"When it's 13-0 or 10-1, it's not a rivalry anymore": Suryakumar Yadav

Do you agree with Suryakumar Yadav when he says that the India-Pakistan rivalry is no more?

Even after winning a game of cricket, there is a constant need to seek validation on rivalry, W/L and 5-yr, 7-yr, 10-yr statistical rhetoric.

The 6-0 is really hurting in places where the sun doesn't shine as that cannot be over-turned.

Even after winning a game of cricket, there is a constant need to seek validation on rivalry, W/L and 5-yr, 7-yr, 10-yr statistical rhetoric.
I don't think delusional wishful thinking hurts anyone is real life. It might help those who deny reality and think in this day and age others are also as gullible as them and believe whatever propaganda their true masters, rolls out, but not for the rest of the world.

In the last 10 years, Pakistan's W/L record against India is 3/14.
Bangladesh has more wins against India in this period, SL has better winloss record of 11/40 against India.
Zimbabwe's against India record in the same period is 2/13... basically Pakistan has been performing close to Zim against India in the last 10 years.
Does India have a rivalry against these SL, Bangladesh or Zimbabwe??
🤷‍♂️
Tbh those wins came a lot in bilaterals when India rests main members.

Against Bang/SL hardly lose in tournaments (ICC/AC)

CT 2017, AC 2022 vs SL

And AC 2023 vs Bang is all I remember (rested players here)

As said before, SKY shouldn't have ran his mouth. Tournament is not over yet. Pakistan when cornered are a very dangerous team.

Imagine the drama if Pak beats them in the Final.
I feel it's going to be repeat of 2012 ODI asia cup..Ban may upset India today, SL lose all 3 matches, ban lose to Pak, net run rate Pak and Ban go to Final...

Aus Used to Blanket Eng in Ashes 90s and early 2000s but Australians never Downplayed Ashes Rivalry. They are not cheap like Surya
English team wasn’t as non competitive in tests as Pakistan is in t 20is currently. Surya doesn’t need to follow what aussies said or didn’t say. You guys aren’t england

Zabardasti ki rivalry banani hai.

This may ruffle a few feathers amongs my fellow indian fans, but Sorry i am not with Surya on this.

His statement is a departure from the typical indian legacy and ethos of restraint in victory and dignity in defeat which a long line from Ranji, the Amarnaths, the Pataudis, Merchant, Hazare, Umrigar, Wadekar, Sunny, vishy, venkatraghavan, Kapil and lately sachin, VVS, Rahul, Anil, Sri and most recently MSD, jadeja, Jassi, Akshar, etc have displayed. We have won with our deeds and charitra - in most avenues of life outside of cricket as well , but not in this way.

Theirs not to make such statements.
SKY's statement was borderline arrogant and he could have played it straight and commented some standard stuff. End of the day its just a stat and stats are hardly permanent.
The game is greater than the players who play it, there was a certain lack of respect in his statement and i feel Surya has transgressed this line. Not a good example to any youngster, definately not in line with someone who adorns the Blue cap with pride!

It’s one of those statements that will dog SKY throughout his career. So he better not lose.

A lot of the needle this time has been purely because of the mini- war we’ve fought recently, and not the cricket itself.

The cricket rivalry itself has faded because Pakistan have performed abysmally. I mean where is the excitement if India keeps beating Pakistan almost all the time?

However, to say it’s dead is also incorrect. To me the pleasure or anticipation of an India -Pak game hasn’t faded entirely.

It’s up there, just no longer at the top of my preferred cricket viewing.

In the last 10 years, Pakistan's W/L record against India is 3/14.
Bangladesh has more wins against India in this period, SL has better winloss record of 11/40 against India.
Zimbabwe's against India record in the same period is 2/13... basically Pakistan has been performing close to Zim against India in the last 10 years.
Does India have a rivalry against these SL, Bangladesh or Zimbabwe??
🤷‍♂️
So if pak wins the final it will wipe the fact that indi wins against Pakistan more times than then not. That players and fans in India probably don’t rste this as a rivalry and are more involved in the bgt and Pakistanis are trying to forcibly kkepthis as a rivalry alive because if world cricket accepts that indi pakistan rivalry is over pakistans significance in world cricket goes down

There won’t be a indo pak encounter in icc tournaments and Pakistan will have little importance in icc.

