In a first, Indian diplomats attend Pakistan Day parade in Islamabad

DeadBall

ISLAMABAD: In an unprecedented move, senior Indian military officials and diplomats posted in Islamabad attended the Friday’s military parade to mark the Pakistan Day.

Amid heightened tensions between the two neighbouring countries, the Pakistan Army invited, for the first time, Indian Defence Attache and senior diplomats of the Indian High Commission to join March 23 celebrations, a senior military official told The Express Tribune.

Nation marks Pakistan Day with military parade, gun salute
Speaking on condition of anonymity, the official revealed that it was an initiative of Chief of Army Staff (COAS) General Qamar Javed Bajwa aimed to send a peace message to India.

The purpose behind inviting Indian military representatives is to send a message that while Pakistan “stands for peace”, it is also ready to defend every inch of the country in case of any misadventure, he said.

The move comes at a time when tensions have been simmering between Islamabad and New Delhi for months with frequent incidents of clashes along the Line of Control (LoC) and Working Boundary (WB).

While the army chief is believed to be in favour of improved ties, the ball is now in India’s court to see how the unprecedented gesture will be reciprocated.

https://tribune.com.pk/story/1667651/1-first-indian-diplomats-attend-pakistan-day-parade-islamabad/

India is a very strange country.

It's Prime Minister will come and hold hands with the Pak PM in Pakistan.

It's army officials will sit and watch the Pakistan day parade (arms mainly needed for defence against India)

But it wont play a game of cricket with Pakistan?

Great gesture by India. Pakistanis should thank them by giving roses, some Bell & Ross watches would be even better.

Not going down too well for some in India from what I see on social media

It's army officials will sit and watch the Pakistan day parade (arms mainly needed for defence against India)

They played a game of cricket only a few months ago. Which universe do you live in?

Yes I wont forget the beating India received. I believe it's the biggest margin of victory in any ICC Final.

I was of course referring to bilateral series which India wont play. But hey get your PM to hold hands and watch Pakistani tanks and missiles roll by.

Good gesture. Better gesture would be to pull forces back from Kashmir. Best one would be to honor PCB cricket MoU :najam

Yes I wont forget the beating India received. I believe it's the biggest margin of victory in any ICC Final.

I was of course referring to bilateral series which India wont play. But hey get your PM to hold hands and watch Pakistani tanks and missiles roll by.

So you make an erroneous post and when called out on that, start changing the topic!

You do realize that Pakistan couldn't have beaten India in a game of cricket, if the game of cricket wasn't played?! (Do I need to spell out everything?)

So you make an erroneous post and when called out on that, start changing the topic!

You do realize that Pakistan couldn't have beaten India in a game of cricket, if the game of cricket wasn't played?! (Do I need to spell out everything?)

lol. You were referring to a game played in an ICC event when I clearly was referring to a bilateral series.

If you cant argue a point , just concede Modi ji wont hunt you down . :)

lol. You were referring to a game played in an ICC event when I clearly was referring to a bilateral series.

If you cant argue a point , just concede Modi ji wont hunt you down . :)

This is what you said: "But it wont play a game of cricket with Pakistan?" Show me how does this refer to "clearly referring to bilateral series". I pointed you to a game of cricket played within the last few months.

Over to you. Let's see how deep can you dig!

India knows that there is no point in pretending that Pak has been isolated. Jordianian, Turk and UAE jets were also flying in Pak today. I have no issues with there being no Indo-Pak Cricket at all. As far as I am concerned it's fine if we never play them again. They did not do us any favours by attending the Pakistan Day event today.

This is what you said: "But it wont play a game of cricket with Pakistan?" Show me how does this refer to "clearly referring to bilateral series". I pointed you to a game of cricket played within the last few months.

Over to you. Let's see how deep can you dig!

lol. It was obvious but Ill remember to spell it out for you next time. My apologies. :)

Now can you explain why you're diplomats and army officials will attend a military parade and why your PM will come to Pakistan and hold hands but wont play a BILATERAL series of cricket?

lol. It was obvious but Ill remember to spell it out for you next time. My apologies. :)

Now can you explain why you're diplomats and army officials will attend a military parade and why your PM will come to Pakistan and hold hands but wont play a BILATERAL series of cricket?

