistan, they'd be sitting across the negotiating table & be willing to give up CoK for lasting peace in South Asia. But hey why would they do that, their action in the South China sea, with Dalai Lama & any number of border disputes tells us exactly what they are.

Of course Pakistan should do what is in their best interest, asking China to rid Pak of extremism could also be a good start. But terrorism as a tool of state policy is what Pakistan wants, at least the ISI & military. In other words it's a match made in heaven, Pak wants funds to fuel (some) areas of eco development without changing the current structure of the society, China is fine with the state Pak is in & doesn't give two flying to what the public endures at the hands of extremists, politicians et al.

Now as far as India is concerned, Kashmir left unresolved is great for politicians. But to our credit, the consistent stance that terrorism & peace (talks) don't go hand in hand is absolutely correct.

Ik is nothing like Modi who is a religious extremist and does nothing to stop the rising far right extremism in his party even amongst the senior members.

Rahul Ghandi might not have experience but if and IK became leaders I believe genuine peace could start to prevail between both nations.

IK for one will be proactive where as Nawaz is not even reactive to what Modi spews against Pakistan. He will be fair on India without provoking them yet not intimidated by them either. Not that I am suggesting Nawaz is intimidated by them but due to his business interests in India he feels the need to keep Modi and co happy. Imran Khan does not have any practical solutions to the Kashmir conflict other then demilitarising IoK as if India are waiting for his instructions to do that. The military and IK will work well together. IK will be good in dealing with the west as well knowing their mindset and how they think. Under his leadership I fully expect our economy to improve, insha Allah.

IK will also greatly enhance Pakistan's image abroad as he is well respected everywhere around the world. Under his leadership I fully expect Pak's economy to greatly improve as well.

Imran Khan is an elite educated savvy person. Modi is a chaiwala. I can clearly see Imran toying with Modi.

You seriously need to get up-to-date. Are you living in the 90's? Look it up. His opinion is different to what you're saying and he proved it on BBC around 2 years ago. I can't post the link because of the forum rules but please YouTube it. He never contested for Good or Bad Taliban, but when things were at their lowest ebb, he asked them to return the hostages. That was all the negotiation. Honestly, you Indians need to get educated or avoid talking on certain topics.

Modi is winning elections from last 20 years and became CM/PM while Imran is still in opposition from same time :))

How is that relevant? By the way, have you seen how Modi bent down to Pakistan's opposition leader Imran Khan the last time two met?

We bow to monkeys and cows as well. In Hinduism, that privilege isn't reserved just for God. We do it out of respect, not fear.

I don't think you understand how leverage works when heads of the countries meet. Look how Putin commands respect and fear among his peers. Imran Khan will be a similar kind of a leader.

Pakistanis I suppose never bow to anyone accept Allah. So tell me about things Pakistan has leveraged so far, and I'll compare it to what the likes of Modi, Obama and Shinzo Abe have achieved with their heads bowed.

I think you need to learn the difference between cultural courtesy and weakness.

Pakistanis I suppose never bow to anyone accept Allah. So tell me about things Pakistan has leveraged so far, and I'll compare it to what the likes of Modi, Obama and Shinzo Abe have achieved with their heads bowed.

I think you need to learn the difference between cultural courtesy and weakness.

Imran Khan will be different going forward and not like other leaders. Modi hasn't really done anything productive for India after he became PM. All I know is that fringe groups became more powerful and made lives of Muslims miserable. Not sure if that is something to be proud of.

Matter of a few days now.

India, brace yourself. Imran Khan might be the guy who finally supersedes the military brass on the other side of the border.

Not yet we need splits in PMLN and electables jumping their ship otherwise Nooras can win again in 2018 if somehow they can keep the party united till 2018 Senate elections.

What, after all this Nawaz Sharif and his men stand a chance to win another 5-year term? What a farce.

First he has to win. I am still skeptical that our corrupt system will allow someone like him to take power and then manage to hold on to it and follow his agenda. It's always going to be a nigh impossible task. I admire him for the effort though but I think deep down we all including him know it's a lost cause.

What, after all this Nawaz Sharif and his men stand a chance to win another 5-year term? What a farce.

Unfortunately that's still true they got blind following in Punjab just like PPP got in Sindh and thn they got all the rigging tactics combined with electables in their pockets.

the flaws in democracy are immense and dissipation of information to the grass root is such that it's impossible to at times educate people.

for many, this is still a jewish conspiracy orchestrated by jemima and co. to get the pious nawaz sharif out of power as he is building a new pakistan with the help of china and finally challenging indian regional dominance.

such is the place that i call home at times, such madness, much insanity.

Also look at his tons of interviews with Indian anchors, very positive especially when it comes to Indo-Pak relations.

I don't think it would really matter to Modi led Govt who leads in Pakistan. Modi has clearly implemented "Isolating Pakistan" concept. He is currently enjoying popularity among India, so i dont think he would jepoardise his chances to be relected in 2019 if he goes Pro-Pakistan.
However, I'd personally like peaceful relations between two nations with gradually opening up to trade, sports, and relaxed visas rule.

I don't think it would really matter to Modi led Govt who leads in Pakistan. Modi has clearly implemented "Isolating Pakistan" concept. He is currently enjoying popularity among India, so i dont think he would jepoardise his chances to be relected in 2019 if he goes Pro-Pakistan.
However, I'd personally like peaceful relations between two nations with gradually opening up to trade, sports, and relaxed visas rule.

That's very true. It doesn't matter who is in power in Pakistan. Because Modi has to appeal to his voter base and they are all extremely anti pakistani.

