India 12 Pakistan 0 in all World Cup events

Condolences to my boi Mobashir, I hope you are still happy with the result as you claimed you were with the Asia cup :)).... What is it now 8-0 ,, India has tattooed your side always when it mattered on the bigger stage, Remember THAT........

1948031_759662607377181_1319681572_n.png

lol @ Aamir Sohail :)))

Doesn't matter who cares and who doesn't care to be honest, calling an ICC trophy a dead trophy reeks of sour grapes. I remember the argument about how Pak's win loss ratio supposedly gave them an edge despite being behind on the trophy count but this argument disappeared when pointed out that India's ratio against the better ODI sides is actually better than Pak's. Clearly, some people are incapable of objectivity when it comes to India vs Pak. Asia Cup I can understand but a world trophy is a world trophy. Something tells me that if Pak had won 2 CT trophies and India 0 your opinion would be very different just like the WL ratio argument. It's just like saying bilateral series don't matter at all, extremely biased and asinine but to each their own. As for ifs buts..meh. Let's see what happens when it does. All said and done, people would rather have 3 extra major trophies in the format than a better HTH record against an arch rival. Different priorities I suppose. Explains why Pak have kept up with India in HTH even during India's strongest era whereas India have racked up the trophies.

Changa post ji.. :kohli

Condolences to my boi Mobashir, I hope you are still happy with the result as you claimed you were with the Asia cup :))....
What is it now 8-0 ,, India has tattooed your side always when it mattered on the bigger stage, Remember THAT........

NEVER EVER forget you humbleness.

I wont mind if our W/L outside world cup gets wider if it means we keep smashing Pakistan in the tournaments that matter.

Nope. Speak for yourself.

True, wont mind in the slightest if Pakistan keep winning against India in Kitply , Mirinda , Coca Cola , Pepsi , Fanta , Limca , Sprite and other numerous cups as long as the streak continues.

Well I do mind. Head-head record also matters while judging the better of the two teams, while the streak only proves that Pakistan choke against India in important games. Much like the Saffers against rest of the world, but that does not mean other teams don't like to beat SA outside ICC trophies.

Really, an Asia cup loss of last over, losing by 1 wicket, when Raina and Dhoni weren't even playing, matters that much?

eh?
My point being that every match is important. Who is referring to a single asia cup match?

BTW, guess whose record is this?

He played 7 of those 9 matches

7 matches 63 runs avge 9.00 strike rate 103.27

7 matches 4 wickets 53.75 avge 6.32 ER

Well I do mind. Head-head record also matters while judging the better of the two teams, while the streak only proves that Pakistan choke against India in important games. Much like the Saffers against rest of the world, but that does not mean other teams don't like to beat SA outside ICC trophies.

I would agree if the head to head record was skewed in recent times. It is not. Head to head is more or less equal now. Then add WC games to the mix

To be honest, our team is incapable of winning against India.Indians are just too good for them.

Hope to see this streak extend for a while and keep the pakistanis in perpetual despair.Jai ho :101:

Here is the picture of Indian team celebrating when India beat Pakistan in the 2013 World Cup Final!

2014-03-22_0940_zps1caa4a09.png

And the video of the team and crowd celebrating the world cup!!

http://youtu.be/H31I9tNudTM?t=7m18s

Oh wait….. that was not the world cup final, it was a dead rubber in the bilateral 3 match series, after India had already lost the series at home!! It may seem like the entire team and fans have gone bonkers over this win, but that is just an illusion! This was not the world cup hence the win was meaningless! It was meaningless, IT WAS, IT WAS!!!

As Mirza Asadullah Khan Ghalib aptly said, “Dil ke bahlane ko Ghalib, ye khayal achha hai.”

We Kashmiris have a very intimate sense of meaning of India - Pakistan cricket encounters. While we want Pakistan to win just as much (if not more) as most Pakistanis, most Kashmiris want India to loose significantly more than average Pakistanis. So for us the sense of success and failure is even more elevated in these encounters.

Most cricket observers would agree that every India - Pakistan encounter is a mental trophy itself, most times more so than actual physical trophies.

If you have watched most of India - Pakistan LOI encounters, you would likely agree that the most intense match ever played between the two sides was the Austral-Asia Cup final in 1986. Not because it was a cup final, but because it was an India - Pakistan encounter that evolved to be one of the best ODIs ever played. It also helped that it was in an environment of balanced fan base in Sharjah which made the encounter not only a competition of the players but fans as well. To me this remains by far the greatest match ever played between India and Pakistan.

The match caused a lasting effect which is unparalleled in sport. It resulted in a psychological barrier for Indian cricket, which they were not able to surmount for years. Constant losses to Pakistan, in what people in denial term as JAMODIs, caused India to stop playing Pakistan during Pakistan’s strongest era in the 90s!

When asked why India was playing Pakistan in other sports but not in cricket, the then Indian sports minister said on national TV that losing to Pakistan in Cricket causes the nation's psyche to be damaged!

So if only World Cup encounters mattered why would India’s psyche be damaged? If these were JAMODIs then why so serious? Why the dead rubber win frenzy which makes it seem like this team has just won the world cup ... of football, against a combined team of Pele, Maradona, Zidane, Messi, Bekenbauer, etc.... at their peak!!?

Even if you consider some of the world cup matches to be more meaningful, personally I would consider only two wins to be significant 1996 and 2011. 2003 was an aging Pakistan team with no chance of success. 1992 and 1999 were years when Pakistan won and made the final so it is ridiculous to associate some extra value to India’s wins beyond a typical India - Pakistan encounter!

T20 in general is devalued to the extent that I would expect more fans of the game to barely treat it as cricket. It is an India - Pakistan encounter so we still want our teams to win, but it does not stick. The most ‘significant’ T20 loss for Pakistan, if you can call it that, in 2007 final, had this impression on me. “Hmmnn that was silly shot to hand India the victory, I wonder if Misbah was trying to demonstrate his range of shots. Anyways whats for dinner.” End of story. T20 has no soul, no lasting feeling that stays with you for days, even months and years. If you want to call something meaningless, IMO you would have a winner with T20 in general.

