ICC World Cup 2023: Pakistan v South Africa | Match 26 | Chennai | 27 October | Pre-Match Discussion

Will Pakistan beat South Africa and keep their hopes alive in the World Cup?

Might try this:

1. Rizwan
2. Abdullah
3. Babar
4. Saud
5. Salman
6. Iftikhar
7. Shadab/Nawaz
8. Abrar
9. Hassan
10. Shaheen
11. Wasim Jr

Pakistani spin bowling is absolute embarrassment for a country that had produced so many great spinners.
The signs were there when they were smashed by NZ and Eng in their backyard but no one took a notice.
Pakistan need to develop good spinners otherwise they will fall way behind other teams.

The only option they have is to somehow bring in Abrar from reserves. There is no point playing half fit players so Fakhar should better be ruled out. Abrar is last roll of the dice which might not work
How do you think Pakistan can pull this off? Dishonesty? Unless a player is actually injured you can't call in the reserve. Fakhar and Nawaz are not ill or injured, they were dropped for terrible form.

Might try this:

1. Rizwan
2. Abdullah
3. Babar
4. Saud
5. Salman
6. Iftikhar
7. Shadab/Nawaz
8. Abrar
9. Hassan
10. Shaheen
11. Wasim Jr
Why don't you guys understand Abrar is a Reserve! He is not in the playing squad.

How do you think Pakistan can pull this off? Dishonesty? Unless a player is actually injured you can't call in the reserve. Fakhar and Nawaz are not ill or injured, they were dropped for terrible form.

Fakhar has a knee injury. He already got ruled out from previous two games. It is a recurring issue that he has been taking with him in last 1-2 years.

Our bowlers don’t look like they can take wickets at any point in the match, and thus it is impossible to win this match.

Imam
Shafique
Saud
Rizwan
Babar
Chacha
Aga
Nawaz
3 pacers

Usama and Shahdab have been terrible as spinners.

This is gonna be a beating of epic proportions. Quinton is gonna love this bowling attack of ours

History suggests that Pakistan has always been the momentum shifter as far as South Africa's World Cup campaign is concerned.

Last year in T20 World Cup, things were similar when Pakistan were brutally destroyed by Sikandar Raza's Zimbabwe while Southern Afrikaans were going strong after their dominant performance vs Zimbabwe and win vs India.

Pakistan were down and out after the loss vs minnow Zimbabwe but the momentum shifted when Shadab delivered one of the greatest all round performance in T20 history and beat SA which put SA in a must win game vs Netherlands and the latter officially got knocked out.

Can Pakistan do something like this again? Can South Africa do something like this again? Well, both teams are capable of replicating this knowing their unpredictability and history.

History suggests that Pakistan has always been the momentum shifter as far as South Africa's World Cup campaign is concerned.

Last year in T20 World Cup, things were similar when Pakistan were brutally destroyed by Sikandar Raza's Zimbabwe while Southern Afrikaans were going strong after their dominant performance vs Zimbabwe and win vs India.

Pakistan were down and out after the loss vs minnow Zimbabwe but the momentum shifted when Shadab delivered one of the greatest all round performance in T20 history and beat SA which put SA in a must win game vs Netherlands and the latter officially got knocked out.

Can Pakistan do something like this again? Can South Africa do something like this again? Well, both teams are capable of replicating this knowing their unpredictability and history.
No more amla's and nonsense rain and nonsense drs to intervene. Quinton has also escaped the wc chocking phase. And bavuma is staying out it seems for a while.

Quinton will look at this bowling and murder us. This won't be like the past times. We have nothing bowlers 😂😂.

Ironically 2023 Pakistan is worse then 2015 Pakistan WC team lol

No more amla's and nonsense rain and nonsense drs to intervene. Quinton has also escaped the wc chocking phase. And bavuma is staying out it seems for a while.

Quinton will look at this bowling and murder us. This won't be like the past times. We have nothing bowlers 😂😂.

