If no party wins a 2/3rd majority in the GE, will Pakistan have a coalition and a sit-in opposition?

Major

Test Star
I doubt anyone is winning a majority, in such a scenario, should pti again join the others and form a govt that wont be able to pass any bills or reforms?

And would it be ideal for ppp and pmln to form a coalition? Would they be able to work together?

There has been alot of talk here that election karwao and everything will be solved. What happens when no one gets a clear majority?

I have to disagree, if the establishment decides to hold free and fair elections I would not be surprised with PTI winning 2/3rds. Local body elections are vastly different from national elections so their loss shouldn't reflect on their standing in the national assembly, obviously, I could be wrong but as of now, that is how I assess the situation.

The PMLN has lost a lot of its political capital, especially in Punjab. Frankly, had they decided against the VONC chances are that they would've been in the driver's seat towards 2/3rds by now. The PTI would've been massacred during the elections due to the economic crises. The PDM breathed new life into him essentially.

I doubt anyone is winning a majority, in such a scenario, should pti again join the others and form a govt that wont be able to pass any bills or reforms?

And would it be ideal for ppp and pmln to form a coalition? Would they be able to work together?

There has been alot of talk here that election karwao and everything will be solved. What happens when no one gets a clear majority?

Election ho bhi gaye kuch hona nahi hai. We've dug ourselves so deep that it'll take years. Most importantly it will also take political maturity to set certain ground rules and a consensus on a robust economic policy for the next 10-15 years and to keep said economic policy unhindered regardless of who is in power.

As for a case with a coalition, well India had an extremely weak coalition during the 1990s and was able to pass reforms. The difference was that they had already prepared and done all the homework for said reforms in the 80s. We haven't done that, no political party has a prepared economic plan, nor do they have the people or the think tanks to help them come up with one.

Pakistan politics is not geared for coalitions as a normal way to govern.

We need an outright majority for things to work ok.