If you could give any motivational or any advice to a current player who would it be ?

Hasan123

Test Star
Sometimes I watch games and see a certain player do something to annoy me in terms of dismissal or technical aspect. I then think, I wonder what advice they get.

So it got me thinking, if you could have 5 minutes with any player and advice him on anything who would it be and what would you say? The player doesn't need to be a proven player or it doesn't need to be an experienced player.

For me I would pick KL Rahul. I would love to understand his mentality more. I would advice him, there is a place for him in the Indian team in all 3 formats. But he needs to show more intensity and back his ability instead of being cautious.

2 other mentions would be Kusal Mendis, I think he is really talented and would love to know where it has gone wrong for him in his opinion. And the other mention would be Quinton De Kock, I want to know why he was so disinterested in captaincy when he has South African cricket at his feet due to his ability and being the best player.

What about you guys? [MENTION=131701]Mamoon[/MENTION] [MENTION=53290]Markhor[/MENTION] [MENTION=134809]sensible-indian-fan[/MENTION] [MENTION=139664]street cricketer[/MENTION] [MENTION=147314]topspin[/MENTION] [MENTION=2016]Rana[/MENTION] @Saj

Ask Abdullah Shafiq and Haider Ali to play as much red ball cricket as possible before it's too late in their development. Even playing some league cricket in England to gain exposure against swing and seam conditions would be beneficial instead of overdosing on T20 leagues.

That's the only way they'll learn art of constructing a long innings.

Ask Abdullah Shafiq and Haider Ali to play as much red ball cricket as possible before it's too late in their development. Even playing some league cricket in England to gain exposure against swing and seam conditions would be beneficial instead of overdosing on T20 leagues.

That's the only way they'll learn art of constructing a long innings.

Ahh that's kinda obvious but it sums up the intelligence in terms of us developing batters that they need this ramming down their throats. Let's see what they do.

I have a real soft spot for all u21 cricketers. I don’t mind if they fail every match until they reach the age of 24-25. That’s how long I am willing to invest in a player that has emerged on the scene at the age of 17/18.

The player I will pick in this regard is Naseem Shah. It’s not that I think he is a world class bowler, but I would like him to become a good, reliable bowler for Pakistan. A bit like the underrated Rana Naveed Ul Hassan who I thought was an excellent seamer in our 2005/6 Attack of Shoaib Akhtar, Mohammad Asif and Rana Naveed. I would like Naseem Shah to develop a natural outswinger (to the right hander), and focus solely on this as his stock delivery. Full and straight, on off-stump, 4th and 5th stump at 140-145kmh.

The clear issue I see with Naseem is that he definitely has no rhythm which is evident with his excessive no balls. And his head tilts too much too the left at the point of release which makes him bowl the regular short and wide, harmless ball. To me, Naseem Shah’s action is just an exaggerated version of Shahid Afridi’s release of the ball. So many times I have thought Naseem’s action at a the moment resonates Shahid Afridi’s quicker 75-80mph release of the ball (for some weird reason).

I think Naseem just needs to be sat down and should go through the videos of all the good Right arm seamers who bowl at a similar pace to him, and have a similar action to him. He needs to study what they are doing right whilst what he is doing wrong.he also just needs to be patient, whilst the fans also need to be patient with him. He will come good InshaAllah

My advise would be to the senior duo of Azhar and Fawad to play English County Cricket and improve your game more so in away conditions and also against how to handle yourself in a nation that utilizes the Dukes ball.

If I see any young player I would advise him to stay at school or college, get some education while playing cricket. Too many uneducated cricketers we are producing lately.

My advise would be to the senior duo of Azhar and Fawad to play English County Cricket and improve your game more so in away conditions and also against how to handle yourself in a nation that utilizes the Dukes ball.

I don’t think that will help players who are over 35 lol.

I think this is our problem we see age and think that's it, it's not over from what i've seen both these oldies still have it and another great example is Tendulkar, Ross Taylor and Hafeez.

Age is just a number.

I think this is our problem we see age and think that's it, it's not over from what i've seen both these oldies still have it and another great example is Tendulkar, Ross Taylor and Hafeez.

Age is just a number.

Sachin Tendulkar is one of the greatest players of all times. I would not use him as an example. Hafeez has been great but it's been in T20s. Azhar Ali and Fawad Alam are well over 30 as I said, simply playing against a different type of ball will not make them better players. They have reached a stage where their techniques cannot be significantly changed. Azhar Ali has continually had issues with his head position in the last few years, Fawad Alam has been successful in domestic cricket with his technique. I'm baffled at how you think playing against a different ball will improve players in their late 30s.

Last bit of advise is to Sharjeel with regards to his fitness. Fitness is something that shouldn't be seen as a chore but in fact embraced, start doing some exercises that will fully work your body and make you sweat.

