Imran Khan announces PTI rally in Islamabad next week for PM's resignation

Syed1

ODI Captain
Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf (PTI) Chairman Imran Khan announced his party's intention to hold a rally in Islamabad next Friday to "demand Nawaz Sharif's resignation".

Speaking to reporters outside the National Assembly, Khan posed the question: "How will the PML-N confront the public after the comments made in the Supreme Court judgement?"

"I asked the PML-N supporters, what were you distributing sweets for yesterday? You should have read the full judgement," he said.

"It has never happened in Pakistan's history before that such comments were passed against a sitting prime minister."

"All five judges have raised questions asked by the PTI," he said, adding that the apex court had rejected all defences presented by the PM's counsel.

"Resign while you are being investigated," he urged the premier. "This is not an unusual demand."

Khan also questioned if it was possible for heads of institutions like the National Accountability Bureau to investigate the prime minister while he remained in power.

"If these institutions had been working, they would have stopped corruption already," he asserted.

Khan's announcement came a day after the Supreme Court's decision on the Panamagate case said it would constitute a Joint Investigation Team to probe the Sharif family's wealth.

What was initially hailed as a win by the PML-N later became an embarrassment for the party as its opposition touted the 2:3 split verdict — neither a clean chit, nor a disqualification — with a strongly-worded dissenting note by Justice Asif Saeed Khosa as an indication that the court had been unable to find Nawaz Sharif innocent.

https://www.dawn.com/news/1328348/imran-khan-announces-pti-rally-in-islamabad-next-week-for-pms-resignation

Excellent decision. Don't let these looters and plunderers have even one night of pur-sakoon neend.

Come on now give up man majority of this nation deserves corrupt leaders like Nawaz Zardari and their kids not you. IK should move to UK and spend rest of his life with his kids peacefully and Asad Omar should be made new PTI chief he got age on his side to continue the struggle.

You are right. Pakistanis deserve leaders like Nawaz and Zardari who will ensure majority of the nation remains poor, hungry and illiterate.

That's the sad reality we the minority suffer because of majority votes and thr majority thinks they are voting the right person although that person is making sure nation remains poor hungry and illiterate but well they are happy with metros bridges and roads i guess.

What a strange post. Imran should quit, Pakistan deserve Zardari and Nawaz, but Asad Omar should continue? Why do you want PTI to continue the struggle and that too without Imran. Going by the beginning of your post PTI should just wind up. Very strange post.

Good!!

Khan Saab should lead Rallies across the country..

If nothing else, let the PTI Election Campaign begin from this point..

What a strange post. Imran should quit, Pakistan deserve Zardari and Nawaz, but Asad Omar should continue? Why do you want PTI to continue the struggle and that too without Imran. Going by the beginning of your post PTI should just wind up. Very strange post.

Because Imran is already 65 now and don't have much time energy and age left to continue this struggle where PMLN is looking all set for another 5 years thats means Imran will be 70 in 2023 so why not live peacefuly with kids and give the leadership to someone young like Asad Omar. IK already did his 100% i dont think there is more left in him that he can offer.

How old is Trump?

How old is Hilary and May?

You don't go into politics and be dedicated to serving your country without making massive sacrifices.

Agree with this

Normally I've been critical of PTIs tendency for pointless rallies but this needs to be done

Don't necessary like PTI or Imran but he is in the right here and this needs to be done. Nawaz needs to go.

I was unsure about the aims, strategy and objectives of previous couple of rallies/dharnas but this thing deserves all the protests. This issue of a tainted PM running the affairs of a country should be seen beyond political spheres.

2 most senior judges of SC disqualified him and the remaining 3 want him to face JIT so i can't any reason why he is still in the office?

Not a single of them given him a clean chit and he and his family is celebrating victory?

2 most senior judges of SC disqualified him and the remaining 3 want him to face JIT so i can't any reason why he is still in the office?

Not a single of them given him a clean chit and he and his family is celebrating victory?

Only in Pakistan this is possible. In other countries they would have resigned once the name started circulating in media, adalt ka faisla tou door ki baat hai.

Alas. We are stuck with one of the most shameless PMs in the world.

Jaisay pichlay dharnay se kuch sabit ho gaya tha.

Another time wasting festival.

Jaisay pichlay dharnay se kuch sabit ho gaya tha.

Another time wasting festival.

Any such verdict and the PM doesn't resign would mean mass protests in most countries around the world. IK is being mild here but has little choice to demand the resignation by street protests as the PM refuses to leave power.

Nawaz will not resign until he is thrown out. He will already be worried about facing the JIT and their hard questions. IK should start preparing for the next general elections now that are under a year away, maximum. I feel these elections will be the most important in our history.

