ICC T20 World Cup 2026: Pakistan vs Netherlands | Match 1 | Group A | Colombo | February 7 | Pre-Match Discussion

BouncerGuy

The World Cup begins with Pakistan facing the Netherlands in Colombo. Pakistan comes into this clash riding high on confidence after their impressive recent victory against Australia, a result that reminded everyone of their firepower in the shortest format. The Dutch, meanwhile, will be eager to make a statement and show they can challenge the heavyweights.

Key talking points:
  • Can Pakistan carry the momentum from their Australia win into the tournament opener?
  • Will the Netherlands spring an upset and shake up Group A early?
  • Which players are you backing as match‑winners today?

Na pakistan will most likely go through naqvi won't let pakistan out with the world class spin attack icc can't afford pakistan to be out in first round because of rain i checked the weather Netherlands game might be short but we will get a match.
Is Naqvi clear the weather forecast or he clean the wet outfield ( in case of Rain) within a minute :klopp :kp

From the last I remember them in 2023 wc,they were a handful.

Exactly the types of team pak take for granted at their own peril.
We are not a good enough team to take anyone for granted.

The wounds from the 2024 tournament are still fresh, the players will want to better that performance for certain.

Netherlands are always a dangerous side who can often spring an upset, but the way Pakistan have been thrashing Australia, I wouldn't think a Netherlands upset will be from this match.

We are not a good enough team to take anyone for granted.

The wounds from the 2024 tournament are still fresh, the players will want to better that performance for certain.
Are you sure, beating Aus 3-0 is the exact momentum pak needs to get the jazba get to their head.

If I remember correctly, before champions trophy, pak won a odi series in Aus.

We know the outcome of that

We cannot control the weather. We can only control what we can control.

FTR, this is the weather forecast at the moment:

1770198182825.png

well i have a bad feeling about this world cup then...USA could be a surprise and even losing one match with rain we will be in trouble
If we don't boycott we can have two points from Netherlands and India game. With no effect to our NRR, which would be a positive as India would have mauled us otherwise.

well i have a bad feeling about this world cup then...USA could be a surprise and even losing one match with rain we will be in trouble
If we don't boycott we can have two points from Netherlands and India game. With no effect to our NRR, which would be a positive as India would have mauled us otherwise.

USA declined. Not the same spirited team and quality team from 2024.

Also, their best batter recently got banned due to fixing-related incident (Aaron Jones).

The most hilarious thing is, Pakistan didn't need to do this boycott rubbish as 15th February is the worst forecast for the whole month :misbah
Now I really hope Pakistani doens't takes a u turn and play the match. I don't want us to share a point because of the rain. :klopp :kp

Maybe the Government of Pakistan knew this was coming, and that tweet can now be taken literally to mean there is actually no need to take to the field :steyn

It will be beautiful to watch Pakistan poster's meltdown if Pakistan match washout and eliminate from the tournament 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤡🤡🤡 :klopp :kp

devyaani it won't bother us. we are only playing this tournament because of ICC commitments otherwise we don't give a **** about this tournament as long as we don't play India its all good.

hai himmatto boycott pakistan? i guess no after playing asiacup like shamless people

devyaani it won't bother us. we are only playing this tournament because of ICC commitments otherwise we don't give a **** about this tournament as long as we don't play India its all good.

unlikne india after india jaawann are humilted pee'd on and treated like animals India still running to play cricket with Pakistan

hai himmatto boycott pakistan? i guess no after playing asiacup like shamless people
Emnadu, read the whole thread , Pakistani poster's already talking about it. no one takes you seriously 🤣🤣🤣 :klopp :kp

Maza aa jayega Kasam se agar Pakistan knockout ho gya group stages se boycott ke bad. 🤣🤣🤣 :klopp :kp

Lol washout wouldn't even matter. Don't think it's at a caring point when we are giving away points by not even playing against a particular team.

We have committed not to play India, and that's all that matter :)

Nope, according to ICC rules a forfeited match counts towards NRR, so Pakistans score will count as 0 runs in 20 overs from india hane, for NRR calculations.

That's worse than any mauling you would have got from India.

Lol washout wouldn't even matter. Don't think it's at a caring point when we are giving away points by not even playing against a particular team.

We have committed not to play India, and that's all that matter :)
Another Delusion Pakistan spotted. All the same.

Pakistan are running Away because they don't have " Aaukat" to defeat India.

:klopp :kp

Nope, according to ICC rules a forfeited match counts towards NRR, so Pakistans score will count as 0 runs in 20 overs from india hane, for NRR calculations.

That's worse than any mauling you would have got from India.
Learn to read.

If Pakistan don’t boycott.

How old are you?

