ICC CT 2017, Group B | Sri Lanka [322/3] beat India [321/6] by seven wickets

I think speedguns are padded a bit for this tournament by about 3-4 kph. For all the bowlers. But Bhuvi has definitely upped his pace from what it used to be. And is a much more effective bowler for it.

Then how come Yadav's speed is not going up?

People speculating about Dhoni caste?? He is a Rajput. And yes people, police, media all hate rajputs in India. Strange, highly unexpected but yes this is what I experienced during my stay and from my relatives. People call them if they get into fight but other than that not much.

That's some drivel for the first post. :14:

Earlier one less effective arunkumar from tn.now, kumble taking care of this too. They, kohli and kumble, have been asking for a bowling coach, per recent reports.

Okay, so Kohli and UV failed and others stepped up to post a 300+ total. I hope bowlers continue their good form and restrict SL.

Any chances of rain?

Shades of old Umesh. Lets see how he copes before we face SA/ ENG/ AUS.

If he's really improved should figure a way out to bounce back and dismiss Guna here.

Loving the challenge lankans are providing otherwise Pakistan had our bowling complacent for tougher matches. :ashwin

Adjusting the line to left-right combo is something our bowlers are still are not good at. Frequently sliding on the pads.

We have 4 pacers, they should restrict or pick wickets. This is the way forward, if they fail we need to blood in Shami for the non performing pacer, 1 spinner is more than enough for away matches unless the pitches are really brown/ if it's sunny.

Need a wicket, bhuvi was unlucky to not get another wicket.. Let's hope Pandya or Burmah can get one quick

Nothing in the pitch. Opener's tuk tuk may have cost us the match here.

Anyways, we have to learn to stop the batsman's charge with pacers, sooner or later.

India under the pump for the first time in the tournament. Sri Lanka needs to make 160-1/2 in 30 overs and take it on from there.

Umesh is one bowler who worries me on this pitch. Anything batsmen connect just flies to the boundary.

Well first post does not mean that I m immature or inexperienced. May be I am older to most of you.
I truly want to know this from India guys why that is the case that everybody hates rajputs in India. Or am I wrong?
Growing up, We thought that Rajput would be very revered in Indian society, same as Pashtuns in Pakistan. But I came India after 25 years for performing Ramadan for first time with my extended family and they said because they have less votes so nobody cares for them and because they dominated India historically so people take revenge. I almost felt sorry for them. (Quiet similar experience with Pakhtun guys in Pakistan)

Why do you thought anyone would revere any particular community? People like you who have a mindset based on caste system need to evolve your mindset.. You should not care if a person is a rajput or Dalit or Muslim or Christian if that person deserves respect give him respect if he does stupid things and don't deserve respect then don't..

Politicians use caste driven politics and people like you fall trap for them, promise gujjar obc quota you get all gujjar vote, promise jat quota get jat votes why do they don't give quota to the poor who actually deserve it instead of giving it on basis of caste? Coz poor never unite under the banner of being poor..

Anyways this is not the topic to discuss all this and your posts about rajput being discriminated inhavent personally met anyone discriminating on basis of caste, people discriminate on basis of social status where I live so a poor person regardless of his caste would be discriminated against by a rich person..

Sl are really using all their luck here, edges going to boundaries, balls hit in the air falling short of fielders. 1 wicket will bring many here.

Pandaya's variations and control in the last few matches has been very impressive.

Sri Lanka doing this pretty sensibly so far

Aim for short targets and don't get too bogged down by the target - just go out there and bat as if you were setting a target.

70-80 within the first 15 overs
110-120 by the 20th over
160 by the 30th

Keep wickets in hand

160 in 20 overs if you have 8 or even possibly 7 wickets in hand is very possible in todays day and age.

It all works in theory - let's see if Sri Lanka can do it on the pitch!

Pandya bowling like a boss. A maiden with two near catches.

SL are fighting somehow ..Are the bats to follow any good ?

Decent start by SL. Think some people were getting carried away by India's bowling attack. Have not looked like taking a wicket here.

Well I am a Muslim, not a Rajput. But this was a cultural shock. Reading Desi newspapers, following their intellectuals, we have this prevalent notion that Dalits in India and Mohajir in Pakistan are oppresed by Rajputs and Pakhtuns (Punjabi too) respectively. But things were so different both places.
I heard a lot about atrocities on muslims in India and thought that Rajputs being most dominant must be at forefront doing this. But my uncle said are " barkhurdar kahan padhai kie ho? Unki bhi buri halat hai"

This partnership has been very impressive - at a run a ball. Both batsmen look settled. If they can carry this on until 160-1, 30th over, then we have a game. SL middle order is still brittle.

Need wickets else we might end up losing this..

The required rate is already above 7, the only way we'll lose this is if it rains and lanka is somehow above the dl score, there is no chance of a lankan win if we get a full match

Decent start by SL. Think some people were getting carried away by India's bowling attack. Have not looked like taking a wicket here.

Are you watching the match or following it on CricInfo? Lots of close chances SL have been lucky.. There was some good batting also and poor bowling in between not denying that..

The required rate is already above 7, the only way we'll lose this is if it rains and lanka is somehow above the dl score, there is no chance of a lankan win if we get a full match

The pitch is very flattish andnyou never know what happens in cricket.. We need a wicket or two to be sure of a win..

Imagine if India had an opener like this. We would be scoring 350+ every game.

Dhawan and Rohit's tuk tuk on 350+ pitches will hurt us a lot of times.

I told you guys the Lankan batting is no push-over.

Have to say lankans are playing out of their skin here. Absolute road of a pitch though.