"I grabbed Mickey Arthur's collar and told him, 'Control your language; otherwise, I will slap your face'": Umar Akmal

FearlessRoar

Umar Akmal, during a conversation on a local podcast, revealed details about his altercation with Mickey Arthur:

"Mickey Arthur came from another country; we are paying him. No one has ever abused me until today. Who is he to abuse me? No one can abuse me, okay? And the way he was abusing me in front of players—those are legends—and at that time, the chief selectors were present too. You can check my statement from that time—why haven’t those I mentioned given their statements yet?"

"I openly said that he (Mickey Arthur) abused me in front of players who are five-time namazis, who pray Tahajjud, who do Tabligh. If I am wrong, they should perform ablution, place their hands on the Holy Quran, and swear that Mickey Arthur did not abuse me."

"Why did he abuse me? Not because of my performance. He was telling me that I couldn’t practice at the academy. I asked, 'Why not?' It was because I had just returned from the Champions Trophy, and the Pakistan team had won. He said, 'I will not allow you.' I asked, 'Why won’t you allow me? I am a Pakistan player. If I have any problem, there are coaches and trainers here—I will work with them.' But he kept saying, 'No, I will not allow you.'"

"He abused me once—I looked at the chief selectors, thinking they might intervene. He abused me a second time—I looked again, but they said nothing. He abused me a third time. And this man is not even from our country. Even if he were, why should he abuse me? I was not even at fault, and he was abusing me for no reason."

"When he abused me the fifth time, I grabbed him. I am honestly saying this, on camera."

"No, I didn’t hit him. I just grabbed his collar and told him, 'Control your language; otherwise, I will slap your face.'"

"I openly said that he (Mickey Arthur) abused me in front of players who are five-time namazis, who pray Tahajjud, who do Tabligh. If I am wrong, they should perform ablution, place their hands on the Holy Quran, and swear that Mickey Arthur did not abuse me."

———-

I have not seen anyone swear more than Punjabi Pakistanis in North America.. so lol

Same Akmal, same. I too once held a German dude by his collar when standing at a bank queue in Delhi. He pushed me saying I was standing too close to him (he was counting money shiftily) and I said this is how we stand in queue in India and if he wants privacy then go back to where you came from. He shut up very quickly.

Umar Akmal, during a conversation on a local podcast, revealed details about his altercation with Mickey Arthur:

"Mickey Arthur came from another country; we are paying him. No one has ever abused me until today. Who is he to abuse me? No one can abuse me, okay? And the way he was abusing me in front of players—those are legends—and at that time, the chief selectors were present too. You can check my statement from that time—why haven’t those I mentioned given their statements yet?"

"Why did he abuse me? Not because of my performance. He was telling me that I couldn’t practice at the academy. I asked, 'Why not?' It was because I had just returned from the Champions Trophy, and the Pakistan team had won. He said, 'I will not allow you.' I asked, 'Why won’t you allow me? I am a Pakistan player. If I have any problem, there are coaches and trainers here—I will work with them.' But he kept saying, 'No, I will not allow you.'"

"He abused me once—I looked at the chief selectors, thinking they might intervene. He abused me a second time—I looked again, but they said nothing. He abused me a third time. And this man is not even from our country. Even if he were, why should he abuse me? I was not even at fault, and he was abusing me for no reason."

"When he abused me the fifth time, I grabbed him. I am honestly saying this, on camera."

"No, I didn’t hit him. I just grabbed his collar and told him, 'Control your language; otherwise, I will slap your face.'"
This guy needs professional help

Sounds like a comedy script for a movie

Stupid aah pindu is the reason we’re stuck with these TukTuks.

If he focused on his fitness and his performances in domestic then he’d easily walk into our XI, but nah he’s still stuck in 2017.

Respect for Akmal.

I don't know why others think that, just because they are non Desi, they are always right.

Not just because you are a Muslim but if you are a pious man who follows God in his heart, then you have every right to stand up when someone questions you and discriminates you.

Even as an atheist, I can understand this and respect Akmal for standing up even when I have a different belief system.

Disappointed with the fellow Muslims who are laughing at him.

Looks like Mickey had made his mind up on Umar Akmal after observing him for a few series.

TBH Umar Akmal himself is responsible for his downfall and his career being blown into insignificance. His legacy will now be that he was never good enough. How you finish your career is how people remember you.

It's strange he could never ever perform in domestic cricket to press for a recall. Last i saw him in the past few years and he has badly struggled with his weight and to be fair, i have read he suffers from epilepsy and the medication he has to take has weight gain side effects.

