Ice-cold Neeraj Chopra turns Olympic legend with India's first athletics gold

hoshiarpurexpress

Neeraj Chopra's javelin flew out of his hand, disappeared in the bright lights of Tokyo's Olympic Stadium and landed into the realm of legend.

In his second throw in the final of the men's javelin throw competition, The 23-year-old son of a farmer from Khandra, Haryana threw his seven hundred gram spear to a distance of 87.58m. It was a huge throw. In more ways than one. It was more than enough to win the men's javelin throw competition of the Tokyo Olympics. In that attempt, Chopra would become the first Olympic champion for India in a track and field event and only the second individual one for an Indian. Chopra didn't just win, he absolutely crushed the field, finishing two meters ahead of the rest of the field. Who were they? It didn't matter -- Chopra had made sure of that.

He had climbed an Mount Olympia of his own to get here. He had never had a coach growing up and only entered the sport by a quirk of fate. He had learned watching YouTube videos. His talent was always there but the time was never quite right. He had missed qualification for the 2016 Olympics only by a matter of a few days, while becoming the first Indian to win a junior World title.

"It was not my time, " He had said then calmly. He had cemented his promise, winning gold at the Commonwealth and Asian Games. But was he that rarest of them all-- a genuinely world class Indian competitor?

His path grew harder still as the efforts of his exertions saw him snap the ligament in his throwing elbow. He underwent surgery, the last option on the table and as he rehabilitated, could only watch - his arm in a sling - as Anderson Peters, the man he beat in the juniors won the world title. He missed out on a year as he recovered. He continued to bide his time, keep his faith. He would qualify at the last possible moment but then it seemed that his efforts were in vain as the games were postponed.

Would his flight to greatness be halted? It had seemed that way when on the resumption of the season in 2021, Chopra dropped out of the top 3 of the world. Johannes Vetter, with 17 throws over 90m laid down the gauntlet.

Neeraj just kept throwing consistently. At the Tokyo Olympics while the pressure got to Vetter, Peters, former Olympic champion Walcott and others, Neeraj continue to do what he did best. He consistently threw the spear as far as he could. On Saturday, when it mattered the most, he threw himself into history.

https://www.espn.com.au/olympics/st...-class-rest-biggest-stage-tokyo-2020-olympics

Yes what a blessing the postponed event was. He might have not been able to participate last year. Destiny as they say and he was destined for GOLD

For winning the gold medal at the 2021 Tokyo Summer Olympics
₹75 lakh (US$110,000) from the Government of India.[43]
₹6 crore (US$840,000) from the Government of Haryana.[44]

He was helped by the government too. In Pakistan no one knew who Arshad was even though he won bronze at Asian Games which itself is a rarity

For winning the gold medal at the 2021 Tokyo Summer Olympics
₹75 lakh (US$110,000) from the Government of India.[43]

He deserves way more than this. Even obese cricketers make more than a million dollar every year.

He’s young, photogenic, talks well, educated and, oh yes… the only fricking gold medallist India/South Asia has ever produced in Athletics.

He will be taken care of!.

He deserves way more than this. Even obese cricketers make more than a million dollar every year.

He’s young, photogenic, talks well, educated and, oh yes… the only fricking gold medallist India/South Asia has ever produced in Athletics.

He will be taken care of!.

That’s just the government compensation, he will make a lot more via corporate sponsorships and commercial engagements. His life is set already.

However hope like Pv Sindhu, he still keeps going for it despite the fame and recognition.

Arshad needs backing and coaching. He’s the best chance for medal that Pakistan has in next Olympics. Don’t give up on him.

India will probably be happy to give him citizenship and get 88-90m out of him with right support.

Amazing. Proud moment and you can see his work ethic and why he achieved what he has.

His is a made man now. Will earn even more fame next world event and probably many more millions and definitely inspire even more youngsters.

He would have been a very good candidate to be a express fast bowler. Same with Arshad.

Congratulations to Neeraj, and looking forward to more successes. He is young, only 23. He will remain a contender in the next 3 Olympics.

The current world record holder Jan Zelezny got the record at age 35. Jan had to wait till he was 26 before he won an Olympics gold.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jan_Železný

BCCI, The Cricket Inc, announces an award of 1 crore INR (135,000) USD for Neeraj in addition to all other winners. This is in addition to 5 crore awarded by Haryana State Govt and 75 Lakh by Indian Govt. This is just a start.

Good use of cricket money.

Jay Shah BCCI
@JayShah
INR 1 Cr. - 🥇 medallist [MENTION=136540]Neeraj[/MENTION]_chopra1

50 lakh each - 🥈 medallists @mirabai_chanu & Ravi Kumar Dahiya

25 lakh each – 🥉 medallists @Pvsindhu1, @LovlinaBorgohai, [MENTION=103243]bajrang[/MENTION]Punia

INR 1.25 Cr. – @TheHockeyIndia men's team

Anything below 5mn usd from sponsors and i will be disappointed.