BTW, here are a couple of examples (these both are in India) of how Kashmiris celebrated all of those 72 wins:

http://youtu.be/4P73Jo9hjRs

https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?v=10202295880650710&set=vb.1002083137&type=2&theater

Don't tell these guys or your own players that these matches were meaningless, because they will just laugh at you, tell you to watch some more cricket and to stop deluding yourself.

When Pakistan beats India whether it is Maindad, Malik, Waseem, Ijaz, Saeed, or Afridi, it is the epitome of cricket passion and joy. It is the converse when we lose. You can add very little on top of that because of an occasion.

After all is said and done, it remains:

Pak 72 - India 50!

Oh wait….. that was not the world cup final, it was a dead rubber in the bilateral 3 match series, after India had already lost the series at home!! It may seem like the entire team and fans have gone bonkers over this win, but that is just an illusion! This was not the world cup hence the win was meaningless! It was meaningless, IT WAS, IT WAS!!!

As Mirza Asadullah Khan Ghalib aptly said, “Dil ke bahlane ko Ghalib, ye khayal achha hai.”

dude that was because the win came under extraordinary circumstances with the team defending just 167 ... :facepalm:

The match caused a lasting effect which is unparalleled in sport. It resulted in a psychological barrier for Indian cricket, which they were not able to surmount for years. Constant losses to Pakistan, in what people in denial term as JAMODIs, caused India to stop playing Pakistan during Pakistan’s strongest era in the 90s!

Is that why Pakistan refused to tour India in 1993 ? But India did tour Pak in 1997 even though they could have easily refused since Pak had not kept up their obligation. So who was Scared ?

When asked why India was playing Pakistan in other sports but not in cricket, the then Indian sports minister said on national TV that losing to Pakistan in Cricket causes the nation's psyche to be damaged!

Got a credible source to back this up ?

So if only World Cup encounters mattered why would India’s psyche be damaged?

Who told you that our psyche is damaged ?
And if you dont believe WC wins are important go look at the various threads over here on how people are reacting to yet another resounding thrashing.

Yeah you are right on one thing the Galib quote ... except it applies very aptly to you.

dude that was because the win came under extraordinary circumstances with the team defending just 167 ... :face palm:

So the ODI does not mean anything but a certain situation within that ODI means enough to go nuts about, nice logic ;-)

Got a credible source to back this up?

The credible sources are people like me who watched every minute of this history unfold. If you were not a cricket fan back then or are too young to have followed cricket then, do your own research, talk to (fair minded) people who followed cricket in 80s and 90s. You could start here (not really fair and balanced but it is a start):

http://www.cricketcountry.com/articles/india-vs-pakistan-contests-amidst-conflicts-104863

Who told you that our psyche is damaged?

I witnessed it first hand, I was born and raised in Kashmir and lived in India (New Delhi) from 91 - 94.

And if you dont believe WC wins are important go look at the various threads over here on how people are reacting to yet another resounding thrashing.

People are reacting to a loss to India, even a significant loss to some who think highly of T20. Also some folks who do not have the context of sheer dominance that Pakistan exercised over India, may see things tilted India's way in the recent past.

Yeah you are right on one thing the Galib quote ... except it applies very aptly to you.

Sure the fact that I sleep happy, 6 out of every 10 times India and Pakistan meet means I am the one who is delusional ;-)

BTW, guess whose record is this?

He played 7 of those 9 matches

7 matches 63 runs avge 9.00 strike rate 103.27

7 matches 4 wickets 53.75 avge 6.32 ER

None other than the young and dashing Boom Boom? What can anyone say about him, the guy is all class, brings his best at the big stage :))

Here is the picture of Indian team celebrating when India beat Pakistan in the 2013 World Cup Final!

And the video of the team and crowd celebrating the world cup!!

http://youtu.be/H31I9tNudTM?t=7m18s

Yes, a couple of our players horsing around and just enjoying the game is now proof that the match is the equivalent of a world cup semi final match

and the crowd who paid the tickets to come have a good time is not supposed to celebrate either

This is just the equivalent of players who actually palyed so many overs in the game just letting off the steam. And the crowd is just having a fun picnic. I have seen more animated celebrations in meaningless IPL matches from both crowd and the players

We Kashmiris have a very intimate sense of meaning of India - Pakistan cricket encounters. While we want Pakistan to win just as much (if not more) as most Pakistanis, most Kashmiris want India to loose significantly more than average Pakistanis. So for us the sense of success and failure is even more elevated in these encounters.

Please do not try to pretend to be the representatives of all Kashmiris by using we again and again. Most of Kashmiris do not want India to lose. Even in those students who were suspended, only 17 out of 63 celebrated Pak win. And yes, this is not only on forums but personal experience too

The ones who do oppose India and celebrate Pakistan are just more vocal. they need crackers and loud noises and hoisting of flags to suppress the fact that the majority are not with them

Most cricket observers would agree that every India - Pakistan encounter is a mental trophy itself, most times more so than actual physical trophies.

If you have watched most of India - Pakistan LOI encounters, you would likely agree that the most intense match ever played between the two sides was the Austral-Asia Cup final in 1986. Not because it was a cup final, but because it was an India - Pakistan encounter that evolved to be one of the best ODIs ever played. It also helped that it was in an environment of balanced fan base in Sharjah which made the encounter not only a competition of the players but fans as well. To me this remains by far the greatest match ever played between India and Pakistan.

Yes, so here there is no talk of an average team at all. Pakistani teams was full of legends whereas our was... Prabhakar? What psychological barrier are you talking about? How did our win % change before or after the match? we were an average team before the series and remained average post that

However, somehow you do not concede the same psychological impact of losing world cup matches after world cup matches to the extent that Pakistan seems to mentally lose the match even before taking the field. Strange, you want to have it both ways

So if only World Cup encounters mattered why would India’s psyche be damaged? If these were JAMODIs then why so serious? Why the dead rubber win frenzy which makes it seem like this team has just won the world cup ... of football, against a combined team of Pele, Maradona, Zidane, Messi, Bekenbauer, etc.... at their peak!!?