Now we know the reason why Mickey sent Umar back from CT17 campaign.

Unlike in Movies. "Thappar se dar nahi lagta..." Mickey actually feared Umar's slap.

If Mickey Arthur abused this guy while he claims no one ever did, than Mr. Arthur deserves the top civilian award in Pakistan.

Great job Mickey.

Oh not this again. Is he still sour over that 2017 incident ?

This was covered in one ofnmy favourite threads of all time:

Had Rizwan made such claim then PPers would have hailed him
Excellent point

It clearly shows the bipolar issues these people have with accepting what is right and what is wrong when it comes to certain people.

Umar Akmal grabs scruff of the neck of someone who he thinks abused him (although I don’t think Mickey directly abused him, just probably told him to F off)

Rizwan has been telling every coach to do that who tells him there are two sides of the ground

This feels like a script for a bugs bunny cartoon.

Mickey: No practising at the academy

umar akmal: why not?

Mickey: I will not allow you

Umar akmal: Why won't you allow me?

Mickey: No i will not allow you now @^@^#&#

Umar akmal looks at chief selectors

Mickey: @^#&£#

Umar akmal looks at selectors

Mickey: @^@&#&#

Mickey: #^@&#^

Mickey: @^#^#^#

Umar akmal grabs mickey by the collar: control your language otherwise i will slap your face.

Mickey: @^@&#;#

The end

Umar Akmal said in a video:

“He is my son and he is very passionate about cricket but if I share my honest opinion; I don’t want him to play cricket as you know it is Pakistan."

“What happened with our family, I don’t the same to happen with my son. Everybody knows about that so I will not explain it further."

“But since it is his passion, I would go all out to support him but at the same time, I made him promise me that his first priority should remain his studies then cricket.”

“Kindly pray for him to succeed and if the Pakistan Cricket Board wants then he can play.”

Umar Akmal said in a video:

“He is my son and he is very passionate about cricket but if I share my honest opinion; I don’t want him to play cricket as you know it is Pakistan."

“What happened with our family, I don’t the same to happen with my son. Everybody knows about that so I will not explain it further."

“But since it is his passion, I would go all out to support him but at the same time, I made him promise me that his first priority should remain his studies then cricket.”

“Kindly pray for him to succeed and if the Pakistan Cricket Board wants then he can play.”
Whatever will PCB do

I still think Umar Akmal was more talented than Kohli and is Pakistan's most talented batsman since Inzi retired in 2007. Its a pity that he had psychological issues. A real issue with Pakistan cricket is that gifted players are mentally weak. Umar, Amir, Asif, Sharjeel, Sohaib Maqsood, Harris Sohail and list goes on. Shaheen is on similar path.

Haris Sohail was a real loss. The arguably best middle order batter I had seen to debut for Pakistan in the last 2 decades. Unfortunately because of injuries and his own lazy attitude he couldn't play too many games for Pakistan.

Excellent point

It clearly shows the bipolar issues these people have with accepting what is right and what is wrong when it comes to certain people.

Umar Akmal grabs scruff of the neck of someone who he thinks abused him (although I don’t think Mickey directly abused him, just probably told him to F off)

Rizwan has been telling every coach to do that who tells him there are two sides of the ground

Caught on stump mic as well

Najam Sethi did once say this guy needed to be checked up because he had epilepsy which he believed was affecting his behaviour. However, Umar Akmal refused to take up this advice.

Someone in his family needs to get him checked up. He’s clearly not well.

Najam Sethi did once say this guy needed to be checked up because he had epilepsy which he believed was affecting his behaviour. However, Umar Akmal refused to take up this advice.

Someone in his family needs to get him checked up. He’s clearly not well.
I hate to say it but you can see from his face he has a low IQ. You see these types of guys in certain Brit Pak communities in England too.

That is a cop out to make someone feel good.

I think I am more talented than the Nobel Prize winner also.

Yes.

I feel like Pakistan didn't handle Umar Akmal well. He was a natural talent.

Oh not this again. Is he still sour over that 2017 incident ?

This was covered in one ofnmy favourite threads of all time:

Sharamful is my favourite word of all time in the Akmal-ictionary

Misbah abused Umar so badly that he completely lost his marbles, think of victims of rape and this is of that ilk basically, Umar is still suffering from PTSD.

Dropped him from the test side when he had done very well for himself in away tours outside Asia.

