ICC Champions Trophy 2025: India announce a 15-member squad

Devadwal

Bumrah's status confirmed as India announce ICC Champions Trophy 2025 squad

Two-time winners India have named their 15-player squad for the upcoming ICC Men's Champions Trophy.

India, who won the ICC Men's Champions Trophy in 2002 and 2013, will look for a third title under the leadership of Rohit Sharma.

Star pacer Jasprit Bumrah, who missed a portion of the Sydney Test due to injury, has been included in the squad, with chief Selector Ajit Agarkar stating that the team management will keep an eye on the pacer's fitness in the lead-up to the tournament.

Keeping Bumrah's fitness in mind, Harshit Rana comes into India's squad for the England ODIs, preceding the Champions Trophy, as a cover.

Yashasvi Jaiswal joins regular names Rohit, Virat Kohli, and Shubman Gill at the top of the order, while experienced KL Rahul, Shreyas Iyer and Rishabh Pant comprise the middle order.

Hardik Pandya, whose last ODI came in the 2023 Men's Cricket World Cup, features as the sole pace-bowling all-rounder. Axar Patel, Ravindra Jadeja, and Washington Sundar are the three spin-bowling all-rounders in the squad, and left-arm tweaker Kuldeep Yadav also returns following an injury.

The pace attack will comprise of Arshdeep Singh and Mohammad Shami, alongside Bumrah and Hardik.

India squad: Rohit Sharma (c), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul, Hardik Pandya, Axar Patel, Washington Sundar, Kuldeep Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammad Shami, Arshdeep Singh, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Rishabh Pant, Ravindra Jadeja.

In the last edition of the ICC Champions Trophy, India reached the finals before losing to Pakistan.

India's Group Stage Fixtures:

20 February - India vs Bangladesh, Dubai

23 February - India vs Pakistan, Dubai

2 March - India vs New Zealand, Dubai

I think we are going with too many spinner.
Jadeja
Axar
Sundar
Kuldeep .

I would like to Play nitish Reddy instead jadeja / sundar Otherwise its expected squad .

Bumrah selection is subject to fitness so that's why they selected Harshit rana .

Finally useless Siraj is dropped . Arshdeep is way better bowler than him .

Awesome side. Bit like invincible Windies of 80s and Aussies under Ponting. There is no apparent weakness in this side, other than maybe Ravi Jadeja who I think will not make into playing XI.

Whattay team :love:

Don't know what's the logic behind jadeja as though all the washed up players have to be there.nitish should have been much more sensible. If bumrah is not there , they will get siraj.whats is the use of 3 spinners in second innings completely effected by dew.

Shashi Tharoor tweet incoming due to the exclusion of Sanju Samson and our mallu friends will spam X all day. Lets brace for impact

:dw

Don't know what's the logic behind jadeja as though all the washed up players have to be there.nitish should have been much more sensible. If bumrah is not there , they will get siraj.whats is the use of 3 spinners in second innings completely effected by dew.
No Siraj as harshit is selected for england odi series where Bumrah will be not available .

Most Likely XI?

1. Shubman Gill
2. Rohit Sharma (c)
3. Virat Kohli
4. Shreyas Iyer
5. KL Rahul (wk)
6. Hardik Pandya
7. Washington Sundar
8. Jasprit Bumrah
9. Kuldeep Yadav
10. Mohammad Shami
11. Arshdeep Singh

Would be a mistake to leave out Jaiswal and Pant.

Most Likely XI?

1. Shubman Gill
2. Rohit Sharma (c)
3. Virat Kohli
4. Shreyas Iyer
5. KL Rahul (wk)
6. Hardik Pandya
7. Washington Sundar
8. Jasprit Bumrah
9. Kuldeep Yadav
10. Mohammad Shami
11. Arshdeep Singh

Would be a mistake to leave out Jaiswal and Pant.
India is going to play three spinner and two pacer with Pandya

They missed the trick. I don't think three spinner will be much effective when dew will play major role .