In the late 80s and early 90s, India was floundering as a country. It was trying to rediscover it's identity. And yes, a part of the identity was associated with comparisons with Pakistan. So beating Pakistan was a big statement to make However, towards the late 90s, that changed. India found it's confidence as a nation. A lot of things which were important once changed. Encounters with Pakistan was one of them. Where at one time, it was a matter of national pride, soon it became just another game. The fact that the players became super rich and powerful also contributed to this. The timidity was gone. IPL exposure and the rise of the board added to this. On the other hand, because of unavoidable situations back at home, PCB lost it's clout. All these things affect the player's confidence

The new generation of players only have a second hand sense of history of the tensions between India-Pakistan. Of course, it will be a long way before both countries will remove all hostilities, but for most of the internet generations, the rivalry is just a bragging point and do not have the emotional connect of before. However, judging from your post, some people have not moved on and still are living in the past.I said before that beating Pakistan was like proving a big point for India. Now the shoe is on the other foot. Pakistani players have points to prove, be it exclusion from IPL or treatment of PCB by BCCI. Indian players don't have any such compulsiuon

Even if you consider some of the world cup matches to be more meaningful, personally I would consider only two wins to be significant 1996 and 2011. 2003 was an aging Pakistan team with no chance of success. 1992 and 1999 were years when Pakistan won and made the final so it is ridiculous to associate some extra value to India’s wins beyond a typical India - Pakistan encounter!

What can be better than beating your rivals at the biggest stage? And the very fact that most of the panic in those matches seem to be from the Pakistan side, shows who were overthinking and who treated those matches as just another encounter

T20 in general is devalued to the extent that I would expect more fans of the game to barely treat it as cricket. It is an India - Pakistan encounter so we still want our teams to win, but it does not stick. The most ‘significant’ T20 loss for Pakistan, if you can call it that, in 2007 final, had this impression on me. “Hmmnn that was silly shot to hand India the victory, I wonder if Misbah was trying to demonstrate his range of shots. Anyways whats for dinner.” End of story. T20 has no soul, no lasting feeling that stays with you for days, even months and years. If you want to call something meaningless, IMO you would have a winner with T20 in general.

A new generations of fans were introduced to cricket through T20. And these people love the format. Dinosaurs like us who enjoy the longer formats are slowly becoming history. IPL is super popular in India and the corwds for the india-Pak ODI series were nothing compared to the popularity if the IPL. This generation also doesn't have the same allure towards an Indo-Pak encounter as the previous one

Don't tell these guys or your own players that these matches were meaningless, because they will just laugh at you, tell you to watch some more cricket and to stop deluding yourself.

I have never seen anything in the players, their body language, their quotes, their preparation or demeanour in the current team to suggest they do not take India Pakistan as just another encounter. The last I saw real passion was in 99. Even the 2003 encounter is more remembered for Sachin's great shots. And the current generation has only tales of rivalries. Passion and emotion cannot be forced.

When Pakistan beats India whether it is Maindad, Malik, Waseem, Ijaz, Saeed, or Afridi, it is the epitome of cricket passion and joy. It is the converse when we lose. You can add very little on top of that because of an occasion.

Pak 72 - India 50!

It was once. It is no more now. Life has a way of moving forward. Those who live in the past get left behind. India-Pak encounters today generate interest only because of the rarity of such encounters. Time for epic rivalries are over in most sports. Rivalries are manufactured by the media just for the TRPs. It is not the same thing. People are too busy and sports is just an entertainment, not the national pride of the 80s and 90s. People don't stay depressed for days after a loss, they just change the channel.

The fact that you are repeating the same stats for over last ten years makes me sad. Is that your only bragging point? No other achievements? Nothing changed over 10 years? No new passion, no new bragging point? I too long for the good days of passionate cricket where cricket was tied with national pride and matches left their impact for long. But the ground reality is different. The players themselves don't care any more. There is the next tournament and the next. Then IPL. Then one more tour. You can see them caring less and less and just following routines. Even wins and losses are mechanical. Cricket matches are on par with a movie for entertainment, not a factor of pride. Maybe we can brag about winning a world cup but even the last couple of world cups didn't have the same emotional connection for me. Maybe I can say I am just growing older. But I haven't seen the same passion even among the youngsters. They are fans of cricket just like they are fans of WWE. I haven't seen anyone laugh or cry about a match or stay depressed for days after a loss. This is the reality of cricket in India. I don't know about Pakistan

I have to wonder who this applies to here. Me or you

People are not getting the whole picture here. The whole point is -

- We would beat Pakistan 4 out of 10 times if we go by history. It's not something like 9-1 or 10-0 in Pakistan's favor. So, Indians know what it feels like to be competitive and win many matches.

- World Cup story is totally different. No generation of Pakistan fans knows what it feels like to even win one match at the biggest stage of them all. It's probably the tougher thing to handle.

I don't think the WC record in itself is enough to offset 72-50(although even a few Pak fans felt it does IIRC) but I am sure most would take that WC record with the 4-1 ICC trophy advantage that India have in the format. That is HUGE no matter how you spin it. AustraliaAsia was good despite not being a tournament with all member sides but for that India have Benson and Hodges which they won in Australia and that had all the major times IIRC. If you nit pick bilateral ODIs et al to that extent, might as well include Asia Cups and other tournaments. All said and done it is :

72-50 in favour of Pak.

Major trophies (ODIs) 4-1 in favour of India. The WC record is just an icing on the cake. You can argue ad nauseum over it but it is what it is. While HTH is good for bragging rights, it is the trophies that matter. If Pakistan win this World T20 without beating India I'd like to see if the fans would argue India beating them offsets the trophy win! At the end of the day, it is the big trophies that matter most.