Apology accepted! You could have done that earlier and saved both you and me all this back-and-forth!

Now to your questions:
- The official attended the function as a courtesy, it's not a big deal. It's just a routine function that's held each year. Unlike the popular myth among the Pakistanis, India doesn't question Pakistan's legal status as a nation and therefore would have no problem attending functions that relate to that. India is a mature democracy and acts like one. India doesn't bury its head in the sand and refuse to acknowledge reality (unlike Pakistan which still refuses to acknowledge existence of Israel -- you see the difference?)

- Modi visiting Lahore. That was step 2 after inviting Sharif and other South Asian leaders to his own swearing -in ceremony 2014. As a newly elected PM, he wanted to make a real effort to sue for peace. Every new PM in India (foolishly perhaps?) does that. They all back off once they see Pakistan's true colors. Vajpayee took the famous bus trip to Lahore and got Kargil in return. MMS tried a soft approach and Pakistan decided to return the favor via Mumbai 2008. Modi tried to make friends with Sharif and Pakistan decided to do Pathankot instead. So call it naivete or call it foolishness, they all give it a try and then then give up once they see the reality.

Even in cricket, India hosted Pak in 2011 semi-final (despite Pak trying really hard to move the WC away from India, but failing miserably) and then hosted a bilateral series in 2012. So there have been pockets of attempts tried even in cricket. But what does Pak do instead? Release Hafeez Saeed and declare him a saint. Do Pathankot. Refuse NOC to its players for IPL2. Threaten to sue BCCI. Then actually sue BCCI. The list goes on. And you're still wondering why there aren't regular bilateral series? Do you live in a cave? Or how deep is your head buried in the sand?

Apology accepted! You could have done that earlier and saved both you and me all this back-and-forth!

Now to your questions:
- The official attended the function as a courtesy, it's not a big deal. It's just a routine function that's held each year. Unlike the popular myth among the Pakistanis, India doesn't question Pakistan's legal status as a nation and therefore would have no problem attending functions that relate to that. India is a mature democracy and acts like one. India doesn't bury its head in the sand and refuse to acknowledge reality (unlike Pakistan which still refuses to acknowledge existence of Israel -- you see the difference?)

- Modi visiting Lahore. That was step 2 after inviting Sharif and other South Asian leaders to his own swearing -in ceremony 2014. As a newly elected PM, he wanted to make a real effort to sue for peace. Every new PM in India (foolishly perhaps?) does that. They all back off once they see Pakistan's true colors. Vajpayee took the famous bus trip to Lahore and got Kargil in return. MMS tried a soft approach and Pakistan decided to return the favor via Mumbai 2008. Modi tried to make friends with Sharif and Pakistan decided to do Pathankot instead. So call it naivete or call it foolishness, they all give it a try and then then give up once they see the reality.

Even in cricket, India hosted Pak in 2011 semi-final (despite Pak trying really hard to move the WC away from India, but failing miserably) and then hosted a bilateral series in 2012. So there have been pockets of attempts tried even in cricket. But what does Pak do instead? Release Hafeez Saeed and declare him a saint. Do Pathankot. Refuse NOC to its players for IPL2. Threaten to sue BCCI. Then actually sue BCCI. The list goes on. And you're still wondering why there aren't regular bilateral series? Do you live in a cave? Or how deep is your head buried in the sand?