Misbah’s handling of Umar Akmal was disgraceful for 2 reasons:

1. Dropped from tests in favour of a timid Asad Shafiq

2. Demoted him in the batting order and made him bat at 6 even though he wasn’t a hitter. He was a top order player. Misbah’s school of thought was to put defensive/accumulator type players at the top of the order and anyone with flair and shots down the order.

Umar Akmal had his issues but Misbah played a big part in his downfall.

I hate to say it but you can see from his face he has a low IQ. You see these types of guys in certain Brit Pak communities in England too.

Completely agree with this. For Brit Pakistanis it’s to be expected.

What’s surprising about Umar Akmal is that he’s from a wealthy family in Lahore.

His social media content definitely highlights his lack of intelligence and his chehra certainly gives it away.

Dropped him from the test side when he had done very well for himself in away tours outside Asia.

Misbah’s handling of Umar Akmal was disgraceful for 2 reasons:

1. Dropped from tests in favour of a timid Asad Shafiq

2. Demoted him in the batting order and made him bat at 6 even though he wasn’t a hitter. He was a top order player. Misbah’s school of thought was to put defensive/accumulator type players at the top of the order and anyone with flair and shots down the order.

+1, people associate crybaby Umar akmal from 2017 to 2009-2014 UA. Umar akmal by 2017 was a lost cause that even sarfi and mickey Arthur had to remove him as he was a loose canon. However he wouldn't have had these issues if not for Misbah.

This guy was pure raw talent. He wanted to bat at no 3 for pakistan in all formats and that's the no he was best at. However Misbah removed him for asad shafiq or his other buddies.

Misbah used the same excuse that since UA is a power hitter he needs to bat at no 6. This slogger mindset was developed by Misbah.

He would have been a gun no 3 for pakistan and guarantee he would have had zero issues if someone like sarfaraz was his captain.

That is a cop out to make someone feel good.

I think I am more talented than the Nobel Prize winner also.
Watch his debut test hundred on a green top in NZ to understand what I am talking about.

Umar has performed against top bowlers of world cricket. Meanwhile, you are just a random poster on an online forum.

Watch his debut test hundred on a green top in NZ to understand what I am talking about.

Umar has performed against top bowlers of world cricket. Meanwhile, you are just a random poster on an online forum.

A fluke.

Just how a random player has beaten Federer also but will never happen again.

A fluke.

Just how a random player has beaten Federer also but will never happen again.
'Fluke' is the real cop out.

That random players must have very high level of natural ability aka talent to beat Federer.

A batsman's ability to pick the length early gives him a little extra time as compared to ordinary batsmen specially against pacers. Umar Akmal had that natural ability. Not to mention he had very little issues in his technique.

That random players must have very high level of natural ability aka talent to beat Federer.

A batsman's ability to pick the length early gives him a little extra time as compared to ordinary batsmen specially against pacers. Umar Akmal had that natural ability. Not to mention he had very little issues in his technique.
The guy played 30 innings in Tests and that was his only hundred and just 2 hundreds in 110 innings in ODIs. So not sure what natural ability you are talking about? If he was technically superior he should have scored more. He had his issues with technique, agree that his debut hundred was brilliant but he never followed it up with consistent performances. When Azhar Mahmood made his debut he scored a 100 against Donald and Pollock. Everyone thought Pakistan have found their next great all-rounder, he even scored a hundred in SA later. His career nosedived as well and ended up only playing 21 Tests. So Umar was not the only one to look million bucks on his debut.

You missed the point.

Irrespective of whether the random person who beat Federer had lots of "hidden mythical talent", he could only do it once in a lifetime.

Actually because "talent is an abused word" to give solace to "lack of performance" by our favorite sportsmen. It is neither here or there as it helps to cope with uncomfortable moments that one might have to face.

Just like a random stranger that once beat Federer and eclipsed into oblivion, Umar played a scintillating knock on the greens of NZ but was lost to history.

You can blame Misbah, coaching, underwear, lipstick, mental disease or the famine in Africa for Umars fall from grace.

And you can consider him a prodigy better than Tendulkar.

But the truth is, he was a mediocre batsmen.

I have facts to prove it.

You have nothing but a one off century on a green field against NZ once in a lifetime to base your premise on.

Good luck convincing anyone else.

You missed the point.

Irrespective of whether the random person who beat Federer had lots of "hidden mythical talent", he could only do it once in a lifetime.

Actually because "talent is an abused word" to give solace to "lack of performance" by our favorite sportsmen. It is neither here or there as it helps to cope with uncomfortable moments that one might have to face.

