If Pakistan beats India in Asia Cup 2022 final, will it be Pakistan’s Centurion moment?

Sarwar89

Local Club Regular
India took mighty initiative back from Pakistan decisively in 2003 Centurian match group stage 2003.

That was the end of Wasim, Waqar, Rashid, Saqlain etc

Looking at this Indian side, names are big but legs are no longer young, Rohit Sharma, Kohli are in mid 30’s. Fire in the belly in mid 30’s is different than a 22-23 year old cricketer.

India started to heavily dominate Pakistan till 2016.
From 2016 luck has been gradually going towards Pakistan’s way, I would say 2017-2021 period has been equal to India’s period of 1996-2002 v Pakistan. Where Pakistan was stronger but India won at Bangalore 96 & Old Trafford 99 & Dhaka 98.

While 2017-21 India has been stronger but Pakistan won mighty ICC Champions trophy 17 & massive group stage world cup win in 2021.

This Asia cup holds the key if Pakistan defeats India in Final & takes momentum
At MCG and wins on Oct 23, it will definitely be Pakistan’s centurian moment 2003.

India took mighty initiative back from Pakistan decisively in 2003 Centurian match group stage 2003.

Looking at this Indian side, names are big but legs are no longer young, Rohit Sharma, Kohli are in mid 30’s. Fire in the belly in mid 30’s is different than a 22-23 year old cricketer.

From 2016 luck has been gradually going towards Pakistan’s way, I would say 2017-2021 period has been equal to India’s period of 1996-2002 v Pakistan. Where Pakistan was stronger but India won at Bangalore 96 & Old Trafford 99 & Dhaka 98.

While 2017-21 India has been stronger but Pakistan won mighty ICC Champions trophy 17 & massive group stage world cup win in 2021.

At MCG and wins on Oct 23, it will definitely be Pakistan’s centurian moment 2003.

What if India don’t even make to the finals??

I would also like to add a point, India is going through a period of self denial since 2017 , they still genuinely believe their Cricket team in limited overs is vastly superior to Pakistan.
From 2003-2016 they had critical wins in major events & in 13 years their youth grew up into adult men who strongly believe their team’s superiority.

It is similar to us. From 1986-1995 we so much heavily dominated india that when Pakistan even lost at Bangalore 96 & Dhaka 98 finals even 99 Old Trafford, we kept on dismissing it as
One off tukka wins fluke wins. 2003 opened our eyes and only then we realized that journey which started in 1996 was no tukka they are ahead of us now.

Let’s not get too ahead of ourselves

India have key players who are due a better performance against us.

Let’s not get too ahead of ourselves

India have key players who are due a better performance against us.

They performed better other day
Scored 180+ & still lost.

Even with better performances if they lose
It shows something has changed.

India won't even reach finals.

This brings me to @Jeeteshsaxena. What happen bro, you were saying we will beat Pakistan in all 3 games?

Where did we go wrong?

:uakmal

Rohit and Kohli both are on last legs and bhuvi won't survive much as he is already 32 and a fast bowler. Things will surely take a turn once this lot leaves and the upcoming players are not as good as few Indian posters make them out.

This Pakistani team isn't a mental midget surely they are nowhere close to the team of 1999-2016 but they can hold on to their nerves and won't surrender even before the first ball has been bowled. The fighting spirit has made us win and the upcoming players specifically bowlers which are coming through are just exceptional. Imagine a bowler like Amir has already been forgotten who felt like a messiah back in 2016 and 2017. If India and Pakistan make it to the final and somehow Pakistan clinches a victory then I will surely say that the Indian domination phase is over now and we will start our match in T20 WC even steven.

[B[This brings me to @Jeeteshsaxena. [/B]What happen bro, you were saying we will beat Pakistan in all 3 games?

Where did we go wrong?

I told him there is a thin line between confidence and overconfidence but he never learns. :inti

I said this before the tournament started Pakistan is a better team than India.

Pakistan is poor in ODI and Test cricket. There is a non existent middle order and they don’t have a proven opening bowler other than Shaheen.

Let’s not forget there is no spinner in Test cricket.

T20 is the only format Pakistan are half decent in because Rizwan and Babar have consistently batted half the overs for the team.

India is a much stronger all around team.

As a Pakistan fan I can't believe some of fans getting soooo ahead of ourselves after just 1 marginal win.

I'm hoping our players in the squad are nowhere like our fans

As a Pakistan fan I can't believe some of fans getting soooo ahead of ourselves after just 1 marginal win.

For now India is miles ahead of us but things are going to change once rohit kohli and bhuvi leaves and now its a matter of 2-3 years.