Our jahil awaam is still fully in the Noon corner. That is why disqualification through Panama was important. The people don't care if Nawaz is a liar or a thief, they will vote for him solely because that is what they have always done without using their brains.

Walk down street of Lahore or Faislabad or Pindi today and ask them who you will vote for and majority of the people will say "Vote tou Sher da"

Rest in peace Pakistan.

Our jahil awaam is still fully in the Noon corner. That is why disqualification through Panama was important. The people don't care if Nawaz is a liar or a thief, they will vote for him solely because that is what they have always done without using their brains.

Walk down street of Lahore or Faislabad or Pindi today and ask them who you will vote for and majority of the people will say "Vote tou Sher da"

Rest in peace Pakistan.

In that case they deserve it for sure. Those who don't learn deserve to starve and kept like slaves that they are. It''s not rest in peace Pakistan but rest in peace these ignorant fools. Allah when he wants will bring forth another people to take Pakistan forward.

عمران خان یار بس کرو۔

Dear Imran Khan please don't.

Enough of it.

He won't resign. Don't lose voters kindly.

This is not the time for this.

Pride of Pakistan please learn yaar :-/

عمران خان یار بس کرو۔

Enough of it.

Should start his campaign for the 2018 elections with this. I'm All for it.

Daily Dawn in its editorial today analysed two options for the tainted PM. 1) Resign 2) hold early elections to prove his legitimacy.

The verdict could have been historical for entire sub continent, but oh well.. Good luck to Imran trying to get justice..

Should start his campaign for the 2018 elections with this. I'm All for it.

Campaigning like that won't win him majority seats.

PTI is not a Family limited party and such parties need free and fair Intra Party Elections. Success depends alot on this and PTI hasn't been able to carry out elections. They should have done this in 2016 or early 2017.

Secondly IK's major vote bank after KPK is Urban Punjab followed by South Punjab , Khi & Hyd. With poor performance of Khi Mp's and Mna's barring Arif Alvi PTI has lost almost all ground in KHI & Hyd.

So in order to be able to form a coalition weak federal government IK needs his Punjab support to translate into Votes. They have failed to bring Electronic Voting in last 4 years hence again Elections will be engineered so that IK has so chance. He isn't wanted by Establishment or Civilians forces who love to escape accountability and justice.

Street agigation will songs and slogans will yield him nothing.

Lahore High Court Bar Association vows to start bigger street protests than 2007 if NS does not resign. Remember it was the lawyers that brought down Musharraf and the conniving politicians piggy-backed on the lawyers movement.

Not looking so good for Badshah Salamat. @srh;

Two judges of the country´s biggest court call you not being worthy of trust and label you a liar, and yet Nawaz stays as PM! If only, if only just one more judge had the fear of God and the poor public of the country, this could´ve been a landmark in the political history of Pakistan.

However, I´m yet to be convinced on the demand of resignation from Nawaz till the completion of the investigation. That´ll be nothing more than a political stunt and won´t hinder one bit from Nawaz influencing the process of the investigation, because his party, PML-NAWAZ, will stay. So someone please explain how the investigation won´t be effected if let´s say someone else from his party is made the PM on temporary basis? They all worship him and will make for an escape plan for him no matter what.

So a temporary resignation from Nawaz will at best satisfy some egos but not one bit be any helpful in getting rid of the corruption. At least I can´t see how.

I support this decision of Imran Khan lekin yaar, why always in Islamabad? I get the fact that its the capital and what not but yaar, hamari zindagi azaab ban jaati hai. Blocked roads for hours on end (especially in this heat), school and office timings affected, basic necessities like transportation of food and other domestic goods becomes impossible and most of all, the neat, clean and beautiful city of Islamabad is turned into a slum. I love the fact that we're protesting against a cheat Prime Minister and what not but yaar, can't take anymore of these Dharna's, rally's, sit-in's and what not.

I was a huge supporter of Imran Khan back in 2014. In fact, I'm proud to say that I went to the sit-in protest at least 50 times. I was there almost every other day. I even met Imran Khan in the container. But the fact is, any Islamabadi on here will agree with me that these sit-in protests that our politicians decide to host in Islamabad every now and then has a HUGE impact on the livelihood of the city. In case you guys from Lahore, Karachi, Faisalabad or wherever you are don't know, Islamabad is a TINY city. And such a huge rally, protest or whatever it is this time makes living nearly impossible.

عمران خان یار بس کرو۔

Enough of it.