So the ODI does not mean anything but a certain situation within that ODI means enough to go nuts about, nice logic ;-)

You dont believe me ? Go ask your own supporters. I can show you a lot of matches where Ind have gone overboard after winning. The best one was against Aus in a dead rubber match in Test Series after winning defending just 105 .

The credible sources are people like me who watched every minute of this history unfold. If you were not a cricket fan back then or are too young to have followed cricket then, do your own research, talk to (fair minded) people who followed cricket in 80s and 90s. You could start here (not really fair and balanced but it is a start):

http://www.cricketcountry.com/articles/india-vs-pakistan-contests-amidst-conflicts-104863

You are a credible source ? LMAO. Sorry but your opinion simply does not count . FFS you think Australasia-Cup is the most intense and greatest match ever played between Ind-Pak lol .... Forget me or any Indian fan try convincing your own people that it was more intense than 96, 2003, 2007, 2011 and see if anyone agrees.

And that article has no information on any Indian minister issuing statements on Ind-Pak matches. Instead it clearly states that Vajpayee took the initiative to resume cricket matches in the 90s. So much for Ind being afraid of playing pakistan ehhh ?

So you going to admit that it was Pak who refused to Play India or you will still keep banging about India being afraid ?

BTW do you still think India is afraid of playing pakistan in the last few yrs since we mostly refuse to play against Pakistan ?

I witnessed it first hand, I was born and raised in Kashmir and lived in India (New Delhi) from 91 - 94.

Tell us what you witnessed in those years .

I won't answer each response individually, but the bottom line is this.

What is the actual point behind the parroting of this 8 - 0 or whatever world cup *record*?

If it is supposed to prove that India has been a better team than Pakistan in ODIs. Facts do not agree with that.

If it is supposed to prove that India is a better ODI team than Pakistan head to head. Facts do not agree with that.

If you claim that two knockout encounters in 1996 and 2011 were more meaningful than other encounters, I could agree to that. Those felt bad, 1996 more so than 2011 for me, since we had the stronger team overall. But the feeling of loss for me personally was not any worse than any other loss to India. In fact personally I recall physiological responses (shivering, shaking) during some nail-biters in 80s Sharjah encounters which never happened in any WC encounters.

If you claim that those WC Knockout encounters are worth more than the overall head to head record, that is just plain rubbish. The reason is we have been rewarded as fans more often and have more memories of victories and a larger number of great performances to look back upon.

Let me put it another way, If you looked at just the World Cup record between India and West Indies (2 -1 India) in the 80s, you could use the same logic to say India was the better team than WI in the 80s, which is laughable to anyone who knows anything about the game!! The world cup “record” meant absolutely zilch, when weighing the two teams against each other! WI absolutely clobbered India during 80s.

Parroting of the world cup record, is a psychological defense mechanism called compensation. “We do not win often enough but lets focus on the fact that we always win on Wednesdays!”, “We always win in the ICC tournament.”, etc.

Also using the games in WC encounters where Pakistan won or made the final does not do you any favors. The entire reason you associate importance to the WC encounters is because of the common goal of winning the cup. If a team can win or make the final without winning some game, that makes that game meaningless from the tournament’s perspective. So from your perspective the wins in 1992 and 1999 should have no meaning at all. Pakistan losing to India in 99 was no more meaningful than losing to Bangladesh from the tournament’s perspective. However it was an India - Pakistan encounter and had great meaning because of that. The meaning came from the bilateral rivalry not WC.

If you guys are looking for affirmation, yes India has improved in recent years to be very competitive and if you take recent record the teams are more or less balanced.

As for T20, talk to me about the benefits of T20, when in 10 years, both Test cricket and ODIs are history. I will watch T20 international and I have also played it quite a bit but there is very little cricket in it. We are watching the great game implode as we speak.

Indiafan, you have no clue what you are talking about with regards to Kashmir. You should spend some more time educating yourself about Kashmir and its people. You may also want to look into how Kashmiris (and WI) treated the Indian “world champions” in the one of the only two ODIs played in Kashmir.

In most of these WC matches Pakistan beats itself rather than being outplayed.

Enjoy it while it lasts.

What is the actual point behind the parroting of this 8 - 0 or whatever world cup *record*?

If it is supposed to prove that India has been a better team than Pakistan in ODIs. Facts do not agree with that.

If it is supposed to prove that India is a better ODI team than Pakistan head to head. Facts do not agree with that.

Let me put it another way, If you looked at just the World Cup record between India and West Indies (2 -1 India) in the 80s, you could use the same logic to say India was the better team than WI in the 80s, which is laughable to anyone who knows anything about the game!! The world cup “record” meant absolutely zilch, when weighing the two teams against each other! WI absolutely clobbered India during 80s.

I agree with you here on some points. The fact is, you are making some sensible and logical points and trying to push some highly illogical and emotional points through too along with them.

I kept the part of your argument to which I agree, here.. some other points were probably way over-the-top.. like 1986 was the epitome of passion.. you are refuting some Indian posters rightly for the over-the-top ignorant remarks they are making, but you are doing the same in response.

In most of these WC matches Pakistan beats itself rather than being outplayed.

Enjoy it while it lasts.

Not sure this statement makes any sense.. in any match, one team can claim they beat themselves else it was out of capacity for the other team to overcome their might.

Useless remark.

Not sure this statement makes any sense.. in any match, one team can claim they beat themselves else it was out of capacity for the other team to overcome their might.

Useless remark.

You need to watch more matches before you understand this concept.

Pak 72 - India 50!

See, you are making some really over-the-top remarks and presenting them as facts.

For the reference, majority of the cricketing world considered Aus-SA ODIs to be the best ODIs ever played. Probably your remark of treating Australasia cup final (a good ODI nevertheless) is driven more from your own personal world of beliefs.

Why is Pakistan beating India an epitome of cricket passion and joy while the reverse is a dull moment ? Are you specially talking about Pakistanis/Kashmiris or all the cricket lovers.
Obviously a loss would not please anyone and they would like to forget it early.. but for the opponents it's a special moment.

I agree to the overall 72-50 record though.. it proves Pakistan has been a better ODI team than India overall historically.