Bhai two things

1) No...this Asia cup win will represent nothing crucial. It's T20s in UAE. So no need to get ahead of ourselves and inferring anything on the macro scale.

2) Why use centurion as the turning point? That was a great victory for India and may have shown things to come but didn't happen for a while.

We started playing tons again post 2003 and centurion had no mental bearing. Ind won a few big odi series in Pak no doubt.. but we also nicked one series in India 2005 with a real garbage team. And won the jubilee game in calcutta. Also we won two champions trophy games vs them in 2004 and 2009 and kitply final.

I would say 2007 t20 final for T20I and mohali 2011 for ODI was the point after which there was no doubt which team is winning. 2014 asia cup afridi six being an exception/aberration to the rule.

Too early to tell.

But, Pakistan are currently better than India in T20 and possibly ODI too.

It is only in Test where India are better.

What about the marginal win that India got I the previews game ?

Pakistan is poor in ODI and Test cricket. There is a non existent middle order and they don’t have a proven opening bowler other than Shaheen.

Let’s not forget there is no spinner in Test cricket.

T20 is the only format Pakistan are half decent in because Rizwan and Babar have consistently batted half the overs for the team.

India is a much stronger all around team.

Let's not forget matches are taking place in UAE also.

Pakistan are a 3 man team with the odd cameo from other players. I expect them to be near the bottom of the table at the WT20.

Believe it or not IPL will kill Indian cricket, There have been so much hype about Their young played but nothing to really show for, to them it’s just another game and they are their to play the fire to get over the like seems to be dying and if they don’t get selected for the Indian team so be it they have a couple hundred thousand dollars Contact waiting for them.

I think IPL is ruining Indian cricket.

You would think that IPL would help India's T20 team. But, that didn't happen.

India haven't won a World T20 since IPL started.

We have defeated India once in this year's Asia Cup & came very close in the other game, don't really care if Pakistan win the final vs India or not as long as we can win the all important game at MCG on 23rd.

After Kohli, there is no other batsman in the Indian setup who looks like he could dominate cricket for a period of time. They have some decent ones who will do well here and there but no one even comparable to a Babar Azam.

Without a star batsman, the Indian team will struggle psychologically. A world class batsman is as necessary to the Indian psyche as a world class fast bowler is to the Pakistani psyche.

The IPL will ensure that the old guard from India don't stick around too long and before we know it, the natural order will be restored with Pakistan dominating India in international cricket, InshaAllah.

We don’t need a “centurion moment”.

We have beaten them plenty of times especially the 2017 trophy final.

I think most of the shock and awe factor is self inflicted by the pakistan fans.

We don’t need a “centurion moment”.

We have beaten them plenty of times especially the 2017 trophy final.

I think most of the shock and awe factor is self inflicted by the pakistan fans.

The 2017 Champions Trophy thrashing on the biggest stage, the T20 World Cup "Mauka" match, the Asia cup Super Four win, Afridi's sixes to Ashwin, the 'Aaney Do' series and the several other great moments and close matches all happened within the last decade.

Pakistan, in could be argued, have had the advantage.

Both teams haven't reached the final yet. They might reach it but if you are watching this Asia cup properly you will understand that there is no guarantee at all. It's hard to predict any of the 4 remaining matfhes.

Don't know about that but this Pakistan team look mentally much more stronger than most of their predecessors.

The kind of start India had yesterday, most Pak teams of 2013-19 would have given up and gotten blown away bit by bit but this team is quite a bit different.

You guys are confusing T20 with ODIs. India definitely has the edge over us in ODI cricket. They are a much settled team whereas we have been focusing entirely on T20s. Our ODI strategies are from the 80s. May not be a big deal because ODIs are going to die anyways.

But in T20s, I think it’s a very even contest. We have underperformed in the past but we are starting to become more and more settled thanks to Babar, Rizwan, Shadab and our pace bowlers now.

You guys are confusing T20 with ODIs. India definitely has the edge over us in ODI cricket. They are a much settled team whereas we have been focusing entirely on T20s. Our ODI strategies are from the 80s. May not be a big deal because ODIs are going to die anyways.

But in T20s, I think it’s a very even contest. We have underperformed in the past but we are starting to become more and more settled thanks to Babar, Rizwan, Shadab and our pace bowlers now.

The gap has also closed in ODI cricket. India used to be no1 declining to no3/4 recently. While Pak used to be no 6/7 ranked team but now ranked highest in a decade at no3/no4.
This passes the eye test. Pak ODI has improved and India is no more the top team it used to be with decline of top 3, Chahal and Yadav.

I still don’t agree this is the centurion moment.
Right now both sides are competitive. Indian side will gain strength if they can improve their selection and allow some young guns in the team. They are missing wicket taking options in this line up, and I strongly think it’s time for the likes of Ishan, Umran, Gill, Samson and co to bring fresh air to Indian cricket.

