In IPL, cricket gets forgotten: Dale Steyn feels PSL more rewarding than Indian Premier League

I don't know why people try to find quality Cricket in leagues. If you want to build players then first class Cricket is there for it. These are literally just money making leagues both for players and owners and a medium of entertainment for audience. Why do we all try so hard to unearth players from it. Be it PSL or IPL. Steyn is not wrong, its just a money making league and so is PSL. If Pakistanis or Sri lankans are trying to unearth players from it then God help our cricket. Players just get a bigger platform to show their skills that's it. It won't help them to improve their skills, just can build their confidence in front of bigger crowds. Indian cricket and IPL are both doing their respective jobs for them. Whereas we are trying to unearth players from PSL.

IPL, along with the WT20, is the highest form of T20 cricket in the game. It is the only platform where 99% of the best players are playing.

It is better than bilateral T20Is because the big teams regularly rest their key players. For example, Kohli has missed more than half of India’s T20Is in the last few years but he plays in every IPL game.

IPL is basically the WT20 in franchise form. It is unfair to group it with cheap imitations like PSL etc. that are largely made up of washed up, retired players.

Moreover, the fact that Pakistan itself is a terrible team with no talent makes things worse.

The problem is that BCCI does not pick players based on IPL performances alone, because they understand that core cricket skills are developed in FC.

On the other hand, PCB fast-tracks rubbish players like Shadab etc. because of PSL exploits.

Why do people not call Dale Steyn a choker? He was taken apart to cleaners by Grant Elliot in WC semi final and ultimately costed his team the match by not being able to defend 300 runs in 43 overs.

I think even indian posters respect him for being a better fast bowler than anyone india has produced throughout history, so they tend to respect him for that i guess.

No he is saying cricket isn’t the focus in the IPL. Not hard to work that out. Try again without blue tinted glasses

This he is saying now.

If we read his posts of 2011 and 2014, there he has nowhere mentioned that cricket is not important in IPL. He mentioned about the stress of travelling and tight schedules which is what makes IPL such a strong competition.

look at the dates on those tweets mate... 2011 and 2014... he has been consistent in his feelings towards the ipl

Those tweets are no way related to what he is saying now. He was talking about late night parties, photoshoots, hectic travel etc back then that were associated with IPL. But now he is saying cricket takes a back seat in IPL which he never complained during his peak years.

No one put a gun on his head and asked him to attend night parties. MS Dhoni was famously never attended any IPL party. Once the game is over, he used to go back to his hotel room. At the same time likes of Yuvraj and Gayle were party animals. So its all personal choice and same goes for photoshoots. Ofcourse India is a big country, so travel is something that no one can escape. But none of these explains how cricket takes a backseat? lol

IPL assembles best cricketers at their peak years by paying them hefty amount. As a result it produces the best quality of cricket. Everything else is a by product and players can choose to ignore.

Steyn understands that his IPL career is over. He is only saying this because he wants to be in good books of PSL or SLPL so that he can play few more years and earn money.

I don't know why everyone keeps ignoring that fact.
Well I do know, but still.

He is 37 now. He made his first tweet regarding IPL in 2011. IPL fans do not take the views of those who don't play in IPL or don't like IPL. They call them jealous, old, traitors and what not but these are Steyn's views who played in IPL for many years and sharing his thoughts about that league. I don't care about PSL vs IPL but he said cricket gets forgotten in IPL. This is directly related to his tweet in 2014 where he said that he has started to question himself whether he is a model or a cricketer. Anyone who does all these things will call this a paid vacation. He has been consistent in his views regarding IPL. :inti

And there are many many other cricketers who praise IPL over PSL. If you can digest a 1000 cricketers and bowlers praising IPL, we sure can digest 1 or 2 who criticize it

Kind of silly for anyone to think players party for 2 months rather than give their best effort. If they don’t perform there is no sifarish to get them a contract next year.

Steyn didn’t perform, wasn’t going to have his contract renewed, and then whines :))

He was a ATG in test, a v good bowler in ODI's and average in T20.

Overall still a great of the game....

Unfortunately for him, the leagues don't play test cricket

Yeah he was pretty average in T20's lol :inti

Matches : 47
Wickets : 64
Avg : 18.36
Eco : 6.95

Steyn says something bad about IPL - he is genuine.

