If the ICC were to ban Pakistan from the WT20 or future tournaments, would you really mind?

pakistani pride

Not playing a game because the other team refuses to shake hands? I feel this has been overblown big time and should never have been made such a big issue. Just get on with your business. The Indians never liked you in the first place.

It’s nice to see Agha playing well, and yes, Pakistan has shown some improvement in white ball cricket. But structurally, the team is miles behind where modern cricket is. In red ball cricket especially, Pakistan has basically become a minnow. Not even being able to win TEST matches at home. Wickets are roads or spinning miles from Day 1.

What frustrates me most is the inability to make big calls. Take the example where Babar and Shadab yesterday played a completely meaningless game even though the series was already won. That was a perfect opportunity to blood a youngster, but instead they went with the so called seniors again. That mindset is holding them back, Fakhar, Babar, Shadab etc have failed too many times in ICC events now, its time to move on.

The biggest downfall for me has been the pace bowling. Most of the times pacers look unfit and slow. They have turned into 2x2-over specialists who cant maintain intensity and high pace.

On top of that, the so called experts in Pakistan are painfully to listen to. They are still talking about anchoring innings in T20s, taking the game deep, and relying on “specialist” players. The reality is that modern white ball cricket has moved on. Flexibility, intent, and adaptability matter far more now.

At this point, Pakistan cricket feels so out of depth with the modern game that I honestly would not even care if they were banned. Not because I want them punished, but because the system itself refuses to improve.

It depends their reason for banning.

Teams performance goes up and down. It's part of sport, no need to get so sad about it that you never want to play again.

I'm not sure on what basis ICC can ban a team from all tournaments on the basis of them non playing one match.

Then what is it? There is only one response to this, show some spine and beat them, but we all know how that works out.
Ok, well I’m happy to play them if the government allows it. I can’t do anything in this situation can I?

But I stand by the government’s decision to boycott. This was long overdue.

Bharat and Pakistan today are enemies in true sense, it's not just politics or the battlefield anymore, the hate runs deep in every level of our society. I am glad Pakistan took this call, and I am completely with @Rana bhai when he says that a ban is still better than licking BCCI boots. Resepct brother.

Bharat and Pakistan today are enemies in true sense, it's not just politics or the battlefield anymore, the hate runs deep in every level of our society. I am glad Pakistan took this call, I am completely with @Rana bhai when he says that a boycott is still better than BCCI fooling its nation. Resepct brother.

Corrected (y)

Ok.

So what should we do now?
I have stated this before. India is infected with GNV which prevents it from taking things to its logical end point.

Pakistan has taken a very good first step. The next is to announce they will not play in knockouts also. Disengage from India completely

Bharat and Pakistan today are enemies in true sense, it's not just politics or the battlefield anymore, the hate runs deep in every level of our society. I am glad Pakistan took this call, and I am completely with @Rana bhai when he says that a ban is still better than licking BCCI boots. Resepct brother.
How is playing and actually beating them licking ICC/BCCI boots?

Don't make it double sided. Pakistanis in general still dont have deeply rooted hatred for India, like India does against Pakistan. Your entire government, bollywood, media and social media feeds on the name Pakistan. India is head over heels obsessed with Pakistan, while our government, media, dramas whatever form of entertainment barely ever utter the name India.

Kashmir Occupation and Hindudva sanghi extremist is another topic all together

I have stated this before. India is infected with GNV which prevents it from taking things to its logical end point.

Pakistan has taken a very good first step. The next is to announce they will not play in knockouts also. Disengage from India completely
Ok. Yeh wish bhi poori kardenge

Aur kuch?

How is playing and actually beating them licking ICC/BCCI boots?

You have to make tough calls to send across a message. Cricket is a dying sport and not the end of the world or life. You eventually have to stand for principles and what's right. Pakistan cricket will survive regardless as it has so far. As for quality of team, Pakistan is still a pretty solid test team at home and does well in T20s most of the times, but this has nothing to do with the game and everything to do with giving them a response in the tone they understand.

Pak-India game generates the most amount of money in cricket, they ll start getting in line once you hit them where it hurts the dollar pujaris the most. ICC should have never allowed India to play disgusting dirty politics all along, no other sporting body allows one country to dictate and bends over backwards for it

As per Indian media sources 🤭🤭🤭

The ICC is set to hold a board meeting to address Pakistan's threat to boycott its 2026 T20 World Cup match against India, warning of severe sanctions—including a massive cut in funding and the potential suspension of international recognition for the PSL—if the boycott proceeds.

