Imran Khan calls for 'open borders' with Afghanistan

UN talkz

First Class Star
ISLAMABAD - PTI Chairman Imran Khan has said that the future of long-term relations with landlocked Afghanistan lies in the two countries having “open borders” and “free trade”.

Pakistan is unilaterally fencing the nearly 2,600-kilometre, largely porous Afghan border. Authorities defend the recently initiated project, saying it will help stop criminal and terrorist infiltration, as well as boost counterterrorism efforts on both sides. The Afghan government opposes the border fortification plan because Kabul traditionally has disputed the demarcation drawn during the former British rule of the Indian subcontinent. Islamabad dismisses the objections and maintains it inherited the boundary as an international frontier.

“The long-term relationship between Pakistan and Afghanistan is open borders. Rather than building fences, I think it should have open, free trade; it should be like a European Union type of relationship. That’s our long-term future and this would be of enormous benefit to Afghanistan and Pakistan,” Imran Khan told Voice of America (VOA) in a recent interview at his residence and party office in Bani Gala on the outskirts of Islamabad.

Afghanistan relies on Pakistani seaports and land routes for its international trade. Rising diplomatic and political tensions, however, have led to a reduction in the trade and transit activity through Pakistan, according to businessmen on both sides.

Bilateral ties have deteriorated, particularly over the past few years because of a spike in Taliban attacks and territorial advances in Afghanistan. Afghan officials allege that insurgents use sanctuaries on Pakistani soil to plot deadly attacks in Afghanistan, and the neighbouring country’s spy agency is helping them expand their influence in the war-ravaged country. Islamabad denies the charges and accuses the Afghan intelligence agency of sheltering and helping anti-Pakistan militants to orchestrate terrorist attacks in the country.

Cricket-star-turned-politician Khan, who also is popular among cricket-playing Afghan youth, acknowledges it is “the worst of times” in terms of relations between Pakistan and Afghanistan. “The problem is right now there is a lot of suspicion in Afghanistan about Pakistan, the way our foreign policy has gone up and down. And in Pakistan right now there is a lot of suspicion about Afghanistan, that the attacks in Pakistan, the terrorist attacks, are coming from Afghanistan, instigated by India,” said Khan.

He echoed Pakistan's official stance that archival India is using its growing influence, particularly among Afghan security institutions, to allegedly destabilise Pakistan. Kabul and New Delhi both deny the charges.

Khan urged that the United States should desist from intensifying military actions in Afghanistan, underscoring the need to find a political settlement to the protracted Afghan conflict. “I think the best decision Donald Trump could make is to finally decide to take American troops out of Afghanistan, and then that will pave the way for some sort of consensus government in Afghanistan,” Khan said. “As long as the troops are there, they are not going to be able to enforce peace there. If 150,000 NATO troops could not change Afghanistan, then 5,000 or 10,000 troops are only going to prolong the agony," he added.

Khan’s party rules Pakistan’s northwestern Khyber Pakhtunkhwa province, which shares a border with Afghanistan. The province has borne the brunt of terrorist attacks since Islamabad joined hands 16 years ago with Washington’s anti-terrorism operations in Afghanistan. The violence has significantly declined, however, due to counterterrorism operations in adjoining border areas and major police reforms the provincial government has introduced over the past four years.

http://nation.com.pk/national/19-Aug-2017/imran-calls-for-open-borders-with-afghanistan

:facepalm: I am an Imran Khan (reads not PTI) fan but this seems to be like a terrible idea.

"Long term" being the prime words here. Short term I think this fenced off border could squeez the Current Hawkish Afghani government into being a little less loose at the lip and can work wonders in them cutting out the nonsense like the cricket board blaming The PCB for ISIS attacks.

It is foreign policy where IK is most childish and immature. Does he want more Afghans in Pakistan running around with rifles and weapons causing all sorts of mayhem? The man has no clue as to how we should deal with the USA, Afghanistan and India. Better that Pak just annex entire Afghanistan making it a part of our country.

Well that won't get the PP vote will it? :91:

"Should" is the right word but unfortunately "Should" will never become "Would"... The entire sub continent and china should have EU kind of borders but that will never ever happen..

That should be the goal and dream, not just with Afghanistan but also with India, like USA-Canada border. But obviously its unthinkable at the moment. But nothing wrong with having a dream and idea.