Butler says IPL helped him to become a better player - he is playing to the gallery

Lol :91:

Steyn understands that his IPL career is over. He is only saying this because he wants to be in good books of PSL or SLPL so that he can play few more years and earn money.

Newsflash from India: Bashing IPL makes your PSL/LPL contract go further :))

After he is bashed by nobodies in PSL, he will make few more statements and folks here will ask for citizenship for him...

He will happily take the moolah and chill

Yeah because Buttler is bigger than Steyn? :91: :inti

Nothing to do with who is a better cricketer. The point is if anyone says anything against IPL...most are quick to believe he is speaking the truth. But when Butler says his cricket has improved due to IPL, we dismiss it by saying he is playing to the gallery. I was alluding to the hypocracy part and NOT who is the better player among the two.

Looll now people in this thread are trying to undermine an ATG’s legacy because of his comments regarding the IPL. Literally any form of criticism of India or any comment that doesn’t praise Indian cricket is bashed nowadays and they’re trying to cancel a legendary bowler now because of this. It’s laughable really.

Previous IPL held in UAE had no late night parties, no early morning photo shoots, etc. How well did Styen perform?

Looll now people in this thread are trying to undermine an ATG’s legacy because of his comments regarding the IPL. Literally any form of criticism of India or any comment that doesn’t praise Indian cricket is bashed nowadays and they’re trying to cancel a legendary bowler now because of this. It’s laughable really.

Are you surprised? Some of our fans have already cancelled Sachin(in tests) for Kohli, Kapil Dev for Pandya and Dhoni for Pant. Steyn is nothing in front of them. :inti

Well all the franchise leagues regardless of whichever it is will continue to remain inferior to international cricket. They are there to make money which is why businessmen invest in them.

For cricketing reasons, nothing can or will come close to the international cricket regardless of the format.

Well all the franchise leagues regardless of whichever it is will continue to remain inferior to international cricket. They are there to make money which is why businessmen invest in them.

For cricketing reasons, nothing can or will come close to the international cricket regardless of the format.

Disagree....IPL is better than most bilateral international T20s and only a level below T20 WC. Most top players rest in bilateral T20Is but very best of the best plays in IPL which makes it a better spectacle. For example, the recent SA-PAK T20 series where SA rested all its main players...will you call that as a great series just bcoz it has an international tag attached?

International cricket is best in test and ODI format. T20 internationals, apart from world cup is very poor and leagues have already surpassed it.

Why did he agree to play in the IPL all these years if he despised the materialistic elements to the IPL?

Which franchise bought a 37 year old Steyn and what were their expectations from him? :inti
Steyn in IPL 2020:
Matches - 3
Wickets - 1
Average - 133
Economy - 11.4

Whatever low expectations RCB had from him, Steyn didn’t meet them.

The words of a man who knows he won't be playing in the IPL again and the words of a man who hopes he will be picked in future in the PSL and other leagues.

I know players have to make a living towards the end of their careers, but there's something sad about seeing great cricketers being wheeled out in these T20 leagues.

People think saying positive stuff about certain leagues gets you chosen. I genuinely believe franchises don’t care if you say such positive stuff.

An example is Joe Root making it clear he wants to play in the IPL, yet no one has ever bought him. Steyn has said negative stuff about the IPL in the past and he has still played in the IPL. Franchises don’t care if you suck up to the league.

People think saying positive stuff about certain leagues gets you chosen. I genuinely believe franchises don’t care if you say such positive stuff.

An example is Joe Root making it clear he wants to play in the IPL, yet no one has ever bought him. Steyn has said negative stuff about the IPL in the past and he has still played in the IPL. Franchises don’t care if you suck up to the league.

True. Though, Amir is sucking upto Kohli is to make his case for future selection in RCB once he gets British citizenship.

again not what he was saying... people should actually read before commenting

Dale Steyn in IPL

2016 : warmed benches whole season except 1 game

2017 : Did not play.

2018 : UNSOLD

2019 : UNSOLD (bought as injury replacement)

2020 : UNSOLD in 1st Round. RCB bought him in round 2.

This is from the top of my head. Correct me if iam wrong.

What he says is entirely logical. He sounds like someone who has been around and probably doesnt like the limelight and glitz that comes with IPL anymore. While it pays well, one can only do that for so long.

Its like Kimi with Ferrari. It comes with all the extra limelight and additional media responsibility, press events etc. but then moving onto Alfa Romeo away from the glare he can just do what he does best..thats is drive. Noone in their right mind will choose to let go of Ferrari in their peak years but it can also be excruciating. Same goes for Steyn and IPL.