6. Hardik
7 .Axar
8. Sundar
9. kuldeep
10. shami
11. Bumrah/ Arshdeep .

I still think bumrah will be not fit for champion trophy and they can change the team a week before the champion trophy .

My playing XI for 1st game against BD

Rohit
Jaiswal
Kohli
Iyer
Pant
Pandya
Sundar
Axar
Kuldeep
Shami
Bumrah
No GIll is VC so he is going to play and if you watched the press conference Than they already give us playing eleven .i watched the PC and they announced the team .
Rohit ( C)
GILL ( VC)
Kohli
Iyer
KL( wk)
Hardik
Axar
Sundar
Kuldeep
Bumrah
Shami

12. Arshdeep
13. Jaiswal
14. pant
15. Jadeja

No GIll is VC so he is going to play and if you watched the press conference Than they already give us playing eleven .i watched the PC and they announced the team .
Rohit ( C)
GILL ( VC)
Kohli
Iyer
KL( wk)
Hardik
Axar
Sundar
Kuldeep
Bumrah
Shami

12. Arshdeep
13. Jaiswal
14. pant
15. Jadeja

Arre yaar...no Kela Rahul again. Didn't we learn from WC final?

Rishab Pant should be playing over him. Also, it is criminal to keep Jaiswal on bench

Arre yaar...no Kela Rahul again. Didn't we learn from WC final?

Rishab Pant should be playing over him. Also, it is criminal to keep Jaiswal on bench
Yes but Rohit and team management has already chose the playing eleven .

Jaiswal and Pant are backup players.

Bumrah's status confirmed as India announce ICC Champions Trophy 2025 squad

Two-time winners India have named their 15-player squad for the upcoming Champions Trophy.

India, who won the Champions Trophy in 2002 and 2013, will look for a third title under the leadership of Rohit Sharma.

India squad: Rohit Sharma (c), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul, Hardik Pandya, Axar Patel, Washington Sundar, Kuldeep Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammad Shami, Arshdeep Singh, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Rishabh Pant, Ravindra Jadeja.

India's Group Stage Fixtures:

20 February - India vs Bangladesh, Dubai

23 February - India vs Pakistan, Dubai

2 March - India vs New Zealand, Dubai

ICC

Nice, Goalee & Korma gets selected...

Top work.BCCi

Awesome side. Bit like invincible Windies of 80s and Aussies under Ponting. There is no apparent weakness in this side, other than maybe Ravi Jadeja who I think will not make into playing XI.

Whattay team :love:
Invincible team of windies and aussies? 2 of your players are hasbeens? One player doesn't move his feet, one is a mental midget and one is a gully mohala player lol

India is going to play three spinner and two pacer with Pandya

They missed the trick. I don't think three spinner will be much effective when dew will play major role .

6. Hardik
7 .Axar
8. Sundar
9. kuldeep
10. shami
11. Bumrah/ Arshdeep .

I still think bumrah will be not fit for champion trophy and they can change the team a week before the champion trophy .
Yeah this seems more likely. Not sure if its the smartest decision because of the dew factor.

Rahul should play ahead of pant.

Kohli will be important on those dubai pitches.
Alot depends on shami too.

Both had great 2023 WC. You are mixing formats
It's not about formats.both are washed up.rohit at max can bully in pp and score 50/60.kohli will struggle against spin to rotate the strike.eng for a change have solid bowling lineup .eng series will be a good pointer.

Such a conservative robotic squad. :uak

Bumrah, Shami and Kuldeep are all either half fit or devoid of match practise at the moment. Hopefully, the England series gives us a better picture.

And lol at Fraudman Gill being the VC.

Such a conservative robotic squad. :uak

Bumrah, Shami and Kuldeep are all either half fit or devoid of match practise at the moment. Hopefully, the England series gives us a better picture.