Sorry he was backed in a corner when Peshawar massacre happened he was against army going into fata and still is ,

He wants an open border with some of the most dangerous people on this earth where even USA and NATO have lost the war

An open border with a country which believes Pakistan should not exist is the most dangerous thing ever and biggest export is heroin and explosives

And btw I'm also of Pashtun heritage tribe from azad Kashmir and have relatives who married into Afghan safi tribe in mardan settled theee since late 70's so it's got nothing to do with some racial or political agenda

Only that my forefathers family have served in pak fauj and in pak fauj so I have a soft spot for pak fauj the only competent institution in a country overrun by corruption and failures at every other level

Imran Khan wants to go after the only competent institution in Pakistan and that is fauj , the army is not the problem but the pride of Pakistan

IK once again right. Respect to the man.

I too wish one day peace prevails between Pakistan, India, Afghanistan, Iran, Bangladesh and we have European Union style relations. Already too much hate between these countries which hasn't done any good.

If I m well off doesn't mean I should be selfish, more than 50% people in these countries dont have basic facilities. West Europe is the most prosperous region in the world. If Germany and France can have good relations even after World War, Pakistan aur Afghanistan kyun nahi?

IK often thinks like a Pashtun instead of a Pakistani No doubt he has a soft spot for Pashtuns, Afghans and their terrorists as well . I don't want a PM like that leading us. Never mind what province or race you come from, Pakistan comes first and is all that matters.

He is right in Ideal situatuion there should be an open border with both India and Afghanistan.

Oh god, what an abhorrent idea! Hasn't he noticed; majority of attacks in Pakistan are carried out by Afghans! terrible terrible idea. I'm ever so glad Pakistan is completely sealing the border by 2019! Keep them ungrateful people out.

When enmity decreases and government's of both countries work in unity, maybe the terrorist attacks will be controlled in both the countries.

He is right in Ideal situatuion there should be an open border with both India and Afghanistan.

No, thank you very much but we'd much rather have closed and sealed borders with our western neighbours

2014...from Dawn...the man who sold pakistan

https://www.dawn.com/news/1085748/the-man-who-sold-pakistan

Without Khan, the right-wing wouldn’t disappear. Without Khan, there would still be the Taliban. Without Khan, there’d still be plenty of merchants of hate, bigotry and xenophobia. Without Khan, there’d still be a bunch of apologists.

But without Khan, none of that wouldn’t be as mainstream as it is with Taliban Khan running around.

From 2014

bad idea I.K. open borders with a country that harbours anti Pakistan extremists..Not to mention its govt hates Pak.

They dont accept Durand Line and consistently try to impinge on Paks sovereignty. Open borders is the last thing Pak needs.

lmao talking about the E.U as if that is model can be replacated with Afghanistan n Pakistan two totally different kettle of fish. If terrorists from France n Germany were coming into each others lands and killing each others civilians. Those open borders would shut pretty quickly.

Not sure if he's right or wrong since he's said it's a long-term vision.

However, it looks like that will be the end of any comparisons with Trump.

I would rather propose an open border with India. If going by EU's example, we have more in common with India than Afghanistan. E.g., just compare the number of indian posters to Afghani posters on this forum.

Sorry IK but that's a terrible idea you are confused on this issue and i am not a patwari to defend and agree with everything you say.

:facepalm: I am an Imran Khan (reads not PTI) fan but this seems to be like a terrible idea.

It is foreign policy where IK is most childish and immature. Does he want more Afghans in Pakistan running around with rifles and weapons causing all sorts of mayhem? The man has no clue as to how we should deal with the USA, Afghanistan and India. Better that Pak just annex entire Afghanistan making it a part of our country.

Kya kar raha hai Immy???? :danish :danish :danish

IK is an idealist person. In the current scenario, this move is not appropriate.

IK often thinks like a Pashtun instead of a Pakistani No doubt he has a soft spot for Pashtuns, Afghans and their terrorists as well . I don't want a PM like that leading us. Never mind what province or race you come from, Pakistan comes first and is all that matters.

Oh god, what an abhorrent idea! Hasn't he noticed; majority of attacks in Pakistan are carried out by Afghans! terrible terrible idea. I'm ever so glad Pakistan is completely sealing the border by 2019! Keep them ungrateful people out.

No, thank you very much but we'd much rather have closed and sealed borders with our western neighbours

Terrible idea

bad idea I.K. open borders with a country that harbours anti Pakistan extremists..Not to mention its govt hates Pak.