Ironically 2023 Pakistan is worse then 2015 Pakistan WC team lol

In 205 WC also, Pakistan was the momentum shifter. South Africa were hitting 400 for fun vs Ireland and West Indies but when they were asked to chase 240 vs Pakistan, Pakistan dismantled them. They did won the quarter final vs Sri Lanka but then lost to NZ in semis.

Only way pak winning this is with Shaheen. If he goes bang bang with new ball they can cause a flutter. But problem is who will sustain it? Most surely not pak spinners. He needs someone to complement him. Pakistan is never a great strategic side like NZ. For once they should analyze weakness and target ir.

In 205 WC also, Pakistan was the momentum shifter. South Africa were hitting 400 for fun vs Ireland and West Indies but when they were asked to chase 240 vs Pakistan, Pakistan dismantled them. They did won the quarter final vs Sri Lanka but then lost to NZ in semis.

You're badly ignoring context. WC 2015 bowling isn't as toothless as 2023 wc bowling.

Wahab riaz has always been average and poor in tours but unlike Rauf, he has always been one killer bowler in world cups, especially in 2011 and 2015 where he was bullying an ATG Indian side. Those short balls and bouncers he bowls are killer. People underrate wahab because wahab was horrible in meaningless odi's. But he was 30x the bowler Rauf is.

Secondly the other bowlers aren't too bad either as people remember them. Afridi is a good bowler and although he didn't take wickets in that game he was economical. Sohail khan took a 5 wicket haul against India in the 2015 game so he wasn't that bad either and neither was rahat Ali. People exaggerate how bad 2015 bowling was because it was a joke unit compares to 2011 bowling.

These guys are medicore bowlers yes but they are able to atleast take wickets here and their.

2023 bowling unit is the worse bowling unit in the history of world cups for Pakistan. Literally nothing even comes close. Besides shaheen who is just now gaining rhythm, I have never seen such a toothless spin attack and such horrible middle over fast bowling from Rauf in my life. Don't compare 2015 to 2023. Wahab as a tournament bowler is superior to all our bowlers even > Shaheen and naseem in his prime.

Shane Watson was basically at his mercy in 2015. Wahab sadly only showed up for tournaments and vanished during tours.

Also sarfraz was a game changer with the bat over jamshed as well.

People comparing to 2015 WC but in the last World Cup, we managed to beat South Africa, England and New Zealand which ironically, we have to do again if we have any chance to qualify for the semis.

Unfortunately, while previous World Cup and this one share mostly the same players, the current lot look absolutely lost under Babar's leadership so I don't see us going on some rampant winning streak...

As a team effort, Pakistan is not winning all 4 remaining games. When I say a team effort means chip in by all memebers.
However an individual performance on the day like a 5 wkt spell by Harris or Shadab or SSA or an exceptional 100 by either Imam Babar, Rizwan can result in victories.
In short individual brilliance and luck is need of the hour

Epic phainta time, we may see the first 500 score as well. No way we are beating them, after this game the fans will be, if Ind/SA/NZ withdraw from the WC, we can make the semis

Omg. It's gonna be a bloodbath - we are gonna get smashed for 400 and struggle to take a wicket.

Or we will score 260ish and lose in 30 overs.

It's a bad matchup for Pakistan at the moment in the sense that South Africa don't like chasing but Pakistan's bowling has been so poor that their only chance seems to be with stacking their batting with Agha in place of Usama and chasing whatever South Africa set them.

Pakistan should just go out and play positive cricket, everyone has written them off so there should be no preassure on the team.

Pakistan will be the first top team to put SA in her place in sha Allah🥹

Anything under 500 will be huge disappointed and will considered as upset🤣 King Babar will make 200 that's pretty sure but problem is that scoring 200 needs 400 balls for king🤣 There just 300 balls it's Injustice to King, 👑Babar Missing Magala🥺

Pakistan should aim to bat first and try to set a target of over 320 on the scoreboard, this is the only way to apply out some pressure on South Africa.