I was being sarcastic. :)

It's no ordinary function, it's Pakistan day military parade where the weapons on show are mainly there to use against India. What you dont realise is this is a first but It's nice of your military officials show this courtesy. Did India have a republic day parade this year? Did Pakistani military officials show this courtesy? :)

You really are clueless. You claim India gave up after Pathankot. Again you're ignorant, your beloved PM months later was sending warm and loving messages regarding Nawaz Sharif's surgery. He clearly wasn't as bothered about it as you were. :)

If you think he's guilty, go and get him. Cricket is a sport, India stopped playing before but resumed ties when Pakistan played an ODI series in India. Perhaps it was the defeat which made India think again. :)

I was being sarcastic. :)

It's no ordinary function, it's Pakistan day military parade where the weapons on show are mainly there to use against India. What you dont realise is this is a first but It's nice of your military officials show this courtesy. Did India have a republic day parade this year? Did Pakistani military officials show this courtesy? :)

You really are clueless. You claim India gave up after Pathankot. Again you're ignorant, your beloved PM months later was sending warm and loving messages regarding Nawaz Sharif's surgery. He clearly wasn't as bothered about it as you were. :)

If you think he's guilty, go and get him. Cricket is a sport, India stopped playing before but resumed ties when Pakistan played an ODI series in India. Perhaps it was the defeat which made India think again. :)

Since you already had pre-drafted answers to your own questions (and each followed by a smily for some reason), and had no interest in listening to the Indian POV, why did you bother asking?! You clearly have no interest in truly knowing why the bilateral series aren't happening. And when your own logic failed you, you went back to the classic Pakistani chestnut: that India is scared of losing to Pakistan, hence no cricket.

If you truly believe that a 1-2 loss in an ODI series will lead to disruption of cricket, when bigger margins of losses earlier did not (check 1987 ODI score for example), you're welcome to keep your head buried in the sand.

I have said this many times on this forum and will say it again: you Pakistanis need to get your narrative about India straight. Else you look stupid, like you just did in this thread.

Since you already had pre-drafted answers to your own questions (and each followed by a smily for some reason), and had no interest in listening to the Indian POV, why did you bother asking?! You clearly have no interest in truly knowing why the bilateral series aren't happening. And when your own logic failed you, you went back to the classic Pakistani chestnut: that India is scared of losing to Pakistan, hence no cricket.

If you truly believe that a 1-2 loss in an ODI series will lead to disruption of cricket, when bigger margins of losses earlier did not (check 1987 ODI score for example), you're welcome to keep your head buried in the sand.

I have said this many times on this forum and will say it again: you Pakistanis need to get your narrative about India straight. Else you look stupid, like you just did in this thread.

How can I look stupid when you dont know what you're talking about?

Let me clarify again.

1. It was the first time any Indian military officials sat and watched the Pakistan day military parade. Pakistani's didnt do this for India a few months ago. Yet you call it a matter of courtesy lol.

2. You claim relations soured after Pathankot but we know from Modi's communications he still wants to hold the hand of the PM of Pakistan.

3. I was jesting regarding the victory in India as I can't understand a nation whose military officials will sit through a 'supposed enemies' military parade and a nation whose PM has a soft spot for the 'enemy' nations PM wont play a series of cricket.

It's only a game, the other issues are much more series when it comes to relations.

Please only write when you know what day of the week it is. :bumble

5ab50e280a9a8.jpg

That's right. Its called leverage. And exercising all available leverage to pressure Pak Establishment into stopping support for terrorism is the civic duty of the Indian government.

Does that include India supporting terrorism in Pakistan?

Oh yeah. That's right, must be a reason why India isn't on any FATF greylist, about to go on blacklist. Or asked repeatedly by the UN to go after designated terrorists. After all, wasn't Bin Laden found living next to the Indian army base in Pathankot?

No amount of Pak Propaganda is going to magically create some false equivalance between India and Pakistan. There is a Zameen Asmaan ka difference when it comes to the governments and their support of terrorism. Of course, you can choose to be a pseudo patriot - deny, deny, deny - ask for more "evidence". Parrot all the nonsense talking points about Indian "involvement" etc etc.

Leverage is when you exert pressure or force to achieve your goal. Holding hands and watching the 'enemies' military parade is not leverage. Mabye the Indian officials such as the PM and Army personnel want good relations with Pakistan but due to the public feeling are not saying this in public.