Emnadu, read the whole thread , Pakistani poster's already talking about it. no one takes you seriously 🤣🤣🤣 :klopp :kp
there is a reason why the PCB and GOP has not boycotted the whole tournament
and on the India match otherwise pakistan were going to boycott the whole tournament.

devyaani you illegimate child of Pakistan. there is a reason why the PCB and GOP has not boycotted the whole tournament
and on the India match otherwise pakistan were going to boycott the whole tournament.
What happens if Pakistan meets India again in knock out stage or finals? Will they boycott that game as well or its just for 15th Feb?

Learn to read.

If Pakistan don’t boycott.

How old are you?
I thought you were comparing two scenarios

1) One if, Pakistan does not boycott and gets mauled by india which affects their run rate. One game gets rain affected and one pakistan wins

2) if Pakistan boycotts, then they win 1 game and 1 gets rained off.

There NRR in second will be much worse than the first.

What happens if Pakistan meets India again in knock out stage or finals? Will they boycott that game as well or its just for 15th Feb?

YES WE WILL

It’s time to stop repeatedly urging Pakistan to play India. The strategy of threats, boycotts, and penalties has proven ineffective.

koi sharaam karo apne liye to nahi at least for the pahalgam victims

why you keep begging to play pakistan?

Bhai hamne nai khelna ap q ro rhy ho

Gully cricket mn hta hai aisa. Aik team keh rji mene nai khelna dsry roi ja rhy k khelo
Point kr ke hasne, aur mazak udane ko rona nahi bolte bhai.

Kitna jhoot bologe tum log?

Jhoot bolne ki itni kyu adat hai tum logo ki, har jagah?

YES WE WILL

It’s time to stop repeatedly urging Pakistan to play India. The strategy of threats, boycotts, and penalties has proven ineffective.

koi sharaam karo apne liye to nahi at least for the pahalgam victims

why you keep begging to play pakistan?
No one urged Pakistan to play india.

STOP LYING!

You are fooling no one including yourself

Just STOP LYING.

Or are you physically incapable of not lying?

Bhai hamne nai khelna ap q ro rhy ho

Gully cricket mn hta hai aisa. Aik team keh rji mene nai khelna dsry roi ja rhy k khelo
We are literally laughing and enjoying the Pakistani meltdown , it will be more enjoyable if Pakistan knockout after a game washout :klopp :kp

Point kr ke hasne, aur mazak udane ko rona nahi bolte bhai.

Kitna jhoot bologe tum log?

Jhoot bolne ki itni kyu adat hai tum logo ki, har jagah?
Says the person who's pm is modi. 😂😂
Lahore port par qabza krke hans rhy thay ap log. I dont really get this, why you guys are so immature to see for yourself and judge. If you cant do that then you have your own self to question? Ask yourself. Why jawans blood is forgotten in icc tournaments but rmr in bilaterals? Ask why other sports teams from ind visited but to please this narrative driver people no crick team was sent to pak?
Ask yourself was there a need to not shake hands at the end of the game? Ask yourself when you were the one to ask for hybrid then how can you be against it when other teams does same? If you cant, then sorry i cant debate with you. Have some morals and question yourself and your govt for once. Stop following goswamis and modis.
We are happy to be banned to be secluded to not play this sport if it comes to it, but no we wont bow to your pathetic people running the show. This fake nationality and pride can come back when you have guts to ask this question.
Apko pehle pehlagam ka topi drama becha gya phir sindoor ka. If your most militarised area is so penetrable then sorry your forces are incapable of any sindoor windoor. Its either of the two.

Its not Like that If Pakistan Forfeits their NRR will be calculated as 0 runns from 20 Overs for that match. It will be huge it to NRR

No one urged Pakistan to play india.

STOP LYING!

You are fooling no one including yourself

Just STOP LYING.

Or are you physically incapable of not lying?

People like you keep coming here trying to use scare tactics, claiming the ICC will do this or that.
All it really shows is desperation and an obsession with playing Pakistan.

nothing about lying how many times have you or your fellow Indians have posted on the topic? it bothers you it hurts you and your upset that Pakistan isn't playing with you that's why you keep posting on it.

if it didn't bother you you wouldn't have posted on the topic

Haha this gonna be funny if it gets washed out . Seems Pakistan is destined to be out in first round hence the boycott happened too

People worried about “eyeballs” shouldn’t worry anymore. Looks like we will have a blockbuster following of the Netherlands match :srini Rashid Latif Bhai can calculate how many $ Ambani will make my the minute 😛.

Sri Lanka is one of the worst places on earth to play cricket. Pakistan Women were on the cusp of a famous upset victory against England in the World Cup when rain washed out that game. It doesn't even matter if its monsoon season or not monsoon season. Would be a real shame for the fans if we get eliminated because of washouts.

There is hope I guess. Zimbabwe v Oman going on right now, and forecast is for thunderstorms at this very moment. Looks okay for now.