They dont accept Durand Line and consistently try to impinge on Paks sovereignty. Open borders is the last thing Pak needs.

Not sure if he's right or wrong since he's said it's a long-term vision.

However, it looks like that will be the end of any comparisons with Trump.

I would rather propose an open border with India. If going by EU's example, we have more in common with India than Afghanistan. E.g., just compare the number of indian posters to Afghani posters on this forum.

Sorry IK but that's a terrible idea you are confused on this issue and i am not a patwari to defend and agree with everything you say.

a closed border with iran and afghanistan with fences on the western side.

an already closed border with india on the eastern side.

kashmir on the top.

only a teeny tiny belt that connects with china.

there are only two ways to build a foreign policy. either you have good terms with your neighbors. or, you have bad terms with your neighbors but good terms with the neighbors of your neighbors - case in point is India, as a country who happens to have terrible relations with her neighbors but amazing ties with their neighbors (has problems with pakistan but has a great rapport with afghanistan and iran etc.)

there is a lot of needless misunderstood hate against the afghan refugees in pakistan, akin to what we see in america against mexicans and muslims with small criminal minorities representing the broader populace.

i disagree with khan's many other policies but good relations with afghanistan are necessary. if that means opening trade and making it easier, that only benefits us. it's like opening up a trade market; sell, supply, create, and establish a stronghold when possible.

the physical parameters are such that cordoning with walls isn't really a realistic possibility anyway, build check points where necessary, create barriers for the elements of terror but don't close borders against innocent people and traders. we need this strategical depth and one which has become our weakness from a considerable strength. the short term stance that immigrants are terrible and ban all afghanis is just plain wrong - imagine us all living outside pakistan being forced to go back and further entries banned.

not a terrible idea, a simple idea that requires a great deal of execution and management and definitely a long term plan worth looking to.

Too idealistic of an idea. It would never work until there is peace in both Pakistan and Afghanistan which will take time.

Imran's views are too simplistic at times. He's in KPK these days tho so he might have said that to please some people there.

This is a pipedream from IK. The reality is that the porous Afghan-Pakistan border has been extremely problematic with the smuggling of militants, arms and heroin over the years.

We should prioritise open borders and free trade with India instead to normalise relations on that front.

Never thought Imran Khan as a champion of globalism. On one hand, opening borders to Afghanistan seems like a disaster waiting to happen as movement will be completely unilateral. On another hand.....I guess there's no other hand, whatever trade benefit we get from allowing Afghanistan in will be eclipsed by the negative baggage that comes with it.

A pathetic idea by Imran Khan

If he really want this than I rather vote for a corrupt leader like Nawaz Sharif.

Sorry he was backed in a corner when Peshawar massacre happened he was against army going into fata and still is ,

He wants an open border with some of the most dangerous people on this earth where even USA and NATO have lost the war

An open border with a country which believes Pakistan should not exist is the most dangerous thing ever and biggest export is heroin and explosives

And btw I'm also of Pashtun heritage tribe from azad Kashmir and have relatives who married into Afghan safi tribe in mardan settled theee since late 70's so it's got nothing to do with some racial or political agenda

Only that my forefathers family have served in pak fauj and in pak fauj so I have a soft spot for pak fauj the only competent institution in a country overrun by corruption and failures at every other level

Imran Khan wants to go after the only competent institution in Pakistan and that is fauj , the army is not the problem but the pride of Pakistan

The only reason nato failed is because Pakistan has backed afghan taliban with sanctuary and weapons and has not touched them, some of them turned rogue and formed ttp mainly 2 specific tribes.

And those 2 tribes were not from afghanistan they were and are vast majority pakistani.

Moving forward we need a pak friendly government in Kabul, hope Kabul can realise that Pakistan not India is its neighbour and it needs our ports.

I remember traveling from Pakistan to Afghanistan years ago. It seemed to me at the time that the border was already fairly open - anyone could cross it if they had a few rupees to give to the security guard at the border gate.

Now you see why PPP has better foreign policies.

But none of those Indian posters would want open borders despite your wish for it. India's only interest in Afghanistan is to cause problems for Pakistan, they aren't interested in either country prospering long term.

Good to see a major political party hoping for better relations with Afghanistan.