According to Cricinfo, there's no decision on whether to meet yet. I guess they're waiting to see if there's official communication from the PCB and what if any is the reaction from the broadcaster before they meet. There's nothing to discuss immediately.

Now its a chess puzzle. Icc is getting ready with all answers not to waste time.more the drama more the swift response and harsh reaction for delaying tactics.

Then what is it? There is only one response to this, show some spine and beat them, but we all know how that works out.
If the opposing side wants to dirty the game, you always have the right to one up them. If you do not want to shake hands, pose for pictures, collect trophy from our rep... then we feel no need to play you. It is totally justified response.

PCB can say that this is not the spirit in which we play sport. If its not being upheld by the opposition, we will just skip.

Any legal challenges to those?

Not playing a game because the other team refuses to shake hands? I feel this has been overblown big time and should never have been made such a big issue. Just get on with your business. The Indians never liked you in the first place.

It’s nice to see Agha playing well, and yes, Pakistan has shown some improvement in white ball cricket. But structurally, the team is miles behind where modern cricket is. In red ball cricket especially, Pakistan has basically become a minnow. Not even being able to win TEST matches at home. Wickets are roads or spinning miles from Day 1.

What frustrates me most is the inability to make big calls. Take the example where Babar and Shadab yesterday played a completely meaningless game even though the series was already won. That was a perfect opportunity to blood a youngster, but instead they went with the so called seniors again. That mindset is holding them back, Fakhar, Babar, Shadab etc have failed too many times in ICC events now, its time to move on.

The biggest downfall for me has been the pace bowling. Most of the times pacers look unfit and slow. They have turned into 2x2-over specialists who cant maintain intensity and high pace.

On top of that, the so called experts in Pakistan are painfully to listen to. They are still talking about anchoring innings in T20s, taking the game deep, and relying on “specialist” players. The reality is that modern white ball cricket has moved on. Flexibility, intent, and adaptability matter far more now.

At this point, Pakistan cricket feels so out of depth with the modern game that I honestly would not even care if they were banned. Not because I want them punished, but because the system itself refuses to improve.
No because honor is more important. If we stop playing cricket that is fine but cannot accept disrespect.

Plenty. Both sides - ICC and Pakistan will end up paying lawyers millions of dollars over the next year or so.
Hmm... Would be surprised if ICC would go that route knowing their reaction can be legally challenged. And if they do, it will be totally out of spite.

Not at all

It is what it is.

Would rather die in this manner than live in the way they want us to.

I don't think ICC can do anything to Pakistan. Pakistan just lose points. That's it.

Boycotting a game has happened before too. NZ didn't go to Kenya for 2003 WC, Australia and West Indies didn't go to Sri Lanka for 1996 WC, England didn't go to Zimbabwe for 2003 WC etc.

It is cringy how some people bootlick India without any shame. :inti

Disrespect of humanity.

I can’t stand that. We are all humans with the same blood colour, who deserve the same respect and rights as human beings.

BCCI crossed that line.

Correct.

Indians try to introduce caste-like discrimination wherever they go. It may work inside India but shouldn't work outside of India. People shouldn't be okay with discrimination.

Hmm... Would be surprised if ICC would go that route knowing their reaction can be legally challenged. And if they do, it will be totally out of spite.
I don't think spite comes into it. There's definitely going to be a financial loss from the cancellation of the most lucrative game of the tournament. ICC has 2 options

a. To spread the loss evenly among all the teams in proportion to their revenue share
b. To disproportionately hit Pakistan. Given that Pakistan's share is only 6%...even that may not be enough to cover the loss.

I'm sure all the boards will happily vote for Option b to protect their share of the money. Here's where spite may come in. If they try to fine Pakistan for more, it could get really legal and ugly.

I don't think spite comes into it. There's definitely going to be a financial loss from the cancellation of the most lucrative game of the tournament. ICC has 2 options

a. To spread the loss evenly among all the teams in proportion to their revenue share
b. To disproportionately hit Pakistan. Given that Pakistan's share is only 6%...even that may not be enough to cover the loss.

