"I don't think we should go gaga about him (Mohammad Amir)" : Rohit Sharma

He would say "World class bowling" only when he is batting well, if he is being dismissed often he would call them "crap".

Hindsight is 20/20 but Rohit was right. Bumrah never got the attention that Amir alway gets but boy he’s turning out to be a great asset. Possibly the best pace bowler in the world right now.

Good job bringing back the essence of what Rohit was trying to say and which got lost across so many pages of this thread.

He simply meant that amir is decent but hyped as if second coming of akram, which is true.
Sharma ji is better than king kohli in judging talent.

Abbas is a better Test bowler (considering IND and AUS played a test match) :abbas2

Pace is pace, yaar. Can't compare a 125-130 kph trundler with a pacer who bowls an entire over at 147+ kph on day 5 of a Test.

:19::55:

Hehe, I know what you did there :) Damn funny. Been on pp for long to know the context. A taste of their own medicine :P

:19::55:

Hehe, I know what you did there :) Damn funny. Been on pp for long to know the context. A taste of their own medicine :P

Let's make hay while the sun shines. Actually given present trends, the sun is going to shine a very long time :)

Why such inferiority complex?

No IND bowler is even close to Amir. No, bumrah isn't either.

Watch him getting tonked series after series after the novelty has wore off.

Watch him in a couple of years.

Amir isn't even good enough to make the Pakistani team, let alone being as good as Bumrah/Shami/Bhuvi/Ishant who all average in the low to mid 20s this year.

You are right no current bowler is close to Amir. They take wickets every match

Lol what's point in bumping this thread after 3 years? rohit wanted reporters to talk about indian players and skip topic about pakistani players due to political scenario and that's reason he said that.

Amir isn't even good enough to make the Pakistani team, let alone being as good as Bumrah/Shami/Bhuvi/Ishant who all average in the low to mid 20s this year.

Amir averages 18 this year with a batting average above 30.

Anyway, brief dip in form happens to the best and greatest. No need to worry.

Bumrah is way better than Amir. Amir is brilliant occasionally but for the most part he is average. Don’t get me wrong I think he is good and merits a return to the team. But in Asian conditions his bowling is really poor. I mean he is it fair that Hasan Ali might miss out on starting 11 despite being the best pacer vs NZ? Bumrah is quality and has the ability to perform everywhere.

Seriously first I thought Hasan and Bumrah was a good comparison. I still think it is but Bumrah is ahead at the moment. Amir is way too inconsistent to be better than Bumrah or the Indian pacers at the moment.

Lol Bumrah is better than Amir . Stop being biased.

Selective stats if I may say so. The 18 average in Tests included 5 Irish wickets out of a total of 12 wickets.

However, in Asia Cup and against Zimbabwe in ODIs this year, against opposition that included Hong Kong he averaged 100+ per wicket, which scared the bejesus out of the selectors who dropped him for the NZ Test series.

http://stats.espncricinfo.com/ci/en...8;spanval1=span;template=results;type=bowling

Very impressed with his spin bowling today. I think Rohit is wrong, we should go gaga.

Looks like the long awaited spin bowling partner of Yasir has finally arrived.

LOL. Yes Outswingers, inswingers, yorkers, bouncers and slower balls are novelty and batsmen will magically play them now that they know he bowls them.

Amir isn't even close to Ishant - in test cricket, over the last couple of years. He's a support bowler now. Even Pak fans know that, and have moved their hopes to Shaheen and Abbas.

Since his comeback Amir’s pace is down and his swing inconsistent. The First is physical and second is technical. But more troubling for me is his approach to bowling. Amir along with the other bowlers bowl one length.

This is down to poor coaching and player development.

Having seen Amir, he is a very ordinary bowler with no X factor. He bowls gun barrel straight in same channel with no variation. He is not even exciting to watch unless he gets his huge swing going but so is Bhuvi kumar. ABBAS and Afridi are way more exciting and better prospects. I will never understand the pak fans obsession with Amir

Amir had an excellent first innings but with the kind of target we gave, no bowler was able to do well.

Demoralized.

Amir is obviously not at his best yet, but will do well as he regains rhythm.

Amir had an excellent first innings but with the kind of target we gave, no bowler was able to do well.

Demoralized.

Amir is obviously not at his best yet, but will do well as he regains rhythm.

One day he will be at his best and till that time Bumrah will wipe the floor with him

Amir needs to gain at least 10kph. International batsmen have figured out that Amir’s 120-129kph deliveries are not going to threaten them. Also, his speed is decreasing in every game. Needs to bulk up, eat better and train more

He is the new Shahid Afridi in their team.

Sensational debut and pedestrian post that

No surprise Amir is back to his swinging best.

Cannot keep a bio-mechanical wonder down and out for long.

He is the new Shahid Afridi in their team.