You need to watch more matches before you understand this concept.

I have watched enough cricket matches to understand this, so dont worry about my understanding. Let us take example of : In 2003 WC encounter which is remembered for a masterclass innings from Tendulkar, who do you credit for Pakistan loss ?

Well ain't it always like that, I mean Pak always lose a match on their own & we just turn up for attendance !

No some have been proper thrashings but on quite a few occasions, Pak should have won which is their own fault, due to lack of mental strength/not being able to handle the pressure etc.

http://youtu.be/4P73Jo9hjRs[/url]

https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?v=10202295880650710&set=vb.1002083137&type=2&theater

The politics really needs to be left out of the game. So what if Kashmiris celebrate Pakistani wins? Are their lives better for it? No it is not.

72 - 50 or 9 - 0 accept it for what it is and move on.

I have watched enough cricket matches to understand this, so dont worry about my understanding. Let us take example of : In 2003 WC encounter which is remembered for a masterclass innings from Tendulkar, who do you credit for Pakistan loss ?

That was a proper win, no complaints, just as in this current T20 WC.

However, the 2 encounters in the first T20 WC, Sydney, Mohali and Bangalore, Pak could have won.

No some have been proper thrashings but on quite a few occasions, Pak should have won which is their own fault, due to lack of mental strength/not being able to handle the pressure etc.
Well you might say that but even in such cases the opposition must have done something right, ergo they deserve some of the credit for any implosion which resulted in a loss for the other side. You can call it semantics or technicality but anyways Pak, not just the team but the whole nation & even PP forums, make it look like the game is bigger than the Cup itself which kinda puts them in self destruct mode more often than not. Therefore so long as they don't treat it just like any other game they'll continue this run of losses !

ha ha ... typical ... So Ind was "Afraid" of playing Pakistan as per your opinion and I just need to accept your opinion then ?. Talk about misplaced sense of self-importance and jingoism.

The point is that these matches are far more important than any bilateral match. These are *THE BIG Matches* that people remember for long long time. Don't take my word for it ... just go look at your own media reports and supporters reactions on this very forum after every loss to India in a WC game. Next go look at how Aamir Sohail and Waqar Younis react to the names Venkatesh Prasad and Ajay Jadeja. Now unless something dramatic happens ( like JM vs Chetan Sharma or Chauhan vs Saqlain ) the Bilateral odis are forgotten fairly quickly. That Austral-asia cup has been dumped a long long time ago. No one cares anymore. People have moved on. You are still trying to draw solace from a match that was played 28 yrs ago for which there is not even proper video footage available whereas I have one that was played just 48 hrs ago. And I get one every other year !! Thats the difference. Do you see any Indians bang on about the Benson and Hedges wins against Pakistan back in 1985 ? Heck that was a proper WC like tournament with lot of hype and prestige at that time. Nobody cares. BCCI could have easily arranged a lot of ODIs between a much weaker Pak team and India to narrow that Head-to-head gap but nobody cares even if it is a lucrative proposition.

Then there is the aspect of having knocked out the bitter Rival from 4 WC's ( 96, 2003, 2011, 2007 ) and ended a few careers on a bitter note ( JM, Anwar, W's ) . So when it matters the most India have always showed up on the big stage and comprehensively beaten some of the most strongest Pakistan teams in every possible manner ( Win or Lose Toss, Phatta, Bouncy or Seaming Pitches, Bat First or Second, Defend Low totals or chase big totals , knockout matches, group matches semifinals, qtr finals, finals) . So there I hope you get the point. But I wont be surprised if you try to downplay these.

Why is Pakistan beating India an epitome of cricket passion and joy while the reverse is a dull moment ? Are you specially talking about Pakistanis/Kashmiris or all the cricket lovers.
Obviously a loss would not please anyone and they would like to forget it early.. but for the opponents it's a special moment.

I agree to the overall 72-50 record though.. it proves Pakistan has been a better ODI team than India overall historically.

I agree with you. I never said the reverse is a dull moment, I am just saying winning against India has always been special irrespective of the event and reverse is the case when India wins.

I can understand Indian fans seemingly deriving more out of the world cup wins or the current streak and I am not asking anyone to enjoy their wins any less. Just making the point that deriving more out of fewer wins is a subjective response not an objective measure.

To each his own, if anyone enjoys one win in a particular occasion more than all the rest, more power to them.

Forget about this stupid thread but this statement is 100% wrong.

Hypothetical case - I will swap a random non-WC match win for SA with a random WC match win in a heart beat. Hardly anyone outside of two countries watches a bilateral matches. In WC, whole world watches.

Enjoying particular win is actually highly objective when I am comparing one WC and one non-WC match. I will always swap a bilateral win against WI with a WC ODI match win against WI. It's not subjective at all. It's objective no matter how you look at it.

Now when you start talking about 1 WC win counts for so many non-WC wins then it gets subjective.

ha ha ... typical ... So Ind was "Afraid" of playing Pakistan as per your opinion and I just need to accept your opinion then ?. Talk about misplaced sense of self-importance and jingoism.

Tusker, while this is not the main point of discussion here and I do not really want to discuss politics. But yes that is exactly what it was, India stopped playing Pakistan bilaterally for 7 years and the excuse was the usual politics over Kashmir, but they did not say why this ban only applied to Cricket. Maybe you could do some research and explain why this selective ban on bilateral cricketing ties happened.

The point is that these matches are far more important than any bilateral match. These are *THE BIG Matches* that people remember for long long time. Don't take my word for it ... just go look at your own media reports and supporters reactions on this very forum after every loss to India in a WC game.

The question is who defines what a big match is. Sports is objective by nature, there is a win or loss, that is the whole point. If you bring in subjective reasoning for relative comparisons, you might as well be a movie critic at that point.

Thankfully relative comparisons are straight-forward in cricket. Lets keep it that way.

Hardly anyone outside of two countries watches a bilateral matches. In WC, whole world watches.

