"I am extremely disappointed by decision of Punjab Assembly to raise pays of MPAs" : Imran Khan

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">I am extremely disappointed by decision of Punjab Assembly to raise pays & privileges of MPAs, Ministers & esp CM. Once prosperity returns to Pak such a move cld be justified, but now, when we do not have resources to provide basic amenities to all our people, this is untenable</p>— Imran Khan (@ImranKhanPTI) <a href="https://twitter.com/ImranKhanPTI/status/1106102631045451776?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">March 14, 2019</a></blockquote>

Too lazy to search: what was the pay before and what's the raised one? :ik

Yesterday in the Punjab Assembly, the bill to raise the salaries of public representatives sailed through with complete consensus and within five minutes as it had raised salaries and fringe benefits of all assembly members, including the chief minister, ministers, speaker, deputy-speaker.

After the passage of the bill, the speaker’s salary has jumped from Rs37,000 to Rs200,000 per month and his deputy would now get Rs185,000 instead of Rs35,000 and so would be cabinet members and advisers. The members of Punjab Assembly (MPAs) are now entitled to Rs80,000 per month rather than Rs18,000 and their utility bills entitlement has gone up to Rs200,000 instead of earlier Rs120,000. This fiscal adjustment, naturally, had no one to oppose in the House and the bill was passed with a few minutes.

https://www.dawn.com/news/1469603/p...awmakers-decision-to-raise-their-own-salaries

I actually support the pay raise. Parliamentarians should be well paid, it discourages corruption. Also their are plenty of MNAs and MPAs which don't have an independent and stable source of income, this means they are dependent on their parties, families and wealthy landowners or businessmen. This invariably leads to favors being extracted from them. Good salaries will also encourage middle income personnel to become politically active.

Agreed but I think they should have increase this slowly and gradually.15 to 20% annual increased could have been the better idea or they should follow the trend which business organizations used to follow i-e a good jump for high performers & a certain % for across the board.

Who determines high performance? These are politicians here my friend.

The sudden jump was necessary, how can you expect someone to treat to treat the position of MPA as a full-time job for a salary of RS. 18,000? Even with all the other benefits this is miserly. They will have to run a business on the side or depend upon others. You can have the most principled politician in place, but if he depends upon others to feed his children then he will be prone to corruption.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Seems Punjab Government and the CM House is in the dark about the PM and the federal Govt Austerity policies otherwise such sham exercise of awarding huge benefits to themselves would not have happened...</p>— Ch Fawad Hussain (@fawadchaudhry) <a href="https://twitter.com/fawadchaudhry/status/1106105782603522048?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">March 14, 2019</a></blockquote>

ISLAMABAD: Information Minister Fawad Chaudhry on Thursday took a U-turn and retracted his support for the Punjab Assembly's decision to increase the salaries and perks of MPAs, ministers and the provincial chief minister.

Speaking to the media earlier during the day, the information minister had supported the Punjab Assembly's decision and said, "I feel the salaries of MPAs were very low. The monthly pay was Rs80,000 which was raised to Rs150,000."

"If we do not take these steps then those belonging to the middle class will not contest the elections," the information minister had further said and added, "If you say that MPAs and MNAs should not be given salaries then you will driving the middle class driven out of politics."

However, later following a tweet by Prime Minister Imran Khan expressing disappointment over the move, Chaudhry tweeted, "Seems Punjab Government and the CM House is in the dark about the PM and the federal government austerity policies otherwise such sham exercise of awarding huge benefits to themselves would not have happened."

PM Imran had criticised the move and said, "I am extremely disappointed by decision of Punjab Assembly to raise pays and privileges of MPAs, ministers and especially CM. Once prosperity returns to Pakistan such a move could be justified, but now, when we do not have resources to provide basic amenities to all our people, this is untenable."

The Punjab Assembly on Wednesday increased the salaries, perks and privileges of its members to more than double after making legislation in record haste, within 24 hours of tabling the bill concerned. The unanimously-passed legislation was tabled as a private bill by treasury’s Ghazanfar Abbas Cheena on a private members day on Tuesday.