Just like a random stranger that once beat Federer and eclipsed into oblivion, Umar played a scintillating knock on the greens of NZ but was lost to history.

You can blame Misbah, coaching, underwear, lipstick, mental disease or the famine in Africa for Umars fall from grace.

And you can consider him a prodigy better than Tendulkar.

But the truth is, he was a mediocre batsmen.

I have facts to prove it.

You have nothing but a one off century on a green field against NZ once in a lifetime to base your premise on.

Good luck convincing anyone else.
Your assumptions of 'coping' and 'solace' is all in your head and has nothing to do with what I said.

I never said Umar Akmal is a better batsman than Kohli or even Babar Azam. I said he had greater natural ability. Umar's pull shots against Shane Bond on a green top is my proof. You can disagree with it and move on.

Your assumptions of 'coping' and 'solace' is all in your head and has nothing to do with what I said.

I never said Umar Akmal is a better batsman than Kohli or even Babar Azam. I said he had greater natural ability. Umar's pull shots against Shane Bond on a green top is my proof. You can disagree with it and move on.

The fact he could never replicate it, proves it is as rare as two total solar eclipses in a calendar year.

That's my proof.

And thank you yes, I will move on.

The guy played 30 innings in Tests and that was his only hundred and just 2 hundreds in 110 innings in ODIs. So not sure what natural ability you are talking about? If he was technically superior he should have scored more. He had his issues with technique, agree that his debut hundred was brilliant but he never followed it up with consistent performances. When Azhar Mahmood made his debut he scored a 100 against Donald and Pollock. Everyone thought Pakistan have found their next great all-rounder, he even scored a hundred in SA later. His career nosedived as well and ended up only playing 21 Tests. So Umar was not the only one to look million bucks on his debut.
His overall stats are irrelevant considering his temperamental issues.

Your comparison with Azhar Mehmood is nonsensical considering Azhar made his debut on a flat Rawalpindi track where the match ended in a draw.

The fact he could never replicate it, proves it is as rare as two total solar eclipses in a calendar year.

That's my proof.

And thank you yes, I will move on.
He replicated that in second innings and then in Aus tour as well. His mindset brought his downfall. Again, he was naturally gifted as a batsman. No denying that.

I still think Umar Akmal was more talented than Kohli

Around 2010-2012, Umar Akmal had good interest from fans in India as an exciting talent. And there were people in India who had a similar view. At least one person in my friend circle used to say the same thing.

I never bought it back then. Don't now.

This is like those who repeat the myth that Kambli was more naturally talented than Sachin.

Umar Akmal was potentially the best Pakistani batsman since Inzy at the time. But he is not even as naturally gifted as his cousin. And Babar's emergence in the U-19 scene might have contributed to his panic and mental instability when people still cared about him making a comeback.

That's akin to saying that Krishnamachari Srikkanth was more talented than Viv Richards.

His overall stats are irrelevant considering his temperamental issues.

Your comparison with Azhar Mehmood is nonsensical considering Azhar made his debut on a flat Rawalpindi track where the match ended in a draw.
So what, Mehmood scored 3 hundreds in short time and one in SA as well against a very good bowling attack. Akmal's overall record relevant in this context. He never took off after that one innings. You cannot call that talent. He ended his career with mediocre numbers in all 3 formats. Umar Akmal is a batter who played one good innings against a bowling attack which only had Shane Bond and Vettori. The rest of the bowling was ordinary and contrary to what you said about green wicket, it was a good wicket which deteriorated as the game wore on. NZ scored 429 and Pakistan 353 in the first innings. I am not saying it was a easy wicket to bat on but again it wasn't as bad as you describe, Vettori top scored with 99 against a very good Pakistan attack.

I just want to remember him for first few months of his international career where he was amazing to watch. It is sad that whatever has happened to him , epilepsy and low IQ. Kamran akmal never was good enough to keep him on right track.

Around 2010-2012, Umar Akmal had good interest from fans in India as an exciting talent. And there were people in India who had a similar view. At least one person in my friend circle used to say the same thing.

I never bought it back then. Don't now.

This is like those who repeat the myth that Kambli was more naturally talented than Sachin.

Umar Akmal was potentially the best Pakistani batsman since Inzy at the time. But he is not even as naturally gifted as his cousin. And Babar's emergence in the U-19 scene might have contributed to his panic and mental instability when people still cared about him making a comeback.
Atleast you understand what I am saying. I disagree about that Babar part. Umar was far more talented than him. Watch his T20 innings vs Aus in 2010 in England and then world t20 semifinal in 2010 where he was hitting sixes against 145+ kph fast bowlers (Johnson+Nannes=Tait) for fun. He dominated Starc in 2014 WC. Babar can never do that.