Let me put this in context with an analogy:

Robert Downey Jr probably has more fun acting in an obscure art house movie than say Avengers. He gets a multi million $ contract, the money riding on those movies and fan expectations and the strict contract that comes with multiple dos and donts adds to the pressure. In an art house film he has more freedom and creative expression no doubt about it.

That necessarily doesn’t make Avengers series inferior quality. You need those summer blockbusters to keep Hollywood alive.

Movie buffs enjoy all kinds of movies

Only some selected snobs watch arthouse movies while hating on these blockbuster films.

Pretty much the entire world is fascinated and watches the Avengers movies, follow the universe, have an emotional investment.

I know Steyn is not an RDJ type player though. Even at his prime, at best he was maybe a Agt.Paulson type supporting act. Memorable performer and adds to the flavor but not someone the fans would clamor for.

Now if some fans want to take it as some kind of validation for the PSL and celebrate this, then that’s fair. Congratulations.

Did you just call prime Steyn the cricketing equivalent of a supporting actor? :ibutt

He's one of the ATG fast bowlers.

The words of a man who knows he won't be playing in the IPL again and the words of a man who hopes he will be picked in future in the PSL and other leagues.

I know players have to make a living towards the end of their careers, but there's something sad about seeing great cricketers being wheeled out in these T20 leagues.

This is so true

In Hindi there is a saying " never trust the words of a crying ***** or laughing pimp " ; same with players / commentators of these franchise leagues. True for those who keep say cringeworthy stuff about IPL !

ps : Still remember Shane Warne saying that a Yusuf Pathan century in IPL was the best batting he ever saw :p

I always take words spoken during T20 tournaments with a pinch of salt.

Players saying x fans are the best, before they move on to the next league and say the same thing. Players kissing the badge of a T20 franchise, and then doing the same thing again at their next T20 franchise. Players running around and going crazy when they take a wicket as if there is no tomorrow and then doing the same thing a few weeks later at their next franchise.

It's all a drama and showboating really.

Disagree....IPL is better than most bilateral international T20s and only a level below T20 WC. Most top players rest in bilateral T20Is but very best of the best plays in IPL which makes it a better spectacle. For example, the recent SA-PAK T20 series where SA rested all its main players...will you call that as a great series just bcoz it has an international tag attached?

International cricket is best in test and ODI format. T20 internationals, apart from world cup is very poor and leagues have already surpassed it.

They rested their first choice players from the t20i series in Pak because their players had to enter the biosecure bubble for the test series against Aus, which got cancelled.
Do you remember the 2015 SA vs WI t20i series? That was some high octane cricket and one of the best t20i cricket. The stakes of winning a franchise tournament are lower than winning a wt20. Regardless of how much one loves a franchise team, it can not duplicate the support of one's international team. The patriotism induces a lot more adrenaline and emotions than a domestic team.

But I partially agree with your point that not all bilateral t20i series are good enough and that is because the amount of t20is have increased a lot and international schedules have gone busier so rest and rotation policy has become a need.

Another thing is the leagues have to accomodate atleast 7 local players and 4 oversees players. So there comes a difference of quality of players considering the oversees players are considered more valuable than an average domestic player unless he is one of first choice player of the national t20i team.

It's all my opinion and it's subjective. That's just how i feel.

" When you come to like a PSL or the Sri Lankan Premier League, for that matter, there is an importance on the cricket."
... :srt before PCT fans get too happy 😁

Let me put this in context with an analogy:

Robert Downey Jr probably has more fun acting in an obscure art house movie than say Avengers. He gets a multi million $ contract, the money riding on those movies and fan expectations and the strict contract that comes with multiple dos and donts adds to the pressure. In an art house film he has more freedom and creative expression no doubt about it.

That necessarily doesn’t make Avengers series inferior quality. You need those summer blockbusters to keep Hollywood alive.

Movie buffs enjoy all kinds of movies

Only some selected snobs watch arthouse movies while hating on these blockbuster films.

Pretty much the entire world is fascinated and watches the Avengers movies, follow the universe, have an emotional investment.

I know Steyn is not an RDJ type player though. Even at his prime, at best he was maybe a Agt.Paulson type supporting act. Memorable performer and adds to the flavor but not someone the fans would clamor for.