Of course Indian govt and Indian people want good relations with Pakistan and its people. There is nothing to "not say in public" about this.

Leverage is when PCB loses 100 million dollars out of its TV contract because India refused to give PCB a 'home' series. Leverage is when PCB cries constantly every chance it gets about promised series and "MOUs". Trying to create tamasha by threatening lawsuits - which only result in hurting its own budget via fruitless legal fees.

Leverage is when 2nd string Australians, and even Afghans and Nepalis make millions in Indian T20 leagues, while proven Pakistani stars miss out on the gravy train.

Leverage is when the head of PakMil publicly starts complaining about budget pressures and criticizes non-military public welfare policies such as BISP. Which should be none of his business.

All of this can be changed, if the Pak Establishment decides that it wants to give up unreasonable and unnecessary hostility with its neighboring country.

Leverage is there. It just takes time to work. Aaj nahi to kal, crazies will eventually fall in line. And we can see "normalcy" return to India-Pakistan relations. May take a few years. May take a few decades. But its inevitable. Till then, those who are on a hopeless task of "bleeding India", may end up bleeding out.

Oh no...they must've been forced to attend by the almighty and wicked ISI (shiversss)

Oh yeah. That's right, must be a reason why India isn't on any FATF greylist, about to go on blacklist. Or asked repeatedly by the UN to go after designated terrorists. After all, wasn't Bin Laden found living next to the Indian army base in Pathankot?

No amount of Pak Propaganda is going to magically create some false equivalance between India and Pakistan. There is a Zameen Asmaan ka difference when it comes to the governments and their support of terrorism. Of course, you can choose to be a pseudo patriot - deny, deny, deny - ask for more "evidence". Parrot all the nonsense talking points about Indian "involvement" etc etc.

I’m connected with reality and does not believe in fictional created by the government nor I’m nationalist who believe everything coming out of government agency.
Now let me give you perfect example of nationalism. There are plenty of American who still believe and justify US invasion of Iraq on Iraq’s weapon of mass destruction that never existed.
Every country has nationalist and every country government lies and has secret.

So I ask again, does that include India supporting terrorism in Pakistan ? It is a simple yes or no question.

I’m connected with reality and does not believe in fictional created by the government nor I’m nationalist who believe everything coming out of government agency.
Now let me give you perfect example of nationalism. There are plenty of American who still believe and justify US invasion of Iraq on Iraq’s weapon of mass destruction that never existed.
Every country has nationalist and every country government lies and has secret.

So I ask again, does that include India supporting terrorism in Pakistan ? It is a simple yes or no question.

If you are asking me personally? I would say an unequivocal no. Two wrongs do not make a right. Ever. And I wouldn't want my government getting blood on its hands in my name. Ever.

Just so you don't mistake me for a candle-waving peacenik, I would however, be totally OK with providing asylum in India, and financial support to Baloch Exiles. I think the silly Bus and taxi ad campaigns in Switzerland, UK etc were good trolling of the Pakistani Establishment, and Indian govt can afford those peanuts. I would want my govt to use all means short of war to exert pressure on Pakistani govt to get them to change their actions and policies. But those means should never involve shedding the blood of innocents. And as much as I find it distasteful and tragic, I also support the policy of heating up the LOC in response to infiltration along the LOC.

I would much rather prefer a violence free Kashmir, LOC and as normal a relationship with Pak as possible.

If you are asking me personally? I would say an unequivocal no. Two wrongs do not make a right. Ever. And I wouldn't want my government getting blood on its hands in my name. Ever.

Just so you don't mistake me for a candle-waving peacenik, I would however, be totally OK with providing asylum in India, and financial support to Baloch Exiles. I think the silly Bus and taxi ad campaigns in Switzerland, UK etc were good trolling of the Pakistani Establishment, and Indian govt can afford those peanuts. I would want my govt to use all means short of war to exert pressure on Pakistani govt to get them to change their actions and policies. But those means should never involve shedding the blood of innocents. And as much as I find it distasteful and tragic, I also support the policy of heating up the LOC in response to infiltration along the LOC.