I'm sure all the boards will happily vote for Option b to protect their share of the money. Here's where spite may come in. If they try to fine Pakistan for more, it could get really legal and ugly.
Associates cant deal with any reduction in revenue. Its a death blow for them.As Pcb/US admin in revzsports channel said, its not possible by pcb to pay that amount too.only left choice for icc is to go after psl and other series hosted by pak.

As of now no metting will take place , they are waiting for official later from PCB, if they do not respond within a certain time frame them this will be happen. 🍿

Advance congratulations for RIP Pakistan cricket and PSL

:klopp :kp

Not at all

It is what it is.

Would rather die in this manner than live in the way they want us to.

Pakistan remains a priority team for ICC dear. They allowed you the hybrid model and also reciprocal treatment wrt India matches in ICC.

You wanna fight for another nation now, it’s a different matter.

If they try to fine Pakistan for more, it could get really legal and ugly.
This is where I wanted to engage on the CAS thread.

Legal route: MPA are contracts with remedies for breaking a contract.

ICC case will probably be easy. Why do you think it will ugly and for who?

Doubt PCB has any leverage in Dubai. Not sure this fall under CAS. So PCB is going to ICC’s DRC against ICC?

A
Associates cant deal with any reduction in revenue. Its a death blow for them.As Pcb/US admin in revzsports channel said, its not possible by pcb to pay that amount too.only left choice for icc is to go after psl and other series hosted by pak.
How will going after PSL help the ICC revenue?

There is precedent for teams refusing to play each other, although admittedly not on neutral territory, but still there is some precedent.

PCB didn't negotiate the TV rights deals on ICC behalf, in a slightly outlandish hypothetical scenario the Pakistan team could have got ill and unable to field a team for this match, and conceded a walkover, or in the more plausible scenario the match could have been rained off and points shared.

Broadcaster would just have had to eat this cost in those cases I assume.

Your dreams of punishment seems more from an Indian lust against Pakistan than anything practical. Sure India has considerable sway within the ICC but If the ICC moves in some of the ways Indian posters are suggesting it becomes a legal issue. And while it might be powerful in India, and can sway some ICC internal votes, the fact that ICC chairman is son of the Indian home minister won't have much bearing on a legal case.

I haven't seen any contracts, but I can't see how PCB will be liable for these costs, it certainly won't be straight forward and will require legal fees probably in excess of the losses themselves to try and chase in court.

A

How will going after PSL help the ICC revenue?
I said what ex pcb admin said in an interview about icc further ways.Lust and grooming are not in my dictionary FYI 😒.

U r talking as though pcb has fort of options .no one cant see anything apart from psl . already most of teams are making losses in bilaterals.

I said what ex pcb admin said in an interview about icc further ways.Lust and grooming are not in my dictionary FYI 😒.

U r talking as though pcb has fort of options .no one cant see anything apart from psl . already most of teams are making losses in bilaterals.
What did he say?

Playing this game (in a farcical manner) is in no ones interest other than ICC, BCCI and PCB finance department. PCB has taken a decision that they can do without this money.

ICC cannot Ban Pakistan....

Playing this game (in a farcical manner) is in no ones interest other than ICC, BCCI and PCB finance department. PCB has taken a decision that they can do without this money.
Do we have a clear definition of what that amount is? Hopefully it’s the yearly distribution

What did he say?
That's the thing i posted rt . Icc won't have any other choice other than coming after psl and bilateral series.

If the revenue lost is 250 million and pcb revenue is 35 million per year, then its stupidity to expect a full recovery from pcb .so icc have to go after pcb in different ways .Any active international player can't participate in psl,if its not sanctioned. Only free agents can participate.Bi lateral series can be targeted and other teams can be forced out to cancel their tours.There is women's t20 wc in June and men's odi wc In next year.so its not one league match boycott anymore .He sounded pretty matured and was able to think as icc office bearer than pak citizen .

That's the thing i posted rt . Icc won't have any other choice other than coming after psl and bilateral series.

If the revenue lost is 250 million and pcb revenue is 35 million per year, then its stupidity to expect a full recovery from pcb .so icc have to go after pcb in different ways .Any active international player can't participate in psl,if its not sanctioned. Only free agents can participate.Bi lateral series can be targeted and other teams can be forced out to cancel their tours.There is women's t20 wc in June and men's odi wc In next year.so its not one league match boycott anymore .He sounded pretty matured and was able to think as icc office bearer than pak citizen .
Cns you share what he said?