Now if some fans want to take it as some kind of validation for the PSL and celebrate this, then that’s fair. Congratulations.

Except for the supporting bowler part (cause you don't have to put down his legacy to prove a point)
Everything else summed up the situation perfectly

Older guy wanting to chill out enjoy "cricket" or in that case the art of movies

I dont get why people are insulting steyn.

He was a legend and will be one regardless of whatever happens.

He literally clubbed psl with slpl which is all you need to know.

He is allowed to have his views.

And regardless of its intentions, he does have a point.

All the media attention can get to you and maybe it happened for steyn.

However you need to have certain respect for your past employers, due to whom you have the lifestyle you have.

He has earned probably 90% of his t20 league pay due to ipl.

Heck ipl might have contributed a lion share of his cricketing pay.

Are you surprised? Some of our fans have already cancelled Sachin(in tests) for Kohli, Kapil Dev for Pandya and Dhoni for Pant. Steyn is nothing in front of them. :inti

Pant has won his team a test series win in Australia at age of 23 which is also touted as one of our greatest test series win away ever. So, it is equivalent to winning a World Cup which Dhoni did for us.

Two aspects to this - yes he might be right in saying in PSL and Lankan league focusses more on cricket, IPL has a more 'outdoor' or 'non cricket' aspect to it....but doesnot really translated into quality of cricket being lesser in one than the other.
I've watched both leagues and feel the intensity is quite high in both, everyone plays to win and is not out for a picnic.
The other aspect is you've got to keep your employers happy....your biggest customer is your Boss/manager/employer.....Nuff said....
End of the day, TC is the real deal, the real thing, the essense of real cricket....these leagues serve only one purpose, money, quick entertainment and is a feeder of some sorts....to the main course of TC...lets leave it at that...:mw1

As a commentator mentioned, Steyn seems to be having a midlife crisis. He has publicly gone after that commentator for making that comment in jest and now shown his bitterness for being dumped by his IPL team..a case of sour grapes for him..

One thing the IPL taught me was to stop idolizing cricketers. And enjoy them purely for their skills.

It is a massive boost for PSL's profile that a legendary bowler like Steyn is speaking about PSL in glowing terms. He also mentioned LPL(Lanka Premier League) as well, but that did not got included the title but that's okay.

Hopefully he can part some wisdom to Rabada, Nortje to not waste their time and effort in IPL and come to PSL to learn from the best. After all, PSL is a breeding ground of fast bowling talent.

Dale is right .... IPL is vacation league where players come to make money and dance with bollywood girls in parties.

PSL is where ppl throw bowls at your face at 150k's ... and you know you are not here for partying or vacation.

Somewhat agree with him, the money is just too much which obviously adds more pressure and instead of playing to enjoy it becomes more of trying to justify the auction amount.

Also many cricketers don't deserve this sort of money, i remember reading that Graeme Pollock needed a charity dinner to sort out his financial troubles. While local 3rd grade bowlers get crores of rupees in IPL.
It's not entirely fair.

You are saying this because you are using a previous barometer which itself was very poor reference standard.
So are you saying one wrong (the Graeme Pollock) example should be used to shoot down other right examples?
Also, IMO no 3rd grade bowler gets crores of rupees in IPL. Its not that easy. Look Bumrah was spotted by John Wright when he took 3 wickets for some 17 odd runs in some low key affair and he was recruited for MI. He was fortunate in a sense that he was noticed. My point is lets look at these so called 3rd grade bowlers as potential future 1st grade bowlers.
IPL money has enabled lot of fledgling cricketers to actually consider cricket as a career and this is good for the game. and like very other profession, cricketers should benefit commercially.
Around the time, we saw amazing feats from school kids like Kambli and Tendulkar, there were scores of similar players who after their school days had to choose another profession. This helps them a lot.
That said, I do agree with Steyn that IPL does have lot of other events clashing with cricket but I don't agree that cricket is not main event. Sure it started with bollywood and cheerleaders and glam and zany commentrators to attract the youth (who were on NBA and EPL ). But at the core, it is cricket and only cricketing feats are remembered.
I would read Dale steyn's comments to mean that he wanted only cricket and nothing else which IPL is not. Since he wasn't comfortable with it, he said what he felt and that's ok. My problem is that there are some PP'ers who think that this is a perfect chance to put down IPL just because they fancy words like Pajama league or so on. Nothing new here as this is what people said when ODI was introduced in cricket and now it has become mainstream. T20 has become too and along with leagues like IPL, PSL, BL and T10's will be here.