He is 23. Has atleast 2 Olympics in him. Give him the best in the world.

Indian liberals are targetting Neeraj over social media. Some are even calling him Sanghi. These guys have absolutely zero love and respect for their motherland.

Even Arshad Nadeem himself congratulated Neeraj like a true sportsman. But then we have Indian liberals...so much hatred inside them man.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">China has won 38 gold medals. India, with about the same population has won just 1.</p>— Markandey Katju (@mkatju) <a href="https://twitter.com/mkatju/status/1424008827725172741?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 7, 2021</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Well we enjoyed those 17 mins of not knowing he's s*ngh*. Gbye and Good luck to him</p>— Sherine (@Sherinapoyyail) <a href="https://twitter.com/Sherinapoyyail/status/1423996152920240134?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 7, 2021</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Journalist Shayan Acharya is associated with Sportstar and The Hindu.<br><br>Why he deleted his tweet & now locked his account? <a href="https://t.co/BcHQYDiU1b">pic.twitter.com/BcHQYDiU1b</a></p>— Anshul Saxena (@AskAnshul) <a href="https://twitter.com/AskAnshul/status/1424027251578851329?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 7, 2021</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Btw, I have only posted the most sober tweets as dont want to pollute things here.

Same hate was given to another olympian PV Sindhu.

#Shame

Indian liberals are targetting Neeraj over social media. Some are even calling him Sanghi. These guys have absolutely zero love and respect for their motherland.

Even Arshad Nadeem himself congratulated Neeraj like a true sportsman. But then we have Indian liberals...so much hatred inside them man.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">China has won 38 gold medals. India, with about the same population has won just 1.</p>— Markandey Katju (@mkatju) <a href="https://twitter.com/mkatju/status/1424008827725172741?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 7, 2021</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Well we enjoyed those 17 mins of not knowing he's s*ngh*. Gbye and Good luck to him</p>— Sherine (@Sherinapoyyail) <a href="https://twitter.com/Sherinapoyyail/status/1423996152920240134?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 7, 2021</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Journalist Shayan Acharya is associated with Sportstar and The Hindu.<br><br>Why he deleted his tweet & now locked his account? <a href="https://t.co/BcHQYDiU1b">pic.twitter.com/BcHQYDiU1b</a></p>— Anshul Saxena (@AskAnshul) <a href="https://twitter.com/AskAnshul/status/1424027251578851329?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 7, 2021</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Btw, I have only posted the most sober tweets as dont want to pollute things here.

#Shame

Wrong to brand him as a sanghi.

He also seems to have supported the farmers:msd

Wrong to brand him as a sanghi.

He also seems to have supported the farmers:msd

Bro....in his life he can support anyone he wants. I thought Indian liberals only have problem with Modi but looks like in the process they also started hating India. They look into any achievement by India as an accolade or endorsement for Modi.

Forget about the sanghi tweets...check the above tweet by Ketju. He is comparing India with China saying meh China got 36 golds but India only 1. What big deal? Lol...You can literally sense he is not happy that we won a gold.

These guys are just hilarious.

Bro....in his life he can support anyone he wants. I thought Indian liberals only have problem with Modi but looks like in the process they also started hating India. They look into any achievement by India as an accolade or endorsement for Modi.

Forget about the sanghi tweets...check the above tweet by Ketju. He is comparing India with China saying meh China got 36 golds but India only 1. What big deal? Lol...You can literally sense he is not happy that we won a gold.

Why do you think these guys have very little support?

Seems Arshad deleted his earlier tweet and did this one

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Congratulations to <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/NeerajChopra?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#NeerajChopra</a> for winning &#55358;&#56647; <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/JavelinThrow?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#JavelinThrow</a> competition in <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/TokyoOlympics?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#TokyoOlympics</a></p>— Arshad Nadeem &#55356;&#56821;&#55356;&#56816; (@ArshadNadeemPak) <a href="https://twitter.com/ArshadNadeemPak/status/1424008557461114880?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 7, 2021</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Well they need to learn to separate the player from the person. I think is fine to hate a person's political ideology but it's kinda salty to hate his sporting achievements, particularly if he does it for the country.

I cannot bring myself to warm up to some Indian cricketers who promote the ideology of religious intolerance and caste pride (and there are some, I don't want to mention), but I can appreciate when they do well for India on the cricketing field.