I have only seen Ehsan Mani and he was cortical of the iCC not saying anything else.

This is where I wanted to engage on the CAS thread.

Legal route: MPA are contracts with remedies for breaking a contract.

ICC case will probably be easy. Why do you think it will ugly and for who?

Doubt PCB has any leverage in Dubai. Not sure this fall under CAS. So PCB is going to ICC’s DRC against ICC?
As I said, it really depends on the force majeure clauses in each agreement and how courts interpret them.

Jio will try to cut payment. ICC will try to plead (in court, if necessary) that this was an act outside it's control like a natural disaster.
If Jio's case succeeds, ICC will first cut Pakistan's payment, Pakistan will make a similar plea.
If ICC's case succeeds, they will try to extract further damages from the PCB (i.e. beyond their share of ICC revenues). That will depend on the verbiage of the MPA.

Whether the CAS or any other Arbitrator has jurisdiction will be written into the MPA itself. As will likely the court's jurisdiction.

This is not something you need to worry about. Pakistan have now taken a hard and open stance against India which we are happy about. This should have been done years ago. We will survive like we have done all these years. Indians dont need to worry about PSL or anything else.

BCCI should have known that if they bring politics into cricket then other countries can play it too. India have bene dealt a lesson on multiple front from many different angles (not necessarily to do with with Pakistan) in recent times and they will do well to sort thing out within.

Plenty. Both sides - ICC and Pakistan will end up paying lawyers millions of dollars over the next year or so.
ICC can not sue any government.ICC is sports body.It is not an international law court.It’s mandate it to run cricket like FIFA runs football.

They cant ban Pakistan from future tournaments because it basically kills any ICC tournament from a broadcasting revenue point of view, so all the contracts will have to be renegotiated. I think there will be financial penalties and maybe something on NoCs for other board players on league tournaments. ICC has already stated that bilateral cricket is out of their purview and they wont do anything regarding it.

Its not football with a lot of major nations playing , its already a niche sport

My college friends work at JioHotstar & they have confirmed about these penalty clauses in place for these events
The one friend I had at Hotstar...very senior guy has left the company so I don't have any information now but in the old agreement, ICC had an obligation to schedule an India-Pakistan game at every tournament. There was however a 'Best Effort' clause i.e. if the game didn't happen despite ICC's best efforts (reserve day etc.), they were not liable.

Thats what MPA says, there are clauses of Govt involvement - so ICC cannot sue Pak govt or PCB either as per laws.
Like I said u will find out soon. Companies dont sign billion dollar deals without iron clad legal protection. Anyways I doubt u have any idea about corporate contracts & legal enforcement

So JioHotstar will sue ICC for damages & then ICC will counter sue PCB for the same amount

Thats how contracts are enforced in broadcasting business
At this point it will become a long and protracted case.

Jiostar can definitely sue ICC and be successful. iCC Vs PCB im less sure.

ICC has negotiated these contracts not PCB. So they will bear the brunt initially.

So JioHotstar will sue ICC for damages & then ICC will counter sue PCB for the same amount

Thats how contracts are enforced in broadcasting business
Thanks for letting us know, nobody else in the world knew this. The decision has been made which is not to play the game against India. Now both the BCC1 and ICC should have done more to make sure this decision does not get made earlier.

Jio has already sought to withdraw from the ICC contract even before the T20 world cup. This was a horribly overvalued deal which star bid for on assumptions that didnt pan out. They'll just use this to get out of the deal without paying any massive damages and the contracts will have to be issued again

Why? Do you have insight into the MPA? I don't think it's a public document.

That’s not really how ICC events or broadcast contracts work which you and @NishanKonar trying to say.
Jio/Hotstar’s contract is with the ICC, not PCB, so they can’t directly sue PCB and ICC cant counter sue PCB. At most, ICC and broadcaster absorb it under force-majeure/government-restriction clauses, which exist specifically for situations like this.

ICC also cannot automatically pass 100%+ losses to one board just because a single match wasn’t played, especially when a sovereign government order is involved. That would collapse the MPA system itself.

So realistically, punishment will be loss of points and partial revenue adjustment.