So what, Mehmood scored 3 hundreds in short time and one in SA as well against a very good bowling attack. Akmal's overall record relevant in this context. He never took off after that one innings. You cannot call that talent. He ended his career with mediocre numbers in all 3 formats. Umar Akmal is a batter who played one good innings against a bowling attack which only had Shane Bond and Vettori. The rest of the bowling was ordinary and contrary to what you said about green wicket, it was a good wicket which deteriorated as the game wore on. NZ scored 429 and Pakistan 353 in the first innings. I am not saying it was a easy wicket to bat on but again it wasn't as bad as you describe, Vettori top scored with 99 against a very good Pakistan attack.
Umar scored 75 in second innings as well !

Azhar Mehmood comparison is senseless. Lower order batsmen tend to do well in SA and even in that match a SAfrican number 10 got a hundred ! Even Nasir Jamshed scored 3 hundreds in a row against India. Yasir Shah scored a test hundred in Aus. Its not about runs but gauging the contribution of batsman's natural ability in getting them.

Overall record is not relevant because his inconsistency is not related with his natural ability which was my argument. This wasn't his only good innings. He showed flashes of brilliance number of times in ODIs and T20Is but talent without hardwork and patience can only take you so far.

That's akin to saying that Krishnamachari Srikkanth was more talented than Viv Richards.
You can say that if you have seen, whoever that guy is, bat and you think he can pick the length of quickest pacers earlier than Viv.

Dear padosis, don't get triggered. I have not disrespected your king Kohli at all with my words. Even Kohli with agree with my statement as he is a great admirer of natural talent. :afridi

You can say that if you have seen, whoever that guy is, bat and you think he can pick the length of quickest pacers earlier than Viv.

Dear padosis, don't get triggered. I have not disrespected your king Kohli at all with my words. Even Kohli with agree with my statement as he is a great admirer of natural talent. :afridi
Umar Akmal and talent doesn't go hand in hand.

Not surprised though coming from a Pakistani fan. There was once a thread around 2009/10 asking whether Imran Nazir was more talented than Virender Sehwag.

Exactly. I can also say I'm more talented then virat kohli but I just decided not to pursue a career in cricket.

Words mean nothing. One guy has 82 international centuries and the other is a ghost in cricket atm.

I'm surprised people remember UA excluding Pakistani fans ofcourse. He's a ghost now.

Atleast you understand what I am saying. I disagree about that Babar part. Umar was far more talented than him. Watch his T20 innings vs Aus in 2010 in England and then world t20 semifinal in 2010 where he was hitting sixes against 145+ kph fast bowlers (Johnson+Nannes=Tait) for fun. He dominated Starc in 2014 WC. Babar can never do that.
Sorry, but just because someone is more attacking a player doesn't mean he's more gifted. No one would argue that Sehwag was more gifted than Sachin for example.

Based on Umar Akmal's reputation, I think he was trying to say that " Mickey grabbed my collar and told him to control his language"

For some of you guys just hitting sixes or in the air is talent. Even harbhajan and Balaji hit akhtar for sixes in some innings, akhtar was much faster than the bowlers you named.

Real talent is incredibly consistent and don't rely on fluke innings. Many many many batsmen in history have played handful of good innings and then faded away.

Why? Because they were not talented enough to consistently perform at the highest level. A long career is like a chess game where your opponent plans for you after they know your style and then you need to consistently better yourself and improve or fade away.

That's the difference between true talent and fluke. Fluke gets found out and exposed as bowlers plan for you, talent keeps getting better and reinventing.

While Misbah did unfairly support and back Azhar Ali, Asad Shafiq over Umar Akmal. UA overall himself is responsible for his own decline.

The fact he was never able to stake a claim for recall via his domestic performance from 2020 onwards is very telling. He just didn't have it anymore

Those of us who remember young Ummy from 2008 days know he was a freak talent in his early years. He had the power and he had the strokes. Watch his debut century vs Sri Lanka or his ODI knock vs Australian bowling attack of Johnson to get an idea how good peak Umar Akmal was

+1, people associate crybaby Umar akmal from 2017 to 2009-2014 UA. Umar akmal by 2017 was a lost cause that even sarfi and mickey Arthur had to remove him as he was a loose canon. However he wouldn't have had these issues if not for Misbah.