Rahul Gandhi has not congratulated him yet when he was showering praises on everyone else. But realised later. his twitter account is suspended. But doubt he will post about gold medal

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Congratulations to <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/NeerajChopra?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#NeerajChopra</a> for winning &#55358;&#56647; <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/JavelinThrow?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#JavelinThrow</a> competition in <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/TokyoOlympics?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#TokyoOlympics</a></p>— Arshad Nadeem &#55356;&#56821;&#55356;&#56816; (@ArshadNadeemPak) <a href="https://twitter.com/ArshadNadeemPak/status/1424008557461114880?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 7, 2021</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Poor guy.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Congratulations to <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/NeerajChopra?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#NeerajChopra</a> for winning �� <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/JavelinThrow?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#JavelinThrow</a> competition in <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/TokyoOlympics?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#TokyoOlympics</a></p>— Arshad Nadeem ���� (@ArshadNadeemPak) <a href="https://twitter.com/ArshadNadeemPak/status/1424008557461114880?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 7, 2021</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

That was fake id .this is his official Twitter account.

Neeraj has done well seeing his very modest background. He gives hope to those from rural backgrounds.

He went to a local village academy in Haryana just to lose some extra weight at the age of 13/14.
He was good in Javelin as he threw 25 m as compared to 20 m for kids of his age. And then it just went on from there. What a story.

After former cricketer Gautam Gambhir, veteran spinner Harbhajan Singh compared an Olympic medal with the Indian cricket team's 2011 World Cup win. Harbhajan said Neeraj Chopra's historic gold medal triumph at the Tokyo Olympics 2020 on Saturday (August 07) was bigger than India's 2011 World Cup victory.

Neeraj scripted history as he became the first Indian to win a gold medal in athletics in the history of the Olympics. With a throw of 87.58m in the men's javelin throw final, Neeraj finished on top of the podium and brought an end to the country's 100-year-long wait for a medal in track and field events in athletics at the Olympics.

Speaking to Aaj Tak, Harbhajan compared Neeraj's heroics to India's World Cup victory and said the latter's gold medal was bigger. "This gold medal win is bigger than the Cricket World Cup win in 2011. This should be celebrated 50 times more than the 2011 World Cup," said Harbhajan, who was part of the Indian team which won the World Cup in 2011 after beating Sri Lanka in the final.

Gambhir, who had earlier called India's bronze medal win in men's hockey at the Tokyo Olympics, a bigger win than the 2011 Cricket World Cup, reacted to Harbhajan's remark on Twitter. "True that @harbhajan_singh …But You shouldn’t have said this! You should not say this ! You shall never say this," he wrote.

Gambhir had been earlier trolled mercilessly by fans for comparing the 2011 World Cup win with India's bronze medal triumph in hockey at the Tokyo Olympics, which marked an end to a 40-year-long wait for a medal in hockey. India had won the World Cup under the captaincy of legendary MS Dhoni in 2011, bringing an end to India's 28-year-long wait for a second World Cup title.

Both Harbhajan and Gambhir were part of the World Cup-winning side which scripted history by becoming the first team to win the World Cup on home soil. Dhoni went on to become the first and the only captain in the history of the game to win all three major ICC trophies after he led India to a Champions Trophy win in 2013 with a team full of youngsters.

Both Harbhajan and Gambhir were not part of the 2013 Champions Trophy-winning side, which defeated England in their own backyard in a thrilling final to claim India's last major ICC trophy.

https://www.timesnownews.com/sports...-win-is-bigger-than-2011-wc-win-remark/796251

#Shame

Liberals are attacking him..lol
Don't know why they triggered suddenly.
Idiots

We Indians always used to talk like this.

Only problem is you guys are too sensitive now (like twitter libbies) and viewing everything from an "anti-India" prism.

You probably forgot how Indians used to abuse Congress and how we used to mock our low medal count for ages.

Pick and choose the right targets bro.

Maybe someone should remind Katju that if India was like China, the likes him would be getting their backsides branded in jail, instead of having the luxury of writing thrash on cyberspace.

Everyone will forget about him after 2 months. That's how it goes in India. :inti

No one in India has forgotten Milkha Singh, Dhyan Chand, Abhinav Bindra, PT Usha. They are in school books. And Neeraj has achieved more than most of them and still not peaked.

So no, Women will swoon over him, men will be jealous of him, brands will chase him, politicos will want pics with him, media will hound him for next one decade at least. The current noise will die down but he will remain a celebrity.

Well done young man. Brilliant performance and he's certainly trained very hard for this moment. A massive achievement. Also very pleased with Arshad's performance. We've got to invest in him to allow him to take his performance to the next level

Brother suppose your neighbour has 3-4 children and one day you also becomes father,so would you say meh whats the big deal ,my neighbour has 3 children and I just have one ,i am a loser coz i have one child or you will cherish the moment.

What an analogy bro , but works against those lacking in common sense and logic. To each their own success and you build on that success.
sometimes words of encouragement is all is needed for a person to do something extraordinary.
those who always resort to sarcasm and criticism without anything constructive should be avoided like a plague.

Just looking at Johannes vetter previous throws. He has a monstrous throw of 97m before but could not do it in final. Also strangely he has no medal in Olympics yet!!