If SA batted first so 400 is certainly on.

After the surprising defeat to Afghanistan, Pakistan now faces the challenge of regaining their momentum and winning all their matches to stay in contention. However, there are concerns about the team's current combination, which appears to be weak and in need of improvement.

Whereas, South Africa appears to be the clear frontrunner in this World Cup, boasting a well balanced team. Their batsmen are in excellent form and they possess the tournament's most formidable bowling unit. Consequently, they are expected to be the favored team when facing Pakistan.

==

All posters please take note of the following guidelines for match threads on PakPassion:

1. No personal insults at other posters, players, officials, coaching staffs etc.

2. No making fun of player's, official's, coaching staff's names.

3. Do not add any references to media, their social media or post any pictures or screenshots from other sports websites.

4. Stick to commenting on this match. There is no need to bring other countries into the match discussion as there are plenty of other threads where those discussions can be added.
Time to try Abrar, he is more of a wicket taker than the spinners we have tried so far. We desperately need wicket takers. You can't contain on these pitches.

Abrar is in the dug out baking the cake. He's in reserves lol

Pakistan has 4 days to injure a bowler and bring Abrar in.
Kyu hamrei bacho ko aur rolana chatei ho, bechara abrar nei kya begara hai.

World cup is a lost cause. Pcb needs to focus on champions trophy 2025 now.

Abrar having a debut against quinton, Makram is gonna end his career on debut. He's too inexperienced even if he is a better bowler then the rest. He'll defo bowl occaisonal bad lines and unlike noor ahmed vs Pakistan where everyone is forgiving, SA will captikise.

Abrar can bowl well but his confidence on pressure stage will get shattered if a bad line is bowled. Too much pressure.

History, we also had 7-0 odi history vs Afghanistan, that’s gone to the toilet. This time we need Aussies to mess up. I don’t know how we will beat South Africa, as none of the bowlers look like they can take wickets. And we are playing in the same venue as our loss to Afghan where we took 2 wickets for 282 runs.

There’s rumours going around that Abrar Ahmed will be replacing someone from the team. If it’s true Babar has clearly gone into panic mode now. None of the spinners that he picked have performed well and now he’s looking into the reserves.

Also, looks like Fakhar will be making way with his unavailability due to his injury.

We just need to come to terms with the fact that Pakistan are not good enough this time around. It’s not about mentality, in-fighting etc etc… as a team we just aren’t quite there… unable to compete with the big boys. Let just look to build over the next 4 years

History, we also had 7-0 odi history vs Afghanistan, that’s gone to the toilet. This time we need Aussies to mess up. I don’t know how we will beat South Africa, as none of the bowlers look like they can take wickets. And we are playing in the same venue as our loss to Afghan where we took 2 wickets for 282 runs.

Just like how Afghans beat you, you also stand a strong chance to beat Saffers in Chennai. Pakistan has always known to come hard when nobody expects them to win. They have now gotten themselves to that territory where they will make a comeback with surprise wins and if they can show consistency throughout then they can qualify to semis.

There’s rumours going around that Abrar Ahmed will be replacing someone from the team. If it’s true Babar has clearly gone into panic mode now. None of the spinners that he picked have performed well and now he’s looking into the reserves.

Also, looks like Fakhar will be making way with his unavailability due to his injury.
I think it takes some time for processing, submitting medical reports etc. No?

You needed abrar to figure out babar went into panic mode? Not his insane crying and tears filling up the dressing room?

He was in panic mode since Asia cup game. The nedtherlands and Sri Lanka game was a temporary sigh of relief.

Kinda like a person with chronic depression taking alcohol to wash away the pain just for a few hours. Doesn't take it away permanently.

It will never happen but try this

Fakhar
Haris
Shafique
Babar
Rizwan
Ifti
Salman
M Wasim
Shaheen
Abrar
Hasan

Still gonna lose but at least more intent and hunger

Punch Imam and Nawaz and say they're injured

I see a sorry ending for pakistan here. It’s possible South Africa post close to 350 again and haris Rauf gets collered again morale is shot

Need Pakistan to lose this so they're demoralised about being eliminated before facing us. Of the teams left SL and Pakistan are our two best bets to get 2 wins.