In 2003, when Pak made 275, my friends and I were already celebrating. We couldn’t event imagine India could possibly chase that against our bowling, we all got in a car to celebrate and there were other people on the streets already celebrating. Such was the dominance of Pak over India leading up to that game.

If we beat them in 50 over WC next year, then yes, it will be the same centurion moment for us. India will be in transition when Rohit and Virat retires and we must definitely dominate them for a few years.

Pakistan are fortunate they didn't play India so much in the last 15 years. It would have been painful.

India themselves should have won much more with the team they had - particularly ICC tournaments.

It is transition time for India. Pakistan is usually always in transition - and still are.

I'd say India still has upper edge in each game they enter into against Pakistan but it's not 80:20 any more - more like 60:40.

For now India is miles ahead of us but things are going to change once rohit kohli and bhuvi leaves and now its a matter of 2-3 years.

Lol, same was said when Sehwag, Tendulkar, Dhoni, UV was about to leave.

India is a big country and they will always have plenty of options.

India will remain a better Test and ODI side than Pakistan for a long long time to come unless something drastic happens... like another sport taking the no.1 spot from cricket in India or an implosion in the Indian economy.

In T20Is, it'll always be about little things going your way in key moments. Worst format to measure the overall stature of a team.

It is not dying and it won’t die also. They have brought back CT , it is one of the major title. May be the PCB also thinks this way and they have left Pakistan look clueless with their team and players like danish aziz, Khusdil and Asif ali getting selected for middle order.

Many wrong assumptions here in this thread starting with the OP

India will reach the finals and beat Pakistan easily

India will remain a better Test and ODI side than Pakistan for a long long time to come unless something drastic happens... like another sport taking the no.1 spot from cricket in India or an implosion in the Indian economy.

In T20Is, it'll always be about little things going your way in key moments. Worst format to measure the overall stature of a team.

Chalo jee from "any IPL team can beat Pakistan T20I team to this". You love giving these OTT statements, don't you? :inti

Of for goodness sake..First we got the stupid big four hype nonsense..now centurion moment..oh bhai don't project Indian crickets moments on Pakistan.. we don't have centurion moments or rubbish like that..

The reason they have a centurion moment is because until then they were consistently awful. We have been alot better than that...winning trophies and getting to semi finals and finals..

Yay India media ka kaam bund kuro..

We are just re setting the scales to their normal position

Don't know about that but this Pakistan team look mentally much more stronger than most of their predecessors.

The kind of start India had yesterday, most Pak teams of 2013-19 would have given up and gotten blown away bit by bit but this team is quite a bit different.

Finally someone has spoken
Good post

Chalo jee from "any IPL team can beat Pakistan T20Iteam to this". You love giving these OTT statements, don't you? :inti

Can only imagine how much you got hurt by that statement of mine that you still keep on moaning about that twice a week. :91:

And there's nothing wrong with what I said. Pakistan doesn't have the players to even compete consistently with India in the longer formats. Babar and Shaheen are the only saving graces.

T20 is a volatile fickle format. You just need to be half decent to compete or even win against any side in the world. So I'll say this again... any IPL team can beat Pakistan without much of a fess. You can cry about it all you want. :)

Can only imagine how much you got hurt by that statement of mine that you still keep on moaning about that twice a week. :91:

And there's nothing wrong with what I said. Pakistan doesn't have the players to even compete consistently with India in the longer formats. Babar and Shaheen are the only saving graces.

T20 is a volatile fickle format. You just need to be half decent to compete or even win against any side in the world. So I'll say this again... any IPL team can beat Pakistan without much of a fess. You can cry about it all you want. :)

Matlab humne Imam, Fakhar aur Haris Sohail ki 50+ wali average Diwali ke liye rakhi hui hai?

This brings me to @Jeeteshsaxena. What happen bro, you were saying we will beat Pakistan in all 3 games?

Where did we go wrong?

We are living i strange times. Zimbabwe also beat Australia :virat1

Of for goodness sake..First we got the stupid big four hype nonsense..now centurion moment..oh bhai don't project Indian crickets moments on Pakistan.. we don't have centurion moments or rubbish like that..

The reason they have a centurion moment is because until then they were consistently awful. We have been alot better than that...winning trophies and getting to semi finals and finals..

Yay India media ka kaam bund kuro..

We are just re setting the scales to their normal position

I have never heard anything about " Centurion Moment " from Indian fans. Only heard it from Pakistani fans on this forum

We have " 2001 Eden Gardens moment " which possibly changed trajectory of Indian cricket

India is a way better team in all three formats, even in t20s.