I normally avoid such references,but bhaag viru bhaag acts like shaadi wale ghar ka phupha,trying to find fault in everything,if you want to congrats him,congrats him,why take dig at others,u do realize that sports in south asia is consider luxury ,not many can afford it,we dont have infrastructure of western countries ,nor craziness of china,where kids as young and five are trained like machines and these atheletes despite such hardship ,do well ,not to forget the corruption ,for sports to grow not just money,but view of society ,people needs to change not to forget desire as well.

Just looking at Johannes vetter previous throws. He has a monstrous throw of 97m before but could not do it in final. Also strangely he has no medal in Olympics yet!!

He threw around 96+ as recent as in May, but just before the Oly, I read an interview of his saying he was having issues with this technique. If this was cricket, we could have suspected BCCI to have played a role in this. LOL

On that note, having watched the competition and the throwing techniques, I felt Shoaib Akhtar could have a done a great job in javelin throw and maybe could have landed a medal. The shoulder and the elbow flex at the point of delivery is so similar to that of Neeraj/Nadeem.

Some Haryana athletes who won medals 4 years back are yet to receive their cash prizes as yet. So take these grand announcements with a bucketful of salt!

It's such a travesty that Milkha Singh ji wasn't alive when Neeraj won this gold. He'd have been the proudest Indian to hear the Indian anthem being played while Neeraj was on the podium!

No wonder Neeraj dedicated his gold to the Flying Sikh!

We Indians always used to talk like this.

Only problem is you guys are too sensitive now (like twitter libbies) and viewing everything from an "anti-India" prism.

You probably forgot how Indians used to abuse Congress and how we used to mock our low medal count for ages.

Pick and choose the right targets bro.
Congress has been the most abused political party in India and rightly so! But their fans have never been as sensitive to every little thing directed at their supreme leaders as devotees are whenever something even minutely critical is said about their god!

Never before Indians have been branded as anti nations as frequently as they've been under this regime!

Vetter is probably like the ABD of Javelin throw. He has a personal best of 97.76m throw but yet hasn't won a single medal in the olympics till date, not even a bronze. He will be 31/32 in the next olympics and but I'm sure he'll give his all in the Paris Olympics.

I'm sure he rated Neeraj as a competitor very highly because he was having the best season next to him among all the players taking part in the final, but I get the feeling he let the pressure sort of get to him and also he underestimated Neeraj a bit, who's a very young player playing his first olympics.

Congress has been the most abused political party in India and rightly so! But <b>their fans have never been as sensitive to every little thing directed at their supreme leaders as devotees are whenever something even minutely critical is said about their god!</b>

Never before Indians have been branded as anti nations as frequently as they've been under this regime!

You have no clue how passionate Gandhi, Nehru and Indira fans were in the 1930s to 80s.

No one in India has forgotten Milkha Singh, Dhyan Chand, Abhinav Bindra, PT Usha. They are in school books. And Neeraj has achieved more than most of them and still not peaked.

So no, Women will swoon over him, men will be jealous of him, brands will chase him, politicos will want pics with him, media will hound him for next one decade at least. The current noise will die down but he will remain a celebrity.

If no one has forgotten Milkha Singh, Dhyan Chand, PT Usha etc then why are people not taking up their sports and winning medals? How hard is it to accept that India is pretty bad in sports? :inti

You have no clue how passionate Gandhi, Nehru and Indira fans were in the 1930s to 80s.
They may be passionate about their leaders but certainly not poisonous as devotees are. You apparently don't live in India so you've no clue about this.

RJ Malishka's Dance For Neeraj Chopra Sparks Major Backlash On Twitter

Radio jockey Malishka Mendonsa and her team at Red FM are facing widespread criticism for a video that shows them dancing in front of Olympic gold medalist Neeraj Chopra before an online interview. Footage shared by the RJ on Twitter yesterday shows her and her team dancing to Uden Jab Jab Zulfen Teri from the 1957 film Naya Daur. The camera then pans to a laptop in front of them to reveal that the performance was taking place in front of 23-year-old Neeraj Chopra, who had joined them over a Zoom call for the interview.
Neeraj Chopra recently scripted history at the Tokyo Olympics when he won gold at javelin throw - India's first Olympic gold medal in athletics.

"Ladiesssss..Yes I got the hard hitting, deep answers too but..Take the first 4 secs before the cam moves to the zoom call to guess who we are dancing for," wrote RJ Malishka while sharing the video, which has racked up over 6 lakh views on the microblogging platform.

https://www.ndtv.com/offbeat/rj-mal...twitter-2514816#pfrom=home-ndtv_lateststories

Much ado about nothing! What was so offensive about that impromptu dance? Even Neeraj couldn't stop smiling all through!

They may be passionate about their leaders but certainly not poisonous as devotees are. You apparently don't live in India so you've no clue about this.