Yep and majority of terrorist attack are carried out by muslims too. Let's keep them out of everywhere.

Imran Khan is never going to be PM of Pakistan.

I have been following him since 2007 when people said he will never win more than one seat. Also remember people saying Trump would never win.

In Sha Allah he will never be PM of Pakistan.

This is a pipedream from IK. The reality is that the porous Afghan-Pakistan border has been extremely problematic with the smuggling of militants, arms and heroin over the years.

We should prioritise open borders and free trade with India instead to normalise relations on that front.

Just like how u think Open border with Afghan can lead to problems such as Smuggling, Terrorism etc. Most of us Indians think the same would happen to India if we open the border with Pakistan.
Tbh i dont see India-Pakistan will ever have 'Open-Border' relationship. Infact as of now India dont even issue tourists visas to pakistani nationals and vice versa.

Being an Indian, Im against open border with Pakistan in current situation. Maybe 30years down the road when situation improves it could be a possibility.

I was under the impression that people on both sides of the Durand line/Pak-Afg border considered it as a soft border anyway with tribes moving freely from one side to the other hence why it's such a safe haven for smugglers?

Just like how u think Open border with Afghan can lead to problems such as Smuggling, Terrorism etc. Most of us Indians think the same would happen to India if we open the border with Pakistan.
Tbh i dont see India-Pakistan will ever have 'Open-Border' relationship. Infact as of now India dont even issue tourists visas to pakistani nationals and vice versa.

Being an Indian, Im against open border with Pakistan in current situation. Maybe 30years down the road when situation improves it could be a possibility.

Good point and I understand those concerns. But I feel the ice can be broken on issues like Kashmir if we first increased people to people contact by easing visa restrictions, and strengthen trading relations.

It's madness how so many goods from India are exported via Dubai to Pakistan instead of via the international border. The journey is 11 times longer and 4 times costlier ! If there was a formal trade infrastructure between the two nations then the transport costs could be massively reduced. Fact that trade between Pakistan and India averages a pitiful US$2.5 billion a year lesves much untapped potential.

Another confidence building measure would be for Pakistan to reciprocate MFN status. In the future, maybe even an EU-style customs union could be arranged. Then negotiations on the tough matters like security and terrority can be conducted in a more positive atmosphere.

Good point and I understand those concerns. But I feel the ice can be broken on issues like Kashmir if we first increased people to people contact by easing visa restrictions, and strengthen trading relations.

It's madness how so many goods from India are exported via Dubai to Pakistan instead of via the international border. The journey is 11 times longer and 4 times costlier ! If there was a formal trade infrastructure between the two nations then the transport costs could be massively reduced. Fact that trade between Pakistan and India averages a pitiful US$2.5 billion a year lesves much untapped potential.

Another confidence building measure would be for Pakistan to reciprocate MFN status. In the future, maybe even an EU-style customs union could be arranged. Then negotiations on the tough matters like security and terrority can be conducted in a more positive atmosphere.

I think it has nothing to do with economics rather its politically motivated. Post Mumbai terror attacks, most Indians share anti-Pakistani impression (it doesnt mean we want to see Pakistan suffer, it just most people want nothing to do with Pakistan, in other words 'Let us leave and we do the same' we dont want you as friend and at same time we dont want to be enemies')
Here in Canada, I dont know most of my neighbours and im sure my neighbours dont know me either. They dont come to my place and try to establish friendship nor i do the same. They leave in peace and so do i.

I hope you get the point what im saying. India Pakistan should totally ignore each other for 20 or so years and do best not to interfere in each others interest. Im sure when relationship is at neutral point, establishing friendship will be much easier and smoother.
I also dont think it will be easy for Govt of India to issue visas to Kashmiris of Pakistan to visit India, as i mentioned there is serious lack of trust and lack of confidence building.

I dont think Indian govt will go soft on issuing visas. Congress govt were Pro Pakistan, and they got serious beating in 2014 election. Im sure Modi govt will keep the animosity in order to stay in power, it is career suicide for any political party to suggest pro Pakistan relationship.

Which is why i feel, we need period of 20 years or so to let things cool off. (No attacks, No wars) and then we could build on it.

“The long-term relationship between Pakistan and Afghanistan is open borders. Rather than building fences, I think it should have open, free trade; it should be like a European Union type of relationship. That’s our long-term future and this would be of enormous benefit to Afghanistan and Pakistan,”

Surely sounds like a terrible idea now but this is ideal in a long term as IK mentioned.