Sensational debut and pedestrian post that

He will do well every now and then. When the pressure is on and the batsmen have to take early chances against his good line and length. For that Pakistani batsmen have to hit big. But how often does that happen?
On other days his 127-128kph thunderbolts would reach the keeper and slip cordon on two bounces negating any caught behind chances, his line and length that doesn’t attack stumps will negate any chances of bowled or LBW and the batsmen will merrily swat his slow “bouncers” like Amla did yesterday.

I don't think he will ever be a threatening bowler again. He can't bowl inswing, don't have much pace. He and Mustafizur at best can be a containing bowler, not wicket taking.

When it truly mattered we saw who performed and who perished on probably on one of the biggest days of cricket. Bumrah bowled a no ball which he will regret for the rest of his life. And Amir, well, has razed the supposedly best top 3 ever in a space of 10 balls. They will be remembered for that.

I don't think he will ever be a threatening bowler again. He can't bowl inswing, don't have much pace. He and Mustafizur at best can be a containing bowler, not wicket taking.

Mustafizur has a mean yorker. And he has a heart of a fast bowler which Aamir doesn’t.

Mustafizur’s problem is that his body doesn’t support his skill. He needs to work on his fitness as much as he can.

When it truly mattered we saw who performed and who perished on probably on one of the biggest days of cricket. Bumrah bowled a no ball which he will regret for the rest of his life. And Amir, well, has razed the supposedly best top 3 ever in a space of 10 balls. They will be remembered for that.

Everytime Pakistan loses it is basically WE WON THE CT, get over it folks its been 2 years now, Indians and Aussies did not celebrate their World Cups as much as you lot have the CT.

Bumrah might or might not go on to do greater things in cricket, but unless Amir does something extraordinary like winning a WC or becoming an ATG bowler in test, Amir will be remembered for spot fixing.

Everytime Pakistan loses it is basically WE WON THE CT, get over it folks its been 2 years now, Indians and Aussies did not celebrate their World Cups as much as you lot have the CT.

I’m not celebrating CT still.. just stating the hard facts. On the biggest stage of them all, Amir stood up and owned it big time. Before anyone discounts him, they should all remember that!

He has been rubbish since then, once in a while performance does not make you good it just shows you have some talent, its consistency that makes you good.

Smart chaps like Hafeez know this. His every interview these days talks about his match winning runs in CT. Sarfaraz, who’s otherwise a nice chap, also has been cashing on the CT win too. The gullible Pakistanis would keep allowing mediocrity as long as they are given sweet reminders of CT every now and then.

Even Joginder Sharma has owned it on the biggest stage. So what's the point?

He deliberately bowls slowly in Test matches to preserve himself for long spells throughout the day and gain control, also due to returning after a break he had to adjust first. He in his last T20I match was clocking 145+ Kph, his speed isn't decreasing.

Mustafizur has a mean yorker. And he has a heart of a fast bowler which Aamir doesn’t.

Mustafizur’s problem is that his body doesn’t support his skill. He needs to work on his fitness as much as he can.

Yes, Mustafizur's body structure is not of a fast bowler. That's why he broke down by injury after heavy work load and after injury he is not that old Fizz. But positive side is he has age by his side and he has still time to improve. He must improve to be a strike bowler. On the other hand, if Amir doesn't inprove within next two years at best, I don't think that he can retain his place in main eleven. BD doesn't have alternative to Fizz, Pakistan has.

He deliberately bowls slowly in Test matches to preserve himself for long spells throughout the day and gain control, also due to returning after a break he had to adjust first. He in his last T20I match was clocking 145+ Kph, his speed isn't decreasing.

Come on even Bhuvi bowls near 142+ in T20s. Any bowler can crank it up for 4 overs

He has been rubbish since then, once in a while performance does not make you good it just shows you have some talent, its consistency that makes you good.
He has been averaging below 20 this year in test cricket. Sometimes it helps to know what you are talking about :))

Even zimbabwe bowlers can own it if team has scored 350 in a big final. No team in history has ever chased that score. You can shout about biggest stage but the match was already won after Pakistan posted than score

Btw do you remember legends like not under sharma and it can Pathan who owned even bigger stages, wt20 final and odi world cup final

He has been averaging below 20 this year in test cricket. Sometimes it helps to know what you are talking about :))

As someone said, that includes a lot of Irish wickets and one 4 wicket in last match. Bhuvi kumar is averaging 20 too this year but finds no place in indian team

Amir bowled really well in this match - not sure why people are jumping up and down about it?

As someone said, that includes a lot of Irish wickets and one 4 wicket in last match. Bhuvi kumar is averaging 20 too this year but finds no place in indian team

Anyone who said that doesn't know anything. He has taken lot more wickets against England and South Africa than Ireland, even if you remove Irish wickets his average is 21 which is still pretty good.