I will give you one single fact to think about. 35 years after independence, India's poverty rate was at 51%.

No more replies.

To be honest, people who really don’t like Modi don’t take his name as many times as his haters :))

Wonder who the real devotees are on occasions.

I will give you one single fact to think about. 35 years after independence, India's poverty rate was at 51%.

No more replies.

Lol I don’t care or know what’s the debate in this specific instance but it’s hilarious to see that whenever you appear to be in a tough spot you throw some irrelevant or incorrect statement and give this “No more replies” line and run with your tail between your legs. Seen it multiple times haha including the LNG thread where you were made to look like a mug for your half baked knowledge

That's his standard reply whenever in a spot. Won't be too harsh on him.

No more replies.
Lol, what's poverty got to do with whatever that was being discussed about respective devotees of our political leaders?

To be honest, people who really don’t like Modi don’t take his name as many times as his haters :))

Wonder who the real devotees are on occasions.
Another one.

When did I ever recite his name? Although you do seem to be quite fond of him and hence keep reciting it for even obscure reasons like crediting him for the medals we won during this Olympics!

Well done devotee!

Another one.

When did I ever recite his name? Although you do seem to be quite fond of him and hence keep reciting it for even obscure reasons like crediting him for the medals we won during this Olympics!

Well done devotee!

This government has done a lot for athletes for their preparation. Success and medals don't just come out of nowhere.
ultimately it's the athletes who should be credited and they are getting all the accolades.

what's nauseating is kejriwal and Stalin putting their larger than life size billboards with athletes for doing nothing.

Rajnath to felicitate Army personnel who participated in Tokyo Olympics

The defence minister is also scheduled to visit the headquarters of Southern Command along with Chief of Army Staff General MM Naravane and General Officer Commanding-in-Chief of the Southern Command Lieutenant General JS Nain.

Union defence minister Rajnath Singh will on Monday felicitate the Army personnel who participated at the Olympics at Tokyo at the Army Sports Institute in Pune on Monday.

"All the armed forces personnel, who represented India in the recently concluded Tokyo Olympics, including gold medallist javelin thrower Subedar Neeraj Chopra, are likely to be present on the occasion," a statement released by defence ministry read, according to news agency PTI.

Neeraj Chopra was appointed as Junior Commissioned Officer in the Rajputana Rifles regiment in 2016 following his stellar performance at the South Asian Games

Singh is also expected to interact with sportsperson of the Army Sports Institute and troops during his visit.

The defence minister is also scheduled to visit the headquarters of Southern Command along with Chief of Army Staff General MM Naravane and General Officer Commanding-in-Chief of the Southern Command Lieutenant General JS Nain.

The Army Sports Institute has produced 34 Olympians, 22 Commonwealth Games medallists, 21 Asian Games medallists, six Youth Games medallists and 13 Arjuna Awardees till date, according to PTI.

"Indian Army has always been the backbone of Indian sports — from Major Dhyan Chand to Subedar Neeraj Chopra who etched their names in golden letters in the history of Indian sports," the statement by the Army read.

https://www.hindustantimes.com/india-news/rajnath-to-felicitate-army-personnel-who-participated-in-tokyo-olympics-101629628316667.html

Neeraj Chopra appeals to not ‘further propaganda’ regarding Pakistan’s Arshad Nadeem

Neeraj Chopra took to Twitter after reports claimed that the Pakistani athlete was trying to "tamper" with Chopra's javelin.

Neeraj Chopra, who won India’s first-ever athletics gold medal at the recently-concluded Tokyo Olympics, on Thursday urged people to not “further vested interests and propaganda” after his comments regarding Pakistan’s javelin thrower Arshad Nadeem during the finals of the quadrennial event were blown out of proportion on social media.

The 23-year-old bagged India’s second-ever individual Olympic gold medal earlier this month with a throw of 87.58m in the men’s javelin final. In a recent interview with The Times of India, Chopra revealed that he wasn’t initially able to locate his javelin during the event because Nadeem had been “moving around” with it before his first throw.

Neeraj Chopra, who won India’s first-ever athletics gold medal at the recently-concluded Tokyo Olympics, on Thursday urged people to not “further vested interests and propaganda” after his comments regarding Pakistan’s javelin thrower Arshad Nadeem during the finals of the quadrennial event were blown out of proportion on social media.

The 23-year-old bagged India’s second-ever individual Olympic gold medal earlier this month with a throw of 87.58m in the men’s javelin final. In a recent interview with The Times of India, Chopra revealed that he wasn’t initially able to locate his javelin during the event because Nadeem had been “moving around” with it before his first throw.

“I was searching for my javelin at the start of the final (in Olympics). I was not able to find it. Suddenly, I saw Arshad Nadeem was moving around with my javelin. Then I told him, ‘Bhai give this javelin to me, it is my javelin! I have to throw with it’. He gave it back to me. That’s why you must have seen I took my first throw hurriedly,” Chopra was quoted as saying by The Times of India.

