"I thanked Wasim Khan and said it's fine you've done what you think is best for Pak": Sarfaraz Ahmed

Sarfaraz Ahmed speaking to the media:

"I dont think this has happened before that a person from PCB has gone over to see a player, like I have said before that Wasim Khan drove over from Lahore and told me about PCB's decision"

"I thanked him and said its fine Sir, you have done what you think is best for Pakistan"

"He said to me that play domestic cricket and in that way make a comeback in the side"

"Wasim Khan after explaining PCB's decision asked me if I wanted to resign so it was a simple thing, I told him that you made me captain and you know who is best for Pakistan"

"There is nothing strange about it, it was all done in a positive manner"

"There is nothing to be saddened about and as I have said before, I am thankful to ALLAH that captained to my best abilities to try and get as many victories for Pakistan as possible"

"PCB always takes the decision to appoint captain, and whoever they felt was the right person was made captain and my best wishes are with Babar Azam and I pray that he gets more and more victories for Pakistan in the future"

"We must always give time for things to settle, there is a new management and a new captain and tour of Australia has always been a difficult one"

"Everyone wants to take their best team to Australia and get the best results but unfortunately that is always not possible"

"I would still say that we should back players who could not perform, regardless of whether its Fakhar Zaman or not; I feel that a player can go through good and bad times; We need to support players in bad times as its these players, like Fakhar Zaman, who in the past has been your hero"

"He hit a 100 in the Champions Trophy for Pakistan and also hit a double hundred as well; Yes, last few months have not been good for him so we must support our own players because if we dont support our own players, no one else will"

"Babar has been with me always and I have also supported him in the past, and he was almost like a vice-captain as he used to stand with me in the slips; He is new to the job, and my message to for all is that we need to support Babar as much as possible"

"He is a young captain and he has a young team with him, and its not easy for a young captain to go to a tough place and fight against a strong team"

"There is no formula to win, this is the best side that Pakistan has sent and as I have said before that you take a good team but the team is unable to perform but we need to support them - Babar Azam has the capability and in the same way he is performing in batting, Inshallah, after learning he will also bring victories to Pakistan in the future"

"Yaar I have to play for Pakistan, I will play under anyone, I want to play cricket"

Whatever one might think of the guy and his abilities, he tends to take disappointments really well and doesn’t let it get to him. Many a big-name player would be finding ways to throw in snide remarks out of plain frustration and spite. Good on him.

If Sarfraz could get back to his 2014-16 form, he is twice the batsman this clown Mohammad Rizwan is.

Sadly he allowed his batting and fitness to regress alarmingly and by the end of his captaincy he looked barely capable of holding a bat.

The tragedy is that PCB, historically inept at grooming captains, oversaw in Sarfraz one of the smoothest captaincy transitions in our history. Sarfraz was U19 captain, domestic and PSL captain, and T20 captain all before being appointed as Test and ODI captain in 2017. Rarely had a Pakistan skipper been as well prepared for the role as Sarfraz.

However nearly all Pakistani captains, bar Imran, end their tenure in tears.

Reading this reminded me of

‘Mehfil main teri, hum Na rahe tou, gham tou nahi hai...’

If Sarfraz could get back to his 2014-16 form, he is twice the batsman this clown Mohammad Rizwan is.

Sadly he allowed his batting and fitness to regress alarmingly and by the end of his captaincy he looked barely capable of holding a bat.

The tragedy is that PCB, historically inept at grooming captains, oversaw in Sarfraz one of the smoothest captaincy transitions in our history. Sarfraz was U19 captain, domestic and PSL captain, and T20 captain all before being appointed as Test and ODI captain in 2017. Rarely had a Pakistan skipper been as well prepared for the role as Sarfraz.

However nearly all Pakistani captains, bar Imran, end their tenure in tears.

Muhammad Rizwan playing for Pakistan is a blot on the system.

Tell me any U19 player apart from Babar Azam that has been a world class player or even decent quality in last 20 years.

Our NCA is a failure
Our U19 cricket is a failure

Saying all the right things.

He's probably relieved he's not touring Australia at the moment.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Sarfaraz Ahmed reciting a Naat earlier today (courtesy ARY) <a href="https://t.co/Pb3syg6oOz">pic.twitter.com/Pb3syg6oOz</a></p>— Saj Sadiq (@Saj_PakPassion) <a href="https://twitter.com/Saj_PakPassion/status/1193632569239199744?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">November 10, 2019</a></blockquote>

always a top notch individual - very few Pakistani cricketers you can say that about

I have met him a couple of times in New Zealand and he has always been very humble.