That's what we thought at Islamabad lockdown and Raiwind March but FACT is SC only took the case after Isl lockdown so these pressure tactics seem to be the only thing that work in this system were institutions are useless.

Khan is unbelievable ! Just does not stop fighting for this nation, just doesn't give up.

Can you imagine the state our nation would be in if this wasn't around.

Waste of time. IK should retire. Good ppl of Pak do not get anywhere.

That's what we thought at Islamabad lockdown and Raiwind March but FACT is SC only took the case after Isl lockdown so these pressure tactics seem to be the only thing that work in this system were institutions are useless.

I may get into trouble for saying this.

Who will pressurise ISI ?

Who gave threats to Hawaldaar Arshad Sharif of not to call PM as Mian Panama Sharif ? Pemra ? Gov ? Mpa's ? MNA's ?

What and which pressure ?

Yes Historic decision. Great decision by SC but to what use ?

JIT ? Only hope in JIT was from most powerful institute of Pakistan which itself is a subordinate of an institution and yet that is in bed with GOV. So these pressures will yield nothing.

If the Rishtaydaar boss stands up against all odds to stand with Justice which is highly highly unlikely than Justice will prevail otherwise neither PM will resign nor he or his accomplices will be held accountable for anything including Panama and even with No electricity PML N will win the next Election aswell even if whole country votes for IK.

IF you think that Rishtaydaar will do justice unlike Dawn Leaks than I hope your wishes get fulfilled. It would be good for Pakistan.

Shouldn't Khan spend more time in parliament doing what he gets paid for?

Parliament is just a rubber stamp tell me last time anything good came out of this corrupt parliament? Any legislation or important bill or amendment that had a big Impact on country?

IK should have learned this lesson after JC that the only way to change in the country is by force not through proper forums like courts and assemblies.

I disagree bro, there is no point FORCING change upon people when they are not ready for it. JIT was not his choice but majority decision and IK has to accept it. Do you think people are ready for the change? I haven't seen ANY urgency accept for the PTI supporters unlike what we witnessed in South Korea, Brazil, Denmark etc so its either proper forum or give up (which obviously status quo and their supporters want).

He went to parliament 3 days ago and what happened? They didn't let him speak.

lol what is that supposed to mean?

Khan's attendance to parliament is only 10%, that is second only to Nawaz's own 5%. Imagine I work in a hospital and I am being contracted to work there but I don't bother turning up to do my job 90% of the time. Would I still be allowed to work there?

Both Khan and Nawaz are hypocrits on this matter.

Parliament is just a rubber stamp tell me last time anything good came out of this corrupt parliament? Any legislation or important bill or amendment that had a big Impact on country?

This is not the discussion we're having. My point is Khan is refusing to do the job that the tax payer's money pays him to do. If he does not believe in the legality of parliament, then he should leave it, like he promised to do a long time ago.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr"><a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/PTIIslamabadJalsa?src=hash">#PTIIslamabadJalsa</a>: Impressive show. Saw the strength with my own eyes, strong numbers do signal a warning for the government.</p>— Mansoor Ali Khan (@_Mansoor_Ali) <a href="https://twitter.com/_Mansoor_Ali/status/858001875576082432">April 28, 2017</a></blockquote>
<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Congratulations to PTI for a very impressive jalsa at such a short notice.</p>— Mubasher Lucman (@mubasherlucman) <a href="https://twitter.com/mubasherlucman/status/858024688076959746">April 28, 2017</a></blockquote>
<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Huge no of people hv responded to Jalsa call. It's time for PM to decide lest it gets too late. <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/PTIIslamabadJalsa?src=hash">#PTIIslamabadJalsa</a> <a href="https://t.co/UvGwU9QOOF">pic.twitter.com/UvGwU9QOOF</a></p>— Ameer Abbas (@ameerabbas84) <a href="https://twitter.com/ameerabbas84/status/857994317746520066">April 28, 2017</a></blockquote>
C-hTWJlW0AAJh25.jpg:small

C-gfbJoW0AAdjca.jpg:small

C-g1QoDUwAAlcIm.jpg:small

Strength of the nation right there. Nawaz cannot fight that no matter how many judges he buys.

Amazing show of power by PTI in Karachi today... There are going to be many Jalsas by PTI before and after Ramadan in different cities of Pak.

TBH i was thinking PTI ship is sinking in Karachi because of the local leadership issues there and the rise of PSP but it looks like i was wrong...

And Thank GOD PTI (Imran) is finally talking about local Karachi issues so it's not just another typical IK speech. PTI Karachi leadership had a a week long awareness campaign for this Haqooq-e-Karachi march to prepare the ground.