I am not sure I understand your full post, but I would not agree with this part. I would venture that only WC Finals get even remotely measurable neutral viewership and even then it is likely just the die hard cricket fans, which is to say not much.

With T20 this may be changing due to the shorter nature of the games, but I am not talking about T20 at all.

aamir, you are is getting too emotional about Pak loss of a T20 game !!! dont bring politicis involved over your nationality here. Most Indians apart from few in PP and few in Media dont care about this win at all ...atleast from my view and few ppl Harping here is just a bantering after the wins in a jovial light hearted manner.

Big Matches are, to me the ICC events, which will be remembered for a long time and whose records will be spoken about for a long time. definition of celebration varies based on the situation of the match and your tube link doesnt prove anything. I can show you many meaningless matches where India celebrated as if they have won the WC and the opp. is not Pakistan.

Just chuck the emotions out and dont carry the grudge of previous generations.....To many Indians, it was just another match( win or lose). I dont think it carries any more or less importance than a match against WI/Aus/NZ or any other country.

The point that is being missed (dare I say deliberately) is that 0-9 vs 72-50 is arguable; but when you add major trophies won to the discussion including an additional WC which is the epitome of cricket, it is a total no brainer as to which record you'd rather have. Ask any neutral fan which of the following they would rather have :

72-50 vs arch rivals and 1ICC trophy (WC)
or 9-0 at WCs + 4 ICC trophies (2WCs+ 2 Champions Trophies).

Total no brainer, honestly. Whoever says they wouldn't have the second record over the first one is either lying for the sake of it or cares much more about beating a team than winning trophies.

The point that is being missed (dare I say deliberately) is that 0-9 vs 72-50 is arguable; but when you add major trophies won to the discussion including an additional WC which is the epitome of cricket, it is a total no brainer as to which record you'd rather have. Ask any neutral fan which of the following they would rather have :

Total no brainer, honestly. Whoever says they wouldn't have the second record over the first one is either lying for the sake of it or cares much more about beating a team than winning trophies.
True bro

Forget about this stupid thread but this statement is 100% wrong.

Hypothetical case - I will swap a random non-WC match win for SA with a random WC match win in a heart beat. Hardly anyone outside of two countries watches a bilateral matches. In WC, whole world watches.

Enjoying particular win is actually highly objective when I am comparing one WC and one non-WC match. I will always swap a bilateral win against WI with a WC ODI match win against WI. It's not subjective at all. It's objective no matter how you look at it.

Now when you start talking about 1 WC win counts for so many non-WC wins then it gets subjective.

I think it depends on the context of the match.. for example 1992 and 1999 WC encounters b/w India and Pakistan weren't necessarily more important than the bilateral series deciding matches, because both of them didn't really affect either team's chances of moving ahead in the world cup. So if you ask me, I would rate Australasia cup final (Miandad one) much higher than the above two world cup encounters.. but a bit less than WC 2011 Semi-final..

That was a proper win, no complaints, just as in this current T20 WC.

However, the 2 encounters in the first T20 WC, Sydney, Mohali and Bangalore, Pak could have won.

Apart from Bangalore QF 1996, Pakistan never really had been in commanding position ever with 30 overs to go in the match (for ODIs) or 10 overs to go in T20.. in fact had it not been for Misbah, in both the T20 WC 2007 encounters, Pakistan would have lost with a big margin of around 15-20 runs.

I think you can only make a case of throwing the victory away in 1996 QF.. even there, India posted a big score and anything could have happened after Anwar got out.. the fact that Sohail later threw it away can be termed self destructing.

But in all other matches, India didn't allow Pakistan to be in commanding position to throw the match.

Tusker, while this is not the main point of discussion here and I do not really want to discuss politics. But yes that is exactly what it was, India stopped playing Pakistan bilaterally for 7 years and the excuse was the usual politics over Kashmir, but they did not say why this ban only applied to Cricket. Maybe you could do some research and explain why this selective ban on bilateral cricketing ties happened.

You are the one that needs to do the research and tell me why Pak didnt tour India in the 90s despite being invited by BCCI.

Even today Ind doesnt play Pak regularly. So according to you this is because we are afraid of playing Pakistan ?

The question is who defines what a big match is. Sports is objective by nature, there is a win or loss, that is the whole point. If you bring in subjective reasoning for relative comparisons, you might as well be a movie critic at that point.

Thankfully relative comparisons are straight-forward in cricket. Lets keep it that way.

The ICC decides which matches are important and whether you like it or not the ICC WC is *THE* premier event in ICC calendar. Nobody here will agree with you if you say bilateral matches are just as important as winning in WC.

So in these events we hold the bragging rights fir having never lost to the bitter rivals. And in doing so we have ensured that they were knocked out of the WC itself 4 times which is one of the main reasons why your ICC trophy count is much lesser than India's. So hell ya WC >>>>> Bilateral's.

Bottom line is v choke in Big Icc matches against india, v Dont have leaders at The front except for Only one i Can remember king khan

Immy was tomstoned as well in 1992. Please check the streak graveyard. :l

aamir, you are is getting too emotional about Pak loss of a T20 game !!!

You need to read my posts again, I do not care about T20 at all! I did not read the rest of your post when you start with something like this.

You are the one that needs to do the research and tell me why Pak didnt tour India in the 90s despite being invited by BCCI.

It was BCCI that refused to play in Sharjah at first and then shortly thereafter used the government approval as an excuse to not tour Pakistan. How could Pakistan return the favor when India refused to tour.

Even today Ind doesnt play Pak regularly. So according to you this is because we are afraid of playing Pakistan ?

Now that is a silly comparison. There was an incident due to which no country is touring Pakistan. How is that a valid comparison with the 90s?

You need to read my posts again, I do not care about T20 at all! I did not read the rest of your post when you start with something like this.

then the matter and thread is closed.......its a friendly banter.

It was BCCI that refused to play in Sharjah at first and then shortly thereafter used the government approval as an excuse to not tour Pakistan. How could Pakistan return the favor when India refused to tour.

Now that is a silly comparison. There was an incident due to which no country is touring Pakistan. How is that a valid comparison with the 90s?

