ICC World Cup 2023: India (326/5) continue their domination with a staggering 243-run win over South Africa (83)

Why was coetzee dropped. Seeing how rabada played, he may have done ok. Won't make any difference in the outcome but atleast thr score would be 290 300 ish.

India is not invinicible. They adapt better. They don't play the exact same way on all the pitches. They change accordingly. Today Iyer and Kohli partnership was a case in point. They did not lose their heads when the scoring rate dropped. They bid their time. Saw off Maharaj.
+1

Kohli and Iyer batted really well.

SA don't worry you will get a shot at redemption, it's all mental now the Proteas should call all the psychologists in the world because it will be SA v Aus in SF and if they proceed then India again, huge 2 weeks in SA sporting history this could be their silver lining

This SA isn't winning against Afghan for sure if Afghan bat first.

Chalo ji one sure contestant for 4th spot.... NRR stress, dua for rain out SL NZ game, hope for SL beating NZ, Pak win big margin against Eng, Afghan not winning against Aussies etc etc. Tension and Qudrat ka nizaam list keeps getting bigger for Pakistan, classic Pakistan :uak

When you got such power like Miller has why do you need to play such pathetic shot? Dude left armer coming into you, just smash it up and over.
Playing for ipl contracts according to raza. Yet to get a contract you need to do well lol. Why would an ipl team buy you if you are crap. They don't throw crores on crap.

So it seems like South Africa in this tournament have been playing in the style of what one would except England to play. If the pitch is flat, outscore the opponent.

While England on the other hand looked all out of sorts.

And India is the invincible team. The team to beat in this World Cup and they should reach the Final.
I remember the Patriots 2007 nfl season. They were unbeatable through the season. Their dynasty was no match for the rest of the league.

Their opposition in the superbowl was a scratchy Giants team which was good but had basically clawed their way to the Superbowl.

There were two crucial plays that the Giants made late in the game and pulled out the game in the last seconds. It was an incredible win against a juggernaut. Any team can lose when it's not their day

If only the umpire would have given that out in Pak v SA game
We will reach semi's dw.

Sri lanka vs nz is washed out trust. The weather is even worse for that match at night and unlike Pakistan vs nz which was day to night

This match is day night, meaning max a 20 over spell batting first and then wash out

Problem is when we reach semi's India will humiliate us 😂😂

SA totally outclassed. Good thing is they have qualified already for semis and they will finish 2or3. And play number 2 or 3 which might be Australia and SA owns Australia. So the Proteas most likely to be in the final!

Man I was expecting an interesting match now the next interesting match is sri lanka vs new zealand

Batting strong vs Bowling strong both have advantages and downsides. Batting strong is risky. You get only one chance. But bowlers can get hit for 4 and come back and nip you out

SA don't worry you will get a shot at redemption, it's all mental now the Proteas should call all the psychologists in the world because it will be SA v Aus in SF and if they proceed then India again, huge 2 weeks in SA sporting history this could be their silver lining
If SA meet Aus again in SF, then it'a all over for them. Aus will not be defeated by them twice.

At this point. It does look like South Africa would rather wanna play their Semi Final game in Mumbai than Kolkata.

India will play their Semi Final in Mumbai regardless of their position except if (if) it's a game vs Pakistan.

India should be no. 1 in the points table and South Africa cannot possibly finish at no. 4. That means the only way for South Africa to play at Mumbai is if Pakistan comes and positions itself at no. 4. Leading to possibly South Africa v Australia Semi Final in Mumbai.

Also with the ways things have panned out in this game. If (if) Pakistan qualifies for the Semis. They will be positioned at no. 4, leading to a India v Pakistan semi final in Kolkata.

You know what this reminds me of?

When Australia destroyed india in 2003 during the group game. Reminding them of why they are number 2 in that period and why Aussies are numero uno.

Same is happening here except in reverse.
Brother had to dig 20 years to find something to take a dig at. Hahahaha

Lol whenever I open Cricinto to check the score, a wicket or two have fallen. Pure dhulai here by India.

Beauty by Jadeja.

That's all Nawaz had to do to bring it out against Maharaj on the off to make him play or defend instead of bowling that terrible leg side ball when they were under pressure

India is not invinicible. They adapt better. They don't play the exact same way on all the pitches. They change accordingly. Today Iyer and Kohli partnership was a case in point. They did not lose their heads when the scoring rate dropped. They bid their time. Saw off Maharaj.
good analysis....whenever we were in trouble vs eng, nz and in first match vs aus or when BD has scored heaps against us or when Eng openers started off well chasing a high score -we improvised, innovated and met each challenge in front of the team head on

Jadeja is so very accurate. Seems like has been around forever. Just checked is 34. So looks like will be around few more years. But it’s going to be hard to replace such quality left armer. Who’s his replacement Axar ?

Thus, they are too powerful to be defeated at this point. AKA Invincible.

I remember the Patriots 2007 nfl season. They were unbeatable through the season. Their dynasty was no match for the rest of the league.

Their opposition in the superbowl was a scratchy Giants team which was good but had basically clawed their way to the Superbowl.