After his comments, fans took to social media to question Nadeem’s intentions with some reports even claiming that the Pakistani athlete was trying to “tamper” with Chopra’s javelin.

Chopra took to Twitter to give his input regarding the issue. “I would request everyone to please not use me and my comments as a medium to further your vested interests and propaganda. Sports teaches us to be together and united. I’m extremely disappointed to see some of the reactions from the public on my recent comments,” the caption said.

“I want to talk about an issue… in a recent interview, I had talked about how I had taken my javelin before a throw in the Tokyo Olympics finals from Pakistan’s Arshad Nadeem. Now, this has been turned into a huge issue for no reason. Javelin throwers keep their personal javelins in one place before any event and all athletes can use them… it’s a rule. So obviously, it was not wrong of him to prepare with my javelin,” Chopra said in a video.

“I am saddened to realise that people are exaggerating the issue on the back of my name. Sports is something that teaches us to walk together and all javelin throwers share mutual respect and love. So, please don’t say hurtful things,” he concluded.

Chopra started off with a throw of 87.03m in the men’s javelin finals. He bettered it to 87.58m in his second attempt. Despite two foul throws in his fourth and fifth attempts, Chopra created history as none of the other participants could get close to his first throw, let alone the second.

India finished Tokyo Olympics with a record medal haul of seven, including one gold, two silvers and four bronzes.

https://indianexpress.com/article/sports/sport-others/neeraj-chopra-arshad-nadeem-tokyo-2020-olympics-javelin-throw-propaganda-twitter-7471994/

What's not to like about this man? Seems a very sensible sportsperson

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="hi" dir="ltr">मेरी आप सभी से विनती है की मेरे comments को अपने गंदे एजेंडा को आगे बढ़ाने का माध्यम न बनाए। Sports हम सबको एकजूट होकर साथ रहना सिखाता हैं और कमेंट करने से पहले खेल के रूल्स जानना जरूरी होता है &#55357;&#56911;&#55356;&#57341; <a href="https://t.co/RLv96FZTd2">pic.twitter.com/RLv96FZTd2</a></p>— Neeraj Chopra (@Neeraj_chopra1) <a href="https://twitter.com/Neeraj_chopra1/status/1430816302415843331?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 26, 2021</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

--

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">I would request everyone to please not use me and my comments as a medium to further your vested interests and propaganda.<br>Sports teaches us to be together and united. I'm extremely disappointed to see some of the reactions from the public on my recent comments.</p>— Neeraj Chopra (@Neeraj_chopra1) <a href="https://twitter.com/Neeraj_chopra1/status/1430817221308157954?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">August 26, 2021</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

--

Young and sensible, very nice to see. Hopefully ambitious as well.

Neeraj Chopra matching Virat Kohli? Tokyo Olympics gold sees 1000% hike in javelin thrower's endorsement fees

Neeraj Chopra became a sporting sensation as his throw of 87.58 meters in the javelin final at the 2020 Tokyo Olympics fetched him a gold medal.

Neeraj Chopra's brand value has reportedly went up by 1000 times

The 23-year-old athlete's popularity has grown leaps and bounds since then.
Neeraj is reportedly set to sign new endorsement deals worth 10 times the prices he used to charge previously.

The throw of 87.58 meters in the javelin final at the 2020 Tokyo Olympics became career-defining in the life of Neeraj Chopra. The athlete's popularity has soared through the roof, with many considering him the new poster boy of sports in the country. Such success is also reaping its rewards on the financial front, with Neeraj's brand endorsement fees reportedly increasing by 1000 percent, with Virat Kohli arguably being the only Indian sportsperson ahead of him.

Neeraj, who is said to be making only 15-25 lakhs per endorsement on an annual basis before the Tokyo Olympics, is now in talks to sign new deals which will be worth 10 times that money. According to experts, the 10-fold rise in the endorsement value is unparalleled in the Indian sporting spectrum, especially after individual events.

In comparison, Indian cricket team captain Virat Kohl is presently the only sportsperson in the country to be charging a fee in the region of INR 1 to 5 crores. With the rise in his endorsement fees, Neeraj also comes in the same bracket, though only slightly lower than Kohli. This hike, however, does put him ahead of other cricketing stars like Rohit Sharma and KL Rahul who reportedly charge between Rs. 50 lakh to Rs. 1 crore per year.

According to Economic Times, JSW Sports, who manage Neeraj, are in talks regarding five or six deals with luxury auto and apparel brands which could be finalised in the next few weeks and a series of digital-only pacts. In fact, deals with existing brands like Nike, sports drink Gatorade, ExxonMobil and MuscleBlaze sports supplements are also set to be revised at higher prices.