He seems to have lost a lot of weight as well.

Haan bhai Pakistaniyon maza ahraha hai Australia mein? :sarf2

PP experts made it seem Pakistan would be winning games left and right if only spawn of the devil Sarfaraz is removed. The reality is just three Aussie wickets in the whole series. Enjoy :afridi

Haan bhai Pakistaniyon maza ahraha hai Australia mein? :sarf2

PP experts made it seem Pakistan would be winning games left and right if only spawn of the devil Sarfaraz is removed. The reality is just three Aussie wickets in the whole series. Enjoy :afridi

Not that I support Misbah but Sarfraz was quite useless as a player by the time he got removed.

Unless he was Mike Brearly, he didnt deserve a place in the side.

reckon he will come back strongly
without captaincy pressure he is different player altogether

Sarfraz is a good white ball batsman and he is good on dead Asian surfaces too.

The problem when the track is greener or bouncier is that he plays with hard hands, which makes him a liability against a slip cordon.

Safraz's keeping was fine, its his batting that was the problem.
Whati noticed was he would come in to bat and try to be a hero because he was the captain and just be gungho and get out. It was probably because he was the captain and thought he should lead from the front and be assertive, but his batting skill was not upto a dominating standard. He should have just played more responsibly and within his skillset.
His running between the wickets was also kamikaze, taking ridiculous singles and diving for his life and still being short.
Basically, if he had just calmed down, taken things a bit slower, he would have done better, but i dont think its in his nature, just listen to him speak, his always in a rush!

Not that I support Misbah but Sarfraz was quite useless as a player by the time he got removed.

Unless he was Mike Brearly, he didnt deserve a place in the side.

Yeah took us to number 1 in the rankings, quite the useless bloke he is. Also with the bat in the last 12 months he has had only 3 T20 innings, quite the expert you must be to deduce his batting prowess in the format from 3 innings. In the last 24 months he has had 17 innings, 3 not outs, 30 average and 138 SR in T20s. Quite respectable stats.

His removal from t20 is a bit harsh but even you should agree his test captaincy and place were rightly taken away from him.

"I thanked him and said its fine Sir, you have done what you think is best for Pakistan"

"Wasim Khan after explaining PCB's decision asked me if I wanted to resign so it was a simple thing, I told him that you made me captain and you know who is best for Pakistan"

Above quotes will never come out of any other captain!!!! rather they will go and cry in front of media. Thanks Sarfi for captaining Pakistan Team... Work hard in domestic and best of luck to you. :salute

His performance with bat forced the management to take the decision because the management had to look like they were doing something about it despite the fact they knew the did not have better replacement as a wicket keeper/batsman.

Frazzy we miss you!!

He was a good guy. We can all say that.

Very few people today are good people and he was one of them.

I hope he is able to.enjoy the rest of his life.now after being relieved of his duties

I think Safaraz should have retained the T20 captaincy and his place in the test side.

Anyway, thats just my opinion.

Sarfraz can still make a come back at least in T20s after the horror show by Rizwan in Australian T-20s.

Rizwan is more suitable for ODIs and tests but in T-20s I am not sure if he's the answer. Kamran is too old and Umar is probably out for a very long time now. I won't be surprised if Sarfraz makes a come back soon in T-20s.

I think Safaraz should have retained the T20 captaincy and his place in the test side.

Anyway, thats just my opinion.

Rizwan has scored well in FC and deserves a chance. Sarfaraz regressed big time in tests. If he can regain his 2014-16 form back, then who knows.

Probably the first time a Pakistani captain hasnt gone to the media to complain. Setting a good precedent.

Pretty sure he will have, but even the usual culprits probably realised that their beloved Sarfaraz didn't have a leg to stand on.

he seems to have a pretty strong lobby for him. He does not need to post complaints directly. He was useless and unfit.. Its very strange why padosis still want him back..:smith. A limited player who had a few fluke innings and victories.

He deserved an axe for sure, especially in the ODI and Test formats, don't have sympathy for him, but he should have been in charge of the T20I team till the WC. There was no need for emergency changes in the T20I team.