Why did he agree to play in the IPL all these years if he despised the materialistic elements to the IPL?

It all goes back to his 'IPL is a paid vacation' comment in 2008. Later he apologised for hurting the sentiments of some sensitive fans but he kept giving comments like these even after that. Someone has posted his tweets from 2011 and 2014 above also.

Steyn and other foreign players be like : :inti

Yeh hamari IPL hai
Yeh hum foreigners hai
Aur yahan pawri ho rahi hai

355207.jpg

you ae equally wrong to believe that what Steyn said is criticism of IPL. What he said it was not for him. But the sad truth is that if given a multi-million dollar contract, he would ditch PSL and join IPL. Dont believe this? Just look at the fact he was unhappy since 2014 but stuck around? Why? werent there other leagues?
he is aware of the fact that there are newer and better IPL bowlers than him now which is natural due to his age. Sad that such great bowlers have to hunt for league games now.

After South Africa fast bowler Dale Steyn said that he decided to opt out of IPL 2021 because he felt that other T20 leagues were "more rewarding as a player", India's Test vice-captain Ajinkya Rahane refused to comment on Steyn's statement but added that the Indian Premier League (IPL) has provided many Indian and overseas cricketers with the platform to express themselves over the years.

Steyn, who is currently playing for Quetta Gladiators in the Pakistan Super League (PSL), said that since players earn so much money in the IPL, sometimes "cricket gets forgotten". The Delhi Capitals batsman refused to comment on Steyn's statement saying that he was not sure exactly what he had said.

"See, I am here to talk about the fourth Test match and not here to talk about PSL or Sri Lanka Premier League. IPL gave us that platform to express ourselves and also to a lot of Indians and overseas players. I am not sure what Dale Steyn has said, I am here to talk about this Test match," Rahane said during a virtual press conference, in response to a NDTV question.

Steyn also pointed towards the fact that every IPL franchise has such big squads filled with so many big names and there is so much emphasis on the money a player is making.

"I have found that playing in other leagues was slightly more rewarding as a player," Steyn said on a YouTube channel Cricket Pakistan.

"When you go to IPL, there's such big squads and there's so many big names and there's so much emphasis on the amount of money that the players earn that sometimes, somewhere along the line the cricket gets forgotten," he added.

Steyn was a part of Virat Kohli-led Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) in last year's IPL, held across three venues in the United Arab Emirates. He failed to make any impact and decided to opt out of this year's edition after which the Bangalore-based franchise released him ahead of the auction.

Meanwhile, Rahane confirmed that Umesh Yadav is has been bowling well and had a good net session ahead of the fourth and final Test, which starts on March 4 in Ahmedabad.

https://sports.ndtv.com/cricket/ipl...jinkya-rahane-on-dale-steyns-comments-2382173

Steyn has a point. In IPL, the pressure, intensity, competition is much higher. Likes of Steyn easily find themselves on the bench there so without much cricket.

While smaller leagues has, less at stake, together with lower quality . Even average performance by Steyn would still get him selected in the team.

"Abudhabi T10 is more rewarding than all T20 leagues. The T20 leagues are more taxing since you have to bowl 4 overs. Here it is more rewarding that i can bowl couple of deliveries, then break down and nobody seems to notice " - Steyn in 2022

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">IPL has been nothing short of amazing in my career, as well as other players too. <br><br>My words were never intended to be degrading, insulting, or comparing of any leagues. <br>Social media and words out of context can often do that.<br><br>My apologies if this has upset anyone.<br>Much love</p>— Dale Steyn (@DaleSteyn62) <a href="https://twitter.com/DaleSteyn62/status/1367018609340538881?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">March 3, 2021</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Treat IPL and PSL as separate entities.

Not everything is supposed to be politicized to get leverage or bragging rights over our neighbors.

Accept that good cricket is played in both IPL and PSL, and acknowledge that both are at different stages of their lifespans.

PSL being 6 editions old, and IPL being about 13 or 14 editions old, are vastly different and cannot be compared.

PSL might improve a lot in the coming years, but for now, just enjoy the cricket where it's played and leave these comparisons behind.

Poor Dale...a legend like him should not go through all these at this stage of his career. Why does Pak media always asks players to compare between IPL and PSL and put them in uncomfortable situation? They asked the same question to Shane Watson too...LOL.