“These are multi-year deals which will run up to the Paris Olympics,” Mustafa Ghouse, chief executive of JSW Sports, told Economic Times. “While we have requests from close to 80 brands, Neeraj has a limited number of free days between training camps in India and abroad over the next 12-14 months, so we have to be selective about signing on brands.”

The ace athlete, however, has made up his mind over not endorsing alcohol or tobacco brands, Ghouse said.

Chopra, who has 4 million followers on Instagram and nearly 600,000 on Twitter, saw his Insta following shoot up by more than 1.1 million in a single day after he bagged India's first Olympic medal in athletics. His popularity has grown leaps and bounds since the 2020 Tokyo Olympics and considering he is only 23 years old, the Indian sporting spectrum has a lot more to see from Neeraj Chopra.

https://www.timesnownews.com/sports/tokyo-olympics/article/neeraj-chopra-matching-virat-kohli-tokyo-olympics-gold-sees-javelin-throwers-brand-value-shoot-up-by/809093

Star Indian javelin thrower Neeraj Chopra, who created history by clinching a historic gold medal at Tokyo Olympics 2020, was the most-searched personality in Google's year-end list for India in 2021. Appearing in his maiden Olympics, Chopra took the nation by surprise as he won the gold medal with a second-round throw of 87.58m in the javelin men's final to end India's 100-year wait for a track and field medal in the Olympics.

Chopra was in news for his incredible achievement as he also became only the second Indian athlete after legendary shooter Abhinav Bindra to win a gold medal in an individual event at the Olympics. Chopra became a superstar of the nation overnight and had to attend non-stop events upon his arrival from Tokyo.

In Google's list dominated by Bollywood celebrities, PV Sindhu, Bajrang Punia and Sushil Kumar were the other three sports personalities who made it into the top-10.

Sindhu, who won a historic silver medal at Rio Olympics 2016, followed it with a bronze medal in Tokyo Olympics 2020 where she defeated China's He Bing Jiao 21-13, 21-15 to become the first Indian woman ever to win two individual medals at the Olympics. Not to forget, the Hyderabad-born shuttler had lost the final of the women's singles event at the 2016 Rio Olympics against Spain's Carolina Marin to settle for a silver medal.

Punia, one of India's top male wrestlers, won the bronze medal after defeating Daulet Niyazbekov of Kazakhstan in the men's freestyle 65kg category. He was one of India's top medal contenders at Tokyo and he did not disappoint the fans.

Sushil, India's first athlete to win two Olympic medals, was in news for the wrong reasons as he was a prime accused in the murder of a young wrestler. The 38-year-old wrestler was arrested on May 23 and has been lodged in jail since June 2, 2021. Kumar, along with others, allegedly assaulted former junior national wrestling champion Sagar Dhankar and his friends at the stadium in May over an alleged property dispute. Dhankar succumbed to the injuries later. According to the post-mortem report, he died due to “cerebral damage resulting from blunt object impact”.

https://www.timesnownews.com/sports...rsonality-by-indians-in-2021-on-google/839066

India's Neeraj Chopra won the silver medal in the men's javelin throw final at the World Athletics Championships in Eugene, Oregon with a best throw of 88.13m, which he registered with his fourth attempt. Grenada's Anderson Peters won the gold medal with a best throw of 90.54m. Peters threw 90.21m in his first attempt and then bettered it in his second at 90.46m. He then registered his best throw in his sixth attempt, to successfully defend his world title. Czech Republic's Jakub Vadlejch won bronze with a best throw of 88.09m, while Germany's Julian Weber finished 4th with a best attempt of 86.86m. Chopra became only the second Indian -- and first Indian man -- to win a medal at the World Athletics Championships, after long jumper Anju Bobby George, who won bronze in 2003.

Chopra started with a foul throw and then registered 82.39m with his second attempt. He improved with his third attempt, when he threw the javelin 86.37m.

He was still not set for a medal, but he registered a throw of 88.13m with his fourth attempt to shoot up to second place from fourth.

His fifth and sixth attempts were foul throws.

Chopra had topped the Group A qualification round and qualified for the final at second place behind Peters by sending his spear to 88.39m for his third career-best throw. Peters had topped Group B with an effort of 89.91m.

The other Indian in the fray, Rohit Yadav finished at 10th with a best throw of 78.72m. Rohit had finished 11th overall in the qualification round with a best throw of 80.42m.

The 21-year-old Indian had recorded a season's and personal best of 82.54m while winning a silver at the National Inter-State Championships last month.

Chopra had won Indian athletics' maiden gold in the Tokyo Olympics last year. He is only the second Indian to have won an individual gold in the Olympics, after shooter Abhinav Bindra, who clinched the yellow metal in 2008 Beijing Games.

NDTV

'Neeraj Is Also Like Our Son, I As A Pakistani Promise You That...,'Arshad Nadeem's Coach Showers Love On Neeraj Chopra
Arshad Nadeem's coach Syed Hussain Bukhari said that he wants to see Neeraj Chopra play in Pakistan.