The bill ended up as a unanimous bill since none of the members opposed it from both sides, except PPP’s parliamentary leader Hasan Murtaza. It was unanimously passed after a standing committee also gave its approval within a few minutes of discussion.

After this legislation, the Punjab chief minister will draw Rs 350,000 per month, while members will draw over 200,000 per month as their basic pay and allowances rose to more than double. The salaries of the members of the Punjab Assembly and ministers raised by the provincial assembly exceed the pays of their counterparts in all the provinces and at the federal level.

https://www.geo.tv/latest/231026-fawad-chaudhry-takes-u-turn-on-punjab-assemblys

Yesterday in the Punjab Assembly, the bill to raise the salaries of public representatives sailed through with complete consensus and within five minutes as it had raised salaries and fringe benefits of all assembly members, including the chief minister, ministers, speaker, deputy-speaker.

After the passage of the bill, the speaker’s salary has jumped from Rs37,000 to Rs200,000 per month and his deputy would now get Rs185,000 instead of Rs35,000 and so would be cabinet members and advisers. The members of Punjab Assembly (MPAs) are now entitled to Rs80,000 per month rather than Rs18,000 and their utility bills entitlement has gone up to Rs200,000 instead of earlier Rs120,000. This fiscal adjustment, naturally, had no one to oppose in the House and the bill was passed with a few minutes.

https://www.dawn.com/news/1469603/p...awmakers-decision-to-raise-their-own-salaries

their initial salary was very low so the increase make sense but the increment is too big; nobody should be making more than Rs 100,000 per month

Tabdeeli, hahaha what a joke,,,

We were missing the kuch khata hai tou lagata bhi hai types...... Did you know a Noora politician initiated this move and even though it has been passed by Punjab assembly it does not come into effect till governor signs off on it.

I don't expect a Noora to have that much brain power to understand all of that, but you can try. :uakmal

Not sure how tweets are going to resolve the matter, need actions Khan sahib! Deal with these small men in big offices the way you have dealt with them throughout your life

I agree, this is a very good move.

What middle class person would want to run an election that pays 18k a month?

They need to do something about election financing as well.

Unless iam missing something arent most of these mpa and speakers financially secure? It just seems like people are in politics to make money as opposed to improving the country.

Not sure how tweets are going to resolve the matter, need actions Khan sahib! Deal with these small men in big offices the way you have dealt with them throughout your life

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">PM Khan stops Punjab Governor from signing lawmakers' salary raise summary: Sources</p>— Dunya News (@DunyaNews) <a href="https://twitter.com/DunyaNews/status/1106228369463697410?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">March 14, 2019</a></blockquote>

Action seemingly taken now.

I believe most of these are already rich and priveleged.

I would rather have that MPAs & MNAs are payed well so they can solely focus on their jobs rather than them trying to earn money from other sources.

who the heck care if most of them are already rich! you get paid for a job and bigger the job the higher the pay; the amount they are currently making is very low and would not attract better people as the pay is too low

18k rupees a month is way too low. That is $180 a month. How can anyone survive off that?

$2000 is a better reflection of the cost of living in fairness.

Hard to disagree with this.

That's exactly the point, you have to be rich and privileged to do this job otherwise you won't have enough to send your kids to school. Having such low salaries sends the message that only the rich can run this country.

who the heck care if most of them are already rich! you get paid for a job and bigger the job the higher the pay; the amount they are currently making is very low and would not attract better people as the pay is too low

Have they ever advocated/legislated to raise salaries for regular citizens or even their own constituents? It's like lawmakers only care about their own personal interests.

If they want a raise then they should a adopt a formula for future increments: Median income of their constituents x 2.

Have they ever advocated/legislated to raise salaries for regular citizens or even their own constituents? It's like lawmakers only care about their own personal interests.

Government employees get a pay rise every budget by a few percent. See the government employee pay scales, they are much better paid.

as if people don't work in the private sector? In America if the govt doesn't ensure job growth in the private sector and make sure people aren't fairly compensated then people would agree that they've failed in their job. For some reason it seems in Pakistan the govt only works for the govt and not all its citizens/constituents.