Not sure, I understood properly, but by open border does he mean it's free access to everything from either side of border including terrorism, explosives, arms & drugs?

It might be open border in terms of spirit - that's free exchange of trade, culture, sports, skills & intelligence in terms of security. But, obviously both countries must maintain their status co in terms of illegal trans passing. Besides, PAK is among top countries severely threatened from population explosion - it won't ever want a free access of people from neighbouring countries with similar race & language.

For example, British, French, German & Italians (Romans) had been fighting each other's for thousands of years, but still in between these nations exchanged almost everything. Here, US-Canada shares one of the longest borders in world (including Alaska, it's longest between 2 countries), and the border is apparently open - not even border poles in most areas, rather they have cleared forest to mark no mans land in between & that's it. But, this is one of the most scrutinized border in world with 3D scanners, gps trackers & infra radar - I read a joke that trans US- Canada border rangers can count how many birds cross border every year.

I think, Imran being a Pathan has a soft corner for Afghan people, and he does understand PAK can't handle animosity from 3 hostile neighbors backed on China only (who are probably 3rd worst friend after Brits & Yanks), but he must not be dumb enough not to realize the situation in west border.

I hope, he gives a proper explanation on this & PAK critic media does grill him, in proper spirit.

In Sha Allah he will never be PM of Pakistan.

I can sense you're afraid of the Tsunami! Don't worry. Despite the fact billi-e-punjab will no longer be around Pakistan will prosper with the great khan at the helm.

You can still have open trade with boundaries in place.... disagree with imran entirely on this one.

“The long-term relationship between Pakistan and Afghanistan is open borders. Rather than building fences, I think it should have open, free trade; it should be like a European Union type of relationship. That’s our long-term future and this would be of enormous benefit to Afghanistan and Pakistan,”

Surely sounds like a terrible idea now but this is ideal in a long term as IK mentioned.

What is implied is that don't build fences now as we want open borders with them later... which is pretty idealistic nonsense from IK. Need to mark and fence the border and impose the Durand line on them.

I am a PTI and IK fan but no open borders with Afghanistan. I would never trust Afghan govt,; no hate for common Afghans though.

Imran khan is losing his marbles in old age.
Need to elect a intelligent young person to run the country, not this delude
ex-cricketer!

[MENTION=110712]Captain_caveman[/MENTION]While I believe PM IK is only half right here, you as per your name seem to have been living inside a cave for the past 20 years otherwise you wouldn't be saying what you said.

Pakistan has never had a great leader with the exception of thte great Qadi Azam, who unfortunately was ill and pass away without leading the country he created!
What has the last 20 years been that the previous 52 years weren't?

Good to hear positive comments from Afghanistan, one can only hope for good relations between both countries.

Open border?? I say build a 50 foot wall with 20 ft trenches on each side

One mile of mines, surrounded by a 20ft deep moat surrounded by 30ft electric fence surrounded by a 50 ft wall, guarded by armed soildiers in watchtowers and armed soilders with guard dogs on the ground. All surveyed by cctv and drones!

Brilliant idea by Imran khan. But now is not the right time to implement it because of tensions and terrorism. However the 2 nations can start working towards it. Especially after the inevitable fall of current Afghan government and return of a Taliban backed government, this could actually be a good way to ensure stability in the region.

It's not as bad an idea as people are making it out to be. By opening the border, as long as Pakistan can leverage it to it's own advantage in terms of trade and Afghanistan's dependency on Pakistan, it will be better in the long run and this may very well put a gulf between them and India.

Not a chance under the current circumstances.

Omg look, a glitch in the matrix, [MENTION=131701]Mamoon[/MENTION] explain this phenomenon, what kind of cult is this where I'm disagreeing with IK?

Is this what it was like when your grandmother forced you to vote PTI on election morning ??

Not a chance under the current circumstances.

Omg look, a glitch in the matrix, [MENTION=131701]Mamoon[/MENTION] explain this phenomenon, what kind of cult is this where I'm disagreeing with IK?

Is this what it was like when your grandmother forced you to vote PTI on election morning ??

Imran Khan is being his usual naive-self, and you are agreeing with him for the wrong reasons. The "current circumstances" gives it away. The problem for Pakistan is that it feels it is entitled to unwavering support from Afghanistan who should choose to align themselves with Pakistan instead of India but unfortunately, they are not as foolish as we think.