So Pakistan cricket needs this rivalry to stay relevant.

The 6-0 is really hurting in places where the sun doesn't shine as that cannot be over-turned.

Yup, Pak leads the real rivalry.

I think this comment is good for the health of Pakistan cricket. It is the belt treatment needed to Pak cricket to wake it up. Pakistan fans should be thankful to Surya for burning the fire inside Pak team

Cricketing gods hate arrogance won't be surprised if Pakistan beat India on Sunday then SKY would look like the dumb peasant he is who somehow ended up as captain of India.

Well Shoaib Malik says
Sky is a very very nice guy

His words on telly

He is saying this was planned by someone above in management. They just made sky the messenger.

And apparently they are friends outside cricket.

Cricketing gods hate arrogance won't be surprised if Pakistan beat India on Sunday then SKY would look like the dumb peasant he is who somehow ended up as captain of India.
Even if they win though India has 8 titles to 2 for Pakistan.

But yea. If Pakistan win then good on them. Will be hard though as India seem to be in form.

Imagine an Australian captain saying there's no rivalry between Australia and India, just like Sky said about India-Pakistan. The whole PP would go crazy. Currently India - Pakistan rivalry craze is all time low or almost dead because Pakistan has becomes Minnows and won't beat India 9 out of 10 times .

:klopp :kp

Well Shoaib Malik says
Sky is a very very nice guy

His words on telly

He is saying this was planned by someone above in management. They just made sky the messenger.

And apparently they are friends outside cricket.
Just watched this. Malik seems convinced it's the government.

Or it could just be an ex-player who's been trolling everyone into believing he is worthy of being the Indian coach. :dhoni

Yeh kuch nahi hai. We are 17-1 against Bangladesh and they think IND-BD is a great rivalry.

They even quote some random Under -19 win against India as proof of their so called talent. :inti

They may or may not beat India in finals. However, you are sill to reach the finals, right? Remember Bangladesh is no pushover

India is arrogant, but they can assume their team to be already playing the finals without even officially reaching there, and that is not arrogance.​

Lol, true.

Even though I don't like our arrogance one bit, however we have results to show for it.

India has no rivalry with any of these teams.

We should not waste our time playing minnows. Let them play against each other
Asia Cup in cricket is falling to the level of Asia Cup of hockey, A Tier 2 tournament.
This has been literally the most boring and mediocre quality of cricket. The only saving grace in cricket is that there are only 3-4 good teams outside Asia, while hockey has about 10 better teams.

Imagine an Australian captain saying there's no rivalry between Australia and India, just like Sky said about India-Pakistan. The whole PP would go crazy. Currently India - Pakistan rivalry craze is all time low or almost dead because Pakistan has becomes Minnows and won't beat India 9 out of 10 times .

Of course half of PP would explode with joy if an Aussie captain said this ,

But here's the thing: we Indians would go crazy too if before (for example) an ODI WC final an Aussie captain said this!

Can you imagine the r rona, the "How can he slap" reactions from our side?

Which is the reason these things are best implied, if you want to send that message, not said straight up.

Of course half of PP would explode with joy if an Aussie captain said this ,

But here's the thing: we Indians would go crazy too if before (for example) an ODI WC final an Aussie captain said this!

Can you imagine the r rona, the "How can he slap" reactions from our side?

Which is the reason these things are best implied, if you want to send that message, not said straight up.
Except for the fact that Aus do not have the one sided record against India in the last 10-15 years that India has against Pakistan in all formats.

Was just checking .... Pakistan seems to have sacrificed their qualification for the World Cup 2026 in Hockey completely by boycotting Asia Cup in Hockey this month. Now that's taking a firm Stand.
👏
:salute

Wait and watch buddy.