I think the "afraid to play" argument is flawed because there were much stronger teams than Pakistan in the '90s which India regularly played. In fact, when India invited Pakistan in 1999, Pakistan was stronger than India even then. The refusal to play in Sharjah was due to the suspect venue and not Pakistan. If you remember the Sahara cup annual tournament in Canada, that ran for 3 years, was also scrapped due to high suspicion of fixing involved. It didn't mean either team was afraid to play each other. In fact in 1997, India toured Pakistan for a 3 match ODI series.

We should move on from childish arguments and discuss facts.

We both won same number of World Cup since this record started. It took you 52 years to win a test/series on Pakistani soil while World Cup record is only 22 years old.

It will end next year where it all started in the graveyard of Asian teams, Australia.

We both won same number of World Cup since this record started. It took you 52 years to win a test/series on Pakistani soil while World Cup record is only 22 years old.

It will end next year where it all started in the graveyard of Asian teams, Australia.

How conveniently you set the starting point for including 1992 WC victory.. good one.

In the 90s, every Indian win against Pakistan was followed by bursting of crackers. However during the latest win against Pakistan in the T20 Cup, there were hardly any celebrations and no bursting of crackers either. Even the media hype was nowhere to be seen.

Its not about matches in meaningless series only I think people dont ever care much about the T20 World Cup matches either.

Mohali victory was another Diwali occasion though

True, we took 22 years to win a test series. But somehow some fans like living in the past glory days while Indian team has clearly moved on

We have so much cricket nowadays that even media hardly covers the matches. You will see only election talk on TV and only 2 minutes of match coverage. Despite Dhoni losing series after series, there is no scrutiny on him as media doesn't have time for cricket

Too much cricket has caused all this.

True, we took 22 years to win a test series. But somehow some fans like living in the past glory days while Indian team has clearly moved on

We have so much cricket nowadays that even media hardly covers the matches. You will see only election talk on TV and only 2 minutes of match coverage. Despite Dhoni losing series after series, there is no scrutiny on him as media doesn't have time for cricket

Too much cricket has caused all this.

precisely. I dont think many people in India are talking about this stupid T20 win over pakistan except some in PP for some friendly banter. T20 is see, enjoy and forget if at all anyone interested :-)

I think most of us are desp. waiting for FIFA 2014......enough of cricket for now. Next Interesting series will be India tour of Oz later this year. Lets see if India is able atleast put up some fight rather than resigning like last time :-(

Re: India 8 Pakistan 0 in all World Cup events

Someone just claimed India refused to play in Sharjah in 90s?Lol.India played regularly in Sharjah in 90s.The ban on Sharjah came in 2000.

Secondly PCB refused to come to India in 1990 to play the Asia cup and then refused to come to India in 1991 and 1993.India then refused to tour Pakistan in 1995.Before cricketing relations were restored in 1997.

Some people need to read history if they were too young to witness it or else stop making baseless claims.

I don't understand why Pakistani fans are crying and making excuses.

India hold their nerves better than us in World Cups, hence they win.

What is wrong in admitting that?

Even the tiger Imran Khan lost his nerve, who keeps harping about how our current lot should play without fear.

We can simply hope and pray that one day our players will be able to overcome the nerves and win against India.

This record is far more meaningful than the head to head one, because no bilateral series can measure up to the hype and tension of performing on the world stage and the fact that India holds their nerves much better than us on the biggest stage is something to be applauded while we should try to work on improving ourselves rather than make irrelevant points over how long it took them to win a Test series on our soil and etc etc which have nothing to do with their World Cup streak.

Accept the fact that we bottle it vs India on the big stage. There is nothing more to it. Its a simple fact.

I don't understand why Pakistani fans are crying and making excuses.

India hold their nerves better than us in World Cups, hence they win.

What is wrong in admitting that?

Even the tiger Imran Khan lost his nerve, who keeps harping about how our current should play without fear.

We can simply hope and pray that one day our players will be able to overcome the nerves and win against India.

This record is far meaningful than the head to head one, because no bilateral series can measure up to the hype and tension of performing on the world stage and the fact that India holds their nerves much better than us on the biggest stage is something to be applauded while we should try to work on improving ourselves rather than make irrelevant points over how long it took them to win a Test series on our soil and etc etc which have nothing to do with this thread.

Accept the fact that we bottle it vs India on the big stage. There is nothing more to it. Its a simple fact.

Spoken like a true Indian. Come out of hiding!

:91:

You have to whine and make excuses about the World Cup streak to be a Pakistani?

For starters, it didn't take 'us' 52 years to win anywhere. On the contrary you have not beaten 'us' ever in our country and you have won a solitary test match against 'us' in the last 15 years or whatever so cut out the crap.

Secondly, I couldn't care less about 9-0 or your HTH vs India. What matters to the fans most are ICC trophies( in limited overs cricket). The count is 5-2. This 22 years chest beating is all well and good...but it's kind of like saying India have won as many ICC trophies since 2011 as Pakistan have since 1947. It took Pakistan 62 years to do what India did in the last 3! See, anyone can dramatise things. Don't deliberately miss the point and be obtuse and don't cast aspersions on my identity. Keep your biased views, hate and rubbish at the door when you respond to my posts or don't bother replying.

I did not set the time. 1992 was the first time India played Pakistan in a World Cup match.

I know you didn't make up facts, but used the startpoint of world cup victories since the first meeting in the WC seems like an attempt to somehow exclude the total WC count.

The number of WCs won is a good stats, not the number of WC won since the first meeting in the WC.

Before 2011, you would boast of a superior record of winning more WCs.. which is laughable.

amir and cricket joshila have said exactly what I wanted to say on this topic. I repeat you have no leg to stand on this matter. This "India was Afraid of Pakistan" is a childish argument ... to put it very mildly.

I'am talking Neutral venues in UAE or elsewhere.

For starters, it didn't take 'us' 52 years to win anywhere. On the contrary you have not beaten 'us' ever in our country and you have won a solitary test match against 'us' in the last 15 years or whatever so cut out the crap.