Although defeat could go two ways - motivate them to finish the tournament strong or cause havoc and the team checks out for rest of the tournament and sinks further.

Brother if Aus beat us, they will be finishing third and it is us you'll be fighting with for 4th.

I feel like the current top 4 are the semi finalists. And I hope I’m very wrong so the latter part of these group stages remains exciting. It would be awesome if qualification was still on the line right at the end when Pak play England in their last group match. Imagine if both teams could make it if they won, with NRR coming into play.

Kind of hoping you guys lose another so we can sneak through with 4 losses, if needed.

Will be rooting for Pakistan; really hope they win this one.

Needs a better bowling effort, though.

Need Pakistan to lose this so they're demoralised about being eliminated before facing us. Of the teams left SL and Pakistan are our two best bets to get 2 wins.

Although defeat could go two ways - motivate them to finish the tournament strong or cause havoc and the team checks out for rest of the tournament and sinks further.

NZ will win vs SA too.

Yup, just like you say Pakistan will lose before every match.

Maintaining the balance of the universe.

I barely say anything before any match.

I let them make fools out of themsleves then comment.

There is a 50 50 chance before every match.

This 11 makes sure it goes down to 2 percent within 1 hour.

Need to win this! Keep Misbah defensive tuktuk mindset in the Sewage! Play aggressive

Don’t take too much tension PPers.

Pak is definitely winning this one.

Both SA and NZ are our World Cup bunnies and every tournament we beat them specially when we’re in terrible form going into the match.

So, the stars are aligning.

We’re terrible yet again.

And we’re facing SA yet again who will give us the momentum boost.

Very tough match for Pakistan….. it’s a battle between Pakistan bowling Vs Pakistan batting Vs. Pakistan fielding… Pakistan is battling amongst themselves… if they performs in all 3 then they win otherwise 80-20 in SA’s favor

From the media reports of rona dhona, it seems we will go through motions which will be pathetic

You needed abrar to figure out babar went into panic mode? Not his insane crying and tears filling up the dressing room?

He was in panic mode since Asia cup game. The nedtherlands and Sri Lanka game was a temporary sigh of relief.

Kinda like a person with chronic depression taking alcohol to wash away the pain just for a few hours. Doesn't take it away permanently.
the thing is, in india he was in panic mood but after a few days he selected the same crap squad.

Even back than, his father (who likes to tweet about his son) gave us a sob story that oh Babar had tears or couldnt speak. Bhai, what did babar do after that? Did he rectify anything? NO.

the thing is, in india he was in panic mood but after a few days he selected the same crap squad.

Even back than, his father (who likes to tweet about his son) gave us a sob story that oh Babar had tears or couldnt speak. Bhai, what did babar do after that? Did he rectify anything? NO.
He won't rectify anything. But sensing abrar will end things.

Abrar needed to be groomed for the 8 odi's before the Asia cup.

He's your best spinner, so why wasn't he tested? Why test usama? Usama is the biggest scared chicken I've ever seen in cricket. Looks like he's seen a ghost.

He won't rectify anything. But sensing abrar will end things.

Abrar needed to be groomed for the 8 odi's before the Asia cup.

He's your best spinner, so why wasn't he tested? Why test usama? Usama is the biggest scared chicken I've ever seen in cricket. Looks like he's seen a ghost.
usama isnt bad. Usama did well.

Abrar should had been tested during the England series where Babar played his Best Friend Usman Qadir. Abrar sat on the benches. After that he was dropped from the squad.

Its not about usama being good or bad, he's getting tonked but the guy quite literally has no confidence.

I've never seen a player more scared in his life. Ik babar has that same look atm, but babar has that look after playing 100+ games and realising the reality now.