Sky will be sobbing in his bed Sunday night.
Well. Lots of prayers have gone into this.
Chalo, let's see if this comes true and PAK fans aren't the ones crying by the end of the night , let alone Sunday night :inti

Yes sky who has 85% win record as captain of the greatest t20 team in world, will look like a peasant.. sure.
The fantasies of these guys :dw

Surya is right, his statement shouldn't be taken as arrogance. There is no rivalry when one team is losing back to back 8-9 matches.

Except for the fact that Aus do not have the one sided record against India in the last 10-15 years that India has against Pakistan in all formats.

In the WC ODI finals (not group stage or semifinal, I mean the final game to win it all) they do. 2-0 (2003 Johannesburg, 2023 Ahemadabad)

You may call it a small sample size but at that stage (world final) I’d argue it’s significant.

This may ruffle a few feathers amongs my fellow indian fans, but Sorry i am not with Surya on this.

His statement is a departure from the typical indian legacy and ethos of restraint in victory and dignity in defeat which a long line from Ranji, the Amarnaths, the Pataudis, Merchant, Hazare, Umrigar, Wadekar, Sunny, vishy, venkatraghavan, Kapil and lately sachin, VVS, Rahul, Anil, Sri and most recently MSD, jadeja, Jassi, Akshar, etc have displayed. We have won with our deeds and charitra - in most avenues of life outside of cricket as well , but not in this way.

Theirs not to make such statements.
SKY's statement was borderline arrogant and he could have played it straight and commented some standard stuff. End of the day its just a stat and stats are hardly permanent.
The game is greater than the players who play it, there was a certain lack of respect in his statement and i feel Surya has transgressed this line. Not a good example to any youngster, definately not in line with someone who adorns the Blue cap with pride!
The ones you mentioned have long retired and sohave their ways.
The country is greater than the game.

Sky did nothing wrong a

Respect what respect when Pakistanis called indians small hearted and

I hope the next gen of Indian players learn that too much humbleness is cowardice. Sky wears his nationalism on his sleeves

India has moved on to a higher level where they call Aussies, NZ and to an extent England as their Rivals in cricket..These Pakistanis where as have degraded themselves almost to the level of minnows, however wanted India to call them a Rival just for the political reasons.. First grow yourselves to be a top team, not only just winning Asia cup, but be a consistent team across all formats, beat us in ICC trophies, win world cups and then renew the rivalry .For now, sorry you are not worth it..

If there’s mo indo pak rivalry pakistans cricketing relevance is little

If Indians stop watching indo pak icc matches icc will have no requirement of Pakistan team

This overall record means nothing because india and Pakistan test series will not happen in the foreseeable future
Yes, test record would remain stagnant for the near forseeable future. ODI's and t20's - if the standards remain the same, india should overtake in the overall H2h stakes....

on the flip side one just wonders that in the past we were surely the easy beats of the cricketing world and Pak were defo a few notches above.

In the WC ODI finals (not group stage or semifinal, I mean the final game to win it all) they do. 2-0 (2002 Johannesburg, 2023 Ahemadabad)

You may call it a small sample size but at that stage I’d argue it’s significant.

In the WC ODI finals (not group stage or semifinal, I mean the final game to win it all) they do. 2-0 (2002 Johannesburg, 2023 Ahemadabad)

You may call it a small sample size but at that stage I’d argue it’s significant.
I mean losing a KO also means you go out and India did kick out Aus in 2011 QF, 2007 T20 WC SF and CT 2025 SF before going on to win it all.

And using that logic Pak has never beaten India in its history in a WC KO (ODI or T20) so that means it has always been "one-sided" using your logic? And India went on to win two of those WCs.

Yes, test record would remain stagnant for the near forseeable future. ODI's and t20's - if the standards remain the same, india should overtake in the overall H2h stakes....

on the flip side one just wonders that in the past we were surely the easy beats of the cricketing world and Pak were defo a few notches above.
Naah, the gap was never this big. India were never this bad and Pak never this good.

It would be so disappointing for Pak to lose this after getting so much outside help from the umpires, schedule etc :dw

As a player from cricketing sense maybe SKY is right, no one here would understand that because mostly everyone on PP is a nerd who hasn’t touched grass for ages and certainly never played international sports.

