"I just hope New Zealand get it done for us" : Mickey Arthur

I like this guy really, saying it as it is. We all want NZ to win so why criticize him for stating the obvious facts?

Realistically, only chance NZ have is winning the toss and bat first scoring 250+. If England bat first and put anything above 250, its game over.

You are a terrible analyst of cricket if you think pak have been better than NZ.
Pakistan were lucky to beat afghan.
Got a turning track vs NZ.

Bowled out for 105 vs windies
Thrashed by India.

NZ has just had 1 big loss to aussie but it was nowhere as bad as pak's surrender vs windies.
If you play with non heart like that at the wc you dont deserve to make semis.

I think bdesh r favs vs pak anyway. Imo they have been better than pak so far

You telling me NZ haven't been lucky in their wins?
Do you remember mushfiqur fluff in a game they won by 2 wickets.
Or Tahir getting Williamson out but not reviewing ( a game they won in the last over)

In terms of Pak Vs NZ, they were lucky they didn't have to bat second on that wicket.

Even WI, braithwaite should have finished them.

Don't talk to me about luck

You telling me NZ haven't been lucky in their wins?
Do you remember mushfiqur fluff in a game they won by 2 wickets.
Or Tahir getting Williamson out but not reviewing ( a game they won in the last over)

In terms of Pak Vs NZ, they were lucky they didn't have to bat second on that wicket.

Even WI, braithwaite should have finished them.

Don't talk to me about luck
well done, a good doze.

Looking at the press conference of both teams, its win the toss bat first kind of wicket and both teams are eager to do that.

Basically whoever wins the toss, wins the match (80%)

More than Windies loss it is the SL rained off match that is hurting us. Eng never had a rained off match and NZ had a rain off against Ind which they would have lost.

England would be glad had THEIR game against Sri Lanka was washed out. Had it been, Pak would already be out by now. Never count your chickens.

The WI match was a total disaster, and basically put us at -1 point due to the horrible NRR afterwards and the real reason why we have been playing catch up ever since.

Not looking good for NZ, the match with England is being played on Chester Le Street and all the matches there in this WC have shown the wickets to be flat. On a flat wicket England will be in business, NZ does not have gun players like England at the top.

I would take runs on the board in a knockout game. Hopefully NZ can win toss and bat first,if like you say it's flat

[SUB][/SUB]Nz is playing with 2 batsmen & 2 bowlers. Their openers are a big flop & lower order is hit or miss. Plus they have issues with spin/5th bowler too.

Even if my heart doesn’t agree, the mind says it will be England.

Even if NZ win, we have to from BAN are very solid team right now.

While they have been unlucky with the rain, they did have a lot of luck with the umpires in the Afg match in which 2 Pakistani batsmen were not given out.

Umpiring errors are part of game. They didn’t happen in Pakistan-Afghanistan game only. It was Afghanistan’s fault that they wasted their reviews.

A bit odd that he talks of destiny in own hands and yet gently complains about India and fervently wants NZ to beat England :rabada2

Had India beat England or if NZ beat England then that allows Pakistan to control their own destiny by having to beat Bangladesh. That's what he is saying.

Mikey Arthur clearly saw India's run chase and their unwillingness to go for the win. Otherwise he would have never mentioned that.

Had India beat England or if NZ beat England then that allows Pakistan to control their own destiny by having to beat Bangladesh. That's what he is saying.

Mikey Arthur clearly saw <b>India's run chase and their unwillingness to go for the win.</b> Otherwise he would have never mentioned that.

This bit of whining is getting more and more absurd. Today against Bangladesh, with no scoreboard pressure and an inferior bowling attack, India scored 35 in the last 5 overs. Against England they scored 39 in the last 5 overs.

Mustafiz is not an easy bowler to hit at the death. Against England the likes of Dhoni and Jhadav weren't even trying. Pant is just over rated while Pandya couldn't do it all by himself.

Team like NZL can;t have three defeats in a row, no way. Law of average is in our favor.

Difference between minnow Pakistan and top teams like India and England is that top teams win matches with their hard work, quality performance and grit while teams like Pakistan always look for a backdoor entry.

90% chance of England winning it. It will be an upset if kiwis beat them.

I started a thread on Sunday about this that India's best chance of reaching finals is to have semis against Pakistan or Bdesh and not NZ, and I also hope, along with Mickey, that NZ wins today.

Mikey Arthur clearly saw India's run chase and their unwillingness to go for the win. Otherwise he would have never mentioned that.

That's because he knows that only in Pakistan, blame for not qualifying for semis can be put on India and people will buy that. I am sure he visits this forum often.

Who is saying that is the reason Pakistan may not make it?

The Indian fans on here are unbelievable! No one is saying the other teams owe Pakistan anything. Just calling a spade a spade.

If you can't qualify on your own, you are just not good enough.

Don’t think new zeland is solely responsible for our qualification. Pakistan still needs to beat Bangladesh and had to win matches from eng and nz which unfortunately your team can’t do.

Who is saying that is the reason Pakistan may not make it?

The Indian fans on here are unbelievable! No one is saying the other teams owe Pakistan anything. Just calling a spade a spade.