My personal recommendation is doing the high intensity training apps you get on phones which really make you sweat (do them in your own time or out on the field), after dinner go for walks with the Mrs if the weather is good.

Sachin Tendulkar is one of the greatest players of all times. I would not use him as an example. Hafeez has been great but it's been in T20s. Azhar Ali and Fawad Alam are well over 30 as I said, simply playing against a different type of ball will not make them better players. They have reached a stage where their techniques cannot be significantly changed. Azhar Ali has continually had issues with his head position in the last few years, Fawad Alam has been successful in domestic cricket with his technique. I'm baffled at how you think playing against a different ball will improve players in their late 30s.

Well it's not just the ball but the conditions and besides the Dukes ball allows for reverse swing and usually is tougher to negotiate compared to Kookaburra. In my eyes English County Cricket exposes you to some experienced players (globally) and will aid you as well (to an extent) against the bigger nations.

You can always learn new tricks in my view, just look at Hafeez and how much golf has improved his power hitting. Never let age hold you back, if you are fit and able then you are still capable of doing anything.

Just go look at the stats of fast bowlers that use Dukes vs Kookaburra.

I seriously find it baffling you think playing a certain ball doesn't make a difference, watch the Shoaib Akhtar video about the 2 balls and how much of a difference it makes to a fast bowler.

Umar Akmal.

What can I say, that I haven't already said to him.

What a waste of a career. So much promise and ability, thrown away.

So many promises to change and improve, but the end result was the same.

Umar Akmal.

More of a morbid statement that it's game over as oppose to advise lol

My advise would be to Prithvi Shaw. Stop saying "this technique got me all of those hundreds so I'll stick with it". You were a sitting duck against good bowlers swinging in. Time is still on your side. Improve that technique as you seem to have talent.

My advise would be to Haider Ali. Try to get a county contract ASAP, play 2-3 months of county cricket and make a place for yourself in Test Side. Also be a bit more patient in shot selection. You have the talent to make it big.

This is an intriguing one.

I wouldn't mind spending 5 minutes with Fakhar Zaman. The first thing I'd do is to remind him of his mental toughness and fitness which were instrumental in the following games:

1. 2017 CT final
2. T20 tri-series final vs Australia
3. Unbeaten double hundred vs Zimbabwe

But if he wants to win more matches more for Pakistan, I'd make it clear that he must work as hard as he can to alleviate all the technical issues he has with his batting, particularly against back of the length pitched deliveries otherwise his time is almost up for international cricket.

I'd conclude by saying he's going to be a star in the next WT20 and World Cup just to boost his confidence and help motivate him to succeed.

Umar Akmal.

Have you had any 1-on-1s with UA? What did you make of him?

I would advise Shaheen Shah Afridi to study the fitness regimes of Wasim, Waqar and Imran. At the same time also study what the last gen of pacers Umer Gul, Junaid Khan, Mohammad Amir
did wrong in the way they managed their bodies during season and off season. We often talk about what the first set of bowlers achieve but usually forget the hard yards and effort which went behind the scenes which allowed then to have such long careers. His brother Riaz Afridi also played test cricket and struggled with fitness issues so I am pretty sure he must be guiding him too.

The way all last gen of Pak pacers (2010s) just fell away only few years into their careers was kind of a cricketing anomaly as even WI and Srl had someone like Roach and Lakmal in terms of longevity. So would really want Shaheen and even others around to not make the same mistakes which last gen bowlers made.

The main general advise to all the players would be to give your all to the controllable factors involved in cricket which are fitness, fielding, polishing your natural skill as well as temperament and handling you demeanour outside the field. You cant change the natural ability or skills you have more than maybe a certain point but, everything else is in cricket in terms of preparation is controllable which I believe Pak players really can improve on.

1. Will ask KL to drop his clown act and get his **** together and play impact knocks. Averages arent everything.

2. Will ask Kohli to quit captaincy in LOIs. Jab aa nahi raha tho zabardasti kyo kar raha hai....

3. Request Kohli to make Rahane the temporary test captain for the WTC finals and England tour :P

4. Will ask Kuldeep to take a break from international cricket and fix his issues. Dont play domestics too til you have worked in your issues.

Will add to the list a bit later.

Also would advise young naturally aggressive batsmen like Haider Ali, Hetmyer etc. to revolve their game around the basics of batting. As others have advised they can learn a lot by playing longer format of cricket and at the same time I would advise them to study the top batsmen across the formats around and analyze how in all three formats they just follow the basics of batting and just make slight adjustments around them according to the format.

I would motivate Pant to be more Kohli-esque and not Viru-esque. That is to stay on crease longer and take over the role of batting kingpin. Don't like it when he gets out in 30's as he has shown capacity to stay at crease. Would also request him to ignore my advice for T20.