Secondly, I couldn't care less about 9-0 or your HTH vs India. What matters to the fans most are ICC trophies( in limited overs cricket). The count is 5-2. This 22 years chest beating is all well and good...but it's kind of like saying India have won as many ICC trophies since 2011 as Pakistan have since 1947. It took Pakistan 62 years to do what India did in the last 3! See, anyone can dramatise things. Don't deliberately miss the point and be obtuse and don't cast aspersions on my identity. Keep your biased views, hate and rubbish at the door when you respond to my posts or don't bother replying.

Pakistan won first test on Indian soil in 1952 and Great Khan's Pakistan team won both test and ODI series on Indian soil in 1987.

Wasim Akram's Pakistan team won test series and triangular ODI series 15 years ago on Indian soil.

IndoPak started playing cricket with each other in 1952 and you won your first test and series on Pakistan soil in 2004.

You guys overrate Champions Trophy. This is the trophy won by chokers and ICC were happy enough cancel it. Only purpose of Champions Trophy is to generate extra revenue for ICC.

I know you didn't make up facts, but used the startpoint of world cup victories since the first meeting in the WC seems like an attempt to somehow exclude the total WC count.

The number of WCs won is a good stats, not the number of WC won since the first meeting in the WC.

Before 2011, you would boast of a superior record of winning more WCs.. which is laughable.

We are talking about IndoPak World Cup matches here. I cannot start in 1975 because we did not play each other in World Cup until 1992. Your World Cup wins against us ended in making you Champions on two occasions. We became Champions same number of times during that period. In conclusion, these world cup wins are overrated unless you end up winning the tournament like in 2007 and 2011.

So Champions Trophy, an ICC Trophy, doesn't count because SA won it and Pakistan didn't. Sound use of logic there. The same muppets would have been the first to big it up had Pakistan won a couple of them. Going by that logic, if SA somehow manage to win a WC that would automatically render the tournament worthless. Great, just great use of logic! Now apparently WCs before 1992 don't count either; I'm flabbergasted. How can people be so silly and biased?

Again, I don't care about when 'Great Khan' won a test series in India; in case it was too hard for you to process what I wrote in my previous post, let me make it easy for you - I do not support India.

The purpose of all cricket matches is to generate revenue, sport is a business after all. That automatically makes everything irrelevant. Jesus, talk about killing logic. Some throughly substandard, biased and asinine posting here, typically enough. When you run out of sorry arguments and rubbish and someone calls you out on your rubbish they are automatically Indian supporters! Woah. Logic like this makes me fear for some of our future generations.

Pakistan won first test on Indian soil in 1952 and Great Khan's Pakistan team won both test and ODI series on Indian soil in 1987.

Wasim Akram's Pakistan team won test series and triangular ODI series 15 years ago on Indian soil.

IndoPak started playing cricket with each other in 1952 and you won your first test and series on Pakistan soil in 2004.

You guys overrate Champions Trophy. This is the trophy won by chokers and ICC were happy enough cancel it. Only purpose of Champions Trophy is to generate extra revenue for ICC.

These Test series that you speak about do not occur on a regular basis. There was a gap of 17 yrs in the 60s and 70s and a span of 15 yrs between 89-2004. Whereas we won the WC , B&H WorldChampionship , T20-WC , CT before you did and more often than you did. These are the most popular WORLD Cricketing events whether you like it or not and in these high profile events our record against Pak is out of the world. 5-0 in WC 4-0 in T20 WC 2-0 In B&H WC + 1-2 in CT

Thats an impressive 12-2 .

We are talking about IndoPak World Cup matches here. I cannot start in 1975 because we did not play each other in World Cup until 1992. Your World Cup wins against us ended in making you Champions on two occasions. We became Champions same number of times during that period. In conclusion, these world cup wins are overrated unless you end up winning the tournament like in 2007 and 2011.

so you wait till the WC is over to start mourning your loss to India ? hahaha ... :facepalm: But the no.of wrist-splitting threads created here tells a diff story. And the part that you forget is that Pak was knocked out 4 times .

LOL, I don't really understand why Indians talk so much about the 9-0 WC record since 1992. Overall, it is 2-2 in terms of World Cup glory since then. Pakistan taking the 1992 and 2009 WCs while India taking the 2007 and 2011 WCs. What is the use of 9-0 or 19-0 when you can not win the tournament? Why obsessed with Pakistan so much?

The more important number is the 72-50 record. Statistically, that tells you which team has been better over the entire course of this rivalry.

LOL, I don't really understand why Indians talk so much about the 9-0 WC record since 1992. Overall, it is 2-2 in terms of World Cup glory since then. Pakistan taking the 1992 and 2009 WCs while India taking the 2007 and 2011 WCs. What is the use of 9-0 or 19-0 when you can not win the tournament? Why obsessed with Pakistan so much?

The more important number is the 72-50 record. Statistically, that tells you which team has been better over the entire course of this rivalry.

You probably did not read many posts in this thread which have discussed the relative importance of the two stats (72-50 and 9-0) and some very valid arguments were made in favour and opposition both.

aamir, you are is getting too emotional about Pak loss of a T20 game !!! dont bring politicis involved over your nationality here. Most Indians apart from few in PP and few in Media dont care about this win at all ...atleast from my view and few ppl Harping here is just a bantering after the wins in a jovial light hearted manner.

Big Matches are, to me the ICC events, which will be remembered for a long time and whose records will be spoken about for a long time. definition of celebration varies based on the situation of the match and your tube link doesnt prove anything. I can show you many meaningless matches where India celebrated as if they have won the WC and the opp. is not Pakistan.

Just chuck the emotions out and dont carry the grudge of previous generations.....To many Indians, it was just another match( win or lose). I dont think it carries any more or less importance than a match against WI/Aus/NZ or any other country.

:14:

Humans are emotional by nature and others will look to inflame and provoke by whatever means they choose to.

I will update the graveyard by tomorrow brothers. Any suggestions? :)