I mean no one would sit in Pakistan in the middle of PSL and say 'actually you know mr journalist, IPL is better'. I have never heard any journalist ever asked about PSL or other leagues to any cricketer during ongoing IPL.

Every person on this planet green earth knows that IPL is the gold standard and highest form of T20 cricket. It is the best criclet league in the world by several notches. But that does not mean PSL is bad in any shape or form but just not in the same class of IPL. Its high time Pak media stop asking this same question again and again to foreign players just to make themselves feel good and creating a false paradox.

Poor Dale...a legend like him should not go through all these at this stage of his career. Why does Pak media always asks players to compare between IPL and PSL and put them in uncomfortable situation? They asked the same question to Shane Watson too...LOL.

I mean no one would sit in Pakistan in the middle of PSL and say 'actually you know mr journalist, IPL is better'. I have never heard any journalist ever asked about PSL or other leagues to any cricketer during ongoing IPL.

Every person on this planet green earth knows that IPL is the gold standard and highest form of T20 cricket. It is the best criclet league in the world by several notches. But that does not mean PSL is bad in any shape or form but just not in the same class of IPL. Its high time Pak media stop asking this same question again and again to foreign players just to make themselves feel good and creating a false paradox.

Some guys do that - obviously now looking silly.

The Indian online army abused him so much that he has had to put out an apology tweet.

India maintains its award for being most thin skinned nation for a record 15th year

Dale Steyn will get IPL teams vying for him as long as he in active cricketer

So he's been misquoted.

That's pretty poor of the people responsible for writing up the interview.

Dale Steyn will get IPL teams vying for him as long as he in active cricketer

His stock fell in the IPL probably about 2-3 years back. He most probably would've gone unsold in the opening rounds of this year's auction and if he were to get picked, only RCB would be dumb enough to throw that cash. It's the result of a combination of his injury prone nature (owners would be wary of spending the big bucks on one player who misses the season through injury) and the fact that he's past his expiry date.

Before posters jump on him.
He has been very consistent in his views. Check his tweets from 2011 and 2014, he said the same thing while making millions.

I actually agree with Dale. Cricket is at the forefront and therefore more enjoyable in leagues like the PSL and SLPL whereas it can take a back seat in the IPL.

IPL contracts are very lucrative for foreign players.It will be mad for them to affront IPL.Best thing is to make as much money as possible and then express your true feelings.The main attraction of IPL is the money.If the money was not there the big stars will not be very keen to play in IPL.

His stock fell in the IPL probably about 2-3 years back. He most probably would've gone unsold in the opening rounds of this year's auction and if he were to get picked, only RCB would be dumb enough to throw that cash. It's the result of a combination of his injury prone nature (owners would be wary of spending the big bucks on one player who misses the season through injury) and the fact that he's past his expiry date.

He’s gotten picked every time he’s put his name in the hat including this last IPL season

The Indian online army abused him so much that he has had to put out an apology tweet.

India maintains its award for being most thin skinned nation for a record 15th year

For real. This mob mentality is pathetic, part of it also lies in their huge population- so a loud minority is still a billion or so from them.

First bechari Maria Sharapova now Dale.

What the hell are Indians even trying to argue? "Dale, we paid you so you better change how you really feel so our feelings are not hurt." Incredibly stupid.

Treat IPL and PSL as separate entities.

Not everything is supposed to be politicized to get leverage or bragging rights over our neighbors.

Accept that good cricket is played in both IPL and PSL, and acknowledge that both are at different stages of their lifespans.

PSL being 6 editions old, and IPL being about 13 or 14 editions old, are vastly different and cannot be compared.

PSL might improve a lot in the coming years, but for now, just enjoy the cricket where it's played and leave these comparisons behind.

A good post Uzman Bhai...
being Indian I off course donot watch every match of PSL (well, I donot watch every IPL match either)...I watch where I can....and yeah, there is a good skill quality and is up there with the rest, I donot see where PSL is inferior or lacking...yes its a different beast compared to IPL which has different metrics and more established base - having been in existence longer....
lets just stop the nationalistic jingoism and enjoy the cricket in front of us...surely, being in lockdowns in the not so recent past teaches us to value what we have....
cheers to both leagues...
:ds

What the hell are Indians even trying to argue? "Dale, we paid you so you better change how you really feel so our feelings are not hurt." Incredibly stupid.
Bunch of thin skinned pansies. It’s Steyn’s opinion, let him have it. He has said similar stuff at his peak too, starting with his ‘paid vacation’ jibe.