And lol at Fraudman Gill being the VC.
That was the dumbest decision i ever saw.they made him vc and his performance is quite down the hill since few years.he never performed outside and struggling to keep his place in test matches . hopefully lost his place in t20s to samson.dont know the obsession with him.quite a robotic squad and rohits imprint on all over it.just like 5 spinners to t20 wc now carrying 4 spinners to land of dew

So this KL Rahul walks back into the ODI set up because he played well in a couple of Tests? ONce again PR strikes. This is beyond ridiculous. Why are they selecting Jadeja again and again

That was the dumbest decision i ever saw.they made him vc and his performance is quite down the hill since few years.he never performed outside and struggling to keep his place in test matches . hopefully lost his place in t20s to samson.dont know the obsession with him.quite a robotic squad and rohits imprint on all over it.just like 5 spinners to t20 wc now carrying 4 spinners to land of dew

Indian cricket runs fully on PR now. As soon as Gill played that 90 odd knock at the Gabba in 2021 , we all knew that BCCI have found a potential marketing agent otherwise called as the "Captain of Indian cricket team".

His IPL 2023 success on flat highways was the final nail to the wall. Gill will be the all format captain for us post the 2026 T20 WC.

Indian cricket runs fully on PR now. As soon as Gill played that 90 odd knock at the Gabba in 2021 , we all knew that BCCI have found a potential marketing agent otherwise called as the "Captain of Indian cricket team".

His IPL 2023 success on flat highways was the final nail to the wall. Gill will be the all format captain for us post the 2026 T20 WC.
Check gill odi stats. Gill is not a problem in ODI.

Gill in ODI Cricket

47 match,2328 runs ,58 average, Strike rate - 101 , century - 6 .

He is rightly deserved to be VC .

Because he is captain material from the under -19 cricket.

Lol no he wasn't. Looks like you're confused. Shaw was the captain when we won the 2018 U19 WC.

Only occasions where Gill captained (GT in the IPL and the Zimbabwe T20s last year) , he has failed with flying colours. He is not leadership material at all.

Lol no he wasn't. Looks like you're confused. Shaw was the captain when we won the 2018 U19 WC.

Only occasions where Gill captained (GT in the IPL and the Zimbabwe T20s last year) , he has failed with flying colours. He is not leadership material at all.
Gill was VC . Gill is captain material and he has earned his place .

I don't know why people hage problem with him .

Rohit, Kohli,Kela ,Jadeja - These are useless player not Gill .

Btw who you chose the VC if not Gill ? Any suggestions

Gill was VC . Gill is captain material and he has earned his place .

I don't know why people hage problem with him .

Rohit, Kohli,Kela ,Jadeja - These are useless player not Gill .

Btw who you chose the VC if not Gill ? Any suggestions

Yes Rohit Kohli etc are useless but that doesn't mean that we have to turn a blind eye to the clear favouritism that is being shown to Gill by the higher ups in Indian cricket.

Guys like Pandya , Pant or even Iyer have better credentials to be the next captain but we all know who it will be.

Don't even get me started on how Jaiswal is yet to make his ODI debut when everyone and their dog knows that would be his best format and he'll eventually outshine Gill there as well like he has done in Tests and T20s.

Yes Rohit Kohli etc are useless but that doesn't mean that we have to turn a blind eye to the clear favouritism that is being shown to Gill by the higher ups in Indian cricket.

Guys like Pandya , Pant or even Iyer have better credentials to be the next captain but we all know who it will be.

Don't even get me started on how Jaiswal is yet to make his ODI debut when everyone and their dog knows that would be his best format and he'll eventually outshine Gill there as well like he has done in Tests and T20s.
Pant is not even parmenent in limited over cricket so forget about captaincy .

Pandya is choosing the series at own .jab man ho khela ni to nhi khela. Test cricket to khelna **** hi diya hai.

Do you even know when was the Pandya Play the last ODI?

Jaiswal will get chance but not in the place for gill but Rohit, virat etc .

Sunil Gavaskar, while speaking on a local sports channel:

“Very tough because the man has been scoring hundreds and hundreds of runs. There is no excuse to leave him out. But he was pitted against Rishabh Pant, who we all know can be a game-changer. Plus Pant is a left-hander and he is probably the better wicketkeeper, although he might not be the better batter than Samson.”