Yeah. He was instrumental in dismantling England at Lord's and took four wickets in the first innings of this test to skittle South Africa. When he is rubbish, we call him rubbish. When he is good, we call him good. And this year he has been more than decenr in Tests and T20s. You can keep your opinions to yourself, thanks :))

Come on even Bhuvi bowls near 142+ in T20s. Any bowler can crank it up for 4 overs

He was regularly bowling at 140 Kph against England in Tests in June, his fastest bowl against South Africa was also 143 Kph, like I said he is deliberately keeping his pace down and crank it up whenever he wants but was looking for control and swing rather than pace yesterday.

Amir bowled really well in this match - not sure why people are jumping up and down about it?

People have unreal expectations from him and think Amir is the reason we lose every time, even if he bowls well people criticize him.

Why did he bowl at 125-130kph in the final innings defending a small total yesterday? Pakistan needed his decisive bursts and he was grunting and panting to barely deliver mid/late 120kphs.
What was he preserving himself for?

You clearly have no idea about Amir or fast bowling in general. You're a parosi as well, so that's understandable.

Anyone who said that doesn't know anything. He has taken lot more wickets against England and South Africa than Ireland, even if you remove Irish wickets his average is 21 which is still pretty good.

Bumrah had a good match I believe, so the parosis are jumping up and down.

Out of insecurity and an inferiority complex, all what can be done here is attack Amir by a certain lot.

And that too without knowing any facts.

Bumrah has done well here but he's a level below when it comes to comparisons with an established bowler like Amir.

The guy has played.... a grand total of 8 freaking Test matches! And the parosis cannot stop jumping, comparing with the best.

He'll be figured out eventually, once teams play him more and prepare tactics.

Why did he bowl at 125-130kph in the final innings defending a small total yesterday? Pakistan needed his decisive bursts and he was grunting and panting to barely deliver mid/late 120kphs.
What was he preserving himself for?

He was looking for swing and control as the target was pretty low. Pace is not everything and can't get you wickets alone, bowling with pace would have allowed South Africa to score boundaries and get set, he was trying to keep pressure upfront. In first innings he bowled fastest at 143 Kph and was between 135-140 mostly.

You clearly have no idea about Amir or fast bowling in general. You're a parosi as well, so that's understandable.

Out of insecurity and an inferiority complex, all what can be done here is attack Amir by a certain lot.

Bumrah has done well here but he's a level below when it comes to comparisons with an established bowler like Amir.

The guy has played.... a grand total of 8 freaking Test matches! And the parosis cannot stop jumping, comparing with the best.

Also Bumrah has played almost every Test overseas in conditions favouring fast bowling.

Has been playing since 2016, yet to be figured out and is only getting better.

Better career average, strike rate and economy rate than Pakistan bowling’s Leader in Tests and ODIs. Amir is a better T20 bowler.

He was looking for swing and control as the target was pretty low. Pace is not everything and can't get you wickets alone, bowling with pace would have allowed South Africa to score boundaries and get set, he was trying to keep pressure upfront. In first innings he bowled fastest at 143 Kph and was between 135-140 mostly.
He was bowling the best line and length for the pitch among the three fast bowlers. He wasn’t getting much swinging but the lines were still more threatening than Hasan and Shaheen. But as Smith pointed out there was no chance he was going to get wickets at that pace. The edges were going to Sarfaraz on two bounces.

You are clearly exaggerating it, no edge went on 2 bounces to Sarfraz as I watched the entire match. Although some edges did fall short but there are pretty more reasons for that. As Amir was bowling was very threatening upfront, Elgar was trying to play with soft hands so the edge doesn't carry to slips also he was standing outside the crease to negate swing so the ball had to carry more distance even then on 2 occasions edge came flying through but still without luck that both of them went through slips and gully.

People have unreal expectations from him and think Amir is the reason we lose every time, even if he bowls well people criticize him.

When Abbas returns in the next test, who gets dropped. Its one of Amir or Hassan. I would rather drop Amir for Abbas. The only argument in keeping Amir over Hasan is that Amir can bowl a containing line and length and bowls for a longer period keeping the other pacers fresh.

Amir is doing the containing job since his return and is no longer the strike bowler. He is doing a similar job to Ishant, and has been out bowled by Ishant over the last 3 years. in test cricket.

Insecurity and inferiority complex due to what? Insecurity because of Pakistan's current Test and ODI rankings? Or insecurity due to Amir performance since he came back to cricket? :))

"People are comparing him to Wasim Akram and all that. It's wrong. Let him achieve some bit. Definitely he is got talent but aisa kuch nahin ki aake woh sabko uda hi deta hai (it's not that he rips apart all line-ups). He's just a normal bowler who was good on that day."

Apologies to Sharma who was spot on. Aamir is just an average bowler who can have some good days. Bumrah on the other hand is now the #1 ODI bowler.

In sha Allah, Aamir is saving his best deliveries for indian rop order. He will bring his A game on Sunday.

Remember Amir... 2 deliveries outswing and third one bring it in... It worked so far and will work again IA:asad1