There were two crucial plays that the Giants made late in the game and pulled out the game in the last seconds. It was an incredible win against a juggernaut. Any team can lose when it's not their day
The Patriots were looking shaky towards the end of that season though. They barely beat the Giants and the Ravens. The pressure of staying was getting to then it seemed.

Jadeja is so very accurate. Seems like has been around forever. Just checked is 34. So looks like will be around few more years. But it’s going to be hard to replace such quality left armer. Who’s his replacement Axar ?
Jaddu was developed into good allrounder. Warne recognised his talent early on.

36 ODIs.

Very small sample.

Also, do you think SA do not have better options than Bavuma in ODI? Reeza, for example?
That’s more than 2 years of ODIs. Not a small sample. Heck 30 observations is the minimum before you break out the normal distribution rather than that drunkards t distribution.

Pitch doesn't look like a minefield. Not that abrasive but somehow there is turn.
Great loop, turn and bounce from both indian spinners.

meanwhile crowd demanding VK to be given an over or two...hitman should do this...
i feel just bowl withthe spin twins and let the quicks have a rest for some time

Beauty by Jadeja.

That's all Nawaz had to do to bring it out against Maharaj on the off to make him play or defend instead of bowling that terrible leg side ball when they were under pressure
Nawaz is a nothing spinner compared to Jadeja. He doesn't even have a good action compared to Jadeja. Won't be able to turn the ball at pace like Jadeja has done today

That's the beautiful thing about Knockouts in any sport. In league (round robin) matches. You can defeat all or most team and finish at the top of the table. But just one slip up in the Knockouts and you are out.

That's why it isn't necessary that the best league team wins the trophy at the end.

Nawaz is a nothing spinner compared to Jadeja. He doesn't even have a good action compared to Jadeja. Won't be able to turn the ball at pace like Jadeja has done today
Mahraj got 8 degree turn but lacked the pace bounce and loop of jadeja.

If India win this World Cup without being tested once, the whole tournament will go down as the biggest sham World Cup ever, even Pakistan managed to make it to 150-1 before we collapsed!

Indian domestic circuit is teeming with SLAs like locusts

Nawaz is not a bowler. 100% darter. So many Indian domestic part time left spinners are better than him.

Yeah but that's OK. He bowls slightly differently at times. Nawaz currently bowls atca level that is barely part time.
Nawaz is hopeless. We don't have any good spinner. Abrar is the only half decent one. Agha too is more of a support AR.

If India win this World Cup without being tested once, the whole tournament will go down as the biggest sham World Cup ever, even Pakistan managed to make it to 150-1 before we collapsed!
That was purely because of pressure. Otherwise Pakistan has batted well in this tournament.

It's the bowling that has let the team down.

Bet they will go out in Semis.

Yes india deserve to win based on how good they have been.

At this point. It does look like South Africa would rather wanna play their Semi Final game in Mumbai than Kolkata.

India will play their Semi Final in Mumbai regardless of their position except if (if) it's a game vs Pakistan.

India should be no. 1 in the points table and South Africa cannot possibly finish at no. 4. That means the only way for South Africa to play at Mumbai is if Pakistan comes and positions itself at no. 4. Leading to possibly South Africa v Australia Semi Final in Mumbai.

Also with the ways things have panned out in this game. If (if) Pakistan qualifies for the Semis. They will be positioned at no. 4, leading to a India v Pakistan semi final in Kolkata.
Beo after losing today sf will play on the same ground at eden gardens

Afghanistan batted way better than Pakistan against India. NZ also did well. All of you guys batted first. Teams that batted second had a lot of issues.

will you walk me through the logic here, how is Indian being tested equates to the world cup being sham or not? Your logic does not line up.

Ain't no way pitch was that difficult to bat under lights during pak vs sa match. Great use of home conditions

Well.,...he wasnt solely responsible for t20 wc's....i agree if he was'nt effectvie...but in tests he is in top 3 allrounders surely with guys like Stokes, Holder, Green etc
I remember vivdly he scored like 25 out of 40 balls in a T20 and got out. Hated him from then. But he redeemed himself later. Chad now.

If Bumrah won't get you, Siraj will.
If Siraj won't get you, Shami will.
If Shami won't get you, Kuldeep will.
If Kuldeep won't get you, Jaddu will.

This is Indian bowling attack.
Best In The world!
If Jaddu won't get you, Kohli will.

Lol just get out and go back to hotel they are plying for nothing finish it off now

In Indian conditions where pitches are widely varying in nature you have to have 5 good bowlers. Atleast 4 good bowlers. If they can bat that is a bonus. You shouldn't compromise on quality. Maharaja bowled well. But India could target others. If SA had two more better bowlers that could use this surface better India would not have scored 320 plus

Yes not comparing skills as Nawaz is below average, have never rated him much as he barely even spins. Just meant from using common sense when you need a wicket under pressure it should never be a leg side one to a tailender. He has bottled a few times

njoid FZ's innings yesterday - same time - loved the spirit pak showed when chasing 400
what a contrast from today....SAF going nowwere...Jansen is not really a num 6...