Pretty sure he will have, but even the usual culprits probably realised that their beloved Sarfaraz didn't have a leg to stand on.

Why didn’t he then? It seems like you have some disdain for Sarfraz and I’d be curious to hear why.

He let PCB make the decision and was gracious even after the sacking.

When has that happened before? You have Butt and Akmal crying about injustices on a daily basis on the other hand even after fixing god matches and being involved in team politics.

Rizwan has scored well in FC and deserves a chance. Sarfaraz regressed big time in tests. If he can regain his 2014-16 form back, then who knows.

My thinking was that without the burden of skippering and keeping in a long test match he may have found his old form with the bat. Plus We need street fighters for a tour like Australia.

Stay far away from our team. You have tarnished our legacy in Test cricket and that is unforgivable.

He will be back with a bang!

This will turn into a blessing in disguise for him.

He will be back with a bang!

This will turn into a blessing in disguise for him.

I'm hearing that Rizwan is injured and Azhar has requested sarfaraz to fill in!!
Misbah in agreement but waqar not too happy!!
Could be sooner than u think!!!

I'm hearing that Rizwan is injured and Azhar has requested sarfaraz to fill in!!
Misbah in agreement but waqar not too happy!!
Could be sooner than u think!!!

Fake news. Rizwan is fine, he just has a minor bruise and should be back soon.

The way Pcb and its supportive media treat him. There should've been a lot of disappointment and bitterness. We've seen how all our great captains like Waqar, Shahid Afridi,etcc. showed dismay and bitterness once they were ousted.
But Sarfaraz is a true leader without a big ego who has this rare ability to unite diverse set of different players with huge egos and make them perform for the nation. Sarfaraz has been targeted mercilessly and lot of blame of Ehsan Mani and former chief selector Inzamam has been shifted on him and coach Arthur by PCB and supportive media.

I'm sure PCB would've still want Sarfaraz in the squad so that they can continue to shift blame of Pakistan team losses, their stupid and disastrous choices of coach and chief selector(Misbah, Waqar) onto him and former team management.

I really hope Sarfraz stays away from Misbah XI and let Ehsan Mani's Pcb finally be answerable for what they've been doing since September 2018.
There disdain and hate for coach Arthur [who has done more for supporting new talent in Pak national team than anyone] and delegation of more powers to nepotistic former chief selector Inzamam has BEEN THE REAL REASON why we've lost since Mani taking over.

The way Pcb and its supportive media treat him. There should've been a lot of disappointment and bitterness. We've seen how all our great captains like Waqar, Shahid Afridi,etcc. showed dismay and bitterness once they were ousted.
But Sarfaraz is a true leader without a big ego who has this rare ability to unite diverse set of different players with huge egos and make them perform for the nation. Sarfaraz has been targeted mercilessly and lot of blame of Ehsan Mani and former chief selector Inzamam has been shifted on him and coach Arthur by PCB and supportive media.

I'm sure PCB would've still want Sarfaraz in the squad so that they can continue to shift blame of Pakistan team losses, their stupid and disastrous choices of coach and chief selector(Misbah, Waqar) onto him and former team management.

I really hope Sarfraz stays away from Misbah XI and let Ehsan Mani's Pcb finally be answerable for what they've been doing since September 2018.
There disdain and hate for coach Arthur [who has done more for supporting new talent in Pak national team than anyone] and delegation of more powers to nepotistic former chief selector Inzamam has BEEN THE REAL REASON why we've lost since Mani taking over.

Do you understand that sarfraz is old and his batting performance and keeping is very poor? On merit Rizwan deserves to play.

Sarfraz has been failing even in domestic cricket right now.

Jesus Christ you really are a sarfraz *****. Do you understand that sarfraz is old and his batting performance and keeping is very poor? On merit Rizwan deserves to play.

Sarfraz has been failing even in domestic cricket right now.

Rofl who wants Sarfaraz to be part of Misbah XI?

Read my post again.

I actually support Rizwan to remain in Misbah XI, both deserve each other.

Sarfaraz should never return in the Waqar/Misbah setup.

Rofl Merit and PCB are 2 different things please don't use this word again where it does'nt exist, as so many Pakistani players [deserving, on merit] have been destroyed for the past 14 years [since Inzamam as captain took over in 2004] years to support this politicized mafia of Ahmed Shehzad, U. Akmal, etc...