Mickey has a habit of putting blame on others. He doesn't even hesitate to put his own players under the bus when things get tough. So if Pakistan fails to qualify, mickey will blame India.

We are not saying Pakistan team will blame.

We are saying mickey will blame.

There's a difference.

Difference between minnow Pakistan and top teams like India and England is that top teams win matches with their hard work, quality performance and grit while teams like Pakistan always look for a backdoor entry.

Minnows done beat two top teams of the tournament.

Don’t think new zeland is solely responsible for our qualification. Pakistan still needs to beat Bangladesh and had to win matches from eng and nz which unfortunately your team can’t do.

In case you didn't know, we have qualified for the semi's and you have not.

You are a terrible analyst of cricket if you think pak have been better than NZ.
Pakistan were lucky to beat afghan.
Got a turning track vs NZ.

Bowled out for 105 vs windies
Thrashed by India.

NZ has just had 1 big loss to aussie but it was nowhere as bad as pak's surrender vs windies.
If you play with non heart like that at the wc you dont deserve to make semis.

I think bdesh r favs vs pak anyway. Imo they have been better than pak so far

Nz have been very lucky.
Nealy lost by ban
Braithwate brain explostion
Washout vs ind which they would have probabaly lost.
Very close game vs sa

Exactly. Minnows are only good in phases. They cannot play good cricket consistently.
Guess there are six other minnows in international cricket right now :))

More importantly, this WC has six minnows according to you. Why not just send them all home and have Australia, New Zealand, India and England play each other for a trophy every four years?

Lol, let me know when you finish writing your own dictionary.

Guess there are six other minnows in international cricket right now :))

More importantly, this WC has six minnows according to you. Why not just send them all home and have Australia, New Zealand, India and England play each other for a trophy every four years?

When your team has lost 24 out of its last 30 matches then what do you call such a side?World-beaters?

Nz have been very lucky.
Nealy lost by ban
Braithwate brain explostion
Washout vs ind which they would have probabaly lost.
Very close game vs sa

Never thot on those lines but is this a sign that they are winning the WC!

When your team has lost 24 out of its last 30 matches then what do you call such a side?World-beaters?
What has last 30 matches got to do with the 8 matches Pakistan has played in this WC? I doubt anyone besides idiotic Pakistan fans would call our side a minnow, based on how we have performed in this WC.

Once the WC is over, you lot can start your discussions over ODI rankings. But for the meantime, keep quiet.

Pakistan fans had such low opinion of New Zealand performance in the tournament till now . Now all of a sudden, they have turned into New Zealand supporters.:vk2

If you can't qualify on your own, you are just not good enough.

That's a silly comment. Every team qualifies on their own or due to the fact that the other teams were just not good enough to get enough points. Either way you look at it, its the same for each and every team that makes it to the top 4

Exactly. Teams that make the Semis deserve it 100%.

Then why is your coach hoping for New Zealand victory today?

One team has to win, correct? India got through because other teams lost and dropped points. This is how it works. I don't understand your point of view. If England lose and drop points and we win and we gain points then we deserve to be in the Semi's based on the points gained.

Well I said yesterday that the toss will decide. England have won the toss and elected to bat first

Never knew the qualifying criteria of world cup was to beat NZ and Eng. Man! had somebody told us sooner we would also have lost all of our other matches and just concentrated on the two above.

We definitely don't know how to play, here we are, winning all the matches we can. We should have played smartly like Pak and relied on others for qualification.

What has last 30 matches got to do with the 8 matches Pakistan has played in this WC? I doubt anyone besides idiotic Pakistan fans would call our side a minnow, based on how we have performed in this WC.

Once the WC is over, you lot can start your discussions over ODI rankings. But for the meantime, keep quiet.

It has a lot to do with it. It shows how woefully incompetent and inconsistent we have been. Even in the first WC game, Pakistan got smashed by the mighty West Indies - a team that has not been able to win a single match. Amazing!

Well, you can always chant ‘Cornered Tigers’ if the reality is too much for you.

yeh feelings hee marwati hai humay

hahahahhaha yaar kiya kerain Pakistani ki team ko follow kertay huay 30 saal say ziyadah ho gaye. itna bharosa hai apni team per keh on a given day india aur australia ko bhi mar dain aur harnay per ain to Afghan aur Nepal say bhi har jain

Sorry Mickey, looks like New Zealand is all set to disappoint you. Only if you had stuck to your job, we wouldn't even be having this thread

No guarantee we would have beaten SL, who at times have played brilliantly. Only have ourselevs to blame. DId not deserve to qualify.

NO! If you want a job done, you gotta do it yourself.

Thats how things work in this world.

I just hope we now boot out Sarfraz, Hafeez and Malik for good. Wahab needs to be shown the door also.

No BD are already out... so even if they win against Pak it won't have any effect on the standings.

If Bangladesh win then they will have 9 points with higher NRR than Pakistan. So they will finish fifth and Pakistan would be sixth.

I am assuming that Sri Lanka will lose to India. If Sri Lanka win, then Sri Lanka will finish fifth in that case.