Well tbh, who would pay for Steyn in the IPL? He is a very poor bowler now who does not even look like he is bothered.

He’s gotten picked every time he’s put his name in the hat including this last IPL season

Someone posted this above:

2016 : Warmed benches whole season except 1 match (where he bowled 2 overs.)

2019 : UNSOLD (later brought as injury replacement and played 2 matches )

2020 : UNSOLD in 1st Round. RCB bought him in round 2. (Played 3 matches and went for 11.4 rpo with only 1 wkt)

If he's been misquoted that's fine, end of.

But if not, Steyn has a point I can sympathise with (forget the exaggerated interpretations by biased Pakistani fans)

That point is this: A professional player may sometimes aspire to just the simple joy and competitiveness of playing the game, free from extreme commercial considerations. Just the pleasure of taking the field and giving it your all in an competitive but camaraderie rich environment.

I'm sure even those of us who have played (and play) the game as pure amateurs may understand the simple joy of playing.

The IPL as a top notch league is extreme commerce and extreme pressure, just a never ending hard nosed professionalism. PSL and SLPL (more) are not at that level yet, and perhaps Steyn finds the kind of freedom there he did not in IPL. SLPL even more so. Steyn looks to be that kind of chilled guy who would think in this particular way.

It's the reason that many of us (me definitely) sometimes prefer to watch a village level cricket match rather than a club game, or a club game rather than a Ranji game. For me personally, the 'purest'; form of the game in India is a good school or college tournament.

So we should all chill.

Why do people not call Dale Steyn a choker? He was taken apart to cleaners by Grant Elliot in WC semi final and ultimately costed his team the match by not being able to defend 300 runs in 43 overs.

:))) That was a pathetic whataboutism. Dale Steyn is better than any fast bowler India has ever produced.

Steyn is becoming the Buffon of cricket. A legendary player who refuses to hang his boots, even though he is completely washed up to the point where he is getting rinsed in PSL which has minnow-level batting.

If he is that desperate for money he should become a bowling coach or do that “mentor” drama which is quite popular in franchise cricket these days.

He really needs to stop destroying his legacy by letting every Tom, Dick and Harry smoke him around in league cricket as if he is some associate level bowler.

You watch him bowl these days and it is hard to believe that he is one of the greats of all time.

IPL contracts are very lucrative for foreign players.It will be mad for them to affront IPL.Best thing is to make as much money as possible and then express your true feelings.The main attraction of IPL is the money.If the money was not there the big stars will not be very keen to play in IPL.

Haha, thats pure jealously. Sure, money is there, yet these big stars when IPL isn't happening, choose not to play for PSL. What does that tell about PSL? PSL is a timepass league with little value or meaning for top players.

And IPL is the top league, that's why you are rewarded with money. It's same case with football leagues like EPL, La Liga. Top players in top leagues get big money.

Someone posted this above:

2016 : Warmed benches whole season except 1 match (where he bowled 2 overs.)

2019 : UNSOLD (later brought as injury replacement and played 2 matches )

2020 : UNSOLD in 1st Round. RCB bought him in round 2. (Played 3 matches and went for 11.4 rpo with only 1 wkt)

So went unsold in a grand total of auction... yup seems like there’s no demand for him

Steyn is not average in T20s by any stretch of the imagination. He is very good, if not great, although not at the level of someone like Malinga.

Professional players play for money in international cricket as well. This is not some groundbreaking discovery or insight.

If cricket boards stop paying players, 90% of the players will not turn up for their national teams anymore irrespective of how much lip-service they do about the pride and honor of representing their countries etc.

No one has ever denied that IPL has become the giant that it is today because of any factor except money.

Same reason why Darren Sammy wears a turban and does bhangra in PSL after speaking a few pashto words and Viv Richards gives high fives to the Quetta players.

The top players in the world play in IPL during their peak years because they earn a lot of money.

Once they are no longer good enough for IPL, they turn their attention to low-budget, cheap imitations of IPL like PSL etc. which they view as their retirement home.

Steyn is not average in T20s by any stretch of the imagination. He is very good, if not great, although not at the level of someone like Malinga.

Steyn was a very good T20 bowler but he did not receive his due credit in the format because he had an impact-less ODI career so wasn’t really viewed as a great white ball bowler.