Why is usama so damn scared? He was scared even when he made his debut in the NZ series? Kya hoa hai bhai? His fielding is clearly showing his lack of confidence and he's a better bowler then the halwa's he's bowling.

It's a mental issue and idk if he's gonna rectify that. The intensity that afridi had as a spinner just body and look wise how he'd stare down the batsmen and then we have this guy who looks as if he's never encountered Human civilization in his life.

Abrar has confidence, in test when England was bazzbaliing him, he still picked up wickets and stared them dead in the eye, licking his lips. Usama is the biggest mental midget newbie I've ever seem.

Please please No Haris Rauf, this guy is a confidence booster for opposition and just kills the energy with jackpot overs to opposition.

Shafiq Imam Babar Rizwan Saud Iftikhar Agha Nawaz SSA Hassan WasimJ.

Their some fans who still think this is David vs goliath and that David will win with the pebble 😂😂.

This is more like when my cat plays with a Stray rat. It gives the rat some hope that it has the choice to escape befofe killing it once its done playing 🫠.

I've never seen a player more scared in his life. Ik babar has that same look atm, but babar has that look after playing 100+ games and realising the reality now.

You've clearly missed all the times Nawaz has been on screen.

Nawaz is the pinnacle of Defense.

He's the type of guy who walks into a fist fight and says hit me I will defend😂😂, Basically a punching bag who will never hit back. Easy win

Aiden Markram after the Bangladesh game said:

“He (de Kock) assesses conditions well and communicates that to us even before we get out onto the field,” “You never want to clip his wings, you just want to let him fly.”

“There isn’t necessarily a blueprint, but guys understand how to approach it,”

“We have a big focus on playing conditions and not necessarily situations too much. As a unit, we keep saying to look down at the surface and not up at the scoreboard and play exactly what’s in front of us on the pitch.”​

Their some fans who still think this is David vs goliath and that David will win with the pebble 😂😂.

This is more like when my cat plays with a Stray rat. It gives the rat some hope that it has the choice to escape befofe killing it once its done playing 🫠.

Brother, Pakistan will definitely beat South Africa, they always do in crunch tournament matches. First they lose to minnow and then when they are on verge of getting knocked out, they find an invincible South Africa in the way who loses the track, get smashed and suddenly Pakistan qualifies while Saffers get knocked out.

It's a script that everyone close to SA cricket has heard before and been repeated several times.

I will take shadab every day of the week over usama mir with the kind flith he bowled in Afg odi series and the 2 wc matches he played.

Plus Usama is liability in the field and trash with the bat

Brother, Pakistan will definitely beat South Africa, they always do in crunch tournament matches. First they lose to minnow and then when they are on verge of getting knocked out, they find an invincible South Africa in the way who loses the track, get smashed and suddenly Pakistan qualifies while Saffers get knocked out.

It's a script that everyone close to SA cricket has heard before and been repeated several times.

This is not fiction 😂😂. You need to understand context.

In 2015 we were genuinely the weakest team except 2015 England and minnows and yes 2015 West Indies was superior to us since we didn't play sarfi in those games.

The sa game was won due to sarfraz being thr X factor and Wahab riaz who was our only world class bowler. Wahab was a horrible bilateral series bowler but in world cups he's superior to every single bowler in our current unit, including naseem lol.

Secondly in both ct 2017, And in 2015 world cup we had rain affected games and sa has a history of collapsing during rain infected games since their just not a good Drs side. That game also had very questionable drs rules, like Pakistan got bowled out for 222 but drs said the target was 240? And also gave sa 43 overs to chase? Makes no sense.

2015, 2017, and 2019 had bowling. Also haris sohail in 2019 was 100x the batter that anyone else is in the side and yes that includes fraud no 1 lol.

2023 team is ironically even weaker then the 2015 team. Bowling Is dead whereas even sohail khan in 2015 took a 5 wicket haul against India and afridi was still a class spinner.