Because we are spectacularly incompetent and thus incapable of leading by example, we think we can bully Afghanistan into submission. The only long-term solution to the strained relations between Pakistan and Afghanistan is for us to get off our high (but midget) horse and accept our villainous role in the demise of Afghanistan and its social structure.

We didn't fight the Soviets because of an ideology or on principle. We did it for $$$ and we are still living off that money like vultures. Yes we did welcome refugees, but we also played a big hand in making them refugees in the first place. We have left no stone unturned in ensuring that Afghanistan develops a negative outlook towards Pakistan.

Think about it this way - we have poor relations with all our neighbours except for Communist China. However, it is not a two way street and a give and take relationship - they are holding us by our balls. The reason why we have poor relations with everyone around us is because of our catastrophic foreign policy that has been designed by the military to maintain their supremacy, and in addition, they have been successful in propagating the propaganda that we are a country of saints that has struggled because countries around us conspire to derail our brilliant that would be a superpower without other states actively working against it.

We lost East Pakistan because of our policies, we have alienated Balochistan and FATA because of our policies, and we have made enemies out of India, Bangladesh and Afghanistan because of our policies. There is only one common denominator and that is us, and we are the problem.

Imran Khan is being his usual naive-self, and you are agreeing with him for the wrong reasons. The "current circumstances" gives it away. The problem for Pakistan is that it feels it is entitled to unwavering support from Afghanistan who should choose to align themselves with Pakistan instead of India but unfortunately, they are not as foolish as we think.

Because we are spectacularly incompetent and thus incapable of leading by example, we think we can bully Afghanistan into submission. The only long-term solution to the strained relations between Pakistan and Afghanistan is for us to get off our high (but midget) horse and accept our villainous role in the demise of Afghanistan and its social structure.

We didn't fight the Soviets because of an ideology or on principle. We did it for $$$ and we are still living off that money like vultures. Yes we did welcome refugees, but we also played a big hand in making them refugees in the first place. We have left no stone unturned in ensuring that Afghanistan develops a negative outlook towards Pakistan.

Think about it this way - we have poor relations with all our neighbours except for Communist China. However, it is not a two way street and a give and take relationship - they are holding us by our balls. The reason why we have poor relations with everyone around us is because of our catastrophic foreign policy that has been designed by the military to maintain their supremacy, and in addition, they have been successful in propagating the propaganda that we are a country of saints that has struggled because countries around us conspire to derail our brilliant that would be a superpower without other states actively working against it.

We lost East Pakistan because of our policies, we have alienated Balochistan and FATA because of our policies, and we have made enemies out of India, Bangladesh and Afghanistan because of our policies. There is only one common denominator and that is us, and we are the problem.

You are making it sound as if Afghanistan was all sweetness and light and Pakistan created all their internal strife. I think the reality is probably a bit more complex. Afghanistan is made up of several different ethnicities and there is a lot of rivalry and warring between the factions. Pakistan has always had more concern with the side which borders them and there is a lot of cultural crossover with the populations on either side.

That won't be the case when you go into central Afghanistan and further west, those populations will have more in common, and more issues with other nationalities, and perhaps will be targeted by India for investment and influence. That would be of less concern to Pakistan and their priority would be how any of this affects their own borders, and that is the subject of this topic.

You are making it sound as if Afghanistan was all sweetness and light and Pakistan created all their internal strife. I think the reality is probably a bit more complex. Afghanistan is made up of several different ethnicities and there is a lot of rivalry and warring between the factions. Pakistan has always had more concern with the side which borders them and there is a lot of cultural crossover with the populations on either side.

That won't be the case when you go into central Afghanistan and further west, those populations will have more in common, and more issues with other nationalities, and perhaps will be targeted by India for investment and influence. That would be of less concern to Pakistan and their priority would be how any of this affects their own borders, and that is the subject of this topic.

It's interesting to see people mention 70s and 80s but they don't wanna read and talk about how Afghan Govt was fueling insurgency in Pakistani tribal areas throughout 50s and 60s

It would be instructive also as to whether Afghan govt is interested in warming ties with Pakistan, and if not, why not? IK is himself a product of the tribal areas, I would imagine his vision of open borders with Afghanistan was well-intentioned, but probably not realistic if the good intent is not mirrored on the other side.