“Pant can change the game perhaps a little more than Samson and that’s reason why Samson missed out. But Samson must not feel dejected because all Indian cricket lovers will have sympathy for him for what he has achieved.”

Ha KL ko bana de fir ? Kya bolte ho

images

God save us.
Gill in ODI Cricket

47 match,2328 runs ,58 average, Strike rate - 101 , century - 6

Please God give us More This types of players rathen than mental midget like Kela.

GILL IS FUTURE CAPTAIN OF INDIA ( ODI ) .

As soon as his haters accept this reality its better for them .

I don't mind pant getting selected ahead of Sanju due to x factor.. but what factor has Rahul had..?

Yeah i too got the same feeling.but his stocks have already fallen quite a bit due to test performance. He will be one more rohit kind of obstruction to the test team.Even in t20s he doesn't have power game like samson, Jaiswal, In one more year, any other new aggressive t20 opener option will make him silly in t20s too.

They need star players to pull crowd. When it doesn't organically happen like it happened with MSD and Kohli they create one. Gill is the new poster boy. Rohit didn't depend on BCCI. He has his own army of PR. In every series we see 4 or 5 undeserving candidates taking part. India just has to wait until these two disappear.

They will make fool of themselves by betting on wrong horse.gill don't have the technique and he is degressing all the time.

Why mental midget klrahul?? Why jadeja?? Rohit?? 4 leeches. Only when they are dropped will Ind team prosper. A repeat of 23 WC final. 4 washed up seniors. Hope they are hammered by Pak. Only way these 4 leeches will be dropped. Or else they will milk a win against Pak till 27 WC.. gosh i shudder to think!

According to reports "Rohit Sharma and Agarkar wanted Shubman Gill as VC and Rishabh Pant in place of Sanju Samson, while Gautam Gambhir wanted Hardik Pandya as VC and Sanju in place of Pant".

So this is why 2 hrs. delayed

If you look at the order of the announcement, it seems like BCCI accidentally leaked their playing 11 :sachin

Can pakistan take the apportunity and win the match knowing the playing eleven a month ago?

Surely pakistan is favourite against india .

Yograj Singh while speaking to local media outlet:

"I really want to congratulate BCCI and selectors who supported the team... I have always said that Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli should not be dropped, if you drop them then your team will fall apart... We may have lost in Australia but we should not forget that we have beaten them in two matches... I was worried that 5-6 people should not be dropped, Shubman or Virat should not be dropped, so I was supporting them... I think this is the best thing that has happened, I want to congratulate the board and think tank, selectors, I appreciate these people."

Gill is rated very highly by even the likes of Morgan for having a very good cricketing mind.

In this format at least, his numbers justify his appointment as VC

Irfan has never been a good analyst but him thinking that Siraj isn't selected in an ICC event due to workload management takes the biscuit.
Then why is he dropped?
1. Highest ranked Indian ODI bowler.
2. Average or 24 in ODIs.

What is really really strange is that Indian Management has indicated that Harshit Rana is being considered as backup to Bumrah.

seems to be odd and fishy.

Then why is he dropped?
1. Highest ranked Indian ODI bowler.
2. Average or 24 in ODIs.

What is really really strange is that Indian Management has indicated that Harshit Rana is being considered as backup to Bumrah.

seems to be odd and fishy.
I don't think it's too fishy. He was clattered around against Sri Lanka in their most recent ODI series ( very small sample size).

Recent events have also shown that Indian selectors aren't too different from Pakistanis. They have probably did what we used to do and removed him from ODI based on test form.

I don't think it's too fishy. He was clattered around against Sri Lanka in their most recent ODI series ( very small sample size).

Recent events have also shown that Indian selectors aren't too different from Pakistanis. They have probably did what we used to do and removed him from ODI based on test form.
Hold on. Siraj was the 2nd best Indian bowler in Aus.
You’re telling me they dropped Siraj because of SL ODI series?