And yes ironically our 2015 batting is superior to 2023 batting. 2015 sarfraz as an opener is better then the clowns who are opening atm. Misbah for all his nonsense is superior as a no 4 them rizwan, and that's coming from someone who does not like misbah, Umar akmal, sohaib maqsood and afridi even when out of form are 100x the allrounders and lower order batters then nawaz, Shadab amd Usama.

Only chacha is superior, and Babar superior to YK at no 3 and imam superior to shehzad.

Also 2023 sa destroys 2015 and 2019 South Africa. Minus de villers everyone like duminy, Amla are mental tournament midgets.

And 2023 quinton is 500x the player he was back in 2019 and 1000x the player he was in 2019.

Don't go into fantasy my dude. Theirs no such thing as a script in real life. It's a delusion and a coping mechanism everyone uses to justify hope.

The reality is 2019 team and 2017 team was still filled with psl super stars and was a class team. 2015 was a weak team but the bowling could pull upsets with one or 2 blinders.

2023 has toothless bowling and with the exception of Babar and chacha, chacha who's failing against quality attacks and Babar who's badly regressed everyone else is a spineless shell. Only hope now, is to bring fakhar back and hope against hope he finds his iconic 194 form again.

I was listening to Moh Amir and Imad Wasim on Geo, and they were discussing Usama's performance as a spinner. They believe that he used to be a much better spinner than he is now. It's evident that he's currently under pressure, and poor management and coaching have caused his performance to decline. According to them, he used to deliver the ball with more speed, but it seems the management has advised him to slow down and give the ball more flight. This change has altered his natural style and instincts in spin bowling.

Our players perform at their best in domestic cricket, but once they are promoted to the international side, the coaches and staff often exert too much pressure on them to adjust to the team's style of play. This approach is misguided.

I found the analysis by both Amir and Imad on Geo to be very insightful.

Fast bowler Hasan Ali is unavailable for Pakistan's match against South Africa as he is unwell.

Hasan suffered fever last night, but he is recovering well. He will be given rest to recover fully ahead of the remaining games.

DeQock
Hendricks
RVD
Markram
Klaasen
Miller
Jansen
Coetzee

Where is the respite?

I suspect SA will go with this XI tomorrow:

1. QDQ
2. Hendricks/Bavuma
3. RVD
4. Markram
5. Klaasen
6. Miller
7. Jansen
8. Coetzee
9. Maharaj
10. Rabada
11. Shamsi

They will probably play 3 seamers (Rabada/Jansen/Coetzee) and two spinners (Maharaj/Shamsi)

I suspect SA will go with this XI tomorrow:

1. QDQ
2. Hendricks/Bavuma
3. RVD
4. Markram
5. Klaasen
6. Miller
7. Jansen
8. Coetzee
9. Maharaj
10. Rabada
11. Shamsi

They will probably play 3 seamers (Rabada/Jansen/Coetzee) and two spinners (Maharaj/Shamsi)

In Chennai, Bavuma should play. He is a good test match batter. This won't be a 260+ target pitch.

How optimistic or pessimistic are you of Pakistan's chances in this World Cup? Do you think they can still stage a comeback and beat South Africa who are on a rampage? Or have you already lost hope and expect South Africa to beat Pakistan too?

As much as I would like to believe in the whole cornered tigers mantra, I think this is a step too far.
They've been so dangerous in this tournament already and they'll feast on our out of sorts bowling attack.
On the bright side at least we're not as bad as England 🥴

Yes, they always spoil South Africa's party and put them in an uncomfortable must win situation at the business end of the tournament.

I think they would need to bat twice to get anywhere close to what SA will put up against these bowlers.

Ops I forget that South Africa still has to face India ,Pakistan , NZ And Afghanistan .
They can lose 3 match if Pakistan won tomorrow . If they can lose three match then I'm definitely backing Afghanistan to win the last game as under pressure South Africa will definitely chokes so definitely Pakistan still have chance to go in semi .

this game is giving past Australian tour like feeling when deep down a person knows he is helpless