IAJ
- Post of the Week
Strauss 3 away from a ton! these bowlers have brought him back in form. Well done.
So does this still mean absolutely nothing?
Don't gloat so much that you start to froth....
Whippy I suggest you travel to the darkest depths of the internet to an Indian forum about cricket. If you shift through all the crap they talk you will see it means a hell of a lot)
Indians on this forum are just trying to remain strong. They are getting slaughtered by a county side - remember the county side are also missing a few key players
Its beautiful.
not the best start for India. Getting pumelled.
I think warmup games do mean something. Whenever we do well in them we tend to have a good tour, and whenever we flop in them we tend to get mullered in the real games. Not saying this is an exact science but from what I can remember this is how it has usually worked for us.
Har har, ton up for Strauss! ZK not even bothering to bowl at him this time. Injured perhaps?
somerset have declared. India need 462 from 42 overs.
Har har, ton up for Strauss! ZK not even bothering to bowl at him this time. Injured perhaps?
I think warmup games do mean something. Whenever we do well in them we tend to have a good tour, and whenever we flop in them we tend to get mullered in the real games. Not saying this is an exact science but from what I can remember this is how it has usually worked for us.
The last warmup game(s) you played against the Sri Lankans were losses, and they came from the back to win them. Yet you defeated them 1-0. Anomaly?.
Very poor spirit shown by Straus.
Before the first Test, the English captain is deliberately depriving the Indians a much needed batting practice.
rain has stopped play.. No more match i guess
humaaari dhulaayi ho rahi hai![]()
somerset did exactly the right. Why give extra overs to the opposition batsmen?
The last warmup game(s) you played against the Sri Lankans were losses, and they came from the back to win them. Yet you defeated them 1-0. Anomaly?
If we lose our first test, i am 200% sure that our media is going to screw BCCI.
Poor planning to start playing test with England after just a 3 day match.![]()
Doing well against a county side is no means a statement that you will win. Doing poorly is almost always a bad sign.
If you're talking about slow starters, I can understand it against England. Not a county team who has lost more matches than it's won, missing a few of its top players, who's bowling attack ranks nowhere near the top of the bowling attacks in the county and batting is mediocre, though well led by Tresco.
I'm just saying that your treatment of the issue is utterly mindboggling. How do you come out with statements like, England beware, we're going to win the rest now? After what can only be described as a battering, English fans would criticize the team sorely, acknowledge our faults and then plead, and ask them to take notice and improve. Here every statement I see is now confident of doing well, that it means nothing. That attitude is completely and utterly stupid. I wont say that India will lose because they did badly here, I will say that they need to be kicked up the rear and told to get themselves in order. We do that to England when they get a draw and outperform the opposition marginally. And its not to say English fans are worse than Indian, we follow them to ends of the globe to support them, though we are less in number. We're realistic, and if anything, we don't degrade our opponents unless they prove to be useless as many of you are so quick to do.
And MMHS - In regard to Strauss. I applaud him wholeheartedly. Why should he cater to India and offer them batting practice. Blame the BCCI for organizing one tour match, resting part of their playing XI, and refusing to bowl Zaheer who went wicketless! As a captain, that was the correct move by Strauss, calculating, but why should Strauss do his best to support the Indian contingent? It's their prerogative to look after their own warm ups. And what do you mean South African reject? He went to uni in England and played much of his later teenage+ years here, he grew up here. Sure he's South African by birth, but he learned the majority of his cricket here, would you want him to have left his family as a kid to go back to South Africa?
"Hey Mum, Dad, I know I'm only 16, but I've decided, I'm going to play for my country of birth, even though we're pretty settled here in England and I'll be a citizen here. Yeah, so I'm off to go live in Johannesburg, by myself, and one day get selected to be Graeme Smith's understudy."
This talk of nationalities is stupid. He's not a South African reject.
Well, when we went to SA and WI (our last two series) we played zero (0) warm up games.
What do you expect when you have a dhobi in your squad?
Asar toh paray ga on other players
Dhobi se acha humaare pass Dobby hota
)
dobby to mar chuka hai bhai.
evil dead ki tarah wapas nahi aayega woh!!!
)
)
Brohas recovered the resurrection stone from the forbidden forrest
I think we want the elder wand now after this warm up![]()
Think about how well they did thereafter.
Jealous?
So one of the most convincing wins by a touring side Down Under in the history of the game was only half down to England, it was also down to Australia and India in equal measure. I couldn't put my finger on it before but everything makes sense now. Nice to see that South Asia still graciously provides the world of cricket with these revelations and opportunities to progress.
Not at all.I think we've had Australia's measure for quite some time now so no envy there.
Infact I would go further and give 15% to India for a good grilling in the preceding series 2-0.It created doubts , some confusion regarding which spinner to pick , Hussey's spot and other commotion.