This guy was pure raw talent. He wanted to bat at no 3 for pakistan in all formats and that's the no he was best at. However Misbah removed him for asad shafiq or his other buddies.

Misbah used the same excuse that since UA is a power hitter he needs to bat at no 6. This slogger mindset was developed by Misbah.

He would have been a gun no 3 for pakistan and guarantee he would have had zero issues if someone like sarfaraz was his captain.
Agree Umar has his issues but he was very poorly utilized by both Misbah as well as Afridi from 2011 WC. He had always wished to play at no. 3 but was never allowed. Players like Shafiq, Younis played ahead of him in ODIs. Misbah and Younis will never accept that they were tuk tuk players in ODIs

While Misbah did unfairly support and back Azhar Ali, Asad Shafiq over Umar Akmal. UA overall himself is responsible for his own decline.

The fact he was never able to stake a claim for recall via his domestic performance from 2020 onwards is very telling. He just didn't have it anymore
During his entire career he played under Misbah despite mediocre career. How did he treat him unfairly that too compared to guys who were not even regular members of ODI side

Umar's golden period from 2011 to 2015 was totally destroyed by Misbah & Afridi both in ODIs & T20s. It's a shame that players like Misbah & Shafiq batted above Umar in T20s. Umar lost the track after 2015 ODI WC & 2016 T20 WC.

Same thing happened with Sohaib Maqsood, he started quite well, but after some failures he was never allowed to reinvent himself

The worst thing during Misbah's tenure in both limited overs format was he continuously followed traditional 1970s approach. He never tried to introduce any kind of aggression or hard hitting on the field.

For some of you guys just hitting sixes or in the air is talent. Even harbhajan and Balaji hit akhtar for sixes in some innings, akhtar was much faster than the bowlers you named.
Its not about hitting sixes only. Fakhar hits more sixes yet he is not more talented than Babar (Fakhar picks length slightly later).
Real talent is incredibly consistent and don't rely on fluke innings. Many many many batsmen in history have played handful of good innings and then faded away.

Why? Because they were not talented enough to consistently perform at the highest level. A long career is like a chess game where your opponent plans for you after they know your style and then you need to consistently better yourself and improve or fade away.
Again, I am talking about natural ability not consistency. These are two different things. Imam is more consistent than Yasir Hameed and Sharjeel Khan despite the latter two had more natural ability.
That's the difference between true talent and fluke. Fluke gets found out and exposed as bowlers plan for you, talent keeps getting better and reinventing.
Umar Akmal didn't got exposed due to some technical issues or bowler's plans. He was psychologically weak and used to throw his wicket away.

I know Indians got triggered with my mention of Kohli but you should calm down. Those who know something about batting mechanics and watched the early part of both their careers know what I am talking about. Kohli has said that Sharma is more talented than him. He will agree with my statement as well:afridi.

Nostalgic here.

Whenever khatmals are mentioned, specially umar, I am reminded of his fondness for grapes.

If you are not turned on by these gangsta beauties, you ain't a man.

1741185520642.png
1741185537553.png
1741185590933.png

2025 and yet we have some posters who still don’t understand what “talent” means in cricket or sports in general.

No wonder Pakistan cricket is down the drain, with such supporters you will always get below average players.

In 2011 ODI WC, Umar Akmal batted with way more intent and self belief than Kohli but it's sad how poor his career turned out. I was tensed till he was on crease in semi final. I was relieved when he got out. He was hitting sixes with ease under pressure which is something, Kohli never did especially at that point in his career. Back then Kohli was just an average anchor player.

Its not about hitting sixes only. Fakhar hits more sixes yet he is not more talented than Babar (Fakhar picks length slightly later).

Again, I am talking about natural ability not consistency. These are two different things. Imam is more consistent than Yasir Hameed and Sharjeel Khan despite the latter two had more natural ability.

Umar Akmal didn't got exposed due to some technical issues or bowler's plans. He was psychologically weak and used to throw his wicket away.

I know Indians got triggered with my mention of Kohli but you should calm down. Those who know something about batting mechanics and watched the early part of both their careers know what I am talking about. Kohli has said that Sharma is more talented than him. He will agree with my statement as well:afridi.
He used to throw his wicket away because bowlers stopped bowling to his strength and started planning for him.

Exactly what indian bowlers did to kamran akmal after karachi innings and Afridi after his initial couple of innings against us. After that they were unable to buy a run off indian bowlers because they analysed their strength and weaknesses.

Asif wasn't mentally weak. He was just dirty.