The government can't set pay scales for the private sector. There is exploitation in the private sector but as a general trend I would say that their salaries are higher than the government sector counterpart, the government employees start off better but after a few years those in the private sector easily outstrip them. The government jobs are mostly desirable because of better working hours and some other benefits, the private sector competes by offering better salaries and monetary bonuses. As an engineer even a trainee or intern in the private sector gets paid 22,000-25,000 in the Private Sector and that is considered a sort of minimum level, many companies pay them around 40,000-50,000. Those who get accepted as full time employees after the initial 6 months-1 year of training period expect salaries of 35000-45,000 and the better companies would pay 60,000+ or even up to 100,000. As a government sector engineer you'd start off at grade 17 with a pay of around 45,000-50,000 with a 5% increment every year but as things generally go 5 years down the line most people in the private sector would be making significantly higher.

But the fact remains that by any standard a salary of 18,000 is far too low. You can't expect someone, not from a wealthy background, to choose treat this as a full time occupation.

I am surprised the salaries are that low and were not increased earlier by the previous corrupt governments.

The salaries should be raised, it was too low. If you pay parliamentarians a reasonable wage, then they will be less likely to get into corruption, and it will also incentivise more middle class people to run for office.

Mr Khan is just disappointed or has done something about it? - Mr BZ does not go to bathroom with his permission. Surprised to see them talking over Twitter :13:

The salaries should be raised, it was too low. If you pay parliamentarians a reasonable wage, then they will be less likely to get into corruption, and it will also incentivise more middle class people to run for office.

Do they know how to fund this? It's like they're growing money off of trees for politicians lol.

As one of Imran's favorite Chinese proverb states fish rots from the top, that duffer Buzdaar should never have been appointed CM Punjab.

Imran hasn't always been the best judge of men, he failed to discern between humble background and small mindedness. Or he was actually going for literal Wasim Akram+ effect, i.e. all of Wasim's transgressions, for which he has been given an inexplicable pass in in retirement, unlike Salim Malik. Instead of Wasim Akram+ (Wasim's performance minus his extra curricular activities) we got Mansoor Akhtar, Zakir Khan, Ramia Raja, and Zahid Fazal rolled into one.

https://www.dawn.com/news/1470384/p...ill-approving-increments-for-punjab-lawmakers

Prime Minister Imran Khan summoned Punjab Chief Minister Usman Buzdar for a meeting on Monday to provide an explanation over a bill seeking an increase in members' salaries recently passed by the Punjab Assembly, according to sources in the CM Secretariat.

The bill approving an increment in provincial lawmakers' salaries and fringe benefits was passed by the Punjab Assembly last week. The next day, the prime minister had taken to Twitter to express his "extreme disappointment" over the move, saying that it was "untenable" in the current atmosphere when the country "[does] not have resources to provide basic amenities to all our people".

After the passage of the bill, the speaker’s salary had jumped from Rs37,000 to Rs200,000 per month and his deputy would get Rs185,000 instead of Rs35,000, along with cabinet members and advisers.

Punjab MPAs are now entitled to Rs80,000 per month rather than Rs18,000, and their utility bills entitlement has gone up to Rs200,000 instead of earlier Rs120,000. This fiscal adjustment, naturally, had no one to oppose in the House and the bill was passed within a few minutes.

Two days after the premier had publicly denounced the move, Punjab Assembly Speaker Chaudhry Pervez Elahi reviewed the bill and amended a clause that detailed the increase in perks and privileges provided to lawmakers. The amendment removed the lifetime perks and privileges of the chief minister, leaving intact only "suitable and adequate security".

The premier, in his meeting with the Punjab chief minister today, may ask Buzdar to take practical steps to halt the increment, the sources informed DawnNewsTV.

The bill has not been dispatched to the Punjab Governor House yet and is still at the CM Secretariat. Prime Minister Khan will also discuss the overall political and administrative matters of the province with Buzdar, the sources added.