India's attitude should not change. Pakistani PM is a mukhauta (mask) anyway -- doesn't matter who s/he is: Nawaz, Banazir (when she was alive), Zardari, Imran, ... ultimately the real power is always held by the deep state. And their attitude towards India never changes, come what may.

India will go in it's timid mode. Khan knows how to present Pakistan at a global stage. He has no business interests in India that will hold him back. He will make sure that India does not get away with it's childish thrash. At the same time, he will encourage better relationship between the same countries.

ball is in India's court.

Kashmir is the core issue and without solving this, both countries cannot reach their potential...

Look at the number of army men stationed in Kashmir ...

Why will India's attitude change towards Pakistan? Which bum sits in the Prime Minister's chair doesn't have much impact on India-Pakistan relations. Your civilian government doesn't call the shots on India policy. Any PM that tries to do something that the military doesn't approve of, will find himself sitting on a different chair.

India's attitude towards Pakistan will change when the PakMil comes to its senses and drops this cycle of hostility. The signs are not good on this happening anytime soon.

This "mainstreaming" experiment that's going on currently reflects the Pakistani mindset when it comes to changing its stripes. Not happening any time soon.

And to be blunt, Imran Khan is pretty much an 'empty vessel' when it comes to the nitty gritty of governance. He may be non-corrupt at a personal level, but has shown himself to be a very poor adminstrator and politician. There's a reason someone who has his levels of astronomical popularity has been unable to get anywhere near political power for so long. He's not very good at this. Pure and simple.

ball is in India's court.

Kashmir is the core issue and without solving this, both countries cannot reach their potential...

Look at the number of army men stationed in Kashmir ...

Yeah right. Time to re-draw borders has gone. You guys played a good hand, and created a country out of it. 4 wars and 70 years should have shown you that reality, that its not going to be possible to change borders now. Pakistan doesn't have the capacity to force India to agree to the changes it wants. Ball is in Pakistan's court. They can either choose to spend bulk of their resources on their jernails and kernails, who have achieved diddly squat in their 70 year track record, or try to move on instead of being stuck in the past.

Why will India's attitude change towards Pakistan? Which bum sits in the Prime Minister's chair doesn't have much impact on India-Pakistan relations. Your civilian government doesn't call the shots on India policy. Any PM that tries to do something that the military doesn't approve of, will find himself sitting on a different chair.

India's attitude towards Pakistan will change when the PakMil comes to its senses and drops this cycle of hostility. The signs are not good on this happening anytime soon.

This "mainstreaming" experiment that's going on currently reflects the Pakistani mindset when it comes to changing its stripes. Not happening any time soon.

And to be blunt, Imran Khan is pretty much an 'empty vessel' when it comes to the nitty gritty of governance. He may be non-corrupt at a personal level, but has shown himself to be a very poor adminstrator and politician. There's a reason someone who has his levels of astronomical popularity has been unable to get anywhere near political power for so long. He's not very good at this. Pure and simple.

The guy's party runs the province under his leadership, a province that was the most pathetic on every metric is now better on every metric. This is not me saying it, stats say it and most of all many people from KPK say it. Mamoon, a known anti-PTI poster, included who begrudgingly admitted very good changes.

He literally took the most corrupt dynasty to rule Pakistan to cleaners in a space of 3 years while the PPP runs around trying to defend looters. Poor politician :)) Maybe he should be Nawaz, lie to people then lie in Parliament then make up fake papers in court. Proper politician.

I never comment on Indian politics as I am not an Indian and therefore won't have proper knowledge. Your post, like most Indians on Pakistani politics, is what it is: garbage.

The guy's party runs the province under his leadership, a province that was the most pathetic on every metric is now better on every metric. This is not me saying it, stats say it and most of all many people from KPK say it. Mamoon, a known anti-PTI poster, included who begrudgingly admitted very good changes.

He literally took the most corrupt dynasty to rule Pakistan to cleaners in a space of 3 years while the PPP runs around trying to defend looters. Poor politician :)) Maybe he should be Nawaz, lie to people then lie in Parliament then make up fake papers in court. Proper politician.

I never comment on Indian politics as I am not an Indian and therefore won't have proper knowledge. Your post, like most Indians on Pakistani politics, is what it is: garbage.

I won't claim to be ultra-knowledgeable on Pak Politics. But isn't it true that Imran has enrolled a bunch of people in his "clean" party, guys who are just as corrupt as those of the PPP and PML-N?

And has it really been only 3 years since Imran has been campaigning? Seems to me he has been trying for a much longer time now. And given the crappy alternatives of the PPP and Nawaz, why couldn't he manage to win enough votes to be PM yet? A superstar of his magnitude - he's more of a God for Pakistanis than Sachin or Gavaskar is in India - it should have been a slamdunk for him to become PM already. But he has somehow managed to steal defeat from the jaws of victory - against the likes of Bilawal Bhutto and Nawaz. Why is that?

I have read Imran's autobiography - I think he was an exceptional cricketer - but I don't think he has what it takes to lead a country. His understanding of economics, policy, governance are childishly naive and dangerously populist. Judging from your post, I can clearly see that any criticism of Imran will rile you up. But that's your prerogative. You can be the biggest fan-boi of Imran on the planet - won't magically make him a qualified leader.

India will go in it's timid mode. Khan knows how to present Pakistan at a global stage. He has no business interests in India that will hold him back. He will make sure that India does not get away with it's childish thrash. At the same time, he will encourage better relationship between the same countries.

Lol.Good Luck with those delusions vis a vis India.