Pakistan won bcoz the game is being played in UAE which definitely is the worst place for our Indian batsman and bowlers(and adopted home of Pakistan) and still we are 1-1.

In other conditions especially in Australia the margin between the two teams will get pronounced.

Hiccups like this happen, but we are certainly a better team, let's wait for the finals.

Pakistan won bcoz the game is being played in UAE which definitely is the worst place for our Indian batsman and bowlers(and adopted home of Pakistan) and still we are 1-1.

In other conditions especially in Australia the margin between the two teams will get pronounced.

Hiccups like this happen, but we are certainly a better team, let's wait for the finals.

How often do the two teams play in Australia? Lol.

Very weird logic.

Whether you like to admit it or not, Pak Bharat games will be pre-dominantly in T20 arena from now on. ODI cricket is dying a slow painful death. It will be extinct in the next 10 years. There is no chance of any test series in the near future as well.

So all said and done, T20s mostly on the sub-C pitches, so it’s going to be even stevens, as is usually the case. No one side dominates the other for a very long period of time. If you think otherwise, you are mistaken. Even when one side is at their peak and the other is not, we have moments like the 83 World Cup win or the 2017 CT win.

Matlab humne Imam, Fakhar aur Haris Sohail ki 50+ wali average Diwali ke liye rakhi hui hai?

Imam is the Bhuvaneshwar Kumar of Pakistan batting. He's a harmless "performer" who will have "impressive" stats but not the one who will make the top teams sweat. Fakhar is more miss than hit. Can win one game out of 5 against any attack but will go AWOL in others. And Haris Sohail... when's the last time he even played int'l cricket? :91:

I would also like to add a point, India is going through a period of self denial since 2017 , they still genuinely believe their Cricket team in limited overs is vastly superior to Pakistan.
From 2003-2016 they had critical wins in major events & in 13 years their youth grew up into adult men who strongly believe their team’s superiority.

It is similar to us. From 1986-1995 we so much heavily dominated india that when Pakistan even lost at Bangalore 96 & Dhaka 98 finals even 99 Old Trafford, we kept on dismissing it as
One off tukka wins fluke wins. 2003 opened our eyes and only then we realized that journey which started in 1996 was no tukka they are ahead of us now.

What non-sense. We still dominated India between 96 - 2000 in bilaterals

With all due respect Dear, slightly polite language will be much appreciative. One can disagree with anyone’s point but using strong language does not serve the purpose.

Coming to your point. I do not think so.

India beat Pakistan 4-1 in Sahara cup 1997
India also beat Pakistan in Independence cup final 1998.
Rajesh Chohan six to Saqlain at Karachi 1997

They also won Delhi Test kumble 10/74

Sahara cup 1996 was very tight affair 3-2 in pak favor.

Yes Pakistan won more matches including cup finals in 1999 sharjah and bangalore + Anwar’s 194.

But india had their moment too. We can not say “ complete domination”. No.
Complete domination was from 86-95.

To be honest it will be closer than you think even in Australia. A lot of our pacers will do well there and many have good experience in Big Bash ie - Haris Rauf, Mohd Hasnain. Also, Fakhar will be way more effective in Australia. Pakistans middle order however will struggle - Asif, Khushdil and Nawaz have no experience there. Ifti has 2 50s there however.

Stupid thread. Centurion actually didn't change anything in the first place. Pakistan had a horrible tournament and lost almost every match. Most of the player who played in the game retired after the tournament (the main ones).

Pakistan also managed to compete against India fairly in the years ahead until 2010 despite having significantly weaker team.

This is just T20 and win will give Pakistan confidence but every day is a new day specially in LOIs.

At least they have Babar and Shaheen. Even Sri Lanka has managed to beat India today. What an arrogant fan you are. Most probably you will come around World Cup now. :inti

I told you there is a thin line between confidence and overconfidence. Who got a kick and an egg on his face now? :inti

That was a question not a prediction or a statement. Learn the difference. :inti

I am still right saying that your pity happiness only comes from what other posters say and you pointing out. Why would you care what I post? Gladly living in your mind 24 X 7 rent free

Both teams haven't reached the final yet. They might reach it but if you are watching this Asia cup properly you will understand that there is no guarantee at all. It's hard to predict any of the 4 remaining matfhes.

As I told people, very hard to call any match.

Indians always over-rate themselves and think they are the best when in reality they are on par with other teams.

Indians have a tendency to inflate and over rate themselves in everything, not just cricket. Few years of playing good and they suddenly think they are the next WI of 70s or Australia of 2000s. Mirrors pretty well outside of cricket as well.

Yes let's waite to the final.