I would much rather prefer a violence free Kashmir, LOC and as normal a relationship with Pak as possible.

So, the government of India or Indian intelligence agency or army has never been involved in conducting a mission directly and indirectly in killing of innocents in Pakistan ?

Does any other country in this world buy this narrative of yours, including the iron brothers China? Because that is what it comes down to.

Again, a simple yes or no question.

Does any other country in this world buy this narrative of yours, including the iron brothers China? Because that is what it comes down to.

Again, a simple yes or no question.

Many countries didn’t bought the narrative of Saddam having weapon of mass destruction but yet the participate in coalition of willing.

Like I’ve said, you and other nationalist aren’t fooling anyone by deflecting, most Pakistani are connected with reality unlike the nationalists of India.

Many countries didn’t bought the narrative of Saddam having weapon of mass destruction but yet the participate in coalition of willing.

Like I’ve said, you and other nationalist aren’t fooling anyone by deflecting, most Pakistani are connected with reality unlike the nationalists of India.

Does your "reality" include the fact that Pak state has been financing, training, supporting and protecting proven murderers of thousands of innocent Indian civilians in the last 30 years? Is that reality aware that the 1993 multiple bombings in Bombay - in places like Stock Exchange, Jewelry market etc were set off by timers that were sold by NATO factories to the Pakistan military?

And all you've got to show in retaliation is a glorified messenger boy in Jadhav?

So spare us the FALSE EQUIVALENCES. There is simply no comparison between India and Pakistan when it comes to state sponsorship of terror.

Does your "reality" include the fact that Pak state has been financing, training, supporting and protecting proven murderers of thousands of innocent Indian civilians in the last 30 years? Is that reality aware that the 1993 multiple bombings in Bombay - in places like Stock Exchange, Jewelry market etc were set off by timers that were sold by NATO factories to the Pakistan military?

And all you've got to show in retaliation is a glorified messenger boy in Jadhav?

So spare us the FALSE EQUIVALENCES. There is simply no comparison between India and Pakistan when it comes to state sponsorship of terror.

again, you are keep getting it wrong. This isn't about scoring points. Not trying to win anything here because, lets face it, I do not know you and nor I care for you or your feelings. But when i say i am connected to reality then it is obvious i am aware of what Pakistani military and government is capable of and has done.

I am just trying to figure out why are Indian nationalist are so blind and why they trust their government narrative when it comes to this topic?

again, you are keep getting it wrong. This isn't about scoring points. Not trying to win anything here because, lets face it, I do not know you and nor I care for you or your feelings. But when i say i am connected to reality then it is obvious i am aware of what Pakistani military and government is capable of and has done.

I am just trying to figure out why are Indian nationalist are so blind and why they trust their government narrative when it comes to this topic?

Because historical track record matters. Trust and faith are based on that. I completely understand the desire and need for my Pakistani brothers to want desperately to believe that "both governments" are the same. And are guilty of the same things.

But this is simply not the case.

Because historical track record matters. Trust and faith are based on that. I completely understand the desire and need for my Pakistani brothers to want desperately to believe that "both governments" are the same. And are guilty of the same things.

But this is simply not the case.

so you believe in your government 100% on this matter?

I'm not sure exactly what you are driving at. You expect me to issue some kind of blanket statement "clean chit" to the Indian government? I don't have the factual knowledge to do that. I have said it without any ambiguity that I would never ever support illegal violence supported by Indian government. And to the best of my knowledge, there isn't such activity. Even the much ballyhooed Kulbhushan jadhav - the most that PakMil has on him - assuming he wasn't snatched in Iran as is believed - that he was illegally present in pakistani territory and was relaying information and money.

They're shy in accepting the fact that India has long funded trouble in Balochistan. This has been confirmed by numerous sources including Richard Holbrook & Chuck Hagel. There's further evidence of India having her hands deep in Balochistan after Modi openly stated recently of creating issues in Balochistan. It will only highlight the Indian double standard which these guys won't be be able to defend...