Karachi: Pakistan’s star athlete Arshad Nadeem clinched a historic gold medal in Javelin throw after breaking the 90m mark in the Commonwealth Games 2022. Nadeem became the first South Asian to cross the 90m mark with a throw of 90.18 m, better than veteran Anderson Peters of Grenada, to bring glory to his nation. Notably, Olympic Champion and Indian stalwart Neeraj Chopra didn’t participate in the event due to an injury.

Arshad Nadeem and Neeraj share a great bond outside the field. After Nadeem’s gold medal win in the CWG 2022, Neeraj took to Twitter and congratulated his Pakistani counterpart. Neeraj and Nadeem are old rivals and their rivalry dates back to 2016 when both competed in the South Asian Games. In the previous edition of the Commonwealth Games, Neeraj secured a gold medal while Arshad settled for a prized silver. Meanwhile, Nadeem’s coach Syed Hussain Bukhari is a great admirer of Neeraj Chopra as well. He recently heaped praise on Neeraj Chopra and said that he wants to see Neeraj compete in Pakistan as well.

“Most of the time, Arshad trains at the Jinnah Stadium in Islamabad and Lahore too, my wish is to see Arshad and Neeraj compete at a packed stadium in Lahore or Islamabad. Neeraj is also like our son. I as a Pakistani promise you that if Neeraj wins, we will shower him the same love we showered on Milkha Singh Ji when he won against Abdul Khaliq in Lahore in 1960. Athletes share a common bond of love for the sports,” Bukhari told Indian Express.

Bukhari further praised Nadeem for his gold medal win and said that his success over the years has inspired many young Pakistanis to take up Javelin. “After Arshad’s Asian Games bronze and Tokyo Olympics qualification topping, I can say I get to see 30-40 javelin throwers in almost each training ground in Lahore. In recent months, I have seen youth coming from the Khyber Pakhtunkhwa and from near the Pakistan-China border areas come to enquire about trials at Lahore. What Neeraj did for India, Arshad’s Olympic participation and today’s record can do the same in Pakistan,” he said.

https://www.cricketcountry.com/news...m-coach-showers-love-on-neeraj-chopra-1035792

a1FiWdk.png

'Neeraj Is Also Like Our Son, I As A Pakistani Promise You That...,'Arshad Nadeem's Coach Showers Love On Neeraj Chopra
Arshad Nadeem's coach Syed Hussain Bukhari said that he wants to see Neeraj Chopra play in Pakistan.

Karachi: Pakistan’s star athlete Arshad Nadeem clinched a historic gold medal in Javelin throw after breaking the 90m mark in the Commonwealth Games 2022. Nadeem became the first South Asian to cross the 90m mark with a throw of 90.18 m, better than veteran Anderson Peters of Grenada, to bring glory to his nation. Notably, Olympic Champion and Indian stalwart Neeraj Chopra didn’t participate in the event due to an injury.

Arshad Nadeem and Neeraj share a great bond outside the field. After Nadeem’s gold medal win in the CWG 2022, Neeraj took to Twitter and congratulated his Pakistani counterpart. Neeraj and Nadeem are old rivals and their rivalry dates back to 2016 when both competed in the South Asian Games. In the previous edition of the Commonwealth Games, Neeraj secured a gold medal while Arshad settled for a prized silver. Meanwhile, Nadeem’s coach Syed Hussain Bukhari is a great admirer of Neeraj Chopra as well. He recently heaped praise on Neeraj Chopra and said that he wants to see Neeraj compete in Pakistan as well.

“Most of the time, Arshad trains at the Jinnah Stadium in Islamabad and Lahore too, my wish is to see Arshad and Neeraj compete at a packed stadium in Lahore or Islamabad. Neeraj is also like our son. I as a Pakistani promise you that if Neeraj wins, we will shower him the same love we showered on Milkha Singh Ji when he won against Abdul Khaliq in Lahore in 1960. Athletes share a common bond of love for the sports,” Bukhari told Indian Express.

Bukhari further praised Nadeem for his gold medal win and said that his success over the years has inspired many young Pakistanis to take up Javelin. “After Arshad’s Asian Games bronze and Tokyo Olympics qualification topping, I can say I get to see 30-40 javelin throwers in almost each training ground in Lahore. In recent months, I have seen youth coming from the Khyber Pakhtunkhwa and from near the Pakistan-China border areas come to enquire about trials at Lahore. What Neeraj did for India, Arshad’s Olympic participation and today’s record can do the same in Pakistan,” he said.

https://www.cricketcountry.com/news...m-coach-showers-love-on-neeraj-chopra-1035792

This is a greater story than Kohli/Amir, Sachin/Shoaib

Two great Athletes that have changed the complexion of Indo-Pak relationships through love and respect