Be gracious now.
English fanboys salivating about the #1 test ranking. What exactly is England's record home/away against SA, away against WI, away against India in their most recent series?
Carry a handkerchief or two extra the next few weeks whippy!
What is India's record away against Australia? Or SA?
OH NO! You say you've not beaten Australia at home yet? Poor you!
Or SA? Oh, you've drawn, just like us? 1-1? Why is your draw worth more? Repeat it with me, a 1-1 is a 1-1, is a 1-1.
Bringing up series that are so many years ago, and have little bearing on the current teams is a poor attempt mate.
conveniently ignored the heroics of English against the windies?![]()
The last portion of my statement applies to it. It was a while back and it has no bearing on the current team, we don't play many of the players there.
But if you insist on making a deal of it, on their return tour, we crushed them in all games. I will agree we performed poorly there in Windies, but I think your "proving" a point is a list of irrelevant facts that don't do your cause any good.
And the Australia issue was meant to be the counter to the Windies issue. Surely the mighty Indian team at #1 could have beaten the Aussies at home, the poor midranked team that "gifted" us the Ashes with horrendous play.
You've got your imperfections, so do England. Your #1 ranking intimidates me not at all, and the mantle may fall upon any one of England, SA or India. We're not salivating, but we wouldn't be surprised to see it for a couple months before it goes to one of the other two.
lol. India has beaten England home/away. When will England achieve that?
So one of the most convincing wins by a touring side Down Under in the history of the game was only half down to England, it was also down to Australia and India in equal measure. I couldn't put my finger on it before but everything makes sense now. .
We've done it before. A while back sure, but we have haven't we?
So we have achieved it once, and it can happen again.
Making your comments based on past series is pathetic.
If it was even that applicable, why bother playing more series? Why have cricket at all? Why not just say, oh right, Team A beat Team B at B. Now, for every tour after Team A will surely win at B. Would make no sense to play cricket if the game was so simply predictable. Hell, when the English lost the Ashes for the first time, then why didn't the Aussies say, "Well, that's that lads, the Poms have lost to us at their home, let's save the ship fare and never travel back here again because we know we've now won for the rest of eternity." Mind you at a certain point the Aussies did look like that in their most dominating phases. But a series cannot be predicted by a result from way back. The last time we toured Australia, we were hammered 0-5. This time we crushed them 3-1. Now, the last time you toured us, you never beat us 5-0, and yet here are you are confident that we can't win. If anyone brings up the last tour claiming it to be more than what it was, a good away win, and claims that it is proof that India will win again.... I have to say, if you say that you've got less sense than my 9 year old nephew. His team routinely gets hammered when he plays basketball, but he goes back and wins some doesn't he? Because he knows its a game that doesn't depend on past performances, but the current one.
Or SA? Oh, you've drawn, just like us? 1-1? Why is your draw worth more? Repeat it with me, a 1-1 is a 1-1, is a 1-1.
I'm talking about the present team and the two most recent home/away series against England. Not like from 3 generations back.
Having seen both series , I would say the score should have been 3-1 to the proteas , eng hanging on in two of those tests !
India could have won their series if they taken just one more wicket.Unfortunately that happened to be Kallis lol.
From a spectator point of view , there was a real difference in the competitiveness there.
When a team is made up of individuals, you need to go back only a year or two to see change in form, and in personnel.
Last Lords Match
Strauss
Cook
Vaughan
KP
Colly
Bell
Prior
Tremlett
Anderson
Sidebottom
Panesar.
Cook has improved by leaps and bounds since then. Trott averages over 60 and probably > MPV of that time. KP and Strauss are the same as then, maybe a touch worse for KP. Morgan is a brilliant bat and > Colly at the moment. Bell averages 80 over the past year and a half. Tremlett has improved loads. Anderson is unrecognizable from the inconsistent bowler he was and is now #3. Dunno who the seamer will be (though Bresnan would be fine). And Swann >> Panesar.
Jaffer
Karthik
Dravid
SRT
Ganguly
Lax
Dhoni
Kumble
Khan
Singh
Sreesanth
Gambhir is good, and marginally better on current form (though normally much) than the openers. Mukund is.. probably a bunny. Dravid is less than what he was. SRT is pure class as usual, better even. Ganguly and Raina are comparable, though I rated Ganguly better. Lax is much the same, class. Dhoni's batting has been mediocre. Kumble is far better than Harbhajan. Khan is talented, but seems a touch worse for wear, and likely less of what he was back then. Singh and PK might be comparable. Ishant is inconsistent and comparable to Sreesanth.
In four years, the teams have changed enough based on form and players. A claim staked on the evidence of series even four years ago can be invalid.
Once again, the difference between 0-5 in Aus, and 3-1, was 4 years.
This series is tough to call. It would not be a cakewalk for either team.