But as a fan, India vs Pakistan will always be a big rivalry in cricket till the political tensions go on.

It’s actually bigger than ashes and any other sporting event when both teams are similar levels.

Currently it might not be the biggest rivalry in sports but it’s certainly a rivalry which keeps the sport afloat.

As a player from cricketing sense maybe SKY is right, no one here would understand that because mostly everyone on PP is a nerd who hasn’t touched grass for ages and certainly never played international sports.

But as a fan, India vs Pakistan will always be a big rivalry in cricket till the political tensions go on.

It’s actually bigger than ashes and any other sporting event when both teams are similar levels.

Currently it might not be the biggest rivalry in sports but it’s certainly a rivalry which keeps the sport afloat.
Again the tired old statement about India-Pakistan cricket keeping the game of cricket afloat.
India-Pakistan match viewership is no longer the ultra prime that used to bring traffic to stand still in the two countries. Viewership numbers are now comparable to any other big game for India. The extra advertising premium is just about 20-30% for India-Pak games and has been declining. Despite lack of number of games.

There was a rivalry because sunil gavaskar was facing Imran khan or srt was facing the 2Ws. There is no rivalry when Abhishek sharma is bashig afridi and rauf

Not just facing but also winning quite a few big ticket matches and trophies (1985 B&H, Asia cups, 4 worldcup matches including a QF knockout and drawing a 4 test series in their backyard).

There’s no rivalry between because you were scared to play us for years. No amount of recency bias can change that.

If you genuinely believe the reason india didn't play Pakistan was because they were scared, there is no point in discussing cricket or anything with you.

You don't understand anything about anything. Even a kid in india and pakistan knows why the two nations didn't and don't play bilateral.

If you genuinely believe the reason india didn't play Pakistan was because they were scared, there is no point in discussing cricket or anything with you.

You don't understand anything about anything. Even a kid in india and pakistan knows why the two nations didn't and don't play bilateral.
Okay whatever the reason (not that anyone cares), you didn’t play for years.

In that time Pakistan has gone through a few cycles and have gradually worsened as a team. When Misbah was around and we had a decent spin attack, we would’ve beaten you in bilaterals. In these one off games India clearly has the upper hand.

The ones you mentioned have long retired and sohave their ways.
The country is greater than the game.

Sky did nothing wrong a

Respect what respect when Pakistanis called indians small hearted and

I hope the next gen of Indian players learn that too much humbleness is cowardice. Sky wears his nationalism on his sleeves
Saying it's 13-0, 10-1, it's not a rivalry anymore etc. has nothing to do with nationalism, it has to do with arrogance and lack of respect for the sport.

If India loses after Surya said this, he will have egg on his face.

Saying it's 13-0, 10-1, it's not a rivalry anymore etc. has nothing to do with nationalism, it has to do with arrogance and lack of respect for the sport.

Yes and if he doesn’t perform he should be dropped.

Sky is so badly out of form and still didn't bat against Oman till the very end.

Who cricketer does that? I mean you need to bat for as much time as possible.

You can lose matches but it can be still a rivalary. I think Eng lost majority of matches in some stretch during Ashes for 10 years.

I am not saying that Ind-Pak is some high intensity rivalary but losing most of the times hardly means that rivalary can't exist.

Exactly. When Surya denigrates Pakistan he is not just insulting the game, he is ultimately insulting himself and the ICT.

This is because one’s accomplishments as a sportsperson or a team mean nothing without a rival to measure yourself against.

Who cares if you’ve run a sub 9.8 second 100 metres unless you’ve beaten someone in the past or present to do it?

What is the Indian cricket without the existence of opposition teams? I’d say, nothing.

India is an excellent side today because it is better than its rivals. The measure of that worth is your rival. So when you imply that your rival is worthless, ultimately you’re not much better.

I feel sorry for our fans living in delusions. No matter what the PCT throws at India, India does not look like losing. There is a big gap in skill and quality.